Last Man Standing (TV Series 2011–2017) Poster

(2011–2017)

User Reviews

Add a Review
128 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
Tim's No Tool This Time
alan_holloway_217 October 2011
I didn't expect much from this, although I did enjoy "Home Improvement" when I was younger. This isn't a great leap forward from that, but works pretty well as a comedy that doesn't require too much thought and provides plenty of giggles.

Tim is a "Man's man" who decides to take more of a hand in the raising of his 3 daughters (and 1 small grandson). Needless to say, his world view is at odds with theirs and hilarity ensues.

Allen does play pretty much the same character as in "Home Improvement", but the family dynamics are well handled, with the daughters each getting their own personalities out of the handbook of family comedy clichés and running with them.

Cookie cutter comedy, sure, but sometimes that's all you need for twenty or so minutes of smiles. I'll be tuning in regularly.
51 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
I love it!
gblack887 December 2011
Of course, it can be compared to Tim Allen's old show, but this is really fresh and Tim having to interact with girls instead of boys really puts him out of his element, and adds to the humor. Love Hector as the boss,(He was the best part of Pretty Woman). The girls are really starting to shine, especially the middle one, who is so clueless! I do agree with someone else, the youngest one is the most likable and best played. As far as Nancy Travis being weak, I disagree. She is nearly perfect as the sensible half of that marriage who is the calming influence. She has seen it all before and does not need to go over the top, that is Tim's job! (and still looks good in a pirate costume)
39 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Season 2 Jumped the shark already?
bradleyec7 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Last season I rated it a 10. Replacing Kristin (oldest daughter) with a completely different personality was bad enough, but aging the kid 5 years and adding an older irritating guy as Kristin's baby-daddy is too much. The show went from fun to lame. The daughter's were perfect, too bad the staff couldn't get along. Keep the focus on Tim Allen and the show might recover. One more episode like season 2 episode 1, and I'm done. The premise is a family divided by the election. Really, I hear about this stuff all day, and I watch shows like this to get away from it. Let's try to avoid spending a sitcom episode talking about the details of two candidates platforms...that's what the news is for. Boring.
43 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Ruined an amazing show!!
Professional_smartass5 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Last year i watched Season 1 Episode 1, and was COMPLETELY hooked! Tim Allen was hilarious, and the daughters all fed off each other and were almost as funny as Tim Allen. The jokes and story lines were all fresh and entertaining. Every week i was always hanging to watch the new episode, and i told all my friends/family about it, they all loved it as well.

Then Season 2 started......

I was so excited to watch my favorite show, But the first thing i see is that they replaced Kristen with a new actress, Fair enough, these things happen, i was willing to forgive it and try and accept her, But the personality of the character was completely different. Then the father of Kristens son is now in it? why? what was the need for that? He wasn't missed in Season 1, so why add him in season 2? Adding a new cast member with the daughter was enough without adding another one. and hes not funny AT ALL. Hes just annoying and makes me want to change the channel every time he talks.

Apart from the cast member changes, it feels like the entire dynamic of the show has changed. Every episode feels like a debate. I was willing to forgive the first episode, because it was about the Election, so naturally there is going to be debates. But then the next episode was a debate, and the next episode after that was yet another debate. Whether its about Vegetarians, or Dodgeball. The entire episodes is just Kristen and the father of her son, fighting with Tim Allen about whats best for the kid. It gets old really fast. I watch this show to have a laugh, not to be thinking about serious issues.

I used to watch this show and be left wanting more, now the episodes cant end soon enough... I gave it till Episode 6 of season 2, and have stopped watching.. I really wish they didn't ruin this amazing show.

So if you're looking for a great show, watch season 1, and stop there.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
IMDb Ratings couldn't be more wrong
EdCT344013 December 2011
First off, I'm sick of the comparisons to Home Improvement. #1: It's an iconic television program that stands completely on its own. #2: People get older and move on to different things, its like someone in their 40's dwelling on how great their 20's were for the rest of their lives. Tim Allen really revives his career with this show. I wasn't a big fan of his movies, but this gave me a new outlook on the man. His transition from a father of three boys to a father of three girls is hilarious. His wife in the show, Nancy Travis, plays great part that I feel has been greatly overlooked. Alexandra Krosney is a fresh face that shows a lot of promise with her role as a young mother in the show. Kaitlyn Dever plays the baby of the family and pulls the role off perfectly. And I saved the best for last: Molly Ephraim instantly became one of the sexiest woman on TV. She could look sexy in a snowsuit. Your witnessing the birth of a huge star in the making when you watch this show. Give up your notion as Tim Allen, father of 3 boys on Home Improvement and you suddenly become hooked on this fantastic new comedy.
68 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Can't Miss With Héctor Elizondo and Tim Allen!
MSB83858718 October 2011
I missed the premiere. I don't watch ABC that much and must have missed the promo. I came across it on Hulu and was tickled to see Tim Allen back in a family sitcom. I watched both episodes and have put it on my watch/DVR list. I really enjoyed the show. I realize that the first couple of episodes of any new production are spent trying to set the stage and help us get to know the characters. I look forward to seeing these beautiful girls challenge their parents as they deal with life experiences. Seeing Tim Allen in the role of granddad reminds me of my own father. So sweet!

It is a bonus to have Héctor Elizondo (Chicago Hope, Monk) and Christoph Sanders (Talledega Nights, Ghost Whisperer) in the cast! While the family is female dominated, they add the macho balance to she show. It is so nice to have a good, family, multi-generational comedy to watch again!
52 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
The show's politics are just too much
cutesd4 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I had to stop watching this show. This show grew to have a really disturbing political agenda constantly taking pot shots at progressivism while never really examining any of the issues very deeply.

I was first bothered by an episode concerning the 5-year-old grandson saying the Pledge of Allegiance in school. The liberal father of the child sends in a note saying that he doesn't want his son saying the pledge. Why? Oh just because that's how liberals are. Tim Allen's character reacts by putting a flag pole in his front yard to demonstrate "patriotism" and at the end of the show the kid learns and says the pledge. There is also a scuffle where it is bluntly pointed out that veterans are "more patriotic" than non-veterans. I object to this episode on many levels but mostly because it conveniently writes off a legitimate argument as liberal anti-patriot ludicrousness. Does a 5-year-old understand what it means to "pledge allegiance" to something? Isn't teaching young children a pledge when they don't even understand the words let alone the reasoning behind them just indoctrination? Isn't that the OPPOSITE of what the US is founded upon which would make it the opposite of patriotism? Not according to this show.

Then there's the show's characters : the wife is a scientist who works for an energy company whose primary energy procurement is fracking. (?) She is a highly educated professional but she makes less money than her husband who works as a marketing consultant for a sporting goods store. (???) The eldest daughter is the "smart one" but instead of going to college, she works as a waitress because she got knocked up at 17, but it's all OK because she lives with her parents who make sure she and her son have health care. (???) The middle daughter is a slut, an idiot, and an attention whore. I watched through season 2 and she has yet to do anything worthwhile or that sets a positive example for any young women out there. The youngest daughter is daddy's favorite and "her not being a boy should not be counted against her". (???) She's the most worthwhile because she's a tomboy, good at sports, and is in the junior ROTC (puke). So the best, good daughter is the one who appreciates and excels at stereotypical masculine hobbies/interests and who behaves most like a man. This show is seriously screwed up.

OH and the millennial men in the show don't fare any better: Kyle is insanely stupid and characterized often as useless. And the grandson's father is a liberal and is characterized as weak, ridiculous, lacking logic, and is always proved wrong in the end. Oh, but he IS a good guy because he came back to take care of his kid. It's the only good thing about him.

Then there's all the little digs at minorities, birth control, social programs, universal health care, gun regulation, immigrants, non-Christian religions, and abortion. According to Last Man Standing: women are inherently inferior, racial tensions are limited to white guilt and minorities laughing at them, universal health care is ludicrous, Obama was born in Kenya, animal activists are terrorists, vegans are pussies, solar energy is "too expensive", only legal immigrants are good immigrants, better pray at every meal, and abortion equals murdering your grandson. Is this a comedy sitcom or an episode of the O'Reilly factor?!?

The show even had Duck Dynasty on it which is appalling in its own right. I'm glad this show was canceled. It is heavy handed at best and outright nauseating at worst. Honestly, several episodes the underlying premise and subtle messaging made me physically ill. I watched 2 seasons I gave it a fair chance but this show is disgusting especially when I think this is what conservatives actually think and feel. All I can say is YUCK.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Nice while it lasted.
stile994 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Season one was an easy 8 or 9. I loved the show. Let me say right now I wasn't a big fan of the actress who played Kristen, nor was I a fan of the character. My main issue was how she 'talked through her nose', as the phrase goes. I've seen ventriloquists move their lips more than her. As for the character, she seemed to have a permanent case of PMS as a result of her own bad life choices. Bottom line, if they wanted to change the character, they could have had her move or something. On to season two.

I'll be honest and admit this is based on just the first episode of season two, but I doubt I'll be watching the others. The show has just simply lost something. It is hard for me to believe recasting the one person would have that great an impact...maybe it was also changing the character to have the father present? I don't think that is it, I certainly don't object to people who DON'T abandon their offspring. Was it all the political whining? I don't know. Maybe that was it, so I might give episode two a chance. But bottom line, my rating of this show is now a one. I know, I know, "people just don't like change" but this kind of crap was parodied in The Simpsons YEARS ago...Homer said he had to watch a show "before they retool it", and the new show was a completely different show.

That is the case here. This is a completely different show. Last Man Standing season one was a great show, and I will miss it. Last Man Standing season two doesn't seem to have anything for me.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
What happened???!!???
brid_morgan20 January 2013
Last season I gave this show a 9. I liked it, I laughed, I picked up on the subtle politics...now, you can only see the politics shoved up your a... Plus, I can not stand the "new daughter" and her baby daddy. Enough is enough with them! Seriously, the original Kristen rocked, no idea why she isn't there anymore, but it's too bad she's gone. So to put this into review terms. Show was great last season, this season they lost everything that was good about the show. Way too political for a sitcom and can't stand the newest actors. Don't believe me...just watch the first season then the second and you will see!!! So since I need more lines to make this a real review, I'll tell you a bit more. Tim Allen is funny, he really is. He did great last year. I don't mind politics in my sitcoms, just don't shove it down my throat!!
39 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fresh and Funny - a Smart Sitcom
SocMeritocracy1 December 2011
This show hasn't been on long, but episode after episode, it's getting exponentially better - they're really hitting their stride. The whole cast connects, even the seemingly air headed daughter delivers some substance. Each episode has something that makes you think, or just has my family in stitches. Sitcoms have evolved into vulgarity that somehow passes as humor, and while no stranger to colorful language or people, it shouldn't substitute for content. This show delivers without sinking to that level, but it's not without colorful topics, and even deals with topics rather than tries to laugh track over them. Really impressed by what they're delivering, including real laughs, for a sitcom. The cast is great, the daughters are not just foils for situation targets, but ladies who can and do act. The strength and dialogue from the youngest is truly refreshing. We love the show.
29 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews