Annie (1982) Poster

(1982)

User Reviews

Review this title
136 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
One of my all time favorites
Brutalfan21 May 2002
Aileen Quinn as Annie has everyone beat. With that darling face, that beautiful voice, she did a fabulous job creating the character. Albert Finney as Daddy Warbucks was wonderful! He had that stern 'businesslike' attitude which grew into heartfelt love for this little red-headed orphan girl. Carol Burnett was awesome as the lady who ran the orphanage. She started out gruff and tumble (and drunk) but as it turns out, she really has a love for these orphans.

There is NO comparison to the newest version. I can't see anyone else playing these parts better than Quinn, Burnett and Finney. It just isn't the same. If you want a beautiful musical with fun loving attributes, please see this movie!!! Your children will love you for it.

Highly Recommended
49 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bob-78520 May 2001
!!!Spoilers!!!

The very first time I watched this film, I was hooked. God only knows how many times I have seen it since. And every time I have cried at the bit where Rooster, Lily and Miss Hannigan kidnap her from Daddy Warbucks.

Carol Burnett, Tim Curry and Albert Finney are all excellent. As is Aileen Quinn as little orphan Annie. In fact the entire cast are brilliant. Annie is by far one of the best films I have ever seen. One of my favourite parts is the bit where they come in from the movies and Grace and Daddy Warbucks put Annie to bed while she's sleeping. And another fave is when all the kids from the orphanage go looking for Daddy Warbucks' house because they know what Rooster, Lily and Miss Hannigan are up to. Absolute brilliance. One thing I have to say is never, never, never, never watch the sequel. It is complete rubbish!!
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love this classic!
loueysmith19 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I showed this to my 2 year old today and she absolutely loved it, was so engrossed! I think it's lovely that even with all the new flicks that are way more updated these days, a child of this day and age can still love an old classic like this...I just shows you how wonderful a movie it is. I don't think there's one member of the cast I didn't think was great in this, they all play a fantastic part. I have watched part of the Jamie Foxx (couldn't make it through the whole thing) one and and all of the Victor Garber version and they're not a patch on this one. The Victor Garber one was watchable, but it felt rushed and in parts out of place...for instance, they have the song "yesterday was plain awful" in it, yet have cut out the action scene where Rooster tries to hurt Annie...so it makes no sense to still have the song! There are a few other scenes that also seem a bit off as well. The acting for all parts in that one seem good, with the exception of Miss Hannigan, she was meant to be a raving alcoholic man eater and she actually tried to save Annie at the end...much better this way. Kathy Bates was a disappointment. I liked both Graces, however prefer the one in this version as she has far more charm and a fine singer and dancer! I also love that "we got Annie" is in this one. So, to sum up...1999 version is watchable but 1982 is outstanding!! The other is just plain crap. I knocked off one star, for the fact in this version, Miss Hannigan ends up at the party, I know she tried to save Annie at the end...BUT, she'd been a crap to all the kids throughout, not exactly caring or nurturing (just cared about getting drunk and men) and she was part of the scheme of tricking Annie. So seemed a bit weird she was not only let off with all that, but made a part of the celebration at the end!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fabulous movie
tylerzgirl1325 February 2005
I thought that this movie was a real spirit-lifter. It is a movie that I hope everyone who watches it has a change of attitude towards orphans and homeless children and adults. Sometimes I find myself turning my back on homeless people. Although I am ashamed to admit it, I do hope that others will look beyond money and appearance and see what really matters. This movie, once again, was wonderful. I hope that you keep up all of the good work and keep producing and directing movies such as this one. Enjoy all of your comments and all of your hard earned credit that you are receiving and take the time to really preview all of your scripts and watch the movie several times to praise all of your good work. Thank you very much and I will be watching the movies that you produce no matter how long, or short, they might be.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Annie
theknownames15 December 2018
A memorable adaption of the Broadway play. Hands Down, the best Annie. The set designs are classic, the casting is impeccable, the costumes, the talent! There is at least one additional song that fits in seamlessly. Aileen Quinn as Annie is iconic. An inspirational timeless and, so far, unsurpassable production. Annie '82' is perfect
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Curiously maligned musical adaptation is a delight
mnpollio15 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Any movie buff alive in 1982 will probably remember the critical lambasting directed at the big screen adaptation of the popular Tony-winning Broadway musical Annie. But watching it with an unjaundiced eye, it is difficult to understand the hatred then or now.

Based on the long-running Little Orphan Annie comics and the acclaimed Broadway hit, Annie keeps the same narrative beats as its predecessors. Curly-haired carrot top Annie is a 10-year-old orphan in Depression-era New York City, whose upbeat attitude and refusal to be cowed by the obstacles thrown at her makes her a thorn in the side of boozy dictatorial orphanage matron Miss Hannigan. By luck, Annie is offered the chance to temporarily reside at the palatial estate of billionaire Oliver Warbucks, and she proceeds to melt the heart of Warbucks and his staff, while Miss Hannigan, her devious brother Rooster and his floozy Lily hatch a scheme to cash in.

It is hard to see where all the carping comes from. The film retains all of the favorite songs and numbers from the stage hit, while getting rid of dead wood like "Hooverville" and adding a few of new songs that fit right in (i.e., Sandy, Dumb Dog, etc.). Director John Huston opens up the film so that it never feels like a filmed stage play, which is usually the main complaint of people in Broadway to film translations. He nicely captures the tone and spirit of the Depression-era NYC. If the number celebrating "NYC" is missing, it is more than made up for with "Let's Go to the Movies", where Annie experiences her first movie-going experience at the lavish Radio City Music Hall where period-garbed Rockettes kick with abandon. I would say that the clips of Garbo's Camille could have been cut in this segment, although it would defeat the last sight gag. Ironically, everyone had the knives out early on for Huston, claiming he was an inappropriate choice for director. I would argue that Huston is infinitely more successful here in crafting joyous musical interludes as opposed to the dead air that "acclaimed" director Clint Eastwood perpetrated in Jersey Boys.

I would also venture to say that Huston's use of his lavish budget is present everywhere and used to great effect, particularly in the film's second half, which concludes with an exciting rescue that avoids the ho-hum effect that impacted the stage version's problematic second act. And while the visit with FDR and Eleanor Roosevelt, with everyone singing on "Tomorrow" may seem hokey, it was no more so than in the show, and there are many highlights to counteract that saccharine bit. "You're Never Fully Dressed Without a Smile" featuring the orphans is a lovely bit and both "I Think I'm Gonna Like It Here", "It's a Hard Knock Life" and "Little Girls" are all showstoppers.

Aileen Quinn nicely anchors everything as an appealing Annie (although I daresay some of the other orphan girls give her a run for her money in the talent department). Carol Burnett hams it up with abandon in a scene-stealing turn as the chronically inebriated Miss Hannigan. Albert Finney walks the tightrope between stern and warm as Daddy Warbucks. Tim Curry and Bernadette Peters are a memorable Rooster and Lily (their Easy Street is also a highlight), while Ann Reinking is a delight as Warbucks' secretary Grace Farrell.

Ironically, for a film declared a misfire by so many critics, I have not come across any musical fan or child who does not get caught up in its effervescent joy. Definitely a film to watch to chase away the blues and instill some hope. Steer clear of the woebegone modern remake with Jamie Foxx, whose sole saving grace was watching the same critics who trashed this film suddenly develop amnesia by pretending they originally liked it and the remake was so bad.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Annie Film Review
Illiana-nilson14 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Based on a comic strip original written by Harold Gray.  Annie Soon became a sensation that turned into a Broadway musical. It was a huge hit  so Thomas Meehan had the idea to write a book on the musical and received the tony award for the Best Book of a Musical in 1977.  The play ran on Broadway for nearly six years opening in 1977.Annie was set in 1933 during the Great Depression. The Leading cast included Aileen Quinn as Annie, Albert Finney as "Daddy" Oliver Warbucks, Ann Reinking as Grace Farrell, Warbucks' assistant. Miss Hannigan, Played by Carol Burnett and her brother Rooster Hannigan, Tim Curry. Bernadette Peters  Played by Lily St. Regis, and Geoffrey Holder as Punjab. This movie is  considered  an adventure comedy because of Annie's search for her parents and the encounters that she faces throughout the movie.   

Annie  is an eleven year old orphan during the 1930's. She is very adventurous and tries to escape many times from her orphanage, where she lives with the other orphan girls.Their caretaker Miss Hannigan, is very mean and treats the girls badly. One day while the girls are cleaning the house Annie hides in the laundry basket and is taken outside to The laundryman who take the sheets and dry cleans them. While Annie is out in the world she see a dog that some boys are picking so she goes and helps. While a  Policeman is watching her for a distance she is caught and brought back to the orphanage. Soon after Grace Farrell Warbucks assistance comes to the orphanage to take an orphan to stay with his for a week and she chooses Annie. Annie and Mr. Warbucks get along very well. Until Warbucks wants to adopt her and she shows him the locket and note her parents wrote to her saying that they would come back to get her. Warbucks decides that he will help her find her parents and reward the parents 50,000 dollars for coming and taking Annie home. But the people who show up and seem to be her parents turn everything upside down and and things take a crazy twist. (spoiler alert)  

The costumes in the movie are good at telling the differences between social classes in the 1930's. The clothes of the poor at the time were dirty, old and ripped in some places. When you see Grace Farrell she is dressed very nice as she comes out of the car in front of the orphanage, and you are able to see the differences between how rich people dressed and how poor people were dressed.This shows you  how hard it was during the great depression.  For lower class people who had little or no money. The movie's costume designer does a good job creating images of the hardships that these people went through during the movie. You really feel connected to the movie through the characters clothes.

The set design was very well done. It was very elaborate and had many details to show the life  of the characters. You were able to tell a lot about the kids from the orphanage,  where everything was very dirty and old. It wasn't kept in good conditions because they didn't that the time or money. You were able to tell that they did not have enough money and were very poor. Then you have Mr. Warbucks home. It was very big, beautiful, everything was new and kept very clean and tidy. The clothes were new and expensive and kept very well. you could tell that a lot of work was put into the set design so that the audience could get the full effect  of the movie. It helped them  feel the character's pain, happiness, sorrow and anger.

My overall opinion of the film was good. I thought the quality of the film was well made. The singing and dancing was well rehearsed and you could tell they put a  lot of time into the choreography and practice. The acting was believable; when the characters faced a problem in the movie you felt it also. I recommend that people who have not seen the movie should see it because it is a classic movie that will make you laugh and cry.  
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Really great, and I'm a cold-heart film cynic
thehotttrock23 May 2004
I loved this film as a child and will always hold fond nostalgia for it. You definitely have to watch this from the point of view as a child (with so many "family" films out today, I know this might be hard, when their goal has been to entertain everyone). I loved all the performances in it from Albert Finney to Carol Burnett and Tim Curry. My most favorite Huston film is The Misfits, but don't expect that from this film, which I think alot of people are doing. As most directors age, they tend to get "soft" in their filmmaking as their hunger is replaced with complacency, but this film isn't as bad as some people describe it. It's a musical, it was made in the 80's, and it's primarily for kids. Compared to other movies made in that time period, this one is actually quite good. And although I've only seen parts of the newer one made by Disney, this one seems alot more mature and crafted, and not so candy-coated.
23 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I still love it!
Snoopy15 January 2003
I just recently watched this movie, for the first time in my adult life. It's even better as an adult, because you catch all of these little things like, "Mr. Warbucks, you're really handsome, for a Republican." Some people bash it for being different than the Broadway show, but so what, they did a good job. It's a fun movie for people of all ages. It's hilarious, musical, and touching.
15 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An all time favourite
toni-cooke1828 February 2014
I cannot count how many times I have watched this film. As a child I would watch it almost daily and as an adult I watch it whenever it comes on the television. That was until my daughter came along and discovered the beauty that is Annie... so we have watched it time and time together, so much so I had to buy a new DVD copy as we wore ours out!

Regardless of this being an old film, it does not disappoint, it can be enjoyed by all ages and it will be timeless.

These days the story brings me to tears.

The music and the songs are fantastic, as are the child actors. The singing, the dancing, the story line have the ability to stir up so many different emotions.

And as Daddy Warbucks can vouch, Annie has the ability to win over even the most unavailable hearts.

As a viewer you will not be disappointed with this film, if you haven't already, watch it.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the all time great 80s movies!
CoolLeather23 January 2001
Annie (the one and only original 1982 version)represents for me something special in movie cinema. Growing up with Annie was special. It used to come on HBO every right around the holidays and recently I owned the wide screen version on DVD (I wouldn't dream of that 19 years ago). This movie was such a spectacle...one of the greatest 80s movies that the new generation (to my big surprise) don't appreciate, the great music...the rich storyline...a favorite for everyone that I know and in my big family. To have that glory taken away with such a low rating makes me wonder what people's values are??
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderfull
moccaprincess011 April 2004
Annie, is a wonderful story about a 10 year old girl in the depression Area of our Nation's history. Her one dream is to find the parents who left her on the doorstep of the orphanage and have a family. The orphans that play her friends are wonderful. As the movie goes on she is choosen to live with the billionare Oliver Warbucks for a week as a publicity tactic. Well, she grew on him and he sent out a search for her parents and couldn't find them because none of them knew about the broken locket that Annie had around her neck. It is a wondreful hartwarming story with great music and great acting it is a must to see if you have not already and if you have it is wonderful to see it agian and again.
20 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I grew up on this movie!
jonak-4550128 September 2018
This movie is the best constantly sing the songs from the movie. it will always be a classic.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The best musical of the 80's
afonsobritofalves18 September 2018
One of the best musicals ever and one of the best films of the early 80's. One of the greatest classics ever, full of good songs, good actors and a great story. Highly recommend.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very enjoyable and sweet musical
elainehowie14 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I really like this film! The songs are great and extremely catchy and the main character Annie is very likeable and you instantly root for her. Most of the characters are memorable and likeable, including the villains. The film really gets you involved, and sometimes you can't help but sing along. The only part I wasn't so fond of was near the end of the film when Rooster was chasing Annie up the bridge. The scene went on for a while and just seemed a bit weird and out of place. But this part does not detract from the overall great film.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A good family movie
lorneross7314 October 2013
This was the first movie I remember watching I cried I was 7 years old I saw this movie at the new Beverly cinema in Los Angeles California. My parents thought it would teach me to enjoy life I did learn a life lesson that everybody does not have a golden spoon. I wish I had a sister and maybe I might adopt a child someday. The music was very good and it sticks in my head all these years later.Take your kids to see it or rent it. The end of the movie is very scary for very young children. The movie is very different from the play it is more evolved. They should make a follow up as Annie grows up. I hope you enjoy watching the movie as much as I did from LORNE.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Heartwarming Classic for the Whole Family
RechRo19 August 2013
I've had the pleasure of catching this on Starz Kids channel a couple of times recently, and could not help crying every time. Aileen Quinn as Annie is simply adorable. Tim Curry and Carol Burnett make a wonderfully funny and evil team, along with Bernadette Peters as Curry's sultry love interest. Albert Finney makes a fine lovable grouch and Ann Reinking rounds out the principal cast as the warm, lovely mother figure. I can't believe the reviews I've seen knocking John Huston's only musical effort. The songs are great, the chemistry between the actors seems natural, and the film is wholesome. An ideal choice for a family movie night. Huston was legendary for bringing out the best in his actors with minimal interference, and I think it shows once again in this film. The creator of the Razzies, John J.B. Wilson, should have been gelded for allowing sweet little Quinn to receive a nomination for this performance, let alone a win. Shame on you, Wilson!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
annie
lisamorris-id4 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I have chosen Annie because I like all the song of Annie. I like all characters in Annie and the dog. I know the songs and they are my favourite and I have seen it on the TV. At the beginning they live in an orphanage and Annie is awake and the other girls are asleep. Annie sings thought the film. She gets picked up by Grace in a car to take her to a mansion, Annie loves it she thinks she's a cleaner but she is a guest. Mr Warbucks wants a boy but he is happy with Annie. He decides to adopt her she wants to find her mam and dad. They can't find her real mam are dad so Mr Warbucks takes her away. I don't have any favourite songs because I like them all. The end bit is my favourite because Grace and Mr Warbucks fall in love and adopt Annie and give her a new locket. I like the fireworks in the sky when Annie's name comes up.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It could have been a lot worse; it could have been a bit better
dimplet14 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Under John Huston's direction, Annie cannot be accused of manipulating your heartstrings. But when you consider the storyline, you feel like it should. Instead, it is a bit understated; some people are moved by it, and others (who perhaps don't like musicals in the first place) are left cold. My response was in the middle: Annie is entertaining, but not moving.

What's right: All of the acting is excellent, especially Albert Finney as Daddy Warbucks, who accomplishes the difficult feat of recreating an ancient cartoon character. If judged by its retaining the character of the old Little Orphan Annie newspaper cartoon strip, the movie succeeds. It is generally difficult to bring a modern Broadway musical to the screen, but Vincent Canby, in his New York Times review, says he didn't much like the stage version, and the movie is better. The producer, Ray Stark, didn't like the Broadway version, either.

I think Aileen Quinn gets it right, not too polished to seem implausible, but delivers the lovable perkiness the role calls for. Carol Burnett rises above her television persona to do some real acting -- sort of. None of these roles calls for naturalistic acting, although Ann Reinking's performance comes the closest. These are roles that have their roots in a cartoon strip, not a great novel. As presented, this works fine in a musical, in part because Huston doesn't overdo it; With a less subtle director, this could have been a very expensive flop. And there are some genuinely funny scenes,particularly from Burnette, and the radio show.

The limiting factors are the story and the music, which are good but not great, a point made by Roger Ebert, with whom I often disagree, but this time his review gets it right: Despite these limitations, the movie is still pleasantly entertaining.

The movie Annie inevitably gets compared to is Oliver! In some ways Annie works better as a musical, precisely because it is so rooted in pure fantasy. You can't help feeling something is lost in Oliver! by moving the gritty realism of the original Charles Dickens into a cotton candy fantasy musical. If Annie is cotton candy, well, what else was the cartoon strip? But in both Oliver! and Annie, the depth of emotion the stories suggest is missing.

The message of Annie is surprisingly contemporary to America, 30 years later, of Annie opening the heart of Daddy Warbucks, of FDR drafting him to organize his New Deal jobs programs.

Spoiler alert:

As to the ending, I really wish the Carol Burnett character had been fired or led off in handcuffs. But I guess Annie, herself, was not mean- spirited, so forgiveness was more appropriate. We could learn a lot from Annie, which, I suppose, is the whole point of the story.

I recommend watching Annie, not only because it is enjoyable, but also for cultural literacy because there are so many references to it in other movies. And don't miss the legendary Ray Bolger as the radio sound effects man tap dancing with his hands!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How did this beautiful classic get such a low rating???
laraliu102 May 2011
I find it appalling and ridiculous that the Disney movie got a higher rating than this and that this movie got a 6! that is just plain stupid. "Annie" is a classic, inspirational story. It still is one of my favorite movies, and one of my favorites as a child (well, when I was younger, I'm 14 now). Aileen Quinney (sp.) did an amazing job, she has a beautiful voice and brings such a prescense to the songs she sings. Hannigan and Rooster and his wife whose name I can't remember right now had me cracking up that entire song, they bring a hilarious scene, where Hannigan is clearly drunk, and bring the screen to life with a song that's supposed to be sinister (you will find that I am referring to "Easy Street" but I don't want to give too much away). Hannigan was also my main problem with the Disney version, Kathy bates was too strange, Burnett did a much better job, bates was just too strict and serious, while Burnett was more out there and brought some charisma to the part. Oh and I loved Daddy Warbucks, he was a great addition to this movie as well as Grace.

All in all, Annie is beautiful movie that is worth a watch. Please, do not listen to these idiots who tell you it sucked and Quinney can't sing, because she can. Just enjoy the movie, it's great and I promise will become a family classic.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What a great movie!
DGroce7 March 2005
This movie was one of my first child's absolute favorites, and it became mine, too, as she wanted to watch it over and over again. The lead characters were wonderful, especially Aileen Quinn. She was the perfect little mischievous redhead, very believable. Albert Finney was unforgettable as Daddy Warbucks. Though his character was stern, warmth shone through his eyes when Annie worked her magic on him. Carol Burnett absolutely shone in this movie as Ms. Hannigan, who shamelessly threw herself at the rich Daddy Warbucks. You felt sorry for her, but delighted in her humiliations by the orphans as they played their tricks and tried to make life for her as difficult as she made it for them.

It has been years since I've seen this movie, but I will remember it the rest of my life as one of my all-time favorite movies.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Kids movie about important things
ron-1986 August 1999
I have read a previous comment that says that the only good singing parts are when Carol Burnett sings, and I think that's baloney. The purity of a child's voice still cuts you to the soul (if you have one) and I can still remember the goose-bumps I got from miss Quinn's singing the first time I saw it in the theatre. Carol Burnett is great in this film, and she deserves much praise, but above and beyond that - if you want a movie that you and your kids can watch that won't leave them screaming obscenities (or being just plain rude) at daycare on monday, then this is a good film for you to SIT DOWN WITH THEM and watch.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Movie Gets A Nine. Carol Burnett Gets A Ten.
johnstonjames27 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
as a film musical, the original 'Annie' is hard to top. i don't know why Disney bothered to remake this. i usually like Disney TV musicals but their version of 'Annie' was done with very little feel for the old all American, right wing, newspaper comic strip heroine. i mean the Disney people portrayed Annie without her trademark curly red afro. what a stupid way to interpret this character. another reminder that even Disney can really blow it sometimes.

for one thing, the original 1980's fun musical has a much better cast. you can't really beat a cast that showcases the amazing Carol Burnett, Tim Curry, and the delightfully cute Bernadette Peters. as far as a comparison of Kathy Bates to Carol Burnett, there is none. Burnett owns the role of miss Hannigan. i'm not sure they should have forgiven miss Hannigan at the end here, but hey, it's Carol Burnett after all.

Carol Burnett is a American classic (oooo. that sounds sort of rude)and one of the very best female comics ever. People forget that Burnett, like Lucille Ball, forged the way for female comedians in a time when they were mostly men. Carol Burnett can do no wrong as a performer. even when she does drama, she is outstanding. 'Annie' is a reminder that she should have done more broad comedy for theatrical films. Miss Hannigan is definitely very broad comedy (ha! broad. no pun intended). if it wasn't for the likes of Carol Burnett, there might be no Margaret Cho. Burnett is so priceless here screaming "kill! Kill! Kill!" and lamenting the company of "little girls". hilarious.

the rest of the cast is superb. beyond first rate. real classy. Aileen Quinn is a marvelous Annie and it's a lot of fun to see curry and Peters ham it up. one of the most under acknowledged performances here is definitely Ann Reinking. for adults, Reinking almost steals the show away from Burnett. but not quite. her role is too soft and sweet to allow anything too intense, but she does it with such classic style and a personable graciousness that is so endearing you just can't get enough of her in this film.

i only have one question here. not a complaint. just a question. did Edward Herrmann make a whole career playing FDR? on TV, stage and the movies? he does a nice job, but FDR is my favorite President and Herrman looks nothing like him. the glasses and the make up only help somewhat.

this movie also has a really great line. the original comic was very right wing and capitalistic, and this movie definitely touts the glories of free enterprise, but it does have one very deeply profound catch line. Reinking asks Finney, "do you really only love money, business and capitalism? you know those things will never love you back". whoa. deep. cool.

look. whoever may read this, and if you really like this movie, i know times are tough right now. sometimes i think they are ALWAYS tough for some of us. i can't tell you for sure if "the sun will come out tomorrow". for all i know tomorrow you may be dead. but not all problems can be solved and life can't always be perfect. maybe it never can. but you should have some hope and try to look to the things you enjoy and what gets you through until the next day. this movie works well enough for me. God Bless and have a happy 4th of July 2011.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
All-time Favorite
alison-cooke22 May 2006
I am now 27 years old and still LOVE Annie. I was only 4 when it came out and was completely obsessed with it. It's such a great movie... still my all-time favorite. I saw the play last night, which was also good. However, nothing compares to the movie and to Carol Burnett as Miss Hannigan = PERFECTION! I love this movie!

I read a terrible review of this movie on here and I just don't understand... How could anyone hate this movie so much? It is just a fun, feel good movie. Yes, no sex, no violence (well just a tiny bit). It's such a refreshing movie compared to the movies that are coming out today and that's while it will remain as my #1 on any list of top movies I make. I love it!
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Annie is wonderful
amberismybaby6 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I grew up watching Annie and I must say the best song in all of it is little girls. As a mother of 5 girls I wonder why lol. One poster said he hated carol Burnetts part as Mrs Hannigan worst of all. I happen to love her's best of all she made the movie. All of my girls love Annie but this version only they don't care for the remakes. Annie is a classic movie that I am honored to share with my girls today! I have never loved a movie as much as this one. I went through 4 VHS tapes and now own the DVD of Annie. It has stood the test of time. I will not be surprised to see it last another 20 years. I do agree with the omission of Tomorrow it should have been a main part of the show. Albert Finney was great as Daddy Warbucks. I wonder what Grace Farrell is doing now. I tried looking for info on the kids especially Molly I thought she was adorable it seems like the kids aren't acting anymore. Aileen Quinn was the best choice for Annie in my opinion.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed