IMDb > Patti Cake$ (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Patti Cake$
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Patti Cake$ More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 20 reviews in total 

34 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

1 Star - Awful

1/10
Author: Jeanette from San Francisco
26 August 2017

Well what good can be said about this film?? I was sure glad when it was over; so I guess that would be the one good thing about it. It is a movie overflowing with clichés, and lazy writing, and mediocre to bad acting. The accents the characters use are really annoying, and the words and phrases are simplistic and a lot of them disgusting. Some people say about movies that they did not really care much for: "wait and watch it on DVD". However with this movie, I suggest avoiding it all together. There are much, much, much better ways to spend your precious time.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Disney's kind of story about a rapper.

6/10
Author: (toonji) from Bangkok, Thailand
18 August 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watch this movie because of my work. It's nothing new. Follows the same old pattern of struggling protagonist who wants to be something big.

Like I said, it's a Disney's style. A feel good one. Not as much inspiring as Eminem's 8Miles. A lot of good but somehow cliché moments.

The rap part is what i dislike most. It's just like they put anything they can rhyme with in the lyrics. Or maybe this is a different kind of style, I don't know. But once you've watched this movie, the song will stick into your head for quite sometime. And imagine that I had to work with it for 3 or 4 days. PBNJ haunted me for like a week.

All in all, it's a good movie but not so good that I would recommend as a must see.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A Fun Cinderella Story

9/10
Author: bkrauser-81-311064 from United States
11 September 2017

We all like to fancy ourselves as the underdog in our own stories. Everyone - even the most fortunate among us has had to deal with some sort of hardship or struggle. It's a constant of life, that we can both use and learn from, or we can let our adversities overwhelm and define who we are. No amount of collective learning can truly prepare us for how cold and punishing the world can truly be. Yet, if you'll permit the cliché, calm seas never made a skilled sailor. The best we can often do when we're at our lowest, is to muscle up some courage and inspiration, lick your wounds and try again. Sometimes that's enough.

Patricia Dombrowski (Macdonald) knows this general feeling world-weariness quite well. She's an aspiring rap artist and thusly faces all the hardships that come with trying to make it big in a crusty New Jersey city where everyone is already aspiring for the same. Additionally she's impoverished, juggles multiple jobs and deals with her fair share of false starts. Her only advantage is her youth, which given the fact that she's morbidly obese may not be enough to curry her favor. Despite this she, along with her rag-tag group of friends give their all to seek fame, fortune and true artistic expression in a world that expects nothing from them.

I will readily admit that I am a sucker for these kinds of movies, and as far as this movie goes, Patti Cake$ is quite the charmer. Much of this is reliant on Danielle Macdonald's sympathetic performance as the talented but gun-shy Patti aka Killer P., whose flows vacillate between lyrically catchy to downright Shakespearian. The entire story is told from her perspective which often melds into a bold magical realism whereby she's spitting her words to the approval of O-Z (Mgaujah) her musical hero. These segments of the story are often coated in stormy skies and green tint; the color of money.

Patti's transition from a "culture vulture" to a bonafide lyrical phemon doesn't come without a pessimistic bite. The insurmountable and grave struggles that Patti faces may not have the same incredulity as that of 8 Mile (2002) or Hustle & Flow (2005) but they do carry with them a level of incredible honesty. These are the struggles of someone who is serially undervalued but who nevertheless doesn't let the melodrama of her life define her. Moreover she includes fellow misfits (Dhananjay and Athie) in her odyssey – not for the sake of furthering a nothing career but to be a conduit for artistic expression.

Those who dispute Patti Cake$ is nothing more than a cliché-riddled Sundance célèbre aren't exactly wrong about this. One can certainly draw a thematic line between this and other feel-good tales like Sing Street (2016), Billy Elliot (2000) and Akeelah and the Bee (2006). Yet Patti Cake$ brings a grizzled authenticity to the well-worn formulas of underdog stories, and does so while showcasing some truly fun tunes co-written by director Geremy Jasper and Jason Binnick. I say If the purpose of cinema is to belay poetic justice in 120-minutes or less then Patti Cake$ should be considered rousing success.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Patti Cake$: Waitress by Day, Rapper by Night

8/10
Author: brankovranjkovic from stevenage
7 September 2017

Cert 15 for language content.

This is an independent musical which follows the rags to (presumably) riches life of an aspiring female rapper. Australian actress Danielle MacDonald is Patti, a young waitress by day, ambitious rapper by night. Patti is searching for stardom with her equally talented friend who works as a pharmacist.

Meanwhile Patti is also financially struggling to support her ailing grandmother, whose medical costs are mounting causing frequent phone-calls chasing up for payment.

There's some friction between Patti and her mother, who had a promising singing career which ended early.

Patti is a white girl trying to make it in the black stereotypical world of rap, it's not the most original story, and feels predictable, especially towards the end.

Worth watching even if you're not a big fan of rap music

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Patti Cake$ Film Review

8/10
Author: scottingram from Aberdeen, Scotland
7 September 2017

The new drama film Patti Cake$ starring Danielle MacDonald, Bridget Everett, Siddharth Dhananjay.

PATTI CAKE$ introduces Australian native Danielle Macdonald (The East, Every Secret Thing) in a breakout role, as aspiring rapper Patricia Dombrowski, a.k.a. Killa P, a.k.a. Patti Cake$. Fighting an unlikely quest for glory in her downtrodden hometown in Jersey where her life is falling apart, Patti tries to reach the big time in the hip hop scene with original and affecting music. Cheered on by her grandmother Nana (American actress Cathy Moriarty - Raging Bull, Cop Land) and only friends, Jheri (Siddharth Dhananjay) who works in a pharmacy / chemist and Basterd (Mamoudou Athie - Jean Of The Joneses) who is a blind DJ, Patti also shoulders her mother Barb's (American actress Bridget Everett - Trainwreck, The Opposite Sex) heartaches and misfortunes.

Amongst the other actors / actresses in Patti Cake$ includes American actor McCaul Lombardi (American Honey, Age Of The Moon) as Danny, Patrick Brana (Straight Outta Tompkins) as Slaz, Dylan Blue (Just Like The Son, Deck The Halls) as Drewsky / Master of Ceremonies, American actor Warren Bub (American Fango, No One Lives Forever) as Mr. Bagadella, Ray Iannicelli (St. Vincent, Soldier's Heart) as Joe Puppy, American actress MC Lyte (Girls Trip, The Dempsey Sisters) as DJ French Tips, Alexandra Moruzzi as Young Patti, Sahr Ngaujah (Money Monster, Stomp The Yard) as O-Z, American actor Adam Scarimbolo (A Guide To Recognizing Your Saints, Last Day Of Summer) as Pony, John Sharian (The Machinist, Lost In Space) as Lou and American actor Wass Stevens (John Wick: Chapter 2, The Wrestler) as Nickel.

Filming locations in Patti Cake$ includes cities, places like US State New Jersey and New York City which are only separated by the Hudson River.

Overall Patti Cake$ is a good drama film filled with drama, music, rap music, singing, swearing, tongue and cheek stuff, some sadness, family, friendship, falling outs, arguments, some funny moments, hip hop music, DJ's, people drinking, smoking, bonding and other things throughout the film.

So I will give Patti Cake$ an overall rating of 3 out of 5 stars and Patti Cake$ is worth seeing if you like drama / rap music films along the lines as Patti Cake$.

So if you get the chance to see Patti Cake$ in the cinema then you should go and see it sooner than later.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A star is born

7/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
6 September 2017

Love films centred around music. Being someone who grew up with music being a huge part of my life, who sings and who graduated last year with a degree in Vocal and Operatic Studies, so considers music very important and that it wasn't appreciated enough or sadly not cool to like as a subject in my school years.

Am not a big fan of rap, with a few exceptions, often finding it simplistic, repetitive and preachy, but have a high appreciation, if not quite love, for blues. So wasn't sure how good 'Patti Cake$' would be, despite it being positively received, but there are good music-following your dreams films out there and there was the hope that 'Patti Cake$' would be one of them. Seeing it, it was. Not as amazing as the best reviews have said it is, but for its flaws there is a lot to like here and it was quite the pleasant surprise.

Sure, 'Patti Cake$', being a film that treads familiar ground, is very predictable with not much new and characters that fall into cliché territory. The looking up to the rap god subplot is contrived and underdeveloped, feeling like filler. Agree too that the script has its clunky moments.

However, there are good things. The budget is not a huge one and 'Patti Cake$' is not a grand in spectacle film, nor does it need to be. It's hardly a cheap-looking film and is shot well. The music is catchy and tune, yes even the rap despite some simplistic lyric writing.

Most of the writing has humour that's a mix of gentle and witty, a warm heart and heartfelt poignancy. For its clichés and predictability and one subplot that falls flat, the story has freshness too and told in a way that has vibrancy and heart, with a lot of energy and creative spark, the very definition of feel good, it's very sweet, heart-warming and uplifting and the underdog/following your dreams story as a result just about works.

Geremy Jasper keeps things moving beautifully, with great direction of his actors and the drama and great, near-seamless synchronisation of visuals, staging and music. The characters, despite being clichés, are both fun and not hard to like, with the lead character being proof that one doesn't need to look like a supermodel to be an inspirational role model. In no way is that meant to cause offence, actually think lowly of people who think it's alright to make shallow comments about people's looks.

The cast do a great job, with Bridget Everett, Siddharth Dhananjay and Mamoudou Athie providing zesty support and Cathy Moriaty registering strongly too. Best of all, the backbone of the film and the best thing about it, is Danielle MacDonald, a brilliant star-making turn and she deserves to be a big star after this.

All in all, a very nice film that made me feel good, regardless of not completely loving it. Am aware that this review is going to be very unpopular, despite being a subjective person that the very eruditely written and in my mind honest positive reviews have so many negative useful votes is a surprise to me. 7/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Watch it for Danielle Macdonald's sensational performance

7/10
Author: Paul Allaer from Cincinnati
5 September 2017

"Patti Cake$" (2017 release; 108 min.) brings the story of aspiring New Jersey rap-artist Patricia Dombrowski. As the movie opens, she is being announced as Killa P. at a big rap show. Turns out our girl was dreaming in her sleep. She wakes up and we get to know her daily routine, working a crappy job at a crappy bar. She dreams of making it big, with help from her friend Jheri, himself stuck at a lousy job in a drug store. We also get to know her mom, who turns out was on the edge of making it herself as a musician 30 years ago, but alas just missed out on getting signed by a record label. And then there is Nana, who seems closer to death than she is alive. At this point we're 10 min. into the movie, but to tell you more of the plot would spoil your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Couple of comments: this is the feature-length debut for writer-director Geremy Jasper (who previously has done various music videos). Here he tackles familiar territory, one that could be titled the female version of "8 Miles", albeit this movie is sweeter and ultimately more rewarding. The director captures the yearning of these Jersey kids perfectly, as they stare at the NY skyline and can't wait to get out of New Jersey. Beware: there is crass language throughout the movie, so if that is a problem for you, do yourself a favor and check out another movie. Australian plus-sized actress Danielle Macdonald is nothing short of sensational in the title role, and surely we have not seen the last of her. I was shocked to see in the end titles that Nana was played by none other than Cathy Moriarty, who is completely unrecognizable. Last but certainly not least, there is a ton of great music throughout the film (the original songs are written or co-written by Geremy Jasper), and check out also the Bruce Springsteen tune "The Time That Never Was" (from the 2015 The River Outtakes collection).

"Petti Cake$" premiered at this year's Sundance film festival to immediate critical acclaim, and I've been eagerly waiting to see it. It finally was released most recently, and I happen to catch it during a recent family visit in Belgium. The Wednesday early evening screening where I saw this at in Antwerp, Belgium, was attended nicely, I am happy to say. If you are in the mood for an empowering and even uplifting movie that is MILES away from your standard Hollywood fare, I'd readily suggest you check this out, be it in the theater, on VOD, or eventually on DVD/Blu-ray.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

She's a fascinating modern girl: talented, ambitious, and heavy.

Author: jdesando from United States
29 August 2017

You don't have to like rap music or plus-sized women to like Geremy Jasper's gritty Patti Cake$. The story of working-class North Jersey girl Patti (Danielle Macdonald) working through the challenges of poverty, dead-end jobs, and family dysfunction to become a rapper is alternately clichéd, sentimental, and poignant.

If it weren't about rap, it would be about any other impoverished young woman pursuing her dream despite the daunting Newark world. Think 8 Mile and the ultimate working-class to riches, Rocky.

Her dogged pursuit is uplifting where another overweight young woman might fold hearing the regular shout-outs calling her "Dumbo." Where in Precious the audience might be aware of Precious's weight, here Patti's movement out of poverty is the major concern. In fact, she has been called "White Precious." Fortunately, she has boyfriends and male colleagues who believe in her talent and in some cases love her.

It's not that Patti is lovable because Jasper's script does not allow her to be sweet. It's just that she makes sacrifices for her dying grandma and washed-up singer mom while she also nurtures her band, PBnJ, to where they can have the minor break on a local stage they have longed for.

Special note for actress Danielle Macdonald: Amazingly you are not a Joiesy girl, you are from Australia; you are not a rapper, you are a fine actress who can believably rap with the best. For those of us who love classical music and mid-20thcentury folk, as I listen to the layers of culture in each rap song, I believe I could become a believer. Not enough songs, however, in this film.

I should not forget to praise the soundtrack from Bruce Springsteen to unknown hip hop—it is full of the joy Patti has for her poetry; we just need to give her a chance.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Macdonald is Utterly Believable and Amazing to Watch

8/10
Author: JoshuaDysart from United States
25 August 2017

When Sundance celebrates a film it's not a sign of innovation or creative courage or unique vision. It just means that a low budget film is as much a slave to clichés, poorly constructed tropes, and mechanical audience pleasing manipulation as a mainstream one. The only difference is that it's focused on underrepresented characters or subject matter. And that's good, that's important, of course. Yet, I most often use "Sundance Celebrated" as a derogatory term synonymous with a lack of creative courage. Films celebrated at Sundance seldom work for me.

PATTI CAKE$ is guilty of all those things.

And it completely worked for me. I dug this film immensely. Why? Mostly because I'm a sucker, I guess.

I'm a sucker for movies about people making music. I'm a sucker for movies about working class people trying to get by. I'm a sucker for movies about creativity and dreams and struggle. I'm a sucker for movies with energy and a sense of fantasy mixed with the hardships of the real world. But all of that can go horribly wrong. It's easy to earn an eye roll when two characters hold hands for the first time and the music swells. It's easy to lose patience when the mechanics of the script become so incredibly predictable that you can chart the struggles and victories in the first ten minutes.

Patti Cake$ is partly saved by director Geremy Jasper's amazing synergy of music and imagery. The film is an absolute blast to watch if you love movies about music. But what really sells it is actress Danielle Macdonald as Killer P, A.K.A Patti Cake$.

Macdonald is sick in this. Utterly amazing. I fully believed she was a New Jersey girl with strong flow who the director found in some parking lot and decided to build a film around. I was ecstatic to find she's an Australian actress who, before taking this role, had never heard a New Jersey accent and didn't know how to rap.

It's through her authenticity that I bought into the fantasy culmination of the perfectly orchestrated underdog struggle. Through her that I bought into the love and the joy and the hope.

And I walked out of the film happy and charged, finally content just to be an audience member pleased.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

A fun movie.

7/10
Author: subxerogravity from United States
31 August 2017

Somewhere in-between 8 Mile and this Swedish film called We Are the Best (Go find it if you have not herd of it.), Lies PattiCakes. About a girl trying to make it in this Hip Hop game, but it's a hard climb for a heavy set white girl from the burbs trying to make her dreams come true. A better cry for feminist power than anything Jenifer Lawrence could ever put out as we watched the ultimate underdog story. A common story with an uncommon protagonist at the center. It has all the elements of a good sports movie but the competition is rap. My favorite part in the movie was when she and her odd rap crew are getting her record done. The whole creating process of making an album was really cool. Couldn't tell you if the words she spit were fire, but it does not matter, it's still a great musical journey and worth seeing for all fans of not just hip hop, but music.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history