From Beyond (1986) Poster

(1986)

User Reviews

Review this title
121 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Great little horror flick from a very accomplished team of horror film makers.
The_Void20 July 2004
From the team that brought us the horror classic; Re-Animator comes From Beyond; a tale of a mad scientist and his search for the ultimate pleasure.

Like Re-Animator, From Beyond is based on a story by the fantastic horror writer H.P. Lovecraft. The acting here comes courtesy of two of Re-Animator's best actors; Jeffrey Combs, a man that is well known in the world of B-Movie, and Barbara Crampton; the scream queen that we all remember from the infamous 'head' sequence in Re-Animator. There is also a role in this movie for Ken Foree, whom horror fans will instantly recognize from the classic film, Dawn of the Dead. I didn't know he was in this movie, so it was a nice surprise for me. From Beyond is also brought to the screen by the same team that brought Re-Animator to the screen; Stuart Gordon in the director's chair and Brian Yuzna producing. With a group of people as accomplished in the horror genre as this fine bunch, what could possibly go wrong?

The plot of this movie is good because it very much plunges into the unknown, and as well all know; it is that which makes horror frightening. This movie is also made good by the fact that once the horror starts, it doesn't stop and that's always a good thing for a horror movie as nobody likes waiting for the next horror sequence to turn up. The team of Gordon and Yuzna obviously knows that relentlessness makes a good horror movie as it is evident in all horror movies that they have worked on, together or separately. The idea behind it is also an original one, as ever with H.P. Lovecraft and it leaves a lot open for creativity, which is capitalized upon very well by Stuart Gordon with his interesting and effective creatures that are brought into the film as a result of the scientist's foray into 'the beyond'. The story, it could be said, is unrealistic, which is true of most horror films. However, the way it is brought to life seems realistic and as there is some explanation to the point of the machine and that which it does, so the audience can somewhat believe it; much to the film's credit.

In the 80's, horror reached a new point; gone was the creativity of the 60's and 70's, and a new area of over the top and extremely gory horror was opened up. From Beyond very much capitalizes on this 'new wave', but unlike a lot of the 80's films that did, From Beyond manages to pull it off so it is both interesting and creative and therefore it is a cut above the majority of other 80's films of the same ilk. From Beyond is not a masterpiece, but it is very good and fans of the horror genre will certainly find something to like about it. Recommended.
62 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
one of the wildest and most entertaining horror films
fred-8321 November 2005
Its been a while since I saw this, but I fondly remember it as being one of the wildest and most entertaining horror films of the 80s. I liked it even more than Re-Animator, partly because there is something more intriguing about parallel dimensions and the connection to schizophrenia, than Re-Animators simple (though still entertaining ) "dead come back to life"-scenario. Some of the outlandish effects seem to be influenced by Dali, bodies in a constant state transformation and re-evaluation. It is mind-boggling that it is still so hard to get a hold of on DVD, I only watched a British VHS copy years ago which had some cuts and I still long to see the original unrated version. The score, by Richard Band, is also impressively aggressive and atmospheric. Would somebody please just release it on DVD! They just don't make them like this anymore.
31 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Campy and cheesy at times but spine tingling all the way thru
ElvesBrew20 April 2002
This is done by the same crew that gave us ReAnimator and while it follows in the same tradition of camp, cheese, and corn, "From Beyond" offers something more. There is sexier sex from Barbara Crampton, fresh from the Young and the Restless daytime soap. It is hard to decide if it is her Femme Fatal or her Black Leather Dominatrix that is the sexier. She does them both so well. Jeffery Combs gets a true starring role in this time out and offers much more depth to his reluctant hero character. His mentor/adversary Dr. Pretorius, played by Ted Sorel, is the essence of perverse genius. The special effects are also more intense and a step beyond anything else you're likely to have seen. Especially the battles between Pretorius and Combs' character, Crawford Tillinghast. With all the tongue in cheek humor, the campy sets and costumes, and the cheesy dialogue there still lies a truly spine tingling and disturbing storyline beneath it all. This movie could have easily been just another campy horror film but the terror of perversion makes it so much more.

This film disturbs and entertains, excites and amuses a unique vision unlike anything else.
47 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Stomach Churning Contents Revealed
rexhableur24 September 2004
This seminal film by Stuart Gordon reeks pure 80's. Following the success of the far superior Re-Animator, Gordon experiments with one of the works of his favourite literary sources: HP Lovecraft. The film tackles the popular sci-fiction theme of the sixth dimension -- and considering the small-budget limitations placed upon the director, it is a reasonable treatment of the multi-dimension theme. The resonator depicted in the film demonstrates strong Lovecraftian imagery . . . not easy to achieve. What strengthens the film are the grotesque F/X and Jeffery Combs/Barbara Crampton: both of these elements are excellent (for the genre and budget). Some of the F/X are really stomach churning -- try eating jello or fried liver and Chianti when watching the film . . . If your are a HPL, Gordon, Combs or Crampton fan, this film is an essential viewing for you.
25 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Classic 80's Horror
ElijahCSkuggs17 February 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Mention H.P. Lovecraft and you betcha I'll pay attention. Mention slimy effects and Jeffrey Coombs....you bet your sweet ass again I'll be paying attention. But when you mention Stuart Gordon or Brian Yuzna....ehh, either dude is hit or miss with me. Thankfully, From Beyond delivered enough entertainment to make this bizarro movie lover pretty satisfied.

The movie revolves around some type of resonator thingy that enlarges your Pineal Gland in your brain. This gland, when given the right magnetic frequencies (?) enables you to see creatures that secretly reside in our world. Include a nerdy yet sexy psychiatrist and a ex-football player cop, you have a trio of true 80's weirdom. And for many fans of 80's horror, this film is a gem and probably a favorite of theirs.

From Beyond delivers well on a couple things: The slimy special effects are all well-done, which is no surprise if you've seen Brian Yuzna's Society. The script and acting overall is completely weak and cheesy, but if you know anything about 80s horror, that's not necessarily a bad thing. I thought it was alright, 80s horror fans will love it, anyone else will probably completely dislike it. And the violence was on a pretty high level as well, which was surprising, I wasn't expecting so much blood, that was a nice surprise. Unfortunately though, the movie just doesn't entertain like you'd hope it would. The resonator scenes are done well, but most of the other scenes are rather uneventful and kinda dull. But this is no surprise, especially considering Yuzna or Gordon. Like I said before, they are both very hit or miss.

Overall though, the movie does deliver a unique scifi/horror 80s feel, great slimy effects, some 80 cheese and even a couple nipples. From Beyond is a bizarre flick that all true fans of 80s horror should enjoy...to some degree.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another horror classic from the team of Stuart Gordon and Brian Yuzna.
Infofreak3 June 2003
Stuart Gordon's debut 'Re-Animator' is a horror classic, and 'From Beyond' is an attempt to get lightning to strike twice. Once again Gordon and producer/co-writer Brian Yuzna make a gory horror/black comedy loosely inspired by a H.P. Lovecraft story, and get cult hero Jeffrey Combs and scream queen Barbara Crampton to star. And you know what? It's actually as great in its own way as 'Re-Animator'. They really pulled it off! Combs isn't quite as outrageous this time round, but he's still excellent, and Crampton has a more important role, which includes her memorably dressing up in bondage gear. Another 'Re-Animator' actor Carolyn Purdy-Gordon also appears in the supporting cast, as does Ken Foree, one of the stars of Romero's zombie classic 'Dawn Of The Dead', and Ted Sorel plays Dr. Pretorious (a deliberate reference to 'Bride Of Frankenstein'), in a role one could almost imagine was written specifically for the late David Gale ('Re-Animator's Dr. Hill). The story is original and unpredictable, the humour dark and surprisingly subtle, and the special effects are excellent and very effective. For me this movie is extremely underrated and gets better with each subsequent viewing. If you enjoyed 'Re-Animator' you'll love 'From Beyond'. Gordon and Yuzna's subsequent careers, both separately and together, have been extremely uneven, but give credit where credit is due, this one's a winner! Highly recommended.
25 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Another Creepy, Gore-Drenched and Brilliant Lovecraftian Gem from the Team that Brought Us "Re-Animator"
Witchfinder-General-66615 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
With a story based on the works of the almighty H. P. Lovecraft, Stuart Gordon as the director and Jeffrey Combs as the star, great Horror is guaranteed. After the success of the masterpiece "Re-Animator" (1985), Gordon, Combs, producer Brian Yuzna, as well as the stunning Barbara Crampton teamed up again for yet another incredible piece of Lovecraftian Horror that is creepy and utterly fascinating. "From Beyond" of 1986 is a wonderful classic of 80s Horror cinema, which delivers in all regards, be it the insanely morbid storyline, the wonderfully eccentric characters and great performances, the eerie settings and creepy atmosphere, the pitch-black humor or the grisly makeup and incredibly gore-drenched splatter effects.

Crawford Tillinghast (Jeffrey Combs) is assistant to the sinister Dr. Pretorius (Ted Sorel). Together, they have developed a device that stimulates the pineal gland and open the gates to a hellish parallel world. When their experiments go terribly wrong, Tillinghast is sent to a mental institution. Both out of good will and out of interest in their scientific achievements, the beautiful Dr. Katherine Michaels, a prodigy in psychology, gets Tillinghast out of the institution in order to investigate the circumstances in the eerie mansion where the experiments took place...

Jeffrey Combs, doubtlessly one of the greatest Horror/cult actors alive, is once again great in his role here. As opposed to his own Dr. West in "Re-Animator", Combs' character of Crawford Tillinghast isn't insanely obsessed with his work, but actually wants to prevent further experiments with the menacing device of his and Dr. Pretorius' creation. The ravishing Barbara Crampton is once again absolutely wonderful in the female lead here. Unlike her equally lovable, but more innocent character in "Re-Animator", she plays a fearless and very dedicated scientist here. As in the earlier film, Crapton is witty, sexy and absolutely wonderful in all regards. Ted Sorel is wonderfully creepy, sleazy and diabolical in the role of the villainous Dr. Pretorius (Horror fans will immediately recognize the reference to the mad scientist in James Whale's brilliant 1935 Universal Classic "Bride of Frankenstein"). The role of Dr. Pretorius is comparable in its sleaziness and creepiness to that of David Gale's Dr. Hill in "Re-Animator", both characters being unscrupulous scientists and, simultaneously, perverts. Other notable performances include Ken Foree as the likable black cop who joins Crawford Tillinghast and Katherine Michales to Pretorius' mansion, and director Gordon's real-life wife, Carolyn Purdy-Gordon, who plays an malicious psychologist hostile to Katherine.

"From Beyond" is extremely creepy from start to finish, and yet it always includes the wonderfully morbid and pitch-black humor that makes Stuart Gordon so inimitable. The gore-effects are once again extremely bloody, the make-up is truly grisly, the deformed character from beyond alone looks incredibly nauseating. "From Beyond" is a breathtaking and stunningly suspenseful cinematic experience from start to finish, with which Gordon once again proves that Horror can be scary and funny at the same time. My favorite Stuart Gordon film will always be "Re-Animator" (which happens to be one of my favorite films of all-time), but "From Beyond" comes very close. An absolute must-see for all Horror fans!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Humans are such easy prey!
KillMe66630 September 2001
This film is without a shadow of a doubt, the best film ever - believe! Pure twisted weirdness that pummels you into submission, without ever letting you catch your breath. Starring the great Jeffrey Combs (Re-Animator), as the unfortunate Dr. Crawford Tillinghast who is assisting his superior - Dr. Edward Pretorius in creating a resonator with the intent to stimulate the pineal gland in a dormant part of the brain (to create a sixth-sense). Unfortunately, things don't go as planned (it would be pretty boring if they did!) and Dr Pretorius gets his head bit off ("Like a gingerbread man!") after weird slimy creatures start to appear while his sidekick gets away from the house but is blamed for the death and put into an asylum. A very sexy doctor - Dr. Katherine McMichaels accompanied by a Shaft wannabe - Leroy 'Bubba' Brown ("I'm the LAW here!") remove Crawford from the institution and back to the dreaded house to recreate the experiment and prove Crawford's innocence, needless to say, Crawford is a bit miffed about leaving his cosy straitjacket and; relative safety.

There are GREAT lines (especially from Combs) - "Alright! Come and get me...EUNUCH! This time I'm not running away!", gross-out effects aplenty - heads being twisted off, killer bees that reduce their victim to a bloody, boney mess, and just look at how Dr Pretorius slowly changes into something vile;

Crawford - "My God Edward, what have you become?"

Pretorius - "Myself!"

Pure genius.

I love this film, I really do. If not for the fact that there is never a moment of boredom, the fact it has a real Lovecraftian sense of dread, or the way it manages to come off looking like some kind of acid trip, then just to see, Barbara Crampton in full S&M gear.

Oh, the movie was filmed using some sort of pink filter, which just adds to the weirdness. Did I mention how great it was?

See it (wo)man, just see it!
59 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
nice try...
Jonny_Numb7 October 2005
"From Beyond" has the unfortunate task of following up one of the most vivid, effective, and hilarious horror films ever made–"Re-Animator"–and comes up short in almost every area. Once again, director Stuart Gordon is adapting an H.P. Lovecraft tale, this one about two scientists who create a device that stimulates a "sixth sense" and allows slimy creatures from another dimension to seep through. Stars Jeffrey Combs, Barbara Crampton, and Ken Foree ("Dawn of the Dead") do their best, but the script is too limited, and neither the humor nor horror is as strong as in "Re-Animator." Still, this is incomparably better than most of the dreck lining video shelves these days.
32 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A real (third) eye opener.
lost-in-limbo23 February 2008
H.P Lovecraft had a twisted imagination. Director Stuart Gordon and writer Brian Yuzna equally so. The team who brought us the excellently morbid black horror/comedy "Re-Animator", present us with another tasty Lovecraft nightmare of kinky sexual ecstasy and luridly graphic terror in the frame of "From Beyond". From the story, to the special effects and atmosphere everything comes off resourcefully artistic and grippingly bizarre. Not only does it want to gross you out with its repellently heinous make-up FX, but also draw you into a satirical variant of the pleasure to seek out forbidden knowledge. This quest is a fixation, with sexual stimulation and escalating fear gelling together to construct a desirably moody mind trip of psychedelic colour and shades. Gordon's competent direction is highly stylised and reworks grisly jolts to perfection. Even the gloomy atmosphere holds tight, and smothers any sort of hope with total bleakness. Yuzna adapts Lovcraft's nine page story to a feature length premise, and he does a splendid job in keeping it impulsively smart and provokingly bold within a brief framework, but some laborious spots in the script eventually creep in. The dark tongue-in-cheek humour is there, but unlike "Re-Animator" it's deviously slight in manner. It features a likable worthy cast of horror favourites. Jeffery Combs, Barbra Crampton (who looks great in bondage), Ken Foree and a superlatively loony Ted Sorel in impressively gooey make-up. Richard Brand's accomplished, racy music score incorporates a shuddery intensity that works with the deliriously erotic pull. This is probably my ideal Brand score. While I might prefer "Re-Animator", this freaky cult-fave is not far behind.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
* * * out of 4.
brandonsites198124 August 2002
Wicked adaption of the H.P. Lovecraft story written and directed by horror master Stuart Gordon. The story is about experiments that cause people to be able to use their sixth sense. This however opens the door to another universe full of weird creatures and monsters and causes those who are part of the experiment to go mad. Terrific special effects, a fast pace and a nasty sense of humor make this a memorable outing. Good camp cast too.

Rated R; Nudity, Graphic Violence and Profanity.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Classic 80's horror flick
natcarr-74-2711411 June 2013
I've always loved Stuart Gordon's HP Lovecraft adaptions, ever since seeing his contributions to the Masters of Horror TV Series. Oddly though its taken me YEARS to finally see this movie, yet it was one of the "video nasties"of the 80's. Personally I think it's a "video lovely" and a total hoot!

The movie is really engaging and a horror fan's delight. the special effects are a blast and strongly influenced by John Carpenter's The Thing in their imaginative and gross out splendour. Jeffery Combs gets you rooting for the good guys and caring about his character. Babs Crampton starts off as this straight lace psychologist before turning into a sex maniac with a propensity for PVC and chains! And Ken Foree, (the hero from the amazing Dawn of the Dead) finds himself battling giant leaches in the basement wearing nothing but a banana hammock and brandishing a kitchen knife! Scary stuff!!!

This movie will have you grinning ear to ear. Its a gross, funny, freaky, wonderful slice of 1980's horror. It was well worth the wait and delivered all the goods. It has a tinge of 70's grindhouse horror due to the voyeuristic plot lines, but its easy to date as an eighties movie due to the famous horror genre actors and wonderful special effects.

Its 80 minutes of pure entertainment. Enjoy.

Obscure fact: The Newcastle Rockband The Wildhearts name check From Beyond in their exuberant song Splattermania, which is all about the joys of being a fan of 80's horror movies.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A very disturbing but also creative movie...
tom_koopa7 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I had no idea what to expect when I downloaded this movie. The plot summary on IMDb seemed interesting to me. I didn't look at any other aspects to keep myself spoiler-free.

I have to admit that the movie surprised me in many ways. As it happens, I apparently watched the uncut (director's cut) version of the movie.

There are some really strange and disturbing scenes in this movie. There is a scene where a woman dresses herself in black leather and continues by touching a man in... certain places. I don't know if the normal version of the movie has that, but that's what I saw.

HP Lovecraft's From Beyond tells of two scientists experimenting with a device called a Resonator. With it they are able to amplify a part of the brain known as the Pineal Gland. To their amazement, they see a new world inhabited by creatures unknown. However it becomes clear too soon that these creatures aren't very friendly...

A clever, creepy and sometimes disgusting or disturbing movie. You need to have some sort of experience with movies like this or else it could be too much for you.

I recommend this movie to any fans of strange, gory movies. Fans of HP Lovecraft's work will love it, I'm sure.

7 out of 10 stars. It's certainly not a bad movie, just very strange...
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great Sci-Fi classic
gologo11223 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
After his success with "Re-Animator" Gordon made his next, maybe greater classic – "From Beyond". I like this movie and I think it deserves more merits. Gordon's talent manifests itself again and the music is awesome. The story is quite interesting and well presented. The director shows again his affection for Lovecraft's works. The concept of a mad scientist is again present but now it is less stereotypical – in her thirst for knowledge and naive understanding of what the real potential of science as a product of the human mind is, Dr. McMichaels seems as dangerous as the antagonist Edward Pretorius. With the simple recipe "If it appears, you make it disappear" she is sure she has found the answer to a problem that clearly is beyond her competence. I am a scientist (a physicist) and I assure you that this happens in real life on a regular basis. The lack of responsibility and naive perceptions of science are dangerously present on a very high academical level. And believe me, this is VERY SERIOUS.

The acting is excellent – the formula Barbara Crampton + Jeffrey Combs seems always to work and this movie is not an exception. In fact, I think that her role in "From Beyond" was Crampton's best and most interesting one – she acts quite convincingly and naturally and manages to play her character in her three highly contrast transformations. I think that Crampton is an underrated actress maybe because she decided to stick with horror movies and soap operas. Jeffrey Combs acts also quite well and again proves to be born for the Gordon's horror movies. Ken Foree and Ted Sorel are also great and act convincingly. I must admit I felt sorry for Foree's character when he got eaten by these bugs. He was such a nice and reasonable guy.

The special effects are quite well done even for the standards nowadays. Unlike movies like "Evil Dead", "Castle freak" and "Re-animator" you won't see much gore here, although there are really some disturbing scenes. Actually I prefer it this way, since I think that too much gore and flesh eating freaks don't make a movie a necessarily good one. Just another reason why I like "From beyond".
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Tommy Can You Feel Me In Your Penial Gland?
loganx-228 April 2009
Tommy can you feel me in your penial gland? Stuart Gordon made yet another Lovecraft inspired horror movie, between "Re-Animator" and "Dagon" and here he really nails it.

Two scientists create a machine that enlarges the penial gland(the supposed location of the third or "mind's eye" which Descartes called "the seat of the soul" and Bataille called "the blind spot of western rationality") and are able to glimpse into an alternate dimension, laying parallel to ours, full of glowing jellyfish creatures, slugs, giant worms, swarms of buzzing things, and eels floating the air, in a diffuse purple light and pink mist. As soon as the scientists see the creatures, the creatures can see them, and before any rational discussion can be made about the breakthrough, one of their heads is bitten off. Yes, the abyss also gazes, and is hungry for brains! Jeffery Combs has to re-create the night for the police, turning on the machine yet again, to find that the headless Dr., he was assisting, has re-constituted himself on the other side into a "new body". A sadomasochist in life, he's now a shape-shifting and extra-dimensional psychic, consumed with showing the world the other side of life, and extending his new pleasures to everyone he can get a tentacle around. The machine causes a mix of euphoria, terror, and sexual arousal, in those who stand within its field, which begins to overwhelm the resolve and sanity of the group to keep it turned off. "For some people 5 senses just isn't enough, I guess?", Comb's notes casually, as Barbara Crampton (another Gordon regular, isn't it nice when casts stay together?), slips into hypnosis and then into a leather bondage outfit, unable to disentangle the Dr's. Faustian desires from her own.

The special effects are awesome the slimy 80's creature shop in full effect, more for monsters though than a human body count. Though it does rack one of those up too, this is a very, very gory film. The missing link between Lovecraft and the films of John Carpenter like "The Thing"and those of David Cronenberg, like every-thing( this film owes as much to him as HP rightly, and is the conceptual bridge that allows us to see where one ended and the other left off).

The whirlwind pace of the film is all Gordon's own though, recalling the best and silliest moments of "Re-Animator", but with strange modulating fleshy monsters who never stay in one form too long. Combs puts on a noteworthy performance, with a quiet and odd intensity few actors in b-horror can manage, but which he is magnetically drawn. He looks so genuinely sad when he's finds himself eating organs in the hospital, it's an oddly emotional scene(for a few seconds anyway) another actor might not have pulled off. The final fight between the two Dr.'s from within the same body mass, also nods to "Tetsuo: Iron Man" and the living Blob in "Akira", soon to come.

Like "Dead Alive" and "NightBreed" this has become one of my favorite 80's horror and films in general. It's "The Thing" with all of the suspense and paranoia gutted, while their entrails slither away into a corner screeching. "Altered States" if the monkey version of William Hurt had climbed the empire state building, after declaring himself a newly enlightened God. It's a film that's so excessive, propulsive, and freakishly explosive it demands attention, beyond the level of mere story, and holds it at level of macabre and slime streaked craft. I watched this again after I finished it (this was my first time, and the directors cut seems the way to go. Gordon had to make many a cut to get it down to an R for theaters). They don't make em like this no more.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Classic Eighties Splatter
Rathko3 March 2010
An eighties minor classic from Stuart Gordon, the cult-king of cinematic Lovecraft. A young physicist, accused of the murder of his research partner, is accompanied back to the scene of the crime by his psychiatrist and a cop. There, they activate The Resonator, allowing terrifying creatures from a hidden dimension access to our world. The movie features the most cutting edge physical special effects of its time, with a half ton of latex, slime, blood, and puppetry being employed in bringing the monsters to life. Twenty five years later, however, it's tough not to laugh. The acting is hammy, and the plot completely nonsensical at times, with a particularly WTF scene that involves Barbara Crampton discovering her inner freak in Dr Pretorius' S&M dungeon. But it's still entertaining, particularly once Jeffrey Combs starts sucking out eyeballs, and well worth watching.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A delightfully creepy, kinky and gruesome monsterfest
Woodyanders20 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Brilliant, but deviant and depraved scientist Dr. Edward Pretorius (a nicely batty Ted Sorel) and his edgy assistant Crawford Tillinghast (a superbly antsy Jeffrey Combs) are experimenting with a machine called the Resonator, which opens the doorway to another dimension and allows creatures from that dimension to come into our world. Moreover, it also stimulates the pineal gland and causes a person's sex drive to go into orbit. Pretorius gets killed during an experiment and Tillinghast winds up in an asylum. Ambitious, but prim and repressed psychiatrist Dr. Katherine McMichaels (an excellent performance by the lovely Barbara Crampton) takes Tillinghast back to Pretorius' house to cure his "insanity." Jolly cop Buford "Bubba" Brownlee (winningly played by Ken Foree) tags along. Director Stuart Gordon, who co-wrote the inspired and original script with Dennis Paoli and Brian Yuzna, whips up one deliciously twisted doozy of a horror flick: Gordon maintains a steady pace throughout, stages the shock scenes with tremendous rip-roaring aplomb, does an aces job of creating an appropriately creepy and icky atmosphere, and adds a wickedly amusing sense of sickroom black humor to further spice up an already tasty cinematic stew. Better still, there's a strong and provocative subtext about the dangers of unleashing the human id (watch out for the incredibly sexy scene where the heretofore buttoned-down McMichaels cuts loose and puts on a leather dominatrix outfit!). The make-up f/x are impressively gory and grotesque; Tillinghast's transformation into a hideous bald brain-eating mutant is especially striking and effective. Mac Ahlberg's polished cinematography, Richard Band's splendidly spooky'n'spirited ooga-booga score, and the uncompromisingly downbeat ending are all top-notch. A worthy follow-up to the terrific "Re-Animator."
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Funny Trash
claudio_carvalho25 June 2015
Dr. Edward Pretorius (Ted Sorel) and his assistant, the physician Crawford Tillinghast (Jeffrey Combs), have developed the Resonator, a machine to stimulate the sixth sense through the pineal gland. When Crawford activates the apparatus, he sees creatures flying in the air and he summons Dr. Pretorius. The experiment goes out of control and Dr. Pretorius refuses to turn off the Resonator. Meanwhile their neighbor (Bunny Summers) calls the police, and when the police officers arrive, they see Crawford trying to escape from his house and Dr. Pretorius beheaded. Crawford is sent to a mental institution under the supervision of the sadistic Dr. Bloch (Carolyn Purdy-Gordon). However, the prominent psychiatrist Dr. Katherine McMichaels (Barbara Crampton) requests the custody of Crawford and Detective Bubba Brownlee (Ken Foree) that is investigating the case stays with them. Katherine goes with Crawford and Bubba to see the Resonator and turns the machine on. Dr. Pretorius returns in a mutant shape and attacks them, in the beginning of a gore night with weird life forms.

"From Beyond" is a funny trash produced by Brian Yuzna and Charles Band and directed by Stuart Gordon that works with the cult-actor Jeffrey Combs and Barbara Crampton from the Re-Animator. The result is a gore and gruesome black humor horror movie filmed in Italy to keep the low-budget. In the 80's, "From Beyond" was very creative and unique; in the present days, it has lost part of this impact but still entertains. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Do Além" ("From Beyond")
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Something is lacking from this sci-fi horror
Red-Barracuda29 November 2010
Despite the undoubted talent in front and behind the camera From Beyond was a disappointment to me. Director Stuart Gordon was of course responsible for the earlier Re-Animator, which was also an adaption of an H.P. Lovecraft story. It, therefore, seemed like From Beyond would be a winner, especially when two of the principal actors from that film returned here, namely, Jeffrey Combs and Barbara Crampton; with the welcome addition of Ken Foree of Dawn of the Dead fame. Sadly, for some reason, things just never seem to truly take off and the film never really catches fire.

As I said before it does follow the template of Re-Animator. Even so far as casting Combs as a serious minded scientist dabbling in dangerous science but also in its use of great sticky 80's special effects. They are rather good it does have to be said. I just don't think they were incorporated into an interesting enough narrative. The wicked humour of Re-Animator was for the most part missing here, which I think worked to this movies detriment. The best moment for me was when Barbara Crampton kitted herself out in bondage gear and went slightly nymphomaniac on us. A little bit more of this and I might have been more generous with my final assessment but overall for me From Beyond just never kicks into first gear. It isn't a bad film as such but has to go down as something of a misfire when you consider the personnel involved.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The dream-team of horror !
Coventry11 September 2003
Warning: Spoilers
When these people come together to make a movie, you can be a 100 % sure you're about to see great horror. A script based on the writing of H.P Lovecraft + Stuart Gordon to direct + Brian Yuzna to produce + the leading roles for Jeffrey Combs and Stuart Gordon = pure, awesome horror !!

From Beyond is every B-horror movie fan's dream! Just like Re-Animator did, this movie immediately grabs you by the throat and doesn't let you go for the next 90 minutes. A big roller coaster ride of terror. When it comes to pure tension and realistic value, From Beyond is even better than Re-Animator. Only when you compare the entire movies, you'll agree that Re-Animator is still the superior. Like I mentioned earlier already, this movie is based on a story by H.P Lovecraft. A short story, though. The original writings by H.P left lot freedom for creative directors. And the least you can say about Stuart Gordon is that he is creative. He filled his adaptation with plenty of gore, blood and artistic creatures. In this way, every category of horror fans finds his wish. Horror with a great story AND beautiful gore is rare...very rare.

