Brad's Status (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Add a Review
41 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
It speaks volumes
AnotherMoviePlease17 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
It speaks volumes that a movie like this gets a 6.6 here at IMDb while a Guardians of the Galaxy gets an 8.5.

I thought this movie was great. This movie will undoubtedly do very well in Europe, as do Woody Allen movies, and for the same reasons: this movie articulates some of our inner thoughts and re-focuses our attention on what is important in life. It is engaging and makes you think. Highly entertaining.

Many people I believe were put off by the abrupt ending and it is a bit abrupt. But the writing is just perfect and Ben Stiller has so much depth. Ben Stiller has to be commended. He can make millions and chooses from time to time movies like this one and Greenberg. Keep them coming Ben. Much appreciated.

A gem.
26 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Mind's Status
Jithin K Mohan7 November 2017
Brad is the type of guy who doesn't belong in any kind of social circle really. For some he is too low for their class, for others he is too high. While his problems are laughable compared to problems that are solved by the funds he raises, that doesn't make his problem mom existent. People generally tries to classify this type of films as futile attempts by privileged people. But human mind is always in a fight with itself to achieve more in life and whatever the world around is going about ultimately it's your mind that decides if you have failed yourself or not. Even though the film deals with familiar themes the script is powerful enough to keep you uncomfortable throughout the film. Ben Stiller again proves his best characters are dramatic roles with a light touch of comedy.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Here's a mid-life crisis I can live with.
jdesando25 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"We aren't poor." Melanie Sloan (Jenna Fischer)

In those three words, the titular character's wife succinctly parses his midlife crisis: Brad (Ben Stiller) needs to smell the roses, to see that what he has in his upper-middle class comfort is more than most could hope for. Brad's Status is a text book exposition of a man's midlife crisis at 47 years old.

It's not a pretty sight when he embarrasses his brainy son, Troy (Austin Abrams), at a Harvard interview opportunity by pushing too hard with the admissions staff. Besides that obnoxious parent-at-interview motif, which I have witnessed as a Georgetown alumni interviewer, Brad is struggling, mostly in voice-over narration, with an unhealthy envy of his buddies who have entered into the 1% of fame and wealth.

A Tufts grad that started his own non-profit, Brad needs a jolt to realize how good his life really is. Buds like noted author and TV star Craig (Michael Sheen0 prove to have their own issues that don't show up in the media. Too obvious a compensation from writer/director Mike White, nonetheless it is axiomatic that "the grass is greener on the other side." Will Brad learn this lesson after thinking about his accomplished wife and son? You can pretty much guess.

Although I could not sympathize with Stiller's previously solipsistic hero in Greenberg, his Brad makes mid-life sense to me as he gains our sympathy over his self-centered obsessions. Xavier Grobet's cinematography, focused as it is on close ups of Brad, does very little else to further visually this universal experience, and generally none of the shots are as remarkable as the simple takes of the two coeds' classical playing in the orchestra.

Stiller should be nominated; no recent actor has shown such authentic anguish at that certain time of life when you can accept the goodness of the life you have led or drive yourself into an unpleasant status.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
so real. flawless performance
hiyangbo25 September 2017
So real. Flawless performance. One of the best movie this year so far. It's not a movie for everyone. I understand why some people could fall asleep while watching it. Its depth could be understood only if one have had several years fighting and climbing in the society and have a family and children to cherish and thankful for. I felt the echos in my soul and could foresee what I would look like in Brad's age. Everyone is relatively poor; the circle can be one percent, or one millionth or one billionth. And vice verse everyone is relatively happier and richer compared to the rest. And the "real pains" come from those meaningless comparisons and competitions that we impose on ourselves. Everyone have a choice of how to live their lives and how to plan and realize their futures. It's just a bunch of unique decisions that we have made and are making for ourselves. When you are jealous about someone's success in career or something, you don't know how much they sacrifice on their life balance or health or something else that you weigh way more over the former. There's no better or worse life. There is always shadow behind sunshine. It's just a matter whether you like it or not, grateful or regretful. And if you like your life and are grateful, you already win the competition if you really want such a comparison.

"Everyone is thinking about themselves. Nobody cares about you. The only person cares about you is me. So you should only care about my opinion."

I love the ending. There's no silver bullet to avoid so called midlife crisis. Can Brad have a sound sleep that night? Not sure. What I am certain is that we have to make every seconds in life count and always gives thanks to God, life and everyone in our life, to live a life which we will never regret.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Wonderful quirky film; almost a monologue with interludes
Amy Adler6 October 2017
Brad (Ben Stiller) has lately been fretting about his "status" in the world of middle-agers. As he and his son Troy (Austin Abrams), a gifted musician and composer, are about to embark from Sacramento to a Boston tour of colleges, Bradley is in a funk. This is because he has been pondering the so-called more successful lives of his college pals. Jason (Luke Wilson) is a jet-setting, rich hedge-fund manager while Billy (Jemaine Clement) made a tech fortune and retired, at 40, on Maui. Worst of all, Craig (Michael Sheen) is a best-selling pundit on political issues and teaches at Harvard. What has he, Brad, done? For wife Melanie (Jenna Fischer) and himself, its strictly the mundane bourgeousie. Brad manages a non-profit that finds funds for other non-profits while Mel works for the California government. So, while Troy and his dad go to Harvard and Tufts for interviews, Brad upsets the apple cart by embarrassing Troy in front of friends and administrators. This is doubly so when Brad actually needs Craig's help to gain a 2nd interview with a dean! But, in truth, is Brad's status beyond lame? This wonderful, quirky film is almost a monologue as the viewer gets a running commentary by Brad of each and every situation. Yes, there are interludes of actual conversations and happenings and Abrams, Wilson, Clement, Sheen, Fischer and all of the rest do good work. But, its up to Stiller to carry the film with his wry, self- deprecating analysis of life and he does so beautifully. We bow to you, Ben! Scenery, costumes, illuminating script and deft direction all bring the film satisfying results. Most importantly, the movie truly gets it "right" on what makes a life well-lived. Go, go to Brad, film lovers! Hollywood rarely bestows gems like this anymore.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Great story but a bit slow
smetin4 November 2017
I hadn't seen a Ben Stiller movie in a while and this one kind of came out of nowhere. Very little marketing and promotion meant that when I saw it was released I was surprised, but it is reflected in its low budget. The movie follows Brad (Ben Stiller) who is disappointed with his life, since all of his friends became very rich and successful in life. The plot revolves around him going to Harvard with his son, who is trying to get into the university.

The rest of the plot if filled in with learning more about Brad and his successful friends, whilst his son is really only there to move the main plot forward. It all felt a bit slow, which was not helped by the sweeping camera shots with no speaking and Brad's narration that is a bit too frequent.

However, when things eventually happen in the plot it is good. It made me feel sad for Brad at times, yet happy when he realised what was truly important in life. The key message, of course, is that money does not equate to success and this movie certainly delivers that well. What I also enjoyed was that although this message has been littered in numerous movies, Brad's Status delivers it in a refreshing format.

Although Brad's Status will not wow you, it is certainly a good movie. The plot is nothing new and it may feel slow at times, but it will bring a smile to your face in the end. Regardless of whether you like Ben Stiller's previous performances or not, this will be a worthy addition to your watchlist, especially at this time of year when it can be chilly!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
the world was in love with me..
Arth Joshi9 December 2017
Brad's Status

Mike White's vision, idea, lines and words relates with the audience and with the help of Ben Stiller's majestic performance as an overthinking negatively charged person, Brad's Status connects each and every dot that a cinema should.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
a whimsical interior monologue about mid-life inadequacy
CineMuseFilms22 November 2017
If your cup is always full don't waste your time with this film. For the rest of us, it is a guilt-inducing reminder that our cup may be fuller than we think. Although it is light on big laughs and it does not have a big narrative, Brad's Status (2017) delivers a film-length interior monologue that probes our obsession with aspirational lifestyles.

Brad Stone (Ben Shiller) is not ageing well. When he starts comparing his half century of life with a few of his classmates he feels like a failure. Despite owning a small non-profit agency that helps people, having an attractive and loving wife Melanie (Jenna Fischer), and a remarkably well- adjusted teenage son Troy (Austin Abrams), Brad has a gnawing sense of inadequacy. He sees his old high school friends living fantasy lives, like retiring to a tropical island, wallowing in celebrity, and flying around in private jets. Troy's visit to the east coast to pick a college is a chance for father-son bonding but all it does is remind Brad that he is a loser. He cannot score an airline seat upgrade to impress his son, he can't seem to even win the respect of hotel check-in staff; in fact, nobody really notices Brad. But through Troy's mature young eyes, Brad is a great dad.

This is not a film for everyone. The action and tension curves are close to flat, while Brad's introspective narration is a mid-life crisis tale that sounds like middle-class aspiration syndrome. It's possible to see Brad as an avatar for the ills of modern society. The dialogue is self-indulgently immersed in the politics of envy and the quest to self-legitimise through material possessions and public success. He is a victim of conservative individualism where self-interest has a higher moral value than public interest. His self-doubt will resonate for many and Ben Shiller is cast perfectly for the role. He plays Brad with a kind of Woody Allen-style angst-tinged whimsy which may tire some while amuse many. His son is his emotional foil, and young Austin Abrams plays the part with deadpan wisdom beyond his years and amusement that his weird father should struggle so much over so little.

The message of this film lies buried under its comic treatment of a bland story. The blessings in Brad's life are obvious to us but not to him, as are the several reasons to doubt the people he admires. Brad's Status is a warm-hearted tonic for anyone afflicted with anxiety over what life has not provided. When taken in the right dose, it is both uplifting and entertaining.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Interesting but too incidental
John Smith20 October 2017
Gore Vidal notoriously said, "Whenever a friend succeeds, a little something in me dies," which could be this movie's subtitle. Interesting subject matter I think, but this movie could have used more of an outright plot. Whether I'm right or not, this movie had the feel of having been written with a vague direction in mind but no structured outline set down beforehand. (The long bar conversation with the big-brown-eyed girl kind of came out of nowhere and I suspect did, to the writer as he sat at his laptop.) Ben Stiller was okay, but I felt his regular (facial) expressions of resentment could have used more variety and nuance. Knowing both ends of: not thrilling at running into people as I puttered along with nothing to brag about, to suddenly being put in charge of huge projects covered in the international press that suddenly made me the star of dinner parties, I found this an interesting movie, but wanted more of a story than a collection of vignettes. (For those who liked them, this movie I felt could almost go together as a sort loose trilogy with Stiller's GREENBERG and PERMANENT MIDNIGHT.)
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Over wrought
Eugene Mannacio23 September 2017
Most people, even successful ones,have doubts about themselves but Brad really needs a psychiatrist for his feelings of inadequacy and this movie lays it on so thick viewers may feel they have been recruited to the position. There are a few moments when some dim realization begins to set in that material success may not be everything but not enough to provide any kind of balance. If this was intended as a comedy it is too dour. If it was intended as a slice of life it is not a slice I would want to see.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews