The Age of Adaline (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
243 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
Surpassed Expectations
bethany-ellen-2228 April 2015
Already drawn to the premise of this film, I had high expectations of it, and was particularly interested in seeing Blake Lively in the lead role as a 107 year old eternally young woman. From only seeing her work in Gossip Girl, which was adequate but not particularly memorable, I was keen to see what her acting range was like. Not only did Lively impress me, but the film did also, surpassing my expectations.

The Age of Adaline is not only visually beautiful, (props to cinematographer David Lanzenberg) but the story is also. Yes, this is a romance film, but the evocative story raises questions from the viewer about life, death, and love. Michiel Huisman is great in his role as a sensitive romantic who yearns to be close to and understand Adaline - well done to the writers for creating a male romantic lead who isn't unrealistically perfect and cliché. Harrison Ford impressed me greatly, especially in his scenes with Lively, so much so that I was brought to tears through a mere look. Ellen Burstyn as Flemming provided a charming voice of reason for the protagonist. The score was also wonderfully done, making the emotional scenes all the more powerful, and the costume designer did very well in allowing the audience to fill in the time blanks without knowing the era through the narrated dates.

Overall, a beautifully crafted film with a wonderful story and powerful performances that will completely captivate the viewers.
77 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Just Enjoy This Emotional Tapestry As It Is Woven
This movie touched me personally at a number of levels, because I lived in San Francisco, "the one that got away" looked a lot like B.L. and my (very happy) marriage is like the one H.F. portrays. I found B.L. hauntingly beautiful, and this story a tapestry of feelings unfolding; especially her surrender versus flight. Her encounter with H.F. from out of her past is powerful for both characters. And I thought the resolution of her immortality was quite a pleasant surprise that made me smile after being teary-eyed most of the movie. The last few minutes of the movie are especially beautiful if you are a romantic like me. This is a sweet movie that you will really enjoy.
38 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A beautiful film
Gate Keeper30 April 2015
Excellent performances, a truly poignant story. See it, you won't be disappointed.

Director Lee Toland Krieger wisely speeds through the scientific mumbo-jumbo, treating it as the least-interesting aspect of this tale. Instead, he focuses on the relationship fallout of Adaline's predicament. It's a disarmingly affecting film, and very sad at points. A rumination on loneliness. Cinematically, Krieger serves up numerous arching, overhead shots and slow-motion sequences. This coupled with the various time periods tackled gives the picture a buoyant sense of scope.

Particularly memorable in this is Harrison Ford. After stiff and stagey efforts in movies such as "42," Ford delivers a beautifully conflicted performance as a man trying to reconcile his past.

Highly recommended.
45 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Beautiful love story
pamma0924 April 2015
I have been looking forward to this film because of the story line. There are so many things to like about it - the flashbacks are well done and so believable. The costumes are so fun to watch. I do not think I have seen Blake Lively act before and I was clearly entranced by her performance. She carries the film so well and is so quiet and well done. I liked the actors - Michaeil Haisman is gorgeous and believable. Harrison Ford - so happy to see him in a movie again - and he is also believable as the father of Ellis. Elen Burnstyn is delightful. This story could have been presented in such a different manner - director Lee Toland Kreiger got it, and it is beautiful story-telling. I love the last scene.
61 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A love story ~
juxtawho14 April 2015
Cast chosen are all well suited to the characters; they performed as if the story was theirs to share ~ A love story that will test the assumptions of viewers.

Enjoyable, well acted, well done. A plausible plot supported by characters and settings that make plausible more than probable.

Our preview audience appeared surprised at the chance to see a great cast in a simple story of love. Laughter because Harrison Ford holds a mirror to the lives of the audience, and we see ourselves. Blake Lively never gives us a hint of deviation from her assumed promise.

Lots of historical fact that interests rather than bores the mind, and never obscures the journey we're following with the characters. Michiel Huisman plays innocence with persistence, grace, and a smile; we laugh and cheer him on. Ellen Burstyn plays a subtle catalyst role. Kathy Baker always seems to pull the characters together, and none of the cast can take away our interest from the science and character of Adaline. I'll see it again, in the theater for the larger than life characters. Thanks crew, staff, and actors.
96 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
morbidity or maturity mortality?
nadeyn20 April 2015
The acting in this I cannot fault, though Adeline has a very low range of emotions given the material, her demure persona is a sign of the times in which she was raised. Perhaps it was the stiff upper lip if the early 20th century? I have never seen the male lead and he suited his part well.

I watched this with my mother and daughters ( sobbing continued on both sides with both generations for different reasons, but both centred around loss). I felt torn, suitably watching this with both generations, as to what part of the film affected me most. Those with children and aging parents will understand when viewing this.

The soundtrack was beautiful and the song played during the most emotive scenes is both beautiful and haunting enough for me to seek it out.

A beautiful movie, which is a little in the fantasy realm in its explanation behind the mortality/immortality aspect which makes it almost fairy tale like, but beautifully executed, and gorgeously told. See it with your mother or daughter, or like I did, both! Take your tissues!
78 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Cute Love Story Detracted By Hasty Developed Past
rgkarim26 April 2015
Ever wonder what its like not to age? I know I have, but I never can grasp all the factors that come about with immortality, especially in terms of love and relationships. Well my friends, we have the good fortune to get movies to give us a glimpse, and this weekend it is in the form of the Age of Adaline. This romantic drama has some potential to be an interesting romance story, but one must heed caution when watching trailers. So let's get started on this review shall we.

When I said interesting, I really meant it, as Age of Adaline is a unique story that centers on immortality. Our heroine doesn't drink some mystical potion, or undergoes some futuristic operation, but is somehow mutated by a rogue lightning bolt striking the river. All of this is explained in the first 10 minutes, in a hasty montage that sums up her life, which while time efficient left me a little robbed. I didn't want them to take forever, but a gradual build up of her life pre accident would have given this tale some more depth. Oh well it means we get to the romance aspect of the story faster. This film's relationships were a bit awkward for me, and a bit hastily developed at first. Her main romance goes nowhere due to fear, and only a few cute dates give us any hope something will happen. But then movie magic hits like lightning and expedites the romance to warp speed.

Regardless of how fast we get to it though, the romance in this movie is not the greatest. Sure it has its cute moments, emphasizing creativity and thoughtfulness in dating, with a little historical twist in it. There is some heartfelt, overemotional dialogue thrown in to feign love, but this movie didn't sell me in their relationship. However, Adaline's past runs interference into the relationship, and takes precedence over her life at hand. Fortunately what love we did see was not portrayed as superficial sex that many modern movies like to show.

The movie's main focus instead is about living life and pushing past your fears, especially ones addressing the concept of life. Age of Adaline has some really depressing moments and left me feeling down in the dumps. Many of the problems she flees from may get in your head, but do provide some good food for thought and philosophical discussions. Yet you will see some overdramatic, spanned out plot lines in this movie that start to grow stale.

Story aside, the editing of this movie is decent. Despite the 100 minute running tme, they still had some issues in terms of pacing and extra scenes. I felt the film cuts through a lot of Adaline's history, choosing to relive her moments via hastily done flashbacks and narrator monologues. Other times it drags on an issue, moving like molasses down a hill to get to the conclusion. As for extra scenes, well a few morbid parts could have been snipped out of the final cut, or at least replaced with some happier moments in the grand scheme of things. Despite all the extra fluff, one consistency is the camera work, which captures the emotion of our characters to illicit the intended response. Each age is well designed, makeup, costumes, and scenery all well combined to bring the world to life.

However the acting may be the component that this movie relies on the most. Blake Lovely, I'm sorry, Lively was indeed a beautiful addition to this movie in both acting and physical qualities. She carried a pristine poise that mimicked the personalities of the attitudes back then, and yet she was somehow humble. Lively shed a good amount of tears in this installment and put her somber emotions to good use, though I do wish they had given her character a broader emotional spectrum. Her beauty helps complete the picture and the outfits her wardrobe department designed will distract many from her monotone character. As for the other actors they do their parts well, but they are primarily supportive roles surrounding Adaline's story. Michiel Huisman does the job of a persistent romantic well. He's got that nice guys charm and humor that makes him likable, but he is a bit of a bore in terms of romantic interests. His backstory is flatter than a sheet of paper, and his struggles are practically absent in this tale, overshadowed by another relationship stuck in Adaline's head. As for Ford, his acting is just as strong as ever, but his role was limited in this tale, again constantly interrupted by chaotic slew of Adaline's mess.

