Academy Board Appoints Three New Governors-at-Large

The Academy is getting new blood. AMPAS has announced that three new members are joining its board of governors: DeVon Franklin (who hails from the executive branch), Rodrigo Garcia (directors), and Janet Yang (producers) are all slated to become governors-at-large. The board is comprised of 54 members. John Bailey, who’s served as president of the Academy since August 2017, appointed them, and the full board confirmed the new trio at their April meeting.

Franklin, Garcia, and Yang are succeeding Reginald Hudlin (directors branch), Gregory Nava (writers), and Jennifer Yuh Nelson (short films and feature animation), who were appointed the first governors-at-large by former AMPAS president Cheryl Boone Isaacs in March of 2016. The initiative was a result of two straight years of every acting nominee at the Oscars being white, prompting the #OscasSoWhite hashtag.

It’s also part of the Academy’s larger push for more inclusion, which has seen the august
See full article at Indiewire »

Similar News

Recently Viewed