IMDb > "Last Man Standing" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Last Man Standing"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Last Man Standing" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 127 reviews in total 

51 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

Tim's No Tool This Time

Author: alan_holloway_2
17 October 2011

I didn't expect much from this, although I did enjoy "Home Improvement" when I was younger. This isn't a great leap forward from that, but works pretty well as a comedy that doesn't require too much thought and provides plenty of giggles.

Tim is a "Man's man" who decides to take more of a hand in the raising of his 3 daughters (and 1 small grandson). Needless to say, his world view is at odds with theirs and hilarity ensues.

Allen does play pretty much the same character as in "Home Improvement", but the family dynamics are well handled, with the daughters each getting their own personalities out of the handbook of family comedy clichés and running with them.

Cookie cutter comedy, sure, but sometimes that's all you need for twenty or so minutes of smiles. I'll be tuning in regularly.

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 108 people found the following review useful:

IMDb Ratings couldn't be more wrong

10/10
Author: EdCT3440 from United States
13 December 2011

First off, I'm sick of the comparisons to Home Improvement. #1: It's an iconic television program that stands completely on its own. #2: People get older and move on to different things, its like someone in their 40's dwelling on how great their 20's were for the rest of their lives. Tim Allen really revives his career with this show. I wasn't a big fan of his movies, but this gave me a new outlook on the man. His transition from a father of three boys to a father of three girls is hilarious. His wife in the show, Nancy Travis, plays great part that I feel has been greatly overlooked. Alexandra Krosney is a fresh face that shows a lot of promise with her role as a young mother in the show. Kaitlyn Dever plays the baby of the family and pulls the role off perfectly. And I saved the best for last: Molly Ephraim instantly became one of the sexiest woman on TV. She could look sexy in a snowsuit. Your witnessing the birth of a huge star in the making when you watch this show. Give up your notion as Tim Allen, father of 3 boys on Home Improvement and you suddenly become hooked on this fantastic new comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

I love it!

7/10
Author: gblack88 from United States
7 December 2011

Of course, it can be compared to Tim Allen's old show, but this is really fresh and Tim having to interact with girls instead of boys really puts him out of his element, and adds to the humor. Love Hector as the boss,(He was the best part of Pretty Woman). The girls are really starting to shine, especially the middle one, who is so clueless! I do agree with someone else, the youngest one is the most likable and best played. As far as Nancy Travis being weak, I disagree. She is nearly perfect as the sensible half of that marriage who is the calming influence. She has seen it all before and does not need to go over the top, that is Tim's job! (and still looks good in a pirate costume)

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 79 people found the following review useful:

Can't Miss With Héctor Elizondo and Tim Allen!

10/10
Author: MSB838587
18 October 2011

I missed the premiere. I don't watch ABC that much and must have missed the promo. I came across it on Hulu and was tickled to see Tim Allen back in a family sitcom. I watched both episodes and have put it on my watch/DVR list. I really enjoyed the show. I realize that the first couple of episodes of any new production are spent trying to set the stage and help us get to know the characters. I look forward to seeing these beautiful girls challenge their parents as they deal with life experiences. Seeing Tim Allen in the role of granddad reminds me of my own father. So sweet!

It is a bonus to have Héctor Elizondo (Chicago Hope, Monk) and Christoph Sanders (Talledega Nights, Ghost Whisperer) in the cast! While the family is female dominated, they add the macho balance to she show. It is so nice to have a good, family, multi-generational comedy to watch again!

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

Season 2 Jumped the shark already?

2/10
Author: bradleyec from United States
7 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Last season I rated it a 10. Replacing Kristin (oldest daughter) with a completely different personality was bad enough, but aging the kid 5 years and adding an older irritating guy as Kristin's baby-daddy is too much. The show went from fun to lame. The daughter's were perfect, too bad the staff couldn't get along. Keep the focus on Tim Allen and the show might recover. One more episode like season 2 episode 1, and I'm done. The premise is a family divided by the election. Really, I hear about this stuff all day, and I watch shows like this to get away from it. Let's try to avoid spending a sitcom episode talking about the details of two candidates platforms...that's what the news is for. Boring.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Ruined an amazing show!!

1/10
Author: Professional_smartass from Australia
5 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Last year i watched Season 1 Episode 1, and was COMPLETELY hooked! Tim Allen was hilarious, and the daughters all fed off each other and were almost as funny as Tim Allen. The jokes and story lines were all fresh and entertaining. Every week i was always hanging to watch the new episode, and i told all my friends/family about it, they all loved it as well.

Then Season 2 started......

I was so excited to watch my favorite show, But the first thing i see is that they replaced Kristen with a new actress, Fair enough, these things happen, i was willing to forgive it and try and accept her, But the personality of the character was completely different. Then the father of Kristens son is now in it? why? what was the need for that? He wasn't missed in Season 1, so why add him in season 2? Adding a new cast member with the daughter was enough without adding another one. and hes not funny AT ALL. Hes just annoying and makes me want to change the channel every time he talks.

Apart from the cast member changes, it feels like the entire dynamic of the show has changed. Every episode feels like a debate. I was willing to forgive the first episode, because it was about the Election, so naturally there is going to be debates. But then the next episode was a debate, and the next episode after that was yet another debate. Whether its about Vegetarians, or Dodgeball. The entire episodes is just Kristen and the father of her son, fighting with Tim Allen about whats best for the kid. It gets old really fast. I watch this show to have a laugh, not to be thinking about serious issues.

I used to watch this show and be left wanting more, now the episodes cant end soon enough... I gave it till Episode 6 of season 2, and have stopped watching.. I really wish they didn't ruin this amazing show.

So if you're looking for a great show, watch season 1, and stop there.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Fresh and Funny - a Smart Sitcom

10/10
Author: SocMeritocracy from United States
1 December 2011

This show hasn't been on long, but episode after episode, it's getting exponentially better - they're really hitting their stride. The whole cast connects, even the seemingly air headed daughter delivers some substance. Each episode has something that makes you think, or just has my family in stitches. Sitcoms have evolved into vulgarity that somehow passes as humor, and while no stranger to colorful language or people, it shouldn't substitute for content. This show delivers without sinking to that level, but it's not without colorful topics, and even deals with topics rather than tries to laugh track over them. Really impressed by what they're delivering, including real laughs, for a sitcom. The cast is great, the daughters are not just foils for situation targets, but ladies who can and do act. The strength and dialogue from the youngest is truly refreshing. We love the show.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Great Show

10/10
Author: L A from United States
6 November 2015

Minimal vulgarity unlike most of the sitcoms. Current family situations done with humor and showing perspectives from all ages and different opinions. I like the way they keep everything current with what is going on in the world. We laugh and have a good time and wish we didn't have to wait a week for a new episode, so we tape and re-watch during the week. It is so good to laugh. Most sitcoms are so classless... really disappointed with a couple new ones I thought would be family shows. I have no idea why they think they are funny and I certainly wouldn't want my family to see them. This show is FUNNY and family friendly!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Nice while it lasted.

1/10
Author: stile99 from Central US
4 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Season one was an easy 8 or 9. I loved the show. Let me say right now I wasn't a big fan of the actress who played Kristen, nor was I a fan of the character. My main issue was how she 'talked through her nose', as the phrase goes. I've seen ventriloquists move their lips more than her. As for the character, she seemed to have a permanent case of PMS as a result of her own bad life choices. Bottom line, if they wanted to change the character, they could have had her move or something. On to season two.

I'll be honest and admit this is based on just the first episode of season two, but I doubt I'll be watching the others. The show has just simply lost something. It is hard for me to believe recasting the one person would have that great an impact...maybe it was also changing the character to have the father present? I don't think that is it, I certainly don't object to people who DON'T abandon their offspring. Was it all the political whining? I don't know. Maybe that was it, so I might give episode two a chance. But bottom line, my rating of this show is now a one. I know, I know, "people just don't like change" but this kind of crap was parodied in The Simpsons YEARS ago...Homer said he had to watch a show "before they retool it", and the new show was a completely different show.

That is the case here. This is a completely different show. Last Man Standing season one was a great show, and I will miss it. Last Man Standing season two doesn't seem to have anything for me.

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 65 people found the following review useful:

What happened???!!???

2/10
Author: brid_morgan from United States
20 January 2013

Last season I gave this show a 9. I liked it, I laughed, I picked up on the subtle politics...now, you can only see the politics shoved up your a... Plus, I can not stand the "new daughter" and her baby daddy. Enough is enough with them! Seriously, the original Kristen rocked, no idea why she isn't there anymore, but it's too bad she's gone. So to put this into review terms. Show was great last season, this season they lost everything that was good about the show. Way too political for a sitcom and can't stand the newest actors. Don't believe me...just watch the first season then the second and you will see!!! So since I need more lines to make this a real review, I'll tell you a bit more. Tim Allen is funny, he really is. He did great last year. I don't mind politics in my sitcoms, just don't shove it down my throat!!

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history