Thank Your Lucky Stars (1943) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
37 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Discovering Eddie Cantor
drednm24 April 2005
Cantor was one of the biggest stars of his time. And this WW-II extravaganza showcases his comedy talents playing himself and a look-alike cab driver. Dennis Morgan and Joan Leslie are the lovers, Dinah Shore gets a big buildup but her songs are drippy and awful. Edward Everett Horton and S.Z. Sakall are fun as the guys running the Cavalcade that Cantor forces himself into. Humphrey Bogart does a limp cameo, and big Warners stars appear in a series of funny stage numbers. Bette Davis, Ann Sheridan, and Errol Flynn sing; Olivia de Havilland and Ida Lupino do a jive number; Hattie McDaniel sings in a Harlem number; Jack Carson and Alan Hale do an old-time Vaudeville number; Alexis Smith dances; Spike Jones does a novelty number; John Garfield sings on Cantor's radio show, etc. But aside from seeing these big stars, it's Eddie Cantor who makes this worthwhile. A HUGE stage, movie, and radio star, Cantor is wonderful lampooning himself (a la Bob Hope) and playing the nebbish cabbie (a la Woody Allen). While many of his Broadway contemporaries never quite made it in films (Sophie Tucker, Fannie Brice, George Jessell, Al Jolson, Marilyn Miller), Cantor's starring film career lasted almost 20 years, dating from the smash hit Whoopie! in 1930; his radio career lasted 30 years. Cantor is sadly forgotten now, but he was such a big star he won a special Oscar for his film work and his humanitarian efforts.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Winning the war through song and good humour
Varlaam7 January 1999
During the war years, the studios made quite a number of all-star, flag-waving extravaganzas -- "Star Spangled Rhythm", "This Is the Army", "Hollywood Canteen".

To me, "Thank Your Lucky Stars" is easily the best of the home-front morale-boosters. The connecting plot featuring Eddie Cantor and the ever-perky Joan Leslie is funny, while the cameo appearances by the first echelon at Warner Brothers are of uniform interest, with many of the stars playing completely unconventional parts. Both Errol Flynn and Bette Davis sing, and quite amusingly too.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thank Your Lucky Stars was a wonderful all-star musical comedy from Warner Bros.
tavm20 March 2010
This is the second of the "war musicals" I'm reviewing for the next few days, the first having been Something for the Boys. This was Warner Bros. initial contribution of an all-star extravaganza to the war effort. I mean, seeing non-singing stars like Errol Flynn and Bette Davis warble entertaining tunes and having fun doing them are special treats to watch even today. And seeing Humphrey Bogart get shouted down by S. Z. Sakall is hilarious. In fact, the screenplay by Melvin Frank and Norman Panama (both of whom were natives of my birthtown of Chicago, Ill.) provided non-stop laughs for most of the time especially when the plot was focused on Joan Leslie, Dennis Morgan, and especially on Eddie Cantor who plays both himself as an egotistical jerk and a down-on-his-luck actor-turned-bus driver named Joe. And Sakall and Edward Everett Horton make a wonderful team when they have to deal with Cantor. The songs, by Frank Loesser and Arthur Schwartz, are highly entertaining especially Davis' "They're Either Too Young or Too Old" and Cantor protégé Dinah Shore sings a couple of their ballads wonderfully. Also a treat was a performance by Spike Jones and the City Slickers doing their funny stylings on a classical piece. Okay, not everything clicked and the movie, at a little more than two hours, may have been a little long. But I was so entertained, I mostly didn't care. So of course, Thank Your Lucky Stars gets a high recommendation from me. P.S. I found out that three players from my favorite movie, It's a Wonderful Life, appeared though I only noticed one, Mary Treen as an Eddie Cantor fan who encounters Joe, while watching. Perhaps Frank Faylen, as a sailor, and Virginia Patton, as one of the girls in Ann Sheridan's number, didn't appear long enough for me to recognize them.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An All Star Man In the Iron Mask
bkoganbing26 May 2006
I am the world's biggest sucker for All Star Films and the genre was never better than during the World War II era, when all the major studios made at least one of them as a morale booster. They all involve getting the stars at the various studios to put on a show for the troops which they do, but with a few problems.

Producers of this show Edward Everett Horton and S.Z. Sakall would like to get Dinah Shore for their show. But she's under contract to Eddie Cantor. Today's moviegoers would not be aware of the fact that at the time Thank Your Lucky Stars was filmed, Dinah Shore was a regular on Eddie Cantor's radio show. And in fact he did have her under contract.

Cantor was also a man known to have a big ego and known for interfering with every aspect of production in film, stage, and radio. His character though in film was the meek little schnook who somehow triumphs over adversity.

Cantor may have had the ego, but he was also a big enough man to allow this public lampooning of his image. He plays two roles in this, as himself and as tour bus driver Joe Simpson who can't get a break because he looks like Eddie Cantor. In between all the musical numbers the plot is simply to have Cantor kidnapped and Joe Simpson to take his place so that Dennis Morgan can get some exposure. Of course there's a young love subplot involving hopefuls Morgan and Joan Leslie, but it doesn't interfere with a plot that's taken from The Man In the Iron Mask.

