IMDb > The Layover (2017/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Layover
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Layover More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

35 out of 50 people found the following review useful:

You get what you expect

5/10
Author: nooneheremovealong
1 September 2017

I am guessing the main reason to watch this movie is the cast, and it delivers. Everything you would expect to be there, is there - in full.

Dialogue is a bit stilted, but then again: to be expected. Acting and story also not amongst the strengths of this flick.

All in all: one of the breast movies of 2017.

Was the above review useful to you?

63 out of 108 people found the following review useful:

The absolute greatest movie of all time

10/10
Author: ZeroReviews
5 September 2017

The absolute greatest movie of all time. Hands down. My future wife, Alexandra Daddario, and future second wife, Kate Upton, play best friends competing for the affection of a man who I would kill to be.

Both actresses really bring their best... "assets" to this movie. My eyes were glued to the screen because I couldn't look away from their... "acting chops." Their "talent" really shines in a scene which takes place in a swimming pool where both women are just being the greatest thing God ever created. They are living proof that there is a God. They deserve Oscars for their performances. The producers, writers, and casting directors all deserve Oscars for putting Alexandra and Kate together for our enjoyment.

This film is also very emotional. I went through at least twenty tissue boxes watching this film.

I'd give it an 8008 out of 10 if I could.

Was the above review useful to you?

30 out of 45 people found the following review useful:

Awful

1/10
Author: isabellagamble
1 September 2017

Didn't laugh once. The story, acting and directing was terrible. I usually don't find these sorts of romantic comedies that bad and I laugh very easily but the humour was just so forced and lame. 100% Wouldn't recommend watching it in cinemas. Shouldn't even be rated R as their is no nudity, foul language or heavy violence.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

absolutely lame

1/10
Author: jeralhou-20224 from Saskatchewan
14 September 2017

Absolutely horrible.Terrible plot. Attempt at humor: someone farting in the car and the others characters' reactions.Their hot air balloon falls on a kids birthday cake.Kate Upton is a terrible actress-she f bombs her way through the plot on one emotionless level. An absolute waste of time.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

An Abomination

1/10
Author: Larry Silverstein from United States
4 October 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's hard to believe one of the screen's fine talents, William H.Macy, directed this abomination of a movie. I don't care if it's raunchy and crude which it certainly is, but it's also horribly unfunny and that's a deadly combination in my book. To add insult to injury, I found the film to be terribly demeaning of women.

All in all, save yourself the pain and run far far away from this stinker!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A Lively and Well-Scripted Romp

8/10
Author: lavatch from Twin Cities, Minnesota
31 October 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"The Layover" was a fast-paced "road show" comedy with good chemistry between the two lead actors playing Meg and Kate, who are roommates and lifelong friends. The narrative takes them from Seattle to Florida, where they hope to escape from having apparently failed in their careers as a high school teacher and a cosmetics distributor.

On the flight, there is a detour, due to a hurricane in Florida. The roommates land in St. Louis after meeting on the plane a charming but rather vacuous hulk named Ryan. The plot unfolds as a competition that turns into a catfight as the roommates vie for the affection of Ryan.

The best scenes in the film are those of broad comedy. They include a trip on the hot air balloon over St. Louis in which everything goes wrong. There is also a food fight in a restaurant that culminates in the roommates nearly being arrested.

The roommates are stunned to learn that Ryan is not traveling to Florida to attend a wedding, but to be married himself. Finally, the romantic story is resolved when the weary travelers confront Ryan and his bride at the wedding party. Through it all, Kate and Meg learn a little more about themselves and the their flaws in their silly and, at times, compulsive behavior.

While "The Layover" is an inconsequential piece of fluff, the film is nonetheless entertaining and includes high octane performances from the two leads, Kate Upton and Alexandra D'Addario. Kate and Meg are both rather nondescript characters when they are alone. But when they are together, their synergy makes them a force of nature and an immovable object for whoever crosses their path.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A variation on a theme - adequate road movie

7/10
Author: thekarmicnomad from United Kingdom
24 October 2017

Two women who have known each other since school find themselves down on their luck. One is impulsive and care-free the other responsible and considered. A spontaneous trip away sees them stranded with a hot guy they are both interested in.

This is a pretty well used format, but normally with two guys chasing a pretty girl. With the genders flipped it means the knob gags are switched for boob gags and the girls try to out-flirt each other rather than out- impress each other.

Now there is nothing particularly new here and I didn't find the film hilariously funny.

But the two leads are very engaging and have great chemistry. Their relationship is quite subtly handled and I enjoyed their antics. Their quarry fits the bill perfectly and feels worthy of their attention.

This isn't the funniest or slickest comedy out there but I found it a great waste of ninety minutes.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

VIEWS ON FILM review of The Layover

4/10
Author: viewsonfilm.com from Chicago, Illinois
5 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Meg (Kate Upton) and Kate (Alexandra Daddario) are best friends who live together. Meg is really bad at selling beauty products and Kate is a high school teacher who might be forced to resign. When their lives become screwed up, they decide to relax and take a trip to Florida. On their plane ride to the Sunshine State, Meg and Kate encounter a pending hurricane and are diverted to St. Louis, MO. While stuck in St. Louis, they compete hard for a hunky guy (Matt Barr as Ryan) and fracture each other's friendship in the process. That's the central theme of The Layover, my latest review.

By definition, a film director controls a movie's artistic and dramatic aspects and visualizes the screenplay while guiding the technical crew and actors in the fulfillment of that vision. William H. Macy, a shining TV actor who kills it on Shameless, is "Layover's" antonym director. As you watch The Layover, you wonder if Macy lost a bet or had pressure from the suits at Vertical Entertainment to put out an assembly line, R-rated comedy product. In jest, "Layover" has almost no cinematic innovation, a loose plot, and virtually zero character development. It runs 88 minutes, is playing in only a handful of theaters, and has been mostly demoted to release by way of the Internet. Granted, these are all bad signs. Believe that.

Now it's hard for me to accept that William H. Macy actually filmed The Layover. Sadly, he did and he makes a lot of mistakes in his second directorial effort. The first is casting Kate Upton in one of the lead roles and then relegating known troupers like Kal Penn and Rob Corddry to two-minute cameos. Listen, I think Upton is pretty to look at and she gets props for having the same birthplace as me (St. Joseph, MI). But let's be real shall we. She's not ready to carry a movie yet and her acting is borderline inept. It's mind-boggling to think that Macy would truly approve of some of her dialogue takes. When Kate's Meg is trying to say something sincere or trying to appear unladylike, it's cringe- worthy as heck.

Another mistake Macy makes is the general way in which he presents The Layover itself. There are plenty of slapstick moments, road trip instances, a ridiculous sex scene straight from the annals of Macy's own Shameless, some bathroom humor, and the usual, sexual innuendo. These elements feel like pawns to simply keep the narrative going. Overall, the brand of funny here feels forced and familiar and that's something William H. Macy never exhibits when brilliantly playing a sleazeball on America's television set.

Finally, Macy makes the big miscalculation of approving a film soundtrack that could take Muzak to a whole new level. With the exception of Human League's 1981 ditty "Do You Want Me", every song in The Layover could easily be featured on a Kidz Bop compilation album. Basically, we're talking about tunes that can make your ears bleed.

In conclusion, William H. Macy's direction is uniformly standard. With minimal sway, Bill almost holds back on the R-rated fare and tries to wrap up "Layover" in the same sort of fashion as Kate Upton's other flick, The Other Woman (small spoiler). Here's the problem: The Other Woman with its notion of girl-minded revenge and guy player mentality, wasn't that great to begin with. Bottom line: The Layover gets a one and a half star rating from me. As a moviegoer, you really need to "delay" yourself from seeing it.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Don't bother

2/10
Author: chevolek
2 September 2017

Don't waste your time and money, not worth it. Boring. Very few funny short scenes. It shows the kinda one night stand girl.

Daddario did show she can be funny (in several scenes, not all), unfortunately in this movie her comedic talent (which I never seen before-Baywatch remake?- That lousy movie does not count). Let's hope she does not go the way Zac Efron is going, bad comedies. He also has made bad choices lately.

Was the above review useful to you?

The Layover is extremely dumb and pointless but is more fun than other bad comedies of 2017.

6/10
Author: jacobsh-04936 from Boston
10 December 2017

2017 has been an overall awful year for comedies, with Baywatch, Rough Night, The House, and CHiPs being the big comedies of the year (although Logan Lucky and The Disaster Artist were pretty great). The Layover, starring Matt Barr, Kate Upton, and Alexandra Daddario, is an exception. It has a lot of bad jokes and forgettable performances, but in the end is way more fun to watch than The House or Rough Night. If you're looking for a bad but enjoyable comedy, look no further.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history