Age of Adaline is a good drama that has a nice change of pace from the sea of mundane plots this genre has recently taken. Adaline's journey is interesting and emotional, but the romance aspect fell through for me. In addition the tale wasn't the most exciting thing, and combined with a depressing plot, was not a fun trip for me this weekend. Is it worth a trip to theater? Can't say it was, but might be good for a girl's night out soiree. My scores for Age of Adaline are:

Drama/Romance: 7.0 Movie Overall: 6.5
33 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Poor written love story with boring characters
jebotecovjece26 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
At the beginning the movie seemed quite interesting, but then the plot happened. It's not that i expected the most beautiful love story of all time, but at least something decent. The "scientific explanation" was silly and unnecessary. I mean lightning- how original, nobody ever explained super powers with lightning. A magical potion or door would have been more believable. Then- the police officer who calls the FBI immediately, just because a 45 year old women looks like 30-35?! I mean come on.. It's not like she was 70 at the time. Even without plastic surgery, there are people who look younger. And even then, nobody thought, that it could be a typo or something? Then, the love story with the long- hair- guy. It's just stupid. I can't even say it's clishee, because clishee would have been better. They tried to make the characters seem interesting and their dates so original, but the lack of chemistry, emotions and a normal human conversation made those scenes look completely implausible. I would rather see them go to a date to a fast food restaurant and talk about politics and the weather than this. What do we know about the guy? He's a stalker, he likes unusual girls, because- omg, she's reading braille and isn't blind, that's so cool! And he's rich, of course. His lines to hit on her were like he found them by googling "interesting facts to say on a date". It seemed like they didn't talk about anything personal, anyone's life, world views, likes and dislikes, but about random knowledge you find at the end of the newspaper. And she..after living for such a long time, it would be nice to see, not just how much random stuff she learned, but to see her wisdom or the typical old people's grumpiness, but no. She acts like she's 20 and just started her life and didn't figure out how to live with someone- not because she will loose him, but because the FBI scared her with their unsuccessful one time visit. And after a week or a month she loves the stalker guy?! The love story with her father was way better and had some real potential. I mean the guy named a comet after her! If that's not romantic..no. I would have rather seen her run away with him. But the young looking pretty girl can't ditch the young pretty guy for an old guy. And then, the electricity undoing her super power just because electricity is magical- what to say?! The last scene was hilarious- the narrator really had to explain to us, that a grey hair means she's getting old :D Just in case stupid people won't get how brilliant the movie really is. As far as the lines and chemistry goes, the narrator could have talked through the whole movie and explain to us how they loved each other and how touching everything is.
45 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
All these years she's lived, but she's never had a life...
Chalice_Of_Evil15 April 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The Age of Adaline isn't the first movie to tackle the subject of immortality, nor will it be the last, but what it does is offer something a bit different to your typical movie about immortals. For one thing, no vampires here. For another, while most of these types of films are seen through the eyes of a male character, it's a woman by the name of Adaline Bowman (her birth name, although she goes by many others) who is the focus this time around, which allows for a unique spin on things. Time and again we've heard from broody vampires and such how much of a "curse" immortality is, but here it's applied to what is essentially a real life scenario - albeit with one slight supernatural element. It poses the question that if you were just a regular human being, except you outlived everyone, what would your life be like? Here we see that it would be a life on the run, leaving everyone you know/may get to know behind for fear of them finding out your secret or becoming a specimen in experiments. You'd never be able to settle anywhere - which is exactly Adaline's dilemma.

Portraying the central character is Blake Lively, who most would know mainly from Gossip Girl, but has actually been very good in a number of films which I feel she hasn't gotten enough credit for. Dismissing her based on her role in the show (or Green Lantern) would be doing her quite the disservice, as she has shown that she is capable of much more than those two roles allowed her. Apart from having a classical look that allows her to fit the different eras her character lives through and makes her physically perfect for the role, she also conveys an old soul inside a body that's forever youthful. The character of Adaline dresses, wears her hair and speaks like someone from a different time, but it's Lively who makes this believable. She feels like someone who has become tired of running and having to give up the life she wants because of something she never asked for. She requires new fake IDs from Tony (Richard Harmon - who seems to be in *everything* I watch nowadays), her constant companion is a King Charles Spaniel (who does the cutest little slide EVER), and apart from having the time to learn braille and many different languages, there seems to be very few upsides to her situation. Thanks to a rather intrusive - and, quite frankly, unnecessary - voice-over, we learn that Adaline's first husband died - which is rather sped through via narration so we can get to what caused her condition - namely that, like cough syrup is to the Flaming Moe in The Simpsons, the secret ingredient here is...car accident + electricity (combined with snowfall, apparently). We experience first-hand what it's like to be in a car accident as she's driving, which is a very effective way of having it play out.

Adaline's daughter, Flemming (played as a young woman by Cate Richardson, and then later/for the bulk of the movie by Ellen Burstyn), is the only person in her mother's life to know her secret. Their exchanges are quite entertaining but at the same time very emotional, as is Adaline's close friendship with her dog. Let no one ever accuse Blake Lively of not being able to generate emotion, as her scenes with her best friend certainly require a tissue/hankie/snot-rag handy. One day she catches the eye of Ellis (Michiel Huisman, from Game of Thrones and Orphan Black) when he sees her reading braille (but knows she's not actually blind). The two develop a nice chemistry when he pursues her in an elevator on New Year's Eve. For the most most, Ellis is likable enough (though does walk that fine line between persistent and stalker). We see why she tries to keep her distance via flashback to meeting a young man named William (Anthony Ingruber) - who, it turns out, happens to be Ellis' father in the present (Harrison Ford, in one of his less gruff/grumpy roles of recent memory). The resemblance between the two actors playing William in different stages of his life is uncanny, and kudos to the younger for being able to mimic the older's facial expressions and voice. We also meet the rest of Ellis' family, who soon realise something is up with the new girl he's brought home thanks to William's reaction to her. Despite trying to throw him off, he - like his son - is persistent and Adaline has to come to terms with whether she will stay or reluctantly do what she's always done: run away. It's to Lively's credit that the character's actions/motivations remain clear and she never comes across as a bad person for what she does.

The costumes, sets and everything that goes into bringing the past eras to life is done with precise detail. The score is effective but subtle, much like the humour. It's not in-your-face, but there are a few laughs to be had sprinkled throughout which lighten the mood and prevent proceedings from becoming too gloomy. If there's any negatives to the movie, it's firstly the rather annoying voice-over. Yes, it's there to help explain things, but I think we could have figured it out for ourselves/drawn own conclusions. Secondly, the attempt to explain what in one breath is described as "magical" and in the next is a bunch of science babble seems rather contradictory. Not only will most probably tune out during the attempt to explain the pseudoscience involved, but it feels somewhat out of place here. There's no need for it, it's not going to make the concept any more believable. They could've just left the premise as it was, asked us to suspend disbelief and I'm sure most would've gladly done so. Still, I enjoyed this throwback to the earlier era style of Hollywood movies.
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Enjoyable romantic movie
hisparky18 April 2015
My initial interest in the movie wasn't very high from the previews but the offer of a free screening lead me to study the preview a little more. I decided to order the free tickets if they were still available in my area. I was blessed to get 2 tickets. I was pleasantly surprised with the film throughout and my friend enjoyed it also. I liked it so well that I plan to buy the bluray when it comes out. I like to collect nice romances for future reviewing. I initially thought a few characters didn't look much like their parents but as the movie played out it was not a problem for me. Their acting was so good I could over look that. Blake Lively did an excellent acting job in the movie. I was impressed with Harrison Ford's acting in the movie. In summary I enjoyed the movie very much. I enjoyed the clean crisp time period photography. I would consider this a good date movie.
46 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews