The Hitman's Bodyguard (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
306 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Reynolds and Jackson were born for this moment
allstarrunner9 August 2017
Wow, I was so impressed with this movie. I will admit that the first 20 minutes were pretty generic for me and I found myself thinking, "This is pretty much what I expected, but it's a free screening so just enjoy it." However, once Reynolds and Jackson team up on the screen the entire chemistry of the movie changes and it ended up being one of the funnest "buddy cop" movies I've seen in quite a while. (I know it technically isn't a buddy cop movie, but it really is for all intents and purposes.) The movie doesn't take itself seriously (were you really expecting that with Reynolds and Jackson?!), and just like any modern action/comedy the plot isn't meant to be something like Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. This movie is 100% worth spending the cash to go see in the theater with a group of people. I can also tell you this, the atmosphere leaving the theater was great; this movie is a lot of fun!
172 out of 257 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Not everyone will like it, but I did.
Grant Dawson10 August 2017
The Hit-man's Bodyguard is a movie I never knew I wanted to see until I saw the first trailer. I was instantly hooked, and couldn't wait to see it on opening day. Well, I actually got a bit lucky for once as I was invited to see the movie almost two weeks before it opened. And I gotta say, it's one of the best action/comedy movies I've watched in quite a while...perhaps since Deadpool.

So what's this movie about? Well, it's about a guy (Ryan Reynolds) who used to run a protection agency before he lost a client and his business failed, forcing him to become a personal bodyguard. He is tasked by an Interpol agent to get a witness who is a former assassin (Samuel L. Jackson) to a courthouse to testify against a dictator. Craziness ensues.

While the story sounds interesting, it plays out in a pretty typical and predictable way. Not that I should have expected much more. It is an action/comedy film, after all. But predictability aside, the story does get the job done. Yeah, you'll be able to figure out how the film will end within the first 30 minutes or so, but that's not all that important, because it's all about the journey to that very predictable, and satisfying, ending. And boy, the adventure that Samuel L. Jackson and Ryan Reynolds go on is extremely entertaining.

Being a comedy, you'd expect some good comedy in this film, right? Well, The Hit-man's Bodyguard delivers on that expectation and then some. Once you get past the movie's slow start, it's pretty much an all you can chuckle buffet. (The chemistry between Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L. Jackson is incredible!) Of course there are a few jokes that fall flat, but they are few and far between. Oh yeah, if you're a fan of Deadpool humor, you'll really like this movie. It's not full-blown Deadpool, but it's pretty damn similar.

Now, the biggest surprise for me with this movie is how great the action sequences are. The team behind this film definitely drew some influence from movies like John Wick and Jason Bourne for both the combat scenes and the chase scenes. They're riveting, with some great humor sprinkled in.

Overall, The Hit-man's Bodyguard is one of the biggest surprises of the year so far for me, and will definitely go down as one of the most enjoyable films of the year. It's funny, it's action packed, and the story is interesting enough to keep it all moving towards a satisfying conclusion. So yeah, I guess you could say it's pretty dang good. Go see it when it comes out on August 18th.
133 out of 217 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Very mediocre
chazzy186418 November 2017
Honestly, this movie was a let down. I love Ryan Reynolds, to the point that I'm very biased. I was bored throughout this movie.

The premise is somewhat close to Safe House (2012). Not exact by any means, but close enough that it made me draw comparisons within the first 30 minutes and from that point on, I just kept wanting to stop the movie and turn on Safe House.

I'm not lying. The movie had its moments, but more often than not,I thought it was ridiculous in a bad way and never all that good. Safe House is a movie that has Ryan Reynolds protecting a highly valuable, highly capable target, and is exponentially better.

The problem with this movie, is it is so ridiculous, it is supposed to be funny, however there is only a handful of times that actually made me laugh out loud. More often than not, it seemed to try to take itself seriously, especially when it shouldn't have.

The gun play tried to portray itself as realistic, but fell very short. At times the characters were so amazing they could pull off ridiculous shots with no effort, then couldn't hit the broadside of a barn. While the movie wasn't horrible, it wasn't great. It made me think of better movies that I wanted to watch, while hoping better moments came. Occasionally a better moment would come... I'd laugh out loud (genuinely!) and then it'd pass, leaving me bored again.

You won't hate yourself for watching, but you won't be happy about it either. 5/10
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great Action & Greater Laughs!!
jmbousman9 August 2017
I just saw a preview of "Hitman's Bodyguard" last night with my wife. We are both fan's of action and comedy and went into this hoping it would be as good as we hoped from the actor's involved. I am a HUGE Sam Jackson fan and an equally big Ryan Reynolds fan. I'm glad to say that this movie did not disappoint!

I would've given this movie a 10 if only voting on the action and comedy but there were a couple of plot points that were slightly predictable. I don't feel these couple of things hurt the movie much due to what the movie is being advertised as, which is an action comedy and this is by far where it shines. I laughed harder during some scenes of this movie than I've laughed in a long time during a movie. The last I remember laughing harder is last year during "Deadpool".

If you like lots of action and great comedy with actors with plenty of chemistry and don't mind a significant amount of f-bombs, which if you're a Sam Jackson fan I'm guessing you don't, then drop some cash for a ticket. You won't be disappointed!!
109 out of 186 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Forgettable
ayayayseba24 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Well what a waste of my time. I don't know if the movie is bad or not, but i have seen this type of movies a 100 times. Very cliché, very embarrassing to look at times. Ryan Reynolds performing as a unsuited Deadpool, cause that's what his character is, Deadpool without a suit. We get it, he is suppose to be funny and sarcastic, but come on, not in every single line of the movie. There is a scene "spoilers" Where he is being torture, that it has the same feeling as when Wayde Wilson was being held in the mutant x underground laboratory.

On the other side, Samuel L Jackson, must have signed a contract to say motherfuker. every time he can or the producing company made that, because, well he says it at least 20 times. Really hard to finish movie. Is a movie that you wont even remember that existed a couple of moths from now. Watched in the cinemas. PLEASE Don't, wait for DVD release or stream it.
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great action comedy
SeanMcGraw8 August 2017
Just watched a sneak preview of The Hit-man's Bodyguard. I had high expectations given the cast of Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L Jackson. The movie exceeded these expectations! Over the top comedy and action -- best combination since Deadpool last year. Definitely worth watching!

I'm a long-time IMDb user, but this movie was so good, I felt I needed to get an IMDb login so I could review it!

Top movie I've seen this year, edging out Baby Driver!
95 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Why all the bad reviews? Just sit back and enjoy this action/comedy!
rogerarreola28 August 2017
I read some reviews that trashed this movie and I'm wondering if these are the same people that thought that Birdman (worst movie ever) was the best a couple of years ago. OK...I get it and I understand why people are hating on this movie. The movie is violent, predictable and has a script that is full of foul mouth language. But the beauty of the movie experience is that when you walk into a theater, turn off your brain and enjoy this movie for what it is. I laughed out loud and enjoyed this from beginning to end. Yes it is full of unrealistic stunts, bullet dodging and perfect aim by the "good guys" but that is what makes it enjoyable. Of course it is it is full of "F" words but that is what makes this movie fun.

Samuel L, Ryan Reynolds and Selma Hayek (who played a surprising role) are fun to watch. Trust me don't go in thinking that this is some type of Jason Bourne or Jack Ryan spin off because it's not. Just sit back and watch it with the intent on being entertained by this funny action/comedy. There are some references to some old movies so you have to be keen and recognize them.
70 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Total Rubbish
richard lyons21 September 2017
This has got to be one of the worst action movies that I have ever seen. The lead actors are totally wasted on this rubbish, Samuel L Jackson must be desperate for a paycheck to even think of lowering himself in parts like these. I don't know why the makers of movies these days even bother hiring a scriptwriter, as the entire movie is just one long F**K, or endless variations of the word, they even managed to cram three 'M***********S' into one sentence! It is strictly a by the numbers movie, the head of the agency is a masculine looking woman, the agent assigned to protect Jackson is a woman,the villain has seemingly thousands of henchmen all willing to die at his bidding, there is the van chase through the streets, the motorbike chase through the market,the motorboat chase through the canals....Yawn! If you are 12 years old and like to hear the 'F' word over and over again, or otherwise totally brain dead, then you will love this mess of a movie.
46 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
The film would have fallen flat if not for the efforts of Reynolds and Jackson
tlrg-legend18 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
There was a time when the buddy movie formula ruled the Hollywood cinematic universe. We loved the brashness of such films as Lethal Weapon or 48 Hours. But then the formula fizzled out and filmmakers moved to other things. To cite an obvious example, The Nice Guys (2016) starring such acting heavyweights as Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling was smartly set in the '70s but despite its okay plot, and superb acting by both Crowe and Gosling, wasn't a big box-office hit.

The Hit-man's Bodyguard looked like a great idea on paper – bring together Ryan Reynolds, fresh off the boat from his profanity-ridden Deadpool and Samuel L Jackson, who is known for his on-screen cussing, and wait for the fireworks to start as the duo at first go all out to murder each other and then develop a mutual respect that borders on friendship. And, for most part, director Patrick Hughes, of The Expendables 3 fame, gets it right. The best scenes in the film are when Reynolds and Jackson are pissing each other off. Reynolds doesn't roll off expletives like he does in Deadpool but Jackson does go over the top. Reynolds smartly plays the straight guy to Jackson's more gregarious character and it works.

The plot of the film is explained in its title itself. Reynolds is a down-on-his luck private security agent, who is cajoled by his girlfriend Elodie Yung, an Interpol agent, into making sure an ace hit-man, Samuel L Jackson, reaches the international court at Hague alive to testify against an evil dictator of Belarus – which is an actual country, by-the-by . The creepy dictator is played by Gary Oldman who gets to ham to his heart's content. Now, the bodyguard and the assassin have a history – it's revealed that Jackson tried to kill Reynolds some 28 times in the past – so one can see that their relationship isn't going to be easy. In fact, they start of by trying to kill each other and only Jackson's injury prevents him from killing his would-be bodyguard. The rest of film is devoted to the banter between them and how they defuse the tension and reach their goal.

The film's chief flaw is that director Hughes just doesn't get the tone right. Instead of concentrating on making a buddy movie with a smattering of violence, he goes for the overkill, piling up bodies by the dozen at every action set piece. Then, there are a couple of gory scenes as well that jar. Gary Oldman executes the wife and child of a rebel in cold blood and Reynolds is tortured through electric shocks in a graphic manner. The action scenes too don't have a fluid intensity that we have come to expect from Hollywood blockbusters. Then, while we get that Reynolds' motives for helping his ex is to get her back, there are too few scenes between him and Yung to get the chemistry going. Compared to that, the scenes between Jackson and his wife, played by Salma Hayek, are epic. She out-cusses him in a scene set in a jail and we see a nice montage of her fighting off guys in a bar and Jackson mooning over her as she uses the jagged edge of a beer bottle to open up a man's neck… that's love at first sight served with a Gothic twist.

The film would have fallen flat if not for the efforts of Reynolds and Jackson. We can see they are enjoying working with each other and it's their camaraderie plus some crazy-ass dialogue that saves the day. Watch the film if you are a Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L Jackson fan. Watch Midnight Run instead if you want to watch a real buddy movie…
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
chronically unfunny
Wait Here6 September 2017
Typical international cast diversity propaganda, comedy wanna be, cliché ridden, mundane and at the left.

The first hour of the movie: 2 short action scenes and the rest is unfunny dialog in a room

Second hour of the movie: 2 short action scenes and still the same retarded unfunny dialog with your cliché ending.

The acting felt forced. The story was far-fetched, with your cliché Russian villain with half a brain, the action was not believable and silly, the dialog was annoying and unfunny.

This movie by far is not an action movie, since it has only 15 minutes of action at best and that's out of 2 hours of running time.

Most of the movie the people are talking in a room, lead characters constantly arguing with one another for no reason at all, just so to bring up one unrelated to the plot issue or the other. It seems that this movie was about interracial relationships, not action or comedy.

The dialog was silly, if not to say idiotic, overacted, not funny.

The movie is just not funny overall. The only reason it made money was the star power behind this movie. Oldman, Jackson, Reynolds, Hayek. I guess most of the movie budget was spent on them and the rest on the script. Thus, the comedic fail.

All went to see Jackson and Reynolds who are both good actors, and they both sucked in this one. Oldman, usually brilliant, is really trying to act as the Russian villain, only to look silly as another cliché "evil Russian guy". Salma Hayek is simply annoying in this one.

The problem with this movie is that there's too much political agenda and they forgot about the humour and action.

There are literally no jokes through out the movie, only silly acting at best and sarcastic passive aggressive BS.

So, there is almost no action and no jokes. So how in hell is this an action-comedy?

This is a crappy hardly believable weirdly romantic interracial, may be even gay, feminist drama with really annoying acting, two really empowered women of different ethnic backgrounds and the two lead male characters are both cucks.

Basically, this movie is about two cucks who are being nagged on by two empowered bitches and the Russian guy who is trying to kill them all, coz he had a life before, but now he got no life.

What a tragedy. Really sad and boring movie.
57 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews