IMDb > The Purge: Election Year (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Purge: Election Year
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Purge: Election Year More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 182 reviews in total 

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Is the Purge: Election Year, watchable? I voted yes. Still, it's a bit meh.

6/10
Author: ironhorse_iv from United States
25 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Like I say before, I don't get how the Purge, honestly works in this films. Killing the poor doesn't make the economy great. It makes it worse, as there is less people to work and run the rich people's companies. I guess, we can say, the government of the New Founding Fathers of America (NFFA) were lying, about the purge working, but it doesn't explain why people would go along with this, for so long!? Also, it doesn't explain, why people would wait to vent their negative emotions for one day that crime is all legal, and emergency service are suspended, instead of the other 364 days. Anger, Lust, and Greed is an impulse reaction that most human cannot control, even if some of the purgers is highly train and uber-religionist. People will act upon their dark side, no matter if it's the day of the purge or not. It also doesn't explain, how crazy people with mental instability, are able to wait for the Purge to commit crimes. It doesn't add up. There should be always going to be rule-breakers and people that act on impulse. Yet, the movie acts like, there isn't, besides few minor crimes. Still, I think this sequel directed and written by James DeMonaco, does a better job than the original 2013's 'Purge', in showing that a world with the Purge could existed. However, like its predecessor, 2014's 'The Purge: Anarchy'; "Purge: Election Year' open new plot-holes that it cannot close. Good examples are like how foreign fighters are allow to purge and how anti-purgers, Americans just doesn't leave the country. Also, since the country is in total chaos. What stopping any foreign country from commanding a direct military invasion, during it and taking over? I just think, the purge is too outrageous to honestly work. This film was originally intended to be a prequel, telling the story of how the very first Purge got started, but this idea was scrapped when Frank Grillo accepted James DeMonaco's offer to reprise the character of Sergeant Leo Barnes. Still, as a franchise, I like how the Purge series has evolved from a generic house invasion movie to semi-OK, action thriller. All of the outdoor night action scenes were great, with everybody pulling their weight. It's nice to see Frank Grillo return, as he was amazing in every sequence, he was in. Also, it looks like his character, discovered the fountain of youth, because he doesn't look like he aged in 18 years. Yet, some of the violent action was a bit over the top, and highly sexism. Plus, I don't think the movie knows, how political works as well. Let's just say, somehow the Purge; a 12 hour time-period where most crime including murder is legal was able to be, passed by Constitutional Amendment. That means, for Senator Charlie Roan (Elizabeth Mitchell), she doesn't had to be, president to stop the purge. She just have to get congress and 2/3 majority of State Legislatures to repeal the Amendment. So why is she running for President!? As commander in chief, she really has no power to stop that. Also, her running for president, doesn't make any sense in this world; seeing how the NFFA overthrows the old government and establish a new totalitarian government and a police state. So why is there, even an election? Even if there was, seeing how election-day has been moved from November to May, that means that the NFFA has unprecedented control over all three branches of government. There is no way that she can become president. Unless, something big happen, between the eighteen years since the last movie's events and this film, in the world of politics, in which this movie doesn't mention. So, I don't get why the NFFA felt the need to assassinate her. While, I champion 'the Purge' series for furthers shifting away from being a straight horror film franchise with its offering an allegory about where our nation might be headed. I just wish the discussion of politics, socioeconomics, sexism, racism, were just a little better told. Don't get me wrong, the film is entertaining, but it's not very smart. It delivers the issues with irritatingly broad simplistic. It kinda shallows. In essence, DeMonaco's so-called political satire of the 2016's presidential election is also not that good. It's not really that subtle in which, this movie is trying to jab at. The over the top acting from some of these craze villains are so annoying bad, that it's bad, in an unwatchable sake. The movie still mostly works, despite that, since most of them, meet their ends. However, I don't think they had great reasons to dress up and purge. A good example is Kimmy (Brittany Mirable), the leader of the teenage girl purgers. Her reason for purging is just because of a candy bar. I get that she's crazy, but what type of a crew would follow her. Who would risk, their life for her, for something so mundane!? It's not well-define. The good guy supporting characters are also not well-define, besides Dante Bishop (Edwin Hodge). Don't get me wrong, they're very likable, but gees, they make really bad decisions. The worst, had to be, Joe Dixon (Mykelti Williamson), the proud but struggling owner of a convenience store who agrees to abandon his deli after a raid, only for later to try to return to it. Why would he do that? Because of decisions like that, the plot structure for this film, plays out, very oddly. I don't get how the government was able to find and attack the hideout of some of the heroes of the story, yet doesn't know nor warn the NFFA leaders, about the rebels' plans, afterward. I just wish, the movie did better in the story structure. Something similar to how 1967 Star Trek, Season 1, Episode 21, 'Return of the Archons' did theirs. Overall: 'The Purge: Election Year' is a thrill-ride, worth taking. It's not too much of an oaf in office.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Purge on Mofo.

