Genie Awards

Ontario, Canada


  • The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television is a national non-profit professional association dedicated to promoting, recognizing and celebrating exceptional achievements in the Canadian film and television industry. Created in 1979, and today unifying 4,000 industry professionals across Canada, the Academy is a vital and integral force representing all areas of the film and television industry. (from the academy's web site, 2001)
  • Since the first Genie Awards in 1980 the event has grown in prominence and stature to become one of the most prestigious cultural events in Canada. Each year the Genies bring together more than 1500 key film professionals, craftspeople and decision-makers from across Canada to honour, celebrate and promote the talent and accomplishments of the Canadian film industry for a televised gala which reaches over one million viewers. (from the academy's web site)
  • The Genie Award is the main national film award in Canada.
  • The Genie Award is the successor to the former Etrog Award.
  • No awards were given in 1998 due to the shift of the ceremony from the end of the year to spring in the next year.
  • The final Genie Awards ceremony, which celebrated films released during the 2011 calendar year, was held in March 2012.
  • In May 2012, the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television announced that the Genie and Gemini awards were being consolidated into one major event. Named the Canadian Screen Awards, the first ceremony was first presented in March, 2013.


Claude Jutra Award
  • The naming of this special award in memory of Claude Jutra was initiated by the Directors Guild of Canada in 1993, whose members had long wished to honor the memory and legacy of this pioneer filmmaker.


Golden Reel Award
  • The award was also given at the Canadian Film Awards from 1976-1978.

Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award

Outstanding Contributions to the Canadian Film Industry

Special Achievement Genie

Special Award

Special Board of Directors Award

Historical Timeline

  • The ceremony is broadcast live nation-wide for the first time.

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed