IMDb > Children of Wax (2007) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Children of Wax More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

17 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Appalling.

1/10
Author: hand-eti from Netherlands
7 November 2006

I sincerely wonder why this film was ever made. A Bulgarian-Italian co-production set in a version of Berlin where all Germans speak English with a German accent and all Turks speak English with some Turkish words in between, is hardly credible. The English vocabulary is basically limited to "fuck you, bastard" and the acting is worse than anyone can imagine. Apart from this, racial tensions in Germany can be an interesting subject but in the Germany I know there are no gangs shooting each other in the middle of the street in clear daylight. And if all that is not enough, there is also a serial killer going around who kills Turkish children and paints them white. In order to create some tension, we see the serial killer and hear him hum Schubert's lullaby but we won't see his face.

I don't even believe they actually shot it in Germany. There are some street shots that are quite obviously in Berlin, but the actors are not seen in those shot. It's probably Bulgaria with some German signs added here and there.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Bad,and i mean really bad...

2/10
Author: Michael_Galiatsos from Greece
14 December 2006

This is probable one of the worst movies i have ever seen.

The only reason i gave it 2 stars out of 10 is the appearance of the gorgeous Lydie Denier in some of the scenes.Despite her 42 years she is an amazing woman in every aspect,her nude scene in the bathroom with Armand Assante is as hot as hell.

Anyway about the movie,well nothing really interesting to say,a Neonazi and a Turkish gang fight over Berlin in scenes that include people open firing on the street in daylight and inside a club where 30-40 people fire at each other with machine guns in a place no bigger than my house and amazingly after some hours of firing just three die and ten are injured LOL.

While the gangs fight over Berlin terittories a serial killer is killing young children and then dumps them painted white on various places around town.

Armand Assante appears as the Turkish detective who although now working for the police was an ex leader for the Turkish gang and now is up to solve the serial killer crimes.

The movie is obviously a very bad rip off of the classic M movie.The killing of the children,the involvement of the underworld,the character of the serial killer and the ending scene with the "trial" of the serial killer are more than influenced from this classic movie.

The acting is terrible,the script just stupid,the production of the lowest standards possible and in general this was a great waste of time and money.

Don't even bother renting this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Awful Film with a Lame and Messy Story

2/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
22 June 2012

In Kreuzberg, Berlin, the Turkish gangs of immigrants and the skinheads are permanently fighting against each other and drug trafficking. Meanwhile, a serial-killer is killing children in the neighborhood. The Turkish Commissary Kemal (Armand Assante) is transferred from Wiesbaden to Kreuzberg, where he was born, and assigned to investigate the murderers.

When the Turkish gang accuses the Neo Nazi gang of murdering the Turkish children, they schedule a war in a club. But the leader of the skinheads claims that his gang is not killing the children.

"Children of Wax" is an awful film with a lame and messy story and poor and amateurish acting. The characters are unpleasant, speaks in English with German and Turkish accent and the drug-dealer Murat is in the end the most charismatic character. The situations are absurd, like Greta shagging Hakan in the van; or the use of heavy weapons on the streets of Berlin without any consequence; or the boy Mustapha shooting and killing people. I laughed with the wooden face of Armand Assante when he learns that his son had been abducted by the serial-killer. Last but not the least, the scene of Murat judging the killer closes with golden key this ridiculous film. My vote is two.

Title (Brazil): "Crianças de Cera" ("Children of Wax")

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely Awful

1/10
Author: artnude from United States
22 May 2007

First I have to say that I really love Udo Kier and have always had respect for Armand Assante but nothing could save this train wreck of a movie. Udo does not even appear till much later in the movie and the acting from Everyone is just terrible. The script is all over the place, the dialog is wooden, the "action" is laughable and the plot could be summed up on a dirty cocktail napkin. I really wanted to find something redeeming in this movie but found myself holding my hands over my eyes, shaking my head and repeating over and over to myself, "Oh Udo.....why???....Why?????..". If you are a fan of Udo or Armand, please don't watch this movie. It will only make you sad for them.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Bad movie

4/10
Author: koolinvstr from United States
25 July 2007

Well, it wasn't a complete waste. Armand was as usual very good in the movie,,,the whole turks vs German thing was kind of strange because I remember seeing Bulgaria at the beginning of the movie...dint' bother to go back and check...the central theme is about the serial killings with the whole gang warfare loosely woven in. Never saw a movie where the characters looked Italian, supposed to be Turk, taking English(American accent and euphemisms) with German words. The climax was the most intriguing part and there are parts of it that still did not make sense to me. In any case, if you have nothing else better to do, you can watch this movie..

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

interesting

9/10
Author: toronagasan from Bulgaria
2 March 2009

"Children of wax" also shown as "Killing grounds" is an interesting mixture of genres. Some might think the purity of the genre can be only for good but to me the eclectic symbioses is very entertaining. It is also in it's story the mixture of thriller and the popular action as well as the combination of the historic masterpiece and the ethnic plea for tolerance. This film is built with the starry presence of my favorite actor the perfect Armand Assante but it is also marked by the acting of a shooting star – Hal Ozan .We have recently seen him in the TV series on HBO called "Sex" . "Children of wax" is entertainment for the audience but the same time it has an everlasting moral for the ethnic tolerance. This is a wise way to seminate welfare. Discussion on the contemporary troubles of our days can be made with attractive means in this is very positive side of the film "Children of wax".

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

descent

10/10
Author: mikelay from Bulgaria
25 February 2009

This film is a very descent remake of the famous Fritz Lang's masterpiece "M- Murder".It is well made and with a entertaining key to speak about pretty serious events and contemporary problems in Eurobe but not only the whole world.The ethnic intolerance is such a huge evil and very contagions nowadays. So "Children of Wax" or as it is known in US distribution reveals the question of German and Turk hatred in an amusing way.No doubt it is well appreciated to be taken for distribution by the great Weinsten brothers.And there is another fact I liked most is the participation in this movie of the favorite actor of Lars von Trier the great Udo Kier who shows to play with such a pleasure for the Bulgarian film director Ivan Nichev.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

don't miss this Film!

10/10
Author: marcbocceli from Italy
11 January 2007

Brilliant work. Marvelous actors dissolve as brave and courageous characters .All unforgettable parts in a more than intriguing and capturing action –thriller. The casting is perfect. Both from the side of the stars like :Armand Asante, Bernhardt, Kier ,Denier. But as well for new faces .I was very impressed by the young actor who plays the boy gang member- Mustafa. You trust each one from the Turkish gang. Very convincing is Michael Barral and all white power followers. I admire the music beat of the main theme of "Children of Wax".This sound track is a charming mixture of Turkish, hard rock and Udo Kier's humming… And in the same time Children of Wax "a tale focusing on racial conflicts .The intolerance and brutality between the skinheads and the Turks.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history