Kojak (TV Series 1973–1978) Poster

(1973–1978)

User Reviews

Review this title
33 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Sunday night action on CBS back in the 70's
raysond26 September 2002
I remember this show like the back of my hand going through the dimensions of time and space itself. "Kojak" was the brainchild of creator and executive producer Abby Mann that aired for 118 episodes from October 24,1973 until March 18, 1978 for CBS-TV where it was a ratings winner in prime-time for the five great seasons it was on the air. Telly Savalas was the undisputed king of detectives as N.Y. Lt. Theo Kojak who had a sense of style and grace,who had the lollipops,was a ladies man with a sense of family values and drove that great big gas- gussing Buick for a cop car around the slimy streets of Manhattan and all parts of the city. Kojak had a knack for solving crimes his own way and bringing in the baddies with his old Greek standards mixed in with the Noo Yawk(New York)attitude.

However,the stories that made that show were some of the best ever since some of the episodes dealt with racial issues,police corruption, women's rights,and the harrowing issue of alcoholism and drugs. However,several of the guest stars who appear on the show were just starting out but in turn had some grand performances including up and coming actors like Harvey Keitel and Paul Micheal Glaser(aka Starsky from Starsky and Hutch),to Christopher Walken, Janet DuBois, Sherman Hemsley, Esther Rolle, and Haywood Nelson(What's Happening!)to having special guest appearances by Danny Thomas and former NFL Great Rosey Grier. Other guest stars included Tina Louise, Dabney Coleman, John Ritter, former Bond-girl Maud Adams, Sylvester Stallone,Forrest Tucker,James Woods, Shelley Winters,and Sammy Davis, Jr. Great cop show while it lasted,and to this day I still have the original "Kojak" game from Milton Bradley for the heyday(circa,1975).

After the success of "Kojak's" five year-run on CBS from 1973-1978, and some 11 years after the series' finale, ABC picked it up for six made for television movies during the mid-1980's as part of the network's "Mystery Movie" line-up.
29 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Kojak changed everything
mollyshearergabel21 August 2005
Sure, Dragnet was in a category all its own and Naked City did pave the way for Kojak, but the grit was too shiny and fake. I grew up in NYC and later, after I moved away, when I watched Kojak in syndication I would get so homesick. What got to me the worst wasn't seeing landmarks like The Angry Squire or Washington Square, but by shooting on city streets, the NYC detritus was blowing down the sidewalk. Yes, that made me lonesome for home. Kojak was a show by, for, and about New Yorkers. Kojak's attitude was a New York cop's attitude, he was tough and glib and underneath that layer was the soft chewy center.

Law & Order owes a huge debt to Kojak. I knew I would have to watch L&O because of what I can only describe as Kojakisms, and it is a disservice to Kojak (& to Telly) that he is only remembered for "Who Loves Ya, Baby?". Kojakisms were as rich and varied as literature.

Here are some of my favorites:

"That's the way the baklava crumbles, baby"

"Whatever you do, don't you so much as double park anywhere near Manhattan South, 'cause you'll get a Hear Ye and a Hear Ye and a greeting you'll never forget."

"Light a candle, baby; a Get Well card won't do."

"...kiss off Goldilocks, your porridge is getting cold."

"You could package that with a wrap-around deodorant and still come out with a stink."

"...the Internal Affairs shoo-flies, they're gonna be all over us like a groom on a honeymoon. And lemme tell ya something, we all better be virgins or have a pretty good story."

"Gather ye rosebuds while ye may; there's a chill in the air.'

"The wine, it smells beautiful baby, but the company, strictly down the tubes."

"Ya know what a vendetta is? It's when a whole bunch of people kill a whole bunch of people for years and years and years and like that!"

" Yer no good! And that's the end of the story!"

Absolutely one of the best shows ever.
43 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
who loves ya, baby?
barahona29 April 2000
Telly Savalas used his considerable charisma to breathe a little life into this look at a New York detective.Helped by some good location filming in the Big Apple and fairly realistic plots(not to mention that Noo Yawk attitude), Kojak stands as an above average 70's cop show.
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
part time capsule, part Hollywood, part timeless sam spade
occupant-111 December 2001
This series, a vehicle for star Telly Savalas, stands out in my mind as becoming more as it developed. The location filming in NY jogs memories of those who visited or lived in the city at that time. The plots frequently involved The Mob, which reflects the time. Some stories were patently unrealistic, but every time I'd complain about such, the camera would move into the street and that winter grating steam would wind around the sound of shoe leather, giving a pretty good suggestion of Dashielle Hammett (sp?). Interesting guest stars would occasionally show up, George Savalas proved a very natural actor and some of the humor appeared unforced and ad lib. A better show than much of the drivel in that decade.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Entertaining Show
eibon0920 February 2001
My favorite show of all time. Kojak(1973) was a detective show with a sense of humor. Was the best of all the Police shows during the 1970s because of the great acting and interesting guest stars. Telly Savalas gives the character of Kojak a witty toughness that many later Police shows have copied since. Telly Savalas was an actor who made the films that he was in much entertaining to watch. The best episodes were the ones with great guest stars.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
TV LEGAND
mibailiff21 December 2000
Telly Savalas was a grizzled film and TV veteran when he got the spotlight in 1973, with KOJAK. It was a most deserved turn in the sun. Telly took this character and made it his own...the ethnicitity, the old world charm, the brains behind the tough NYPD detective lieutenant that had a genuine compassion for the crime victims he encountered. Telly was the man! The scripts were outstanding, especially in the first season, when penned by Jack Laird, Robert Foster and Halston Wells. The direction was cineamatic quality by the likes of Leo Penn, Jeannot Szwarc and Joel Oliansky. Memorable episodes as SIEGE OF TERROR, DEAD ON HIS FEET, LAST RITES FOR A DEAD PRIEST, THERAPY IN DYNAMITE...I could go on and on. It's also the breeding ground where James Woods, Steven Keats, Harvey Keitel and David Proval cut their small screen dramatic teeth. It's time for this TV legand to be released uncut and unedited on video.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"The Godfather" Of TV
Herag9 January 2005
If there was one Series on TV, that brought pure pleasure in watching was "Kojak." The dialog was fast paced, the greatest American slang and humor (so much so the audiences in England, were astounded with the slang), the greatest and smartest detective, the nasal and overbearing Captain Mcneil. brilliant direction that never sagged in the quality, the greatest side-kicks in the way of Stavros and Crocker. Those incredible stories series after series. The only intellectual TV show that came close to this was "Banaceck" with George Peppard, but that was a solo act that lacked the brilliance of an ensemble like "Kojak". This was a TV series, where things came together like a zig-saw puzzle. This is the "God Father" of the TV and the director is the "Coppola" of TV directors. If there is one set of DVD's in entirety that I would own, those would clearly be "Kojak" "All In The Family" and "Law&Order." Who loves ya baby!!
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
We Need The Rest Of The Seasons On DVD For The Real Kojak
ccthemovieman-114 July 2006
Overall, this disappointed me because it wasn't the Kojak remembered until the final few episodes of this first season: you know, the "Who loves ya baby?" Kojak played so well by Telly Savalas.

It took half the episodes before Kojak even sucked on his first lollipop. In other words, the "Theo Kojak" as we remember him, took almost a year to develop and that took up most of this disk. I am hopeful that more seasons will come out on DVD because those would all be what I was looking for in the first place. So far, I haven't heard any word of that happening. Maybe this first season DVD did not sell well.

The last month of this season, when the shows got a lot more entertaining, were so not only because Kojak came to life but humor was injected with "Stavros" (George Savalas) and his pet plant "Shirley," as well as a few other neat touches.

One of the episodes in this first set interested me because it starred Lola Albright, the blonde who was a knockout on the old Peter Gunn television series. It was interesting to see her after a long absence. Speaking of women, this was the first look I had of Kojak's girlfriend who was something else - a great looker - but suddenly disappeared and never came back with no explanation!

The most interesting of the earlier shows was the one that featured James Woods as a student in a crime class. If you know Woods, you know he wound up playing an intense, evil guy.

The cast in here is good. Kojak's boss, "Frank" (Dan Frazer) was a good guy as was one of Kojak's assistants "Crocker" (Kevin Dobson) who got more screen time as the series went on. Stavros was always fun to watch, especially Kojak calling him "Curly" or "Fatso" or "Baldy."

Now that everything is on a roll, please, give us the rest of the series!
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Theo Kojak kicked major ass and made the bald look cool
Bullet-Tooth-Timmy20 August 2003
Theo Kojak was and IS the epitome of cool. He was a top cop, he kicked major criminal ass, he sucked on lollipops to kick his smoking habit, and best of all, he maintained a crome-dome so cool and fashionable, Vin Diesel doesn't even come close! The late, great Telly Savalas brought to life Det. Kojak, and thus this creation was the precursor to all those hip "supercop" TV shows to come, with NASH BRIDGES bearing in mind. Who loves ya, baby? Kojak does.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
40 Years Ago in 1973...one of the greatest cop shows of all time premiered starring the great Telly Savalas
rcj536524 October 2013
Telly Savalas, a film,stage,and television actor whose career span more than four decades with television guest appearances ranging from "The Twilight Zone",to "The Virginian","Combat!","The Fugitive","Wagon Train",and "Hawaii Five-O" all the way to his Oscar nominated for Best Supporting Actor for the 1962 motion picture "Birdman of Alcatraz",to his roles in such movie classics as "The Greatest Story Ever Told",his villain role as Blofeld in the James Bond film "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" to box office movie gold with "The Dirty Dozen","Kelly's Heroes","Pretty Maids All In A Row","Battle of the Bulge",and "The Scalphunters",and "Terror Train",to name a few.

In 1973,Telly Savalas premiered in a weekly crime drama series that would change everything on television. On Tuesday October 24,1973,the television series "Kojak" premiered on CBS-TV with Telly Savalas as title character,New York City Police Department Detective Lieutenant Theo Kojak. A total of 118 episodes were produced in color. When it premiered in 1973,the show was on Tuesday nights at 10:00e/9:00c where it took the time slot of "Cannon" which was moved one hour earlier for all of Season 1. From Season 2 onward,CBS moved the series from Tuesday nights to Sunday nights for the remainder of its entire run where it was placed at the 10:00e/9:00c time slot until its cancellation on March 18,1978. Out of the 118 episodes that this series produced,only 35 episodes were produced for Season 1. For Season 2 thru 5,a total of 83 episodes were produced. Filmed entirely on location in New York City and in some segments on the Hollywood backlot of Universal Studios.

The show was created by Abby Mann,who was an Oscar winning film writer for such classics as "Judgment at Nuremberg","A Child Is Waiting",and for "The Detective". Mann was also known for his best known work for such television drama anthologies as "Robert Montgomery Presents",and "Playhouse 90" Creator Abby Mann along with executive producers James Duff McAdams and James Moser set the television series "Kojak" around the daily operations of the New York City Police Department's Eleventh Precinct in Manhattan's South Patrol Borough with Telly Savalas as the tough and incorruptible Lieutenant Theo Kojak who have a knack of solving crimes and murders in his investigation of crimes with a tendency to break the rules to bring the criminals to justice. Theo not only had a sense of solving mysteries but Savalas also did it with a fashion statement with displaying a dark cynical wit to the role. In the early episodes of the series,and this was during its first season,Kojak is seen smoking thin brown More cigarettes. He substituted cigarettes for lollipops as an alternative where the lollipop made its debut in the Season 1 episode "Dark Sunday" that aired on December 12,1973:where Kojak lights a cigarette as he begins questioning a witness,but thinks better of it and sticks a lollipop in his mouth instead to cut his habit of smoking.

His supervisor was Capt. Frank McNeil(Dan Frazer). Later in the series McNeil was promoted to Chief of Detectives in Manhattan where Kojak is the commander of the Manhattan South Precinct's Detective Squad. His squad consists of Detective Bobby Crocker(Kevin Dobson),Detective Stavros(played by Telly Savalas' real-life brother George Savalas),who originally used the name "Demosthenes" in the screen credits. Others were Detective Saperstein(Mark Russell,Season 1),and Detective Rizzo(Vince Conti,Season 1)who all gave Kojak support. Roger Robinson appeared in 12 episodes of Season 1 as Detective Gil Weaver.

Only actors Telly and George Savalas along with Dan Frazer and Kevin Dobson remained throughout the show entire five-year run.

The guest star roster consisted of new talent where future up and coming actors like James Woods, Harvey Keitel,John Ritter,David Proval,to Paul Michael-Glaser,Christopher Walken,Danny Aiello,and Richard Gere,and Kathleen Quinlan where making their marks where as other guest stars ranging from Lynn Redgrave,Forrest Tucker,Ann Jillian, Haywood Nelson, Eli Wallach,Shelley Winters,Ruth Gordon,Jess Walton,Tina Louise,Blair Brown,Paul Benjamin,Robert Hooks, Antonio Fargas, Janet DuBois,Hector Elizondo,Sheree North,along with former Bond girl Maud Adams,Paula Kelly,Isabel Sanford to Marla Gibbs,and Danny Thomas.

The scripts were for this series outstanding,especially in the first three seasons were pinned by Abby Mann,Jack Laird,Robert Foster,and Halston Wells with superb direction from the likes of Jeannot Szwarc, Joel Oilansky,Charles S. Dubin, Leo Penn, Christian Nyby and Russ Mayberry. Even Telly Savalas directed several episodes of this series.

Several episodes from this series as memorable classics from the premiere episode "A Siege of Terror",to "Dead On His Feet","Therapy In Dynamite","Last Rites For A Dead Priest",to "Halls of Terror","Web of Death","Cross Your Heart And Hope To Die","Lady In The Squadron",to the two-part episodes "A Shield of Terror",and "Kojak's Days" to others like "Where Do You Go When You Have Nowhere To Go",to the final episode of the series "In Full Command" as one of the great cop shows to come out of the 1970's. After the success of this series and 11 years after it was canceled by CBS, ABC-TV revised the series with Telly Savalas returning as Theo Kojak for a number of made for television mystery movies that ran from 1989 until 1992.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Groundbreaking Police Drama From The 70's, Telly Savalas is Great
verbusen30 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
When I saw I could get season one of Kojak (used) for about 20.00 I was all over that. I was on the young side when Kojak aired but it was filmed in the streets of New York City where I grew up and I actually saw them using my favorite pizzeria after school for an episode so it was like rooting for your home team for me to be a fan of Kojak. I just watched episode one Siege Of Terror and I was not disappointed, the show holds up VERY well. I counted over 100 bullets shot, 3 wounded or dead people, realistic street scenes, realistic (to me) action, the things you can appreciate in a police action show. Also, the ending was not all happy and was actually sad, thats what good TV drama is all about in my book. So yeah for the price I paid I'm going to get all of my money's worth watching Kojak's 22 season one episodes. The show was great and won many awards, to me I guess it was a bridge between the Hawaii Five O/ Mannix type show and the next period which I think started with Hill Street Blues. Kojak was street smart like a Hill Street but didn't have much continuity from episode to episode just as the shows Mannix/ Hawaii 5 -0 didn't. You could watch an episode of Kojak in mid season and it was fine, where as if you missed the first half season of Hill Street Blues you'd have missed a lot of character development. So I guess thats why it didn't last past 5 seasons, but in TV years thats a long time. Great show 5 stars. *******Now about this Universal DVD set it has been released on. After watching episode one on disc one, I checked the episode guide online and found out it was NOT the first Kojak made. There was a pilot episode that aired the TV season earlier as a TV movie. That is NOT on this set. Maybe Universal didn't make it and thats the reason why it's not here, but it is a pretty major letdown. I found it on region 2 and will probably get it as I am always curious to see a good shows roots and how it's introduced to the audience. There are also no extra's that I spotted like interviews and that stuff, I know Telly is gone but maybe his brother who was also on the show (if he is still alive) could have given the fans some stories about Telly, I think that would have been great to listen to. Fans of Kojak are undoubtedly fans of Telly so something in the way of a commentary would have been nice. Other TV DVD sets have those extra's and I know Universal is not known for extra's but I'm just mentioning this for those who don't know these things. 3 stars for the packaging, 5 stars for the show. I've seen whole run's of Mannix and Barnaby Jones (!) among others being sold on the internet, I'll be looking for the rest of Kojak (even if it is old VHS transfers) since Universal has decided not to release the other 4 seasons on DVD (are you listening Universal?).
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The origin of the lolly pop
fmcvett16 February 2005
The technical adviser, Detective Burton Armus was the guy that gave Telly the idea about the lolly pop. Burton was a detective working out of the 7th district homicide squad and advised the show. He went on in the film and TV industry as writer and director. A very special gut and I was proud to work with him for the short time I was there( the squad ). I met Telly on two occasions and when I told him that I was NYCPD he shook my hand and said he liked and respected our department. He was much like Jack Webb, anyone who met him , liked him because he was real. Hope the new show will be worth watching. We know it won't be the same, what re-make is?
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
All Cops should be Theo Kojak
bkoganbing7 November 2012
When I worked at New York State Crime Victims Board and of necessity I had to contact a lot of police. And cops like any other profession run the gamut in quality. I met time serving slugs, I met a group who were competent at their jobs, and I also met some folks who would really go the extra mile for the victims.

I saw that in Telly Savalas as Detective Lieutenant Theo Kojak. He was passionate about his job, cared about the people he was sworn to protect and serve, and honest almost to a fault. And he had a precinct captain in Dan Frazer who backed him to the hilt although I think Frazer might have gotten a few gray hairs in the process.

Of Greek ancestry in the show and in real life, Telly Savalas never missed an opportunity to show a personal life steeped in Greek-American culture. Jack Webb's Sgt Friday was as honest and dedicated as Kojak, but we never saw a personal side for that guy. And comic relief in this intensely dramatic series was always provided by George Savalas as Kojak's fellow Greek detective Stavros. Poor Stavros just sat amiably by as Kojak bounced a few zingers off him. But his expressions were priceless. The brothers played well off each other.

Kevin Dobson was a young idealistic Detective Bobby Crocker who practically worshiped the tough Kojak. There was also Mark Russell and Vince Conti in the squad who got about as much dialog as those extra Bowery Boys with Leo Gorcey and Huntz Hall. Every time something was afoot, Telly Savalas would always bellow out their names, "Saperstein and Rizzo" and these two would follow like Rosencrantz and Guildenstern. I do wish the show had developed them as real people as they did for both Savalas brothers and Dobson.

Watching the show on the METV network sure takes me back to New York of the Seventies. And I wish all the cops I dealt with were on the Kojak model.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Season 1
Jo5510 September 2006
Great series! 30 years after, I always feel the same pleasure to re-discover each story. Just one regret: your list mentions 24 episodes; the box "Season 1" just has 22; 0/The Marcus Nelson murders and 4/The Trade-Off are missing. As I watched the first Season, there were a lot of stories I had forgotten. So hope that the 2 missing will be reported to another special DVD or box. By the way, starring Sgt Bobby Crocker was/is the best role for Kevin Dobson, except his terrific "spotted cravats", which (by chance!) did not took away anything from his natural charm. Hope the next series will be soon on the swiss/french market. Just for the pleasure to "crack for Crocker"!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Kojak The TV Series
batman10275025 January 2003
Kojak the TV Series was The Best TV Series Television had to offer.This was one show that kept you in your seat from the start to the Finish each week, and kept you coming back for more,There has never been a better made for tv show since then. Telly Savalas was born to play Kojak, Never before has an actor put so much of himself into a role, and made it seem so real. I still miss Kojak today and if they would bring back the Series today it would have a new following. I guess you could say that's like saying they will bring back the Drive-In Movie. Not much chance of that happening.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Greatest Detective Show
learyb11 December 2002
kojak is no longer shown in my area, if there was some way to convince any of the networks to bring Kojak back, I would be the first to write to them.

I loved and still do love this show. Kojak is filled with great writing and the characters seem sincere in their acting. This show is down to earth, a show that people can relate to without all of the glamour and glitz that many times can take away from a program. If ever any of the networks decide to run episodes of Kojak again, I will make sure to tape it because Kojak is one of the classics that in my opinion can never be out done.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the greatest TV detectives of all time!
4-Kane31 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Kojak isn't just one of the best cop shows of the '70s and all-time. The title character is also one of the best and coolest detectives ever to appear on prime-time. Telly Savalas was the perfect choice to play the detective who apparently never met a lollipop he didn't like.

Kojak was a no-nonsense cop who cared about solving crimes and getting criminals off the street. But he can also display care and sympathy for the relatives of crime victims, as demonstrated during a phone call he makes to a murder victim's mother in the episode "Girl In The River." In that episode, Kojak could identify with the victim's mother's discomfort about the thought that her daughter's killer has resurfaced, because he acknowledged his own inability to rest well with the killer still on the loose. But after the inevitable identification of the killer and the final showdown that results in the killer's death, the episode ends with Kojak calling the victim's mother again, this time to let her know that she can finally rest.

This is a classic TV show that must be watched and cherished.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Greatest Detective Show Of All Time - But No More Seasons!
zimmered29 December 2005
This was definitely a groundbreaking show with such an indomitable lead in Telly Savalas, whose screen presence is all but unmatched. It was clear to me when they released this set that its purpose was to promote the new Kojak series with Ving Rhames (since canceled), but I still assumed the release of one season must lead to the release of the remaining three.

Apparently not so.

After contacting Universal Home Video on this issues, I have been informed that they have no intention at all of releasing the rest of Kojak on DVD, must to my chagrin and annoyance. What a lousy way to treat the loyal fans of the show and loyal customer base for these unreleased shows! I highly recommend everyone who wants to see more Kojak contact Universal Home Video at the address below and demand the release of seasons 2-4.

http://www.universalstudios.com/homepage/html/contact_us
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
kojak
shogunmre24 December 2012
Kojak was/is the best cop show ever. Telly Savalas was the best man for the job. His charisma, whit, and cool demeanor was unmatched for its time and even now. I really wish the show stayed on longer than 5 seasons. Its very hard to find the 5 season DVD set. All I've come across is the first 3. I've seen all 5 seasons but only the 4th and 5th seasons once. This show is so good that you can watch it over and over and not get bored with it. Telly's (kojak) other movies and guest appearances were great as well. Check out all his other movies right here on IMDb the man is awesome as an actor and a person. He is/was the coolest actor on TV and when i say cool i mean everyone wanted to be like him. My friends father is from New York and he said in the 70's-90's if you were cool and bald everyone called you KOJAK... TELLY IS MY FAVORITE ACTOR. ENJOY HIS MOVIES IF YOU HADNT ALREADY. get this he beat out Marlon Brando for the Kojak job. Marlon wanted to play a tough cop bad but Telly came along and was the man for the job. Telly IS THE BEST.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Kojak - the best cop show before Starsky & Hutch
winstonfg16 December 2006
The guy was rude, bald and probably a nightmare to work for; but we all thought he was real cool for a while. I think if I'd been on the receiving end of a "Crocker!" or "Stavros!" I'd have probably ended up with some sort of complex, but it worked well and, in between, the show managed to tackle some serious issues.

I also remember it as one of the first shows out of the US where the good guys didn't always win.

Towards the end it started to get a bit preachy; but by then I'd moved on to Starsky & Hutch, so I didn't have to put up with it. For the first few seasons though it was definitely one of the best cop shows on TV.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very Cerebral - Maybe the Best Cop TV Show
qormi9 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Kojak was fast-paced and the subtle clues and plot twists whizzed by me when I saw this show back in the 70's. Thank goodness for the DVD's - now I can back track and follow the plot without getting lost. Kojak was a very intelligently produced drama - all the characters were real and the fast- paced show had plenty of suspense and action. Telly Savalas was a master at his craft and his charismatic portrayal of Kojak conveyed a man who was respected by his peers and who was very dedicated and tenacious. The run- down precinct house - chipped and peeling green paint everywhere , dirty, paper-strewn desks, worn-down staircases, confusion...all added to the realism. The on-location shots of NY streets had you immersed in the inner city - all the crime, grime, pimps, junkies, etc. He was like a hipster Sherlock Holmes, sucking a tootsie pop or having a smoke - and he dressed to the hilt, in custom-made suits and expensive ties. Theo - we love ya, Baby.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Coochi..Coo...(Kojak)
carmenjulianna10 July 2019
What A Show...The 70s Tv came Alive once "Kojak" Came onto our Screens. There has Never been since "Kojak" A Cop Detective Programme to Equal It.! All his Anecdotes & Cool Lyrics Are Surpassed. Saturday Night Tv was an Exciting & an Anticipating time for Viewing. Bring Back All 5 Series. I just Wish that More Series Had been Made. There Were Additional Spin-off Kojak Movies Made in the 80s which were Enjoyable Also. "Who Loves You Baby " What A Guy.😊 Cheers Telly..Who's Lookin' Up to You👍🏿
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Kojak"...The Opitamy of Cool.!!!
carmenjulianna27 November 2018
"KOJAK"...What more can you say regarding this man.??? He is & was the most Coolest of all Tv Detectives .. I grew up in part watching this show in the 70's & boy..didn't we all wake-up to what the streets of New York were really like to part of. Before 'Kojak' New York was always painted in cinema & on our tv screen as the perfect city. The bright lights of 'Manhattan' being the be all & end all of the city of course. Before Kojak, there had not been another cop show on tv more realistic & true to life on the streets of New York. He will be fondly remembered & his show is still watched today with great affection and valour..!! RIP Telly...!!! You Were One In A Million...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good Cop show
mm-394 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
The 70's was the era of the police shows. Police story, Police women, Street's of San Fran, and SWAT were a few. Working evenings and not being able to sleep I started watching Kojak, and started reliving my childhood. The show is better than I remember for having some realism. The show's producers must have done research. Dated in spots, and has a TVish formula, but still good. I like the Crocker character. Everyone seems too grumpy on the show. My wife says the introductions of females in the work environment may have a calming effect on the work environment. ( could be a possibility) The characters do show a soft side. Worth watching late night if one can not sleep. Beats Elim a date. 8 out of 10. Only if I could stay awake for a whole show. My wife likes Kojak's sayings.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Kojak the original is simply the best
david_grothier29 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Gosh how time flies is it really 31 years since Kojak hit our screens? In those heady days of the 1970s, a Saturday night was sacrosanct, the pinnacle of the week when we all got together for a great dinner dance night out.

Then the BBC8I originally come from the UK) ran Kojak at 9pm and my fate was sealed! I was in 'till 10 pm glued to the "box"and hooked. For me it remains the best ever TV cop series.

Well made with great colour, good story lines throughout, no foul language, and only the best in romantic subliminal suggestive sex.(the only way to view it on TV where the eyes speak all) The location shots were perfect, which are always very difficult and hard to get right "every time" under the pressure on making a TV series, and the camera worked hard to deliver the best from all involved and did it so professionally! Sadly when trying to revive a great series something always suffers(Star Trek!) and today's attempts to give a¡us a 2005 version of Kojak are regrettably a very third rate posture, as the whole magic of the name Kojak is lost and we end up with more than just a whacking great big anti-climax with the new crew! Try as they obviously do, to me Telly Savalas, and the rest of the old crew, are just too tough an act to follow. Consequently, with respect, I am forced to give the new series a big thumbs down and predict a very short run, if it goes two season I will be surprised. Sorry guys I don't mean to be harsh but there was only one Manhattan South
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed