Frankenstein Conquers the World (1965) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
54 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Guilty Pleasure.
boris-261 March 2001
Here's a movie about a radioactive child growing into a large, homeless 100 foot tall looking brute who grunts, and then fights a nappy looking dinosaur. Okay, it's not Ingmar Bergman, but damn, is it silly, fun and entertaining. It's chock full of cliches, but the pace is amazingly fast. One of the best elements of this happy cinematic misfire is actor Tadao Takashima. His normally bland white-lab coated scientist has some fascinating charcater elements (He's an alky, and has an interesting dark streak) The VHS copy I have has tacked on the ending where Frankenstein vs. A-Big-Octopus-That-Comes-Out-Of-Nowhere. Silly, and fun. Cool party movie.
14 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
More Toho fun!
Tin Man-54 January 2000
Deep within the heart of me exists a love for films featuring giant creatures battling it out for supremecy in the streets of Tokyo. I just remember watching them with anticipation as a small child, waiting in anxiety to see who the victor would be of these mommoth clashes. Of course, with familiar characters like Gamera, Rodan, Mothra, Ghidra, Gigan, Baragon, King Kong, and, of course, Godzilla stomping Tokyo in each film, this one, titled "Frankenstein vs. Baragon" here in the U.S., takes the cake for taking the most risks.

This film sets up many important things for the Toho universe: It introduces Baragon, who would later become a favorite of the genre. In additon, it makes political statements on nuclear testing. Oh, and on a side-note, it also *takes Frankenstein's monster, grows him to giant heights, pits him against Baragon, and puts a classic Gothic monster's face into the gallery of gigantic monsters to rummage Japan.* If you aren't impressed by the first two factors, at least appretiate the third one simply for its camp value.

AND WHAT CAMP VALUE IT IS! The fights in this are some of the best of the Toho universe. Frankenstein looks like an overgrown caveman, and Baragon is effectively established as a leading monster. And while most of the battles simply take place in a few mountains outside of-- you guessed it-- Tokyo, the fun still exists, and its as just as a good time as you'll find in any given Godzilla or Gamera flick.

Silly, cliched, stupid, pointless...and one heckuva good time! LOOK OUT FOR THE BEATING HEART OF FRANKENSTEIN! AND WHATEVER YOU DO, DON'T EAT IT!

*** out of ****
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Frankenstein Conquers The World: Toho does Frankenstein
Platypuschow19 February 2019
The legend of Frankenstein and his various adventures have been covered to a crazy degree over the years but right here we have horror legends Toho take a stab at it. Sadly it appears they weren't told very much before they wrote the screenplay.

Assisted once again by a US studio (Which has always been to their detriment) this tells the story of a young boy who is discovered and found to be growing at an incredible rate. Before they know it he's grown disastrously large and broken free of his constraints, just at the same time as a giant monster has appeared on a rampage as well.

You can immediately tell that it's a Toho film, from the sfx to the one bit of score they keep using or mildly remixing. Several of the usual faces are also present including Takashi Shimura who has a blink and you'll miss it role.

The storyline is actually more competently done than many of these Toho monster films but in its place the sfx are a tad worse. The creature effects and that of our Frankenstein are fine, but every once in a while you'll spot something so bad it should have got someones butt fired (I'm looking at you shifty Boar and awful Horse).

What drew the most ire from me were certain logistical issues. For example Frankenstein is of course the name of the Scientist who created the monster not the name of the monster itself. As the boy grows the clothes grow (Hulk style) and various other little things that bothered me more than they perhaps should.

It's more Toho monster cheese, if you like that stuff this will likely appeal otherwise you'll probably scratch your head in amazement just how ridiculous it all is.

The Good:

Fairly well made stuff

The Bad:

Takashi Shimura is wasted

Frequent logistical flaws

Some really poor sfx
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad but definitely bonkers
ironjade29 May 2006
This is one of the more entertaining (and yet still bonkers) Toho monster rallies and at some points you can actually feel your grip on sanity beginning to weaken. Like many Frankenstein movies you do feel a certain amount of sympathy for the monster (not Baragon though, who looks like he escaped from a toy shop) and actually wish he would deliver a massive ass-kicking to the immaculately dressed, white gloved troops who are shooting at him. Baragon spitting feathers and the pig-on-rails scenes alone are worth the admission price. The sheer lunacy of this movie even exceeds that of King Kong Lives! Sadly the best scene is missing: the one in which Nick Adams' agent persuaded him to turn up for this particular engagement.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Movie. Buy The 2 Disc Release
richardbutch6914 November 2010
This is one of my favorite films as a kid. I have always been a big Toho fan. Godzilla of course was/is my favorite "Actor". It would have been nice if Godzilla would have been in this film as originally planned, but Baragon is just fine. Why this film has such a low rating of 3.7 is beyond me.

I have an original full screen terrible transfer copy of this film on VHS but I still enjoyed it. When I found out that this movie was coming to DVD I bought it as soon as I could. Boy was I surprised when I opened the DVD case. Inside were 2 DVD's. Disc 1 was the original uncut version of the film in Japanese with optional English subtitles and disc 2 was the English dubbed edited version. Both are 2:35 widescreen versions!!! If you want to buy this movie make sure it is the 2 disc release. You will be glad you did.

Later that night I put disc 1 in my DVD player and watched the movie for the first time in it's original version with subtitles on my big screen TV with popcorn by my side enjoying every minute of it.

This movie was made for kids and the young at heart. It is a fun movie and nothing more. I give this film a 7.0 rating.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Underrated and Entertaining
rogmeistr22 March 2003
As a fan of the genre. I had the opportunity recently view this film. As a child I remembered watching this film during the days of "Afternoon Movie Theater" I believe that it was called at Channel 7? It was known as "Frankenstein Conquers the World" and it was quite entertaining. I was young and things of that nature would entertain me. Anyway, back to my review. The movie starts out with a very eerie tone accompanied by very chilling and memorable music, thanks to maestro of music, Akira Ifukube. I believe the score of this music was excellent which I believe help or even save the movie at times. The audience is presented with a World War II torn Germany who gives up Frankenstein's heart to the Japanese. After it's arrival in Japan for experiments, Hiroshima is destroyed by a A-bomb and shifts to present day in Japan. Helps the movie in the fact that gives off enough background information. Anyhow, the Frankestein's heart was supposedly eaten by a young boy who survived the destruction of Hiroshima. Scientist's find the boy for further experiments after he has committed criminal activities (eating dogs, rabbits, etc..)for his survival. The boy grows in a rapid pace and has to be placed in a larger cell for his own protection. He escapes and hides in the forest and hills of Japan. The second monster introduced and first appearance ever in the Kaiju genre is the ever popular, Baragon. He does his monster destruction and eventually meets up the overgrown and poorly designed Frankestein. Of course this is main attraction of this film. The fight scenes are pretty kool and enjoyable. I don't ever remember seeing two monsters going at it as much as this movie, maybe the exception of Baragon and Godzilla in "GMK: Giant Monsters All Out Attack". Sufficed it to say, Frankenstein wins out and kills Baragon surrounded by a forest of fire. I happen to watch the Japanese version where the Giant Octopus appears and engages in combat with Frankestein and eventually fell off the cliff, taking its entangled prey with him into the sea. A prequel to "The War of the Gargantuas"!! Although I've seen the "Americanized" version of this film with the ending deleted, an earthquake type scene. With the flames in the background, the land would open up and engulf both Baragon and Frankenstein to the bottom of the earth. I still prefer the Japanese version. Overall, very underrated and entertaining film. But, believe me, the score of the film is what gives an added punch. More like, destruction, despair and sadness with a touch of domination. If you're a fan of the Japanese Sci-Fi genre, I would view this one.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
About the weirdest Frankenstein movie ever made
Horror Fan7 February 1999
A weird film with Nazis storming Dr. Frankenstein's lab and taking the heart of Frankenstein's monster to Hiroshima in 1945. What could happen but the Hiroshima blast. 20 years later eats the radioactive heart and literally becomes Frankenstein's monster. He eats a dog, a classroom bunny, and lots of garbage. He then starts growing and growing intill he is a 100 foot tall caveman Frankenstein and deuls with this bunny-eared dinosaur named Baragon in a fight to the death. Weird and very Japanese.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The King of the Underground World
jerekra6 September 2008
Frankenstein vs Baragon is one of the most under rated of the Toho Series. It is a highly entertaining film and one of only two Toho Films to star actor Nick Adams. Adams adds something special to the Toho Films he is in. Maybe because he is an American Actor who does not need his lines to be voiced over when the Japanese movies he is in are transferred over to English.

Basically the story goes that part of the Frankenstein Monster is taken over seas during a war and spawns into a giant monster. Basically this monster does not do anything wrong, he is just out of place. But he is blamed for many different incidents that are not his doing but actually the doing of the burrowing dinosaur Baragon.

For the most part I like this movie because Baragon is my favorite monster/kaiju. Baragon is what makes this film, not Frankenstein. Baragon looks awesome, has great abilities,(breathing fire, burrowing, jumps far) and has a great roar. THe Frankenstein monster just looks like a guy who has big teeth, bad hair, and walks around in a caveman outfit.

Baragon gets to have his only starring role in a movie, and I know I am being biased but I think that it is one of the best villain roles for a Toho Monster ever. THis is mainly because he is so secretive by burrowing underground and is undetected. Baragon gets in a lot of solid action towards the final half an hour. The fact that Baragon is responsible for the destruction that Frankenstein is blamed for is very similar to some parts of the original Frankenstein book by Mary Shelley. Strangely enough Baragon is not referred to by his name in this film.

The final battle between Frankenstein and Baragon is pretty good. Having to wait until the end to witness it definitely is worth it.

SO for the most part, the Frankenstein Monster is not what makes this film. Baragon makes the film. Watch it for my favorite monster Baragon.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Post atomic bomb surrealism from Toho via director Honda
nfaust14 April 2012
Rated 10 because this movie does not deserve the 3.9 rating in has (as of the date of this writing). It's detractors here call is preposterous and unbelievable as if Toho Studios had intended it to be realistic! Well, I'll let you in on a secret: they didn't. I just watched the 2007 DVD release, the 90 minute version that was not shown in the United States. With all the connecting scenes intact, one may follow a particular narrative logic, but its just enough to justify the film's wild, out of this world visuals. For once, this series of films starts out with a very human story. After the pre bomb sequence, we jump to (the film's) present and learn that a boy is scavenging the area for food. It is assumed that he is a casualty of the Atomic Bomb, orphaned and left to fend for himself like an animal. Introducing this character into the world of giant monsters, a genre that Toho exploited after the success of GODZILLA, makes explicit what the other films in this series imply. Add to that, the fact that the boy's blood beats through his veins aided by a heart carried across oceans, from Nazi Germany before the end of World War II. This Frankenstein creature is a child born from the unsettling union of war time villains; World War II's two fallen countries. He has been tossed out into a hostile world, destined to tower over all, feared and shot at, like the creature born of dead bodies imaged by Mary Shelley. The monster foe that Frankenstein eventually fights has been awakened from the earth's core. We first encounter it during an earthquake at an oil rig. The implication is clear. The Toho special effects were rather obvious even back then. But if you settle on the notion that the story itself reaches outside anything realistic, one finds widescreen splendor in the surrealistic visuals that grow more and more operatic as the film progresses.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Weird even for Toho
JoeB13128 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The only conclusion I could come to on this film is that Toho concluded that Frankenstein was the big American monster, so they had to do a movie about him to sell in America. And if that doesn't work, hire Nick Adams.

The plot is that in the closing days of World War II, the Nazis transferred Frankenstein's heart to Japan, where it was brought to Hiroshima and irradiated for good measure. The heart was eaten by a war-orphan who mutated into a Frankenstein who looked slightly imbecilic, but grows to enormous size.

Then there is another subplot with a more conventional Toho Kaiju called Baragon who is tearing up the countryside so the new giant Frankenstein will have something to fight. They then capped it off with a giant Octopus... yes, a giant octopus in the middle of the mountains! I think the director subscribed to the Spielberg theory that if you have the audience for that long, they'll go along with anything.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Several Cuts Above The Usual Kaiju Eiga
ferbs5430 March 2008
Well, he may not exactly conquer the world in this picture, but at least he gets off his usual home turf! In the very imaginative opening of "Frankenstein Conquers the World" (1965), you see, the living heart of the Frankenstein monster is taken from Germany at the end of World War II and transported by submarine to Japan, where it is promptly exposed to A-bomb radiation at Hiroshima and eventually grows, to become a giant, gap-toothed male waif. This lumbering doofus (who ultimately reveals himself to be the nimblest, most energetic Frankenstein ever shown on film) soon has a dukeout royale with Baragon, a sort of giant, spiny-backed, (heat?) ray-spewing, burrowing armadillo dinosaur, with no holds barred and no quarter given. Anyway, this picture strikes me as being several cuts above the usual kaiju eiga. It has been fairly handsomely produced, features very adequate FX (despite the Maltin book's claim to the contrary; well, that bucking horse excepted), and makes excellent use of its CinemaScope frame. Director Ishiro Honda, composer Akira Ifukube and the great actor Takashi Shimura, who all contributed so much to the original "Gojira" film in 1954, here bring their talents together again, with highly entertaining results, and American actor Nick Adams does his best playing Dr. James Bowen, a scientist working at the Hiroshima International Institute of Radiotherapentics (sic). The picture offers several striking visuals, none perhaps as impressive as the awesome spectacle of Franky and Baragon going at it with a flaming forest as a backdrop. The pristine-looking DVD from Media Blasters that I just watched offers both the "international" and the "theatrical" versions of the film, which differ only in the final five minutes. I much prefer the "international," if only because we get to see Franky (ridiculously) battle yet another monster in it. Either version, however, should provide an evening's worth of good mindless fun.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I do not understand the low ratings this film has gotten.
jaybob12 July 2007
Warning: Spoilers
My above summary does puzzle me. It could be that those that gave this bottom of barrel ratings saw the dubbed American International Release. the running time was also reduced.

I saw this last night(rental from NETFLIX) in Japanese with sub-titles & a 93 minute running time.

The correct title is FRANKENSTEIN vs. BARAGON

Granted the story line is very hokey, BUT there again MOST films of this type are & make no sense what so ever.

I liked the background story, it was at least interesting, I have seen more incredible plot twists than shown here.

The American actor Nick Adams has a major role & not just cast for Box-Office reasons.

The acting is OK for this type of film. One does not expect award winning performances, same for production values.

The special effects are good & final scene is the fight between ThE Monster (a mutant boy )& a giant reptile. we have seen these scenes many times. Nothing new or different..

My good thumbs up rating is mainly because I enjoyed it. & that is why we see movies, isn't it, to enjoy them.. So my fellow film buffs, be sure to see the Japanese Version & you will think like I do about this film.

Ratings *** (out of 4) 82 points out or 100) IMDb 7 (out of 10)
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
You must see the full Japanese version to appreciate this.
rixrex16 January 2007
The complete version as released in Japan is the one to watch if you can get it. There's a very nicely done opening that shows the Frankenstein monster's heart being taken by the Nazis and sent to Japan near the end of WW2. This whole sequence is most eerie, nicely photographed, and puts the whole story into complete perspective of how Frankenstein came to be a Japanese giant monster, something lacking in the American release dubbed version. It almost makes up for the horrible costume of Baragon, one of the worst I've ever seen from Toho. You'll wish Frankenstein was a bit more built here, as he tends to look like a giant adolescent. It's a great battle scene with the forest fire in the background, and generally the whole film is a nice, if uneven, precursor to the constantly misunderstood Frankenstein going on to bigger and better things in War of the Gargantuas.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
American versions: Better than the sequel
Adirondack12 July 2005
This film is extraordinary, and easily the most creative of all the Japanese giant monster films. I'm a fan of all Frankenstein films that came out before the Robert DeNiro (as the monster) one, though I haven't reviewed any for this site (yet). That aspect of the buildup of this film was great. If there was ever another Frankenstein film that featured the monster starting out as a normal human eating the monster's heart, I'd love to know about it. I've never seen that in any other Frankenstein film. I also love the creeping hand.

"Frankenstein" was an interesting giant Japanese movie monster and it's a shame that they didn't do a series of films with him (like with Godzilla and Gamera), or at least release them in America. Yes, it was a bit corny that he remained in the same clothes throughout his entire growth spurt, but there is nothing else on that level that you have to suspend belief on, other than the fact that he is said to be Caucasian, but looks more Japanese (especially full-grown).

Baragon just appeared like any other Japanese movie monster that no evil person/intelligent creature sent, but I didn't mind that. The film history with this monster is interesting. He fought Gamera, the giant turtle in "Gamera vs Baragon", and in that film, he actually breathed ice. He does not breath ice this film though-- only fire. One can only wonder how that would've impacted this film if he did. Baragon also made a very brief appearance in the Godzilla flick, "Destroy All Monsters". He didn't fight any monsters or use any special ability whatsoever in that film, though supposedly, he was helping the other monsters fight Ghidora. I believe he was the only monster connected to both Gamera AND Godzilla.

Why I think this film is better than the sequel, besides the Frankenstein deal I described above, is because it wasn't as enticing seeing 2 monsters who were so much alike fighting each other. I also came to like Nick Adams in this film, "Godzilla vs Monster Zero" and "Die Monster, Die" (not a Japanese giant monster film). He's cool and smooth and gets the chicks! It's too bad he died so young and couldn't star in more horror/sci-fi films.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie AIN'T cheesy
Atragon30 December 1998
Despite what certain Australians may tell you, "Frankenstein Conquers the World" is far from being cheesy. Nor is it the sequel to "Sanda Tai Gaila" since it was made before that particular film. Above average special effects are the center piece to this fun-filled Japanese monster movie. It seems that certain Australian needs to review this film one more time.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Strange, but strangely compelling
MightyGorga25 July 2000
There's no denying that this movie is one of the oddest of Toho's creations, but it's surprisingly moving in some ways. The all-consuming, rock'n'roll-loving "Frankenstein" is a truly pathetic figure (as is Nick Adams, though in a different way), and his fight with Baragon, cheap as it is, is still impressive, something of a low-budget gladiator match. I actually felt sorry for the big lug. I'm not saying this movie is "Citizen Kane," but neither is it as terrible as, say, "The Starfighters" or "Night Train to Mundo Fine".
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cheezy, but What's so wrong with Cheeze every once in a while?
Bulldog-519 June 1999
I have seen this movie before and right away you know that it is a large man rampaging through a miniature city. But....who says the imagination has to florish on common every day stuff. I thought it was really funny and compared the flik to Attack of the 50 foot woman. It also borrowed some orchestration chords from my all time favorite child hood monster flik WAR OF THE GARGANTUAS. Every once in a while we all feel the need to see something cheezy and not common. This movie is that type of movie. We know it is not real and just a dream, but why knock it? I wish it would come to DVD. I am a collector of Cheezy horror movies from the 50's, 60's and other eras. Die hard Gozilla fans will get a kick out of this movie. I personally thought War of the Gargantuas really represented what a real hideous beast should look like. If the Studios in Japan ever read this comment, please put War of the Gargantuas on DVD!!!!
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Frankenstein returns kaiju style.
kevinxirau16 March 2012
Wow, just when I thought I've seen it all. This 1965 Toho classic brings the reanimated corpse to the world of giant monsters and elaborate miniatures, an oddball idea. Believe it or not, Frankenstein was originally suppose to fight the likes of Godzilla at the time, but the concept was sorta dropped and instead Godzilla ends up fighting King Kong, Mothra, and Ghidorah. Without wasting the basic idea, however, Toho created this film and the result was "Frankenstein Conquers the World aka Frankenstein vs Baragon."

Plot: During WW2, the Nazis deliver the still-beating heart of the Frankenstein monster to Japanese scientists in Hiroshima who plan to use it for medical purposes. However, the heart was presumed lost in the nuclear explosion that destroyed Hiroshima. Years later, scientists discover a strange wild boy running around and find out soon that the missing heart grew a new body resistant to radiation. With greater access to food in captivity, Frankentein grows rapidly and soon escapes. Then, mysterious, destructive incidents have occurred and everyone's quick to blame Frankenstein. That's not the case as it turns out that Baragon, a subterranean fire-breathing dinosaur, is the real culprit. Soon a battle between Frankenstein and Baragon commences and the fate of Japan hangs by a thread.

Overall, this is an interesting film. It's pretty scientifically accurate and the miniature sets are fairly impressive seeing as how the monsters are smaller that their larger kaiju brethren. The story is also good and the music by Akira Ifukube is a real treat to listen. Frankenstein does look a little goofy with his buck teeth and unsettling shriek.

The monster that steals the show, however, is Baragon. Arguably one of my favorite monsters, Baragon has a great design, cool roar, and a nice set of abilities. The movie starts out a little slow, but once Baragon shows up things get pretty exciting, especially when Franky and Baragon have their awesome lengthy fight. They pretty much beat the living crap out of each other, making this one of my favorite kaiju battles.

This is a fun edition to Toho's roster of creature features. Baragon became so popular thanks to this film that he actually now stars in a few Godzilla films and video games. If you're a fan of giant monsters, then check this action out. I recommend getting the 2-disc special edition for this one. Enjoy!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
brilliant, this movie clearly had a major influence on Lucas and others as the special effects has one gasping for more!
Jidge8 January 2001
Clearly one of the defining movies of the 60s, this cleverly made film of a young mans quest (frankenstein) to prove his good in a world which doesn't really want him, has the viewer begging for more. Young Frankenstein loses a hand (i think) but lends a hand to the Japanese army as they desperately try to fend off the terrifying fishhead monster. This epic battle of good vs evil resounds in the viewers head with ripples of the everlasting balance between bad and good which leaves one shivering down to the furthest reaches of the soul. I'm not quite sure how the sequel could possibly measure up against this, but I know i'm willing to give it a go! The ending was so dramatic and perfectly climatic that I'm not really sure how frankenstein may be resurrected. At first one was left wondering, 'why the hell is frankenstein and the fishmonster randomly sinking into the terrain?', then it hits you, Mr. Honda was a true visionary. Their sinking was symbolic of an earthquake. What earthquake you ask? an earthquake that caused the shockwaves that would forever change Hollywood and how movies were made!

Don't put anything past these film artists though, I'm sure the sequel will dazzle the imagination again. This movie is not to be missed, I invite to you attend a feast on your senses, a play on your imagination, and a dance with your dreams that will have you hungry for so much more... Bravo Mr. Honda, bravo.

Very sincerely, Jidge
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The Clothes
gierran30 July 2004
This seems like a dreadful film, but can we really be sure about that. It's dubbed. Maybe the acting is brilliant but most of us will never know because we don't speak Japanese. Wouldn't that be embarrassing? To rant and roar about how bad these Japanese giant-monster-on-the-loose films are only to have them actually be works of art? Another thing I don't understand: The Frankenstein monster grows bigger and bigger in the most amazing growth spurt since "Attack of the Fifty Foot Woman" and his pants grow too? Shouldn't they have just split at the seams at some point, leaving him to strut around nude? And all the food he is consuming! It doesn't say much for the Japanese military that they can't find a 100 foot monster roaming the conutryside, leaving a trail of turds the size of busses.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Silly but fun.
Boba_Fett113819 April 2010
This movie seems like a silly project on paper but the eventual movie is nevertheless still quite fun to watch.

This movie is a Japanese attempt to blend in the Frankenstein creature with the Japanese monster movie-genre. It's like Frankenstein meets Gojira, only the creature in this movie is named Baragon, who looks like a giant armadillo, or of course better said a guy in a rubber suits that looks like a giant armadillo.

It's all quite silly of course but yet the movie works on a certain level of entertainment. You could basically say that this movie is just as good and fun to watch as basically any other Japanese monster movie from about the same time period.

You could tell that in the first halve of the movie they somewhat tried to remain faithful to the Frankenstein movie. They also tried to give the character a heart and let him struggle with the same emotions and difficulties the character has always struggled with in the Mary Shelley novel and all of the Frankenstein movies and tried to make the movie somewhat intelligent and scientific. It's not like it ever works out well enough or becomes believable but this is mostly because they did not go all the way with it. After all, it seemed more important for them to make a monster movie, so here we have a Frankenstein creature that suddenly starts to grow 4 times his normal size and battles Baragon, a prehistoric creature from the depths of the Earth, who has been awakened by oil drillers.

Therefore the lovers of these Japanese monster movies will be the ones to most likely enjoy this movie. It all builds up to its obvious ending, in which the Frankenstein creature battles the man in the rubber suit. The fight is literally laughable to watch but this is of course also part of the charm of movies such as this one.

It's all pretty silly but it was fun to watch!

6/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better Than Average Subplot
scruffy581 March 2008
Warning: Spoilers
It was a treat to finally see this classic film from my childhood. Of course, I was previously exposed to the truncated American cut. I was delighted to see that there were some better than average scenes underscoring the (at times) silly monster plot. I was very impressed with the relationship between Dr. Bowen and Dr. Togami. The ongoing dialog concerning the two cultures differences in cooking and humor was refreshing. I was also impressed with the sequences with Kazuko, the young girl dying from her exposure to the radioactive fallout from the atomic bombing of Hiroshima 15 years earlier. When she presented her handmade pillow to Dr. Bowen (as a remembrance of her since she knew she was dying), it was quite moving. This was a serious sidebar to the confrontations between the unfortunate looking Furankenshutain and Baragon monsters. The sequence when Drs. Bowen and Togami visit the grave of Kazuko was beautifully filmed and scored. If one saw that sequence alone outside of the film, one would never know that is was from a Japanese monster film. The entire film features one of Akira Ifukube's very best scores. As in other Toho productions, he really helped to humanize the monsters and give some pathos to the proceedings. His somber themes really do create a fair amount of sympathy for Furankenshutain. The ending of the International version is very different from the American version that most people are familiar with. The appearance of the Devil Fish comes out of left field and is rather awkward. As with all Toho productions, some of the visual effects are outstanding while others are less than convincing. This film is a welcome addition to my Japanese science fiction library. The film is a more somber than usual entry and it should be noted that the acting is better than average from the two leads - an effective Nick Adams and the very lovely Kumi Mizuno.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
fun movie very campy
matthew8722 March 2003
The frankenstein monster is a creature that can be used in so many ways,and so japan wanted to use their method tall monsters.The film is very campy and funny,and the frankenstein monster is very funny.The japanese monster has the hair just like karloffs,and mumbles alot.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than you might think...
dsgraham21200230 January 2014
My rating is 2.5 points higher than the current average, and here's why: The title, premise, and most of the goings-on are a total hoot. The 'creature' is almost hilarious to look at and his antagonist in the picture is like a hungry dog-reptile hybrid. Both are giants and the battle scenes are like a WWE Wrestling match. Nick Adams is a doctor who lends some 'credibility' (tongue-in-cheek) to this unintentionally funny Manga-style monsterfest. If you accept this flick for what it is and just sit back, you could feel as entertained as I was. An ominous musical background score was provided by the late, great Akira Ifukube, of Godzilla movies fame (the better Japanese ones, of course!). Give FCTW a shot. You might just enjoy it, despite yourself.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed