IMDb > "Big Little Lies" (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Big Little Lies"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Big Little Lies" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 122 reviews in total 

87 out of 101 people found the following review useful:

Exquisite

10/10
Author: vladimir-janic from Subotica
27 February 2017

Exquisite. 'Big Little Lies' takes us to an incredible journey with its emotional and intriguing storyline. The characters are so thoroughly and thoughtfully developed. Nicole Kidman, Reese Witherspoon, Shailene Woodley, Laura Dern gave breathtaking performances. Directing, screenplay, photography, everything is brilliantly done. I would deeply recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

87 out of 102 people found the following review useful:

Very creative with a sinister wit and some intelligence...

8/10
Author: mifunesamurai from Australia
20 February 2017

I almost gave up on it after the lacklustre and uncreative beginning, but then the clever structure and intricate story-line kicked-in, followed by the interesting characters who are slowly taking form. Their purpose and meaning to the unfolding mystery is becoming evident and damn fascinating. All thanks to the performers who have already got this perfectly down-pat in the first episode, and that allows the story to take shape and meaning for the remainder of the series.

So far this series is more than about fighting mums and a "who-done-it". What is so prevalent in the first episode is the underlying themes of parenthood, marital relationships and school-mom politics. I'm sure the writers will have more juice to add as the series progresses.

For now, it's the mystery that has got me hooked. And to heighten my viewing pleasure, it is the development of the characters and the conflicts surrounding them, and also within, that makes me want to watch it that little bit longer, hopefully right to the very end of the series that is slowly peeling away the hypocrisy and the nastiness of an affluent suburb/town!

Was the above review useful to you?

53 out of 62 people found the following review useful:

Just Watch It - It's The Show You've Been Waiting For...

10/10
Author: lisajoy1960 from United States
7 March 2017

HBO's new limited series, Big Little Lies, is simply outstanding in every way. The casting is perfect - Reese Witherspoon as Madeline, Shailene Woodley as Jane and the always fabulous Nicole Kidman as Celeste - three very different mothers residing in the ultra wealthy enclave of Monterey, California. The show also focuses on Renata (a tense, edgy performance by Laura Dern and the families of the four main characters. James Tupper, Adam Scott, James Nordling turn in great performances, but Alexander Skaarsgard really shines as Perry, Celeste's troubled, volatile husband.

Without giving away the plot, the show is part is Desperate Housewives part Knots Landing and part Secrets and Lies in that it's a drama, a soap and a mystery, all rolled into one delicious package.

Beautiful cinematography and an amazing soundtrack add to the enjoyment. I just binge-watched the first three episodes and they left me wanting more. Just watch it - it's the show you've been waiting for...

Was the above review useful to you?

44 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

Wow, just wow!

10/10
Author: mrocco-1 from United States
2 April 2017

I have HBO and NEVER watch it. I'm not a big fan of what apparently many other people like to watch. But when I saw the commercial for this I was intrigued. I never heard of the book, but highly respect many of the lead actors so I figured if they were involved it couldn't totally suck. Speaking of suck, I was completely sucked in on the first episode. I don't know why but I found this show completely and utterly mesmerizing, all the way down to the music and cinematography. Everyone involved in this from top to bottom hit it out of the park. I've never experienced this kind of life-style (ie mommy, daddy and school politics) but one of my clients who watches the show and lives in the general area said they nailed her experience when her kids were in school.

To put in perspective, I usually work when I watch TV, don't really even 'watch' it, just background noise. Not only did I stop working to watch this, I ran the last few minutes in slow motion to fully absorb what happened. I can't give a show much more praise than that! You'll understand the scene I'm talking about when you see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Fantastic Book translates into Fantastic TV

10/10
Author: discostuxxx from Australia
12 March 2017

I am a big fan of Liane Moriarty and when I read this book I couldn't put it down. Reese Witherspoon has done the book justice as I understand she has produced the series.

It's not often you read a book and the pictures that you form in your mind suddenly become real through a great translation to the screen. Although the book was originally set on the Northern beaches of Sydney the translation to Monterey California is perfect. David E Kelly has written the screenplay and has done an excellent job and dare I say taken a great story and enhanced it beautifully.

The casting is absolutely perfect with Reese as Maddy, Nicole Kidman as Celeste, Laura Dern as Renata and Shailene as Jane. Great choice with Zoe Kravitz as well.

Any parent and especially any mother will really relate to the story which keeps you guessing until the very end. AAA+++

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

HBO has set high expectations and.....

9/10
Author: brianoboyle-53176 from Pittston Pa
3 April 2017

Look at the cast and people involved. HBO has Game of thrones, The Wire, Sopranos, etc. They set an extremely high expectation and this delivers. The night of was the last short series I loved like this. Its a short Mystery, that has a twist or two built in. Dark, well written and well acted. Very very good

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

A perfect life is a perfect lie.

9/10
Author: Manvir Singh from India
23 February 2017

It was a pretty much good first episode for a series giving all information and context. The cast is awesome. - good mystery -nice title - many questions - good direction .Take on ex-husbands and second wives, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive People who liked the movie gone girl will surely like it . So give it a go....

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

High marks 3 episode in

9/10
Author: DSW SF from United States
6 March 2017

The first episode established the potential here right from the start. Writing, casting and acting is on point. Great to see the cast of actors that were pulled together for the project. I hope to see more of this type of 7 episode story telling where you can get such a deep cast of actors to commit to a project that they might not otherwise be able to do if it were a typical ongoing series. In my opinion some great flawed and complex characters that aren't always what they seem on the surface (who is). In particular Reese, Nicole and Dern. In addition, the child actors, who's characters really need to support the story line, really bring it as well. Check it out.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 56 people found the following review useful:

...not to get ahead of ourselves.. but this could be very, very good..

10/10
Author: bjarias from United States
21 February 2017

.. it's only one episode in, but it has all the makings of a really great series.. irregardless of all the big names involved on the acting side (and there are quite a few).. the writing and script is so strong that you loose sight of all their very familiar faces.. when scripts are weak then you're looking at the actors and all you get caught up in are the Hollywood personalities.. this one is different, and it's a credit to all involved.. it's sooo early and anything can happen but it feels as if it has the potential to be one the more outstanding TV series productions in quite some time.. keeping them all together for multiple seasons not an issue right now, but you've already got to be thinking (as the plot is clear).. who's first to go.. Have now watched all seven episodes... In June Nicole Kidman will be fifty years old... and one of the most gorgeous half-century old women on the planet.. (and one of the best actors). In this production she is just absolutely amazing, and I'm looking forward to watching it all again sometime. If you are only going to be doing one season.. this production is a benchmark. There are no flaws.. every detail down to the background music is exemplary..(and all the children are incredible). The leads were executive producers and they should most definitely reunite their production companies again very soon.. if they have not already. Don't even think about passing on this outstanding miniseries.. you'll be highly rewarded.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Amazing show besides Game of Thrones

10/10
Author: Kelly Le from United States
28 March 2017

This show is literally the only show I watch every Sunday, as I am the type of gal that likes to binge watch my shows. This show gives you the real housewives vibe , but it actually feels real, speaking from one housewife to another of course. Not only is this show made for entertainment I feel like it digs much deeper than that, "Big Little Lies," talks about problems that real life people face and I just feel like it hits home for me. Give it a chance as I haven't been a fan of Nicole Kidman until now , she is amazing and such a talented actress in this series. I really hope this mini- series become an oncoming show.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 13:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history