Fantastic Voyage (1966) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
113 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
You're going to see things no one has ever seen before…
Nazi_Fighter_David21 June 2008
"Fantastic Voyage" follows a surgical team of three scientists: Dr Peter Duval, the top brain surgeon in the country (Arthur Kennedy); Cora Peterson, his technical assistant (Raquel Welch); Dr Michaels, chief of the medical mission (Donald Pleasance), plus the skipper of the ship (William Redfield) and Grant (Stephen Boyd) the security agent for security purposes...

The sealed vessel—The Proteus—is reduced down by a secret branch called CMDF (Combined Miniature Deterrent Forces) and injected into one artery of a defecting Russian scientist who has suffered brain injury and he's in a coma from an assassination attempt... The crew must navigate to the scientist's brain (within exactly 60 minutes) where Dr Duval will attempt to dissolve the coagulum with a laser beam… After that everything starts growing back to its original size…

"Fantastic Voyage" is a film of authentic wonder: An ocean of life, the corpuscles, the heart, the lungs of the human body through which the crew move are exquisitely designed in great detail with artistic quality...

The plot creates unceasing moments of suspense as the ship and its crew are continually threatened by the scientist's natural defenses: white corpuscles, reticular fibers, antibodies and other factors… Leonard Rosenman's futuristic score nicely complements the adventure on screen with the strange sound of the human blood rushing through arteries, veins, rhythmical muscular movements, and of course, the sabotage occurred on board…

With two Oscar Awards for Best Visual Effects and Best Art Direction, 'Fatastic Voyage' is certainly the most unusual journey into the human body, where the 'medieval philosophers were right. Man is the center of the universe. We stand in the middle of infinity, between outer and inner space. And there's no limit to either.'
50 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Superior Sci-Fi Adventure!
bsmith55529 July 2002
The premise of "Fantastic Voyage" seemed very unlikely in 1966, however in 2002 I'm not so sure.

The story concerns a top secret miniaturization program being developed by the Americans and concurrently by "the other side". A scientist from the other side has the secret of counteracting the situation where the miniaturization effects wear off after one hour. Unfortunately, the scientist receives a brain injury in an assassination attempt. This results in General Carter (Edmond O'Brien), the commanding officer of the project deciding to "send in" a team of experts miniaturized, to the injured man's brain to repair the damage.

The team consists of Drs. Duval (Arthur Kennedy) and Michaels (Donald Pleasance), Pilot Capt. Owens (William Redfield) and the romantic leads, Grant (Stephen Boyd) and the ever lovely Raquel Welch as Duval's assistant. Assisting O'Brien as a medical expert is Arthur O'Connell as Col. Reid. Of course, as in most film's of this type there is the inevitable fifth columnist aboard. The acting is good, particluarly the performances of veterans Kennedy, Pleasance, O'Brien and O'Connell.

The real star of the "Fantastic Voyage" are its amazing special effects. Filmed long before today's computerized digital effects, this film still makes believable, the illusion of a team of people being injected into a person's bloodstream. To fully appreciate the effects the viewer should see it in its widescreen format.

Watch for James Brolin in a small role as one of the lab technicians. And if you get bored, there's always (snort, pant, drool) Raquel in her form fitting diving suit.
44 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
And What A Trip It Is!
ClassixFan24 February 2003
This film was originally introduced to me at about 8 or 9 years of age on a Saturday afternoon and it quickly became a favorite of mine. This film tells the story of a brilliant scientist who is injured on his way to offer the U.S. military some much needed info for miniaturizing people and objects and allowing them to stay in the miniature state beyond the now 60 minute time limit the military is faced with. With a top-notch cast that includes; Stephen Boyd, Edmond O'Brien, Donald Pleasence and Raquel Welch as the medical Dr.'s and scientists that are miniaturized and injected into the scientists body in an effort to repair a wound that can't be fixed through the usual means. The effects in this film are truly amazing and make for a lot of fun as the sub/crew journey through the body and face problems along the way, especially as they are attacked as foreign bodies by the scientist's own natural defense system. If you haven't had the pleasure of seeing this little gem, by all means find it and rent it and if it's been a while, why not revisit this film, I'm amazed at how well it stands up, even after almost 40 years since it's release.
35 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Classic SF and great visuals
screenscribe5057 May 2000
This movie holds up after nearly 35 years. The TV version is often chopped up for commercials and the print muddy, but if you can get a good video or see it on a premium movie channel, Fantastic Voyage will still produce a sense of wonder as you navigate "inside" an injured man's body with a team of intrepid explorers to find and repair microscopic damage. Some of the Cold War aspects of the film might jar, as well as a 35-year-old vision of "high tech", but the spec effects of the journey of the PROTEUS through the human vascular system was years ahead of its time.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty good little film.
susansweb23 July 2002
To answer everyone's question about how did Issac Asimov resolve the Proteus issue at the end of the movie; in his novelization of the film (which is a very good sci-fi book on its own), the sub comes out with everyone else in the teardrop along with "a very surprised white blood cell." The scene with Donald Pleasance gave me chills when I saw it as a child and having recently seen it again, it still is creepy. I think this is due to Pleasance's performance more than anything else. I do have to say that seeing Stephen Boyd being driven around the LA Sports Center (subbing for the top secret research center; they had to have everything removed by 5:30 in the afternoon the week they filmed there because sporting events were going on at night) in a golf cart seemed a bit silly but I guess that showed how important he was. With these kinds of films, one has to ignore all certain types of questions about how come this did or didn't happen when the scientists did this and just relax and enjoy it.
26 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Is there a doctor in the house?
inspectors7113 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
When my sister came home from seeing Fantastic Voyage at the State Theatre in Spokane in 1966, she raved about how scary it was for the crew of scientists, miniaturized by a secret government organization to destroy a blood clot in the brain of a wounded official, to be attacked by "ant-bodies," or that's what I thought she said. Since sisters are hopelessly stupid--and even I knew there were no bodies of ants swimming around in us--I figured the movie was too. A few years later I found out how the body fights off infection--ANTIBODIES!

I saw FV on ABC a few years after it came out. Boy, was I wrong about the movie (not my sister)! FV is a wonderfully exciting sci-fi adventure with all the right ingredients: Stern, bold heroes, sweating generals, a heroine with D-cups and a jump suit (Quit giggling out there; that means you, mister!), a cringing, rat-like villain, state-of-the-art special effects (ohmygosh, we've come a long way) and the coolest little radar dishes flapping back and forth around the wounded man's head.

This really is one of the best examples of good science fiction I've ever seen--it's adventurous, suspenseful, weirdly believable, and those, those death defying D-cups!

Houston, we've got a problem!
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fantastic Voyage.... a trip that's quite worth taking.
zeitschik14 September 2006
Back in 1966, long, long before the world was turned upside down and inside out on Sept. 11, the world was a very different place. The movies were quite different and science fiction pictures depended more on good writing and less on special effects. Partly because the phrase "computer generated" was years away. In 1966, 20th Century Fox released a very clever, well-written and innovative movie called, "Fantastic Voyage". The on-screen foreword informed the viewers that they were going to be taken to a place that no one had been before, and see things that had been, until that point in time, never been seen by human beings. I'm sure that this film had its fair share of technical advisors putting in a lot more than their 2 cents worth to make sure that the film accurately depicted human anatomy. The plot... A scientist, Jan Benes, has defected from behind the Iron Curtain, has, with the help of Grant, one of our top CIA operatives. Benes has decided to give his expertise with Miniaturization to the US. The "other side" has no choice but to try to kill him before he can breathe a word of it. The assassination attempt is made, but Benes barely survives, falling into a coma. After the movie's credits finish rolling, Grant is brought to a secret, gov't location. There, he meets Gen. Carter, who is in charge of the CMDF - Combined Miniature Deterent Forces. They can shrink anything; cars, planes, tanks, people way down in size, thus enabling them to become unseen military weapons. The problem: both sides have this capability. Another problem is... there is a time limit. They can only stay miniaturized for 60 minutes. After that the object or person automatically starts to grow. Benes had the answer to this problem, but he will need special medical treatment to regain consciousness. That's where Grant and a special team of doctors, technicians and such will have to go into action. After Grant meets the rest of the team, the surgeons in charge, Dr. Duvall and Dr. Michaels go over their plan to remove the blood clot in Benes' brain. They will board a special Navy submarine, called The Proteus, be miniaturized and injected into Benes' body by hypodermic needle. Naturally, the crew runs into Murphy's Law and a job that was expected to take 10 to 15 minutes takes much, much longer. The ending in the movie differs quite a bit from the book written by Isaac Azimov (I know because I read it... twice), and there are a number sub-plot twists that made me shake my head, but seeing Ms. Welch in that wet suit made it more than worth while. I consider this movie to be one of my very favorite sci-fi/fantasy flicks from the '60s. If you haven't seen it yet, for whatever reason, I can suggest you spend the 100 minutes with some very fine actors, some of whom are no longer with us, such as Stephen Boyd (Grant), Edmund O'Brien (Gen. Carter) and Arthur O'Connell who was in charge of the medical team, and others like Arthur Kennedy (Dr. Duvall), Donald Pleasence (Dr. Michaels) and last but not least, the ever-beautiful, Raquel Welch as Cora Peterson, Dr. Duval's technical assistant. One last thought.... if this movie was remade with present-day technology, i.e. computer generated imaging and the like, there's no telling how it would dazzle the viewers' eye.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Biology and Anatomy
bkoganbing10 September 2013
I'm betting that Fantastic Voyage had its biggest fans among science teachers in every high school in the world. If viewing the film did nothing else but stimulate a student's interest in biology it would be worthwhile.

I remember seeing this in theater back when it first came out and I can only imagine if computer graphic technology was available then what could have been done. As it is Fantastic Voyage won Oscars for Special Effects and Art&Set Design.

The concept is a fascinating one, diplomat Jean Del Val sustains a traumatic brain injury during an assassination attempt. CIA agent Stephen Boyd brings the comatose Del Val to a secret facility where under Edmond O'Brien and Arthur O'Connell. The army is conducting experiments in temporary miniaturization. You can see the possibilities there.

But now they want to know what the defecting Del Val knows so a team of five is assembled which includes Boyd, neurosurgeon Arthur Kennedy and his assistant Raquel Welch, and another scientist in charge Donald Pleasance. They are going in a submarine piloted by designer William Redfield. They and the submarine are shrunk to microscopic size and injected into Del Val. Kennedy will relieve the pressure on the brain with a laser, also miniaturized.

Our team deals with the various hazards and defenses the human body has and some sabotage by one of the team who has their own agenda.

The special effects even viewed 47 years later are still a marvel. And if that kind of biology doesn't pique your interest, the sight of Raquel Welch in a white form fitting jump suit should work on another biological interest.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Great Thriller
Sargebri21 July 2003
This is not only a great science fiction film, it is also a great thriller as well. I especially loved the fact that this was supposedly done in "real time" and that the characters and that it was not only a mission to save the scientist life, but a race against time before the miniaturization wore off. Also, even though the effects are dated, they still were pretty good for the era they were produced in.
22 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great memories
mayzeedoodle4 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
As a kid, I loved this movie. I watched it over and over again because they played it at least once a year. By today's standards, perhaps people would judge it differently, but in 1966, with no computer generated effects, this movie looked absolutely plausible. It was entertaining, engaging and fueled the imagination of an entire generation.

This was the same year that Star Trek the original series began its run. Man had not yet landed on the moon, but there was a space program. So much imagination at a time when nobody knew what a nano was. Well done!

I'd still take this movie over something that was 98% CGI. Any day of the week!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
These People Saved My Life.....
palexandersquires24 September 2008
All I can remember, from what the Doctors Told me, These people, where miniaturised, in a Submarine, and injected into my cardioid artery. The first part of the voyage was incident free, until they met with a strong current, and set them off course. They had to go through my heart that the surgeons stopped, this was already slowed down as was my respiration to 6 breathes per minute,After they went through my heart, they revived it (Only just) and proceeded to one of my lungs. There they had to stop, as they ran out of air. You will never guess how they replenished their air supply, they tapped into my left lung and when i inhaled their air supply was filled up. Then they went into my ear and the surgeons had to be quiet!! and after that they finally went into my injured part of my brain. There they used a laser to repair my damage. after that 5 of the team swam towards my optic nerve and the surgeons scooped them out of my tear duct of my left eye. when I came to, the Doctors told me that these brave teams saved my life, and do you know what, I actually believed them. In this review I was reviewing this film , by pretending I was Banes, the shot man. This film is excellent if you want to find out about your body. I enjoy all the special effects, If I was in the team, I'd rather be upstairs, then inside Banes body. I would like to work with the Cornel and be on the computers. I also thought that the Proteuous was beautifully designed and looked correct. The effect of the blood corpuscles can be done with looking at a larva lamp, the blobs are similar.This film is available on DVD, but has to be ordered from Zavvi, formerly virgin record shops and costs £13. they can get it for you in 24 hours and can be delivered to your house for free, or to the shop. I for one, is going to try and get it. I thought that the man who played banes, had an easy part to play in this film. All He had to do, was just lie still and sleep all the way through the film. I recognised Donald Plesence and Racca welsh. So Ends this review I'm going to give this film 10/10.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This voyage is still fantastic and doesn't require any remakes…
Coventry13 January 2015
When I was a young lad, approximately 10 years of age, I was a tremendous big fan of a Sci-Fi comedy called "Innerspace", released in 1987 and starring Dennis Quaid and Martin Short. Little did I know back then that this movie was inspired and also - knowing the director Joe Dante – paying tribute to the 1966 groundbreaking adventure "Fantastic Voyage". You won't hear me state that this is a flawless masterpiece, or even that the special effects and visuals still look mesmerizing by today's standards, but it definitely still stands as one of the most imaginative and original Sci-Fi adventures ever made. The plot and futuristic world perspective of "Fantastic Voyage" are quite ambitious and grotesque, even for contemporary sixties standards, but that is probably what makes it so unique. I'm sure that, back in 1966, certain people honestly assumed that this type of scientific technology would be possible around the year 2000. The story actually is typical Sci- Fi fodder, only… completely different! Numerous movies of its kind revolve on an elite crew going on a dangerous expedition into the unfamiliar territories of outer space. Well, "Fantastic Voyage" revolves on an elite crew going on a dangerous expedition into the unfamiliar territories of INNER space! The titular fantastic voyage is, in fact, a journey inside the human body. When diplomat Jan Benes is nearly assassinated, a five-headed crew (2 doctors, a female assistant, a pilot and a safety guard) and their especially designed submarine are urgently miniaturized and injected into his comatose body in order to neutralize a lethal blood knot from inside his brains. They only have 60 minutes before the current miniaturization techniques abruptly stop working and they grow back to their normal size, so it's absolutely essential to succeed their mission because the patient is the only person who knows the secret to expand the miniaturization time! Okay, admittedly this last aspect of the plot is somewhat tacky, but don't allow it to ruin the fun! The biggest accomplishment of "Fantastic Voyage" is that Richard Fleischer, and of course his cast and crew, succeed in making our everyday human body equally mysterious and menacing as the outskirts of space … and even more so! The landscapes of the heart are more ominous than desolate planets, the cyclones in the lungs or tidal waves in the ear are heavy ordeals and our bodies' defense mechanisms are more aggressive than aliens. The story simultaneously also focuses on the search for a saboteur among the crew members, although it's fairly obvious from the beginning who this is (especially if you're a bit familiar with the oeuvres of the players). Raquel Welch's role is rather redundant, but she looks nice in her tight uniforms and her male colleagues were offered the unique occasion to fondle her boobs during one particular scene. Reading other reviews and posts on the message board around here, it seems that many people want this film to receive a remake. I, for one, don't agree. I would hate to see a fully computerized version of this film and will always prefer the charm and old-fashioned skills of classic Sci-Fi.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The dictionary definition of "dated"
Leofwine_draca14 April 2014
FANTASTIC VOYAGE isn't a particularly bad film, but boy, has it dated since first release! It's a film firmly stuck in the mid-'60s, in which the insides of a human body are constructed by a set designer with that era's psychadelia in mind, making it very much a product of its time.

Despite the then cutting-edge premise, in actuality this is pretty much a re-run of VOYAGE TO THE BOTTOM OF THE SEA, substituting a miniature submarine and crew exploring human anatomy in place of a real submarine venturing into the unfathomed depths of the ocean. With the advance of modern technology, both films are rather twee and old-fashioned these days, although not without their charms.

Part of the fun of watching these expeditionary type movies is the interplay between the cast members, and the cast in this one is quite good. Stephen Boyd (BEN-HUR) is the no-nonsense leading man, while Donald Pleasence is always good value as the chief medical officer. Of course, there's tokenism in the form of the statuesque Raquel Welch, and you also get Arthur Kennedy as a brain surgeon.

The special effects are rather dated and the plot is littered with holes big enough to steer a submarine through, but for novelty value, FANTASTIC VOYAGE is a fun little film - just not a classic. I much prefer the '80s comedy version of the same story, INNERSPACE.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Science Fantasy
screenman5 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Stephen Boyd leads an eclectic cast starring Donald Pleasance and Raquel Welch into places even Heineken would struggle to reach.

They crew a miniature submarine that becomes very miniature indeed.

Some bigwig has a life-threatening condition, and this is the only means to treat it. They are made microscopic and injected into the patient's blood-stream. But - inevitably - there's a saboteur on board.

The big bucks got spent on special-effects which were top-drawer at the time. Even today, some of them are quite impressive, especially the laboratory sets. Inside the human body is just an oil-bubble extravaganza. There's adventures galore, as our heroes visit all the different parts of anatomy. Sometimes it's a bit daft - but fun too.

Oh - and they're up against the clock, as well. They have to get out before the miniaturisation process wears off. A phagocyte threatens to engulf the crew even more dangerously than Ms Welch's bosom. And mind those anti-bodies!

Still well worth a watch - if only to see Ms Welch and her ample charms squeezed into a wet-suit. It's available as a double DVD with similarly-vintaged 'Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea'.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Combined Miniature Deterrent Forces
Spikeopath10 October 2009
A medical and science crew board a submarine and are miniaturised and injected into an important foreign scientist's body. The mission is to remove a blood clot on his brain that was suffered during an assassination attempt. Once shrunk and in their new bodily world, the team must battle the body's defence systems as well as avoiding trouble with the major organs. Also on a clock of one hour before they return to normal size, they have to also contend with the fact there may be a saboteur on board. This be a fantastical voyage indeed...

The crews voyage through the body's bloodstream and beyond is brought to life by the use of some splendidly inventive special effects, something which marks Fantastic Voyage out as one of the more visually appealing genre pictures of the time (winning Oscars for Best Colour Art Direction and for Best Visual Effects). It was also nominated for Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Sound Effects. It is in short a tip top tech credits production.

Based on the novel written by Otto Klement and Jay Lewis Bixby, the story is both imaginative and totally fascinating from a biology viewpoint, which is something that helps offsets the somewhat staid performances from the cast. However, are we really watching this for thespian delights? No of course not. We want director Richard Fleischer to take us on a perilous journey through the human body, and maybe just give us some suspense into the bargain. That is achieved wholesale, and while the the ending is a little too rushed for comfort, this remains a silly but wonderful filmic experience. 7.5/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Nice little SF movie, Raquel doing one of her patented frigid roles
mhlong2 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
OK, I have to tell this story. I went to see it, first run - 1966, on a double date. This was back in the days when you could walk in anytime and stay as long as you wanted.

So, we got there, sat down and (Spoiler coming), it's almost the end of the previous showing, and I'm thinking, OK, the climax must have happened about 5 minutes earlier and this is the denouement (concluding scenes winding down).

So we watch the entire movie and I realize as we get to it, that I saw the climatic scene when we first got there - they have abandoned ship (the Proteus) and are shooting through a mass of tangles and then make it through the optic nerve to the eye and are rescued. That was the climax.

Was I let down. It was actually interesting to that point - even Stephen Boyd's almost wooden acting, and Raquel Welch doing her best to look all sciency and proper. It was a nice average mid-60's SF movie, nothing special, but adequate.

I watched all Raquel's movies during this time - Fathom, Biggest Bundle. etc. She sure gave Jill St. John a run for iceberg queen. All show and maybe just the barest hint of double entendre's - her slightly undersized high collared uniform.

Of course, Donald Pleasance made the movie, like he usually did.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A trip through the human body
chris_gaskin12323 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Fantastic Voyage is one of the more interesting sci-fi movies to be made and I found it very enjoyable.

After a scientist is shot and seriously injured, the only way the cure the injury is to inject a group of fellow scientists and a mini sub and go into the human body. They enter his body and head for the brain, where the injury is, a clot. They only have 1 hour to remove this clot before they revert to normal size, so they cannot afford to lose much time. One of the scientists is a baddie though and trys to sabotage the mission towards the end, but he is killed himself and the others emerge through one of injured man's eyes.

This movie has excellent special effects and gives you an idea on what the human body really is like in the inside.

An excellent cast too: Stephen Boyd, a pre One Million Years BC Raquel Welch, the always excellent and creepy Donald Pleasence (Halloween, You Only Live Twice), Edmond O'Brien (DOA) and Arthur Kennedy.

Fantastic Voyage is a must for all sci-fi fans. Fantastic.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great for educational purposes
GOWBTW30 November 2005
I was in high school when I saw this movie, and I think it was very interesting. When a man gets in an accident, a surgical team get miniaturized and help save the day. This could prove anything is possible, the use of a laser was around in the 60's. And it was not meant for battling aliens, except in the human body. This movie is a first, reminds me of the old video game, "Microsurgeon". This movie has got a lot of great casts, and the plot was super form the start. When the time was over, everyone felt despair when the team didn't leave on time, but the guy who didn't give up was the hero when he saw them in the patient's tears. To me, hit movies like these are a must, this should be shown to young kids with their parents. THE KIDS WILL THANK THEM. I'm glad I saw this. Rating 4 out of 5 stars.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
`Grant, help! My hands are trapped! Get me out!! Get me out!!!'
Finch Face Malone15 January 2002
`Fantastic Voyage' was the first sci-fi movie to employ psychedelic special effects. It was released in 1966 when LSD, hippiedom, and the word "groovy" took America by storm. A medical team in a far-out looking submarine are miniaturized to microscopic size and injected into a scientist's body to fix his brain. They travel through blood plasma, which resembles the inside of a lava lamp. Then they get lost in a rainbow whirlpool and have to journey through the heart, lung, and ear to find their way to the brain. Raquel Welch strips off some of her clothes in one scene, while God and Darwin lock horns in other scenes. God triumphs over Darwin in the end, and we never see Raquel get naked. Rated: Gee

Alan Hale from `Gilligan's Island' was originally cast for `Fantastic Voyage', but was replaced by William Redfield. The actors that star in this film are all dead, except for Raquel Welch.
21 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Colourful Though Flawed Fantasy Adventure
Theo Robertson19 August 2005
To enjoy this movie one must turn off their brain as soon as the theme tune of 20th Century Fox starts . The whole set up is very hard to swallow - A scientist who know the secret of miniaturization is injured by commie assassins and now lies in a coma due to a blood clot on the brain and only by miniaturizing a submarine type capsule and sending both it and its crew through an artery can both the scientist and free world be saved . It's never actually explained as to why miniaturizing is such a radical development for espionage or warfare . Think about it does this mean you can infiltrate the Kremlin by sending an envelope containing a miniaturized army ? Seeing as the enemy are aware of the process they can easily protect themselves against this - By running a rolling pin over all incoming mail . And wouldn't shrinking someone to the size of something little bigger than an element kill them anyway due to the changes in mass ? Wouldn't air pressure alone kill any miniaturized person ? And wouldn't it have been a good idea to vet the crew to find out if any of them were claustrophobic before sending them on their mission ?

You understand what I'm saying don't you ? The ideas and plot devices presented are entirely laughable because of their nature , that's why I told you to stop thinking about it . If you manage this you've got a pretty enjoyable escapist fantasy once it gets started . You realise that if the capsule crew go on an uneventful journey we wouldn't have much of a movie so we find obstacles at every corner involving detours , anti-bodies and a traitor within and if none of this gets you excited how about Raquel Welch in a really tight costume ? What do you mean she hasn't been given any decent lines ?
25 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Blue Screen effects, straight ahead!
moonspinner5522 January 2001
Every time "Fantastic Voyage" comes on TV, I turn it on expecting it to be better. Better than what? The standard sci-fis of the day, the Irwin Allen TV shows. It's about on that par. There's the usual grueling technical preliminaries, the discussion over whether or not to take A GIRL along (never mind that she's a scientist), the setting up of the cardboard characters--with a madman among them (this is among the hoariest of clichés, going back to Hitchcock's "Lifeboat"). Why do we need a psycho aboard ship? Isn't the premise about microscopic scientists venturing forth into a human body enough? I did love the special effects, although the constant use of back-projection is hokey now (some professional critics said it was hokey then!) and I have no idea why the actors are all so stiff and unappealing. I guess with a $5-million-or-more budget on the line, 20th Century-Fox couldn't ante up the extra cash for frivolity. **1/2 from ****
22 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Fantastic nonsense
astronic24 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The film begins with a statement, in which the film makers thank all the experts without whom this movie wouldn't have been possible. When the first signs of bad acting, bad dialogue and bad special effects present itself (which is pretty much right after the end of the intro credits), I started to condemn the experts for helping with this film.

After the journey finally began, however, I was quite sure there actually have never been any experts involved in the making of this film. And if there were, I hope they lost their jobs and were burnt at the stake of science. How can shrinked people breeze oxygen molecules not much smaller than themselves? How can elite doctors say things like "in comparison to our size the air pressure inside is tremendous"? How can the dropping of scissors cause an in-ear earthquake lasting more than 30 seconds? Why are all characters luminescent when swimming around in what should have been pitch black in the first place? I could go on for hours.

The screenplay is equally terrible. Why don't they just abort the mission and start all over, instead of constantly risking their lifes and the life of the patient needlessly? Why does every character have to be that stereotypical and bleak? Who on earth thinks, that jokes like "This is a bad time to have no sugar" (spoken by someone who drinks his coffee with sugar) are even remotely funny? How could they have possibly forgotten that the boat (or what's left of it) will deshrink inside the patient's body, thus killing him and making the mission a failure?

I never thought I'd be saying this, but if you're interested in the "voyage into the unknown fantastic" kind of movie, avoid this one and watch "Journey to the Center of the Earth (1959)" or "The Core" instead, because beside the fact that they're also basically flawed, they're a lot less painful to watch (well, maybe just a little less in the case of the former one).
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A dated landmark S.F. film.
stew10025 June 2000
I don't think time has been kind to this landmark science fiction film. Though it was a hit in 1966 and paved the way for other big-budget S.F. films such as "Planet of the Apes," its story is silly, the dialogue stilted, and the special effects now seem primitive. The interior of the human body is created by a series of large sets that look like... large sets. The acting is often unconvincing, and Raquel Welch is especially stiff. As far as the science of it goes, the story is ludicrous, but as fantasy it's compelling because there's a one hour time limit for the "micronauts" to complete their task before they grow back to normal size. So, in that respect the film is exciting. Leonard Rosenman's music score helps, and though she can't act, Raquel Welch is probably the film's best special effect. If you're a fan of S.F. films and haven't seen this one, it's a must-see.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The book is better.... because it's written by dr. Isaac Asimov
huh_oh_i_c28 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I first read the book by Asimov which was based on this script, then saw the movie. Since Asimov removes some plot holes from the movie, I was a bit disappointed by the movie itself.

But in this story where a submarine with a team of scientists is miniaturized to remove a blood cloth from the brain of a dying man, there's still a lot to enjoy.

As per usual, there's a traitor, a female and a hero. And side kicks. The female character doesn't have a lot of lines, and the actress, Welch, is abused in the scene when she's covered with white blood cells, where the actors can fondle her breast area gratuitously. Asimov does a better and more scientific job of explaining that scene. Even though he did like him some beautiful women ... (actually, that's what Heinlein says about Asimov, which might just be projection of Heinlein)... he doesn't use it to celebrate inappropriate fondling of Cora.

Asimov also gives a more plausible explanation of how the Proteus is removed from Benes in the end, and the motives of Michaels.

But by and large, he follows the script faithfully. I'm grateful for his plothole repair.

There's some sort of irony here: Asimovs own books and stories, when they were made into movies, resulted in the most awful crap sci-fi movie ever: Nightfall. The same happened to Arthur Clarke and Heinlein. "Childhoods End" was really awful with seriously questionably morals and while Heinleins "The Puppet Masters" wasn't totally bad, it did have that movie of the week stench.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Has retained most of its charm over the almost 50 years.
TxMike19 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was released in 1966 when I was a junior in college. I was 20 and I remember it, though vaguely. I remembered the basic premise but watching it today, on 'Movies' channel, filled in all the gaps from almost 50 years.

This was a cutting edge premise back then, to miniaturize a small submarine with a doctor and scientists inside, to be injected into the body of an injured diplomat to find the blood clot in his brain and save him.

Now, in the 21st century we are on the verge of doing just that, but in a different way. Very small surgical instruments can be injected into the body, the eye for example, and controlled with magnets and exacting instruments perform medical procedures from inside.

So in this movie which is sort of an odyssey inside a human body, the group encounter a number of obstacles, each time needing to invent a solution. But the fun is in seeing the various depictions of systems inside thew body.

I will mention only one of the cast, Raquel Welch who was about 25 during filming, as Cora. Now it isn't totally clear to me why her character was essential, but she provided much-needed "scenery." Of course Welch went on to a good film career as a sex symbol, but at 25 she was about as gorgeous as she would ever be.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed