Yellow Submarine (1968) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
163 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Still Innovative, Unbelievably Colorful
ccthemovieman-115 November 2005
Over 35 years later, this is still an innovative animated film: colorful, clever and different. In fact, you'd have to look hard to find a more colorful film ever made.

The Beatles characters are fun, spouting a number of good puns and inside jokes concerning lyrics from some of their past songs. The bad guys here, the "Blue Meanies," are also fun to watch and really different from anything you've seen.

This is wild stuff which can appeal to adults even more than kids. The only improvement I would have made would have been to shorten it a bit. Even at a fairly short 90 minutes, some could have been trimmed.

The DVD is fine, except for the last 30 minutes when it gets grainy. However, the 5.1 surround sound more than makes up for that, affording the viewer to hear all these famous Beatles songs in a better format that surrounds you as a CD could never do.
38 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If you think music video started with MTV, see this film...
edman5924 June 2005
"Yellow Submarine" is a great film but it's not because of the plot or even the whimsical, non-sequitur filled dialogue. "Yellow Submarine" works best as a series of loosely connected music videos that pre-date MTV by 12 years.

If you grew up with MTV and you think that most music videos consist of 80's Hair-Metal bands "in concert" or rappers in hot tubs with women in bikinis, take a look at some of the musical numbers in "Yellow Submarine".

You have "Only a Northern Song" which is presented with Andy Warhol style pop-art images. "Nowhere Man" is a whimsical, trippy, rainbow colored cartoon. "When I'm Sixty Four" is illustrated by a "Sesame Street" style numerical countdown. Even "All Together Now", for which The Beatles themselves actually appear on screen, contains little camera tricks and quick cut edits that are common tools of more recent music videos.

The two best segments in the movie, in my opinion, are "Eleanor Rigby" and "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds". "Eleanor Rigby" uses black and white still photos of what is apparently Liverpool rotoscoped with occasional splashes of color to illustrate the dreariness of the lives of "all the lonely people." The full-color rotoscoped images for "Lucy", such as the can-can dancing chorus line and the horse running in the field, are beautiful.

If you are a fan of The Beatles, great animation, or music video, this film is for you.
38 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Inventive, hilarious, and visually extraordinary
ametaphysicalshark10 March 2007
'Yellow Submarine' is a visual stunner and an extremely well-scripted movie. There are lots of Beatles in jokes, George's fascination with Indian music and John's fascination with scientific theories are lampooned, the Beatles' power is joked about ("Nothing's Beatle Proof!") and poor old Ringo is just plain made fun of. The movie itself is arguably the most psychedelic ever made. The Beatles' descent into Pepperland is just one psychedelic scene after the other. The animation isn't great, but everything is just done so strange and fun that it becomes absolutely irresistible. The colors, landscapes, and creatures are just really different and vivid and vibrant. The songs are fit in very, very well (although "Nowhere Man" is undoubtedly the best sequence). Overall this works great as a musical or as an animated film, and there's definitely a lot of priceless, subtle dialog. I would name it one of the top 20 animated films of all time, really. Definitely worth watching, just because there simply isn't any movie like it.

10/10
35 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Classic For All Times! Ever
denis88811 September 2006
if this is a magic land, then this is Pepperland. If this is a magic film about this magic land, then this is Yellow Submarine. I believe, and many will agree with me on that, YS is the cleverest and most wonderful artifact of the hippie era. Here, you see no blatant drug references, no rude words, no endless acid space jams. No, here, the essence of the Flower Power time is represented as a smart, vivid, multicolored fairy tale. The idea that music may save the world and that the yellow submarine may be an escape from bleak, dull gray world is great. But even if we put this philosophizers aside, we view hilariously funny, colorful, brisk movie, with The Fab Four as a brilliant cast. And the lines! They are great, as when Ringo does exactly what the captain told him not to, or when The Nowhere Man starts his unforgettable gibberish, or when at the very end the real Bealtled appear, with all those quips and jokes. This is like a sweet, long, and very kind dream. May it never end!
30 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Have some nasty medicine, your blueness."
boris-2616 May 2001
Next to FANTASIA, YELLOW SUBMARINE is one the best animated feature films ever made. We will always remember the sixties pop-art imagery along with some of the best dialog to grace cartoon-land ("I haven't had so much fun since Pompeii....""I'm a born lever puller.") not to mention some of the best music to come from the best set of musicians the 20th century has produced! This is a kid's film at heart (wild adventures in strange distant lands, weird monsters, loud over bearing villians....) My only criticism is in the re-mastering, in 1999. The song "Hey, bulldog..." is added toward the end (A scene where the fab four meet up with a bunch of the Blue Meanies' bulldogs, and defeat them with the power of music.) The scene looks hastily slapped together,like something out The Beatles cartoon series (which was hated by the real life Liverpool lads. That's why they were originally not too thrilled with the announcement of this animated film.) There is a reason why these scenes are deleted, to allow classics like this to flow so easily on the screen. Anyway, a great, great classic.
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The greatest film ever
alexbcit21 March 2001
The music of the Beatles had galvanized an army of very creative artists who have accomplished the impossible, and created the movie that parallels the elegance and beauty of the music that inspired it. Many people feel that this film is a miracle, and I have the same feeling, especially when I'm watching it breathlessly from the beginning to its end.

Similar to the way the Beatles themselves have created many of their masterpieces, this film is the result of a "controlled chaos". Lennon remarked that many of his imagery and lyrics were just conceived off the top of his head, which is precisely the thing that gives them the freshness and spontaneity we adore. Same is with the rich and fulfilling imagery of this film -- it is obviously an outcome of the 'shoot from the hip' approach. It sounds unbelievable, but the film's ending (the most brilliant piece of all), was thrown in during one hectic weekend! Knowing this, it is not surprising to learn that the principal artist who designed the look and feel of the "Yellow Submarine" movie, almost went blind after finishing it (he set a grueling schedule of sleeping only four hours every other night during the making of the film! -- it took him several years to regain his health)

On a personal level, this film works as some kind of revelation for me. It is impossible to put it into words, but the film stirs the deepest, most contradictory emotions in me. It transcends space and time, and has the ability to bring me into the state where the regular, everyday thoughts do not apply. In that respect, it is as strong as the best Beatles songs.

Many criticisms of this movie are sadly missing the point. To criticise the animation as being jerky and unrealistic amounts to criticising Picasso for not painting more photo-realistic canvases. Misses the point entirely. To criticise the understatement-laden dialogue is to miss the finer points of comedy, insisting on the Three Stooges slapstick only. To say that the story line is incoherent is to betray the sitcom-infested mind in the sad state of commercial-induced eating disorder.

I must confess that I had approached the viewing of this film with a huge dose of skepticism. I thought it's going to look and feel lame, with a dated and naive hippy/psychedelia cliches. Boy, was I in for a shock!

My rating: 11 out of 10
46 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nothing comparable--EVER!
arbilab16 December 2006
What COULD compare? Yellow Submarine is 130,000 frames (90min x 60sec x 24 frames/sec) of classical, pop, tribute (to earlier animation styles), and original art from Da Vinci to Warhol to Picasso to Popeye to unbridled hallucination, drawn to a best-of-Python screenplay of non-sequiturs, puns, and pokes at institutions from cold-war antagonists to (governor) Reagan's paranoid National Guard deployment against counterculturists.

It's a feast for the senses and sensibilities. One can revel in the flashing, dancing colors and art styles--most of which well-shame anything Disney ever attempted and make today's phony-depth digital claptrap look like spilled esophageal reflux. The soundtrack is a condensed spectrum of the range with which Lennon/McCartney/Harrison composed, from deeply contemplative (Eleanor Rigby) to near-post-adolescent exuberance (Harrison's contributions) to silly-love-song filler showtunes (All Together Now). The dialog exchanges keep viewer's verbal senses on the edge of their seats. The theme undercurrents lightheartedly appeal nostalgically to those who were drawn to it in its theatrical release, historically to those who still wonder 'what the 60s was all about', without getting in the way of sheer artistic ebullience.

If you're an adult, it helps to like animation and British-invasion-era music (or Mozart, Bach, Beethoven, Rodgers & Hammerstein, for that matter). If you're an adult watching it with your kids (there's nothing offensive), be prepared for them to groan at Disney/Pixar/Nickelodeon rubbish from then on, and say "I want more of THAT!"
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a small review
saywardstudio15 October 2004
I will readily admit that I don't watch too many movies,unless I have heard good reviews about them or if it is an art film. While perusing the movies at the local library, I was attracted to the bright yellow case this movie was in. (I didn't know what it was at the moment.) Being a Beatles aficionado(sp?), I checked it out and brought it home. My husband was thrilled as he saw it when he was 5! Oh man. Get ready for a visual feast of color and sound.(and humor!) I was literally glued to the screen for the duration of the film. I mean, if you take your eyes off of it for just a second you will miss something. I love bright vivid contrasting colors so this was great, but it may hurt your eyes if you're into earthtones. I found it a great escape from reality and very light hearted. The art is fabulous. FABULOUS!!! I have seen a great many things in my life but NOTHING like this. Truly unique. Thanks for reading.
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
All together now, this is a fun film
Adriane5 March 2000
I bet you're thinking, "another Beatles movie?" but that's not really what this is. A wonderfully vibrant and gorgeous cartoon, and a treat for the eye and ear. This is how vivid and bright all cartoons should be. Great soundtrack of course, and the Beatles make a real cameo at the very end. Watch if you are a Beatle fan like me, or simply if you want a fun cartoon. They did a wonderful job remastering and cleaning it up.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Tiptoe,Through The Meanies"
happipuppi131 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I've seen "Yellow Submarine" many,many times since the 1970s,when it aired on local stations and even on PBS. However it's never looked better than when I finally saw it on DVD. The colors are finally more alive than they ever have been before! No black line film scratches or film jumps.

As a boy,it was easy to get lost in this animated fantasy although the more mature underlying ideas were impossible to comprehend. The good versus evil is something most Saturday morning cartoons were made of and I waited eagerly for The Beatles and the people of Pepperland to defeat the very scary Blue Meanies.

The animation is not Disney but as The Beatles themselves are noted for saying (on the DVD),if it had been a sticky-sweet Disney type film,they'd have wanted absolutely no part of it. The whole experience is bizarre,crazy,lampooning,farcical and many other verb or adjective you'd care to add. Especially in the building with many doors!

There's even a serious tone with the addition of the song,"Elanor Rigby",which plays over somewhat somber looking pictures of Liverpool and other sad things.

In the DVD we get a previously edited scene where the guys are chased by the Meanies blue attack dogs (while "Hey Bulldog" plays over it.) This scene was done last and one can tell the animation here is not as good as the rest of the film is. This makes the scene seem slightly out of place with the rest. It's the only thing I can say about the film in a slightly un-positive light. Still,it doesn't affect my rating.

Even though it's not the "real" Beatles talking,the quick quips and one liners are still funny as if John,Paul,George or Ringo had said them.

I love when Ringo sings,"Tiptoe through the meanies",when he and the others are sneaking through the dark while thousands of them are sleeping on the ground at their feet.

The message of peace and "All You Need Is Love" may seem dated to some folks but without believing in that to some degree,one wouldn't be able to enjoy this movie. The film is a fun psychedelic fantasy but the idea of world peace and the futility of war and dominance are not.

That idea alone is enough to rate Yellow Submarine 10 stars. I also rate it that for the incredible visual aspect of the closing,"It's All Too Much" number (written & sung mainly by George) and for the funny live action/sing-along of "All Together Now" at the end.

The only one's I see not enjoying this film are those who have become cynical or think computer animation or Disney are the only acceptable formats. (END)
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Psychedelic Perfection!
EmperorNortonII1 November 2000
"Yellow Submarine" is my favorite movie of all time! The animation is a perfect psychedelic display that would make Peter Max proud, and rival anything out of the Disney studios. This movie made me love the Beatles, and might just do the same for you. And, if you can, be sure to see the version with the "Hey Bulldog" sequence. I'd never seen that one until recently, during its revival. So that was a special bonus!
22 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
50th anniversary and just gets better with age
geoffmackrill9 July 2018
For one day only Yellow Submarine 8th July 2018 my first question is why only one day ? why not a full cinema release. However I was not going to miss this very special moment having worked on the film at TV Cartoons in Dean Street all those years ago in the cutting rooms.

The restored quality is truly brilliant, maybe almost too good, the odd bit of sparkle and film scratch combined with a little cel dust hide a multitude of slight imperfections on the original, but now the colours are really vibrant and the sound spot on.

I was able to view this one day only big screen performance at the Curzon Cinema in Mayfair. As the end credits faded away a great round of applause from a very appreciative audience both young and old, and I suspect a few others like myself who were there making it back in 1968

I wish the Yellow Submarine in this new restored 4k format a happy voyage to an all new audience, long may it sail.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yellow Submarine
vivific9 May 2006
In reviewing this movie with my 8 yr old son, we concluded that the message of this movie is that the Blue Meanies, which personify evil, want to destroy all music and individuality and beauty, which the Beatles, who personify Good, bring back Freedom in Art and expression which is represented by color and music. From what I see today in the sad state of the world and the repression of individuality, we need to watch this movie with our children. Not to mention that many of the songs are easy and a good way to teach them music! Anyway i highly recommend this movie! Enjoy it and learn out the Beatles and have fun watching it!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hey Bulldog Sequence Not Shown in USA
hobbayne6 November 2006
There have been a few posts here, which state the inclusion of the HEY BULLDOG sequence as an after-thought or as a bonus. This clip was not issued on the USA version of the movie (for reasons unknown) It has been shown in the UK theatres in this full version, and on T.V in the UK as well! No One seems to know why this was, It may have been deleted so as to not upset children (A 4 headed dog may have given them nightmares) Or maybe to keep the running time down. Anyway I thought I would just like to clarify this for you all! Maybe somebody could post the real reason why the HEY BULLDOG sequence was not included on the American print, Especially as the song was recorded specially for the movie!!

Hobb (From Good Ol' Lahnden Tahn!!)
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yellow Submarine in Wonderland...
dbdumonteil19 May 2006
Although they do not appear -unless the three final minutes count-,this is my Beatles favorite film by far.Dunning 's dazzling work revolutionized the cartoons as Walt Disney did thirty years before with "SnowWhite" .I love everything happening in it:the musical world of the most influential group of all time -it will infuriate the Velvet Underground's fans but sorry ,the Beatles are second to none when it comes to influence the whole world- on the screen .I do not care if "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds" was written for Julian Lennon's school friend,in the movie ,it is psychedelic fireworks.The Blue Meanies might be a nod to the Mouse House as they look like big Mickeys .The humor ,the puns and a sense of absurd ,of nonsense are true delight.It has often been mooted that the original songs were undistinguished:but "hey bulldog" is vintage Lennon and the two Harrisongs have madness going for them.Paul' s "all together now' is a good campfire song,it 's sometimes useful.George Martin's soundtrack -which was on side two of the original album and was replaced by songs included in the films (but which had already appeared on the Beatles albums )- was made with taste and respect for the audience.

The yellow Submarine is dying to take you away!A splendid time is guaranteed for all!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fantastic animated film
DennisJOBrien2 May 2006
I consider myself fortunate to have seen "Yellow Submarine" in London right after its world premiere in July 1968. I was a young teenager at the time, and my father had brought my sister, brother, and me to Europe for our first visit. The picture was showing at a large cinema called the London Pavilion in the heart of Piccadilly Circus, and The Beatles themselves had attended the opening just a few days before. It was great to see this movie on a big screen with a good sound system. We loved the music and vivid colors. When we saw it again in Boston a few months later, we were angry that the "Hey Bulldog" number and a few other bits had been cut to reduce viewing time. I think the "Eleanor Rigby" number is best. The animated montage shown during the "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds" number was partly taken from the 1933 Hollywood musical "Dancing Lady" and in 2006 I saw this old film on Turner Classic Movies, instantly bringing back memories of "Yellow Submarine." The girl on the merry-go-round horse was none other than the leading actress Joan Crawford .... who was beautiful indeed in 1933, despite becoming a horror much later. No wonder John Lennon's character in the cartoon liked her so much in his psychedelic dream!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Once upon a time… far-far away… behind the iron curtain...,
Galina_movie_fan14 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
...there lived a girl in a big city. She loved to read, watch the movies and listen to the music. Her favorite group for many years had been the Fab Four from Liverpool, "The Beatles". Her wish was to collect one day all their Albums on LPs (yes, guys, it was that long ago). She had a dream to see her idols on the concert or in the movies but it was impossible. Their movies were not shown behind the iron curtain; as for the concert, they would love to come to her country but were not allowed. Then, one day, her mom told her that in the cinema close to their house, the retrospective of the British Animated Movies would be shown and she mentioned one of the titles, "Yellow Submarine". The girl could not believe her ears. Could that be true? Did the yellow submarine travel many seas and make it to her city? Ringo, John, George, and Paul did not stuck in the sea of time; they emerged from a "Vacuum Flask to Nowhere and with the little help of a "Nowhere Man", Jeremy, they walked through the sea of holes "that stopped their minds from wondering"… The girl had to find out if it was true.

Next morning, skipping her college, she went to the theater. Looked like all college students of her city forgot about their lectures and labs, their tests and exams. Hundreds or maybe thousands of young people were waiting for the box office to open. The line was long but no one seemed to care – smiles, laughs, lively conversations and arguments on who were the greatest and most talented of four could be overheard everywhere. "The Beatles"' voices from several portable recorders were floating above the crowd. The girl hated long lines (she hates them now, too) – she had spent many hours that would combine into days and weeks of her life in lines. Unfortunately, they were the part of the reality in big city behind the iron curtain. There were two lines from that period of her life she still remembers fondly, though. First, a year before she waited for a ticket to Yellow Submarine, the world's most famous painting, Leonardo's "Mona Lisa" was brought to the girl's City's Museum of Art and for several months, the art lovers would wait for in line to see the most mysterious and celebrated smile ever captured on the canvas. Second, when she was the part of the young and energetic crowd waiting impatiently to sail with the Beatles on their ship and to help them to fight the Blue Meanies and their merciless Flying Glove.

After several hours, she finally got her tickets and the movie started. She was completely charmed and overwhelmed from the very first scene: "Once upon a time, or maybe twice, there was an unearthly paradise called Pepperland. 80,000 leagues beneath the sea it lay, or lie. I'm not too sure." d. The colors – bright and joyful. The whole movie universe felt like a bright and joyful dream produced by wild but very kind imagination. The Blue Meanies and the sea monsters that the fab four would have to fight looked like they were painted by Hieronymus Bosch in a playful and humorous mood. And then they were the songs – the main attraction for the most of the viewers. Please keep in mind that "Yellow Submarine" was made in 1968 – way before MTV and music videos but the way the songs were presented in the film, combined with the different sorts of animation, media, and cuts was pure art, pure genius, and pure joy to behold and listen to. "Yellow Submarine", "Hey Bulldog", "Eleanor Rigby", "All Together Now", "Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds", "All You Need Is Love", "When I'm Sixty-Four", "Nowhere Man", "Only a Northern Song" – just to name few of them. The girl's favorite was "Eleanor Rigby" – the combination of still black and white photographs of Liverpool that "can be a lonely place on a Saturday night, and this is only Thursday morning" with the color pictures of its citizens, "all the lonely people – where did they all come from?" with the "saddest music in the world" was heartbreaking. She also loved "When I'm Sixty Four" – the clever and funny illustration that one minute = 60 seconds is a pretty long time and "Nowhere Man" – sitting in his Nowhere land, making all his nowhere plans for nobody"...

90 minutes had passed too fast. The Beatles won their battle with the Blue Meanies and returned music, happiness, and harmony to the inhabitants of Pepperland. It was time to go home but the girl did not want to. She wanted to stay on the magic yellow submarine and sail with the Beatles to where "the sky is blue and grass is green" and "all you need is love."
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes"
Angry_Arguer2 January 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Superficially, 'Yellow Submarine' is dated to the early Disney days...at least that's how it would appear from the first few minutes. What makes it great is the mixing of different animation and art styles. Why can't Disney be this daring?

This is your only spoiler warning...

Pepperland is typical. The Sea of Time is sophomoric. London resembles 'Twice Upon a Time'. The Sea of Sides is complex. The Sea of Holes is one of the most mind-boggling constructions ever. There are so many different approaches that I recommend seeing this just for the diversity. This is far more exploratory than any Disney movie sans 'Finding Nemo' and 'Rescuers Down Under'.

Then there are the Meanies. Lucas stole from their designs and from the plot for 'Star Wars'. The Chief Meanie wears knee-high boots.

Overall, you gotta admire a cartoon that has the nerve to misquote Shakespeare.

Final Analysis = = Learn from this...
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Trippy as All Hell and Just as Fun
ikrani29 March 2014
The first time I saw this movie was in 2007 when my middle school art teacher put it on for us to watch instead of taking a final exam. Admittedly, I had no idea what to make of it. I knew nothing of '60s culture or of psychedelic artwork, and I CERTAINLY didn't know about the Beatles. The one thing I remember from the movie was the really strange, surreal story in which nothing made sense and my mind cracked a little.

Now that said crack has expanded into a sizable fracture, I can tell you that Yellow Submarine is perhaps one of the greatest animated movies of all time. It tells a lot through its combination of magazine cutouts and elementary school style of art. The animation is strange and the characters' outlines are ever-shifting, like the animators completely disregarded what they drew for the previous frame and went solely on memory.

The writing for this movie is EXCELLENT. Nearly every line of dialog spoken has a touch of comedy, if not more, and practically every joke is a bullseye. One of my all-time favorite zingers appears in this movie, when Ringo is accounting for what his friends are doing in the crazy apartment-hotel-flat that they may or may not live in:

Old Fred: What are your friends doing here?

Ringo: Displaying.

Old Fred: Displaying wot?

Ringo: Displayin' around.

BUM BUM BA-Dumb *TSS*.

Even though it's not the Beatles who play themselves, the voice actors they got mimicked their inflections as perfectly as Maurice LaMarche mimicked Harold Ramis in "The Real Ghostbusters". They changed the pitch of each voice a bit to help differentiate the Beatles from each other, even though George sounds nothing like he does in real life.

The villains are… Crazy. The Chief Blue Meanie is kind of like a psychotic and totally out-of-his- mind Queen of Hearts from Disney's Alice in Wonderland (the GOOD Disney's Alice in Wonderland), and his henchman, Max, plays a good straight man to the Chief's obnoxious and high-pitched screaming. Oh, and Mel Blanc a.k.a. The Voice of Every Single Looney Tune EVER has an uncredited voice cameo as one of the Blue Meanies.

And, of course, this movie has Beatles songs. My GOD does it have Beatles songs. Forget Beatles Rock Band: if the Beatles' songs were psychedelic drugs, THESE sequences would be what hallucinations would spring to mind while we experienced them. Not only do we have the four, count em' FOUR original songs written for the movie, as well as Yellow Submarine and the greatest rendition of All You Need is Love ever recorded, but we also have renditions of Eleanor Rigby, When I'm Sixty-Four, Sergeant Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, Nowhere Man, and Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds, though not necessarily in that order.

Overall, I'd recommend getting into the spirit of the Beatles before watching this movie. Speaking as someone who knew nothing about the Beatles when he watched it, this movie actually made me like the Beatles LESS due to the fact that I didn't understand them. But if you're a person who loves the Beatles and hates whenever American Idol and the X Factor butchers one of their songs, then this movie will please you to know end.

All together now...
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Unforgettable Beatles Animation Feature
Desertman847 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Yellow Submarine is an animated musical fantasy film based on the music of The Beatles.The film was directed by animation producer George Dunning, and produced by United Artists and King Features Syndicate. Initial reports said that the Beatles themselves would provide their own character voices,however, aside from composing and performing the songs, the real Beatles participated only in the closing scene of the film, while their cartoon counterparts were voiced by other actors.

The Blue Meanies take over Pepperland, draining it of all its color and music, firing anti-music missiles, bonking people with green apples, and turning the inhabitants to stone by way of the pointed finger of a giant white glove. As the only survivor, the Lord Admiral escapes in the yellow submarine and goes to London to enlist the help of the Beatles. The charming and innocent boys travel through strange worlds and meet bizarre characters, including the Nowhere Man. Several blissed-filled musical sequences and drug references later, the Beatles drive out the Blue Meanies and restore Pepperland to tranquility armed with only music, love, and witty remarks.

The movie is an animated meandering journey filled with puns and dry British humor, where psychedelic music videos take precedent over any linear story. What little there is of a plot, however, concerns a vibrantly colored place called Pepperland that resembles the album cover for Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band come to life. The swirling animation is a mixture of pop-culture images and modern artistic styles brought loosely together with a naïve antiwar message and some clever political commentary.

Also,the animated feature could be considered a family movie as it will definitely provide fun and entertainment to viewers of all ages.Also,it is characterized by a joyful blend of colorful animation and the music of the Beatles will delight anyone regardless of age.

OFF TOPIC:This film is was on limited released this year (May 2012).
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
a good time was had by all
arel_120 June 2006
We watch this movie often, and catch something new in the little details just about every time (how many of you caught the Ernie Kovacs reference?) When I say "we", I'm referring to not only this ol' hippie, but to various friends/family ranging from a 1 1/2 year old grandniece to a semi-Goth teenager to people who claim to dislike "old movies" (i.e., anything that's been in release over 6 months). I don't have to hold a metaphorical gun on any of the foregoing to sit them down to watch "Yellow Submarine"--indeed, they've been known to come in in the middle of it and plunk down to watch! Hmmmm... maybe all you need IS love!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You should watch this...
pinquishahottie24 March 2006
I think those of you who haven't seen this movie are losing out on a chunk of the world that is readily available to everyone, especially for people who haven't ever watched videos before. It embodies the whole of everything worth looking at, and if you haven't seen it, you should man. cause, its more important than most other movies, cause, it just is. have you ever wondered what it is like to see a movie that is so great and wallowing in its own self greatness that once seen, it would inspire you to run to the nearest person and tell them to go watch it with you? i bet you that you have, and don't really want to talk about it. have you ever been in a position where you have seen a movie so wonderous, that you would watch it again, just for impressionable effect? well, this move had that same effect on me, and it is in the realm of possibility that it might to you. with out computers, the animators really did a stupendous job on this one,
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A strange and unique animation featuring one hell of a good sound track
harsawa10 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Yellow Submarine is a film based off the song by the well known band, "The Beatles" It opens with an unearthly paradise called "Pepperland" filled with happy music loving people. However, the music hating "Blue Meanies" have taken over, and the remaining "Unbonked" citizen of Pepperland takes a yellow submarine to bring the Beatles, the closest thing they can get to Sgt. Peppers lonely hearts club band to save them. The movie is extremely colorful, there's practically no color that isn't used, some people may even see a color they've never seen before. The movie goes by quickly, but does not stop it from being a unique and bizarre story, and the soundtrack is an undeniably excellent one, as is the case with most songs by The Beatles. Some people may not enjoy Yellow Submarine however, some may find it childish, and some may find it too colorful and strange. That's exactly how I like it, and if your into that kind of stuff, check it out. If not, get the soundtrack for the very least.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Strangely, this film just doesn't click with me
BrandtSponseller25 May 2005
I should love Yellow Submarine. I'm a baby boomer (or at least I was born at the very tail end of the baby boom "generation"). I love the Beatles' music. I love surrealism. I love animation. Heck, I'm even an artist who paints primarily cartoonish, surreal works in bright colors. I'm a fan of the dada aesthetic. I like intentional silliness, absurdity and nonsense. In elementary school, I was obsessed with Edward Lear's Book of Nonsense. I'm still obsessed with Alice in Wonderland, The Wizard of Oz, Charlie and the Chocolate factory and so on. When I was a kid in the early 1970s, I can still vividly recall watching Yellow Submarine on broadcast television (I can't imagine NBC, ABC or CBS showing this during a prime time slot now) and being entranced by it. But I'm not sure if I've watched Yellow Submarine since then, and this time, it just didn't click with me.

The story, which initially grew out of the lyrics of Yellow Submarine before incorporating ideas from other Beatles songs, begins in Pepperland, which is supposedly located deep beneath the sea, even though nothing there appears wet or underwater. Everything is fine in Pepperland at first, but it's not long before the neighboring Blue Meanies decide to attack Pepperland (it could have been that they just lived in another section--maybe the "ghetto" of Pepperland), primarily with green apple "bombs", which has the result of "freezing" the Pepperland citizens and most importantly stopping their music. Fred (Lance Percival) manages to avoid the apple bombs--he's one of the only persons who remains unscathed, and upon the advice of the Mayor (Dick Emery), he sets off in Pepperland's Yellow Submarine to search for help in fighting the Blue Meanies. He ends up in Liverpool, and runs into Ringo first. Ringo recruits the rest of the Beatles, and they begin a series of misadventures as they work their way towards Pepperland in the Yellow Submarine to see what they can do.

The animation is interesting conceptually. It's strongly psychedelic, of course, which means that it has a surrealist, dreamlike, hallucinatory logic behind it. The colors are bright and garish (which is a good quality to me). Although the animation is nicely varied stylistically, it often resembles a cross between a Peter Max painting and Joan Miro's work from the late 1920s on, with elements of Roger Dean landscapes thrown in for good measure (the Dean element probably wasn't an influence but an example of synchrony unless Dean happened to work on the film some--he was in London, in art school, in 1967).

Given those characteristics, it's no surprise that I love the conceptual basis. However, the realization isn't quite so successful. The main sticking point for me, technically, was that I couldn't get over the glaringly obvious shortcuts continually taken to lessen the workload. There are segments that are just still pictures with maybe one tiny element animated. A lot of the animation consists of repeating segments. The "Nowhere Man" sequence is half-animated, the other half of the song is the first part run in reverse. Pieces of animation reappear throughout the film. Some scenes are just still pictures on a multi-plane system and motion arises only from the planes and camera moving at different rates and angles. Way too much of the film has the feel of super-low-budget Saturday morning cartoons.

On the other hand, even that wouldn't have to sink the film. I'm a big Scooby-Doo fan and the cut-rate animation style from the early years actually has a kind of quirky charm to me.

The problem was more a combination of factors. In Scooby-Doo, the focus is on characterization and story. The discount animation style plays second banana. Yellow Submarine doesn't have much in the way of characterization or a coherent, gripping story. The dialogue is purposefully nonsensical--often it's just a string of arbitrary puns, and The Beatles (whose dialogue is voiced by others) mostly mumble. Even some of the other characters are relatively unintelligible. Instead, we're asked to engage with the film on the more psychedelic level, based largely on the visuals. But the visuals weren't executed well enough to work for me, so I mostly found myself doing three things: thinking "Hey, this stuff is simple enough that I can figure out some basic animation techniques by watching it", intermittently watching my DVD counter while I wondered how long the film would go on, and waiting for the next Beatles song.

The Beatles songs in the film are great, of course. Without them, I surely would have given the film an "F" (a 4 or below). The animation for the songs can even work occasionally, at least until you get to the laborious 1 – 64 count on "When I'm 64", which was like watching my DVD player's clock take over the television screen. If Yellow Submarine were just some loosely tied together music video I might have given it a higher score. A majority of the frames work as drawings/paintings for me, and I actually like quite a bit of the Blue Meanies animation, but on the whole, the film just didn't click. Maybe I wasn't in the mood for it. Maybe next time.
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed