IMDb > The Age of Adaline (2015) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Age of Adaline
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Age of Adaline More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 239 reviews in total 

73 out of 92 people found the following review useful:

Surpassed Expectations

8/10
Author: bethany-ellen-22 from Australia
28 April 2015

Already drawn to the premise of this film, I had high expectations of it, and was particularly interested in seeing Blake Lively in the lead role as a 107 year old eternally young woman. From only seeing her work in Gossip Girl, which was adequate but not particularly memorable, I was keen to see what her acting range was like. Not only did Lively impress me, but the film did also, surpassing my expectations.

The Age of Adaline is not only visually beautiful, (props to cinematographer David Lanzenberg) but the story is also. Yes, this is a romance film, but the evocative story raises questions from the viewer about life, death, and love. Michiel Huisman is great in his role as a sensitive romantic who yearns to be close to and understand Adaline - well done to the writers for creating a male romantic lead who isn't unrealistically perfect and cliché. Harrison Ford impressed me greatly, especially in his scenes with Lively, so much so that I was brought to tears through a mere look. Ellen Burstyn as Flemming provided a charming voice of reason for the protagonist. The score was also wonderfully done, making the emotional scenes all the more powerful, and the costume designer did very well in allowing the audience to fill in the time blanks without knowing the era through the narrated dates.

Overall, a beautifully crafted film with a wonderful story and powerful performances that will completely captivate the viewers.

Was the above review useful to you?

95 out of 136 people found the following review useful:

A love story ~

9/10
Author: juxtawho from Southern U.S.A.
14 April 2015

Cast chosen are all well suited to the characters; they performed as if the story was theirs to share ~ A love story that will test the assumptions of viewers.

Enjoyable, well acted, well done. A plausible plot supported by characters and settings that make plausible more than probable.

Our preview audience appeared surprised at the chance to see a great cast in a simple story of love. Laughter because Harrison Ford holds a mirror to the lives of the audience, and we see ourselves. Blake Lively never gives us a hint of deviation from her assumed promise.

Lots of historical fact that interests rather than bores the mind, and never obscures the journey we're following with the characters. Michiel Huisman plays innocence with persistence, grace, and a smile; we laugh and cheer him on. Ellen Burstyn plays a subtle catalyst role. Kathy Baker always seems to pull the characters together, and none of the cast can take away our interest from the science and character of Adaline. I'll see it again, in the theater for the larger than life characters. Thanks crew, staff, and actors.

Was the above review useful to you?

77 out of 113 people found the following review useful:

morbidity or maturity mortality?

8/10
Author: nadeyn from Australia
20 April 2015

The acting in this I cannot fault, though Adeline has a very low range of emotions given the material, her demure persona is a sign of the times in which she was raised. Perhaps it was the stiff upper lip if the early 20th century? I have never seen the male lead and he suited his part well.

I watched this with my mother and daughters ( sobbing continued on both sides with both generations for different reasons, but both centred around loss). I felt torn, suitably watching this with both generations, as to what part of the film affected me most. Those with children and aging parents will understand when viewing this.

The soundtrack was beautiful and the song played during the most emotive scenes is both beautiful and haunting enough for me to seek it out.

A beautiful movie, which is a little in the fantasy realm in its explanation behind the mortality/immortality aspect which makes it almost fairy tale like, but beautifully executed, and gorgeously told. See it with your mother or daughter, or like I did, both! Take your tissues!

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 82 people found the following review useful:

Beautiful love story

9/10
Author: pamma09 from United States
24 April 2015

I have been looking forward to this film because of the story line. There are so many things to like about it - the flashbacks are well done and so believable. The costumes are so fun to watch. I do not think I have seen Blake Lively act before and I was clearly entranced by her performance. She carries the film so well and is so quiet and well done. I liked the actors - Michaeil Haisman is gorgeous and believable. Harrison Ford - so happy to see him in a movie again - and he is also believable as the father of Ellis. Elen Burnstyn is delightful. This story could have been presented in such a different manner - director Lee Toland Kreiger got it, and it is beautiful story-telling. I love the last scene.

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

A beautiful film

8/10
Author: Gate Keeper from Los Angeles, CA
30 April 2015

Excellent performances, a truly poignant story. See it, you won't be disappointed.

Director Lee Toland Krieger wisely speeds through the scientific mumbo-jumbo, treating it as the least-interesting aspect of this tale. Instead, he focuses on the relationship fallout of Adaline's predicament. It's a disarmingly affecting film, and very sad at points. A rumination on loneliness. Cinematically, Krieger serves up numerous arching, overhead shots and slow-motion sequences. This coupled with the various time periods tackled gives the picture a buoyant sense of scope.

Particularly memorable in this is Harrison Ford. After stiff and stagey efforts in movies such as "42," Ford delivers a beautifully conflicted performance as a man trying to reconcile his past.

Highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Just Enjoy This Emotional Tapestry As It Is Woven

8/10
Author: georgebaldwin-07903 from Gainesville, Florida
3 May 2015

This movie touched me personally at a number of levels, because I lived in San Francisco, "the one that got away" looked a lot like B.L. and my (very happy) marriage is like the one H.F. portrays. I found B.L. hauntingly beautiful, and this story a tapestry of feelings unfolding; especially her surrender versus flight. Her encounter with H.F. from out of her past is powerful for both characters. And I thought the resolution of her immortality was quite a pleasant surprise that made me smile after being teary-eyed most of the movie. The last few minutes of the movie are especially beautiful if you are a romantic like me. This is a sweet movie that you will really enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

72 out of 117 people found the following review useful:

Would you want to be forever young?

7/10
Author: Russ Matthews (russellingreviews) from Sydney Australia
14 April 2015

No wise man ever wished to be younger." Jonathan Swift Walking into the cinema... Intrigueing is the word that comes to mind with The Age of Adaline. It is hard to categorise this film. Is it fantasy, a romance, a philosophical exercise, or a combination of them all? Overall rating: 3.5 stars Cinematic value: 3 stars Big Questions value: 4 stars What would you do if you were to remain 29 years of age for the rest of your life? Some might think that this would be ideal, while others would consider this to be a horrifying experience. This is the life of Adaline Bowman (Blake Lively). Through a series of fantastic phenomena, she has remained as a 29 year old for eight decades. She has to experience a life of solitude and separation, because she cannot age with those that she is closest to in her life. Her life is veiled in secrecy, until she meets Ellis Jones (Michiel Huisman), a philanthropist who ignites her passion for life and unknowingly he is a link to her past. What seems to be an innocent weekend away, becomes a crossroads for the truth and a chance for her to decide what she will do with the rest of her life. I will admit it, a good romance is a joy to experience. Romances may not be my favourite genre, but they have their place in cinematic history. The Age of Adeline will not win awards for groundbreaking film making, but it does fill a void in this year's celluloid offerings. It is a good, straight forward, romantic journey. Even with the fantasy element of eternal youth, this was a good film for the romantic at heart. It can get a bit sappy, but it is a satisfying tale. Indie director Lee Toland Krieger (Celeste and Jesse Forever) is able to incorporate a level of geekiness to satisfy any male audience members without sacrificing the primary storyline. His measured style develops a believability of this inventive story. Kreiger hearkens back to the beautiful romances of bygone eras, where subtlety and magnificent cinematography aid in delivering a beautiful romance. With the same level of measured performance, Blake Lively is excellent as the lead. She portrays the melancholy of a woman who lives with the mind of an elderly woman trapped in a perpetually young body. She allows herself to fall for Ellis, who is an old soul in a young man's body. Huisman brings a depth of character that makes this relationship right for both of them. One of the challenges of decade jumping films is the ageing of key characters, but Kreiger manages to make this element convincing. From the excellent supporting performances from Harrison Ford and Ellen Burstyn to the young actors that portrayed them in earlier decades, these characters were convincing and do not cause any distraction. Admittedly, the unfortunate component of watching this genre is the anticipation of sappiness or the inevitable tragedy. The Age of Adaline is a romance and contains some of these inevitable trappings, but due to the melancholy of the lead character and the control she has to shoulder for eight decades, this tale contains the bitter sweetness needed to move beyond the syrupy elements of many good hearted romances. Which leaves the verdict that Kreiger delivers an appealing and enjoyable romance. Before the opening sequence, this romantic adventure provides some of the best discussion points in recent cinema. In our era of desired eternal youth or the desire to merely appearing young, The Age of Adaline allows the audience to see the curse that this gift can be on anyone's life. It helps that Blake Lively is an attractive woman and manages to not experience any disfiguring accidents in her one-hundred and seven years. Which could cause a level of disbelief in the story, but does not become a consideration. Her pain seems to come from being attractive to most men, but she cannot allow herself to respond to their advances and she is only is allowed to be close with her dog, Reggie. Thoughts move from eternal youth to eternal life. Her melancholic spirit is shown in her awareness of this life that she remains trapped in. There has to be more as death occurs all around her, but she seems to be eternally trapped. She maintains a mental strength to not seek death as the answer to her pain, but death does add to the shadow that envelops her life. If that is not enough, Adaline has to lie and say farewell to all who come into her life. Her life is a moral conundrum and explains why she seems to be a shell of a woman throughout much of the film, until she is eventually allowed to tell the truth and live the life she never thought she could live. The Age of Adaline proves to be more than a romance. It is a philosophical journey packaged as this year's romance. Leaving the cinema: Is it ironic that a film of ageless beauty would be packaged in the film making style of yesteryear? This felt like a romance from the past, but will meet modern audiences with a fresh view on romance. This is a film that can bring out the romantic in anyone. It may have a sappy element, but it is satisfying and may make the date night dinner conversation deeper and more meaningful. Reel Dialogue: What are the bigger questions to consider from this film? 1. Would you want to be forever young? (Ecclesiastes 12:1, 2 Timothy 2:22) 2. Is an eternal soul better off being in heaven than on earth? (John 14:2, Philippians 3:20) Written by Russell Matthews based on a five star rating system

Was the above review useful to you?

43 out of 64 people found the following review useful:

Poor written love story with boring characters

4/10
Author: jebotecovjece
26 July 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

At the beginning the movie seemed quite interesting, but then the plot happened. It's not that i expected the most beautiful love story of all time, but at least something decent. The "scientific explanation" was silly and unnecessary. I mean lightning- how original, nobody ever explained super powers with lightning. A magical potion or door would have been more believable. Then- the police officer who calls the FBI immediately, just because a 45 year old women looks like 30-35?! I mean come on.. It's not like she was 70 at the time. Even without plastic surgery, there are people who look younger. And even then, nobody thought, that it could be a typo or something? Then, the love story with the long- hair- guy. It's just stupid. I can't even say it's clishee, because clishee would have been better. They tried to make the characters seem interesting and their dates so original, but the lack of chemistry, emotions and a normal human conversation made those scenes look completely implausible. I would rather see them go to a date to a fast food restaurant and talk about politics and the weather than this. What do we know about the guy? He's a stalker, he likes unusual girls, because- omg, she's reading braille and isn't blind, that's so cool! And he's rich, of course. His lines to hit on her were like he found them by googling "interesting facts to say on a date". It seemed like they didn't talk about anything personal, anyone's life, world views, likes and dislikes, but about random knowledge you find at the end of the newspaper. And she..after living for such a long time, it would be nice to see, not just how much random stuff she learned, but to see her wisdom or the typical old people's grumpiness, but no. She acts like she's 20 and just started her life and didn't figure out how to live with someone- not because she will loose him, but because the FBI scared her with their unsuccessful one time visit. And after a week or a month she loves the stalker guy?! The love story with her father was way better and had some real potential. I mean the guy named a comet after her! If that's not romantic..no. I would have rather seen her run away with him. But the young looking pretty girl can't ditch the young pretty guy for an old guy. And then, the electricity undoing her super power just because electricity is magical- what to say?! The last scene was hilarious- the narrator really had to explain to us, that a grey hair means she's getting old :D Just in case stupid people won't get how brilliant the movie really is. As far as the lines and chemistry goes, the narrator could have talked through the whole movie and explain to us how they loved each other and how touching everything is.

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable romantic movie

9/10
Author: hisparky from United States
18 April 2015

My initial interest in the movie wasn't very high from the previews but the offer of a free screening lead me to study the preview a little more. I decided to order the free tickets if they were still available in my area. I was blessed to get 2 tickets. I was pleasantly surprised with the film throughout and my friend enjoyed it also. I liked it so well that I plan to buy the bluray when it comes out. I like to collect nice romances for future reviewing. I initially thought a few characters didn't look much like their parents but as the movie played out it was not a problem for me. Their acting was so good I could over look that. Blake Lively did an excellent acting job in the movie. I was impressed with Harrison Ford's acting in the movie. In summary I enjoyed the movie very much. I enjoyed the clean crisp time period photography. I would consider this a good date movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

Cute Love Story Detracted By Hasty Developed Past

7/10
Author: rgkarim from United States
26 April 2015

Ever wonder what its like not to age? I know I have, but I never can grasp all the factors that come about with immortality, especially in terms of love and relationships. Well my friends, we have the good fortune to get movies to give us a glimpse, and this weekend it is in the form of the Age of Adaline. This romantic drama has some potential to be an interesting romance story, but one must heed caution when watching trailers. So let's get started on this review shall we.

When I said interesting, I really meant it, as Age of Adaline is a unique story that centers on immortality. Our heroine doesn't drink some mystical potion, or undergoes some futuristic operation, but is somehow mutated by a rogue lightning bolt striking the river. All of this is explained in the first 10 minutes, in a hasty montage that sums up her life, which while time efficient left me a little robbed. I didn't want them to take forever, but a gradual build up of her life pre accident would have given this tale some more depth. Oh well it means we get to the romance aspect of the story faster. This film's relationships were a bit awkward for me, and a bit hastily developed at first. Her main romance goes nowhere due to fear, and only a few cute dates give us any hope something will happen. But then movie magic hits like lightning and expedites the romance to warp speed.

Regardless of how fast we get to it though, the romance in this movie is not the greatest. Sure it has its cute moments, emphasizing creativity and thoughtfulness in dating, with a little historical twist in it. There is some heartfelt, overemotional dialogue thrown in to feign love, but this movie didn't sell me in their relationship. However, Adaline's past runs interference into the relationship, and takes precedence over her life at hand. Fortunately what love we did see was not portrayed as superficial sex that many modern movies like to show.

The movie's main focus instead is about living life and pushing past your fears, especially ones addressing the concept of life. Age of Adaline has some really depressing moments and left me feeling down in the dumps. Many of the problems she flees from may get in your head, but do provide some good food for thought and philosophical discussions. Yet you will see some overdramatic, spanned out plot lines in this movie that start to grow stale.

Story aside, the editing of this movie is decent. Despite the 100 minute running tme, they still had some issues in terms of pacing and extra scenes. I felt the film cuts through a lot of Adaline's history, choosing to relive her moments via hastily done flashbacks and narrator monologues. Other times it drags on an issue, moving like molasses down a hill to get to the conclusion. As for extra scenes, well a few morbid parts could have been snipped out of the final cut, or at least replaced with some happier moments in the grand scheme of things. Despite all the extra fluff, one consistency is the camera work, which captures the emotion of our characters to illicit the intended response. Each age is well designed, makeup, costumes, and scenery all well combined to bring the world to life.

However the acting may be the component that this movie relies on the most. Blake Lovely, I'm sorry, Lively was indeed a beautiful addition to this movie in both acting and physical qualities. She carried a pristine poise that mimicked the personalities of the attitudes back then, and yet she was somehow humble. Lively shed a good amount of tears in this installment and put her somber emotions to good use, though I do wish they had given her character a broader emotional spectrum. Her beauty helps complete the picture and the outfits her wardrobe department designed will distract many from her monotone character. As for the other actors they do their parts well, but they are primarily supportive roles surrounding Adaline's story. Michiel Huisman does the job of a persistent romantic well. He's got that nice guys charm and humor that makes him likable, but he is a bit of a bore in terms of romantic interests. His backstory is flatter than a sheet of paper, and his struggles are practically absent in this tale, overshadowed by another relationship stuck in Adaline's head. As for Ford, his acting is just as strong as ever, but his role was limited in this tale, again constantly interrupted by chaotic slew of Adaline's mess.

Age of Adaline is a good drama that has a nice change of pace from the sea of mundane plots this genre has recently taken. Adaline's journey is interesting and emotional, but the romance aspect fell through for me. In addition the tale wasn't the most exciting thing, and combined with a depressing plot, was not a fun trip for me this weekend. Is it worth a trip to theater? Can't say it was, but might be good for a girl's night out soiree. My scores for Age of Adaline are:

Drama/Romance: 7.0 Movie Overall: 6.5

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history