Prevenge (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Add a Review
24 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
4/10
mediocre silliness
RMS194926 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
It may have got some good reviews from some film festivals but this dark comedy slasher is both slow and boring in 95% of it's duration... While giving credit for being novel, the running gag of the baby supposedly directing mommy's homicidal tendencies got old very early. The movie wants to be a comedy thriller but in no way is it actually funny.and as for being a thriller, when virtually every person she encounters is just an incompetent imbecile for her to toy with, there is zero tension ( a date not seeing she was even pregnant or someone putting on boxing gloves to fight someone with a butcher knife ?) oh please...

Alice's dead pan, emotional free approach to Ruth was handled professionally but actually did nothing to elevate either the film's subject matter or actually caring about her character

While the movie is not a total bust, it's just a exercise in silliness that may entertain some but for me was totally a forgettable viewing...
26 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Prevenge: The best pregnant, slasher, comedy, horror movie...ever.
markgorman1 February 2017
The three Greek Furies that feature prominently in the 1934 Noirish movie, Crime Without Passion, are the central metaphor in Alice Lowe's extraordinarily dark Prevenge, billed as the world's first pregnant, slasher, comedy, horror movie.

In it, Alice Lowe's character, Ruth, embarks on a revenge murder spree goaded on by her helium-voiced, gestating baby.

It takes her to Wales and, in one breathtaking scene, the streets of Cardiff on Halloween night where she claims she almost needed protection from the boozed-up locals in a sequence reminiscent of Scarlett Johnassonn's Under The Skin street walk in Glasgow.

The reason for her bloody revenge spree is only revealed in drips (so I won't spoil it - like a preview I read before the screening did for me) which adds greatly to the narrative tension.

The making of this low budget Film Four offering is remarkable. Lowe was offered development money and finding herself pregnant used her condition to inspire this blackest of black script. She then wrote, produced, cast and filmed (in 11 days) the whole affair before her baby arrived.

Seeing an actor perform whilst heavily pregnant, and genuinely playing a pregnant character, is a rarity (my only recollection is Frances McDormand in Fargo) and Lowe certainly makes the most of the opportunity. Shooting took place in her late third Trimester.

The Furies are the ultimate avenging angels and she uses the extraordinary scenes from Crime Without Passion to symbolise her quest for justice, viewing the movie from the comfort of her hotel room where she takes respite, despite noisily bonking near neighbours, from her exhausting killings.

The killings themselves are simple but bloody affairs and each has hilarious set ups. Can she complete her task before the long arm of the law catches up on her careful forensic clean ups? You'll have to see it to find out.

This is classic British black comedy at its best. Using its low budget as a virtue but still making some moments of genuinely great cinematography, most notably in an exotic pet shop and a beautiful full facial dream sequence in a yoga class.

It has echoes of Mike Leigh's early work and Ben Wheatley's Sightseers is an obvious reference point. Obvious because Lowe is its co-star and it too shares a murderous plot line.

But, comparisons aside, this is an entirely original take on several genres that does its damnedest to create a genre of its own.

Whether there's room for thousands of pregnant, slasher, comedy, horror movies is debatable.

So we'll just have to agree on one thing. The original and best.
25 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A bun in the oven and a knife in her handbag.
BA_Harrison5 November 2017
Written by, directed by, and starring Alice Lowe (of Brit black comedy Sightseers), Prevenge follows heavily pregnant woman Ruth (Lowe, who was actually with child at the time) as she takes revenge on those responsible for the death of her partner, urged on in her killing spree by her unborn baby (who she can hear talking to her).

Clearly Ruth isn't firing on all cylinders, which results in plenty of extremely dark humour, the sort we Brits do so well, but with the lady suffering from mental illness/severe depression as a result of her loss, the film is also incredibly poignant—funny but sad—Ruth not receiving the professional help she so desperately needs to deal with her grief.

In addition to Lowe's accomplished direction, sharp writing and excellent central performance, Prevenge also benefits from several wonderfully drawn supporting characters, including Tom Davis's misogynistic DJ Dan (who gets his balls cut off for being such a sleazebag!), a well-meaning but condescending midwife (Jo Hartley), and corporate bitch Ella (Kate Dickie), who interviews Ruth for a job that she has no intention of giving her.

How much you enjoy Prevenge will depend a lot on how warped your sense of humour is, but if you have seen Alice in Sightseers, use that as a yardstick: if you appreciated her witty, dead pan performance in that film, then you'll probably have a good time with this one too.

7.5 out of 10, rounded up to 8 for IMDb.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A brilliant black comedy
Martin Bradley16 February 2017
We all know that pregnant women are supposed to get strange cravings. Most of the time these are usually nothing more than for the odd toastie in the middle of the night with perhaps a disgusting filling or two. Ruth's cravings, on the other hand, are a good deal darker. Egged on by the voice of her unborn baby girl Ruth gets a craving to kill people and it would seem with justification since all of her victims were, in some way, responsible for the death of her baby's father.

"Prevenge", in case you hadn't guessed it, is a comedy and a very black one. It was written and directed by the multi-talented Alice Lowe who, up until now, was better known as the female half of the team that brought you "Sightseers". She also plays Ruth, and plays her superbly, and her victims are made up of a host of outstanding British character players, including the monstrously underused Kate Dickie. Naturally, this isn't a film that will appeal to everyone, (I think pregnant mothers should stay well clear), but if you have the same very sick sense of humour that I do then seek it out; you certainly won't regret it.
16 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Nasty Naturalism
Theo Robertson26 March 2017
Wondering what to do for a hour and a half and wanting to see something just slightly different I stumbled across PREVENGE . Low budget British black comedy written , directed and starring Alice Lowe about a pregnant female going on a killing spree. Hmm . There's a danger that this sounds like a vanity project but I always give a film a chance and did notice that this page is very positive . I did double check that the reviewers were genuine because when you've got an unknown film on this with glowing reviews this usually means they're written by shills who give themselves away only registering when the film is released and never ever writing a comment for any other film

Truth be told PREVENGE exceeded all my expectations and found myself being caught up in the story very quickly. There's not a lot to the premise of "Deluded pregnant woman murders people she doesn't like" but this hardly matters . Ms Lowe who was seven months pregnant during shooting production has made a very quirky offbeat and violent black comedy that caused me to constantly smile. The idea isn't very persuasive , realistic or original but for some strange reason the details such as an aggressive charity worker turning up at someone's door and being greeted in an equally aggressive manner does come across as being somewhat naturalistic. Characters react and interact in ways you might expect them to out in the real world

As I write this one American reviewer has posted a rather negative review. To be fair to an international audience PREVENGE has obviously been made for a domestic audience and you'd need to understand the dark sense of humour we have in Britain . Dare I say we Brits have a very nasty sense of humour ? Regardless of cultural sensibilities PREVENGE is an enjoyable black comedy
13 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Postvengence
christopher_langer19 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is a film that mistakes visuals for symbolism and never lives up to its potential. Secondary characters, already on shaky ground, become 2 dimensional foils for the main character's cynical, teenage-level comebacks and tirades on the disappointing nature of life. As a dark comedy it also lands surprisingly humorlessly, with jokes falling flatter than in the Garth Marenghi series where Alice Low cut her teeth. That seems to be a problem for movies that walk the line between satire and horror. Where satire demands a razor-sharp read on society using characters and narrative, horror generally is excused any shortcomings so long as the correct blend of gore and cynicism is achieved. And while this latter balance can reflect the brilliance of its creative team, in Prevenge's case is does not.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
No comedy - no horror - just pretentious rubbish.
mjsreg28 June 2017
This is a wholly disappointing film from start to finish.

The story is weak and uninteresting. It had the potential to be a reasonable story, but that seems to have been sacrificed for something someone (probably the luvvy brigade) thinks is a bit humorous over drinks and ego massages.

It was incredibly tedious to watch - so tedious I fell asleep twice and had to watch it again just in case I had missed a pivotal moment or two - I hadn't.

I am a fan of British independent film making that shows talent and skill - even if it's not perfect. But this film just fails to make my low standards.

You'd probably find eating a cheese and nail sandwich more interesting - one to miss.
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
British crime drama at its best
misterbeer22 January 2017
After having enjoyed Alice Lowe's performance in Sightseers from 2012, I looked forward to see her directional debut in Prevenge. And I was not disappointed as the movie continues the tone with dark humor and explicit crime scenes. Lowe was heavily pregnant during the making of the movie. She plays the puzzled pregnant Ruth having lost the baby's father and facing birth on her own. Just like in Sightseers she is living on the edge of society in her own illusory world and feels that her unborn child is increasingly dictating her thoughts and actions. The movie depicts a depressing perspective of a pregnant women facing denials in all aspects of society. Nurses, flirting men, job interviewers, landlords, everyone is letting Ruth down because of her "circumstance". But the movie is more than a moral statement. It's a story of how a person can lose grip after a blow of fate. As in the prior movie, heavy violence is shown as a result of the main character's deep obsession. So I recommend this movie only to those who can stand explicit and bloody scenes. Many cynical and funny elements within the conversations make Prevenge an entertaining movie to reflect on with a shaking ending.
12 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Pretty decent
dissident3204 July 2017
There's some fun to be had here with this dark comedy. A pregnant woman goes on a murdering spree on the people involved in her unborn child's father's climbing death. A movie like this could have been completely unwatchable so I appreciate that they got the tone just right. The child speaks to her from the womb but it never gets completely goofy. The violence she commits is brutal and bloody and it doesn't attempt to trivialize or justify their deaths.

Despite that, there is entertainment to be had as the more she kills the more unhinged she becomes. At times it's an almost playful performance from Alice Lowe who also wrote and directed it. Overall a respectable movie. Nicely shot considering it was done in under 2 weeks.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Were we really suppose to sympathize for a murdering mad woman?
edwardholub4 June 2017
How can critics call this a comedy? Insane pregnant woman goes on a murderous rampage killing all the people who she imagines her unborn baby wants dead. Oh, and every victim never fights back to save their own lives. Unpleasant unbelievable experience all around. Still can't believe this got 95% on rottentomatoes.
10 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews