IMDb > The Fate of the Furious (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Fate of the Furious
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Fate of the Furious More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 46:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 454 reviews in total 

130 out of 165 people found the following review useful:

Cringefest - Stupidity level 11

1/10
Author: satanclaw from Norway
18 June 2017

This was painful. Action? Yes, but we're talking Physics that Sharknado would be ashamed of. Failure to understand or accept how reality works, even at a basic level. If you know the basics of cars, computers or physics, this will inflict pain to your brain.

No part of this movie made sense, it makes all 7 prequels seem like a real life documentary about cars. By far - Worst of the series. By going so far off the deep end, it made it too improbable for me to enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

83 out of 100 people found the following review useful:

The worst movie of the series

1/10
Author: stevemartis from India
25 June 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is my first review on IMDb and I'm only writing this because so many reviews are praising this movie! I knew it would be average but within the first 10 minutes I realised how horrible this movie was. From winning a race in reverse gear of a wrecked car to driving ahead of an army without a single bullet hitting them. I know this series has always had over the top action but this plain nonsense. As somebody else said in their review the heists didn't need cars in the first place. I only liked the action sequences between Dwayne and Jason, rest were unwatchable! I feel bad for the people praising this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

78 out of 111 people found the following review useful:

Beyond awful

1/10
Author: MovieReviewer
10 June 2017

I liked the previous movies of the franchise. They were decent action flicks, exactly something you go to watch in a cinema with friends. But this? This is beyond awful, it's worse than a parody. Every line is a cliché, the acting is not even mediocre, the plot line is exactly like something a 12 year old boy has come up with.

There's no way the 10 star reviews are NOT paid. This movie is an insult to anyone who pays to see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

73 out of 102 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely senseless

1/10
Author: damnedwhatuser from Germany
6 June 2017

One of the most stupid, senseless and ridiculous movies I have ever watched. I wonder only why would Charlize Theron play in something like that? Money must have been very tempting for an Oscar-winning actress to even think about that this could become a good movie with no story, no developing characters, not even a story but just lots of money thrown on some... well I must admit - good special effects. But not worth even a dime to pay for a ticket to watch it, not talking even about the waste of time.

Was the above review useful to you?

37 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

An insult to all those who paid money to see it

1/10
Author: mr worf
20 June 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Be aware, plausible spoilers I do not know where to start. I thought that I'm used to the cheesiness of the FF movies, but this is......overwhelming. Its like they are making movies for people under 18 only. Whole movie is a load of random c***. Its so senseless, cheesy, unbelievably unrealistic, cliché- ish.....total disaster. They ruined good characters, like deck shaw. In ff7, he was terrifying hit-man. Here, they turned him into a clown who is afraid of his mother. Its ridiculous. Next, is it a bird, is it a plane? No, its......Luke HOBBS!!! My Lord, he is the perfect example of everything wrong in modern Hollywood. Awful acting, cringe lines, superhuman strength (they literally took it to the superman level in ff8) Cipher- theron is a brilliant actor in normal movies, but here they made her a joke. I would compare it to the thurman's poison ivy from 1997. Tbh, roman is the only lightspot. He really is funny, natural funny, not bad humour like others. He is the reason why I made it to the end.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 47 people found the following review useful:

Flawed but Fun

8/10
Author: Hold_the_door from United Kingdom
19 April 2017

The eighth film in The Fast and the Furious franchise, "The Fate of the Furious", might not be the best in the series, but I must say, it's pretty damn good and just as fun and entertaining as I expected. The franchise as a whole, for what it is, it offers great entertainment, especially with its latest instalments.

The Fast & Furious family is back, but this time things will get serious. Dom is going evil and betrays his friends and family to work with Cipher (a.k.a. Charlize Theron), a cyberterrorist who is really evil. And that's not enough to describe how wicked she is and all the things she does.

The movie is full of twists and surprises, although it should be said that these twists are not something none saw coming. They are quite predictable. That's a problem with this franchise - and I believe every franchise and movie that has mainly to do with car racing. Don't expect much story wise.

However, it gives you what you want. It gives you action, fun, family spirit, cars, racing, and Vin Diesel, the Rock and Jason Statham kicking ass - Tyrese Gibson is also a scene stealer. It lives up to what you've come to expect from FAF. Do you really want more?

Was the above review useful to you?

50 out of 85 people found the following review useful:

Faaantastic!

8/10
Author: Patricio Munoz from Canada
13 April 2017

Quick, honest review here - saw the film last night, it premieres tomorrow. Here's what I think:

Real Fans of the Furious franchise will absolutely love it, it delivers! If you're a fan, you know exactly what to do going into this feature, just sit back and enjoy the ride. It's a good one, enjoy! This movie is so very clearly made for the fans.

If you're not a furious fan, maybe haven't seen the ones before, don't watch this movie, go watch the other ones first and then see this movie, you'll have a more enjoyable time. If you don't like the previous films, you won't like this one.

P.S. - If you don't like this film because of the plot holes or bad acting or cheesy moments, then you are watching it wrong! :-)

Have fun!

Was the above review useful to you?

176 out of 338 people found the following review useful:

Bizarre , Loud & Insane Action Packed Furious Legacy Back with a Bang

10/10
Author: Sheikh Mehmood Ahmed from Lahore Pakistan
16 April 2017

Furious Legacy Back with the Bang A.K.A #FateofTHeFurious. It was Big, Loud & Fun with the heart breaking action sequences.. The action sequences are big, loud, and insane.

Movie filled with lots of action, car chases, violence, explosions, shooting, guns, bombs, cars, army tanks, different types of vehicles, motorbikes, jets, airplanes, snow, snowy whitey landscapes like mountains and glaciers, sunshine, beaches, tall buildings like tall skyscrapers, loyalty, family, friendship, betrayal, treachery, arguments, falling outs, fights, punch ups, tongue and cheek stuff, some comedy and funny moments, high tech stuff that is incredible, plenty of on the edge of your seat stuff, prisons, prison guards in black suits with shields, all types of people and nationalities, lots of close shaves, near misses and many other things throughout the film.. Every Character including Dwayne The Rock Johnson Vin Diesel Jason Statham Michelle Rodriguez Tyrese Gibson Ludicrous Charlize Theron Kurt Russell Nathalie Emmanuel Luke Evans & the new edition of a family Scott Eastwood every did splendid role as expected..

Especially I've to highlight a complete scene when #Jason saved #LittleDom that was just hilarious.. (Y) (y) Really but what i feel sad about & really i did missed in a movie is Paul Walker movie is incomplete without #BrianOConnor..

The movie is funny and serious and it found the balance and i just loved everything about it and i enjoyed every second of it. Seven will probably always be better thanks to Paul and his tribute,but this is the second best movie in the series..(Y) (Y)

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Fun Awesome Movie!!

9/10
Author: Wain Chan
2 May 2017

<< Potential- Small Spoiler Alert!! >> If you put aside why in the world would the Furious gang team up with the last bad guy from Furious 7. This movie is pretty awesome and very fun to watch! Very entertaining and lots of action!! Roman is funny as always. Also,love the fighting/rescue Baby scene at the end. Go see it!!

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

Exactly what I expected

8/10
Author: MHales94
22 April 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film is exactly what I expected and what is to be expected from the trailer - crazy stunts and lots of talk about family.

What I liked about this film - First of all, the action was great and what was to be expected from this film - don't expect perfect obedience of the laws of physics. Secondly, the story was actually not terrible (this is no Tokyo Drift); the reason's for Dom's betrayal (as seen in the trailers) are very human and feel very real and the redemption of some of the characters was earned (on the most part). Thirdly, Charlize Theron was great, as usual, as the villain Cipher.

What I didn't like - Firstly, Helen Mirren's accent was terrible although was warranted by her character. Secondly, as mentioned, the laws of physics get broken at times (the wrecking ball (again from the trailer) is a perfect example).

Final thoughts - This film is a great addition to the Fast and Furious franchise. It is what we've come to expect from these films over the last almost 20 years and I'm interested to see where the story goes from here as, according to the cast and crew, there are only two of these left.

In terms of the score, I couldn't not give this an 8/10. Not a perfect film by any stretch of the imagination but for what it tries to do, it hits the mark.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 46:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history