The Slipper and the Rose: The Story of Cinderella (1976) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
76 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A wonderful movie finally coming to video in America!!
PrincessIncognita27 June 1999
This story of Cinderella is the best version I have ever ever seen. Richard Chamberlain is wonderful and Gemma Craven is positively charming.

Filmed partly on location in Austria, the scenery is beautiful and the sets and costumes very authentic. Part of what makes this movie so great is that the music helps tell the story. The music is beautiful and the lyrics, although at times very comical, are very important in building the characters, and expressing their emotions.

Perhaps one of the most interesting points of this movie is the fact that they address the question of Cinderella not being of Royal blood. It actually adds a nice twist to the story, but of course, Cinderella eventually gets her Prince.

This brilliant musical has been my ultimate favorite since I was about 12 years old. And at long last, it is finally coming to VHS and DVD.
20 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Childhood Treasure rediscovered
acaldwell20 March 2002
My parents taped this movie from TV for me when I was young, and it has always remained one of my favorites. I've worn the tape out over the years, because even now that I'm a (supposed) grown up, I still get the urge to go back and watch again and again.

The film is beautiful, filmed on location in Europe (Austria, I think?) with a whimsical and richly romantic air. What I love most about this movie is that it makes the effort to flesh out the characters into three dimensional figures and to set against an (at least plausible) historical backdrop, while still maintaining a tiny bit of tongue-in-cheek self-awareness--a live-action period piece that enjoys the fact that it's really a fairytale and a musical. I've always thought that gave it just a hint of sophistication. The movie also explores more of the complexities of the stories and the characters' motivations. It carries us past the classic "slipper" moment and allows for a more complete ending, which I found more fulfilling.

As for the characters themselves, I loved Cinderella, neither the modernized girl-power of "Ever After" (which I loved, by the way) nor the blank goody-goody-ness of the Disney classic, but a very human and lovely blend of the two--with a gorgeous voice thrown in for good measure. Prince Edward, played flawlessly by Richard Chamberlain, gives us a hero to root for, in addition to our traditional heroine. You don't just wait for her to be found, you cheer for each of them to find the other. The rest of the cast is filled in with real people that the viewer comes to care for and value in the story almost as much as the main pair. You are not left with the typical stock characters that you see so often in fairy tales. I especially loved the Fairy Godmother, the Prince's Companion, the Chamberlain, the senile King, the Dowager queen...okay, I really love them all. Even the dog. :)

I despaired of every finding a "real" copy on VHS until recently. The VHS retained a few scenes that were edited from the TV version (I assume) for time, and I have to say I think that I liked the short version better. I thought that the it flowed more smoothly, and I found that I did not miss the musical numbers they cut. I was especially disappointed with "Find a Mate" (yes, they're serious) and the scene in the Fairy Godmother's house...very contrived and corny. They really don't equal the rest of the film. Although the Prince's prayer at the end is wonderful, and was cut from the TV version.

All in all, I just have to say that I love this movie, and always will.
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
''You'll Forget Every Other Love Story You Ever Saw....''
phillindholm8 August 2005
"The Slipper And The Rose" is a beautiful version of the classic Cinderella story. Made in England and released in 1976, it retells the familiar story with warmth, humor and wonderful songs by the Sherman brothers, who also did the music for countless Disney films, notably "Mary Poppins". Prince Edward (Richard Chamberlain), heir to the throne of Euphrania, is expected by his father the king (Michael Hordern in another wonderful performance) and his mother the queen (Lally Bowers) to choose a wife and settle down. To this end, they plan a court ball to which all the princesses they can locate will be invited. Meanwhile, young Cinderella (Gemma Craven) has just lost her beloved father. But things go from bad to worse for her, when her selfish stepmother (the great Margaret Lockwood, in her first film in over 20 years, and her last) and spoiled stepsisters (Rosalind Ayres and Sherrie Hewson) reduce her to the status of a servant in her own home. Thankfully, however, her fairy godmother (Annette Crosbie) is waiting in the wings to see that she goes to the ball and meet the prince. The rest is up to them... With an excellent cast and fine support from Kenneth More, as the Lord Chamberlain, Christopher Gable as the prince's friend John, and especially Dame Edith Evans as the dowager Queen, "The Slipper and the Rose" is magical film-making.A few twists in the story keep it fresh, while all the charm of the original is preserved. The lavish production, handsome location photography beautiful costumes and a witty, sophisticated script has appeal for all ages.And enough cannot be said for the Sherman's music, which is, in turn, delightful, hilarious and, when the occasion calls for it, heartbreaking. Craven's ballad ''Tell Him Anything-But Not That I Love Him''is a perfect example of the latter. This film just gets better as the years pass,and it's truly one of the best film versions of "Cinderella" ever made.
31 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best version of Cinderella there is!
Jenial24 January 2003
The Slipper and The Rose is a beautiful version of the Cinderella story with picturesque scenery, excellent design and costume and lots of 70's soft-focus romantic-type shooting.

This isn't a run-of-the-mill Cinderella story. You actually get some depth of character motivation. The characters are generally extremely believable - the "wicked" stepmother not being hideous enough for one to question why anyone would marry her and the "ugly" sisters, both slim and quite pretty, but instead ugly from the inside.

This film is brilliantly cast with some of the finest British actors/comedy actors of all time (Kenneth More, Annette Crosbie to name two!). Richard Chamberlain acts, dances, sings! Gemma Craven is radiant. She has a beautiful voice and does a great job with a very passive character. Let's face it, in the traditional story of Cinderella (as this is), she doesn't really make any decisions except that she might quite like to go to the ball.

It's just great to see people cast on ability, not solely looks/cleavage/plastic surgery, (although I suppose the features all fit a certain time-period of what was considered beautiful.)

The script is very witty and intelligent and I love the songs.. Fantastic music. Lyrics aren't dumbed down at all! Words of more than one syllable. What other musical has a song with the title "Protocoligorically Correct" in it? None, I should imagine!

Incidentally, I believe Sherman & Sherman who did the songs/music also did Mary Poppins (i.e. supercalifragilisticexpialadocious). Perhaps they just like long words.

This is believable escapism, and apart from the odd haircut here and there and occasional choreography, doesn't really date.

I love it. It's magical. A great family film.
29 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Forever Favorite
clare-1130 July 1999
Picture my little sister and I dancing around our living room, gleefully singing and delighting in the wonderful Cinderella-story called The Slipper and the Rose. Add to the picture the fact that we were living at the time in the depths of Africa, Kinshasa, Zaire to be specific. It makes a funny picture- two little American girls in the middle of Africa madly in love with Prince Edward (Richard Chamberlain) and his right hand man John (Christopher Gable). To this day (we're now in our mid-20s and living in the States) The Slipper and the Rose continues to be one of our biggest in-jokes. We rejoice in the fact that we know every line, complete with the gaudy inflections of the wicked step-sisters and the droll intonation of the King and Queen. I will proudly admit that we show no shame in breaking out in complete renditions of songs such as "Position and positioning." which is the perfect song to accompany laundry-folding. We still howl with laughter at how much we love The Slipper and the Rose.

Although, the movie is a musical, it is by no means a 'fluff' version of the Cinderella Story. Much like Ever After, the more recent Cinderella film starring Drew Barrymore, The Slipper and the Rose approaches the tale with a vigorous bite. It fulfills everything that makes Cinderella the compelling fairytale that it is. The wicked Step Mother and her two vile daughters are truly vicious and conniving. Their sniveling, whining, and shrieking make Cinderella's plight heart-felt. Prince Albert is plagued with a desire to be his own person, not trapped into the confines of his princely status ("Why can't I be TWO people.?"). The endearing King is struggling to avoid a possible war ("For we MUST be Protocoligorically Correct.'Else the kingdom will be wrecked!") And Cinderella's glittering gown, slippers and carriage are as beautiful as can be imagined. Decked out in shimmering pink, Cinderella's entrance to the "Bride Finding Ball" as Princess Incognita is truly memorable.

Those of you who love the Slipper and the Rose as much as I do might want to check out the TV series (now on Video) called Faerie Tale Theatre. This series depicts fairytales such as The Princess and the Pea, The Emperors New Clothes, and yes, Cinderella. Well known actors such as Liza Minnelli, Matthew Broderick, Jennifer Beals, and Joan Collins portray our favorite fairytale characters without pretension.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Long-Lost Top-Notch Musical that I Never Got to See Again
danwimdb28 November 1999
I, too, have been longing forever (since VCRs appeared) for this musical to become available on video. The Sherman & Sherman (& Morley) songs are perfectly good, and the choreography is super, but what I remember best is the great, iconoclastically non-chalant Fairy Godmother character (Annette Crosbie). I put her among the greatest steal-the-show supporting characters of all time, right along with Nicol Williamson's Merlin in "Excalibur."
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is great film in both DVD and VHS versions having been restored to full length.
deploec21 June 2001
I have recently purchased the DVD and VHS versions of this film. I love the music, the dancing, the story line and the humor. The dancing is the best I have seen in a long time. Gemma Craven and Richard Chamberlain are excellent in the rolls of Cinderella and the Prince. I love the sound of Gemma's voice both while talking and singing. She brings a freshness to the roll in that she is the personification of the girl/woman that I have always imagined Cinderella to be. She is petite and very lovely in her roll. The all star cast really helps when you see the fully restored version. The costumes are excellent. The DVD is nice in that it also has a trailer on the "Making of the Slipper and the Rose". There is also a voice over capability by Brian Forbes that can be activated during Film. He provides comment on various aspects of the film that are a real plus. There is also an interview with the Sherman brothers, who with Brian Forbes were responsible for the initial script and of course they wrote the music and provided the lyrics for the film script. My only regrets are that I had ignored this Gem for so long and that there were no other films in which Gemma Craven was allowed to sing in.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Love this version
oftenwrong11 April 2002
The first time I saw this movie, I couldn't believe it had Richard Chamberlain singing! I really was impressed by the production though some of the singing and dancing sequences seemed a bit long, it was, overall, a well made version of the classic Cinderella story. I thought it told the fairy tale 'to perfection'. I had just recently bought the video and was pleasantly surprised by all the extra footage it included. My daughters all enjoy it and like watching it over and over. The sets and costumes and the lovely landscapes were exceptionally beautiful. I thought Gemma Craven was the perfect Cinderella including a beautiful singing voice. But the one I thought stole the movie was the fairy godmother, played by Annette Crosbie. Her grumpy affection towards Cinderella made her a more interesting character. A must-see for anyone who wants to escape for a couple of hours with an entertaining tale.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Creative Take on the Classis Cinderella Story
morenoapb32 July 2005
This is a very clever and entertaining remake of Cinderella, with wonderful music, beautiful costumes and scenery, and a very talented ensemble cast. It also has a good deal of dry wit, particularly from the King, played marvelously by Michael Hordern, which sets it apart from other productions of Cinderella. It also features Richard Chamberlain trying his hand at his first musical, in the role of Prince Edward, the royal heir to the throne of Euphrania, who simply wants to marry for love, not political expediency. He is terrific in this role--handsome, aristocratic, with a very pleasant singing voice, and extremely graceful on the dance floor--he looks very much "The Prince." Gemma Craven is good in the role of Cinderella, and I particularly like her singing in the haunting "Tell Him Anything." The song "Secret Kingdom" with Richard and Gemma is beautiful, and one of the highlights of the entire movie. Though the film itself runs a little too long, I still love all the fine performances from this very talented cast, and recommend it to anyone who enjoys the musical genre.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Rainbows raced around the room when I saw this film!
kiite28 June 2000
This is one of my favorite movies of all time. I just wish they'd make a soundtrack so I could listen to the songs in my car. This isn't your average Cinderella story; it's so much better! And this version has added scenes and songs that were omitted in the television and first release versions. I would very much recommend this film if you like fairy tales and humor.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A wonderful fairytale romance
staceym2 October 2004
I am a long-term fan of this movie. I love musicals anyway, but was totally blown away by 'The Slipper and the Rose'.

The score by the Sherman brothers is wonderful, particularly the Oscar-nominated 'He/She Danced with Me' and all of the cast cope well with the singing, despite most not being singers primarily. Gemma Craven's debut is an excellent one, as she manages to play the very well known character of Cinderella uniquely and with skill.

The movie is well directed by Bryan Forbes and excellently choreographed (Position and Positioning being a prime example), and this rounds out an overall wonderful cinematic experience.

Margaret Lockwood is a joy to watch as the venomous stepmother, but all of the British greats present (Edith Evans, Kenneth More, Michael Hordern, Annette Crosbie et al) add class and gravitas to the proceedings.

Well worth the effort!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Under-appreciated movie
swedlow24 October 2004
The "Slipper and the Rose" is entirely under-appreciated. Though this film may be very romantic, Bryan Forbes' direction and the performances throughout are sensitive and and the music is beautiful and moving. What's interesting here is that even though this film has fantastic elements (i.e. the pumpkin turning into a coach, the Fairy Godmother suddenly has a translucent horn), Forbes manages to draw us in to the serious feelings of the characters in their situations through very close and personal cinematography that, at times, can expand to lush, majestic wide angle shots of mountains covered in snow or hillsides of green. Spoken and sung lines are also not rushed, which allows the viewer to be brought into different moments gently or feel like the action is taking place all around them. There is one scene of note - the Lord Chamberlin tells Cinderella that she has to leave (incredible performance by both actors) - and it is done with great intimacy and delicacy. I highly recommend this film.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A lovely classic!
rubyslipper16 December 2004
This is one of my favorite 'comfort films'--I associate it with being home from college at Christmas, when I first saw it on late-night TV. I now own it on DVD and watch it almost every Christmas. The 18th-century costumes are absolutely superb (love that moment when Margaret Lockwood as the Stepmother removes her black widow's cloak to reveal her scarlet gown), the script witty (especially when Julian Orchard as the prince's camp cousin shows up), and the performances delivered with a light touch (Annette Crosbie and Kenneth More are the best at this). Richard Chamberlain never looked so dashing--the way he gazes adoringly at Cinderella!!--and Cinderella herself, Gemma Craven, is sweet and lovely, with an excellent voice.

A couple of the songs clunk a bit (you decide which ones), but the dancing is great, especially in the ball scene and the 'Position and Positioning.' The dancers come from the Royal Ballet (the dancing mice, too), so the dancing is a delight. And Richard Chamberlain has a dance number with Christopher Gable of the Royal Ballet, and he certainly doesn't suffer by comparison!

And oh, the costumes! I first saw a rather faded copy of this movie, and I loved the frosty pastels of the ballgowns (in fact, I thought Cinderella's dress was white); I was slightly disappointed by the brighter colors on the DVD. But not too disappointed--this is a beautifully-dressed film.

My favorite scene is Cinderella's flight from the ball; she runs down a series of staircases as the clock tolls midnight, rose-petals fluttering down all the time, and her pale-pink gown and frothy white wig gradually darken into her ragged blue dress and chestnut hair. It's a stunning effect.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful, inspiring, and a shining light! This is one of my top 3.
cynthiabayne@hotmail.com9 November 2004
Beautiful, inspiring, and a shining light! This is one of my top 3. I discovered this film during my teens, the 90's. I can barely remember what the AMC informer said, but I remember nonetheless. He talked about how much of an impact it made upon the musical film industry. It was an awe inspiring effort! Location, Austria was beautiful!

I have heard some compare it to large quantities of sugar... "Just a spoon full of sugar, helps the medicine go down". I can understand this point of view. To present my side: I am a Judy Garland fan. I enjoy an occasional Barbara Streisand film, she can be a bit too much (small quantities). I enjoy most of the films during WWII and those following until the mid 60's and on, as well as the performers accordingly. After the 60's it becomes selective. Although, this description does not fully describe my tastes, I do fall into a certain niche.

This film is everything that I enjoy out of a transitional period in history. Cinderella has been retold over and over. This incarnation is heart-warming. I can feel the "love they shared". I will forever be great full to have been given the honor of the experience that is, The Slipper and the Rose.

This week I was singing the songs while walking to the mail box, doing my errands, and making breakfast. I will leave it on the shelf for a month or-so at a time. Eventually, I feel the craving for Richard Chamberlain (Prince Edward) and Gemma Craven (Cinderella) to belt out Rainbows raced around the room", "Don't let him know, why I must leave him, why I must go so far away", "Position and Positioning, are socially conditioning", "There's a secret kingdom all my own. With no vassals and no hassles and no Throne. Just two subjects, you and me. In our private Monarchy.

"It comes shining into view, When the one you love, loves you. Alone together, we will reign forever. In that secret kingdom, Where Love's dreams come true."
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Will they live happily every after? What do you think...
Sierra_Goodness3 September 2000
A magical and musical romp through the tale that is Cinderella. The mythos gets a little tweak and it's quite refreshing. Beautiful, hummable songs, gorgeous locations and production values are topped by first-rate performances from a very dashing Richard Chamberlain (perfect as the Prince, just trying to be happy) and the lovely Gemma Craven (also perfect as our heroine). Annette Crosbie nearly steals the show as the over-worked Fairy Godmother and she's quite a hoot. Anyone who loves the story of Cinderella will enjoy this variation.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Family Fare
suessis19 October 1999
This English Musical managed to make an impression in a time when the musical was all but a dead art form in the US. This is largely due to wonderful performances of the supporting cast(especially Michael Hordern as the King and the underrated Annette Crosbie as the Fairy Godmother), and some really wonderful moments in the script (as it happens Crosbie and Hordern get some of the best lines). The leads (Chamberlain and Craven) are sweet, but their performances are lacking something. Chamberlain looks pained at times like he is not enjoying himself. There are also moments where it sounds as though he is giving a straight reading of the script. He can sing, though, and not too badly. The score by the Sherman Brothers (responsible for the music in "Mary Poppins") has its moments ("Protocolicorically Correct" and "The Slipper and the Rose Waltz: When He/She Danced with Me"), but the songs tend to be a little odd and forgetable. Overall though, this film is worth seeing and is an excellent film choice for family video night.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A film that actually explains the Cinderella story
AlsExGal23 December 2017
Seeing this in widescreen in a nice digital print (VHS can only go so far), made a huge difference for me in appreciating the film, understanding all the jokes, and enjoying the fantastically beautiful costumes and Alpine scenery. always loved the Sherman Brothers songs, especially Protocoligorically Correct (haha, my spellcheck really didn't like that one), but what I've always loved best about this movie is the way it answers all my questions about the Cinderella story period at addresses every issue that I've ever had about Cinderella:

  • why does she put up with her step sisters' and step mother's abuse for so long? They move the funeral to just before the ball so that it seems like she's only putting it up for a little bit until she figures out what to do. you actually see them coming back from the funeral kicking her downstairs.


-why the magic only last till midnight? the Fairy Godmother explains that she had to borrow the magic because she only has a limited Supply that she used up helping Cinderella make the stepsisters gowns.

-why the heck is the prince is allowed to marry some commoner? Well this issue is pretty much the whole movie. My favorite song is one of the things that explains how this whole system is based on royalty marrying other royalty to keep the country strong and avoid war, etc. then they solve the issue at the end in a way that would satisfy politics. One brilliant thing I think is having all the foreshadowings of what is coming politically in the coming centuries. part of this is by setting it in the 1700s, before the various revolutions (which also makes for gorgeous costumes)

There are lots of other questions that this movie solves but basically I think it's one of the better Cinderella movies. I'm glad Rocky was sold out the day my dad went to see it, or he never would have seen this movie by accident and fallen in love with it and passed that love on to me.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Favourite film, great performances, music and setting
Blebs24 November 1998
This is my favourite film of all time - I could watch it again and again and again (if only I had it on video!). The musical score is excellent and the scenery and setting capture the moment. There are lots of great performances, particularly Julian Orchard as the Prince's cousin, and the cast list is full of British actors of calibre (plus Richard Chamberlain of course who does a good job of disguising his American accent). This is a really good family movie and has a great twist to the traditional Cinderella story.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
If it had been an American film, people would hate it.
movibuf196223 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I should clarify that I actually love "Cinderella" stories. I think what I really love is the challenge of how each subsequent version is going to differ from (or somehow outshine) the last one. Each Cinderella story is infused with new things, old things, and just plain bizarre things. In this telling, there is much more emphasis on the prince- after all, Richard Chamberlain is top billed. Unfortunately, the characterization of his prince Edward is no different from any other fictional depiction of royalty: born of privilege, but hating it and wanting to live like 'regular people.' (If these were actual royal figures, such a wish would never commence.) The story also expands roughly a half hour beyond the glass slipper finding its rightful owner, and for me this dragged the film out considerably. Nevertheless, it's still the quintessential fairy story.

Yet I am amazed that so many posters hail it as some sort of Kirousawa-like masterpiece. Is this because it's a British film? We always seem to rate European films just a little higher than American ones, calling them high art and so forth. And as critical as so many are especially about musical films recently- RENT, CHICAGO, THE PRODUCERS, and perhaps most acerbically and nastily, DREAMGIRLS- they all seem to turn a deaf ear on this one. I did like the costumes and set pieces, but was not thrilled with most of the Sherman Brothers' score- save two rather exquisite songs. It paces a bit sluggishly and, at 143 minutes, is about 43 minutes too long.

There are two saving graces: One is in the name of Annette Crosbie. Her fairy godmother is a dream and a scream at the same time. Possessing incredibly dry wit and very sly on the subject of magic, it appears that she works with other famous fairy tale heroines (some of whom are referenced throughout the film). Her introduction to Cinderella as a simple, practical woman who shuns the "sparkle and glitter," and seems to want to unionize fairies worldwide, is hilarious. And the rags-to-riches sequence built around the song "Suddenly It Happens" is magical indeed. (How could it not be, with mice that turn into ballet dancers even before they turn into horses?) The other saving grace is the ball: easily some of the most exquisite costumes ever assembled for a period film, all in an amazing rainbow of sherbet-like pastels. The ball sequence is climaxed by a glorious grand waltz, which begins with two dancers on an empty floor, then adds other couples- two and four at a time- joining into the swirling and spinning choreography, until all are waltzing in the same direction and having a marvelous time. A truly breathtaking sequence. I almost wished the film had ended right there.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
barneysharney26 August 2003
The film is excellent brilliantly acted,you fall in love with both Richard Chameberlin and Gemma Craven immediately.The songs are excellent and will leave you humming them all week, Your film collection is not complete without the slipper and the rose."What has love got to do with getting married......."
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wonderful retelling of the classic fairytale.
Star57 February 2003
This film may be long but it is thoroughly worth sitting through to the end.

The story starts off in the palace, where we are introduced to the Prince and the royal family. There are some great songs to get the film off to a bang and I had some fun spotting all the wonderful British actors who have bit parts - and believe me there are lots! Then we are taken to Cinderella's residence where her stepmother and stepsisters have taken over. (Margaret Lockwood does a super turn as the evil stepmother!) Here we are introduced to Cinderella aka Gemma Craven, who plays the part to perfection. She has a lovely voice and is ideally suited to the role of the young girl who is down on her luck but granted her heart's desire by her very own fairy godmother. It's a shame that Richard Chamberlain, in my opinion, couldn't have brought more to the part, although his scenes where he believes he has lost Cinderella forever were genuinely touching.

I do think that the film could have been cut in length slightly, especially the scenes in the palace but overall it's a beautiful retelling of the classic fairytale.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I love this film!
Milady_de_Winter22 August 2004
I used to love this film when I was little, and I loved Richard Chamberlain in it!

I just got this on DVD the other day, and it didn't fail to make me still think how fantastic it is!

I think modern day costume movies don't have the same touch as older ones do, and the costumes in this are amazing. The whole look of the film makes me feel as if I'm actually there!

Richard makes the perfect prince, stunning as he is, and Gemma Craven is wonderful as Cinderella. Most of the songs are brilliant, and memorable.

All of the cast are fantastic in it, and the Stepmother and sisters are perfect, and the whole story works so well.

But of course, Richard to me is the star, he's absolutely brilliant. I wish I'd been Cinderella!

Watch this film!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
highly enjoyable
s.knowles5 March 2003
A very enjoyable film. Richard Chamberlain is excellent as Prince Edward and the English supporting actors are wonderful. It is especially fun to see many of them having a go at singing and dancing. I really enjoyed Kenneth More as the Lord Chamberlain and Michael Hordern as the king. Annette Crosbie is a great fairy godmother and Margaret Lockwood good as the wicked stepmother in her last screen role.

The main weaknesses are the film's excessive length and Gemma Craven as Cinderella. She looks lovely and sings and dances adequately but has little screen presence. The role needed a stronger actress than she was in her first screen appearance.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good, but not great, musical version of Cinderella
llltdesq4 October 2001
This is a good movie with a good score, a cast full of recognizabe faces, nice costumes and beautiful sets. While certainly not a wonderful film, it is more than worth seeing. The principal problem here is that the movie drags a bit in spots. A bit of judicious editing to shorten it about ten minutes would probably improve the pacing remarkably. The leads actually complement one another quite. A cut above your average costumed musical with more than a few good moments. Worth watching.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Overlong but lavish musical!
TheLittleSongbird12 February 2009
This is definitely underrated. I managed to find this on video and I fell in love with it. It is overlong, and there are discrepancies with the script, but the whole film looks gorgeous, with the lavish costumes and breathtaking scenery. The songs are actually really pleasant, but the staging is a bit long, and the whole film unfortunately lacks magic. The performances were very good though. Gemma Craven was a bit too young, but her sweet voice and doll like face gave Cinderella a certain charm. Richard Chamberlain was perfect as the prince, and there is scene-stealing support from Margaret Lockwood, Kenneth More, Michael Horden and Edith Evans.Don't forget Annette Crosbie's funny performance as the Fairy Godmother.There were some touching moments, and the costumes are the main reason, why this movie should be watched. 7/10 Bethany Cox
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed