Send Me No Flowers (1964) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
50 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
"Oh Boy! Smooth!"
stryker-512 February 2000
Another self-opinionated reviewer bites the dust. Having blithely pronounced "Lover Come Back" to be the best of the three Day-Hudson comedies without even having seen this one, I now willingly eat crow and and say I was wrong. "Send Me No Flowers" is the best. "It's a honey!"

This is a wonderful suburban world of lawns and yards, bridge games and country clubs, commuter trains and divorce rumours. George Kimball (Rock) is a malade imaginaire, and Judy (Doris)is ... well, blonde. Tony Randall is at his considerable best as the nerdy neighbour Arnold who gets entangled in the Kimballs' misunderstandings, with delicious comic consequences. Paul Lynde turns in a marvellous cameo as Mister Akins of the funeral parlour, and the annoyingly perfect Bert Power is played with breezy confidence by Clint Walker, TV's Cheyenne (the incidental music gives him a witty little cowboy theme).

"My hypochondria has finally paid off," announces George after hearing (and misconstruing) his doctor's talk of impending mortality. Arnold prepares a eulogy which mentions George's 'unfailing good humour', a phrase which could stand as the movie's subtitle. Hudson is masterly as the doom-laden George, showing how assured he can be when the material is strong. This well-crafted script is derived from a Broadway play, and its quality shines through. Doris wears a very prominent wig and, in true Doris style, keeps her bra on under her negligee.

Made in 1962 when television had clearly won the battle against the cinema, the film uses TV's ascendancy in a very knowing way in the opening gag.

Verdict - Near-faultless domestic comedy with great work by Hudson, Day, Randall and Lynde.
38 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Immortal classic
ivan-2215 July 2000
The main character is dying, but not the movie! It shall live forever. This is one of five golden, grown-up comedy classics Doris Day starred in, the others being "Teacher's Pet", "Pillow Talk", "That Touch of Mink" and "Lover Come Back". Of course, Hollywood never gives an Oscar for comedy. Drama is deemed deep! Nothing is deeper than comedy. Actually, drama is often unintentional comedy.

The critics disliked the movie because the subject is grim: terminal illness, or fear thereof. But if you take that attitude, nothing at all is funny. Actually, death is just the theme around which a lot of variations about modern life are spun. This film is masterful in every respect, a real treat. Paul Lynde is priceless as the effeminate undertaker. Doris Day is a miracle. Even the theme song is a thrill. Oh, why did we stop making these clean, domestic movies dealing with practical issues and everyday life?
34 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Domestic comedy 101
kenandraf9 July 2001
Very good screenwriting here and a very good example of early sixties suburban lifestyle.Very funny and this movie is one of the best comedies of all time.The cinematography was splendid as well.Comedy fans please watch this one!
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Classic Comedy
HolmeInPhilly20 August 2001
I stumbled across this movie one morning. I don't usually like comedies from this era, but I really liked this one. It is very cute and funny and just perfect. The three are a great team and Tony Randall is especially funny. I recommend it to all.
22 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dynamite pairing, dynamite opening scene
unbend_54403 July 2004
One early morning around 1:00 AM I was seeing what was on TV and I started to watch Send Me No Flowers. I had no idea what it was, but when I saw Norman Jewison's name in the opening credits, I made a point to keep it on the channel. So then it gets to the wildly creative opening scene, with Rock Hudson in bed, looking miserable. There's a voice over asking questions about his ailments, and it comes off like a cough syrup commercial from 40 years ago. That one scene was creative enough to make me think "I don't care if the word 'flowers' is in the title, I'm going to watch this thing!" The story is funny as well. Hudson plays a hypochrondriac who thinks he's going to die. He decides to try and set his wife up with a new man in the few weeks that he believes he has left to live. I had never seen a Hudson/Day/Randall movie before. I enjoyed the chemistry between the three of them a lot more than any pairings in romantic comedies of today. It was also interesting to see an earlier movie from Norman Jewison. It has nothing in common with his later movies, but the always original Norman Jewison style still shines, even in this, a somewhat formula based movie of it's time. The dialogue was clever and the actors deliver it beautifully. My only complaint would be that occasionally the comedy gets kind of silly and sitcom-like. The rest of the movie is so smart and well written that the sillier scenes feel out of place. I since have also seen Pillow Book, but I think I prefer Send Me No Flowers. I hope one day soon I catch this on TV at 1:00 in the morning again.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Doris & Rock & Tony!!
Karen L. Demmy3 November 1998
Doris Day, Rock Hudson and Tony Randall together make up a hilarious comedy trio. Rock Hudsons character is a hypocondriac (sp?) and mistakenly believes he is dying. He shares this news with Tony Randall's character and together plan his funeral and plan for Doris Day's character's future (She is his wife in the movie). Well scene after scene is so funny. I loved everything about the movie and it is one of my top 10 films of all times. I have it taped and watch it over and over. It is fantastic for a bad mood day, it will perk you right up!
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Rock Hudson scores as a hypochondriac...
Doylenf20 July 2003
Rock Hudson is in his element here--a situation comedy that's got some clever lines built around the theme that he's a hypochondriac who mistakenly believes he has only a few weeks to live--and wants to put certain issues in order believing that his wife needs another man as soon as he's gone. The "other man" that he and Tony Randall choose turns out to be Clint Walker, his wife's old flame from school days.

With the help of a fairly amusing script and some well played bits by Paul Lynde (as a dedicated undertaker) and Edward Andrews (as a doctor who thinks the specialists get all the breaks), Rock Hudson makes the most of his central role and actually gives the most polished comic performance of his career. Tony Randall does well as his gin-guzzling neighbor who promises to deliver a eulogy for him. And Doris Day (despite wearing what looks to be the worst looking wig since Barbara Stanwyck's blonde hairdo in "Double Indemnity") uses her own comic flair with style--but personally, I've enjoyed her much more in her other roles with Hudson, especially "Pillow Talk". The focus here is on Hudson and he makes the most of a well-written comic role.

Since one of the writers on the script is Julius J. Epstein, it's no wonder that there's a fresh, smooth-flowing flavor to the proceedings. Not the kind of film you should go out of your way to catch, but it passes the time pleasantly. Epstein worked on some great scripts ranging from "The Strawberry Blonde" to "Light in the Piazza" and his deft writing style is evident here.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My Favorite Trio is Back Again
lpspurlock3 December 2001
I caught this film one day and I was not disappointed at all. Rock Hudson believes that he is dying and wants to make sure his wife (played by Doris Day) will be fine after he passes away. Tony Randall plays their friend and neighbor who gets involved in the ordeal, making this film a great laughfest. The way everything carries along is great, and once again Rock and Doris make an exceptional couple. As for trio wise, I would definitely have to say that they are my favorite trio ever.. this movie along with "Pillow Talk" are my favorite older comedies!
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Mr.&Mrs. Suburbia
bkoganbing28 April 2007
For the last film of Rock Hudson-Doris Day-Tony Randall, Rock and Doris are already married so it's not like Rock is in hot pursuit of our all American virginal goddess. Instead they seem like a typical suburban couple of the early sixties except for one problem, Rock is an obsessive compulsive hypochondriac.

Another visit to Edward Andrews the doctor and a big misunderstanding convince Rock he's a terminal case and he starts making preparations both to meet his Maker and make sure about Doris who he leaves behind. That causes all kinds of funny situations that Rock and Doris muddle through with the fumbling help of a lot of people.

Hudson and Day did three films together and by rights they should be listed as a trio with Tony Randall because he was in all three of the films and added so much to them as Hudson's comic foil. Of course this was in the day much before he became TV's most famous fuss budget, Felix Unger. Still you can see traces of Felix in all three of Randall's roles with Rock and Doris.

Send Me No Flowers is the weakest of the three comedies I feel because the Hudson-Day team works so much better with Rock trying to grab a little nookie from Doris and getting hooked for his troubles. Still the film has some really nice moments. All three of their films were well cast with some of the best supporting players around.

My favorite in Send Me No Flowers is Paul Lynde as the cemetery director who just loves his job. He has two scenes, one with Rock buying a cemetery plot and a second with Doris where he inadvertently solves the problems Rock's hypochondria works them into.

Rock and Doris surely made one wonderful movie screen team.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thanks Jed, Thanks Granny, Thanks Jethro
aesgaard419 March 2001
Admittedly, I would have never seen a Rock Hudson picture if I hadn't seen a clip from this movie of Hudson in a wheelchair rolling out his backdoor, bouncing off a mattress and rolling back into Doris Day on "The Beverly Hillbillies." Determined to see the whole of this movie based on that one funny scene, I got myself a copy of this movie and loved it ! Hudson plays a hypochondriac who mistakenly believes he is dying. Trying to set up his wife played by Doris Day for after he is gone, he sets off one horrendous fight that looks like a comic version of "War of the Roses." Tony Randall has the Danny DeVito role in this comedy that also stars Paul Lynde in one of his best roles next to Uncle Arthur on "Bewitched" and Edward Andrews, a great actor of the Sixties whose first name is almost an anagram of his last. The movie is fast, furious and enjoyable, but mildly dated for it's times. While the times may have changed, the humor basicly has stayed the same.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Comedy!
sdrake6 January 2002
I loved the Rock Hudson/Doris Day movies. My Mother and I used to watch them all the time, now that she has passed it brings me closer to her. Paul Lynde is hilarious as the undertaker! Doris Day has got to be the funniest woman of all time, her timing is impeccable. Too bad she is retired now, I would love for her to make a movie today that my kids could watch. They don't make them like they used to.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An excellent comedy starring Doris Day, Rock Hudson and the lovely Tony Randall.
jag-6612 October 2005
I have this film at home, along with the other two in which all three (Randall, Hudson and Day) star in. I think this film is great, thanks to Randall's simple but really funny acting. All films these days are predictable, so its no different, but the difference is actually the fact that they just manage to be funny without obviously being so and are able to make a very funny film without using extreme measures and ridiculous comments that are used so often in our modern day films. I put this film first before 'Pillow Talk' (2nd)and 'Lover come back'(3rd). Otherwise, all of them are just really funny and refreshing!!! Where else would you find such nice, simple films?!
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Corn, but beautifully cooked
g-hbe20 August 2006
It's probably films like this that made me wish I lived in the American suburbia of the 50's and 60's. The sun shone, the little lady was at home, and life was just a bowl of cherries. For me, this is narrowly the best of the Day/Hudson films. Rock Hudson plays George Kimball, a hypochondriac who thinks he has just a few weeks to live and decides to fix his wife (Day) up with a new man. That's basically the plot, but there are so many off-shoots and crossed wires that it keeps us amused all the way through. Hudson hams it up, Day is her usual fluffy self and the underrated Tony Randall does his marvellous 'best buddy' routine. But then along comes Paul Lynde and almost steals the entire show with his camp, gossipy funeral director. With his "Oh, I could tear my tongue out!" and his "Don't worry, I'll just nip out the back way" after his flying dive over Doris' suitcases in the hall (which surely must have been a genuine accident that was left in) he creases me up every time I watch this funny, funny film. Even the music is funny, just listen to the over-dramatic piano chords whenever Hudson turns up the pity. I had given this a 7, but writing this little review has made me appreciate the film even more - now it's an 8!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A mortal Pillow Talk wanna-be...there are moments, and there are moments
secondtake17 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Send Me No Flowers (1964)

I know a lot of us have affection for Doris Day and her regular woman spunky Mom next door approach. And Rock Hudson and his sidekick Tony Randall are first rate comic actors. Even director Norman Jewison is a solid force in 1960s and 70s Hollywood, if not one of their inventive geniuses (think "Fiddler on the Roof" and "Moonstruck"). So I understand that a lot of people have liked this movie for its lighthearted charm and the bright 1964 colors and sets.

But at its it's a rotten movie. The script is one of the worst you can imagine--simplistic in its main idea, with clumsy or even mindless dialog, and a kind of television-at-its-worst tone. This is especially distressing because Julius Epstein wrote it--he's one of the Epstein twins who did the "Casablanca" screenplay. It might be actually a simple fact that Epstein was from a different generation than the movie's characters and he didn't have a feel for the Cold War let alone this flip side to the Cold War.

Put all this another way? This ain't no "Pillow Talk."

That 1959 movie, most of you know, is the classic Doris Day/Rock Hudson comedy, and it plays well into both of their personas (and includes Randall, too). It has some really funny writing, a clever idea that lets Hudson work his acting chops a bit, and a more neurotic and annoying/lovable Day. Here you have to get into a kind of loping cornball, a series of interludes of comic anger and one-liner comebacks. It does have a fascinating aspect in the second half where Randall moves in with Hudson and there is a pre-saging (pre-staging?) of "The Odd Couple" (which Randall would later perform on television. They even are in bad together (unhappily), which you couldn't yet do in Hollywood due to the last vestiges of the Hays Code. (Hudson was gay, Randall was not, if this matters much.)

Hudson rushes into the bright, sunny kitchen and says, "When a man's wife thinks he's having an affair, how can he convince her he's not?"

Randall titters, "He can't." (This is right where there is an interesting early product placement: Rice Krispies and Maxwell House.) Randall (a lawyer) then suggests he confess he's having an affair as a way to break through the problem. Comic potential--and it gets a bit more silly than funny, but it does lead to the most interesting parts of the movie. Stick it out that far if you can.

Maybe it's wrong to expect too much from any Doris Day movie (full disclosure: I find her more annoying than lovable). It's a time in both America and in the movies where part of society wore its glibness as a kind of badge. I mean, if you see "Glass Bottomed Boat" you'll see this maybe at it's clearest. Or here, where there is so little to really think or care about, except maybe enjoying the company of the three main characters, as far as that can go. It is kind of gussied up sit-com television half hour stretched into a full 100 minutes.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The best of the three Hudson/Day comedies
mrsastor19 April 2007
While not terribly well received here on IMDb, this is in my opinion the best of the three Hudson/Day/Randall teamings. While Pillow Talk remains fresh and sharp fifty years later (with Lover Come Back being a rather unfortunate and less enjoyable recycling of the same script), it is Send Me No Flowers that gets the most air-play of the three in our home video library.

From the superb opening theme song performed by Doris Day, we are transported into the beautiful suburbia of yesteryear. Rock Hudson's George Kimball is absolutely hilarious as the king of all hypochondriacs (if you've ever known such a person, you'll die laughing). And for 1964 it makes some rather amusing and insightful observations into the nature of medicinal advertising. Ms. Day plays wife Judy Kimball; she is a delight as always and it's perhaps the most satisfying aspect of the screenplay that at last Hudson and Day are married and thus involved in a relationship that extends beyond never-realized innuendo. Randall plays the usual right-next-door character attached to Hudson's, Arnold Nash, and again this is the best of the virtually identical characters he plays in the three movies they made together.

Being the hypochondriac that he is, Kimball misinterprets a conversation he overhears at the doctor's office and subsequently believes he is dying. Once he and his accomplice Arnold absorb the blow, they set about to find a suitable replacement husband for Judy to marry once George is gone. It's really a rather touchingly honorable intention and also generates the bulk of the misunderstandings that constitute the remainder of the film.

There are some negatives, these are things we see through our 21st century eyes and were certainly never intended to be offensive at the time. These mainly revolve around Day's character; Judy Kimball is a beautiful and intelligent woman, but is given no other pastimes in the entire course of the film other than playing golf and preparing her husband's breakfast. And despite being beautiful and intelligent, George apparently considers her to be too big of an idiot to ever possibly survive without him, and thus he must find a man to take care of her once he is gone. She has no children, no occupation, doesn't understand a mortgage, can't write a check to the gas station correctly, her greatest interest is in the impending divorce of a neighbor she doesn't even know and she apparently doesn't even know what she pays for groceries. We are clearly shown George's greatest dread as he imagines a number of scenarios in which Judy evidently has no judgment whatsoever and is easy prey to any slick con artist that should come along once she is widowed. It might also be said that this is absolutely typical of the way virtually all women are depicted in movies and television of this era.

Like all three of the Hudson/Day/Randall comedies, this one is lush and colorful, with exquisite sets and wardrobe. The supporting cast are excellent, particularly Paul Lynde as the cemetery proprietor and Edward Andrews as Kimball's exasperated physician. This film carries a warm, comfortable feel of a happier bygone era and packs lots of laughs. Highly recommended.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The sweet Hollywood romance of yesterday.
tubelarbells14 June 2006
Oh how i miss those days, where a picture didn't have to blow you out of the cinema, og to provoke your stymie with bloody violence. The Hollywood times, where you could get far with humor, love and a warm story.I grew up with the likes of Doris Day, Tony Randall, Rock HUdson, Jack Lemmon, Tony Curtis, Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe, Marlon Brandon, Grace Kelly and many others fantastic actors. In this period of from 1945 - 1970 some of the best movies where made. We all remember films like Cacablanca, Some like it hot, The odd couple, The African Queen,From here to eternity, Roman holiday, The bridge over the river Kwai, Ben Hur, Spartacus, Doctor Zhivago. And take then the must fantastic musical that also where made before the time of the computer animation took over.Just think about Singing in the rain or my favorite, The sound of music and last The west side story. We domt make them any more. We don't know how to. People have chances and people have learn to demand more. Its just like drugs. The want more and bigger every time. I know that we later on has made bigger and more fantastic to watch for the eye and the ear movies. But where were those movies of our present, if we didn't have all the computer animation. What was Titanic, KIng Kong, Star Wars, The lord of the ring and many others of the big films of today. And how good are the actors of to day, when you take all the fancy computer tecnic away from them. Its just like inside the music world. Just you have a good face and a attitude, we give you the voice. Back in the old days, they had to be good acting, because there wasn't anything to save them. The makeup at the time, was awful, and the special affects wasen't effective. They had to rely on the actors, Screenplayers and the director. And think about how we admire the old gone stars. Look at Marylin, James Dean, Marlon Brandon, Frank Sinatra, Cary Grant, Katharina Hepburn,John Wayne and Steve Mcqueen,and menu others. When we go into a poster shop, there are all there on the wall. They have become legends of a time where it all seemed easier and not so complex-ed as it is today. But back to send me no flower. I get filled up with joy, when i see movies like this. The plot is funny and the actors understand how to make it even better. Doris day is as she always were, charming, sweet and sexy as hell. All the female actors of today, who are me-lasting there buddy to find the perfect sexy look, should learn from Doris. Not a single time, showed she her naked body or even one breast in the nude, but we men still dream about her. Maybe because she still left somethings to imagine. She never sold out. Rock Hudson the perfect man, plays as always with grace and man power. He has the perfect face and it was god who gave him the perfect match on the screen in Doris Day. But they where only that good, because they had the perfect third wheel in Tony Randall. I have never seen a man play so perfectly a drunk, as he dos in this movie. Those 3 together is still the best date for me on a rainy day.

I hope you all will go back to the old days to pick of some of those old movies and give them a chance. They might give you the time of your life, and then you might better understand why your parents or there parents always talk about that time in film history.

All the best to you From Denmark.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Send Me No More Doris Day/Rock Hudson Movies!
strong-122-4788851 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
No offence intended here, f-f-folks, but I seriously think that the only sort of person who could ever possibly get any kind of real enjoyment out of this completely contrived, suburbanized piece-of-fluff would be a total square.

This film's unfunny, badly-conceived story-line is, in a sense, very much in tune with its time (the early 1960s). In other words, it's a prime example of an over-long TV Sit-Com/Soap Opera at its absolute worst.

This is the kind of story that's teaming with despicably boring, suburbanized couples where the dreary housewives (in their teased-up hairdos and fluffy slippers) get their daily fix of local gossip from Ernie, the milkman, who never fails to have some juicy bit of dirt to stir up their interest and liven up their horrendously drab, little lives.

This movie, whose story gets more and more moronic by the minute, is overflowing with whining, snivelling characters and really terrible attempts at slapstick comedy.

And, in order to hopefully generate some much-needed laughs, this film's story actually stoops to getting Rock Hudson's & Tony Randall's characters into bed with each other. Of course, this business is all done very innocently, but, now that we are all very aware of what Hudson's sexual preference was, I take this dumb scene as being something of an in-joke that clearly went right over the heads of the movie-audiences back in 1964.

In my opinion, Doris Day & Rock Hudson made for a totally unconvincing on-screen couple. There was no chemistry, whatsoever, happening between these 2. And I would never, ever believe in a million years that a man of Hudson's good looks would ever find anything attractive or marriage-worthy about the likes of that annoyingly-stunned, super-flake, Doris Day. (Sheesh! Like, hey, give me a break, already!)

This film's wafer-thin story about George Kimball, a hypochondriac pain-in-the-neck, who tells everyone else, except his nagging wife, Judy, that he believes he's only got 2 weeks to live, literally hangs onto its wits by a single thread. And, with that, it milks this stupidest of situations right to its very last drop. (Ho-Hum!)

*Trivia note* - This film's title song, which was sung by Doris Day, was written by Hal David & Burt Bacharach.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Send Me No Flowers-No Bouquet for this One **
edwagreen23 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Last and definitely the worst of the Doris Day-Rock Hudson trilogy marks this 1964 film.

The picture is done in by miserable writing and a story line that you can only take too far. It's basically the story of a hypochondriac who misunderstands his situation in the doctor's office and comes away with the idea that he is dying. Now, this is not exactly Rock Hudson's type of genre.

Rock eventually tells wife Doris about all this and there is complete mayhem and more misunderstanding when Doris discovers this isn't so. She feels that Rock has told her this to cover up an alleged affair.

Tony Randall again joins the Hudson-Day team, but this time he talks in a monotonous tone of voice, as the next door neighbor caught up in this nonsense.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Good Cast, Poor Script
doctorj-115 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Three stars out of ten.

There's some funny material here, but some actions are just plain arbitrary. Towards the climax, Doris Day is leaving Rock Hudson and goes to the train station, but changes her mind and decides not to buy a ticket. After arguing with her husband, she gets upset and goes home to pack! Huh? Why wouldn't she have brought her luggage with her when she was getting ready to leave??

I really think the earlier scripts written by Stanley Shapiro were better stories.

The opening scenes of advertisements for remedies playing while Rock Hudson turned in his sleep was funny enough.

Every time Doris Day looks in the medicine cabinet or otherwise deals with his pills, there's a little sound effect that plays. I found it rather distracting, like something from an annoying children's movie.

Tony Randall has the best jokes, especially while he's working on the eulogy.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One scene memory
SquirePM12 August 1999
A Jaguar sports car pulls up to the curb, and out gets Clint Walker. He stands up, and up, and up, all 6'6" of him beside that low-slung Jag. WOW. 3 seconds of unforgettable film.

This was a funny film in its day. I haven't seen it in 35 years, though, so who knows how it holds up? But it had a classic comedy cast, and that one brief memorable scene....
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Day and Hudson's Third and Last Pairing in a Freewheeling Marital Farce Stolen by Randall
EUyeshima17 March 2008
After directing Doris Day in 1963's still-hilarious "The Thrill of It All!", Norman Jewison showed similar comic sensibilities with this screwball 1964 marital farce complemented by a sharp screenplay by longtime veteran Julius Epstein. This one represents something of a departure in that Day and Rock Hudson, in their third and last pairing, play a married couple from the outset. As George and Judy Kimball, they are a happily married suburban couple hamstrung by his persistent hypochondria. Convinced that he is dying after a regular check-up, George spends the rest of the story preparing for what he thinks will be his imminent death, including setting up Judy with her next husband, a former suitor whom they literally run into at their country club.

Unlike the previous two films, Hudson actually dominates this movie, and he is in peak comic form with a dryly funny turn as George. With her glamour minimized in favor of her homespun likability, Day is relegated to the role of the confused wife here, though she has funny moments along the way. Randall steals practically all his scenes as devoted neighbor Arnold constantly in a drunken stupor in his premature bereavement over George's departure, and Paul Lynde has a riotous scene as an overly zealous memorial park director. This one may lack the will-she-won't-she dilemma of the first two films, 1959's "Pillow Talk" and 1961's "Lover Come Back" and is usually dismissed as a domestic comedy, but I think the set-up is genuinely clever and the laughs well-earned. The only extra on the 2005 DVD is the original theatrical trailer. For those interested in all three films, your best bet is to purchase the bargain-priced "Doris Day and Rock Hudson Comedy Collection".
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very Suprising
kerstinmkelly12 June 2019
I bought this movie on DVD a few weeks after Doris Day died, and it was delightful. Although the plot concept was unique, it was still predictable, but in a good way. It was funny, sad, romantic-all in one! And I'm glad that I now own it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Look, you're dealing with your wife. You can forget the Constitution.
Spikeopath19 May 2019
Send Me No Flowers is directed by Norman Jewison and collectively written by Julius J. Epstein, Norman Barasch and Carroll Moore. It stars Doris Day, Rock Hudson, Tony Randall, Clint Walker, Edward Andrews, Paul Lynde and Patricia Barry. Music is by Frank De Vol and cinematography by Danial Fapp.

A hypochondriac believes he is dying and makes plans for his wife, which creates many misunderstandings for themselves and everyone around them...

The pairing of Hudson and Day was an utter joy, producing romantic comedy escapism from the upper echelons of such genre stations. Send Me No Flowers is the last of their collaborations, so how wonderful to find it to be a grand way to bow out.

In parts it's thunderously mirthful, even joyously tasteless in the process, in others it's mature and smart about the subjects to hand. Cast are on fire across the board, but this is undoubtedly Hudson's show all the way. He puts a gracefulness into what is a tricky role, while his sly comedic timing - both visually and vocally - is top dollar.

This is a guaranteed bad mood lifter, a pic to blow away the black clouds for a while. The actors are great company to be in, the writing cunning with humorous intent. From some nifty animation at pic's start to introduce Hudson's character's hypochondria, to the sight of the hulking Clint Walker getting out of the world's smallest car! this never lets up on the passion to entertain us. 8/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Three plots in a marriage is too much.
mark.waltz15 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The last of the Doris Day and Rock Hudson teaming is a marital farce that has Rock playing a hypochondriac cool, believing that he's dying, arranges to help wife Day find her next husband, believing she is incapable of taking care of herself. if that surely isn't enough grounds for divorce, it's Day's belief that he's cheating on her, if not with recently divorced Patricia Barry than somebody else. Next door neighbor pal Tony Randall is little to no help, not at all trying to get Hudson to see that his paranoia over his health is absurd and aiding Hudson recklessly in his attempts to win his wife back. Day's hunky former college boyfriend (Clint Walker) shows up, seemingly more than ready to become husband number two, and when the truth comes out, Hudson will have more than just a hefty medical bill to deal with.

Amusing performances by Edward Andrews as Hudson's long time doctor and Paul Lynde as a local cemetery plot salesman add a great deal of humor to this comedy that is quite sitcomish in its structure. Day gets an interesting recording of the title song over the opening credits that sounds like three different recordings overlapped together. The focus is more on Hudson here with Doris as the reactor, getting two farcial moments, first dealing with an armful of groceries from the gossipy milkman while locked out of the house and then later on a runaway golf cart getting soaked as it goes through sprinklers.

This is perhaps the most likeable Hudson was in any of the three films he was in with Doris, although his character is a bit of a fool. The script is weak in the sense that it follows the trends of lots of other marital comedies at the time and doesn't have any original ideas to present, with the audience completely aware that everything will be resolved in the nick of time and that both the well intended Randall and the macho Walker will get their comeuppance in the end.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Harmless and predictable
preppy-320 July 2003
Hypochondriac Rock Hudson mistakenly thinks he's dying. With the help of pal Tony Randall he tries to find a suitable second husband for wife Doris Day.

It's cute and harmless and even has a very very funny moments (particularly with Paul Lynde) but ultimately this is a predictable, silly and disappointing comedy. Most of the jokes are amazingly unfunny and the actors just simply can't put them across. Randall, Day and Hudson still work fine together which helps a lot. Surprisingly Day seems very subdued in this film while Hudson is very good in his role.

All in all it's very OK--but that's about it. Still, I didn't hate watching it. I'm giving it a 7 (mostly for Lynde's 2 scenes).
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed