IMDb > Road to Bali (1952) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Road to Bali
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Road to Bali More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 43 reviews in total 

28 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Ad-libbed

7/10
Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
23 March 2004

From the very first Road picture Hope and Crosby were known for their ad-libbing. In fact when they guested on each other's shows the two of them would take the script and insert some of their own lines to try and catch the other off-guard.

In this Road picture I will swear that the moment the boys and Dotty Lamour were washed ashore on the proverbial south sea island, the picture is one long ad-lib. I am sure the director said, here's the plot situation just make it up as you go. It's got that kind of spontaneity.

Look for 'guest' appearances by Jane Russell, Humphrey Bogart, Martin and Lewis and Bob Crosby in this wacky romp.

Says Dotty: "I love you Bob, I love you Bing, my heart's in a real wing ding." So do we all.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Look at those girls!

10/10
Author: Chris-147 (siemons@bigfoot.com)
14 June 2000

The jokes just keep on coming in this 'Road movie'. There are so many gags here, you'll have to watch this film more than once to get them all. Although the story is very simple, the sets, the girls and especially the amazing Technicolor is a treat to watch. The Road To Bali is the medicine for a grey day!

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A movie that's pretty dang funny

10/10
Author: ajlposh from United States
8 February 2006

I'm 14, and I'm a huge fan of Bob Hope. I got this movie for Christmas and I loved it. It was so darn funny. Bing Crosby, Bob Hope, and Dorothy Lamour all did a tremendous job. I was laughing my butt off throughout the movie. It was also great seeing Humphery Bogart, Dean Martin, and Jane Russell in cameos. Bob Hope is most funny when performing with Bing. They're a great comedy team. He has delivered lots of funny lines in this movie. It was funny how he made references to being in a movie or how Bing already had an Oscar. Bob Hope is one of the greatest comedians who ever lived and you all know it. Here's to Bob Hope!

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

The Bob and Bing Show

6/10
Author: Lechuguilla from Dallas, Texas
22 May 2005

In this very lighthearted comedy, Bob and Bing ham it up in the South Pacific, in search of women and adventure. The plot, which involves deep-sea diving for sunken treasure, is super shallow ... so to speak. But of course the film is just an excuse to highlight the talents of the comic and the crooner. And talent they had. But here, neither the jokes nor the songs are memorable. Fortunately, Dorothy Lamour is on hand to spice things up. The sets are mildly interesting, in a tacky sort of way.

For me, the real value of the "road" movies is the perspective they bring to cinema viewing. My ... how movies have changed in fifty years, and not necessarily for the better. "Road To Bali" wouldn't fly today ... or float, for that matter. But for fans of Hope and Crosby, the film is a pleasant, harmless diversion, a reminder of a more innocent, bygone era in film-making.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Silly fun

Author: ctomvelu from usa
4 July 2004

Not the boys' best, but hardly their worst. That honor falls to ROAD TO SINGAPORE, with ROAD TO HONG KONG a close second. In their only color ROAD outing, Bing and Bob end up in Bali by way of Australia (don't ask) and go deep-sea diving for lost treasure. Along the way they encounter sultry princess Dorothy Lamour, a boatload of bad guys and a giant squid. The film gets sillier and progressively less funny as it goes along, but it also contains some priceless bits (check out the flute-playing segment and the boys singing and dancing in kilts) and terrific cameos (Jerry Lewis even pops in for a second or two). I suspect no one under 30 is going to give a good goddam about these now-creaky ROAD pictures and their long-dead stars, and all the reputed ad-libbing they did. For those who have faint interest in Hope and Crosby, I would recommend one of the following flicks to see how funny these guys could truly be: ROAD TO MOROCCO, ROAD TO UTOPIA or ROAD TO RIO, in that order. By the way, ROAD TO BALI has just been reissued as part of a series of classic out-of-copyright flicks that are going for $1.50 apiece and are available in many discount and drug chains -- and which is how I happened to see this film again after many years.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Fun with Hope & Crosby

6/10
Author: (willrams@earthlink.net) from Santa Maria, CA
31 August 2003

I like all of the Hope and Crosby road pictures even if they were kind of silly. I grew up with them; even saw Hope on stage at the Palace Theater in Cleveland, Ohio in the old vaudeville days (they also had a picture show). Anyhow, as simple as they were, they were funny in their own way, and I loved Crosby singing, and Dorothy Lamour's vocaling in amour! Saw The Road to Bali on the tube AMC for the umpteenth time, and still enjoyed it; as usual the music is great, and the boys really didn't know how to end it! 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

The Bali High equivalent of Flying High

6/10
Author: ptb-8 from Australia
26 January 2006

On a scale of one to a million this rates about a 999,999 on the silly scale. In colour and with beautiful production values ROAD TO BALI made in 1952 contains as many up to date movie and social references as an encyclopedia written by Ludwig Von Drake. In a huge theatre these ROAD films must have lifted the roof with laughter, and as a DVD diversion in 2006 any of them can be a generous and loony mood lifter. There is actually many laugh out loud moments still to be had even if you weren't born or aware of life in the early 50s. THE ROAD TO BALI (pronounced "Bally" by Americans; "Barley" by the rest of us) is basically flat-out hilarious with quips and ad libs galore. Even if you cringe at Bing Crosby as I do, there is enough genuinely funny lines and situations and terrible gags to overwhelm you...much like THE PRODUCERS released this year insists we find it relentlessly dementedly funny. To me Bob Hope has always been Daffy Duck (Groucho Marx was Bugs Bunny) and it is his vaudeville lunacy that carries Crosby inbetween squabbling over Lamour and pushing through all parts of the set. This film has some excellent special effects, very admirable for '52. A hilarious cameo from Jane Russell is the cherry on the icing. Some big dance scenes are an added bonus. Fun fun and demented fun. What a year 1952 was for hilarious films (look 'em up).

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

This was the first Bob Hope movie I ever saw on TV, when I was a kid.

Author: Carycomic from Torrington, CT, USA
28 July 2003

And, it was the only one of the "Road to..." movies that he and Bing Crosby ever did in Technicolor. The ad-libbed asides to the audience were something I had never seen or heard of before! Even more of a delightful surprise was the cameo appearance by General Burkhalter as a South Sea island chief!! The songs weren't bad, either. * "The Merry-Go-Run-Around" is probably my second-favorite song of Bob's. "Silver Bells" and "Thanks for the Memories" naturally tie for first-place.* With Bob having died this past Sunday, nostalgia channels like AMC and TCM will no doubt include this, and all his other films, in some kind of marathon movie memorial. *Which they really should have done BACK ON HIS CENTENNIAL!* Oh, well. Thanks to you, Bob, for all my merry, mirth-filled memories.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Delightful

Author: bsjjcv from USA
24 March 2002

This movie introduced me to the entire "Road to" series. This movie shows how movie chemistry never dies. In their sixth film together, Bob Hope, Bing Crosby, and Dorothy Lamour show the fun and happiness of making films could be. They were friends and the audience can surely see that. Being the only movie in color makes the elaborate scenery come to life. The jokes are similar to the earlier films, but they are still funny. Do yourself a favor and buy this movie, it's worth it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Too many inside jokes leaves the audience out.

5/10
Author: mark.waltz from United States
9 August 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Sometimes they work, sometimes they don't, but c'mon gag writers of the 1950's, less is more. It is indeed a mixed bag of gags, and by the early 1950's, old movie comics were finding it hard to stay fresh. Bob Hope ends up in the can, literally, in this case a deep sea diver's outfit, possible squid food, set up by the evil cousin of island queen Dorothy Lamour, determined to depose her and claim the gems of sunken treasure for himself. Now a queen without an island after being betrayed, Lamour heads to Bali with hope and tag along Crosby who is determined to get rid of lover boy Hope and get l'amour from Lamour himself.

The first five "Road" movies were amusing ( some more than others), but after a five year hiatus, the magic seems forced. Actors can only look at the camera so many times before it starts to get old, and inside jokes of Crosby having an Oscar but Hope not having one (after an outtake of Humphrey Bogart in "The African Queen" appears out of nowhere) is funny once, but unlike others in the series and similar parodies, they don't work on repeat viewings.

The one thing that benefits this is the use of color, showing Lamour off in slim sarongs and odd hair pieces. Songs thus time out are rather mediocre, with nothing standing out. Shots of cute clapping monkeys and singing sheep get more plaudits than "The Merry Go Round and Round", although Hope gets a funny gag by having his face imposed on a baby chimpanzee's. The conclusion involves a musical number straight out of the type of musical numbers from the early 1930's and a twist involving an unorthodox marriage. But with it being rather juvenile, it's a disappointment although some amusing cameos do add laughs.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history