Galaxy Express 999 (1979) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Magical
wavelength12128 January 2004
I was at my sister's apartment one night when I was around 14, and you know how it is when there is nothing on TV but you are bored so you keep flipping around, well this movie came on around 10 o'clock and I started watching it and although I wasn't able to follow what was going on exactly, I just could not turn it off. This movie was my first taste of Anime and it seems good Anime does that too you. I was deeply moved by Galaxy Express, to the point that I almost started crying towards the end. Quite a magical, imaginative movie. But yes, very very strange. I stayed up until two in the morning to see how it turned out.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Classic old-school anime from Leiji Matsumoto
billys5 July 2004
Fans of Matsumoto probably know him best from either his original mangas, or the mostly made-for-TV adaptations like "Space Battleship Yamato/Star Blazers" and "Captain Harlock." The man definitely had his own little enterprise there, with his own vision and style; for a while in the '70s he was arguable THE star creator of anime & manga (like Osama Tezuka before him, and Hayao Miyazaki after). I've never seen his stories in their original episodic TV form, just the impressive and emotional but maddeningly fragmented movie version of "Yamato" (edited down from an entire TV series into roughly two-odd hours). There is no such problem with "Galaxy Express 999," a feature film from 1979.

Besides a cohesive storyline--involving scrappy young Tetsuro Hoshino taking a trip on the eponymous spacegoing locomotive along with enigmatic lady-in black Maetel, and kicking some major mechanical butt along the way for his dead mother--the movie has all the trademarks of Matsumoto at his best: wonderfully slinky old-school character designs, fanciful details and settings, a stylized, distinctly "vintage-futuristic" flavor (rather than the grungy postmodern cyberpunk variety made popular by "Blade Runner" and, in anime, "Bubblegum Crisis"); Matsumoto's obsession with vintage terrestrial vehicles streaking through space (the 999 is an old-fashioned steam locomotive-turned-spaceship, the Yamato is a resurrected WWII Japanese battleship-turned spaceship...one wonders if Leiji ever considered a "Galactic Land-Yacht Edsel"); even Leijiverse regulars Captain Harlock, one of the coolest anime characters ever, and Queen Emeralda figure into the story. A scene where the good Captain forces a belligerent android to down a bottle of rust-inducing milk is a classic--I can hear Japanese movie audiences cheering.

Above everything else, "Galaxy Express 999" offers a kind of poetry in the imagery and the story, and an enormous reserve of humanity and unadulterated drama, that touches on very deeply embedded emotional buttons. Like the Yamato movies, I find myself feeling close to tears in several places. This is no empty thrill-ride anime where the mecha are the stars, but a bona-fide sci-fi drama featuring effectively "real people" with real concerns and intense feelings that radiate directly out to you--what the best anime are all about. See this one, definitely. The style (including that endearing '70s-rock end theme) may strike some younger otaku as quaint or even hard to deal with, but those who stay on the Galaxy Express 999 to the end of the line will be glad they did, experiencing a true anime classic, from a master of the genre, that has survived the test of time.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Will put you under its spell
AlanMusician17 August 2004
This movie can be criticized as not having the hipness or technical quality of anime films today, but it is the depth of the story and passion of the art that make it such a classic. I'm not a big anime fan, and this is the only anime film I've seen that I would want to watch more than once.

The story is a wonderful and surrealistic coming-of-age type allegory. Despite elements common to science fiction (man vs. machine, hero setting out to avenge his parent's death), it stays free of cliche and retains an air of realism, or true surrealism. Almost all of the characters are more memorable and unique than most main characters in other anime films.

One of the unique things about this film is the way it conveys emotion so powerfully. I can't really define what gives it this quality, but it is extremely moving, like a good symphony or vast impressionistic landscape. The only other films I can think of (at the moment anyways) that have this quality would be the Godfather films.

In conclusion, anyone who appreciates what science fiction is about should see this film. It's a rare treat.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Weird
doctim85027 June 2001
One word can describe this movie and that is weird. I recorded this movie one day because it was a Japanese animation and it was old so I thought it would be interesting. Well it was, the movie is about a young boy who travels the universe to get a metal body so he can seek revenge. On the way he meets very colorful characters and must ultimately decide if he wants the body or not. Very strange, if you are a fan of animation/science-fiction you might want to check this out.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Get it on, bro.
Meteru27 December 1998
This movie inspired my IMDB name, Meteru. This, for some reason, appealed to me. Every 3 years, I see an anime that I'm really, really mad about, and this time it's GE999. Be forewarned- this film is very seventies. Bellbottoms are involved. There is scruffy, just-at-the-nape-of-your-neck-but-not-long-enough-to-be-cool hair. Some of the voice acting in the English version is really corny, albeit Saffron Henderson makes a good little boy. And some people interpret this to be a "children's" movie. Ladies and germs, this is not a children's movie. It isn't exactly "Orgasm in Demon City", as there is no nudity nor blood and guts. Some ignorant fools believe blood, guts and boobies are essential ingredients to Japanese animation. Go fig. Instead, this is a beautiful animation about a space-going train called the 999. Passengers are promised mechanical bodies that are practically immortal.Pain is deadened, but so is pleasure and purpose.

And it's all up to young Tetsuro Hoshino to stop it. And he has to grow up, too. It has beauty, soul and a mind of its own, and that's more than most of us could say about the crap that's shoved down our throats these days. The End.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Childhood's End
hellraiser728 September 2012
For people like me, growing up was a gradual process which made me take my time, having all the joys as any kid would have but being aware and learn what it meant to be an adult. Sure I'm an adult now but I still feel young inside, and that's the same with a lot of us. This is one of my favorite anime movies and films in general.

Based on the long running Manga series/TV series, Leiji Matsumoto always knew how to create Space Operas, the unique thing about them other than the vast fascinating universes he's created he always had human emotion attached to them.

The music is just superb, my favorite song no doubt is the ending theme song which is just wonderful. The animation I think is solid, though it may look a little dated but you have to consider this was in the 1970s so you get use to it. But I feel it successful captures a epic pulp sci-fi romanticism that's reminiscent of "Flash Gordon" comics and TV shows like "Space 1999" and "Doctor Who" as we see the endless depth and wonders it has from the different worlds and their features and customs as well as a mix in genre; heroic space pirates and those wonderful ships they roam the galaxy in, a world that looks like something out of a western, locomotives that fly, and others you have to see to believe. It's true there a lot of logic is thrown out the window but the charm of all pulp sci-fi it's not concerned about logic just on creative freedom and that's not a bad thing and something I don't see often anymore.

And the film is pretty dark, the fact that humans can buy themselves immortality but the price is their own bodies in exchange for mechanical ones. The mechanical bodied characters look disturbingly creepy almost reminds me those creepy silver faced robot cops from George Lucas's "THX-1138". The creepiest and saddest moment for me and to be Tesuros' journey to Pluto where he sees an ice cemetery filled mostly with human beings that traded their bodies all preserved in ice. Thsi part reminded me of one of Dante's Circles of Hell as well as demonstrates the fundamental problem with immortality.

I like the characters, it has two great supporting characters that both had anime franchises of their own. Captain Harlock sort of a John Wayne/Clint Eastwood like character and Queen Emeraldas whom was one of the first femme fatales in the anime world. However two unforgettable characters are Tesuro and Matel. Both of them you feel a deep sense of pathos for, you love them but you also feel sad for what troubles them. Tesuro isn't a stereotypical all smiles kid but actually feels like any other kid his age, however he has a troubled past from the fact his mother was killed out of sick amusement by the machine antagonist Count Mecha which is a scene that's heart wrenching and put tears in my eyes, this is the subplot of the film. But Tesuro also has desires to make his dreams of journeying out among the stars come true but to do this he feels immortality is the only way. Matel is a living enigma throughout the whole film she's almost has that dream like quality of a girl we had in our dreams that feels so close but so far. She is a warm yet detached presence, sweet but you see in her eyes and from what she says and doesn't that there is a deep sadness residing in her like she knows more than Tesuo and we can imagine.

I really like the chemistry between both of them, I don't really feel a mother and son dynamic from them but is sort of a Freudian coming of age love story for both of them. There are Freaudian overtones the fact Matel looks a little like his mom it pertains to the psychology that our significant others we love would remind us or even physically resemble a family member. Some pieces of conversation we see at time Tesuo desires to kiss her and even throughout the journey Tesuo become more mature and doesn't even feel like a kid anymore but a man, even Matal cares for him more than just a friend (trust me it's not so strange once you find out her secret which makes it okay).

This story has sort of a Philip K Dick like philosophical meditation on life and death and the importance of being human. We see why there is a reason why people have a limited amount of time in their lives, no one can ever truly live as an immortal because then life loses all meaning as well as make the human soul lose value; it's always what we do with our limited amount of time that truly makes us live forever.

Galaxy Express isn't just an anime it's an experience. A journey from Childhood's End, destiny and beyond.

Rating: 4 stars
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An anime classic
kriitikko16 March 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Galaxy Express 999 (Ginga tetsudô Three-Nine). Made in 1979. Directed by Rintaro. Based on the original work by Leiji Matsumoto.

What little I know of the history of GALAXY EXPRESS 999, it was first published as a popular manga in 1970's and was created by Leiji Matsumoto. GE999 is set in the same Star Wars-type of space universe as Matsumoto's other famous space manga: CAPTAIN HARLOCK. In fact space pirate Harlock and other characters from that manga (including Queen Emeraldas and Tochirô Oyama) make appearances in GE999. GE999 was a success as a manga and was soon followed by also popular anime series which included over 100 episodes. It was aired in 1978. A year later came this anime film, which isn't a sequel to the series, but summaries the main points of the story in two hours long movie.

The story is set in unidentified Star Wars-type of future where journeying to different planets has become a possibility. People of the future can have themselves mechanical bodies in which they can live hundreds of years, maybe even forever. The protagonist, Tetsurô Hoshino, is a young boy who witnesses how a cruel Count Mecha, whose entire body is made of mechanical parts, kills Tetsurô's mother. Tetsurô swears revenge and is convinced that he can only achieve it by having a mechanical body. To obtain it he must travel to a far-away planet with space train Galaxy Express 999. However, since Tetsurô comes from poverty, he has no money to obtain the expensive ticket. By a chance coincidence he meets a beautiful young woman, Maetel, who bears a resemblance to his dead mother. Maetel offers a ticket for Tetsurô on a condition that she accompanies him on his journey. And so the journey begins…

I first saw this film last October, about six months from now, and again yesterday. I feel that I must first tell about the thing that bothered me the most in this film: it seems very rushed. Then again what can you expect from 2 hours long movie that tries to tell the main points of over 100 episodes long series? Whatever the case, the situations change with a fast speed and Tetsurô meets other important characters in the story mostly by pure chance. I feel makers should have either left something out or include extra 30 minutes.

However, there's no arguing that GE999 has deserved its place as an anime classic. The animation itself, very faithful to the style of Matsumoto's manga, is detailed and beautiful to watch. Even after almost 30 years of its release the animation has not become "out of date" but puts many later anime films in shame. The music through out the film is enjoyable to listen even if somewhat "old" these day (it was the 70's after all). I have not heard any English dub of this film so I can only comment the Japanese audio which is good. Voice actors give life to their characters, most memorable ones being Masako Nozawa (mainly known as the voice of Goku through out the entire Dragon Ball saga) as the excited and young Tetsurô, and Masako Ikeda as the calm and mysterious Maetel. The supporting characters are not left in shadows, but also have a life of their own, most memorable to me being waitress Claire.

The story itself is suitable for both those who are looking for an entertainment for couple of hours, as well as for those who try to find deeper messages. GE999 is an entertaining adventure film but can also be seen as Tetsurô's journey from boyhood to manhood. The whole film is told from his point of view, so we are forced to feel what he feels. I think many people can relate to Tetsurô, for despite the fantasy elements, he is a very realistic character: young, hot headed, awkward and naive. We follow him as he starts to see differences between humans and machines and come to conclusion whether he wants the mechanical body or not. Maetel on the other hand stays as a mystery in the film and even in the end, when she reveals who and what she really is, it doesn't much answer to anything. Maetel can be seen as a dream of a growing young man, always close but just out of reach.

It's is the strange yet beautiful relationship between Tetsurô and Maetel that still awakes talking and questions, and fascinates after the decades. People have argued if their relationship is that of a two friends, of mother and son, or of two possible lovers (which wakes a lot of critique since Maetel's age is unknown and Tetsurô hasn't even reached his puberty yet). Without any means to sound deep, I think the best term to describe them is "soul mates". There is no question that the two feel devotion, caring and love for each others, yet it goes beyond that of friendship, family and lovers. I think that if their relationship would be stuffed in any of those categories, it would take something out of the whole film and of the characters. The ending scene, even if you already know what is going to happen, is still very touching and memorable.

All in all, despite the rushing of plot and some corny scenes, GALAXY EXPRESS 999 holds its place as an anime classic amongst the films like Katsuhiro Otomo's AKIRA (1988) and Mamoru Oshii's GHOST IN THE SHELL (1995). The film is directed by Rintaro, who had previous experience of Leiji Matsumoto's works as he had worked in CAPTAIN HARLOCK series. Later Rinatro directed a wonderful looking METROPOLIS (2001) that also questions the difference between humans and machines.

GALAXY EXPRESS 999 (1979) is a classic that should be seen at least once by every anime fan.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One Of The Best Anime Features Ever
chris-251227 July 2006
I saw this as a child in the late eighties and I must say, Galaxy Express is one of those films that sticks in your imagination for a long time. If you've never understood the appeal of anime, discovering this film may be your golden ticket to Otaku-town.

The story is as delicate and poetic as Ridley Scott's Blade Runner. The cell animation, while somewhat traditional, possesses a vivid style that explosively portrays Leiji Matsumoto's great talent for character design and visual storytelling.

This is one of those unique children's films like Star Wars, The Dark Crystal and The Wizard of Oz that completely transcends 'family entertainment' status and stands as a classic of cinema on its own terms.

I highly recommend this film.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
classic
zadkiel5718 September 2002
this movie is a classic of the genre. deals with innocense lost, the idolization of parental figures, the journey myth. everyone in the movie, even the secondary characters, has an agenda and a complexity lacking most american live-action movies, let alone the animated ones.

one of the best things about this movie is its use of iconographic imagery, the trains, the pirate ships. in the future where bodies can be replaced by machines without trouble, why not have trains and pirate ships. their allagoric status is made more powerful by their total out-of-place-edness within an outer space environment.

what's more, their importance to the characters becomes clear. in a world where the loss of body can lead to the callousness displayed by the "evil" characters, and their eventual loss of inner humanity, icons of what it means to be human become that much more important. each character in this movie is ultimately looking for that which makes them who they are. the landmarks of their collective pasts as the human race are important.

the best anime, in my humble opinion, is that which asks those questions because it is in the peculiar position of being able to explore it in fantastic ways. GE999 works well along those lines.

*drops $.02 in jar*
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BEST ANIME EVER!
Beaumont-419 December 1999
Yeah, it is. In fact, it's somewhere in my top 20 all time favorite movies. Number 15, I think. Anyways, I'm usually not one for plots, but I think plots work better in anime and RPG video games, (Final Fantasy 7, for example) and not movies. But this one has it all. Vivid drawings of planets, stars, an extremely well written screenplay. While this is not really for children, they can still watch it, it contains no graphic blood, guts and silicone. But I don't think they're going to understand it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful !
sharptongue11 April 2000
What can I say ? An action and allegorical tale which has just about everything. Basically a coming of age tale about a young boy who is thrust into a position of having to save the world ..... and more. He meets a dazzling array of heroes and villains, and has quite a time telling them apart. A definite must-see.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Revenge and Justice.
Derache29 December 2018
This is one of my favorite movies. I have never watched the Tv series as it is too long, and, from what I have heard, lacks in quality, but I did love this movie.

The story was simple and taught basic and simple lessons. It wasn't complex, but it was great for what it was made for.

The art and sound were inspiring and great. It used a simple theory of composites. It had very intense and graphically stunning scenes playing to a soft melody, and it worked amazingly. With only sweet and quiet sounds of explosions in the background of the music.

The characters were simple but did not go to waste. They were not just people to advance the stories, but rather emotions to increase the storytelling. The characters all had very unique and symbolic designs based on what they did.

I enjoyed this movie, so much. It has been a while since a show has stunned me, as much as this one did. Overall, this was perfect, I couldn't point out a flaw unless I looked hard.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Flawed but still excellent
jose-cruz533 February 2013
This is a sort of Star Wars in Japan, made for 12 year old boys, like Star Wars, but very different in many ways as well. It has some very strange stuff and the plot doesn't make any sense sometimes (note: this is different from not making sense in an art film, such as Tarvovsky's, where it is supposed to not make sense, here we have a traditional linear narrative). The is perhaps the product of the compression of a very complex story into only 128 minutes of film, which forces the movie to use many deux ex machina in several occasions.

Also, there are something I find disturbing in the concept exposed in the movie of people having disposable bodies. The character designs also look a bit strange for me, who is not used to 1970's anime.

Despite these flaws, however, the movie remains powerful enough to earn a 8/10, a rate score for me to give.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautiful, but naively abstract
siderite30 October 2012
The animation isn't great, but it does have a certain charm. The design of the new world which is based on a very old one is striking. The story is intriguing, as it stars a little boy on a quest to avenge the death of his mother. During his journey he acts like a snotty little brat, but in the process helps a lot of people and they in turn help him.

The film is very long at over two hours and after half of it is gone, it seems as if the story is going to end soon, but it doesn't, it unfolds into different layers. However it remains fundamentally simplistic, abstracted in a way that it seems at the same time both naive and deep.

Common themes can be found in the plot, like the child avenging his mother, innocent love, machines that dehumanize, humans that do everything for their souls and so on, but each substory shows a different aspect of humanity so that in their simplicity, they all gather together to form a deeper meaning.

Bottom line: I don't regret seeing it. It is certainly a beauty for its time and it has an interesting story. I even recommend watching it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An Anime adventure on a train that soars into space.
Aaron13755 January 2010
This early Anime movie was a rather good film that I caught once on the Science Fiction channel when Anime was actually popular here in America and not the ratings disaster that adult swim claims it is on the cartoon network. I quite frankly think it has less to do with it being less popular and more with the fact people would rather now buy dvds or watch the episodes uncut on the internet. This film though probably did not have all that many cuts and the voice work was okay for a dubbed movie, though I would rather watch the original Japanese version. Americans tend to use some rather annoying voices for children in anything dubbed. This film features a young boy who boards a train called the Galaxy Express in the hopes that he can make it to a planet that has the technology to turn him into a robot. He wishes to become a robot to avenge his mother, who was brutally murdered at the hands of a robot who hunts humans for fun. During the course of his adventures he becomes friends with the various workers aboard the train as well as a woman that resembles his deceased mother, a beautiful woman named Matel, who as with most woman in Anime movies has a secret that could either be really good for our young hero, or really bad. He goes from planet to planet too as the train makes various stops and he runs into a space pirate named Captain Harlock who apparently starred in his own animated cartoon series, so basically the Galaxy Express takes place in that universe. All in all a very good ride with a rather strange and unexpected ending. There would be a sequel to this one, but it was not quite as good as this one, however the ending was a bit more final than it was here.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Let me blow your minds nerds
nlundquist31 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Ready for this? Cap Harlock is a future Tetsuro. After gaining immortality, he regretted his immortal quest and hitched a ride on the time castle in order to subtly influence his younger self to seek out humanity and savor mortality. I would also argue that Mattel is indeed Tetsuro's mother having regained her life at the hands of Harlock in exchange for his mortality. Harlock was tricked my Prometheum into reviving his mother rather than his true love Maya and so Harlock becomes Faust (yes, he is his own father i.e. he loves Maetel/Maya). Now they are both cursed in time to live out immortal lives of regret and incest. The young Tetsuro supersedes the fate of Harlock and avoids doinking his own mother. I know it's a hell of a concept to read into, but I like it and I like to think Leiji would too.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An anime gem!
JeffG.31 October 1999
Anyone who thinks anime is nothing but sex and violence will be silenced forever after watching this movie. This is a fine movie that tells about Tetsuro's quest to avenge his mother's death, but also grows up in the process. The journey on the train sort of represents Tetsuro's journey from boyhood to manhood. The music and visual styles of the movie are a bit dated (you can tell it's a 70's movie) and the animation is only slightly better than your average "Star Blazers" episode. But the story and the characters are so strong, it really doesn't matter. A must-see for any animation fan!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Roger Corman release 1979
ithinkformyself20107 August 2011
The thing that bothers me about this movie is I cant find a copy of the dubbed Roger Corman release that I saw on The Movie Channel back in 1981-ish as a kid. Whats different about it then the Viz Signature movie is the music specifically the song in the bar that the girl plays is in Japanese and I want the English version. To me its a completely different experience. If some kind soul has a digital copy of that version maybe they could post it on the torrents someday and mark that its the Corman version as the other stuff is out there circulating as well but not the Corman version and I feel its under-rated as its the version most people remember.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed