Stranger Things (TV Series 2016– ) Poster

(2016– )

User Reviews

Add a Review
719 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
Two very different seasons
Kevin-4227 October 2017
I guess plenty of people have said a lot of things about all the movie and TV references this series has and how it recreates the eighties in all their faults and splendor. I will not add to that.

With the release of the second season I'd simply like to advise that both seasons are very different animals. Think of it as the difference between the original Alien movie and the Aliens sequel: Whereas the first season was more about an unknown and unseen horror and the mystery behind the backstory, the second has more in-your-face action and horror laced with character development arcs which feel nice but sometimes sidetrack the series a bit.

Consequently, a fan of the show should probably watch the second season as a separate work of fiction rather than a true continuation of the first season in tone and spirit. The writers move the story forward and we get a very good piece of entertainment but the new season has to be judged on its own merits.
58 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Steven Spielberg meets Stephen King
slayerjmk9515 July 2016
Stranger Things is the newest foray into Netflix's original programming, of which brings us their most impressive- and strange- production to date. When a young boy named Will Byers goes missing, his friends, mother and the town are thrust into a conspiracy involving a mysterious girl named Eleven and something even more sinister hiding in the woods of Hawkins, Indiana.

From the get-go, you can tell this is an homage to classic '80s Spielberg, drawing on E.T. and Close Encounters, as well as JJ Abrams' Super 8. But, as the show progresses, it becomes more and more like a twisted Stephen King story set in a Spielberg movie. It becomes a dark and twisted ride into an even darker and more disturbing world where the stakes feel higher than anything before it.

I can't go into great detail because spoiling even just a bit of the story takes away from the greater mystery, but I can say, it's one of the most thrilling and intense series to be on TV, without being on TV. If it were to continue, they have to pull the same punches they did with the first season, because they took a great many clichés, and somehow made them fresh and surprising, save for just a couple that they purposefully left cliché.
353 out of 469 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A spectacular mash of E.T, X-Files and 80's.
IgnisWolf15 July 2016
With its amazing 80s atmosphere and creepy X-files meets E.T feel this show is set to impress. Within its first 8 minutes of run time I could tell I had found something special here in Stranger Things.

Its intriguing story gives information at a great pace and I never felt myself getting confused of bored and there were enough twists or turns to keep me interested. This also had some rather great horror sequences and their use of lights flickering while yes a common trope fit so well in to the story I was on the edge of my seat every time the crackle of electricity shot through my speakers and the lights flickered.

The characters of the show are the true stars here, I loved every single one of them. They were all great with amazingly interesting flaws and the way they mix and clash with one another was fun to see unfold. They certainly help to carry this show although I would say that the government antagonists of the show felt a little flat and under developed and not nearly as memorable.

Production values are also quite good with some beautiful cinematography, editing, lighting and sound. My goodness I loved their music choices. I would say that the CGI does look a little obvious and from time to time I did notice some issues where the scenes didn't look quite up to scratch. I do think however I've been spoiled for visual quality since Game of Thrones so I would take that criticism with a grain of salt because it certainly didn't detract from the overall experience. The setting and style of everything in the locations where also great to see and felt real and interesting. The way everything was shot also captures every moment expertly and really helps to draw out those story moments with greater emotion.

Stranger Things is one of those special shows that I stumbled across and after the opening I knew I was hooked. Its exciting dark tale is expertly woven through its 8 episode run time and I know I will be back to re-watch this one. The ending is fairly well rapped up with a few loose story threads left hanging, with a promise for potential follow on seasons but the story is quite satisfyingly rapped up by the end. Memorable, exciting, dark and haunting Netflix knocks Stranger Things out of the park, 10/10.
396 out of 531 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Netflix Nails it again.
From_the_Future15 July 2016
It can hook you immediately, everything seems fitting , the setting , the acting , the direction. Just as it should be. Bringing out the perfect blend of 1980s nostalgia. It gives mixture of taste of big 80's movies.

You immediately get hooked with the story , which is amazing because it takes time for me to get invested in a story.

I have been a fan of David Harbour Since the Newsroom , and he is just amazing.

You're scared , Intrigued , you're completely invested. With perfect setting.

I am really looking forward to where this goes from here on in.
497 out of 671 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The Perfect Mash-Up of the Best 80's Sci-Fi!
Chrystine Lilley15 July 2016
I've been trying to put my reaction to this series into cohesive sentences - even cohesive thoughts - and I just can't seem to do it. "Stranger Things" blended the best parts of some of the great 80's sci-fi films from "E.T." to "Poltergeist" to "The Goonies" to my all time favorite, "Close Encounters of the Third Kind." It was simply brilliant, and brings you back to a time when you were still able to feel a sense of wonder.

Though there are plenty of thrilling moments, this film does not rely on heavy CGI or jump-scares. It focuses on relationships between parents and children, best friends, and even a touch of romance. It takes you on a journey from a parent's worst nightmare to the resilience of those who rely on friends and cling to hope.

Also - you'll never look at Christmas lights the same way again.
235 out of 330 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Just watch it. You will not be disappointed.
kimberly-a-brence16 July 2016
Just watched the first chapter last night. Everything about it is great, the actors, the writing, the fact that it takes place in the FREAKING 80s (YES!) and all the music. The theme music is completely on point...very John Carpenter-ish with heavy synthesizer sounds that are very menacing. Watch this show, tell your friends to watch. It feels very Stephen King/Steven Spielberg..with some X-Files mixed in. I have never seen the kid actors before but they were all so good. Their on screen chemistry reminded me of the group of friends from The Explorers, Stand By Me or The Goonies but it's definitely not lighthearted or a comedy at all. It's always a good sign that a show is going to be good when you are completely sucked in within the first couple minutes. 10 out of 10 so far.
217 out of 317 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Instantly hooked
rossnoon15 July 2016
What can I say Netflix has done it again!

I was hooked from the first episode!

The acting in this is brilliant, especially from the younger members of the cast.

The period it is set in they have managed to get it spot on down to the littlest details.

I especially like the musical score in it, sets the mood superbly!

This series has the perfect amount of mystery, suspense, and scares to keep you wanting more!! Hope this show runs for many more episodes, it's a classic in my eyes!
196 out of 288 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A masterpiece
Djervig16 July 2016
This is one of the most magical things I have ever had the fortune of viewing. I won't go into details about the narrative, which is build on classic sci-fi and horror concepts and it works. But what really makes this show excel is the little things. The casting is amazing - every single character, regardless of how small the part is, feels like a complete character, and the main cast delivers some powerful stuff all throughout the series. The production is spot on in it's portrayal of a small town in the 80's, and I have to assume that it is in part based on the creators own experiences and childhood, because everything feels real.

The only thing that bothered me throughout the entire show was the incompetence of the government entities. I know and understand that this is a popular portrayal of the government in these types of stories and especially in the US is this a common sentiment. But it simply didn't seem believable that they would make some of the choices they did. Doesn't take a genius to see that they are doing a crummy job. But this is all in all a negligible detail, as it keeps the story moving.
217 out of 323 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This Series is a true time machine: it will take you to the 80's. Believe me.
adriano-bordignon16 July 2016
ATTENTION TO ALL OF YOU WHO LIVED YOU'RE YOUTH IN YEARS 80, liked movies like Goonies, Portergeist, The Evil Dead, The Thing, Alien(s), Star Wars, ET, Clouse Encounters of the Third Degree, Indiana Jones, It - Stephen King, Lord of the Rings (ok, this is newer, but the books are older and the references are all there) and so many other fantastic and unbeatable classics of that magic decade. I have to say: Watch THIS, STRANGER THINGS! Oh really. Watch it. But watch accordingly: at night, turn off your mobile, whats-app, Facebook, Instagram, blah blah blah, watch as you should watch every movie, with immersion, transport yourself into the adventure, and I assure you, you will remember how it used to be, when going to the movies itself was already an adventure. You will be transported to the 80's. Cool characters, family dramas, pure and sincere friendships among nerd, intelligent, and excluded children, teenage's dramas, music and soundtrack of the 80s, in every detail, from the suspense in songs of each scene, the opening song and title of the series, the soundtrack, the references/homage to the 80's is very strong, very clear. I loved it. For me, it is among the 2 best series I've seen in the last 10 years, with only Game of Thrones at the same level. I cannot think of any other that has given me so much pleasure to watch, which has given me the desire to watch again, and again, and again. No, not even Breaking Bad, Marvel's Daredevil, The Walking Dead, The Expanse (unknown by many, but i liked), NCIS, etc. I'm looking here at the list of series that I follow (around 50), and none is equal to the entertainment provided by this. Congratulations to the Duffer brothers. The series is amazing. Worth every minute.
179 out of 266 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Nostalgia shouldn't drive a story...
Symon Goodwin13 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
First off, I'm going to say that I did enjoy the show. The acting was good, the music was top notch, and the cinematography was great! So why did I give it a 7/10? Quite simply it's plot is simplistic, it isn't that scary or suspenseful when it claims to be and I found the majority of the characters bland. I only really cared about the cop, Jim Hopper and the kid, Dustin. Everyone else wasn't really given a second thought until they reappeared on screen.

At some points I forgot the plot was about the main group of kids trying to find out what happened to their friend as it ping-ponged around between the characters so much, I actually got a headache, and this is coming from someone who understood the ending to BioShock: Infinite.

When you break it down, the story is mainly driven by nostalgia, a lot of it will go over people's heads who weren't born in the 70s/early 80s. And when there were subplots, I felt like they were somewhat unnecessary and/or executed poorly. For example, Nancy's motivation. After her friend Barbara disappears, she starts her own investigation along with Jonathan Byers. This (predictably) ends with a form of romantic tension which actually doesn't lead anywhere as Nancy stays with her actual boyfriend Steve (Who's for lack of a better term: A nob) who (Also predictably) does a somewhat lackluster heroic twist during a final confrontation by assisting Nancy and Jonathan against the... monster

This is another down-point for me, not only do they make the mistake (Mistake in my eyes, it can be done well) of revealing the monster in it's fullest. It's also a generic black Wendigo-ish design with a head that opens like a dog from Resident Evil. Set in a story where they try and make everything suspenseful, they just go ahead and show you the beast. The best form of horror is when the audience fabricates the monster themselves, let us hear it, see a sudden silhouette move in the background, let us see their destruction, but don't let us see THEM.

All in all, you should give this a watch, it's a good summer binge. Easily done in one sitting. It's enjoyable, in some instances, fun. But it's simply over-hyped and overrated when it comes to it's praise. Like I said, it's main drive is nostalgia which doesn't sit well with me.

This reason this review covered mainly negative aspects of the show is because, as it's a *Spoiler Review* I'm assuming you've already watched it and are therefore in other peoples opinions on the show. You've probably heard all the praise in the world for it, hence my recommendation of the show, but cover the negatives.
49 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews