IMDb > The Layover (2017/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Layover
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Layover More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 19 reviews in total 

49 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

The absolute greatest movie of all time

10/10
Author: ZeroReviews
5 September 2017

The absolute greatest movie of all time. Hands down. My future wife, Alexandra Daddario, and future second wife, Kate Upton, play best friends competing for the affection of a man who I would kill to be.

Both actresses really bring their best... "assets" to this movie. My eyes were glued to the screen because I couldn't look away from their... "acting chops." Their "talent" really shines in a scene which takes place in a swimming pool where both women are just being the greatest thing God ever created. They are living proof that there is a God. They deserve Oscars for their performances. The producers, writers, and casting directors all deserve Oscars for putting Alexandra and Kate together for our enjoyment.

This film is also very emotional. I went through at least twenty tissue boxes watching this film.

I'd give it an 8008 out of 10 if I could.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Awful

1/10
Author: isabellagamble
1 September 2017

Didn't laugh once. The story, acting and directing was terrible. I usually don't find these sorts of romantic comedies that bad and I laugh very easily but the humour was just so forced and lame. 100% Wouldn't recommend watching it in cinemas. Shouldn't even be rated R as their is no nudity, foul language or heavy violence.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

You get what you expect

5/10
Author: nooneheremovealong
1 September 2017

I am guessing the main reason to watch this movie is the cast, and it delivers. Everything you would expect to be there, is there - in full.

Dialogue is a bit stilted, but then again: to be expected. Acting and story also not amongst the strengths of this flick.

All in all: one of the breast movies of 2017.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

absolutely lame

1/10
Author: jeralhou-20224 from Saskatchewan
14 September 2017

Absolutely horrible.Terrible plot. Attempt at humor: someone farting in the car and the others characters' reactions.Their hot air balloon falls on a kids birthday cake.Kate Upton is a terrible actress-she f bombs her way through the plot on one emotionless level. An absolute waste of time.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Don't bother

2/10
Author: Chev Olek
2 September 2017

Don't waste your time and money, not worth it. Boring. Very few funny short scenes. It shows the kinda one night stand girl.

Daddario did show she can be funny (in several scenes, not all), unfortunately in this movie her comedic talent (which I never seen before-Baywatch remake?- That lousy movie does not count). Let's hope she does not go the way Zac Efron is going, bad comedies. He also has made bad choices lately.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

VIEWS ON FILM review of The Layover

4/10
Author: viewsonfilm.com from Chicago, Illinois
5 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Meg (Kate Upton) and Kate (Alexandra Daddario) are best friends who live together. Meg is really bad at selling beauty products and Kate is a high school teacher who might be forced to resign. When their lives become screwed up, they decide to relax and take a trip to Florida. On their plane ride to the Sunshine State, Meg and Kate encounter a pending hurricane and are diverted to St. Louis, MO. While stuck in St. Louis, they compete hard for a hunky guy (Matt Barr as Ryan) and fracture each other's friendship in the process. That's the central theme of The Layover, my latest review.

By definition, a film director controls a movie's artistic and dramatic aspects and visualizes the screenplay while guiding the technical crew and actors in the fulfillment of that vision. William H. Macy, a shining TV actor who kills it on Shameless, is "Layover's" antonym director. As you watch The Layover, you wonder if Macy lost a bet or had pressure from the suits at Vertical Entertainment to put out an assembly line, R-rated comedy product. In jest, "Layover" has almost no cinematic innovation, a loose plot, and virtually zero character development. It runs 88 minutes, is playing in only a handful of theaters, and has been mostly demoted to release by way of the Internet. Granted, these are all bad signs. Believe that.

Now it's hard for me to accept that William H. Macy actually filmed The Layover. Sadly, he did and he makes a lot of mistakes in his second directorial effort. The first is casting Kate Upton in one of the lead roles and then relegating known troupers like Kal Penn and Rob Corddry to two-minute cameos. Listen, I think Upton is pretty to look at and she gets props for having the same birthplace as me (St. Joseph, MI). But let's be real shall we. She's not ready to carry a movie yet and her acting is borderline inept. It's mind-boggling to think that Macy would truly approve of some of her dialogue takes. When Kate's Meg is trying to say something sincere or trying to appear unladylike, it's cringe- worthy as heck.

Another mistake Macy makes is the general way in which he presents The Layover itself. There are plenty of slapstick moments, road trip instances, a ridiculous sex scene straight from the annals of Macy's own Shameless, some bathroom humor, and the usual, sexual innuendo. These elements feel like pawns to simply keep the narrative going. Overall, the brand of funny here feels forced and familiar and that's something William H. Macy never exhibits when brilliantly playing a sleazeball on America's television set.

Finally, Macy makes the big miscalculation of approving a film soundtrack that could take Muzak to a whole new level. With the exception of Human League's 1981 ditty "Do You Want Me", every song in The Layover could easily be featured on a Kidz Bop compilation album. Basically, we're talking about tunes that can make your ears bleed.

In conclusion, William H. Macy's direction is uniformly standard. With minimal sway, Bill almost holds back on the R-rated fare and tries to wrap up "Layover" in the same sort of fashion as Kate Upton's other flick, The Other Woman (small spoiler). Here's the problem: The Other Woman with its notion of girl-minded revenge and guy player mentality, wasn't that great to begin with. Bottom line: The Layover gets a one and a half star rating from me. As a moviegoer, you really need to "delay" yourself from seeing it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

An Abomination

1/10
Author: Larry Silverstein from United States
4 October 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's hard to believe one of the screen's fine talents, William H.Macy, directed this abomination of a movie. I don't care if it's raunchy and crude which it certainly is, but it's also horribly unfunny and that's a deadly combination in my book. To add insult to injury, I found the film to be terribly demeaning of women.

All in all, save yourself the pain and run far far away from this stinker!

Was the above review useful to you?

Very sad comedy

1/10
Author: trans_mauro from Brazil
11 October 2017

For a comedy, it was a very sad experience.

To begin with, it is sad to see that Kate Upton is about to explode in size, she is getting too fat, so much so, she was never seen in a bikini. I guess her next role will be in the next remake of Moby Dick or Free Willy.

And to make things worse, I did not even smile once during this wreck of a film. In fact, I felt embarrassed and somewhat despondent. Is this what people think is a comedy, nowadays.

There is nothing here.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Contrived and self-conscious, but Daddario looks great

4/10
Author: Gino Cox from United States
4 October 2017

"The Layover" is a bigger mess than the lives of its two protagonists.

On the positive side, Alexandra Daddario looks great and an extended scene featuring her in an improvised bikini is arguably worth the price of admission.

On the other hand, Kate Upton, who was chosen for the cover of the Sports Illustrated swimsuit edition less than a year ago, has either put on quite a bit of weight or become pregnant. As her character is a hard-drinking self-medicating sybarite, the appearance that she, as the actress, might be pregnant creates some serious fourth-wall and makes it difficult to sympathize with the character. Fetal alcohol syndrome is no laughing matter. The actress's body makes scenes that should be funny seem creepy. If she isn't pregnant, but has become Rubenesque, it creates some plot issues. The male lead is a hunk whose character presumably has a lot of options in choosing romantic partners. Beauty is subjective and different guys like different body types. Some guys, like John Ritter's Zach in "Skin Deep," are attracted to women with a wide range of looks. But generally, the guys attracted to Alexandra Daddario's Kate are not likely to find Kate Upton's Meg attractive. Further muddling matters is competition from a third character who doesn't seem the type that anybody attracted to Kate or Meg would find attractive.

Often in a movie, a minor character will give the protagonist(s) advice about some aspect of life, the human condition, sacrifice, charity, empathy, or whatever, which serves as a statement of the theme of the movie. This scene occurs here in a bar with a female attorney delivering what seems to be the theme, but then abruptly shifting course, then laughing, leaving the characters and the audience confused as to whether she was joking.

The movie offers what might pass as a torrid bedroom scene, except that the actress is nearly completely dressed, making the scene seem staged and not very authentic. In another scene, a character exposes her breast to everybody except the audience, which makes the scene seem self-conscious and contrived. Another seduction scene occurs entirely off-camera.

Much of the movie seems as if the plot is driving the characters, rather than the characters driving the plot. It's as if the screenwriters decided to employ a potpourri of tropes without any thought to whether the characters' behavior in the situation would be consistent or how the situation would affect the characters, other than leaving superficial scars. A road trip is a journey from point A to point B, not a journey of self-discovery. A character who urgently needs to leave doesn't check on another character who is delayed.

The movie ends with a deus ex machina resolution that explains an element of urgency for one character, but makes other actions seem inconsistent. In the denouement, a freshly empowered character asserts herself against an antagonist, but it's not clear how she became empowered.

The movie struggles with tone. It tries for brash and uninhibited but seems contrived and self- conscious.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Two best friends find themselves fighting over a handsome man that they meet on a flight.

7/10
Author: Ananya
27 September 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Okay, this movie is definitely not one of the best movies I've ever seen. But it also isn't as bad as some of the other reviews are trying to make it seem.

I watched The Layover on a boring afternoon because of Matt Barr (Gotta love Psycho Derek), Kate Upton, and Alexandra Daddario. With a cast like that, how could I resist? I loved Kate Upton in The Other Woman and hoped that this movie would be similar and even though it wasn't, I still liked it.

I enjoyed watching this movie very much. It's obviously crazy unrealistic. I mean, Meg and Kate are literally the worst best friends ever. And I kinda figured out that it would be Ryan's wedding in the end. It was still fun to watch though.

In conclusion, if you're bored and want something to make you laugh, watch this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history