IMDb > The Purge: Election Year (2016) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Purge: Election Year
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Purge: Election Year More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 19: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]
Index 182 reviews in total 

14 out of 28 people found the following review useful:

Amusing for all the wrong reasons

1/10
Author: johnwiltshireauthor from New Zealand
22 July 2016

You just kinda have to watch this train wreck of a movie with brain in neutral. If you think about it too much you dwell on the image of the Nazi white priest in the church insanely gunning down the innocent homeless black people. Or you find the depiction of the baddie resurfacing when you least expect it: the white bald head, the Swastika tattoos on his white shaved scalp and the Confederate flag stitched to his evil white man's uniform. Or maybe all the good Latinos and black people will stick in your mind, saving the weak white people's asses (they even say at one point, "You can't have these white boys; these our white boys.") I paraphrase, but you get my drift. All I can say is thank God for black people, Latinos and women, cus the world clearly ain't safe in the hands of white men. Or Christians. Wow, white Christian men--just who the world needs to fear, isn't it?

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst movies ever made

1/10
Author: karl-simoens from Thailand
15 July 2016

How can the producers of this movie not feel ashamed to let this piece of crap get out to be watched by everyone. This movie has to be written by a child with a 1 hour time frame. I don't want to waste another minute writing this review. If you thought the start of the movie was bad and couldn't get worse, you are in for a surprise. Please ignore the fake reviews, not a single person who writes a honest review and is 18+ can give this movie anything above a 5, it's this bad. This has to be top 3 of worst movies for 2016, you just can't make a story worse than this and I loved the first Purge movie and i was expecting this to be decent at least, but wow... unreal they dare bringing this out, they probably realized halfway how bad it was and just finished it up to cover to producing costs.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

This Election Has Truly Disturbing Bite

7/10
Author: rgkarim from United States
1 July 2016

With the holiday coming up, the movie industry is doing its best to rope people into the theaters. You would think something patriotic like a war story, a biography of a founding father, or some type of political coming of age movie. But my first review is on a horror instead…that has to due with politics. My review is on The Purge: Election Year, the third installment in a series I never expected to have this much ground. Yours truly heads into the trenches to provide you another review and help guide your thoughts on how to spend your tickets in the theaters.

The GOOD: • Comedy • Semi Decent plot • Suspenseful

The first point has to be a surprise, but yes the Purge: Election Year has some decent comedy to lighten up the aggressively somber mood. I mainly laughed at the commentary from Joe, a local deli shop owner with an interesting background on his own. Joe's lines are a menagerie of one- liners, quips, and racial banter that had the audience laughing. Despite some of the intense moments, the writers made the lines very tasteful, making sure to add a fun edge that hopefully won't insult the masses. Some of the other characters have their moments as well, timed equally well to maximize the laughs.

But you didn't come for laughs, you came for suspense that the night of legalized murder has provided in the past. You might think that a third installment has lost its edge, but surprisingly Election Year keeps the same on the seat moments as the last one. Like its predecessor, this movie takes our characters onto the streets, each forging their own path through the chaotic forest of crazy violence. I was pulled into the movie not by the mindless killing, but by the wonder of which member of the merry band would bite the dust. Part of what helped this was a semi-decent, albeit rushed, plot that had a little more backbone than mindless murder. Election Year's plot brings us further down the rabbit hole as to the point of the Purge and fills into those pot holes left at the end of the second movie. It's nothing special, but the character profiles were what kept my interest and fostered a bond with all the characters.

The BAD • Pointless cursing/overacting • Violence substituted for plot • All the political issues it can drum up

No surprise, but a Rated R movie is going to have cursing, I get that I do. But as always the case, our writers get a little overzealous with dirtying the mouths of characters. Election Year unfortunately is not spared that fate as characters, mainly extras, fill their roles with overacted, dramatically-emphasized cursing that is more annoying than anything. I know it is to make you hate the character who will certainly die in the end, but they could have done it without such grandiose tactics. The silver lining of this, it is for limited run times so yay for that.

A second weakness for me, is substituting the violence for the plot. Now don't rip my head off, it is the Purge, a holiday that is only about violence and celebrating death, of course there will be violence. However, the Purge really needs to drop the glorified torture scenes and disturbing dances of craziness to provide more kick to their tale. That doesn't mean get rid of it all, after all there were plenty of jump at you moments where the violence was perfect, but Election Years tangents showing mask-wearing extras dancing or setting an elaborate trap that really doesn't work. This is another example of editing not eliminating all unnecessary scenes.

But perhaps the biggest weakness for me is the political issues this movie is sure to spark. Back in the day, you could make a movie like this and not start a revolution, but modern times have left our people a little more easily offended these days. The Purge's overdramatic antics, dialogue, and factions are certainly going to divide people and perhaps incite their own revolution on some level. All of the excessive violence, racial slurs, and political issues are over glorified, and I saw these effects take fruit in my theater with a few overzealous fans. So why did I bring this point up? Two reasons. The first is the political rants and corrupt speeches are cheesy, overdone, and eye rolling. The second is that if you are easily offended, no matter how much you like horror, you should not see this movie.

The Verdict

Despite being a third installment, The Purge Election Year certainly brings the same bite it always has. Yes, it is overdramatic and glorifies violence, and at times is certainly reflective of a mad man's mind. However, as far as horror movies go, it is surprisingly decent in terms of plot, action, and suspense that will entertain many of this genre. With interesting characters and a fast moving pace, you certainly won't be bored for the 105 minute run time. Necessary for a trip to the theater? Not really, but those who love the dive into the mad realm of murder, will certainly enjoy this tale.

My scores:

Action/Horror/Sci-Fi: 7.0 Movie Overall: 6.0

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Do yourself a favor and don't go see this movie.

1/10
Author: dawall-56947
8 July 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

One of the worst movies I've ever seen. First of all so many parts weren't realistic whatsoever. For instance they know there will probably be a huge assassination attempt yet almost none of the main character's security wear body armor including her head of security. Then, her head of security gets shot in the shoulder and proceeds to shoot, reload and function as if nothing happened. Also throughout the movie he shoots one handed (same hand as the shoulder he was shot in) and hits targets no problem at 50+ yards with one shot. At one point he unloads a full mag and the slide doesn't even lock back when he's empty. Put this all aside and you still have obvious political points trying to be made. During the movie the talk about how keeping government spending down "lines the pockets of the rich" which is clearly false, how the purge "lines the pockets of the NRA" and even go as far as to have a scene in a church where people sacrifice live humans in the name of Jesus. I tried making it all they way through but ended up walking out early and getting my money back. Absolutely terrible movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Ugh... just BAD...

2/10
Author: temp-544-612798
5 July 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

My GOD that was bad... I can't even find a starting point, it was so bad. Seriously... did NOBODY consult security or military advisers on what happens in a demilitarized zone? It just *drips* of "social justice warrior porn" from start to finish.

In no particular order: - no white supremacist group is THAT well funded or we'd know who they are. - the candy bar girl... no. Just no.

- shoot them in the head the moment you're threatened.

- no, killing the murderer does *not* make you no better.

- what idiot wraps a car in white Christmas lights during a 12 hour run where murder is legal?

- the same idiot who lights up a drone so it's highly visible and targetable in total darkness?

- if you're hiding from legal crime, turn off all the lights instead of illuminating every space available to you.

- do not attract attention in a heavily armed city. It annoys others around you.

- you have to be blind, deaf & stupid to be a character in these films.

- no, that's NOT how elections work... but nice try.

- no matter what... SAVE THE WHITE WOMAN!

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

terrible

1/10
Author: brajsmit from United States
18 July 2016

this movie is so bad it belongs on USA late at night. terrible acting ; attempts at political message which are terrible and badly portrayed and really all the hidden messages aside it is just bad ; i seriously want my money back!! they should have stopped after the first one because it was OK. i would recommend you save your money and go to a different movie maybe even Tarzan or any thing other than this royal piece of crap. if you made this movie please stop save us all the grief and aggravation of anticipating something cool and getting something that sucks and has a political and racial message . i am so disappointed i will never see another movie written by James demanaco or whatever his name is .. he should have made a sequel to assault on precinct 13 an actual good movie .

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

NOT A HORROR! Very political but mostly racist!

1/10
Author: Tracey Tracey from Boston
5 July 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Worst movie I've ever had to sit through. Actually, couldn't even make it to the end...walked out after the ridiculous church seen that showed a group of white people with crazy eyes and weird smiles acting like morons and murders! A group of black and Hispanic people were the heroic saviors and the loving and caring people...a couple of white people thrown in the background. Moral of the story...white people are horrible, crazy murders! This movie was so silly that they even to the quote "that's the pot calling the kettle black" and changed it to "that's the pot calling the kettle brown". Seriously?! And for some reason the line, "There's my Negros" was supposed to be funny. Silly movie, silly dialogue, silly plot!