5/10
Author: deathhawk
22 September 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This third chapter of the purge was OK, pretty much what you'd expect, streets of rage, murder and mayhem. The pacing was good and it kept my attention as much as a purge movie can. There were some cool deaths, and lots of fodder whom met their fate. The one thing I didn't enjoy was the consistent attempts to make it a reflection of our decaying society. The reason for this being I watch a Purge movie for the things listed above, not to try to be fooled into thinking it's some deep artsy overview of politics in America. The same as when I go to a strip club, I go for beer and nude dancing, not for a social commentary. So maybe and hopefully in part four they drop this, or at least dilute it to just a mention, and use the time they've saved for more crazy Purge murdering; seeing as that's the whole reason to watch this type of movie. If you like this type of film check it out.

I give it a five out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Making a final killing

6/10
Author: Corey James from United Kingdom
25 August 2016

This is my review of The Purge: Election Year (spoiler free)

*** (3/5)

Cast: Frank Grillo, Elizabeth Mitchell, Mykelti Williamson

Plot: America, 2025. As public sentiment rises against the Purge, ruling class the New Founding Fathers Of America target Presidential candidate Charlotte Roan (Mitchell), who's lobbying to end the annual lawless mayhem. She'll need the help of Leo Barnes (Grillo) if she's to survive the night.

With his scary vision of a near-future United States where all crime including murder is legal for one night in order to keep the peace for the rest of the rest of the year, writer/director James DeMonaco has crafted a successful, thrifty franchise. As real-world America slides further into electoral madness, the latest Purge feels more apt than ever, even as it ramps up the terrifying politics and the slow-motion violence. Although Election Year comes dangerously close to repeating or even remaking the first follow-up 2014's The Purge: Anarchy we're once again out on the streets close to the action but this time in Washington DC, (weirdly filmed in Providence, Rhode Island) as opposed to Los Angeles, though at this it could really be 'Anycity, USA' as our heroes try to find safety. Barnes, Grillo's reliably relatable tough guy, must this time shepherd Mitchell's determined Roan through the madness to keep her political chances – and, more importantly, her – alive. The added wrinkle here is that the rule protecting governmental people has been relaxed, and the New Founding Fathers have not only paid off a chunk of her security detail, they've also sent a mercenary to take her out, because they enforce a new rule that will now make government officials of ranking ten vulnerable for the night, so now the New Founding Fathers will kill everybody who is involved.

Set two years after the merciless killings in The Purge: Anarchy (2014) Leo Barnes (Grillo) who is now head of security for Senator Charlie, he and his employer has to survive as they put it "one last purge." This film takes you right into the action something that the first one failed to do now The Purge: Anarchy was actually better than the first although this despite all its craziness and its terrible scripting it is a very entertaining end to the trilogy, although not what you might have thought it was because writer/director James DeMonaco keeps the same style as he did in the previous it unfortunately fails to deliver one thing and that is an actual story, it just continues as a psycho killer film and all though it has pretty good action and good acting from Frank Grillo and Mitchell and fortunately down have to go down the romance route – no time for love when you're on the run from a skull-emblazoned drone., it fails to deliver in everything else. It also decides to add not only torture which has a bad impact on the film but also adds a schlocky alternative to Trump vs Clinton not exactly a great way of putting it, but you get the idea.

Good things about the film it adds a creepy song which is what many good horrors like Nightmare on Elm Street tend to do, but instead of "Freddy is coming for you" it adds a new spin and is put 'we are gonna purge tonight', in a very creepy tone which gives it a dark and edgy feel to the film. It's much more suspenseful because with the first one it had suspense but didn't do anything else besides that and the second one had plenty of suspense and action of course but lacked the craziness that this one has and although some killers come out dressed as previous American Presidents it does get more than that, but that is the start and the middle of the crazy. Weirdly enough in the first two government officials ranking above ten weren't affected during the Purge night, but now in this one everyone is affected but that's basically nobody wants Charlie Roan as the President so the killers try to make a killing to get rid of her, but don't quite succeed.

Amongst the anguish and pain it decides to take a religious turn but instead of praying it makes it turn out that the people who don't kill are sinners as the film puts it, and although that idea is original it really wasn't needed in a film that was already cold hearted but this adds even more cold heartedness. We should really forgive this series for taking pride in creepy masks and world class warfare. This one is very problematic and simplistic but keeps the idea alive and although it may not be the best in a series that takes pride in senseless killing, it's still an enjoyable addition to the trilogy and a pretty good ending. This final film adds a killing end to the surprisingly successful B-movie franchise and maintains to keep the thrills and the entertainment just as well as the previous two.

VERDICT: Election Year maintains the nervy tension that made the first film entertaining, but doubles down on the political metaphors, overwhelming you with its soap-box rhetoric.

6/10 an enjoyable conclusion

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

The icing on the cake for the trilogy

7/10
Author: Oberrated from United States
1 July 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The third installment of The Purge series was the icing on the cake for me that solidified my enjoyment of this trilogy. Since the first came out, I have thoroughly enjoyed the brutality these films presented to the audience and myself. Being possibly the weakest of the three, the first still was memorable for me. With the second, DeMonaco broadened the scope, added more plot, and kept the brutality and insanity. Now with the third, the plot hits its climax and the terrifying imagery hits a new high as well as the brutality of the kills and sheer insanity that the purge night brings. I love Frank Grillo and his presence radiates badassery and this film lets him be just that. Elizabeth Mitchell played a convincing politician driven by passion to end the purge. Yet on the flip side of the coin, The Founding Fathers are as sadistic as the night they created. The supporting actors within the film, Mykelti Williamson, Joseph Julian Soria, and Betty Gabriel, carry the movie very well, in my opinion and are enjoyable to watch with their story and also their slight comedic relief at times.

Overall, 'The Purge: Election Year' brings back everything I love about this series with its intensity, brutality, and terrifying imagery. For a film that relies on brutal violence, The Purge does a good job at bringing in a plot that does not feel too forced unlike the first film where it relied solely on the horror thriller feel of it. If you love films with violence, profanity, and intense scenes, this is the film to see. If you love the series, this is the best one to see of the three.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

If Hillary Clinton & Black Lives Matter made a movie together

1/10
Author: whookares-33308
16 July 2016

I have never felt the urge to review a movie but this one was so terribly written I had to spread my disgust. As usual old white men are the universally accepted bad guys with other appearances from everyone's favorite boogie people the Klan. Chock full of cliché one liners, heroic bravado, and a heavy dose of the Democratic nominee as the brave heroine helped along by her constituents.

Purge has run its course and there is no need to revive this series as it is DOA.

However if you feel the bern you will probably enjoy this masterpiece as it will no doubt confirm most of what you believe.

Was the above review useful to you?

More of the same and more fun

7/10
Author: ineswich64 from United States
14 November 2017

The Purge Election Year is the third movie in The Purge series. The Purge Election Year follows a senator that runs for the office of presidency campaigning on a promise to end the purge. The movie stars Frank Grillo, and Elizabeth Mitchell as their characters try to survive the night.

The Purge Election Year is more of the same from the second installment. The difference with this movie is more fun and interesting ideas. The movie focuses more on the better written characters as well as the better set pieces. The movie is weakened when the focus is shifted from the two leads to the secondary characters. However much of the movie meanders to the next scene with the flimsiest of reasoning.

I would recommend The Purge Election Year as it is a serviceable movie. It is better than the first two but not by too much.

Was the above review useful to you?

Those are my white people

7/10
Author: Michael Ledo from United States
11 November 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The film starts out with 3 subplots. There is an election.Charlie Roan (Elizabeth Mitchell) is running on the platform to eliminate the purge. Two people are protecting their store and an underground group called the Triage is helping injured people. As in the second feature, the three subplots come together as expected.

In this installment the battle between the haves and have-nots symbolized with The Purge series has culminated into political parties with Republicans being represented as old white men for the Purge and Democrats lead by a woman candidate being against it. (Sorry GOP, I didn't script the film.) I think they killed the series, but left open a door.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity.

Was the above review useful to you?

Total contradictory BS garbage

2/10
Author: truthdefenderdep from United States
29 October 2017

The entire movie is based on bs perceived societal beliefs. Why is it OK for the female to kill the teenager with he ak47, but the shop owner(who would be justified any day of the year, let alone purge night, to defend his store from a armed teenager.)

And the black guy team members die at the end!? REALLY!!!!! This isn't the 1960's!!!!

This movie is total bs simpleminded pablum.

Was the above review useful to you?

The Purge:Election Year is a pretty good movie

8/10
Author: Abbas Limbada
20 October 2017

I found that the movie is a good movie, a lot of people didn't like it as it wasn't scary enough. Personally, too make a good horror movie, you need a creepy tone and it must be entertaining. This movie is very creepy and gory, its scary, and found that it was very fun and enjoyable.

One thing though that i would like to know, in the next movie, when it has the video to explain the purge,should tell me what happens if you kill someone 7 minutes after the time runs out

Good movie though.

Was the above review useful to you?

Sensible direction, unfortunate execution

4/10
Author: Amthermandes from United States
15 October 2017

This should be a disappointment for most fans of the previous two Purge installments, but should not necessarily be avoided.

As we watch the characters, familiar and unfamiliar, survive the night, you'll see the expected that all Purge-ians look forward to: violence, death, tension, crazies, drama, scares, and developments in the Purge story. The quality of each however is not all the same.

The story and new perspectives is fun, and it makes sense there would be a group and a few individuals fighting against the Purge, and that those running the show of the Purge do not appreciate their efforts. So tensions rise, violence ensues, and morals are tested as usual. It all falls so short of the other two movies though.

The biggest issue I had was that the movie tried WAY too hard. The group of rebellious adolescents were extra rebellious, the crazies were obnoxiously crazy, the evil nature of the politicians and religious leaders are beyond the threshold of plausible evilness, the token black role was annoyingly racist, in fact most of the characters and acting was annoying and preachy.

Worth viewing once. Especially for Purge fans. That's about it.Hope they up their game for future sequels/prequels.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history