IMDb > The Fate of the Furious (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Fate of the Furious
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Fate of the Furious More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 45:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 444 reviews in total 

113 out of 144 people found the following review useful:

Cringefest - Stupidity level 11

1/10
Author: satanclaw from Norway
18 June 2017

This was painful. Action? Yes, but we're talking Physics that Sharknado would be ashamed of. Failure to understand or accept how reality works, even at a basic level. If you know the basics of cars, computers or physics, this will inflict pain to your brain.

No part of this movie made sense, it makes all 7 prequels seem like a real life documentary about cars. By far - Worst of the series. By going so far off the deep end, it made it too improbable for me to enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

75 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

The worst movie of the series

1/10
Author: stevemartis from India
25 June 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is my first review on IMDb and I'm only writing this because so many reviews are praising this movie! I knew it would be average but within the first 10 minutes I realised how horrible this movie was. From winning a race in reverse gear of a wrecked car to driving ahead of an army without a single bullet hitting them. I know this series has always had over the top action but this plain nonsense. As somebody else said in their review the heists didn't need cars in the first place. I only liked the action sequences between Dwayne and Jason, rest were unwatchable! I feel bad for the people praising this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

70 out of 98 people found the following review useful:

Beyond awful

1/10
Author: MovieReviewer
10 June 2017

I liked the previous movies of the franchise. They were decent action flicks, exactly something you go to watch in a cinema with friends. But this? This is beyond awful, it's worse than a parody. Every line is a cliché, the acting is not even mediocre, the plot line is exactly like something a 12 year old boy has come up with.

There's no way the 10 star reviews are NOT paid. This movie is an insult to anyone who pays to see it.

Was the above review useful to you?

65 out of 90 people found the following review useful:

Absolutely senseless

1/10
Author: damnedwhatuser from Germany
6 June 2017

One of the most stupid, senseless and ridiculous movies I have ever watched. I wonder only why would Charlize Theron play in something like that? Money must have been very tempting for an Oscar-winning actress to even think about that this could become a good movie with no story, no developing characters, not even a story but just lots of money thrown on some... well I must admit - good special effects. But not worth even a dime to pay for a ticket to watch it, not talking even about the waste of time.

Was the above review useful to you?

33 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

An insult to all those who paid money to see it

1/10
Author: mr worf
20 June 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Be aware, plausible spoilers I do not know where to start. I thought that I'm used to the cheesiness of the FF movies, but this is......overwhelming. Its like they are making movies for people under 18 only. Whole movie is a load of random c***. Its so senseless, cheesy, unbelievably unrealistic, cliché- ish.....total disaster. They ruined good characters, like deck shaw. In ff7, he was terrifying hit-man. Here, they turned him into a clown who is afraid of his mother. Its ridiculous. Next, is it a bird, is it a plane? No, its......Luke HOBBS!!! My Lord, he is the perfect example of everything wrong in modern Hollywood. Awful acting, cringe lines, superhuman strength (they literally took it to the superman level in ff8) Cipher- theron is a brilliant actor in normal movies, but here they made her a joke. I would compare it to the thurman's poison ivy from 1997. Tbh, roman is the only lightspot. He really is funny, natural funny, not bad humour like others. He is the reason why I made it to the end.

Was the above review useful to you?

115 out of 212 people found the following review useful:

It ain't ran out of gas!

9/10
Author: Darryl Lazakar from Pontianak, West Borneo, Indonesia
16 April 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Fate of the Furious, the eight installment of the mindless, crazed up action flick has proved itself that the franchise never ran out of gas. There's over the top action scene, there's some mindless story, and there's Vin Diesel talking about family over and over again. Those things are what makes us coming back for more, and this is no exception.

The story follows Dom Toretto who betrays his family to work for Cipher, and his team's attempt to stop him. Vin Diesel has firmly stated that this movie "may earn a Oscar for it's acting", Maybe he's right because the acting is probably the best in the franchise. There were times where I'm surprised by Vin Diesel's acting. I also had a tear in my eye for no reason (damn those ninja cutting onions...) Charlize Theron is amazing as someone who's a menacing foe that you love to hate. The Rock, Jason Statham, Michelle Rodriguez, Ludicrous, Tyrese, Kurt Russell, and Nathalie Emmanuel reprises their roles and they did a good job as well, especially The Rock, Statham and Michelle Rodriguez. Scott Eastwood and Helen Mirren are great and a welcome addition to the franchise. There's also some surprise appearances and they are great as well.

The story... you definitely need no explanation for this. As always: it's stupid, in a good way of course. The story ties into Fast & Furious 6, and Furious 7, so for newcomers to the franchise, you may get confused a bit. The film also uses plot twists, which were greatly executed. There were some well placed funny moments and there's also some depressing moments as well. The movie also serves as the first in the final trilogy of the franchise. How the story goes later, we'll just wait for the ninth installment, which definitely will arrive soon enough.

The action, needless to say, is as crazy as in Furious 7, or maybe more. Taking insanity to the next level, these action scenes is either get you pumped out for what happens next, or making you shake your head for it's absurdity. Just don't relate to science or the law of physics, because those things don't apply to this movie.

However, the movie somehow felt hollow. There's something that's missing from the movie that prevents me from fully enjoying the movie. The lack of Paul Walker in the movie probably causes this. Referencing Brian and Mia in the movie ain't help either. Plot holes were present in the movie as well. Someone dies in the movie, but their deaths don't do justice (he/she died, he/she avenge his/her death, and that's it). And there's some CGI noticeable throughout the movie (which is a shame).

Regardless, Fate of the Furious is a movie with a stupid story, ridiculous action sequences, and Vin Diesel talking about family, which were bad, in a good way. Don't expect a really good story, or some logical action scene, because you'll ended up disappointed by the end of this movie. And for those "fans" who said: "Remember when it's all about racing", face it, Fast & Furious ain't returning fully to it's roots. If you don't like the change then you'll definitely don't like this movie. For anyone else who like fast cars, mindless action fun, get a ticket, have a seat and enjoy the ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 39 people found the following review useful:

Flawed but Fun

8/10
Author: Hold_the_door from United Kingdom
19 April 2017

The eighth film in The Fast and the Furious franchise, "The Fate of the Furious", might not be the best in the series, but I must say, it's pretty damn good and just as fun and entertaining as I expected. The franchise as a whole, for what it is, it offers great entertainment, especially with its latest instalments.

The Fast & Furious family is back, but this time things will get serious. Dom is going evil and betrays his friends and family to work with Cipher (a.k.a. Charlize Theron), a cyberterrorist who is really evil. And that's not enough to describe how wicked she is and all the things she does.

The movie is full of twists and surprises, although it should be said that these twists are not something none saw coming. They are quite predictable. That's a problem with this franchise - and I believe every franchise and movie that has mainly to do with car racing. Don't expect much story wise.

However, it gives you what you want. It gives you action, fun, family spirit, cars, racing, and Vin Diesel, the Rock and Jason Statham kicking ass - Tyrese Gibson is also a scene stealer. It lives up to what you've come to expect from FAF. Do you really want more?

Was the above review useful to you?

38 out of 61 people found the following review useful:

Predictable and so much fun

9/10
Author: Utpal Das from India
18 April 2017

The franchise did lose a bit of steam in between, but the last 2 installments were great.

Yes, predictable story, but you don't go to watch the movie for the story.

You go for the stunts and if you thing 7 was good, wait till you see this, equally good if not better.

Smart one liners, A M A Z I N G stunts, great photography or rather camera angles, you know what to expect and it delivers!

Great fun, really great fun, wont say throughout but the last 30 minutes are amazing.

This will not disappoint the franchise fan, that is for sure.

Okay this is a Vin Diesel movie, so the Rock and Statham takes a back seat but all is well, Theron plays a mean baddie, could have been a little more defined, nice cameo by Kurt Rusell, all in all bottom line is, you will like the movie if you know what to expect.

Was the above review useful to you?

74 out of 133 people found the following review useful:

Delivers 100%

10/10
Author: lars-o-wangen from norway
11 April 2017

I had high expectations for this, to be honest i didn't know if it was going to live up to the massive hype. Well it did 100% i was very impressed. The crew does it again and i love it. Some may think its too noisy and action packed. But this is fast and furious the title speaks for it self so buckle up and enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

Super unrealistic like every other Fast movie but still fun scenes.

8/10
Author: paolinabarbieri
18 April 2017

This movie wasn't 2 hours and 40 minutes tho. Literally started at 7:30 and ended at 9:35. THATS ONLY 2 HOURS AND 5 MINUTES. Did anyone else notice this?

Decent movie though The story line was pretty obvious towards the end. Like obviously it would end that way.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 45:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history