IMDb > The Purge: Election Year (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Purge: Election Year
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Purge: Election Year More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 182 reviews in total 

Election Year - Roan VS Owens

6/10
Author: rjones611 from Dublin
16 November 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Well where do I start. The Purge 1 = Right whatever cool. The Purge Anarchy = Awesome!!!!! The Purge Election Year = (Sarcastically) Oh yeah great movie. First of all James DeMonacco I've got a question for you WHY THE HELL DO YOU KEEP BRINGING IN NEW CHARACTERS AND TELLING US US F*CK ALL ABOUT THEM AND WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE PURGE. For example Mary Sandin, Eva Sanchez, Liz, Carmelo Johns exec. Anyway I guess it was a good movie, good action gotta say loved Earl Danzinger he was awesome. This movie was only bad in my opinion because we didn't get to see what happened after the purge for Mary Sandin, Liz or Eva and so on. But what I thought was cool was we got to see the political sides point of view of the Purge. That was cool. I've read a lot of reviews saying that the stereotypes were bad. I thought they were good especially Kimmy / Candygirl she was funny. But bit annoying. Overall James I've heard the news about you making a TV Series and a fourth movie. My advice to you is get some help writing them because I can already tell you'll f*ck it up if you do it yourself.

Was the above review useful to you?

The Purge: Election Year Review

4/10
Author: Eddie Cantillo from United States
9 September 2016

The Purge:Election Year(2016) Starring: Frank Grillo, Elizabeth Mitchell, Mykelti Williamson, Edwin Hodge, Raymond J. Barry, Ethan Phillips, Terry Serpico, David Aaron Baker, Christopher James Baker, Stephanie McIntyre, Kimberly Howe, Joseph Julian Soria, and Kyle Scoria Written& Directed By: James DeMonaco Review KEEP America GREAT Thankfully I used my free ticket for this cause I wan't looking forward too much else except Frank Grillo kicking ass and banging up the bad guys. Hopefully this is the last one. It ended but also tried to set up with a sequel which I'm just like no, this is the only credible entry in this series. Two years after choosing not to kill the man who killed his son, former police sergeant Leo Barnes has become head of security for Senator Charlene Roan, the front runner in the next Presidential election due to her vow to eliminate the Purge. On the night of what should be the final Purge, a betrayal from within the government forces Barnes and Roan out onto the street where they must fight to survive the night. You might be thinking since I called this one the only credible entry in the series and it is, but is it a good horror film? No. This series to me is just an excuse for disturbing violence hell you could tell from the commercials! You would always see these girls who wearing pig masks and a white disgusting mask that said kiss me and I'm just like(when she showed up) I was thinking please just hurry up and kill her. That's not what horror is about it's about building atmosphere hell I know wished I had seen Conjuring 2 instead but I guess I'll buy the Bluray for that eventually. Luckily there are some good things about it. Frank Grillo, Elizabeth Mitchell, Mykelti Williamson and Kyle Scoria and this other female lead did a very good job given some of the terrible dialogue they had to work with. The action is mostly good but there are some scenes where it seems a little unfocused at least from what I can recall. At the end The Purge: Electon Year is just your standard you should just rent this from blockbuster Video, I mean Netflix or Redbox kind of movie. I'm giving it a two and a half out of five.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not as good as the first, but still pretty good

7/10
Author: Davis P from United States
14 March 2017

The Purge: Election Year (2016) is the third installment in the Purge film franchise. In my opinion the first purge film was better/more entertaining than this one, but I did not dislike this movie, there were many things in it that worked well. One of those things that in my opinion worked, was the casting. I thought Elizabeth Mitchell was a great choice to play Senator Charlie Roan, seemed very fitting for the starring role of the senator running for president who years ago witnessed the slaughtering of her family, and wants to eradicate the purge night. I also really enjoyed the characters. Joe was such a great respectable character, I thought the actor who plays him did a great job and it was awesome to see an older brave wise man here that's willing to fight for the doing away with of the horrific night. The writing is not all that strong to be honest, but there still are moments of sentimental dialogue between characters who are close and share connections, that's nice to see in this kind of a film, showing that it's not all just about gore. The killings shown are sometimes pretty graphic, so be prepared for that. Although the main thing in this film is Senator Roan and her guard escaping to safety and running from enemies with the help of friends. I'd suggest it as a decent horror movie, not the best, but it's got its definite good aspects. 7/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

It's Just A Movie, Folks.

5/10
Author: 2fresh 2clean from Baton Rouge, La
24 January 2017

I've read some of the reviews of this film on this site and others and I have to tell you, I have never seen an action film become such a political debate with so much whining! It seems like all I read was Hillary Clinton this and Hillary Clinton that and that this film is liberal propaganda and that white conservatives are the enemy while minorities or "brown people", as one reviewer put it, are the heroes, I mean all the whining got so annoying! I mean it's not that serious, it's just a freaking movie, but if they want to get into some political discussion on it, O.K. Since the beginning of cinema Blacks, Native Americans and other groups have been made the enemy or negatively type-cast or stereotyped in films but when some of these reviewers think that the white man is being portrayed as the enemy they want to whine and complain about it. All I can tell them is welcome to the club, now they know how it feels but like I said before, it's just a freaking movie, then on top of that, the heroes of this film were men, women, white, black, and Hispanic all working together, not to mention some of the bad guys in this film were black females! Again, it's just a freaking movie! I can see if this same formula was constantly being put out in films all of the time and then something is said about it but it's not put out like that all of the time. I mean, can't we all just get along and enjoy an action film?

Anyway, "The Purge: Election Year" is an O.K. action film. It's not as good as the original but about as good as the second installment. The first Purge film was a great idea that had a pretty good story-line and plot but by the time "The Purge: Anarchy" and "The Purge: Election Year" came around the idea became a bit redundant. What I did like about this film is the fact that characters from the first two installments of the franchise appeared in this film. For being so far-fetched, that gave this film some sense of stability and reality. If you really enjoyed the first Purge this one, like the second, might let you down just a little but it's nothing you'll regret after seeing it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Just like the previous movies! 4/10

4/10
Author: leonblackwood from United Kingdom
7 January 2017

Review: With the amount of money that this franchise has made, they really need to hire some better actors and script writers because this film looked cheap and amateur. Like the previous movies in this franchise, this movie is based on Leo Barnes (Frank Grillo), who is now protecting Senator Charlie Roan, (Elizabeth Mitchell), who is running for presidency and totally against the Purge. Also, Joe Dixon (Mykelti Williamson) is adamant about protecting his deli store during the Purge, with his fellow worker Marcos (J.J. Soria), and Laney Rucker (Betty Gabriel) who fights against the baddies while the Purge is active. During the Election Year, the new rules for this year's Purge is that government figures will not be protected, so Senator Charlie's life is at risk because there is a chance that she can win the presidency, which will go against the rich electors who want to keep the Purge alive. With Leo risking his life to protect Charlie, he turns to Joe for help after being caught in an impossible situation. They then go into hiding, with the help of some radical protesters who want to take down the rich electors, so Senator Charlie can become president, which will put a stop to the Purge. The only problem is that Charlie wants to win the election fairly, so she tries to stop the radicals from killing the rich government members, until she becomes kidnapped by the evil doers. Its full of intensity throughout and there are some gruesome scenes but it still felt like it needed some top actors. The whole Purge concept is original, and I can understand why it's a hit with movie goers but Frank Grillo is better in a cameo role, than the lead. With that aside, I did find the movie entertaining and I enjoyed the fight scene towards the end but I was expecting more from this third movie. If they decide to make a fourth film, they really need to take the Purge to another level. Watchable!

Round-Up: This movie was written and directed by James DeMonaco, who brought you the previous Purge movies and Staten Island starring Ethan Hawke and Vincent D'Onofrio. With Michael Bay in the production chair, James had the opportunity to push this franchise to the big league but he chose to stay safe by making a film, which is very close to the previous Purge films. Personally, I wasn't a big fan of the franchise because it all seemed a bit "Escape From New York" to me but it's obviously popular with certain audiences, judging by the profit at the box office. Anyway, it's definitely worth a watch but it's just not my cup of tea.

Budget: $10million Worldwide Gross: $118.5million

I recommend this movie to people who are into their action/sci-fi/horrors, starring Frank Grillo, Elizabeth Mitchell, Mykelti Williamson, J.J. Soria, Betty Gabriel, Terry Service and Edwin Hodge. 4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The Purge: Deletion Year.

3/10
Author: Fallen Eye from South Africa
27 November 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This has to be the worst franchise I've ever watched. The Purge was such garbage, that in comparison, The Purge: Anarchy was a masterpiece... And now this filth.

This franchise is a relentless carbon copy of itself, and it started out boring as it is... So, 3 movies in of the same nonsensical jibber jabber (Anarchy brought it back a little bit) is turning out to be quite excruciating on my electricity bill, time, eyes and memory.

I love Frank Grillo, and he really was the saving grace of The Purge: Anarchy... But in this movie, we're literally watching an inferior version of him when he was in Anarchy, while re-watching a subservient version of Anarchy.

And, isn't this supposed to be set 18 years later?! If so, why is Leo and The Homeless Guy/Bishop, still the same age? And what was the Minister on about in the church (I heard what he was saying, but what the hell)? And why did his "congregation" look like zombies? Then that girl and her candy? Purge tourism? And Leo used a bomb to kill, isn't that not allowed?

This junk was boring, repetitive, empty and dense, a trademark that this series carries with great pride it seems. Anarchy was better than The Purge because of how terrible The Purge was, and this movie is far lower ranking than Anarchy, but not much better than The Purge, because this franchise at its core, is hollow, wasted and inherently bad.

This movie should've been The Purge: Rejection Year... Sadly, it was a Box Office smash, so... The Purge 4, 5, 6, 7, 8000, here we go, I mean, here we repeat again.

3/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Another great addition to a very cool series

7/10
Author: Znakemaster
11 November 2016

I highly enjoyed The Purge: Election Day. It follows the spirit of it's predecessors and builds upon it. The actors all do a good job and the action is very solid. There wasn't really any point i felt i was bored throughout movie.

The purging scenes in this movie are just as enjoyable to watch as before and the crazies in this movie are just as crazy as they have ever been. However this films biggest flaw i would say is that it's often a little too predictable, though that doesn't make it any less enjoyable.

To people who are fans of thriller and action movies i would give this a watch. It's not without flaws, but it was honestly enjoyable enough that i would watch it again despite it's shortcomings.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Time To Vote

6/10
Author: view_and_review from California
31 October 2016

"The Purge" franchise has a mysterious spell on me. I would never consider any of the movies (including this one) cinematic masterpieces--or even close to it--but I can't help but watch them. The concept is very intriguing and, like with a train wreck, I can't look away. Again, for 12 hours all crimes are legal and this time around no individuals are exempt.

This installment titled, Election Year, is just that. You can see the numerous parallels between the current election race and that being depicted in the movie. A male candidate for the NFFA party, a female candidate for the opposing party, the derisive quips from the male candidate during debates and the "deplorables" that support the male candidate.

The violence and foul language seems to have been increased for "Election Year" and the overall lunacy. I get that the people who want to "purge" will be committing any and all imaginable crimes, but does the Purge turn you into a lunatic? Fortunately, they've spared us from viewing crimes such as pedophilia, rape and other despicable acts that would no doubt occur, but at the same time we are led to believe that all people want to do is murder! There was a particular band of unstable high school girls that were way over-the-top in their participation in purging. What happened to good ole gang-banging, some grudge killings, and widespread looting?

In any case, the message of this movie was quite clear: the Purge benefits one group of people only and it's time to end it at the ballot boxes. The characters were a bit naively altruistic at times (but every Purge movie has had that) and equally naively Pollyana regarding meting out justice (i.e. the same old line: "don't do it or you're no better than them"). Still, no matter how insane the people are in "The Purge" I can't help but get a glimpse of what America could be like if we were allowed to "purge".

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A fresh start, but still has something missing

6/10
Author: Caillou Pettis from Canada
20 October 2016

The Purge: Election Year is the newest entry in The Purge series. The first movie "The Purge" was released in 2013, and I thought it wasn't great at all. Very silly, and a ton of clichés everywhere. In 2014, "The Purge: Anarchy" released and it was actually a really fun movie for me because I thought it had so much fun action and was rarely boring. Now in 2016, we have the third movie, "The Purge: Election Year". Something I immediately thought was interesting was the political battles in the movie, because it was something never seen before in The Purge series. However, the rest of the movie is similar to the first one, as in silly moments, clichés, and characters you don't care at all about. The only time the movie tells you information about a character is at the beginning, before The Purge starts, and even then, the most information about a character we get is that he runs a sandwich shop and has a kid. That's pretty much how little detail all these characters are given in this movie. That's not good for movies, because in a series where a main character could easily die, if a character does, it makes it hard to feel emotional because of the lack of character's emotion and detail. There are however some fun action sequences here and there, and I really liked the atmosphere, but the rest didn't meet my expectations after watching Anarchy and enjoying that movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

The Problematic Series Continues

Author: Michael_Elliott from Louisville, KY
13 October 2016

The Purge: Election Year (2016)

** (out of 4)

Leo Barnes (Frank Grillo) is back in this third film from the popular series. This time out he's protecting Senator Roan (Elizabeth Mitchell) who is trying to become the President so that she can put a stop to the yearly purge but the Founding Fathers want her dead to make sure this doesn't happen.

THE PURGE: ELECTION YEAR is about on par with the previous film in that it's mildly entertaining but at the same time there are so many logical issues that there were times where I just wanted to slam my head into a wall. As with the previous two films, this one here has some incredibly stupid and annoying characters including an entire subplot surrounding a candy bar. With that said, if you like graphic violence then pull up a chair because this one here has more gore than the previous two films combined.

As the title clearly gives away, this film has a very big political stance but it's really hard to take much of it serious. On one had the entire plot deals with the violence against poor people stopping yet at the same time the film loves to show them getting blown away in a variety of ways. The entire subplots dealing with the political leaders was kinda silly and I must admit that I could have done without most and it and especially when it adds up to a 109-minute running time, which was way too long.

The film did offer up some good performances including Grillo who is very good in his role as is Mitchell. Mykelti Williamson is excellent and steals the show with his supporting performance. Fans of the series will probably enjoy this one as much as the first two but to me the entire series has been rather problematic.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history