Arthur Schwartz and Frank Loesser wrote a nice score for this film and the big hit was a number talk/sung by Bette Davis, They're Either Too Young Or Too Old. This number was later done in the Jane Froman bio-film With A Song in My Heart with Susan Hayward lipsynching Jane Froman's record.

I also liked another number where a major Warner Brothers Star lampooned his image and had a jolly good time, singing That's What You Jolly Well Get. Errol Flynn was reported to have enjoyed himself immensely doing that very funny song.

Thank Your Lucky Stars is one of the most pleasant nostalgia trips to a bygone era of the studio system. You couldn't afford to pay all the stars in this film today if they were all free lance independent contractors today. It's why films like this can't be made again.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Morale boosting at it's best.
Scaramouche20048 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
World War Two was a time when the studios and it's stars, all bought war bond's, all 'backed the attack' and urged everyone else in the free world to do the same.

Paramount seemed to be the headliner in this sort of all-star musical fayre, with films such as Star Spangled Rhythm etc, but that is not to say the other studios didn't play their part either.

Thank Your Lucky Stars is Warner Bros' effort. A chance for Lieutenant Colonel Jack L.Warner, Head of the Studio and commander of the U.S.A.A.F 'S First Motion Picture Unit, to lift the roof from his studio and let the wealth of talent flood out.

Eddie Cantor shows off what a great sport he was, by playing two parts. He plays an overly 'hammed' up and unpopular version of himself, a role with so much substance and screen time that it seems to fill the entire picture. Indeed he gives so much to this role that I find it amazing that he had the time or the energy to portray his second role as Joe the one-time dramatic actor who's career was cut short by his likeness to Cantor, who, now long forgotten, eeks out a living as a tour bus driver in Hollywood.

Dennis Morgan and Joan Leslie are the two showbiz wannabes trying to break into the big time using Joes likeness to Cantor to land a radio spot for his voice and her song.

All of this rather uninspired action takes place however around a Cavalcade of Stars benefit for the war effort where several notable movie stars of the day, have pledged to appear.

So from here on in you can forget the rather scratchy, boring and predictable plot and just enjoy the cameos and musical numbers, by some of the Warner Brother's Elite.

The famous 'scene-stealer' Alan Hale and funny man Jack Carson do a wonderful vaudeville sketch. John Garfield thoroughly lampoons his gangster/tough guy image as he struggles his way delightfully though 'Blues in the Night.' And George Tobias, Ida Lupino and Olivia De Havilland (Yum Yum) play for laughs doing a Beebop number.

Dinar Shaw is given plenty of screen time to give us three lovely numbers, and even has time to grace us with a comic turn as she sparks off beautifully with Cantor.

However, the real high points of this movie are Bette Davies and Errol Flynn. Davies, in true Deitrich style, talks and groans through 'They're either too Young or too Old,' a song which became a huge hit thanks to her rendition in this picture. Her obvious lack of singing talent seemed not to matter as her true screen radiance seems to overshadow everything else. A classic number, wonderfully delivered.

Flynn in my opinion, is the best 'cameo' performance of the film. Sporting a large almost handle bar moustache he sings and dances through a comic number as a cockney man who's tales of daring do and bravado are only out sized by his apparent love of ale and is inability to pay for it. Each verse is a story of heroics which is obviously untrue, as he dances between the locals who are trying to kick him out....great! He seemed to perform his musical turn extremely well..a bit too well if you ask me. Maybe he should have made more musical appearances.

However some of the star turns fail quite badly..Ann Sheriden is pants but pretty, Humphrey Bogart is given so little chance that he might have well stayed at home in bed, and Hattie MacDaniel gives us a Harlem number which isn't too good to say the least. Hattie sings brilliantly but the material she has to deal with is awful.

Another interesting point is the politically correct nod to South America, who were still neutral but could have sided with the axis at the drop of a hat. 'Goodnight, Good Neighbour' sung by Dennis Morgan and danced superbly by the wonderful Alexis Smith, was political ass licking in musical form, an attempt to strengthen the bond between North and South and an attempt to influence their decision on who's side they should eventually fall if and when.

Still, if its Hollywood wartime nostalgia you want then watch Thank Your Lucky Stars. Hollywood Wartime nostalgia you'll get.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I thank my lucky stars that I saw this great, feel good film!
julianhwescott9 June 2001
Anyone who has a heart can find something they like about this great picture. During World War II, I imagine that people really needed their spirits lifted and they were by a lot of different things, in this case by Hollywood. This film is great fare even today if you like music and good singing, comedy, and even bad singing provided mostly by dramatic stars! There are quite a few laughs and the storyline is not bad; even tho a bit silly, this film provides a lot of pleasure. This film is about love and caring and sharing! Thanks to all the stars!
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A wonderful film...with plenty of stars and songs!!
steveareno29 March 2000
This is a great movie.Dinah Shore sings beautifully and Eddie Cantor is hilarious!Dennis Morgan and Joan Leslie are sweet together and sing "I'm riding for a fall" and "No You,No Me". Jack Carson and Alan Hale do a cute routine and Alexis Smith dances wonderfully.Bette Davis and Errol Flynn sing!Any person who likes star-filled movies with lots of songs and comedy should see this film!I recommend it!!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Bird's eye view of Warners Hollywood in the early 1940s
opsbooks3 March 2006
The unforgettable Eddie Cantor is the glue which holds this wartime extravaganza together. He was one of the few great singers who could double as a first rate comedian.

