IMDb > "The Brady Bunch" (1969) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"The Brady Bunch"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"The Brady Bunch" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 79 reviews in total 

35 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

I Always Wanted to be a Brady

Author: kmeanyonelmst
7 April 2004

I am proud to be a Brady Bunch Junkie. I can quote practically every episode verbadum. I can identify each episode within the first 5 seconds (which I love to do to impress my friends). I bet I know each episode better than the cast does! When I was growing up, my sisters and I would try to cover each others mouths so that we could sing the opening song solo and a cappella. I,too, am a "middle child". The middle of three girls. I would have given anything to have three brothers to offset the middle child syndrome. Even if it meant not having a toilet (which was never shown). Jan was someone I could relate to and I thought my sisters could relate to me better through her. Whenever she was a focal point in an episode, I'd be all "see what I mean" and "that's how I feel" about being in the middle. To this day I still refer to myself as the "Jan" in my family. And if I meet a guy who happens to be a middle brother, I say " oh, you're like Peter". If he doesn't get it, than he's out. Anyway, regardless if I'm the middle or not, I always wanted to be a Brady. Where else could you find a family that let you decide your own punishments, live by exact words, help you contact Davy Jones, give up their den so that you could have your own "funky" room, let you have a slumber party (after you were in trouble with the school principal) put on a play of Snow White and the Seven Drawfs in your backyard, believe you when you say the cigarettes they found in your jacket were not yours AND had a live in maid! The only thing they asked of you was "don't play ball in the house". And, morals of the story were taught in Latin so you didn't understand them anyway (coviat emptor); "let the buyer beware." However, Mike & Carol did try to realte with their kids by using such phrases as "right on", "groovy", "far out" and my personal favorite "wrapping". Hopefully Carol realizes by now that it is not against the law. Overall, they were a well-rounded and well-balanced family who believed in each other and stuck by one another. As corny as the show was, for those thirty minutes, I secretly wished that I was a Brady.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

Love it

Author: Monika-5 from United States
20 December 2000

Yes, the Bradys are corny, cheesy, tacky, etc. I LOVE them! I always liked Cindy the most out of all of them for some reason. The first few seasons were the best, but the show took a huge dive once Cousin Oliver showed up (he looked exactly like a pint-sized clone of John Denver). My favourite episodes are the Pilgrim episode, the one where Marcia gets hit in the nose with the football ("something suddenly came up"), and where Greg gets a used car. Where would pop culture be without the Bradys?

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Light hearted misadventures of an idealized Big Happy Family

7/10
Author: roghache from Canada
9 June 2006

This is a sitcom from the 1970's that is based on an unlikely premise but nevertheless makes good family viewing...fun, heartwarming, and entertaining escapist drivel. The story revolves around a blended family originating when the widowed California architect, Mike Brady, marries a lovely lady, Carol, who is herself a single mom raising three daughters. Mike's three boys, Greg, Peter, & Bobby, originally range in age from 7 to 13. Carol's girls, Marcia, Jan, & Cindy, vary from age 6 to 12. By the series' end all the kids are basically teenagers. Meanwhile, the six offspring in this new combined family together experience assorted growing up trials, sibling rivalry, school issues, dating woes, and family vacations. Also included in the Brady family is their comical live-in housekeeper named Alice.

Of course it isn't exactly a likely scenario, the blending of so many children (including teenagers) more probably fraught with major serious challenges. Here the family is both relatively affluent and very functional, with any difficulties quite trivial and always amusingly solved within the half hour. Not only do these six kids have a stay at home mom but also the benefit of the affable & amusing Alice to help sort things out for them. Furthermore, the former spouses prove to be no problem. The boys experience no prolonged grief for their birth mother, Mike's first wife. It isn't clear whether Carol is divorced but in any case, her first husband seems conveniently out of the picture. The kids immediately assume all appropriate parental and fraternal bonds with their step people.

However, the show's essential positive values more than compensate for all these inadequacies, with sitcoms generally not intended to be unduly realistic anyway. True, the Bradys live a prosperous California lifestyle in a Los Angeles suburb, the parents are invariably patient and caring, and the kids sometimes even get to choose their own punishments. Nevertheless, these Brady kids are respectful of their parents, who are assumed to know more than their children (not the reverse). They are disciplined when they go astray, taught concepts of right and wrong, and generally expected to live up to them. All in sharp contrast to prevailing modern TV standards.

I haven't really watched the show in re runs though would still tune in now and then, if given the opportunity. Therefore it's been awhile, so I don't recall many specific episodes. The Bradys are definitely an idealized average American middle class family. However, it's a carefree, innocent, and light hearted program, improbable but with good values.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

One of my favorite sitcoms in the 1970's!!!a cult classic!!

Author: Doc_Who from VACAVILLE, CA, USA
9 October 1999

This is one of my favorite shows from the 1970's.You know the words, the people , the outragous situations! I love the Brady Bunch because I could often relate to the problems the brady bunch faced!I am the 8 of 11 children. So I could easliy relate to them . Of course the show was not without controveries. Most of the brady bunch actors have gone to other things!my favorite brady are florence hendersen (mom brady ) and barry williams. Of course I love all the brady bunch actors!!If you can relate to this show , you will love the videos and reruns!!BTW, this show is now reaching cult status!!Pretty cool for a OK family show from the 1970's!!It also was made into two big screen movies in the 1990's!!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

I'm in love with it!

Author: Jordan_Haelend from The Imperial Earth State
1 June 2004

I love this series! I don't really care that it's hopelessly unrealistic, at least the whole family can watch it and you don't have to be concerned that something's going to crop-up on it that's unfit for your kids to see. Not one swear word, nothing! This was a family that was perfect, where no one ever stayed angry with one another, the parents loved each other and the kids and the kids loved and respected the parents! And of course there was the perfect Maid!

I laugh when people put this down for being "unrealistic." What about ever-popular shows like "The Andy Griffith Show"? Was THAT realistic?!

I love everything about the glory that was the Brady Bunch: the silly situations, the colorful clothes, everything! I wish they made stuff like this now! I watch the reruns whenever I can, and I've bought two of the books about it, too!

I WISH I COULD HAVE BEEN A BRADY BOY!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Brady is an emotion. Good or bad is up to you.

9/10
Author: ruinously from United States
12 March 2005

I was born four years after "The Brady Bunch" went off the air, so I have no clue how people felt about it when it was actually on prime time television. But as a child growing up in the 1980s, watching "The Brady Bunch" in the afternoon was always fun. I think this is one of the most feel-good shows of all time.

It is obvious "The Brady Bunch" is not based on reality. If a false view of the world turns you off, this show will not entertain you. No family is this perfect, and the problems that came up were usually very trivial 90 percent of the time. Yet any show that portrays family life as this great should be thanked in some way.

The characters and the actors that play them are all great. How can you not like the young Brady brood? How can you not see the greatest aspects of your own parents in Carol and Mike? It just can not be done. The greatest roles for me personally were Bobby, Greg, Alice, Mike, Carol and Marcia.

My personally favorite episode is the one where the family goes to King Cove amusement park in Ohio and Jan loses Mike's plans. I just find the aspect of a California family going to Ohio for a vacation as delicious.

I have been watching reruns of "The Brady Bunch" for almost twenty years. This is in my top ten television shows of all time. Only a few episodes turn me off (less then 5 percent) and most of them actually make me feel very good. I will continue to watch "The Brady Bunch" and consider it one of the greatest products of television, America and Earth.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Corny but fun

Author: 4-Kane from Boston, MA
14 February 2001

My first exposure to The Brady Bunch was at age 7, when I started watching the daily reruns. I don't know why I began to watch it, but what I can tell you is that it was (and still is) an entertaining situation comedy. It's no secret that critics were tough on the show. Sure it's corny, but it's fun to watch, and it has many great moments.

One of the favorite episodes is "Bobby's Hero," in which Bobby idolizes the notorious outlaw Jesse James. It has an interesting theme: you should always be careful who you pick for a hero.

Another favorite of mine is "Fright Night." That's the one where the kids' attempt to scare Alice backfires. In the dark, she smashes Carol's sculpture of Mike, thinking it was an intruder. Carol's important message in this episode: "If you carry a joke too far, someone might get hurt."

I have always associated myself with Peter Brady, because, like him, I'm a middle boy. To me, I'm very much the Peter Brady of my family.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Moronic, yet brilliant

Author: (w_brianna) from secret admirerers anonymous
24 June 2000

I looooooolve The Brady Bunch! Say what you will about them, they still rule! On a personal note, I'm in love with Mike Brady. I want to be miraculously transported into one of the earlier episodes (when Mike's hair is still straight) and steal him away from Carol. Not only are they THE most perfect family, but Mr. Brady is the perfect father, husband, man. He's charming and can solve a difficult and complicated problem by saying a just a few words to the kids. He never gets mad, and even though they live in the seventies, he doesn't have one sexist bone is his body. He's simply wonderful. Even though Greg is closest to my age, I want to marry his father. The Brady Bunch rules, and Mike Brady is da man!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

This Group Would Somehow Form A Family

6/10
Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
8 April 2009

I think it's ironic as all get out that just when the anti-war movement was at its height and kids all over the nation were doing all kinds of experimentation with drugs that on television we managed to find solace in the gentle G-rated adventures of a blended family that was called The Brady Bunch.

In true paternal style the man with the three boys named Brady wed the woman whose name I can't recall, but Florence Henderson and her girls became Bradys just like Robert Reed's boys. In fact it was hard to remember that they weren't biological Bradys.

The anti-war movement, Civil Rights, gay rights (Stonewall happened the year of The Brady Bunch Debut) was something that was never mentioned on the show. Sports got into things occasionally, Joe Namath from football and Don Drysdale from baseball got some guest starring roles as themselves.

The Bradys did dress in the latest fashion though. I do remember those bell bottoms that I wish I could get into now. Barry Williams as Greg Brady wore them with style. He was quite the teen heartthrob during the run of the show.

The shows hearkened back to Leave It To Beaver with Robert Reed as the all knowing dad. You did get the feeling unlike Hugh Beaumont and Barbara Billingsley, Reed and Henderson did have a sex life. Some concession to the times.

The shows were positively antiseptic. Barry Williams chasing after this that or the other girl, Cindy not being a tattle tale, Peter's voice changing, and the tag line that the show got known for, middle girl Jan's jealousy of older sister Marcia, with that cry of 'Marcia Marcia Marcia'.

Later on it came out that all American dad Robert Reed was gay after of course he died of AIDS. In the community that was pretty well known, a friend of mine recalls meeting Reed at a gay bar in New York City during the Seventies. The cast and crew of The Brady Bunch knew it too, but as Barry Williams points out in his memoirs, they didn't care, he was accepted as an artist and a human being. That was a concession to Stonewall that we didn't know about until later.

Blended families are still fodder for situation comedies like Step By Step and Life With Derek. Those have a bit more bite to them than the ever loving Bradys. Still those kids still looked real good and I did so like Barry Williams back in the day.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

The Stepford Family.

Author: nycritic
24 April 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Brady's were the reason many kids, including me, resented not having that absolute sense of perfection within the household, where father would nicely preach warm wisdom (instead of administering the better known way of punishment using devices like a belt or a hard whack to the face,), mother was always prim, coiffed, and wore minis and trendy outfits while her hair got lighter with each episode, or whose maid was as efficient as Alice. Actually, I don't think I knew anyone who even remotely had a maid who wore a light blue uniform and had a knack for wisecracking jokes. The dysfunctions here were near invisible, and the show rarely if ever tackled deep issues, but over the years this, THE BRADY BUNCH, which spawned two hit movies and several retro specials on cable television, has grown to become part of America's staple of pop culture while being a study in 70s complacency where everything was resolved in a swift 30 minutes.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history