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 100 people found the following review useful:

A worthy contender for the Razzies

3/10
Author: Fiurilli from Netherlands
11 July 2016

Even though the first two 'The Purge' movies weren't all that great I still had a fun time seeing it and was interested in what this newest installment in the series could bring.

The movie starts off with an uninspired news broadcast that sets up the story about a senator running for presidency whose goal is to abolish the annual purge (an event where for one night all crime is legal). The current government or 'The New Founding Fathers' want nothing of this and would prefer to have this senator out of the way.

In the beginning of the movie the director uses some interesting lighting techniques whenever new characters were introduced where the way their faces were lit gave an indication on their moral standpoint is on the purge*. Sadly after a mere half hour these subtleties disappeared and what was left was a movie that just went from action scene to action scene with some poorly written dialogue in between.

The characters themselves are also very bland. With only a few lines of dialogue their entire backstory is revealed and with these same lines the movie tries to get the viewer emotionally invested. This is not done successfully however and when things spiral out of control and the unavoidable does happen it is more likely met with laughter rather than tears.

Blaming all of this on the dialogue would be too harsh however considering the acting is sub par. Often times lines are delivered in an almost laughable manner, although with a script like that you can't really ask much from the actors.

Overall the movie was incredibly boring to watch and is a worthy contender for worst movie of the year (although I think Independence Day: Resurgence will claim that 'trophy'). If you've got money to spare then please save it for when a better movie comes out.

My rating: 3/10

* for instance the senators face is fully lit up when we first see her, while the faces of the government officials is fully dark on one side

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not Scary, Heavy Handed, One Sided Political Mess...

3/10
Author: LiveLoveLead from United States
13 October 2017

Average acting. Poor story line. Too political. Cheesy!!! The first Purge was decent. The second was watchable, but this one is ridiculous. This time around a woman, Senator Charlie Roan, is running for President on the platform of doing away with The Purge (a government-sanctioned, once a year 12-hour night when any and all crime is permitted, even murder.) Now targeted by those people supporting The Purge, Senator Roan and her head of security, Seargent Barnes, along with some other do-gooders, try to survive the mayhem on Purge Night. The leads were OK, but there were some Really LAME characters. The cheesy, vindictive, teenage girls with chainsaws were ridiculous and mostly just to parade out some scantily dressed eye candy. The rival candidate, preacher, and their followers were reminiscent of the Ku Klux Klan and were over the top. The movie was drawn out, had lots of plot holes, characters making stupid moves and was very predictable. Bad script writing was topped off with line after line of extremely unnecessary and extremely foul language in the first 10 minutes. Seriously, if you have no creativity just throw in several lines of foul language and your set, right? Just seemed really forced and took away from what was going on... which was just really bad script writing in general. If you like this type of movie, which I normally do, then watch the first movie, The Purge. but this one is not really worth the time, In My Humble Opinion 3 stars 9/2017

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

New Founding Fathers of America Part 3

6/10
Author: gbkmmaurstad from United States
4 October 2017

Recap of the first two films in this series: The New Founding Fathers of America (NFFA) are formed after an economic collapse. The 28th amendment is added. The amendment allows an annual 24 hour period in which no criminal act is illegal and is referred to as "The Purge." It is considered a civic duty to participate. During The Purge there is no police or hospital support available. In the second, film the NFFA thinks the poor and the working class should be allowed to remain alive only if they are of use to the wealthy/governing class. Because not enough poor/working class people were being killed in the annual Purge, the NFFA sent out troops to capture and/or kill them.

In this film as the other two previous films, multiple stories are going on. It is 18 years after the annual Purge began. Senator Charlene/Charlie Roan (Elizabeth Mitchell) is running for President of the United States and wants to end The Purge. Her opponent wants The Purge to continue. Charlie's Head of Security is former LAPD Sergent Leo Barnes (Frank Grillo). Grocery store owner Joe Dixon (Mykelti Williams) and his employee Marcos (Joseph Julia Soria) plan to guard the store from Purgers. EMT Laney (Betty Gariel) drives a van in the poor and working class neighborhoods on the night of the Purge helping the innocents caught in the Purge.

Be sure to look at the map of the election on the back wall, to see which states are indicated as blue (good guys) and which are red (bad guys). Could be a 4th in this series, they left it open for that.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 19: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history