Other reviewers have pretty much covered all angles but for me the high point is the appearance of Spike Jones and his City Slickers, performing one of their hilarious numbers. Once you've experienced Spike, you just can't get enough of his unique style, if that's the right word.

Bogart's appearance is amusing while Miss Davis provides a memorable performance. None of the other Warners stars really stand out. For me, 'Starlift' is a better star vehicle, though it would come almost a decade later.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
All-star wartime film is breezy fun thanks to Eddie Cantor's antics...
Doylenf15 April 2001
Before I comment on the film, I just have to say that Dinah Shore's songs in this film are as bad as the "bad" song Joan Leslie is supposed to have written. I think she called it "Moondust" or some such thing.

While the stars occasionally shine in this Warner Bros. musical tribute, it's Eddie Cantor who deserves the most praise for providing most of the laughs. Cantor's dual role as a taxicab driver and an Eddie Cantor lookalike gives him some hilarious moments as he helps Joan Leslie and Dennis Morgan crash the studio gates with his Cantor impersonation. The Warner stock company (including S.Z. Sakall, Edward Everett Horton and many others) is on hand in supporting roles while the stars are given some amusing skits to appear in.

Errol Flynn is amusing in a cockney song-and-dance routine in a pub, Bette Davis talk-sings her way through 'They're Either Too Young Or Too Old', Ida Lupino and Olivia de Havilland do a jive number, mugging outrageously while chewing gum and mouthing words to a song called 'The Dreamer', Dinah Shore warbles an undistinguished song or two, Alexis Smith dances with style and grace, Ann Sheridan does a rather tiresome song number and Jack Carson and Alan Hale struggle through a less than witty routine that defeats both of them.

Humphrey Bogart, John Garfield (obviously tone deaf when he renders "Blues in the Night") and Sydney Greenstreet make fleeting appearances. Hattie McDaniel appears in an unusual novelty number. As one reviewer pointed out, "It's more like amateur night at the studio." But thanks to Cantor, the perky charm of Joan Leslie despite some awful songs and the appealing Dennis Morgan, it all comes together--silly, but lots of fun. Must have been a big hit with the servicemen during the war years, but just don't expect Grade A entertainment.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Fun For the Stars
Michael_Elliott7 January 2010
Thank Your Lucky Stars (1943)

*** (out of 4)

Pretty much plot-less "musical" doesn't need a plot when you have guests stars that include Humphrey Bogart, Bette Davis, John Garfield, Errol Flynn, Olivia de Havilland, Jack Carson, Dinah Shore, Ann Sheridan, Dennis Morgan, Ida Lupino and many, many more. What plot the film does have centers around a benefit show where a couple new to Hollywood tries to get on to make a name for themselves. We also have Eddie Cantor playing not only himself but the role of another man trying to break into the business. If you want any type of story then you're going to be disappointed but if you come to a film like this wanting a story then I'm not sure what to tell you. One must remember that the country was at war when this was made and in the end the studio just wanted to deliver something fun and that's what they did. With so many great A-list stars you can't help but have fun even when they're either making fun of themselves or making a fool out of themselves by singing. Flynn and Davis are really bad to listen to but at least they both are having fun with it. Bogart has a funny bit as the "tough guy" who gets pushed around by a nobody. Bogart's reply to this is priceless. Garfield is also quite good as he's the first one to appear in the film and he gets it off to a great pace. Character actor Richard Lane also appears as a character and does fine work as does the rest of the supporting cast. Cantor really seems to be having a blast with some great songs as well as making fun of himself as a boob throughout. All in all, this is a very entertaining movie even if the 127-minute running time goes on a bit too long but there's no way to deny the charm of seeing all these stars in one film.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I often don't like most musicals but I liked this one quite a bit.
MartinHafer20 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was like an amateur musical review combined with a movie about how the review was being organized. There are two main reasons I really liked the film:

First, it didn't take itself too seriously and Eddie Cantor was fantastic. Not only were his songs fun, but his self-deprecation was greatly appreciated. Throughout the movie he played two guys--himself and a guy who just happens to look like him. As himself, he was shown as a fat-headed and very insecure boob! He really played this up to the hilt! The other guy, though interesting, wasn't quite as funny a character. However, at the very end of the film, the "real" Cantor was taken to the Mental Hospital (presumably for good) and the "fake" one assumed the other's life!

Second, although some of the song and dance numbers were marred by the fact some of the Warner Brothers celebrities sing like cats in heat (especially John Garfield, though George Tobias wasn't much better), others were fun and made the most of the stars' limited abilities (Errol Flynn and especially Bette Davis, who I know sang HORRIBLY since I have a recording of her screeching on Broadway--oh, the pain). Plus, a few even did excellent jobs, such as Alexis Smith and Ann Sheridan. I can't count Dennis Morgan, Eddie Cantor or Dinah Shore because they were well-known for their singing.

So, in conclusion, I am not a big fan of musicals and I hate most studio review films. However, this one was good because it was light-hearted and fun.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
We May Not Be Polished, but We Are Enthusiastic
dougdoepke16 July 2010
There's enough bounce and energy in this Warner's showcase to light up a whole city. What great light entertainment for the boys overseas and folks on the homefront (after all, it's 1943). Eddie Cantor really comes through with the plot spark, racing around like the Energizer bunny, and playing dual roles (did they pay him double). Then there's handsome Dennis Morgan and all-American Joan Leslie making an attractive pair to hang the romantic hat on. And get a load of Bogart dropping his tough guy act if for just a moment, plus an off-key Garfield warbling, of all things.

No, the music is nothing to write home about, but the performers are an enthusiastic bunch, so who cares. There's drama queens Lupino and de Haviland as jive-talking hepcats (note they only dance "in place"), and, of course, Warner's reigning drama queen Bette Davis doing something or other in her inimitable style. But I especially like the Hattie McDaniel free-for-all that really does light up the screen. Apparently, however, someone decided to slow things down with Ann Sheridan's static number where the girls sit around like prom princesses. But at least we boys get to ogle them.

Too bad this rouser wasn't sent to Hitler and Tojo. They would have tossed in the towel immediately. Because it's obvious that no country with this kind of energy and dynamism could possibly lose a war. And, yes, it's still great unpolished entertainment, with what looks like a lot of people having a lot of fun.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Your favorite WB stars go vaudeville!
jimjo121615 September 2011
See all of your favorite 1940s Warner Bros. stars as you've never seen them before!

This star-studded WWII morale-booster is not unlike similar star-studded WWII morale-boosters put out by other studios, featuring the big names in brief cameos sprinkled throughout a thin "let's put on a benefit" plot. Here the WB stars perform little vaudeville sketches, singing and dancing, as part of a charity show. And we're talking some big names here: Bette Davis, Errol Flynn, Olivia de Havilland, John Garfield, Ida Lupino, Ann Sheridan, Jack Carson, etc.

The real star, however, is Eddie Cantor. Much of the movie is about how annoying and overbearing Cantor is, with Cantor in a dual role as both a parody of himself and his resentful look-alike. In an exhibit of good-humored self-deprecation, Cantor allows his name to be dragged through the mud by critics of his corny jokes and swollen ego (his alternate character among them). As one character or the other Cantor moves the screwy plot along.

This movie is simply a star-studded, feel-good musical. And it is a lot of fun. The stars who really shine in this are John Garfield, Bette Davis, and Cantor. Dinah Shore is featured prominently in her first screen appearance and we even get to see Spike Jones and His City Slickers in action. Errol Flynn has a nice number and Alexis Smith shows off her dancing background. S.Z. Sakall is hilarious as always and the young romantic couple (Joan Leslie and Dennis Morgan) make sure to plug recent WB successes. (Leslie lets go with impressions of Lupino and James Cagney.)

It's interesting, in the scene where Olivia de Havilland and Ida Lupino dance on either side of George Tobias (in a slightly awkward jive routine), to note the contrast in the actresses' performances. Both de Havilland and Lupino are in the frame, basically playing clones of each other. But it seems like de Havilland just put so much more into her performance, particularly with her facial expressions.

It's a treat to see all of these stars in one movie and it's a treat to see them do something fun and different. The songs won't always blow you away, but they're pleasant enough. The finale is a medley of all the songs we've heard, with the welcome return of the stars we've seen. It's a fitting cap to the viewer's journey, and should leave everyone in a good mood. I think I liked the music more after hearing it all reprised in the finale.

Top-billed Humphrey Bogart has about a minute of screen time and, though he leaves an impression, he doesn't do any singing or dancing.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thank Your Lucky Stars That We Had Them All ***
edwagreen12 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The plot with Eddie Cantor assuming 2 roles, one as himself, a tyrannical theatrical person and the other as a look-alike who drives a tour bus. The latter can't break into show business because of his alikeness to Cantor.

The plot itself is a very silly one with the Cantor look-alike meeting up with aspiring entertainers Dennis Morgan and Joan Leslie. They concoct a plan to take over the project that Cantor is planning for a benefit for soldiers.

What makes the film good is the performances by so many of the stars of yesteryear who for this film, divorce themselves of their dramatic presence, and sing and dance.

I didn't know that Alexis Smith could dance up a storm. While Errol Flynn didn't have a great voice, he carries it well. Even John Garfield gets through the singing bit. Hattie McDaniel is wonderful in her rendition of Cold Hearted Katie, and the great Bette Davis just shines by singing and dancing to They're Either too Young or too Old.

Thank Your Lucky Stars was a film in tribute to our service people.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
An uneven film
richard-178716 January 2009
Tnis is at best a very uneven film, with very misleading billing. Humphrey Bogart, who gets first billing, appears for about 3 minutes in a very forgettable and poorly done cameo. (No, he doesn't try to sing.) Olivia de Havilland and Ida Lupino appear together in a rather mediocre dance number. Bette Davis, though she can't sing, puts in a great appearance singing "They're either too young or too old," and Errol Flynn does a remarkably good job with his song and dance number. Alexis Smith looks very elegant and graceful in her dance number, though it is true that she is lifted through the air by various male dance partners as much as she actually dances herself, which helps. Still, she looks very beautiful for her 3 minutes of screen time. Ann Sheridan looks good in her song too, but it is so mediocre that there's not much she can do with it, and since she doesn't get to do any glamorous dancing, the number is forgettable.. The same applies to Jack Carson and Alan Hale, both very talented actors, who get saddled with a truly dead song and dance duo.

In fact, the weakest element in this movie is the music, which is almost all forgettable.

These various cameo appearances are fitted into a frame: Dennis Morgan is trying to break into show biz as a singer, while EE Horton and SZ Sakall, who are way down on the billing, are trying to put on a charity variety show. The three of them, plus Eddie Cantor, who plays himself and is very funny doing so, are the actual stars of this movie, though you would never guess it from the billing. All four are good.

There are other forgettable musical numbers, including several with Dinah Shore, who comes off as having no personality, a rousing if forgettable number for Black singers and dancers in which Hattie McDaniel holds up her own, and a monologue of sorts with John Garfield that's not half bad, but only because he's a good actor.

In short, a largely mediocre effort. If you like any of the stars who do the cameos, you will want to see them do their 3-5 minute bits. If you're looking for 2 hours of entertainment - this movie runs just over 2 hours - you won't find it here, though.

-----------------------------------

I've just watched it again two years later. Perhaps I'm in a more charitable mood, but this time I got more pleasure out of it. It really only works if you know the work of the various actors who appear, as most of them either play against type - like Errol Flynn or his frequent side-kick, Alan Hale - or satirize themselves, like John Garfield, who is really very good playing a highly exaggerated version of his usual tough guy. Ann Sheridan is a knockout in her number, thanks to her dress and the way she moves; you really don't notice that she wasn't a great singer. That's the case for most of these cameo performances: they're done by often very fine actors who didn't normally sing and dance on screen. Most seem to be having a good time doing something they didn't usually get to do, and none of them embarrass themselves. Bette Davis definitely couldn't sing, but she brings off her number through sheer personality. The same goes for many of the others.

If you don't know the classic Warner Brothers movies of the 30s and early 40s, this won't hold you. If you know how these stars normally appeared, you may get a kick out of seeing them do something very different, or making fun of what they normally did.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
How Thick the Corn, How High the Ham
atlasmb9 June 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Thank Your Lucky Stars starts with two producers trying to get Dinah Shore to appear in their all star benefit. When one producer (Dr. Schlenna played by SA.Z. Sakall) says in his thick German accent he wants Dinah Shore, I think he says dinosaur. Speaking of dinosaurs, Eddie Cantor plays a caricature of himself and also plays a poor schlep who wants to break into show biz, but is thwarted because he looks like Eddie Cantor (what?).

Shot during the shortages of WWII, you might think there's a talent shortage, but this film has plenty of talent. Unfortunately, it's used in hammy, half-baked scenes and performances. Just when I thought I couldn't take any more of this 2nd class collection of scenery-chewing and bad lyrics, I started enjoying the show. Yes, I said it. It surprised me, too. The movie is pure corn and I was eating it up. This collection of resurrected vaudeville zingers and minstrel show prancing somehow wormed its way into my heart. Maybe it's the puerile pratfalls or the gee-whiz dialogue or the one-joke skits or the Humphrey Bogart look alike... Hey wait, can that be the real Bogie? Don't fight it. Embrace the film. Get on to enjoying this diversion from the realities of war in 1943.

Dennis Morgan and Joan Leslie play the two romantic leads.

Most of the soundtrack is by by Schwartz and Loesser, but these are some of Loesser's lesser efforts, often sung by B-grade singers. Still, the novelty of seeing Bette Davis singing, for example, is engaging.

By the time we get to the actual Cavalcade of Stars, we have an opportunity to see some bona fide stars in some interesting musical numbers.

Note the great pas de trois. Great dancing.

And my favorite part of the movie: the jive performance of "The Dreamer" by Ida Lupino, Olivia De Havilland and George Tobias. What gum-smacking fun!

There are real rewards if you stick with this film.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thank Your Lucky Stars, like I thank mine.
dizozza16 July 2010
I'm seeing now that The Warner Brothers mobilized their cavalcade of stars behind their 1944 wartime musical effort, Hollywood Canteen, and that it was because John Garfield originated the idea of importing to the West Coast New York's Stage Door Canteen. Thus Hollywood Canteen exists as more of a documentary, and has more integrity. Here, a year before, with Thank Your Lucky Stars, which I remember as a Frank Loesser musical, the Warners Ensemble of hardboiled urbanites, reacting to MGM's musical cavalcades, transformed themselves into lighthearted singers, and it plays like the first time for them. Warner Brothers already had their Busby Berkley musicals of the thirties, and Yankee Doodle Dandy, but in general, they produced such symphonically scored anti-musicals, that this foray into pop songs is particularly riotous. The impression here is that most of the actors have no business going near a musical, making them that much more beautiful (and vulnerable) when they do. Of course Ida Lupino comes first to mind. She seems especially humourless in her other nearby appearances (The Sea Wolf, The Hard Way). John Gafield, Betty Davis, and Errol Flynn, too, are enthusiastic. So though I haven't seen this movie in many years and when I did it was on good old network television... I recommend it. Thanks to this database and its "fun stuff" I see now that the songs are mostly by Arthur Schwartz with lyrics by Frank Loesser, doing their best to help "keep your love life as sweet as candy bars."
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I'm a newly-minted Eddie Cantor fan
irishm22 February 2017
I happened upon this by accident: it was one of four WWII-era musicals in a set that my WWII-era dad has, and he offered to let me borrow them. The other three were okay, but this one I really latched onto. (Ironically, it was my dad's least favorite of the four pictures.) I had heard the name of Eddie Cantor before, and I'd seen his caricature once or twice in Warner Brothers cartoons, but really had no idea who he was or what his area of showbiz was. I'm glad I finally found out! I thought this film was a riot from start to finish. If it has a weak spot, I'd have to say there's too much Dinah Shore… she sings several painfully slow ballads, and they tend to gum up the pace of what is otherwise a lively comedy. The other musical numbers are very catchy, amusing, and fit the pace much better (special mention to the Alan Hale/Jack Carson number, and also Errol Flynn's… and, naturally, Spike Jones has never been guilty of slowing down the pace of anything!). Days later, I'm still humming "Now's the Time to Fall in Love".

The young couple is appealing enough in the romantic subplot, and the various stars putting in cameo appearances are excellent, but the real show here is Cantor. He plays a dual role, a wanna-be-actor and "himself", although "himself" is stretching it a bit, since negative qualities are exaggerated for the sake of humor. The dialogue is witty and brisk, the insult humor is spot-on, and the wacky physical comedy involving a pack of stray dogs, Indians from Central Casting, maple syrup, and anything else they can think of to throw in clicks along with precision and has the desired effect. In short, it's a fun, funny movie.

Additionally, Edward Everett Horton and S.Z. Sakall are both hilarious in strong supporting roles.

I liked this enough to invest in another Cantor film on DVD, "Roman Scandals", and I can't wait to see it. I may have quite a Cantor collection very soon!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
'That popeyed baboon' heads an entertaining cast of many Warner stars and character actors, providing intertwined music and comedy.
weezeralfalfa13 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
What? No plot? Sure it has a plot, mostly involving star Eddie Cantor in his dual roles as himself and Joe: the ex-Broadway acting city bus driver, the Dennis Morgan-Joan Leslie romantic duo, and the 'Cuddles' Sakal-Edward Everett Horton show producing duo. Very strangely, the last two aren't even included in the major players list at this site, whereas Bogart, who had one short minor scene with Sakal, is at the top of the list!!

The film begins with Dinah Shore singing the title song, composed by the team of Frank Loesser and Arthur Schwartz, who composed the numerous additional novel songs. This was Dinah's first film role, she being cast as the primary female singer, with virtually no role in the dramatic scenes. No doubt , she achieved this status thanks to Cantor, who often included her on his radio shows in the early 40s, being groomed by Cantor to become a significant singing star. She has 2 additional songs, well separated from each other. She comes across much better than in the rather similar type of film "'Til the Clouds Roll By", perhaps because of the influence of Cantor. She is followed by a comedy routine by John Garfield and Cantor, in which Garfield attempts to sing(not very successfully) Dinah's recent hit "Blues in the Night" Actually, this routine is rather good, with Garfield playing a tough guy gangster, with Cantor his periodic victim.

Next, we have Spike Jones and his inimical cutup band, initially alone, then backing up the primary male singer Dennis Morgan, who is nearly always in the company of girlfriend spunky Joan Leslie. ....After Cantor does a typical Cantor song : "We're Staying Home", relating to the war, Alan Hale and Jack Carson do a vaudevillian song/dance/ comedy routine to "Way up North", rather reminding me of the Bing Crosby/Bob Hope team in "Road to Utopia", filmed that same year, but not released for several years.

Between bits of drama is the "Love Isn't Born, It's Made" number, featuring Anne Sheridan, surrounded by a female chorus group who look to be at a slumber party. Anne's sophisticated singing style is quite different from Dinah's. The last time I saw her in a film, she was chasing Frank Sinatra, as 'the other woman', in the musical "Step Lively".

After additional songs by Morgan, and by Dinah, we have an all African American production, centered around the song "Ice Cold Katie, Why Don't You Marry the Soldier". Hattie McDaniel starts off the singing, but various others dominate the singing at times, in a crowded street scene, in which another actress plays Katie, and is encouraged to marry a scared -looking soldier(Willie Best), who doesn't say or sing anything. Charismatic AA actor Jesse Lee Brooks is the tall robust justice of the peace, who dominates the dialogue and singing at times. He previously played the preacher in the well-remembered AA church scene, in "Sullivan's Travels", and would die the year following the present film. This was certainly one of the highlights of the film. Warner's flag-waving revue of the previous year: This is the Army", had also featured one all AA musical-comedy production.

The musical production featuring Errol Flynn I didn't think much of. Not Flynn's fault. This was followed by Betty Davis's performance of "They're either too old or too Young", in which she laments that all the potential appropriate men for her are overseas in the armed forces. This was much more focused than Flynn's number, and Betty was quite good.

The last original musical production was meant to contribute to FDR's 'good neighbor policy' to try to keep Latin American countries from siding with the European fascists. Morgan serenades a Latin senorita with "Good Neighbor, Good Night" . Interspersed between his singing bouts, Alexis Smith, with several male dancers, entertain with a romantic dance. Alexis would become Flynn's most frequent romantic lead in his 40s films, after he said goodbye to Olivia de Havilland, who had a small dancing part in this show, with Ida Lupino. Alexis would be featured as Cole Porter's wife in the tribute to Porter's music : "Night and Day".

The last of the film deals with Cantor's problem that his look-alike, Joe, has taken over his identity as a showman and stage producer, and he is in a mental hospital, slated for a lobotomy. The finale consists of brief reprises of the major musical productions, some with rather elaborate sets. Then, orchestra conductor Sakal is spooked when he sees that all his players have Cantor faces, some with fiendish grins, after Cantor has been whisked off for a lobotomy. Not clear if this is supposed to indicate that Joe has suddenly become more dominating than the obnoxiously dominating real Cantor, whom Sakal helped get rid of.

Of the 3 Warner films released in '43-44 in the current Warner Homefront DVD set, this is clearly the most entertaining, overall. In part, this is because of the pervading presence of Cantor and Sakal. But, it's also because it's the least saturated with flag-waving and enlistment promotional innuendos, and has the most semblance of a fairly entertaining story to go along with the many musical and comedy productions.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"According to his pulse, he's been dead for 43 weeks."
utgard1420 May 2014
Thin plot but nice songs and an assortment of WB stars make for an imperfect but enjoyable musical comedy. Acquired taste Eddie Cantor plays two roles so grit your teeth for that. He's very corny and vaudevillian. I'm not typically a fan of his but this is one of his more tolerable movies. In addition to regular singers Dinah Shore, Dennis Morgan, and Ann Sheridan, there are rare musical numbers by Bette Davis, Errol Flynn, John Garfield, and Ida Lupino. Garfield can't sing to save his life but the others are good. Aside from these, my favorite number in the movie is probably the all-black "Ice Cold Katie" number with Hattie McDaniel. Also an amusing non-musical cameo from Humphrey Bogart. Despite its flaws and overlength, it's hard to dislike. An enjoyable bit of fluff that will especially please fans of classic movie stars.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A wonderful all-star review
budicca18 October 2013
I wish I had seen it earlier. Growing up in the 70s in the San Francisco area, even with cable TV from about 1973, films from before the 60s just weren't shown that often. My exposure to oldies was mostly the Our Gang and Three Stooges shorts, and Shirley Temple films. Saturday afternoons were the only time I remember when an older movie might be shown, and even when very young, I loved movies. Unfortunately, while Dad liked movies, he loved sports, and any movie I might begin to watch on our 19 inch color TV in the living room on a Saturday afternoon, was soon switched to some ballgame when Dad came in the room, with his usual, "You don't watch black and white shows on a color TV!" Of course, if the movie was in color, it too was switched to sports, and "You've watched enough TV for the day," was a common saying heard as the music changed to an announcer's play-by-play.

The only other time older movies were broadcast, was on Creature Features, which Dad often watched, with me hiding behind his chair peeking out at the Wolfman or another Universal monster, refusing to go to bed before the end.

Recently I have watched many older films, and happily Thank Your Lucky Stars was broadcast when I happened upon it. So many stars, singing, dancing, comedy bits, and even a plot. I was especially wowed by the musical number Ice Cold Katy. Pure entertainment.

Alexis Smith dancing was so mesmerizing. I didn't recognize her or her name, and find it a wonder she isn't more well known. I just had to look her up on IMDb, and hope to soon see more of her movies.

This may be the best film variety show I've seen, and I want to see others because of how it made me happy. I give this an 8, because of its entertainment value, and feel it is an 8 variety show. It does not compare to a drama with this high a rating, or a comedy. Within its genre, though, it is wonderful.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
High Class Talent Show.
Richard_vmt1 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This is a Cavalcade of Stars ( the storyline production of which is the pretext for the show) an inside look at showbiz. which is all great. With Bogart and Garfield doing extemporaneous drama, it is every bit like a TV variety show. The effect is very modern and the talent all top notch. Edie Cantor, even after familiarity during the Fifties seems bizarre as ever. Cantor dances like a magician and/or juggler. When he starts clapping and dancing like a seal, it is really all him. Quite a display. And it could be said to be pretty much the Edie Cantor Show. The songs in this particular flick hold up really well. It is still entertaining and it is history as well.

This film is a great little entertainer and carries you along all the way to The End in first class spirits. The War plays almost no part in the story.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Warner Stars on the Loose!
dougandwin22 July 2004
Clearly made for morale purposes during the war, this excuse to show off the Warner Brothers stars is a lot of fun, but there are some really low spots too! Let's get those out of the way first - the Alan Hale & Jack Carson number just did not work at all, while the Ann Sheridan number "Love isn't Born, it's Made" was a bummer. While Bette Davis talked her way through her number, it was fun: Errol Flynn was an eye-opener: Olivia de Havilland/Ida Lupino were good but Humphrey Bogart should have been in it instead of George Tobias: Hattie McDaniel's number was a nice switch for her also. Dennis Morgan/Eddie Cantor/Joan Leslie as the links in the story were adequate, but it really took S.Z. Zakall and Edward Everett Horton to hold it together.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This One Was Fun!
journeygal9 August 2019
This is not a Bette Davis movie, but an Eddie Cantor movie. She's only in it for a hot minute, but boy does she do it justice! I saw a documentary once that said she did not like to sing but she does in this movie and does it justice. The young guy she dances with is overenthusiastic and almost injured her. But when Bette set her mind to do something, she did it. This was a huge production, probably 300 people in the cast alone and many were high ticket names like Bette, Olivia DeHaviland, James Cagney, Errol Flynn and more. It's an extravaganza with an actual story woven into it. Eddie Cantor plays himself and a normal guy named Joe Simmons. Two producers want to put this show on, and they want Dinah Shore in it, but the only way to do so is by Cantor's okay. Of course, there's a case of mistaken identity, a slapstick hospital scene and all sorts of goofy schtick...but it was pretty darn good. I LOVED the number about a soldier on leave trying to get his hifalutin' girlfriend to marry him before he ships off. "Ice Cold Katie" was sung by Hattie McDaniels and she was awesome. It is quite a romp--first you'll see a song and dance number, the next scene is Eddie Cantor trying to convince everyone he is who he says he is. There's a laugh-out-loud moment when he's trying to do just that and tells Dinah Shore that if she lets them know that he is indeed Cantor, he'll double her salary. Her quick response is, "I don't know who you are, but if you'll double my salary, you're certainly not Cantor!" Some of the numbers ran long but despite it basically being a cavalcade of stars it actually has a plot line and in places it was really funny.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Lively wartime review with fun star turns and a madcap Cantor at the center
bbmtwist8 July 2019
Thank Your Lucky Stars (1943)

Of all the studio "canteen" films, I consider this Warner Bros. effort the best. For two reasons: not a GI or a sappy love story of a gob on leave in sight; and having stars perform against type. Where else could you see: tough guy Bogart cowering from the wrath of Cuddles Sakall; dramatic actresses Olivia de Havilland and Ida Lupino as gum-chewing, finger-snapping jive singers and dancers; Bette Davis gracing us with an Oscar-nominated song; and a most debonair Errol Flynn totally at home as a song and dance man with an Irish pub song?

The central plot with Eddie Cantor in a dual role - as himself and as a look-alike actor-want-to-be bus driver- in loggerheads with show producers Edward Everett Horton and Sakall is a comedy gem. Cantor's humility here in playing himself as an ego-driven, self-absorbed, control freak may have been partly true, but he pulls it off with great aplomb. Dennis Morgan and a lively Joan Leslie provide the romantic leads. In addition to the stars named above, there are other specialty numbers featuring: Alan Hale, Jack Carson, Hattie McDaniel, Ann Sheridan, Spike Jones, John Garfield, and Alexis Smith. Getting the most of star screen time is Dinah Shore with three numbers.

It's all jolly fun, and moves along quickly, despite its 2 hour, 7 minute length. Worth catching. The dvd print is impeccably pure, crisp and bright.

Musical Numbers in order of Presentation:

1. Thank Your Lucky Stars (Dinah Shore); 2. Blues In The Night (John Garfield); 3. Now's The Time To Fall In Love (Eddie Cantor); 4. Hotcha Cornia (Spike Jones). 5. I'm Riding For A Fall (Dennis Morgan); 6. We're Staying Home Tonight (Eddie Cantor); 7. Way Up North (Jack Carson, Alan Hale); 8. Love Isn't Born, It's Made (Ann Sheridan); 9. No You, No Me (Dennis Morgan and Joan Leslie); 10. The Dreamer (Dinah Shore); 11. Ice Cold Katy (Hattie McDaniel and Willie Best); 12. How Sweet You Are (Dinah Shore); 13. That's What You Jolly Well Get (Errol Flynn); 14. They're Either Too Young Or Too Old (Bette Davis); 15. The Dreamer (Olivia de Havilland, Ida Lupino, George Tobias); 16. Good Night, Good Neighbor (Dennis Morgan, danced by Alexis Smith); We're Staying Home Tonight (Eddie Cantor); Finale Medley: How Sweet You Are, Way Up North, The Dreamer, I'm Riding For A Fall, Love Isn't Born, It's Made, Good Night, Good Neighbor, They're Either Too Young Or Too Old; Thank Your Lucky Stars.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed