Suits (TV Series 2011– ) Poster

(2011– )

User Reviews

Add a Review
218 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
10/10
An Intelligent, Sparkling New Television Series
gradyharp29 June 2011
SUITS is smart, sassy, clever, sophisticated, timely and immensely entertaining! The new series debuted with a full 60 minute story that establishes the characters very solidly, opens pathways for many story lines, and boasts an exceptional cast of fine actors. Here is hoping it makes it as an ongoing series, especially since it is not yet another crime drama! Not that Criminal Mains, The Mentalist, Without A Trace will lose their place among the best show on television, but with all the spinoffs on the crime shows, the available choices have been dwindling lately.

SUITS is a lawyer show. Set in New York (captured, by the way, in beautiful cinematic vistas) it focuses on a very successful law firm, managed by Jessica Pearson (Gina Torres) who balances the talents of her two top lawyers, the smarmy Louis Litt (Rick Hoffman) who is a control freak, and the very brilliant but egotistical Harvey Spector (Gabriel Macht). There is a particularly appealing and very bright secretary Donna (Sarah Rafferty) and a beautiful paralegal Rachel (Meghan Markel) and last but certainly not least by any means there is Mike Ross (Patrick J. Adams) - a young lad who is extremely bright, has a photographic memory, dropped out of college because he took tests for fellow students and got caught, fell into marketing drugs by default for need of money so that he could pursue his dream of being a lawyer, and falls quite by accident into the role of being selected as associate to the brilliant but self absorbed Harvey Spector. This is the team of characters who are destined to provide fascinating substories as they interact.

The dialogue (Aaron Korsh and Sean Jablonski) is clever, bright, snappy, unclichéd, witty, and helps define the complexities of the characters. The pacing is exceptional (directors Kevin Bray and John Scott) and the series has the appearance of a high-end movie - excellent cinematography, expansive development of story in well-selected locations - but most of all this is a cast that is worthy of attention every moment they are on camera. It will be interesting to watch how Patrick J. Adams and Gabriel Macht grow into our psyches: both are exceptionally fine and provide a spectrum of the lawyer personality we haven't seen on a series before. This should be a major hit!

Grady Harp
366 out of 417 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A refreshing dose of smarts and laughs
xoxfallen-angelxox7 July 2011
It has been a while since I have discovered a series I truly enjoy watching. Some are way too stupid and then others are way too boring, and then some have horrible actors and the list goes on.

However, in this little gem, everything is exactly right. The script matches funny and serious, silly and smart, everything at exactly the right amounts. The actors act well. Watching this show is a generally enjoyable experience which, I think, is a lot when it comes to some recent series.

I would recommend this to anyone who likes 'House MD', 'How I Met Your Mother' and other series that are often watched to feel better after a long day.
242 out of 280 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Quality you can appreciate
reneweddan26 June 2011
Patrick J. Adams & Gabriel Macht both give convincing performances in the pilot, something sure to excel even more throughout the series.

The script, acting, and quality are all flawless, as far as television goes. If you're looking to be highly entertained on Thursday night, then look no further. The subtle humor, creative plot, and enjoyable dialogue entices the viewer more with each passing moment.

If you're into legal shows that include all aspects of human nature, including compassion, then Suits is for you.

Hopefully this show continues to have the opportunity to thrive; it has definitely drawn me in and I won't miss a second of it.
265 out of 316 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Just what I was looking for
tomcatjak20 July 2011
After finishing every available episode of House, Bones, Fringe, and Prison Break, I found myself at a loss of what to watch. So as I was browsing for new TV Shows, I stumbled on this one and decided to give it a go.

I am very picky about TV series' but this one really captured me. After not expecting much, it really caught me by surprise how great this was.

It reminds me of Law & Order but with more drama and a following into the characters lives. It reminds me of "House" in many ways. It features a strict boss that will do anything to get the job done, and an employee willing to do anything for his boss.

It is certainly a new age show that will bring in audience from all ages from teenagers to seniors. I guarantee that you will not be disappointed with this show, as many new shows have disappointed me.
254 out of 305 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Hardly watchable to fans who enjoyed the intelligence and wit of Season One.
Mr_Blond2315 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I watch a fair amount of TV and think that I have fairly selective tastes in shows, but Suits was one of my favorite recently produced shows. The first season was bold, smart, and very polished. This is one show that definitely deserves HD. Harvey Specter was by far one of the best fictional lawyers out there. One of the best parts of the show was the focus on the "case of the week" idea, and all the clever dialog and intricate legal drama that came with it. The third episode with the boardroom battle over control of the car company was a kind of 'everyday-epic.' Another highlight was the inclusion of three very smart female characters: Donna, Rachel, and Jessica. Most notably, the primary characters had a powerful and flawless way about them that justified their "it's not about caring its about winning" attitude.

Sadly, the subsequent seasons have quickly degenerated. The smart female characters were transformed into gossipy shrews who now appear on screen just to spark inter-office drama and occasionally look good. Gone is the intricate legal maneuvering (ie crown jewel defense), replaced only with on-screen commentary on supposedly brilliant off-screen meetings or court appearances we never get to see. The witty banter has been dulled by a sheer lack of originality, such that the characters seemingly make the exact same jokes, only with different pop culture references. Worst of all, the writers (who must be high off the first season's success or the weed they purchased with the money from it) have turned all the powerful characters (Harvey, Jessica... etc) into flawed shells of former characters hardly fit for big firm life. This done of course to pander to the "average viewer" who tunes in to follow the lawyer version of days of our lives with pretty girls lusting after handsome men. Based on the level infighting in the firm, its a wonder how they log any billable hours at all. The only saving grace of Season 2 was Louis Litt's mostly solid character development.

The end of the second season allowed the show to reach a new low by introducing a British takeover of the firm with a host of odd new British characters (ie Louis's big eared British counterpart) thrust into the show just for simplistic comical value, which I'm sure a select group of slack-jawed simple viewers might thoroughly enjoy.

I write this review in the hope that some executive, writer or actor on the show might happen upon it, realize that their show is rapidly in decline and right the ship before even loyal viewers like myself simply tune out all together. The show achieved a lot in Season 1, but much of the acclaim was lost by way of lazy writing and lack of imagination.

Lastly, its a law show, you'd think they would cover the legal side a bit more than as a basis for Donna to bang a Brit or Rachel's dad to meet Mike.

UPDATE: This show has devolved to nothing more that a nicely filmed soap opera that has little connection to legal reality nor to intelligent discourse of any kind. I just removed it from my DVR.
56 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Suits is brilliant
Michael McGee13 February 2013
Suits is a compelling legal drama set in the heart of New York City at one of the city's most successful law firms. The story is centred around the firm's best lawyer, Harvey Spector (Gabriel Macht), an egotistical, uncompassionate, charmingly witty Harvard graduate who will do whatever it takes to win – "The best closer this city has ever seen"; and his associate Mike Ross (Patrick J. Adams), an under-achieving compassionate genius with an eidetic memory who strikes lucky by having the opportunity to work at one of the highest profile legal firms even after being caught for attempted drug trafficking and without the required qualifications. The show follows both characters as they face different legal and personal challenges in each episode whilst maintaining the gregarious and quick-witted rapport between the two.

The show offers plenty of variety besides the law by developing the relationships of many characters inside the firm, "Pearson Hardman", managed by Jessica Pearson (Gina Torres), a career-minded powerful woman. Jessica must balance between her two best lawyers, a devious Louis Litt (Rick Hoffman) and Harvey, whose relationship is filled with rivalry and playable banter, is certainly one to make you laugh. The show also follows the stories of the beautiful Rachel (Meghan Markel), a paralegal whose test anxieties are stopping her from fulfilling her ambitions of going to Harvard to study law and Donna (Sarah Rafferty) a smart, sexy secretary.

Besides the two leading characters, Suits is balanced excellently with an ensemble cast filled with intriguing relationships and an original and sharp script combined with the beautiful backdrop of New York City to make this a thoroughly enjoyable TV show which I can't help but grin ear-to-ear from start to finish and I hope it continues its high standards for seasons to come. Suits is brilliant.
95 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Good looking series
lamont-hard25 June 2011
After watching the pilot episode I was pleased from what I saw. The episode was long enough to give us a glimpse into some interesting characters. There seems to be a lot to go around with both leads social lives and how they impact the secondary characters. There Is no shortage of eye candy. I did find some of the time lines a bit of a stretch, but nothing major. I most enjoyed how the writers took the time to give good background material on just about the whole cast witch I think Is becoming so rare, knowing this info helps to get into these characters from the start. I recommend this show to viewers who like a lawyer type show with just a touch of softness.
120 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Slow Scream
tinyone218 August 2017
I have watched all seasons.... unfortunately.

Originally the drama was tense and fun. The bromance between Harvey and Mike was also really interesting. However, over time the sparkle disappeared and the magic of Mike's amazing memory seems to have disappeared alongside it. Instead of being fun yet tense, the show has evolved into a continuous screaming match and people panicking about mundane nonsense. Made up drama that feels too forced to be entertaining.

Live. Die. Repeat.

Every episode seems like a catastrophe for the firm or the people. They resolve this by yelling at each other or trying to be really clever. Unfortunately the clever seems to have turned into everyday unspectacular. The characters are now just bumbling ants without direction and without any capacity for passionate relationships. Even Mike and Rachel or Harvey and Donna are washed out.

Worth a watch up to about season 3. Thereafter, it turns into a slow and agonizing death of a show.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Hard to swallow
dirtphelia3 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The show is entertaining up to the point that it questions the viewer's intelligence.

A legendary lawyer in what's probably the most competitive city in the world takes a chance on a drug-dealing pothead, who pretends to be a Harvard educated lawyer. OK, sure, what the hay.

Except the pothead, Mike, can't get his excrement together. He can't even *look* like a lawyer, which could be easily done by getting a decent suit and stopping riding that ridiculous bike. Sorry, but in New York City lawyers working at top firms don't ride bikes to work, especially not with messenger bags slung across their chests. He looks like a frat boy working as a bike messenger.

Then Mike starts messing up left and right. He has no sense of professionalism and his boss as well as the managing partner of the firm - seriously - keep putting their butts on the line for him. That simply would not happen. And every time Mike messes up big his superiors threaten to fire him but instead of firing him they keep giving him more chances and letting him handle/interfere in high profile cases.

Mike's unlikable and arrogant, and I just keep hoping he'll get hit by a truck and die. By the second season Mike, the pot smoker who used to get paid to cheat on college entrance exams for other people, the guy who kissed his best friend's girlfriend, the same one who sleeps with a married woman etc. etc., starts his right/wrong tirades, believing he's doing the right thing by betraying client privilege when he shares confidential information with the prosecution. And his top dog boss still doesn't fire the guy.

Like, no.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Worth watching past the pilot
mastonae114 July 2011
I am very pleasantly surprised by this show and will certainly continue to watch it. The characters are likable and, with the exception of "Mike Ross," a page out of real life. I can guarantee you that there is not a single lawyer at a high power NYC law firm that didn't go to law school. Additionally, no lawyer as green as Mike would be given so much attention. Here is where I will cut the show some slack- without such deviations from the truth there would be no show.

Some reviewers liken this show to House but with lawyers. Sure, there are some common elements surrounding Harvey being cold-hearted and cocky yet excellent as his job. But this is where I want to draw the distinction: characters like Harvey actually exist in this world (minus the likability). There are charming, proud, extremely competent, rude, driven, and ruthless lawyers in every major firm in every major city. At some point it becomes a requirement of the job. Doctor House meanwhile is too much of a self-destructive train wreck for my taste.

If you want to get a glimpse into working at a high power law firm, an investment bank, or any other high stakes pressure-cooker job look no further. Keep the insane hours, lose the friendliness, and amplify the cockiness and voilà: a glimpse of reality. This show keeps the bad but throws in the good, so instead of feeling like work, the show instead feels like entertainment.
131 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews