$ (1971) Poster

(1971)

User Reviews

Review this title
25 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Decent Heist Movie
imdb-2162231 December 2009
I like heist movies. This one is a bit different.

I liked the style of the movie a lot. The music and the camera work were pretty interesting.

I noticed some reviewers were confused by the plot. It's the viewers job to fill in some blanks. Some people will dislike that, others will appreciate that their intelligence is not being insulted.

The movie consists of three main sections. The intro, the heist and the getaway. Goldie Hawn is adorable in the intro section. Beatty does a nice job during the heist section. The getaway is the weak part of the movie, if only because it challenges my ability to suspend my disbelief. Some parts of it were cool though.

I think Beatty was convincing both as a security expert and thief. Hawn, as mentioned above is adorable (I admit I have always found her attractive.) Reasons to watch the movie - you like Beatty, you like Hawn, you like heist movies (though there are better,) or you like quirky 70s movies. The last item should not be overlooked, because there's a distinctive style in certain 70s movies that's no longer seen - for example the implication that sex and drugs and alcohol is simply a lifestyle, rather than a problem that needs to be addressed.
18 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Groovy heist flick...but what happened to the ending?
moonspinner5521 January 2001
American banking engineer, orchestrating the opening of a high-tech new bank in Germany, conspires to rip-off a gang of crooks and low-lifes who keep their loot in private boxes at the branch. There is quite a long set-up to the protracted chase in this film; luckily it involves a daffy, wonderful Goldie Hawn as a hooker/accomplice to thief Warren Beatty. Hawn is a living, breathing cliffhanger, you never know what she's going to do next. In the middle of the hysteria, there's a beautifully modulated moment where she tells Beatty about a screen-test she did for the movies ("First take, nothing. Second take, I dunno know...tears. Third take, I forgot my own name. And I made it up myself!"). The chase takes up about two entire reels, and it's been edited with hairbreadth timing. I also loved what first appeared to be a twist ending: someone dupes someone else, and then in turn gets duped. It would've been an awesome climax, but there's a weird tag at the very end of the picture (ostensibly to wrap it up with a bow) which is sort of a letdown. It seems to involve none of the participants--only their props!--which leads me to believe this was a post-production/last minute decision. Still, "$" (pronounced "Dollars") is funny, smart, and filmed in a cool, jazzy style that is no longer fashionable but certainly memorable. ***1/2 from ****
20 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Longest Chase Scene Ever?
ccthemovieman-17 May 2006
A two-hour bank heist flick with the final 20 minutes featuring one of the longest chase scenes I've ever seen on film. In fact, Warren Beatty and the two guys chasing him must have been Olympic marathon runners to keep up that pace for so long, racing through Hamburg, Germany.

This is a mixture of lighthearted and gritty material about an international robbery.

Joining Beatty ("Joe Collins") in the hijinks is a young Goldie Hawn ("Dawn Divine") and "Goldfinger" of James Bond fame, Gerte Frobe. Scott Brady and Robert Webber also give shorter-but- memorable performances. In all, entertaining but not real heavy in the brains department.

Nice to see this has finally been issued on DVD, and has a nice transfer.
28 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
world's most exhausting chase scene
blanche-216 August 2014
"$" from 1971 stars Warren Beatty, Goldie Hawn, Scott Brady, Gert Frobe, and Robert Webber. Filmed in Europe, the story is about a bank security expert (Beatty) who plans on robbing said bank -- but only the safe deposit boxes belonging to thieves who can't go to the police. He's helped by a prostitute (Hawn) who has entertained these guys.

Very good heist film, with the world's longest and most exhausting chase scene I've ever seen. You'll be ready for bed by the time it's over. Warren Beatty is terrific as the cool, self-assured security man who somehow remains calm in the face of adversity. Hawn is a riot as a former Las Vegas showgirl who is a nervous wreck about her part in the heist.

I would only say, at 2 hours plus, it's a little long for what it is. They could have cut as much as a half an hour and been fine.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An unknown masterpiece!
JimHammond16 October 2002
I loved this movie, and it is one of the more memorable movies I have ever seen. It has the perfect mix of character development, humor, drama, location, kooky characters, shady characters and plot twists. The chase scene climax (lasting about thirty minutes) is similar to that of "The Road Warrior" - something that keeps on going on and where you never get bored. Beatty and Hawn did their best work together in this flick, and it gives the viewer a snapshot of what it was like to be alive in the era of the early seventies. If you are looking to see a "lost classic", this movie will do it.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
heist with some plot holes
SMK-422 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This is generally quite an enjoyable heist movie, though the plot (of the heist) has some enormous holes you can drive a bus through. The problem with the heist is first its conception: its main perpetrator should be pretty obvious to all affected, and the information that the heist actually took place would not simmer through to the police is totally unrealistic; the second problem is the sheer coincidence that a string of crooks not only all use the same set of deposit boxes, no - they also just happen to frequent the same prostitute - who then somehow gets together with a bank employee who just happens to be master safe cracker. Hm! I have less of a problem with the conduct of the final chase - which some other commentators complained about. The idea the pursuers would want to catch Collins alive to make sure of the money first is credible. Moreover, hitting a running person from distance with a pistol is no mean feat anyway - moviedom has distorted our expectations in that respect.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Goldie Hawn Classic Film!
whpratt115 July 2004
Enjoyed this film which had plenty of action and comedy along with lots of chasing around on frozen ponds, railroad trains, elevators, taxi cabs. In one scene a great deal of time is spend inside a large Safe Deposit Vault which keeps you glued to the screen. Goldie Hawn (Dawn Divine),"The Banger Sisters",'02, gives plenty of laughs along with Warren Beatty,(Joe Collins),"Town & Country",'01. who gives a great performance in almost every scene, especially on the Frozen Lake with a car chasing him all over the place. Scott Brady,(Sarge)performed a great supporting role trying to catch up with Joe Collins. If you enjoy the acting of Goldie Hawn and Warren Beatty and want to see a film produced in 1971, this is the film for YOU!
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
European heist film that's Fun!
shepardjessica10 July 2004
An entertaining Beatty/Goldie Hawn flick that really has nothing to say, but moves along like a freight-train and keeps your interest. Goldie Hawn was never cuter (except Shampoo w/Beatty) before she turned into Shirley MacLaine. Gert Frobe (Goldfinger) is befuddled and amusing. Beatty would make a great film the same year (McCabe & Mrs. Miller).

Don't expect much and you'll have a ball. Throw in Scott Brady (Lawrence Tierney's little brother) and other evil Germans and robbery becomes cool. I believe Richard Brooks directed this (In Cold Blood). He must have needed some fast cash. 6 out of 10. Best performance = Goldie Hawn.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Clever intelligent plot; well acted; A classic 70's movie
imdb-51262 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This is a fast paced movie with a clever and intelligent plot. The first half hour appears disjointed but careful attention to the action reveals the skillful development of the characters and provides good insight into their nefarious activities. Beatty and Hawn excel as the couple defrauding the "mafia" with a clever and intelligent scheme to switch safety deposit box contents belonging to the "criminals" to their own deposit box. At the eleventh hour their plan is uncovered and the ensuing chase brilliantly portrays both the tension of the moment and the atmosphere as well as the seediness of Hamburg during this period. There are moments of good humour, pathos, and tension as the pursuers are systematically eliminated. The ending is perhaps one of the first occasions that the thieves have been allowed obviously to get away with it. Although now looking a little dated, Dollars none-the-less captures the realities of 1970's Germany. I highly recommend this film.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Puzzling and exciting
dfranzen7018 March 2015
In Dollars, clever bank-security guy Warren Beatty teams with a kooky call girl (Goldie Hawn) to steal from three disparate criminals, who have each chosen to store their ill-gotten gains within the bank's safe-deposit boxes. Beatty's Joe Collins is cool and methodical, and Hawn is a true delight as Dawn Divine, although the movie suffers from a lengthy run time and an ending that seems sort of a meaningless afterthought.

Collins works for a bank in Hamburg, Germany that is on the cutting edge of technological security. Among other things, the bank has - get this! - a 24-hour closed-circuit camera inside its safe, the better to monitor would-be evil-doers. Much is made of this awesome camera. Kind of makes one pine for the days when security cameras were a new thing.

At any rate, Collins and Divine have picked out three nefarious marks - a corrupt sergeant (Scott Brady), a Vegas mobster (Robert Webber), and a drug dealer (Arthur Brauss) - each of whom has deposited dirty money into a safe-deposit box in the bank. These boxes are much as they are today, although the bank employees very pointedly do not get to see what is in them; privacy, you see, is a big selling point for the bank wishing to attract more and more foreign interests.

The plan is to move the monies from the three boxes to Divine's own safety box. Plenty of planning goes into this, and it culminates with a wonderfully tense scene in which Joe, trapped in the safe, attempts the exchange. It's only a matter of time, though, before the various baddies discover what's happened, and there's a long, long chase scene - mostly on foot! - that eats up a chunk of film near the end of the movie.

Hawn is at her giggly, risqué best (this would be during her Laugh-In days), and Beatty stays true to type as the Man with the Plan, the cool cat. I particularly enjoyed how anxious Hawn's Divine is at her own role in the heist - for a phone call she must make, she has her lines written out longhand, and yet she still can only whisper them to the bank's manager, played by Gert Frobe (Auric Goldfinger).

The ending felt like it was lacking something, perhaps some panache or some cohesion. It's almost as if someone woke up in postproduction and realized there was no actual climax and then hastily wrote one in. In fact, after reading a synopsis on IMDb, I wondered if I'd seen the same ending - interestingly, the IMDb synopsis made even less sense than the one I saw.

Finally, there's the issue of the editing and/or direction - the former was too choppy, the latter too rapid. When your movie features an intricate plan, maybe it's best not to rush through every step, forcing your viewers to keep up. Even when we could keep up, it seemed as if some plot elements were missing entirely, leading to many questions left unanswered.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
zero exposition = joy of discovering
dellinger8 January 2011
While some call it light, I suppose that's true, but it's missing the point. $ isn't supposed to be nutritious, it's supposed to be delectable. The joy is in the unfolding story with no explanation of what's going on. Beatty says this method of robbing a bank has never been tried, but doesn't tell you what it is. The robbery starts, and you're still uncertain about how he's doing it. Then a few minutes into it, you get the, "oh. OH!" feeling and it's intoxicating to watch a slow-motion robbery, presented in batches of 60 seconds.

I thought the chase was disappointing in its lack of true variety. Goldie's escape method is good, but in general its inventiveness pales compared to the bank heist technique. And all the puzzles make sense when you watch it a second time. But I'll never forget the feeling I had, watching this movie for the first time with my wife's 80 year old grandparents (!?!?!?), and savoring that joy of uncertainty..."what the heck is going on??" Mystery lovers, bon appetite.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What can they do, call the cops?
bkoganbing11 March 2017
Goldie Hawn seems as much to have admitted that she took her role in $ where she got to co-star with Warren Beatty for a chance to get a free trip to Germany and specifically Hamburg. As it turned out it was an average caper film which did show Hamburg off to the world.

One thing I was curious about was satisfied. In its day Hamburg was known as a place for good times and a lot of $ was shot in the famous Reeperbahn district a place where many travelers partied. If you remember Ship Of Fools, the Nazi favoring publisher Jose Ferrer entertains the passengers with a German ballad On The Reeperbahn a rather lusty number. Now I finally get to see what he loved.

Beatty is a security expert and Hawn is a call girl and Beatty works for a bank in Hamburg where many criminals hide cash of all kinds laundering their dirty money. Cash and other illegal items as well. Specifically drug peddling Arthur Brauss, mob lawyer Robert Webber, and army sergeant Scott Brady who has a lucrative smuggling sideline.

I will say Beatty's plan was both devastatingly simple and took advantage of his position. You'll have to see what it is. Goldie's charms also come into play.

$ is not the greatest film for either of the stars, but their fans should be happy.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Best part of this movie...
coonyp13 January 2013
is when each of the crooks get the big surprise in the vault! This movie is one of my favorites. I really liked the pacing, the direction and the plot concept. While Goldie Hawn doesn't really seem quite like a prostitute, she really carries the movie. One particular memorable moment comes when she bathes her hands with money and asks herself if there is some connection between crime and sex. Warren Beatty is also good. I particularly liked Scott Brady's perfect caricature of American chauvinism. Arthur Brauss is haunting and memorable as the sociopath drug dealer. I personally found the long chase scenes in last part of the movie to be out of sync with the rest of the film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Dated
rps-218 January 2013
This movie is sooo 1970! Take charge know-it-all Americans with long hair, James Bond style villains, lots of (for the time) hi tech gadgets, constant cigarettes, big busted bimbos in short skirts and car chases. Endless car chases! Interminable car chases! Impossible car chases! At my age I tend to regard 1971 as my era. Yet it was over 40 years ago and the movies of that time tended to reflect the James Bond culture. But any movie with lots of trains can't be all bad and much of this film is set on trains, in rail terminals and in rail freight yards. It's dated but that in itself can be interesting. Goldie Hawn with her goofy giggle is always a delight and the late Gert Frobe, although a good guy in this movie, will always be Auric Goldfinger to me.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"God, Guts, and Get-Up An' Go!"
zardoz-1321 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Oscar-winner writer & director Richard Brooks of "Elmer Gantry" was a consummate professional at making movies during his 35-year career in Hollywood. "$" exemplifies his accomplished skills as both a writer and director. This nimble, adrenaline-driven, R-rated, heist thriller set in Germany came out during the free-wheeling 1970s when Hollywood could get away with a little gratuitous nudity and a lot of grit. Nobody in this amoral actioneer is entirely honest. Like the characters in Italian westerns, everyone wears shades of gray in various intensities with our heroic couple, Warren Beatty and Goldie Hawn, being a more sympathetic duo than the utterly ruthless villains who display few qualms once they figure out that they've been duped. Mind you, some people may never get past the first 50 minutes as Brooks cross-cuts rapidly between characters and settings like an insane samurai warrior hacking up his adversaries with a kinetic passion. Reportedly, when Goldie Hawn finally took a look at "$," she could make neither head nor tale out of it. After those initial fifty minutes, the action settles down and then takes off like a fireball.

Debonair bank security expert Joe Collins (Warren Beatty of "Shampoo") and his accomplice, goofy call girl Dawn Devine (Goldie Hawn of "Cactus Flower"), conspire to steal a fortune from three sleazy criminals. Las Vegas attorney Mr. North (Robert Webber) and his bodyguard conceal their skim money in the bank. Sarge (Scott Brady of "Marooned") and the Major (Robert Stiles of "Doctor's Wives") keep the profits from their kickbacks and bribes from black market activities in the same bank. A murderous drug smuggler, the Candy Man (Arthur Brauss of "Victory"), keeps loot likewise in the same establishment. Since the local authorities cannot legally obtain access to these safety deposit boxes, the criminals can keep their stuff safely stashed without fear of confiscation. Joe knows the bank and its vault as well as its personnel from top to bottom, and the head of the bank, Mr. Kessel (Gert Frobe of "Goldfinger") loves Joe as if he were his own son. Joe has spent about a year installing a state-of-the-art, 24-hour, seven-days-a-week, security system in the bank. Joe has clocked the police response time to the bank alarms at three minutes through heavy downtown traffic.

During the first half of this swiftly-paced, two-hour thriller, Brooks establishes our heroes, villains, the arena of the action, and the plot. Joe and Dawn are going to hit the villains and take their loot because the villains cannot resort to the police. During the second half, Joe locks himself into the vault and transfers the ill-gotten gains from the safe deposit boxes of the bad guys to Dawn's box. In the third part, Joe and Dawn hit the streets on the lam from the evil drug dealer and the tenacious military guys have figured out that he is the culprit who robbed them. Brooks generates maximum suspense during the vault robbery as the authorities struggle to open the time lock on the vault. While he is trapped inside the vault, Joe times himself so that every minute that the camera isn't aimed at him, he is emptying or filling the safe deposit boxes. The tension and suspense are incredible during these harrowing moments. The pursuit that takes up the third part is pretty incredible. Quincy Jones' Grammy nominated music with Little Richard screaming maniacally on the soundtrack accentuates these larcenous shenanigans, and Brooks snaps up the pace with rapid-fire cutting so you are poised on the edge of your seat throughout the movie. "$" was lensed on location in Germany and the exotic setting adds to the atmosphere. Goldie Hawn is hilarious as a former Las Vegas showgirl that worries about holding up her end of the crime. Beatty is a self-assured man who can get out of any predicament no matter how challenging it is. As the villains, Scott Brady and Arthur Brauss never let our hero get very far ahead of them.

"$" is a top-notch, heist thriller that in the words of one of its villains bristles with a lot of "God, guts, and get-up-and-go!"
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ah, those wonderful German/Swiss Banks
theowinthrop4 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This film was made in 1970-71, just as Americans were becoming aware that the great period of economic advantage over our adversaries from World War II was coming to an end. Banks in Germany and Switzerland were attracting attention because they were convenient for money laundering purposes (although that term was not fully in use yet). They offered security and confidentiality, which American Banks could not compete with.

Gert Frobe is the head of the bank in the story (somewhat ironic, as his best role was as Auric Goldfinger, who also threatened the American economy in a different way). Frobe is playing his hard working banker as a good natured, somewhat naive type. His right hand man is a security expert played by Warren Beatty. Beatty has learned that there are several people who are using the bank: a bunch of crooked G.I.s led by Scott Brady; a mob lawyer (Robert Webber) and his assistant who are transporting tens of thousands of dollars to the bank; a hired assassin and drug courier. All three groups have one common denominator: Goldie Hawn has been having sex with Brady, Webber, and the assassin. The three groups have used the banks super-protected safety deposit boxes to store their cash. Beatty has set up the cameras, so he is aware of the timing of the cameras as they move. If he can get locked into the vault under reasonably acceptable circumstances, he can also control his movements so as not to be photographed by the camera. He is also in a position to have duplicates for the three security boxes he would have to open. Once this is done, he could clear out the money in bags put into Golde Hawn's box, and she can come in the next day and pick them up.

It sounds complicated. It is complicated, but Beatty and Hawn pull it off based on the knowledge of how much each group will deposit on a given weekend, and on the known nervousness of Frobe for the security of his beloved bank. The first half hour shows how the scheme got laid out, the next twenty minutes show how Beatty and Hawn (especially Beatty in the locked vault) pull it off. But the film does not end then. The three sets of individuals discover the robbery after the fact, and then Brady and the assassin discover the common denominator: Hawn. And the last forty minutes is a protracted chase through Germany, that has one great set piece of Beatty's fight for his life on a frozen lake.

It is not a great film, but it is entertaining and (at times) comic, thanks mostly to Hawn and Frobe (with some help from Brady occasionally). So I give it a "7" out of "10".
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Well-dressed Bank Heist.
rmax3048232 January 2018
This complicated and tortuous story of a big bank heist in Germany begins slowly. I think "slowly" is the right word,, although maybe "impenetrably" would be more apt. At any rate I couldn't figure out what the hell was going on. It's clear early on that extremely handsome Warren Beatty is a bank security specialist and Goldie Hawn with the enormous blue eyes of a child's doll are in cahoots to rob some illegal money. Maybe.

The lead may be deliberate but the pace picks up during the crime itself and practically goes apoplectic during the lengthy climax, which does not involve a shoot out, Gott sei dank, but only pursuits on foot, by car, and on trains. The running that Beatty alone does would give me a heart attack in a few minutes, and never mind the ancillary dangers. Speaking of heart attacks, Scott Brady looks seriously at risk. He has a raspy New York voice, a ruddy complexion, jerky motions, lanky hair, and he seems to sweat gallons.

It's a longie, but it's probably worth watching. The performances are all appropriate and up to professional standards except one (Robert Stiled as an unconvincing US Army major). Gert Fröbe is memorable and the lascivious bank manager.

Brooks has directed with style -- efficiently and without memorable touches.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't spend any of your $ on this awful drudgery.
lee_eisenberg25 March 2006
How the hell did they get this made?! Presenting itself as a caper comedy, the misbegotten "$" is essentially two hours of people mumbling sentence fragments. The usually dependable Warren Beatty looks drunk, and the usually hilarious Goldie Hawn acts like she's on depressants. As for Gert Frobe, his most famous role - Goldfinger - was infinitely more admirable than his character here. Not even the guy with the champagne bottle of LSD can save this litany of worthlessness.

Am I comparing this movie to "Plan 9 from Outer Space"? I wouldn't do such a thing even if someone paid me. "P9FOS" was idiotically made but ended up hilarious; this was idiotically made and causes you to feel like your brain just melted out of your ears. Warren Beatty and Goldie Hawn made up for this when they co-starred in "Shampoo", but then they co-starred in the dreadful "Town & Country". Maybe they just shouldn't co-star in movies. All in all, I would rather have my skin torn off than have to watch this again. Awful.

Maybe they should remake it with Jackie Chan. Then I would pay to see it.
9 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Slick but empty.
gridoon28 October 2000
"$" is a caper film typical of its era; slickly made and photographed but cold and soulless.The first half is a series of rambling, disconnected scenes; the second half is a long, boring chase, which is not filmed excitingly enough to sustain our interest. And there is never much tension in the movie, because the characters are too indifferent for us to really care about the development of their adventures. (**)
6 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Dated But Worth Dating?
DKosty12316 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Warren Beatty has long hair in this one compared with his other roles. Goldie Hawn looks fantastic, even the full butt shots. Gert Frobe actually looks thinner than he was as Goldfinger. Roberta Flack and James Brown do a decent soundtrack and suspense is tight.

In essence this turns out to be a chase film. The first hour of the film sets up the robbery, and we get to know why none of the victims will call the cops. The robbery is then pulled off perfectly. Then comes the last part where the victims try to catch the robbers.

Warren and Goldie get away, Beatty in such a long chase that Goldie does not even appear in 30 minutes of the film. Forbe and Hawn do most of the acting. Beatty does the really heavy chase stuff. The ending with Hawn driving a yellow Corvette in California makes a nice warm feeling. There is no explanation why she is still carrying the white suitcase long after she got back home. Still, Hawns looks alone make this a 6.

There are some flesh scenes in this R rated film. There is not a lot of brains required, but the suspense in the chase carry the latter part of the film. Just sit back and enjoy the action, don't think about what does not make sense. Ring the fire bell.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Almost ruined by its third act !
elshikh46 November 2007
Warning: Spoilers
The problem isn't (Warren Beatty). On the contrary, he seemed so pretty vivid. And it isn't the heist's plane. No. It was too thrilling and too new as I have never seen anything like it before or even after. Wanna know what the problem is ? It's the silliness of the end's chase !

Actually this is one of the dullest third acts ever. Because it was so easy to shoot (Beatty) down, and by one cheap bullet, just to get rid of that very long sequence's pains. It was too ugly to watch, too void to present anything, and too dumb as it made the whole thing fail !

So whenever I watch this movie again, I would be so happy by watching the good details of the robbery, as I liked the plot very much, so I loved too that quote from (Warren Beatty)'s dialogue: "Sometimes there is a lonely unlucky person who's lucky among others", BUT I'll never, ever, watch the last 15 minutes again in my whole life !
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Silly bankrobbing story that tries to be funny...
dwpollar24 March 2001
1st watched 12/7/1996 - 5 out of 10(Dir-Richard Brooks): Silly bankrobbing story that tries to be funny without any success and doesn't succeed at much else either. Boring and full of characters that no-one would want to care about.
5 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A light and easy to watch comedic heist film
srweber36918 November 2009
$ is a light comedic heist movie with some solid performances from its lead stars Warren Beatty and Goldie Hawn. The film is set in Hamburg Grtmany and most of the film was filmed there.

The movie starts out with the crooks depositing there money in safe deposit boxes. While Joe Collins(Warren Beatty) is giving security tips to the banks manger. Dawn Devine (Goldie Hawn) is a hooker who seems to have a connection to some of the crooks and Joe. Joe conceives of a way to steal the crooks money because they cannot go to the police for protection. It ends with a fairly good chase scene and the rest plays out as you would expect.

The acting in this film is first rate from Beatty and Hawne down to many of the supporting actors. The film is fast paced and moves along at a good pace. I did not like so many dark night time scenes these are done much better now with digital cameras.

Overall an enjoyable light film that seems to go down well.

Grade C+
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ow, my ears!
Vornoff-230 April 1999
The pakage implies that Warren Beatty and Goldie Hawn are pulling off a huge bank robbery, but that's not what I got out of it! I didn't get anything! In the first half there's a new character (without introduction) in every other scene. The first half-hour is completely incomprehensible, the rest is just one long, annoying, underlit chase scene. There's always an irritating sound in the background whether it's a loud watch ticking, a blaring siren, a train whistling, or even the horrible score by Quincy Jones. There are a lot of parts that are laughably bad, too. Like, the bad guys chasing Beatty on thin ice with a CAR! Or, the police arriving at the scene roughly fifteen times. I really hated this movie!
5 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting and enjoyable drama
Avoura31 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoyed this film, but cannot understand why this would be classified as a comedy. I saw it on TV and the announcer said it as a comedy, and on this site it is listed as a comedy, as well as under crime and drama. It is a crime drama, but not a heavy one. It is light and has its amusing moments, but I found that the scenery was also very interesting.

The chase scene was great, except it was a bit unbelievable, as the man with the suitcase running away from the crooks never seemed to get tired. He was like a super athlete.

Worth seeing, but do not expect a comedy. As a drama it works well.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed