Marty (1955) Poster

(1955)

User Reviews

Review this title
152 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Proof That a Picture Doesn't Need SPFX - It needs great Actors
StarCastle993 June 2002
Okay, so I'm in the Business. I don't believe this movie could get made today except as an art house film. Its beauty lies in its simplicity. Starting with a terrific script by Chayefskey (arguably one of the five best playrights of the 20th century), this movie eschews every that's big about motion pictures for a story about Everman who didn't have a date on Saturday night. Rod Steiger first performed the role on television. It won a number of Emmys. "Opened up" for the silver screen, it retains the intimacy of its characters. Ernest Borgnine has probably been in 100 movies, but this was his shining moment. He breathes live into the hapless Bronx Butcher whose soul longs for love. When he gives his "I'm gonna get down on my knees..." speech, the tears begin to flow. Why? Because in our heart of hearts, each of us feels the need for love and self validation. Marty doesn't need special effects or action sequences. Marty is in a class by itself. Had it never been made we would have all missed an opportunity to look inside ourselves. Maybe in this day and age, with all our CGI and Virtual Reality, we need another Marty, to remind us who we really are.

10/10
95 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
the most honest characters I've ever seen....
tripper08 October 2001
'Marty' is a movie that can be summed up simply in three words. It's very honest. Ernest Borgnine and Betsy Blair play the two main characters, Marty and Clara. The bulk of the movie takes place over one night, the night Marty and Clara meet. Everything is really that simple. The thing that is great is that neither of the characters is anything but human. They are flawed, they are insecure, and they are awkward around each other and don't know how to act in certain situations. The chemistry between Blair and Borgnine is absolutely beautiful. They give us a relationship that is real. There are moments in the movie, that I won't give away, that are almost hard to watch and its hard not to feel sympathy. At the same time, its hard not to relate to the characters on some level. They are human, they are flawed, and its beautiful to watch, yet sad at the same time. I was surprised by the charm of the movie and I recommend it to anyone. 8.5 out of 10.
53 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Simple, Beautiful and Touching Love Story With Magnificent Performance of the Cast and Sensitive Direction
claudio_carvalho1 August 2004
Marty Piletti (Ernest Borgnine) is a lonely, insecure and honest thirty-four years old good man, living with his Italian mother, Mrs. Theresa Piletti (Esther Minciotti), and working as a butcher. Angie (Joe Mantell) is his best friend, a very shallow person, and his company to the bars and ballrooms in the evenings, since the ugly and fat Marty is rejected by the girls. His Italian family and friends put pressure on him to get married, but Marty has no girlfriend and lots of difficulties to get close to women. One Saturday night, Marty meets Clara Snyder (Betsy Blair), a twenty-nine single, ugly (obs: `dog', in accordance with the description of Marty's friends in the story, but indeed Betsy Blair was a charming woman, having beautiful eyes and lovely smile and voice) and rejected woman, in a ballroom. Betsy is a teacher in Brooklyn with college degree, and like Marty, is very insecure and has the feeling of rejection by men. They feel attracted by each other and spend a wonderful night together. On the next day, before and after the Sunday Mass, Marty's relatives and friends make jokes with the lack of beauty in Clara. The marvelous open end of the story, uncommon in American movies, is one of the best I have ever seen. This movie is a simple, beautiful and touching love story with magnificent performances of the cast and a sensitive direction. The story and slangs (dog, tomatoes etc.) are dated in 2004, but does not jeopardize the beauty of this delightful romance. `Marty' is the only Best Picture winner (awarded in Picture, Director, Actor and Screenplay and nominated for Supporting Actor, Supporting Actress, Art-Direction and Cinematography) to also win at the Cannes Film Festival. My vote is nine.

Title (Brazil): `Marty'
108 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of my all-time favorites
MovieMan028324 April 2003
I think of this is a great rainy afternoon movie. You're flipping through the channels on one of those great lazy Saturdays...it's summer but it's raining outdoors and you're stuck inside. You come across a classic movie channel (AMC, TCM--take your pick) and pause. What's this? Ernest Borgnine? You always like him, why not stop for a moment and watch. It looks like it's just beginning. "Marty"? Yeah, you've heard of it, vaguely. Won the Oscar or something, but it's been kind of forgotten. So you start watching and before long you're totally enchanted, completely charmed, by the simple story and realistic characters. Who can't sympathize with Borgnine's sensitive butcher, hanging out with his Italian friends and their goofy conversations about Mickey Spillane, all the while pining away with his heart of gold for a girl that his buddies call a "dog"? The conversations have the kind of natural humor and warmth that remind you of the old days hanging out with your pals. As you watch the movie, you find yourself enthralled and you never change the channel, watching it till the end, realizing that you've seen this plot riffed on and spoofed on various TV shows, films, and cartoons over the years. When the movie's done, you're really excited--this is one of those films you discovered on your own and nothing can beat that thrill. Now, this isn't the way I saw "Marty"--I rented it and now own it on DVD--but it's the spirit I get from it. I love the conversation between Marty and his best friend, its street poetry that's entertaining without being false, in the diner as their Friday night lays out ahead of them. I love Marty and Clara's walk, their honesty and his enthusiasm; you worry is he going to far, being too gregarious for the shy Clara? Will it work? I love the preparations for Sunday Mass, the fight between the married couple, and Marty agonizing over standing up his girl while his friends have an amusingly banal and silly conversation in which they keep repeating themselves. It's really just a charming and wonderful film, joyful even in its sad moments. If you don't enjoy it, what can I say, but my recommendation comes completely honest and from the heart. This is one of those personal favorites that also happens to be an underrated classic--but just underrated enough so that the joy of discovering it on a rainy Saturday afternoon remains undiluted.
139 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Lovable, joyous movie
NoArrow27 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Rarely does a scene come along in a movie that's so powerful, affective, and ultimately satisfying as the scene at the end of `Marty' when the title character stands up to his shallow friends. Ernest Borgnine plays Marty, in a performance that's so heartwarming, kind and earnest it would take a very cold man not to love him. Marty is an honest butcher, who, at thirty-four years old, has been turned very insecure by the years of being turned away by women because of his looks and nervous manner.

The film spans over two days in Marty's life, starting in the morning of the first day and ending at night in the second. Marty lives timidly but happily as a single butcher, with shallow, sex crazy friends and a mother at home who acts as peacemaker in family battles. The mother (Esther Minciotti) also nags Marty to find a gal and get married, but Marty argues, `Whatever it is woman want, I don't got.'

Eventually she persuades (or forces) Marty to go to a dance ball and find a woman. Marty goes with his friend Angie (Joe Mantell), Angie gets a dance, Marty doesn't. Eventually Marty is confronted with an offer by a slimy man on the dance floor: the man will pay Marty five dollars to take home his date, Clara (Betsy Blair), because he wants to dance with a more attractive woman. Marty refuses, but another man accepts, and it ends with Clara running off crying. With both bravery and sympathy, Marty walks up to Clara and introduces himself.

That starts what's one of the most affective and touching love stories in movie history. Both are insecure because of their appearances – Marty because of his weight and Clara because of her gawkiness (which is admirable, any other movie would have Ernest Borgnine romancing someone like Grace Kelly). They are awkward at first, Clara is quiet and Marty rambles, but they soon grow comfortable with each other. They spend a wonderful night together that's fuelled not by lust or sex, but by sympathy, kindness and a deep understanding of each other.

By the end of the night, once Marty drops Clara off at home, he waltzes happily through the street. This scene is joyous and wonderful and powerful, when he hits a stop sign in delight, it's like a ballet.

But things aren't so well the next day. Marty's mother says she doesn't like Clara and is not approving, but we know because of a subplot that she is really just afraid of being alone. Marty's friends are perplexed as to why Marty would want to date a woman so plain and badger him about it. Marty is insecure so he spends the day passively nodding as everyone around him berates his choice for a woman. We saw their time together so we know what a mistake he can make if he doesn't call her like he promised, which makes the ending all the more glorious.

This movie is lovable on all accounts: writing, characters, music, direction, setting and especially the performances. Borgnine, who spent his time before this film playing sadistic killers in B movies, is so irresistible in this film it's hard to imagine him as a mean guy (which makes him a good actor, I guess). His performance is so realized; he's got the character down flat as he effortlessly moves through each scene. He won the only Oscar of his career for his role here, and it was an Oscar well deserved.

The supporting cast is small, but it rounds out fine, with Blair embodying sweetness as Clara and Minciotti perfectly portraying the Italian mother. The others are fine, but in small roles, I find it most perplexing that Mantell received an Oscar nom for his work in this. I was surprised that Jack Lemmon won an Oscar that year for `Mister Roberts', but I guess if this was his competition…

`Marty' is a terrific, original chick flick that achieves cinematic grandness in a few scenes. A must-see for everyone, 8/10.
63 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great, Touching and Timeless
Lorenzo195023 May 2004
I love movies of the 1950's and this is a prime example of the quality today's movies seem to lack.

Being Italian myself I can relate to Marty's situation. Marty's mother and aunt are aging widows and Italian families are extremely close. Sadly, Marty's mother any aunt are feeling old and useless and in many ways try to sabotage their son's happiness. This is sad but true speaking as a bachelor myself. At one point your mother asks you, when are you ever going to get married and when they are older they want to live with you because they too are lonely.

I found myself deeply moved by the decency of Marty and the young teacher he meets at a singles dance. These are truly special people that life has passed by, but not for long. They discover each other and Marty calls the girl in spite of the reservations of his mother and friends.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and Marty and his young lady are the truly beautiful people in this poignant love story.

I would rate this movie 50 stars if I could.

Wonderful, funny at times and unforgettable.

A must see and a must have in any movie collection.
55 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Nicely-Crafted, With a Worthwhile Story
Snow Leopard30 July 2004
Despite having only the most basic of story-lines, this is a nicely-crafted movie with a worthwhile story. Ernest Borgnine deserves the praise he has received for his performance as "Marty", and he seems very natural in the part, for all that it seems so different from most of his other roles. The other characters are also rendered believably, and events develop naturally. While the two main characters may think of themselves as failures, viewers can see that they are just ordinary persons trying to be honest and sensitive, and this makes it easy to identify with them.

The story efficiently introduces Marty and the other characters, showing how he interacts with them. Since the others are all so absorbed in their own concerns, they view Marty solely in terms of how he fits in with their own plans and desires, again making it easy for the viewer to relate to him. Joe Mantell, Esther Minciotti, Augusta Ciolli, and Jerry Paris make Marty's family and friends thoroughly believable, and they work well in their interactions with Borgnine. By the time that Marty meets Clara (Betsy Blair), everything is set up so as to get the most out of the possibilities.

Praise also goes to Delbert Mann and Paddy Chayefsky for being willing to make a movie out of such low-key material. It may not impress those who have become benumbed by the ostentation of present-day film-makers, since its quality is of a subtler, more unaffected kind. But it's a worthwhile achievement in its own right, a story about ordinary persons and everyday concerns, of the kind that takes skill and understanding to make well.
54 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What a wonderful movie
christineb-24 October 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Before six pack abs, fake breasts, the inter-net and Aids, there was Marty. I feel sorry for the younger generation who will either not see this film or if they do will not appreciate its simplicity. Marty is a decent, hard working, lonely man who is hounded by his mother for not being married. He spends his free time with his equally lonely friends. He meets Clara. They both feel unattractive and rejected. Their first kiss is one of the most tender on film. If you watch closely, Marty pulls back before kissing Clara, showing his vulnerability. His Mother and best friend are jealous and selfishly try to talk Marty out of the relationship. In the end, he goes after the companionship he so desires. Ernest Borgnine deserved the Oscar he won. Watch it and enjoy!!
45 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It ended too soon!
jerryunderwood19629 February 2009
The only reason I gave this movie nine stars instead of ten is that it ended too soon!

It is hard to find a single thing wrong with this film. Stretching the imagination, one could call some of the attitudes "dated". (For example, the mothers think college girls are "one step from the street", during an era in which wives were still expected to be stay-at-home moms.) But still, this remains almost the perfect film for the group of viewers who appreciate heart- warming stories. (It will probably leave the "Rambo" crowd cold.)

I usually judge the success of a film by the "squirm factor"; if I am sorry to see the film end, I know I've watched a good film. By this standard, Marty is a superb film in every way. We really do care what happens after the credits roll.

See this film!
14 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Modest Slice-of-Life Look at a Lonely Butcher's Life-Changing Weekend
EUyeshima18 February 2008
Having just seen Jeff Garlin's charmingly lightweight "I Want Someone to Eat Cheese With", I was curious to see its inspiration since there is constant reference to it throughout, including a scene where Gina Gershon and teen idol Aaron Carter are hilariously miscast in the leads of a stage version. Running only ninety minutes, the 1955 movie holds the distinction of being the shortest film to win the Best Picture Oscar, and its scale is indeed very small – it covers a weekend in the life of a lonely, overweight Bronx butcher named Marty Piletti. The eldest of six children, the youngest of whom just got married, Marty lives a routine life living with his widowed mother and hanging out with best pal Angie (the source of a classically circular piece of dialogue - "What do you feel like doing tonight?" "I don't know, Ange. What do you feel like doing?"). Pushed by his mother to go to the Stardust Ballroom where there are a "lot of tomatoes", he inadvertently meets Clara, an equally lonely spinster schoolteacher from Brooklyn. It's intriguing to see how cultural mores have changed since both characters are considered over-the-hill for marriage even though he is only 34 and she 29. As they grapple toward intimacy, they face not only their own doubts but those of the people closest to Marty since they become aware how dependent they are on his constant availability.

Directed by Delbert Mann in his first time out at the helm, the production seems accurate in capturing the atmosphere of the mid-1950's lower middle class, and the dramatically effective setting allows Marty's story to take on a well-earned poignancy. This has primarily to do with the honest, unsentimental dialogue by Paddy Chavefsky (several years before "The Hospital" and "Network"). The observant performances complement the treatment with Ernest Borgnine giving his career-best performance in the title role. Even though he is sometimes too robust to be completely convincing as a socially defeated man, he brings surprising force to scenes when his self-awareness no longer can be hide his pain. Looking very much like Julie Harris at the time, Betsy Blair has a tougher role as Clara since her character is so withdrawn as to fade when Marty dominates the conversation. Even with her intentionally lank presence, Blair is too attractive to be considered mercilessly as a "dog". The rest of the cast takes more predictable turns – Esther Minciotti as Marty's clinging Italian mother, Joe Mantell as codependent Angie, Jerry Paris (a few years before his days as neighbor Jerry Helper on "The Dick Van Dyke Show") and Karen Steele constantly bickering as Marty's cousin and his wife. It's a solidly modest film with no pretensions. Other than the theatrical trailer featuring producer Burt Lancaster's glowing praises, the DVD has no significant extras.
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Out on its own .................
nicholas.rhodes30 October 2004
I have known, loved and seen this film many times in the past fifteen years and finally bought it recently on DVD in the UK. The story is timeless and I am very surprised that no-one has yet attempted a plausible re-make of it. Stangely made in black and white ( for economic reasons I suppose, as color was widespread enough in 1954 ), the film depicts the horrors of trying to find a soul-mate with family pressures on hand to boot. No doubt italo-Americans will appreciate even more. I found Betsy Blair extremely attractive although she is supposed to be portraying someone "ugly" - the subject is fascinating and endlessly complex as beauty is in the eye of the beholder. The general impression given was one of a depiction of a real-life situation, which is of course to the credit of the film !! I remained hungry at the end and would have liked the film to continue just a little more to show the genesis of their amorous relationship !! But some would argue that at the end of a film you should be left wanting for more .......... I also loved the theme music which is actually sung at the end over the credits where they show the name of the actor plus a view of the actor from the film - this is a technique used all too little nowadays - and this absence is most regrettable as it enabled you to put a face to a name !! I was both surprised and amused that in the 1950's, ugly people were referred to as "dogs" - sounds so funny now - but I think the word "squares" or "cornballs" was also used disparagingly !! Definitely a most original film and which (exceptionally) seems to have attracted a unanimity of positive reviews on IMDb !!
61 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Like being in 1954 New York for about 29 hours
brianjm0616 August 2007
Excellent movie! It starts out on a Saturday afternoon and goes into Sunday evening, in that brief time bringing us into the lives of these people in very deep and moving ways. It is very touching to see what can happen when people have a selfish heart or a caring heart. Have seen this picture 5 times now and it stays with me for days each time. Great way to see how we have choices, whether we realize them or not. We see how we all have our own things going on in our lives, our own agendas. We all impact others, and are impacted by others. Maybe we don't want to or think we do, but see how we do. These situations and characters are very easy to relate to. Shows how we could hurt or do anything we want to if we really want it and if our heart is in the wrong or the right place.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Moving and a must see.
hughman5531 January 2011
As a kid I came to know Ernest Borgnine through "McHales Navy". Then I grew up and quickly forgot everything I ever knew about him. Then along came a movie called "Quiz Show", about the game show scandals of the 50's, where one of the plot points revolved around a game show question pertaining to this movie winning Best Picture and Ernest Borgnine winning Best Actor. And I thought to myself, is this made up? What could the guy from McHales Navy possibly do to win an Oscar for Best Actor? It seemed ridiculous. A fluke. Possibly made up for the movie "Quiz Show".

After passing up numerous opportunities to see this film over the last 40 plus years I finally saw it on TCM and I am schooled.

Everyone in their lives, no matter how beautiful they are, or think they are, has felt like these characters at some point. It is the universal feeling of loneliness and alienation and it is explored thoughtfully and sympathetically here. It also explores the casualties of love. A daughter gets married, equals a Mother loses her son. A guy falls in love with a girl, equals his best friend loses companionship. Falling in love shifts everything around it and not always gently. Love is messy even at its borders.

So here we have Ernest Borgnine and Esther Minciotti, son and Mother in the film, giving truly once in a lifetime performances in this tiny little movie. Their kindness towards each other, far beyond the script they're working from, is touching. Jerry Paris, pre Dick Van Dyke show, is remarkable as another son with his own set of relationship problems. The sarge from "Gomer Pyle" is in this too. It's a proverbial cavalcade of upcoming '60's television.

But at it's heart it is a touching movie that everyone should see. I wish I hadn't waited so long. Ernest Borgnine was given the chance of a lifetime to play Marty. Though terrific in everything he ever did, nothing before or after Marty gave him the opportunity to show what a truly gifted actor he is. Thank God someone was smart enough to cast him.
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
And What Are You Doing Tonight?
bkoganbing14 August 2007
Among other things Marty will be known for is being the best film Burt Lancaster ever produced without Burt Lancaster the actor. Hard to disagree with four Academy Awards credited to the film.

Originally a made for television drama that starred Rod Steiger in the title role, Marty piqued the interest of both Burt Lancaster and his producer partner Harold Hill. Rod Steiger had gotten very good reviews for his interpretation of the part of the thirty something Bronx butcher. However upon getting the film rights, Lancaster himself did not want to cast Steiger again because he felt no one would see the film again after seeing Steiger on free television. Lancaster also personally cast Ernest Borgnine in the lead after having worked with him on From Here to Eternity.

In 1955 Marty on television and the big screen struck a resonant cord with the American public. Something about the tale of the Bronx butcher longing anxiously for a life soul mate made it a universal theme about fear of loneliness. The plot such as it is has Marty going to the Stardust Ballroom and meeting plain jane school teacher Betsy Blair.

Marty has a lot going against the relationship. His erstwhile friends, as big a pack of losers ever created for the screen, don't want to lose one of their number. His mother, after listening to her sister, changes from pushing him out the door to meet new people, to strongly urging him to forget Betsy Blair. The conversation between the two women, Esther Minciotti as Borgnine's mother and Agusta Ciolli as his Aunt Katherine is a classic.

One of Marty's biggest boosters was columnist Walter Winchell. He plugged the film a lot in his column and was very instrumental in beating the publicity drums for Marty. Ironic since two years later, Burt Lancaster delivered a cinema indictment against Winchell in playing Winchell clone, J.J. Hunsecker in Sweet Smell of Success.

No doubt Winchell helped because Marty scored with four Oscars. Best Picture of 1955, Best Actor Ernest Borgnine, Best Director Delbert Mann and Best Adapted Screenplay Paddy Chayefsky. There were also nominations for Best Supporting Actress for Betsy Blair and Best Supporting Actor for Joe Mantell as Marty's 'friend' Angie.

Though its mores are definitely ground in the Fifties, Marty is a timeless tale that could easily be rewritten for the 21st centuries. There are still butchers in the Bronx and 30 something school teachers looking for love. It's what makes it universal.
26 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One Of My Favorite Movies
janice14324 December 2009
How wonderful to see that this movie was made on site in New York City, not on some back lot in a studio. In this movie, you can feel the sense of the City, it is part of the movie itself.

I am so happy that this movie was not made in color, the black and white greyness of the story lends itself to the mood.

Ernest Borgnine shines as the lonely 30ish man, living with his widowed Italian mother, going to his day job as a butcher. Hanging out with his other lonely bachelor friends. "What do you want to do Marty?" "I don't know, what do you want to do?" Betsy Blair as Clara gives a believable performance as a lonely 30ish school teacher who is still living with her parents. She goes on a blind date to a dance with a cad who dumps her, and she stands there on the sidelines as a wallflower, which she is.

Marty asks her to dance, they strike up a conversation, he takes her to his home where she meets his mother, he takes her home by bus, he realizes how much he cares for her! He says he will call, but he does not.

Then the middle of the story with his mother being threatened by the fact that Marty might just marry some day and desert her, as her sister has been put out by her son and daughter in law. So much family angst here, but love triumphs! The part I love the most is when Marty calls Clara at the end of the movie. Clara's face just lights up like a Christmas tree when Marty calls her. Such fabulous acting! I was rooting for them. I hope they had a happy and long marriage, had kids whom Marty's mother embraced and made her happy in the last years of her life. One can only hope.

I would give this 100 stars if I could.
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A timeless classic deserving of every award it won
Nooshin_Navidi_MUSE6 June 2014
On the surface, 'Marty' appears to be a simple love story about a butcher and a school-teacher, but there are many more layers to this film, which manages to be simultaneously funny & deeply moving without ever getting corny.

There's so much about this film that stands the test of time half a century later. It's no wonder it won so many awards that year (including 4 Oscars.) In her autobiography, Betsy Blair mentions that 'Marty' was the high point of her career; it made her a movie star overnight and she was never again in anything as important (though I thought her performance in 'A Delicate Balance' with Katherine Hepburn years later was even better.) She won the BAFTA for her role here, as did Ernest Borgnine, who deservedly swept every award that year for his role as Marty, including the Oscar and the Golden Globe. Borgnine is flawless in his performance & lovable from the very first scene. Esther Monciotti as his mother also delivers a standout performance. Some of the funniest and most memorable lines in the film belong to her and her on-screen sister. The rest of the supporting cast are also great to watch. The frank dialogue and the humanity of the characters make this a film you want to watch more than once.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Simply wonderful and charming.
bobsgrock8 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Paddy Chayefsky's simple yet beautiful tale about life and love in the 1950s New York era is certainly lovely to watch and one of the more lovable classics of the Golden Era. Ernest Borgnine is perfect as Marty, a thirty-four year old butcher living with his mother, but he's not unemployed or in the basement living on his laptop. He is a hard-working man determined to make a good life for himself and his mother. The unfortunate thing is that he is still single and the feeling that he will always be single bothers him as well as his mother.

Then, he goes to a dance on Saturday night and meets someone who is in a very similar situation: Clara, a lonely, twenty-nine year old schoolteacher who lives with her father and feels as if she will never get hitched. This chance encounter blossoms into a lovely relationship in only a few hours. And as the film progresses, we get to know these characters more and start to hope that they will end up together as we know they are perfect for each other.

In the film's final act, it appears that everybody around Marty seems to take a dislike toward Clara. His mother feels he getting married will throw her out of the house as it did with her sister. His friends all see her as a 'dog,' and convince Marty for awhile to shun her and move on. Only in the very end do we see our hero rise up and realize that he had one of the best nights of his life with this dog and he intends to do so again. In the final scene, he turns the table on his friend by beginning to ask him when he's going to get married. The films ends on a bit ambiguous note but we are satisfied enough to know that these two people will meet again.

All in all, this is a wonderful and charming slice of life that does not become dated despite what people may say. The themes are universal and timeless and this story summarizes the feelings and desires that rise up in all of us as human beings determined to live a long and happy life.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
MARTY is of continuing relevance...
tia-1016 July 1999
As an under-30 viewer of Marty I wanted to take the time to say that I believe the value in a film such as this lies in the fact that it deals with themes that continue to be of relevance to contemporary viewers.

In particular, Marty has to deal with a widow mother whom attempts to thwart his chance at love in order to preserve her own central position in his life. The situation is not dissimilar to one that my boyfriend has to deal with- his mother is a widow and she is worried that if her son marries she will be displaced and have no social worth.

Ernest Borgnine's performance was superb, especially the scene in which he yells at his mother to lay-off trying to make him go out and find a girl at the Stardust Ballroom when he knows that all the night has in store for him is more heart-ache.
48 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rough Around The Edges!!!
dataconflossmoor4 April 2008
"Marty" is an absolutely fabulous movie which takes on a formidable approach to social realism, this is a feat which was not depicted all too frequently back in 1955!! The film, "Marty" won the academy award for best picture in 1955, and, with the plethora of talent this movie possessed, it is no wonder!! Ernest Borgnine is spectacular as the hard luck simpleton, his reputation in Hollywood speaks for itself! Betsy Blair (She was compelling in "A Delicate Balance") is a method actress who carries off her agitated emotions with a very subtle disposition! Jerry Paris (Jerry on "The Dick Van Dyke Show") is a wealth of talent who was incredibly believable in this film! Many of the other actors and actresses with smaller roles in this movie were powerfully cogent as well! Paddy Chayefsky, (Most famous for "Network") who writes the screenplay, has an amazing amount of talent regarding his ability to evoke heartfelt emotions which are esoteric in their comprehension!! The whole movie puts Ernest Borgnine on the spot to change the course of his floundering environment which was categorized by the negative associations to his cultural stereotype! To say that these two characters (Ernest Borgnine and Betsy Blair) were introverted, would be a masterpiece of understatement!! The ill-timed fiascoes of being loquacious one moment, and taciturn the next, became a volatile characteristic that obliterated the ground rules to casual dating!! The conversations with Ernest Borgnine and Betsy Blair, always encompassed the visceral components of perseverance!! Trapped in a situation of a lower middle class environment of an emerging ethnicity, the urge for Marty to necessitate a metamorphosis in his prevailing situation became an insurmountable obstacle course!! Ernest Borgnine's portliness was a good tool to convey his plight as the disgruntled curmudgeon who was perennially despondent! The uplifting insight to Marty meeting a girl, for whom he liked and had a lot in common with, became a necessary camaraderie that overcame circumstantial doubts and insecurities! Throughout this entire movie, Paddy Chayefsky's writing effort itemizes reality, and allows Marty to conquer adversity in a way that is thoroughly plausible! I liken this film to "Rocky" as both of these movies illustrate a boorish Italian-American environment to be the single biggest form of societal intimidation! The unassuming demeanor to the genre of "Marty" became the most stellar characteristic to the picture's success! I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the film "Marty" was, and, I think anyone who has a curiosity about academy award winning films, should definitely consider seeing this movie!!
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hey Marty!
Richie-67-48585215 May 2017
Do you want your heart warm & toasty? How about a feel good movie that takes you for a journey through human nature up close & personal? Love, friendship, life, work, companionship, intimacy, parents, marriage, and all the normal life problems with solutions presented here for your viewing enjoyment. Who hasn't had some of the thoughts or experiences depicted in this movie? No one and that is what captures you right away. You could be any one of the characters in this movie that's how down to earth it is. Perfect part for Ernie Borgnine too who plays Marty the guy who is just out of luck when it comes to love and purpose but has everything else which fulfills and at the same time reminds you that something is missing. There are so many well directed and acted out scenes that make this a movie that one wants to watch over & over again. I have seen it 20 times and I am not through either. It captures the mood and time of that era and place that enables one to relate to it all without missing a beat. The main points of the movie are delivered up right away too with the remaining part of the film supporting all the premises. We go up and down and identifying with Marty, the lead player is not hard. He wants love but doesn't know what it is or how to go about it and from what he does understand, it just doesn't work for him. His agony is so heartfelt that it is like a cry to the Universe for help and it comes, but not in ways expected. That is what makes it so potent and memorable. There is an especially good scene with Marty and his ma and he is eating dinner that is so well acted out not just for the wanting a plate of your own but for the deep emotions and expressions with no resolutions but also no surrender either. Nice little glimpse into the Italian culture of the time too. Highly recommend a meal while watching, definitely a dessert or snack with a tasty drink and let this little gem go to work on you. It will! Enjoy Hey Marty...whadda you want to do tonight...I dunno whaddaya want to do?
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Dog's Life
wes-connors14 August 2007
Ernest Borgnine is terrific as "Marty". A self-admitted "fat, ugly" thirty-something man who lives with his mother. The film is lovely in that it stars an admittedly unattractive person, and deals with his feelings of loneliness and insecurity. Mr. Borgnine doesn't just stumble into this performance; he is given the part of his lifetime, and gives it everything he's got, creating a marvelous simple, but complicated, character.

Now, I agree this is an excellent film, and I know, for the time, being single and middle-aged must have been devastating - but there is a very distracting flaw in this movie - Betsy Blair is no "dog" of a woman. I don't think, during any time, men would think of her as ugly. Ms. Blair is just not homely, and it does detract from an otherwise excellent script. Blair also has a job/profession; I would consider her a prime "catch" for most of the men in this movie. Blair does her best, though... you'll just have to imagine her as someone you'd have to give a man $5.00 to take home.

******** Marty (4/11/55) Delbert Mann ~ Ernest Borgnine, Betsy Blair, Esther Minciotti
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sweet little movie
Boyo-225 February 2002
Every one in awhile, a small movie cleans up at the Oscars. It seems to happen about once a decade. This might be the first, though.

Ernest Borgnine is the title character. He is a butcher who is unmarried, Catholic, Italian and lives in New York where it would never occur to anyone to mind their own business. Everyone who buys a pork chop gives him grief over his bachlerhood, and that extends to his Mother, too. He is a sweet guy - loans money to his friends, is polite to strangers and considerate to his family. He is a little lonely and frustrated and doesn't have much to do.

One night in a dance hall a stranger offers him $5 to take a girl home, since the guy doesn't want to have anything to do with this particular girl. Marty is amazed at the rudeness so to not humiliate the girl any more than she has to be, and since he's alone anyway..they meet and dance and have a very nice night. He is very nervous and has a lot to say and sometimes rambles on a little. Not the worse crime in the world.

There is a small subplot over Marty's Aunt moving in with Marty and his Mom since she does not get along with her daughter-in-law. I suppose this is to show that even if you are married, life still hands out problems. And if you get to live long enough to be considered 'old', that sometimes you are uprooted and unwanted and a bit of a burden to your family.

Borgnine is terrific and won Best Actor over pretty tough competition. Joe Mandell as Angie, Marty's best friend, and Betsy Blair as Clara, who is the girl he meets, were also nominated.

This material was originally a television 'play' starring Rod Steiger as Marty and Nancy Marchand as Clara. I bet it was good. 8/10.
24 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Outstandingly different
akhilgenx20051 August 2008
A classic, one of its kind. It touches an issue, which I don't think any other movie, if any, has ever touched this well: How world treats you if you do not get married in time. The movie shows how important a life partner is for a human being (male or female), how such people start loosing interest in life & faith in themselves. For them every fault in them, becomes a reason for not finding a companion. But the movie also shows that it is just one person you need, to peek at the good heart you carry. That's when the world goes upside down for Marty. How his own mother and his friends react to his newfound love is fun to watch. It is a short movie but shows both scenarios, before and after Marty finds love, well. The movie captures another social issue of life of widows after their kids get married; the movie looks at it from both the sides, the kids and the parents. The best scene of the movie however is when Marty, his mother and his newfound love are in one frame. An excellent screenplay, filled with funny stuff periodically.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Honest drama that pits love against family and friends
barryrd23 March 2014
Marty, starring Ernest Borgnine and Betsy Blair, is a touching story from the 1950's about two people who fall in love and want to be together. However, they come up against the gossip, social pressure, and expectations of family and friends that hold them back from their natural instinct to marry and love one another. Both are "older" by the standards of the time but that does not stop them from wanting someone special. They are both excited about the prospect of spending their lives together and then, there is a pause as the elation runs up against reality. Borgnine and Blair are excellent in the role of a young couple who desire to break away from the bonds of friends and family to form their own home life. How will it turn out? This movie is a departure from the glossy Hollywood movies of the 1950's that used colour and celebrity talent and lacked the realism and honesty of this classic. Marty was a more mature movie, with a more effective treatment of social divisions and complicated relationships. Paddy Chayefsky wrote the script and Burt Lancaster was the producer. Both were creative forces in the film world of the 1950's. Delbert Mann directed; he also directed other fine movies such as Separate Tables and Middle of the Night. This is a precious film with a place in the history of American cinema.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
But she's not Italian!.
hitchcockthelegend16 October 2008
Marty Piletti and Clara Snyder both have similar lives, both are heading into middle age devoid of love and with a real threat of being left on the shelf. Then one night at a dance they meet each other and the sense of worthlessness is lifted from them both, but Marty, in spite of his feelings for Clara, starts to listen to his mother and friends, both who are roundly against Clara being in Marty's life.

Marty is based on a television play written by Paddy Chayefsky {screenplay duties here as well}, Chayefsky, who would come to be known as a leading light in what was termed kitchen sink dramas, has written a quite beautiful and tender piece of work. Marty would bag Oscars for best picture, best actor {Ernest Borgnine}, best director {Delbert Mann} and best screenplay, the sweet simplicity of story in this picture appealed big time to the movie watching public in the mid fifties. Perhaps that is the key here?, that the picture gave the movie world something outside of epics and costume dazzlers, sometimes simple can go a long way. Not that Marty is shallow or anything like that, because it isn't, it's themes of repelling peer pressure and embracing eye of the beholder beauty is something most humane people should deeply adhere too.

Cast wise, Ernest Borgnine leads the way as Marty, a break from his usual heavy booted characters, it's a wonderful performance with depth and a sincerity few up till then thought he was capable of. The rest of the cast fall some way short of this standard, Betsy Blair as Clara is honest and emotive enough and Joe Mantell is great support as Angie, Marty's supposedly best Buddie. Esther Minciotti plays Marty's mother, Theresa, a character that personally had me wanting to strangle her at one point, it's safe and makes the point but a touch more devilment with the portrayal wouldn't have gone amiss, but it's not a complaint worth delving too long on.

The studio wasn't sure about the movie and almost pulled it from release, the rest as they say, is history. 8/10
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed