IMDb > Halls of Anger (1970)
Halls of Anger
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Halls of Anger (1970) More at IMDbPro »

Photos (See all 2 | slideshow) Videos
Halls of Anger -- Trailer for Halls of Anger


User Rating:
5.9/10   264 votes »
Your Rating:
Saving vote...
Deleting vote...
/10   (delete | history)
Sorry, there was a problem
Popularity: ?
Up 6% in popularity this week. See why on IMDbPro.
John Herman Shaner (written by) and
Al Ramrus (written by)
View company contact information for Halls of Anger on IMDbPro.
Release Date:
28 December 1970 (Japan) See more »
You've Got 3000 Black Kids, 60 White Kids, And A War Going On. See more »
An all-black inner city school has to become an integrated school. Few dozen white kids are transfered there, but the black students are aggressively opposed to this. The school then approaches a tough black teacher for help. | Add synopsis »
User Reviews:
Extremely dated See more (9 total) »


  (in credits order)

Calvin Lockhart ... Quincy Davis

Janet MacLachlan ... Lorraine Nash

Jeff Bridges ... Doug

James A. Watson Jr. ... J.T. Watson

Otis Day ... Lerone Johnson (as Dewayne Jessie)

Edward Asner ... Ernie McKay
John McLiam ... Boyd Wilkerson

Rob Reiner ... Leaky Couloris
Patricia Stich ... Sherry Vaughn
Gary Tigerman ... Buchavitch
Paris Earl ... Carter (as Paris Earle)
Ta-Tanisha ... Claudine

Helen Kleeb ... Rita Monahan

Barry Brown ... Winger
Christopher Joy ... Junebug (as Christipher Joy)
Kim Manners ... Aislan

Hilly Hicks ... Amory

Randy Brooks ... Sabin (as Randy Fredericks)
Cal Wilson ... Baxter

Roy Jenson ... Harry Greco
Lou Frizzell ... Phil Stuart
Peggy Toy ... Mae
Richard Levin ... Perkins (credit only)
Alex Clarke ... Dupres (as W. Alex Clarke II)
Gilbert Green ... Mr. Cargyll

Davis Roberts ... Mr. Willis
Martin Blaine ... Mr. Thornbush
Luther Whitsitt ... Ivan Fowler

Chris Graham ... Carl (as Christopher Graham)
rest of cast listed alphabetically:

Mwako Cumbuka ... Student (uncredited)
Arline Hamlin ... (uncredited)
Maye Henderson ... Mrs. Taylor (uncredited)

Harry Holcombe ... Mr. Margolin - West Hills High School Principal (uncredited)

Henry Kingi ... Mugger Under Bleachers (uncredited)
Andrew Mirisch ... Student (uncredited)

David Sheiner ... Mr. Perkins (uncredited)
Linda Smith ... (uncredited)
Florence St. Peter ... Miss Rowland (uncredited)
Linda Thomas ... (uncredited)

Michael Warren ... Referee (uncredited)

Directed by
Paul Bogart 
Writing credits
John Herman Shaner (written by) (as John Shaner) and
Al Ramrus (written by)

Produced by
Herbert Hirschman .... producer
Walter Mirisch .... executive producer
Original Music by
Dave Grusin 
Cinematography by
Burnett Guffey (director of photography)
Film Editing by
Bud Molin 
Casting by
Lynn Stalmaster 
Art Direction by
Addison Hehr 
Set Decoration by
Edward G. Boyle  (as Edward Boyle)
Makeup Department
Fred B. Phillips .... makeup artist (as Fred Phillips)
Elizabeth Searcy .... hairdresser
Production Management
Nate H. Edwards .... production manager (as Nate Edwards)
Edward Morey Jr. .... production supervisor
Second Unit Director or Assistant Director
Victor Vallejo .... first assistant director
Art Department
Howard Hester .... construction coordinator
Joe LaBella .... property master (as Joe La Bella)
Sound Department
Clem Portman .... sound re-recordist
Don Rush .... sound
Frank E. Warner .... sound editor (as Frank Warner)
Ernest Robinson .... stunt coordinator
Peaches Jones .... stunts (uncredited)
Ernest Robinson .... stunts (uncredited)
Eddie Smith .... stunts (uncredited)
Costume and Wardrobe Department
Charles Arrico .... costumer: men
Neva Rames .... costumer: ladies (as Geneva Rames)
Editorial Department
Irving Rosenblum .... assistant editor (as Irving C. Rosenblum)
Location Management
Bill Gallant .... location manager
Music Department
Richard Carruth .... music editor
Other crew
Brenda Heidt .... dialogue coach
Mike Warren .... technical advisor
Marshall J. Wolins .... script supervisor (as Marshall Wolins)

Production CompaniesDistributors

Additional Details

Also Known As:
"A düh folyosói" - Hungary (imdb display title)
"Muralhas de Ódio" - Brazil (imdb display title)
"Odio en las aulas" - Spain
"Siyah ögretmen" - Turkey (Turkish title)
"Sta synora tou misous" - Greece (transliterated ISO-LATIN-1 title)
See more »
Rated R for an assault involving nudity
96 min
Aspect Ratio:
1.85 : 1 See more »
Sound Mix:
Mono (Westrex Recording System)

Did You Know?

Movie Connections:
Referenced in W.R. - Misterije organizma (1971)See more »
Reachin' Out to YouSee more »


This FAQ is empty. Add the first question.
7 out of 19 people found the following review useful.
Extremely dated, 5 August 2002
Author: preppy-3 from United States

White students are being bused into an inner city all black school. The students aren't happy with it...will violence erupt?

This movie dealt with a very hot topic in 1970 that doesn't really exist anymore. The plot (and characters) and the the racism angle are played very broadly and simplistically. There's also a needless and very ugly sequence in which five black girls attack and tear all the clothes off a white girl. Aside from that scene and some mild profanity this plays like a made-for-TV movie--a BAD one! The confrontations, dialogue and resolutions are all too obvious. ALMOST worth seeing for a very young Jeff Bridges and Rob Reiner.

Trivia: This movie was banned from Boston TV stations in the early 70s. Opposition to busing was very violent in the city and officials were afraid the movie might incite riots.

Was the above review useful to you?
See more (9 total) »


If you enjoyed this title, our database also recommends:
- - - - -
Half Nelson Liberty Heights Save the Last Dance Freeway Pride
IMDb User Rating:
IMDb User Rating:
IMDb User Rating:
IMDb User Rating:
IMDb User Rating:
Show more recommendations

Related Links

Full cast and crew Company credits External reviews
IMDb Drama section IMDb USA section

You may report errors and omissions on this page to the IMDb database managers. They will be examined and if approved will be included in a future update. Clicking the 'Edit page' button will take you through a step-by-step process.