IMDb > Patti Cake$ (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Patti Cake$
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Patti Cake$ More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 26 reviews in total 

53 out of 73 people found the following review useful:

1 Star - Awful

1/10
Author: Jeanette from San Francisco
26 August 2017

Well what good can be said about this film?? I was sure glad when it was over; so I guess that would be the one good thing about it. It is a movie overflowing with clichés, and lazy writing, and mediocre to bad acting. The accents the characters use are really annoying, and the words and phrases are simplistic and a lot of them disgusting. Some people say about movies that they did not really care much for: "wait and watch it on DVD". However with this movie, I suggest avoiding it all together. There are much, much, much better ways to spend your precious time.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Disney's kind of story about a rapper.

6/10
Author: (toonji) from Bangkok, Thailand
18 August 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watch this movie because of my work. It's nothing new. Follows the same old pattern of struggling protagonist who wants to be something big.

Like I said, it's a Disney's style. A feel good one. Not as much inspiring as Eminem's 8Miles. A lot of good but somehow cliché moments.

The rap part is what i dislike most. It's just like they put anything they can rhyme with in the lyrics. Or maybe this is a different kind of style, I don't know. But once you've watched this movie, the song will stick into your head for quite sometime. And imagine that I had to work with it for 3 or 4 days. PBNJ haunted me for like a week.

All in all, it's a good movie but not so good that I would recommend as a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

MAMI Film Fest Review. Patti Cake$.

6/10
Author: nama chakravorty from India
25 October 2017

Danielle Macdonald makes a Star-Making debut with 'Patti Cake$'. A weirdly fun film too, 'Patti Cake$' rides on Danielle's shoulders to deliver an amusing tale of a girl who dares to dream beyond the stereotype.

'Patti Cake$' Synopsis: A plus-sized white girl, Patricia "Dumbo" Dombrowski (Danielle Macdonald), from Bergen County, New Jersey tries to seek fame and fortune as a rapper.

What works for 'Patti Cake$' is its interesting execution. I mean, its the same rags to riches story, but the treatment is done in a funny way. Patti's journey from a nobody to trying to be a somebody in the world of rapping, is amusing, highly abusive (of course) & sweet. Having said that, 'Patti Cake$' is a predictable story from start to end. I mean, one can predict the entire film ahead & there is no novelty here. I wish Writer-Director Geremy Jasper bought in some unpredictability here, as this story had the potential to venture into newer places. But alas, that doesn't happen at all! And that's okay, maybe I was expecting a little too much!

Jasper's Writing is decent, as the story progresses well, even though we all know where its headed. The protagonist is well-etched out & she's worth rooting for. Jasper's Direction is good. Cinematography, Editing & Costume Design, merit special mentions.

And now coming to showstopper - Danielle Macdonald. Her heroic portrayal of Patti is worth alone watching the film. She's brash, focused, fun & brave -- completely sinking her teeth into the part & brings it out flying colors. Macdonald dominates the show from start to end. Lending her superb support are Bridget Everett, Siddharth Dhananjay & A Fantastic Cathy Moriarty.

On the whole, the predictable 'Patti Cake$' is certainly not without its moments & proudly brings a new star in the horizon - Danielle Macdonald. Watch it for her.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Didn't expect much, walked away very surprised in a great way.

8/10
Author: Stephen Black from Tampa, Florida
14 November 2017

What a shocker! I didn't think I would enjoy this but had time to kill. I was impressed enough to post a review, which I never do. The characters pulled me in and really made me feel something. Make me feel something, angry, sad, happy, scared, confused, anything. A good movie (for me) takes me away from my life and lets me see the world through others eyes for an hour and a half. This is not a prospective I would ever have imagined I would enjoy but I did. By the end of the movie I was rooting for Pati and her friends. I really felt vested in what I was seeing all a while through their eyes. Great acting, great story, great idea all around. Watching this movie was time well spend. Kudos!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Patti Cake$: Waitress by Day, Rapper by Night

8/10
Author: brankovranjkovic from stevenage
7 September 2017

Cert 15 for language content.

This is an independent musical which follows the rags to (presumably) riches life of an aspiring female rapper. Australian actress Danielle MacDonald is Patti, a young waitress by day, ambitious rapper by night. Patti is searching for stardom with her equally talented friend who works as a pharmacist.

Meanwhile Patti is also financially struggling to support her ailing grandmother, whose medical costs are mounting causing frequent phone-calls chasing up for payment.

There's some friction between Patti and her mother, who had a promising singing career which ended early.

Patti is a white girl trying to make it in the black stereotypical world of rap, it's not the most original story, and feels predictable, especially towards the end.

Worth watching even if you're not a big fan of rap music

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

A star is born

7/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
6 September 2017

Love films centred around music. Being someone who grew up with music being a huge part of my life, who sings and who graduated last year with a degree in Vocal and Operatic Studies, so considers music very important and that it wasn't appreciated enough or sadly not cool to like as a subject in my school years.

Am not a big fan of rap, with a few exceptions, often finding it simplistic, repetitive and preachy, but have a high appreciation, if not quite love, for blues. So wasn't sure how good 'Patti Cake$' would be, despite it being positively received, but there are good music-following your dreams films out there and there was the hope that 'Patti Cake$' would be one of them. Seeing it, it was. Not as amazing as the best reviews have said it is, but for its flaws there is a lot to like here and it was quite the pleasant surprise.

Sure, 'Patti Cake$', being a film that treads familiar ground, is very predictable with not much new and characters that fall into cliché territory. The looking up to the rap god subplot is contrived and underdeveloped, feeling like filler. Agree too that the script has its clunky moments.

However, there are good things. The budget is not a huge one and 'Patti Cake$' is not a grand in spectacle film, nor does it need to be. It's hardly a cheap-looking film and is shot well. The music is catchy and tune, yes even the rap despite some simplistic lyric writing.

Most of the writing has humour that's a mix of gentle and witty, a warm heart and heartfelt poignancy. For its clichés and predictability and one subplot that falls flat, the story has freshness too and told in a way that has vibrancy and heart, with a lot of energy and creative spark, the very definition of feel good, it's very sweet, heart-warming and uplifting and the underdog/following your dreams story as a result just about works.

Geremy Jasper keeps things moving beautifully, with great direction of his actors and the drama and great, near-seamless synchronisation of visuals, staging and music. The characters, despite being clichés, are both fun and not hard to like, with the lead character being proof that one doesn't need to look like a supermodel to be an inspirational role model. In no way is that meant to cause offence, actually think lowly of people who think it's alright to make shallow comments about people's looks.

The cast do a great job, with Bridget Everett, Siddharth Dhananjay and Mamoudou Athie providing zesty support and Cathy Moriaty registering strongly too. Best of all, the backbone of the film and the best thing about it, is Danielle MacDonald, a brilliant star-making turn and she deserves to be a big star after this.

All in all, a very nice film that made me feel good, regardless of not completely loving it. Am aware that this review is going to be very unpopular, despite being a subjective person that the very eruditely written and in my mind honest positive reviews have so many negative useful votes is a surprise to me. 7/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

A Fun Cinderella Story

9/10
Author: bkrauser-81-311064 from United States
11 September 2017

We all like to fancy ourselves as the underdog in our own stories. Everyone - even the most fortunate among us has had to deal with some sort of hardship or struggle. It's a constant of life, that we can both use and learn from, or we can let our adversities overwhelm and define who we are. No amount of collective learning can truly prepare us for how cold and punishing the world can truly be. Yet, if you'll permit the cliché, calm seas never made a skilled sailor. The best we can often do when we're at our lowest, is to muscle up some courage and inspiration, lick your wounds and try again. Sometimes that's enough.

Patricia Dombrowski (Macdonald) knows this general feeling world-weariness quite well. She's an aspiring rap artist and thusly faces all the hardships that come with trying to make it big in a crusty New Jersey city where everyone is already aspiring for the same. Additionally she's impoverished, juggles multiple jobs and deals with her fair share of false starts. Her only advantage is her youth, which given the fact that she's morbidly obese may not be enough to curry her favor. Despite this she, along with her rag-tag group of friends give their all to seek fame, fortune and true artistic expression in a world that expects nothing from them.

I will readily admit that I am a sucker for these kinds of movies, and as far as this movie goes, Patti Cake$ is quite the charmer. Much of this is reliant on Danielle Macdonald's sympathetic performance as the talented but gun-shy Patti aka Killer P., whose flows vacillate between lyrically catchy to downright Shakespearian. The entire story is told from her perspective which often melds into a bold magical realism whereby she's spitting her words to the approval of O-Z (Mgaujah) her musical hero. These segments of the story are often coated in stormy skies and green tint; the color of money.

Patti's transition from a "culture vulture" to a bonafide lyrical phemon doesn't come without a pessimistic bite. The insurmountable and grave struggles that Patti faces may not have the same incredulity as that of 8 Mile (2002) or Hustle & Flow (2005) but they do carry with them a level of incredible honesty. These are the struggles of someone who is serially undervalued but who nevertheless doesn't let the melodrama of her life define her. Moreover she includes fellow misfits (Dhananjay and Athie) in her odyssey – not for the sake of furthering a nothing career but to be a conduit for artistic expression.

Those who dispute Patti Cake$ is nothing more than a cliché-riddled Sundance célèbre aren't exactly wrong about this. One can certainly draw a thematic line between this and other feel-good tales like Sing Street (2016), Billy Elliot (2000) and Akeelah and the Bee (2006). Yet Patti Cake$ brings a grizzled authenticity to the well-worn formulas of underdog stories, and does so while showcasing some truly fun tunes co-written by director Geremy Jasper and Jason Binnick. I say If the purpose of cinema is to belay poetic justice in 120-minutes or less then Patti Cake$ should be considered rousing success.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Names Define Lies

6/10
Author: thirtyfivestories
22 September 2017

Poetry seeps into the cracked pavement of New Jersey. Not in stanzas, but in bars. The poets do not recite their work, they spit it. Their lines are shanks with jagged edges. They draw blood through their opponent's insecurities. When a battle transpires, the participants sign on to gladiatorial bout that does not conclude until the loser lies motionless outside of a gas station.

Patti does not write for these moments, but these moments will cement her social standing. Resorting to ugliness empowers her rhymes with putrid fury. Even the knock off drug dealers affirm her fire. She is an insecure tyrant wary of haters, and drunk for admires. Her emerald dreams place her on a throne of excess, yet she wakes in a nicotine flavored home.

Her main man Jheri has the body shape of an anti-depressant. He has not abandoned his Indian roots, and pays homage to Bollywood exuberance in his verses. Paired with Patti, the duo slap out beats from her Chevy's hood, and belt out lamentations of Dirty Jersey life.

Patti's mother has her head in toilets all over town. Her daughter is her designated bartender and hair-holder. Barb was a hair rocker of yesterday, but now her records play in the cluttered kitchen, accompanied by drug store wine. Once a leach of men, now a leach of her dwindling family. Patti has to stomach her mother proclaim the two of them as "sisters".

Nana, Patti's grandmother, chain smokes her way to her deceased husband. Patti knows she loves limericks, so she composes a new one with each morning's brushstrokes. They are often lewd, but Nana is a sick old woman. Each bellowing laugh puts her soul closer lung failure, but they both know every bit helps.

"Superstar" is Patti's name in Nana's eyes. Her songs are crafted with supreme resentment. Her very existence is described as an accident, and her appearance is a giant piñata in a crowd of immature hoodlums. The chip on her shoulder is crater created by an asteroid the size of a scummy New England town. Barreling through these attacks, New York is only one break away.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Watch it for Danielle Macdonald's sensational performance

7/10
Author: Paul Allaer from Cincinnati
5 September 2017

"Patti Cake$" (2017 release; 108 min.) brings the story of aspiring New Jersey rap-artist Patricia Dombrowski. As the movie opens, she is being announced as Killa P. at a big rap show. Turns out our girl was dreaming in her sleep. She wakes up and we get to know her daily routine, working a crappy job at a crappy bar. She dreams of making it big, with help from her friend Jheri, himself stuck at a lousy job in a drug store. We also get to know her mom, who turns out was on the edge of making it herself as a musician 30 years ago, but alas just missed out on getting signed by a record label. And then there is Nana, who seems closer to death than she is alive. At this point we're 10 min. into the movie, but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this is the feature-length debut for writer-director Geremy Jasper (who previously has done various music videos). Here he tackles familiar territory, one that could be titled the female version of "8 Miles", albeit this movie is sweeter and ultimately more rewarding. The director captures the yearning of these Jersey kids perfectly, as they stare at the NY skyline and can't wait to get out of New Jersey. Beware: there is crass language throughout the movie, so if that is a problem for you, do yourself a favor and check out another movie. Australian plus-sized actress Danielle Macdonald is nothing short of sensational in the title role, and surely we have not seen the last of her. I was shocked to see in the end titles that Nana was played by none other than Cathy Moriarty, who is completely unrecognizable. Last but certainly not least, there is a ton of great music throughout the film (the original songs are written or co-written by Geremy Jasper), and check out also the Bruce Springsteen tune "The Time That Never Was" (from the 2015 The River Outtakes collection).

"Petti Cake$" premiered at this year's Sundance film festival to immediate critical acclaim, and I've been eagerly waiting to see it. It finally was released most recently, and I happen to catch it during a recent family visit in Belgium. The Wednesday early evening screening where I saw this at in Antwerp, Belgium, was attended nicely, I am happy to say. If you are in the mood for an empowering and even uplifting movie that is MILES away from your standard Hollywood fare, I'd readily suggest you check this out, be it in the theater, on VOD, or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Loved it!

9/10
Author: jaeger-94761 from Cologne, Germany
11 November 2017

The 6.1 average is in my point of view very underrated for this movie. All the characters spoke to me and touched me. It's a great plot, great cast, great movie and amazing Patti. I couldn't believe she had to learn to rap for the movie. I loved her raps!! I really recommend this movie to anyone who have a heart for the underdogs.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history