IMDb > 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
2 Fast 2 Furious
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
2 Fast 2 Furious More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 39:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 384 reviews in total 

37 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Relax and have fun

8/10
Author: realtobi from Munich, Germany
22 June 2003

Nice movie to just lean back, chill and watch hot girls,hot cars and hot action - there is no need of complex story or reality. And the black guy is really funny, so take some friends, some money for popcorn and nachos and chill out ;)

Was the above review useful to you?

49 out of 77 people found the following review useful:

Is this a sequel ?

7/10
Author: lordsaves777 from Puerto Rico
23 December 2005

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I don't think this movie deserves to be called a sequel to "The Fast and the Furious",not because it is a bad movie,it is great and it does not fail to entertain most of the public,but for those who really liked the first one,this one is not a sequel.The first was very original,its conflicts were original,the movie was really about cars,and driving,and street racing,this one,in the other hand,presents us conflicts that we have seen for the last decades,the police couple that don't like each other,and at the end of the movie they finish kissing and hugging each other,the guy that falls in love with a woman that could make him fail his mission,the guy that has a drug empire in Miami,and pretends to become more powerful,the police that's trying to stop him,this are most of the conflicts we see in this movie,and we have seen in other movies,so it's not original.The Fast and the Furious was very original with great conflicts,it wasn't as fun as "its sequel",but it was awesome as well.But I think that this is the reason why this movie was released in the summer,to make critics say "well,is not original it has some cars stunts that are hard to believe,but is a summer movie,what the hell".I also did not like the decision of the director of making the movie in Miami because usually the backgrounds of street racing are nocturnes,Miami is usually more popular on daylight,street racing is usually on high ways in big cities like New York or Los Angeles,but it is clear that the director was just trying to make the movie more attractive to the summer-movie lovers because a lot of people identifies Miami with summer.This movie is more like a cop movie than a street racing movie,you can notice how hard is for the writers to make a space for races,and how easy is for the writers to find space for those things that usually a cop has to deal with.Is not a bad movie,but it is not original,and it cant be called a sequel.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 40 people found the following review useful:

more fast more furious

10/10
Author: SnakeEclipse1403 from North Hills, California
9 June 2003

This one was way better than the first, I don't care what all you other pladough brains say. It had better cars, women, plot, bad guys, and action. You should still watch the first one before you see this, even if it wasn't as good, if you want to get some of the stuff they talk about in this film. As far as the plot goes, it's a lot more interesting than a boring theft of electronic equipment. You're much more rather to watch a movie where the good guys are up against meaner and more dangerous bad guys who really have the thrill of danger in them. Actually only Verone did a good job showing that off, but the rest didn't do bad. Action sequences are what really smoke the original. Finally, a circuit race, and more amounts of races instead of cheesy talking for almost a whole act. I'm glad they improved on the races and action, otherwise I would have hated this movie. God Bless you, John Singleton.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Almost as equally entertaining as the first film

6/10
Author: breakdownthatfilm-blogspot-com from United States
28 February 2014

With the help of Paul Walker and Vin Diesel's chemistry and some intense racing scenes, Rob Cohen's The Fast and the Furious (2001) was an instant hit among racing fans. And like most franchises with critical financial success, a sequel started to be put into the works. Similar to many other sequels, it was distributed two years later and it's difficult to say whether it pleased fans as much as the first one did. According to this site, this is lowest score the franchise has. It wasn't bad at all but it was missing a few elements of the first movie, which left a more entertaining feeling.

The story follows ex-cop Brian O'Conner (Paul Walker) back to Miami from Los Angeles where he's enjoying his time racing street cars only to be pulled back by the authorities that he dropped. Heading the authorities is Agent Bilkins (Thom Barry) from the first installment and this time he wants O'Conner back one more time to take down a drug lord. And O'Conner can't refuse because he'd go to jail if he didn't accept. Plus, if the drug lord is turned in, all of his criminal charges will disappear. Why does this plot sound like Vin Diesel's xXx (2002) plot line (except it doesn't deal with a drug lord)? Speaking of which, why didn't Vin Diesel return? That's one thing that this franchise consistently needs. Paul Walker is the central character but Vin Diesel's presence was the icing on the cake.

Is was nice though that the writers kept the continuity together. The characters do reference material from the first film which shows the producers want to keep the story going and not divert completely from the original. But if there's one thing that comes into question, it is the concept of getting caught having a love interest in the business. This happened in the first movie and it blew O'Conners cover. Here the same thing happens in a similar way. You'd think the lesson was learned. Sigh. The new interest is Eva Mendes and she plays her character well enough. Accompanying O'Conner is Roman Pearce (Tyrese Gibson) an old friend who originally has a grudge for some of his own issues. Even with this though, their chemistry works well.

Playing the drug lord is another interesting actor - Cole Hauser. He has a very smooth deep voice and resembles a very young Tom Berenger. He's also able to make his character seem dangerous enough to hurt someone. That's it for characters. The music produced by David Arnold of Stargate (1994) sounded better than BT's score from the first film but it wasn't evident enough. Barely heard a thing. As for action scenes, the racing is still fast paced and contains much of the same film making as the first, which kept the feeling the same. Other than that, the story feels the same as before but without Vin Diesel.

It's not a bad follow up to the first movie, but not casting Vin Diesel wasn't smart - it's like missing a piece to a puzzle. Other than that, it's still a decent watch with better music and well-staged action sequences.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 66 people found the following review useful:

A GREAT FUN flick, I am just here for the entertainment...

9/10
Author: flash-108 from Houston
24 June 2003

Fast cars, pretty girls, high speed chases, solid racing. What you were expecting maybe "Gone with the Wind"? This is a fun thing to watch suspend disbelief at the door and enjoy yourself for the time its on the screen. Reminded me a lot of classic car shows of the seventies(i. e. Starsky and Hutch, Dukes of Hazzard etc.) You want some serious drama go see something else. You want an entertaining 2 hours go see this.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

The cars are better than the first...

7/10
Author: hoxjennifer from Canada
6 July 2015

The cars, the stunts and the eye candy (Eva Mendes) are better than the first. But unlike the first, 2 Fast 2 Furious still boasts a lacklustre plot. Nevertheless, it's a great "bro" movie for the guys. The partnership between Roman Pierce (Tyrese Gibson) and Brian O'Connor (Paul Walker) is amusing and works well as they team up and do next to impossible driving stunts with each other. The slight romance between Monica Fuentes (Eva Mendes) and Brian O'Connor is predictable, but it's not to the same extent as the first one - just a bit of flirtation but not to the extent of a full fledged relationship. The Miami backdrop adds to the "upgrade" feel of the second movie in the Fast & Furious franchise. Flashy and full of action is 2 Fast, 2 Furious.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

2 times the fast 2 times the furious but still not better than the original.

8/10
Author: Daniel Velker
23 May 2013

This film brings back more of what we loved from the first film with all the cars, girls, and action and multiplies it. However it is still inferior to the first film but that dosen't mean it isn't awesome. This movie has gotten a lot of criticism and i don't understand why there is so much hate for this movie. Some people complained about the lack of plot and the casts acting skills but I don't care about that. I watch these Fast films to be entertained and I was throughly entertained with this one. Even though it dosen't match up to the original it still excels in excitement. I mean how could you go wrong with taking the series to Miami were our eyes will be blessed with dozens of beautiful beach girls. And the races in this movie are also very exciting to. And let's not forget the awesome chase sequence in the film as well. Paul Walker and Tyrese Gibson make a great team and show us why this movie is so cool. I still love this movie despite the many negative reviews I've seen and to all the haters I say forget about the plot and just enjoy the perks. This movie is made for entertainment not Oscar awards and as far as entertainment goes It was grade A popcorn style.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

2 fast 2 furious

10/10
Author: Ryan (hot_stuff54646) from Necedah, Wisconsin
26 June 2003

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

2 fast 2 furious was an adrenaline rush for me I loved it I had to go to the theatre to see it twice and I want to go again I am really into the stuff they do. They whole racing thing was awsome now I want a skyline, a eagle, and a mitsubishi eclipse. All with neon lights big spoilers and big engines then I will be set to race legal.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

"2 Fast 2 Furious" Lives Up to Its Title!

10/10
Author: Adrian Val Olonan from Philippines
17 July 2015

I love this movie, but honestly speaking, the title amuses me a bit. It looks a like an email/text message. Anyway, I guess it's a creative way to insert the "2" in the title. Haha! But anyway, this is a great sequel to its predecessor, even though I find it weird that Dominic (Vin Diesel) is absent in this movie.

This film centers on Brian (Paul Walker) as he reunites with his childhood friend Roman (Tyrese Gibson) in their mission to take down a crime boss. Together they get help from Monica (Eva Mendes).

The opening race is adrenaline-pumped and very exciting, but that's illegal, so no copycats, for God's sake, okay? I love the chemistry Brian and Roman develops. Before I forget, Roman is funny! He's the comic relief in this movie. Car sequences, which are the main selling points of this movie, are well-choreographed and beautifully executed. They may not happen in real life, but they're very great to watch.

If this movie doesn't fall into a genre that you're looking for, then just get the hell outta here. If you're looking for action, some comedy, thrills, and pumps, congratulations! You're in the right place! Hop in!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A good Action Movie

8/10
Author: Isabel D. Morris from United States
10 November 2014

This movie has been getting real mixed reviews .... personally, I like this movie. I thought 2 Fast 2 Furious was a damn good movie. I thought the storyline was pretty cool it is about fast cars, hot women, cool guys, and tells us what happens to Brian O'Connor (Paul walker) after the 'open' ending of the first movie. There are absolutely awesome action shots and much movement in the plot to make it interesting to watch. To those of you who thought it was not really good, maybe you should watch it again and give it a another shot, it really is a good movie. The only thing i personally didn't like is that Vin Diesel was not in this movie. But he comes back in the new movies so thats good.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 39:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history