11 October 2017 8:38 PM, PDT | Variety - Film News | See recent Variety - Film News news »

Smash hits “Dangal,” “Train to Busan,” “Your Name” and “Wolf Warriors II” are among the films nominated for the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts’ best Asian film award. The prize is being presented for the first time by Aacta.

The other five nominees include two more from India: “Pink,” and “Kaasav: Turtle”; two more from China: “Our Time Will Come” and “I Am Not Madame Bovary”; and The Philippines’ foreign-language Oscar contender “Birdshot.”

The winner will be selected by a jury headed by Russell Crowe, and announced at the Aacta ceremony in Sydney on Dec. 6.

“The caliber, range and diversity of Asian cinema is extraordinary and this new award sets up a very unique framework to recognize these films, connecting Asian-Australian filmgoers and the broader Australian audience with more Asian cinema, and vice versa,” said Crowe in a prepared statement.

Related storiesMarvel Postpones Opening of Busan ExperienceChinese Animation Platform Bilibili Eyeing U.S. Ipo (Report »

- Patrick Frater

Report a problem

Similar News Items

Russell Crowe
Madame Bovary (1991)
Our Time (1974)

IMDb.com, Inc. takes no responsibility for the content or accuracy of the above news articles, Tweets, or blog posts. This content is published for the entertainment of our users only. The news articles, Tweets, and blog posts do not represent IMDb's opinions nor can we guarantee that the reporting therein is completely factual. Please visit the source responsible for the item in question to report any concerns you may have regarding content or accuracy.

See our NewsDesk partners