SMALL SPOILERS FROM HERE !!!! The plot of From Beyond is a theory that the pineal gland acts as some sort of sixth sense. If the pineal gland gets stimulated, we're able to see "the other side" . Dr Pretorius and his assistant Crawford Tillinghast have designed a machine that stimulates the pineal gland. And, although this other wold consists of horrible monsters, you get attracted to it. That's what happens to Dr. Pretorius and he disappears. After being accused of murder, Crawford returns to his machine along with Katherine...a young and beautiful scientist. They do the experiments again and terror breaks loose...Above that, the pineal glad also controls your sexual thoughts and erotic emotions so pretty soon, they are all driven by lust instead of logic... END SPOILERS!!!

I've seen it several times already now ( in fact, I try to watch it at least once a year ) and I'm still impressed by it...every single time. And there are a lot things to discover in From Beyond. The hidden (and mostly sexual ) messages are numerous. The acting is flawless. Besides Jeffrey (my favorite B-actor) and Barbara (it's impossible NOT to love her), it was great to see Ken Foree again. Finally a worthy follow up for his great role in Romero's Dawn of the Dead.

I'm actually very curious what H.P Lovecraft himself would have thought about this version of this story ? Like many other people, I consider him to be the "father of modern horror" so I think be glad to see what Gordon has created out of his writings. That also goes for Re-Animator, Castle Freak and Dagon! All of these are great movies. If you're a fan of horror and you have not yet seen this, I'd see don't sleep...nor eat until you do. And you better buy it at the same time because I'm sure you will watch it over and over again...and you should!
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Classic horror and very weird
robfollower6 December 2018
Kinky sex and brain sucking. Whats not to like about Stuart Gordon's brilliant follow up to Re-Animator.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Differences between Theatrical And Director's Cut !!
homecoming819 October 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I first rented this when I was only 16 years old and I just loved it, just like Lovecraft's "Re-Animator" which was released a year earlier. Jeffrey Combs is born for this kind of characters, Barbara Crampton is sexy as always (with a very hot scene) and the story was very intriguing with amazing special effects. A Great horror\fantasy\monster movie which is still fun to watch more than 20 years later. I actually rented it a couple of times since than since I never saw it on TV. But finally, "From Beyond" was shown in America on cable in High Definition and the best news: it was the Director's Cut. Introduced by Brian Yuzna himself, I was very curious about the scenes which were cut by orders of the ("Evil Empire")MPAA back in 1986 to avoid the X-rating. What are the restored and extended scenes: -Pretorious puts his deformed hand between Katherine's legs (shown off-screen) -Katherine is more often and in close-up assaulted by the monster that shoots out of Pretorious body. -The attack and killing of a nurse by Crawford is extended: he knees the nurse, than swallows her eye and spits it out, you see the eye laying on the floor. Than the sucking of the brain is a little extended. Since I already saw this classic a number of times, it was easy to spot these differences. Maybe the ending has a second or 2 extend but I'm not 100% sure of that. Catch the Director's Cut if possible. It really is worth it, I never expected that much stuff was cut out since it was so bloody and violent to begin with.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gordon Scores With Sophomore Shocker...
cchase5 December 2008
Warning: Spoilers
With RE-ANIMATOR, director Stuart Gordon and writing/producing partners Dennis Paoli and Brian Yuzna established themselves as the consummate adapters of the stories of H.P. Lovecraft. Their hot streak continued with FROM BEYOND.

Basically, following the LEGEND OF HELL HOUSE paradigm, it's a four-person story...of sorts. RE-ANIMATOR star Jeffrey Combs is back for more, this time as Crawford Tillinghast. Crawford was once the student of the insanely brilliant (and just plain old INSANE) Dr. Edward Praetorius (Ted Sorel, chewing up scenery AND co-stars, usually at the same time). Praetorius thought that the human pineal gland held the secret to opening up another dimension, and created a device similar to an industrial-strength tuning fork to sensitize the gland and discover the portal to this new plane of existence. Good AND bad news: the experiment worked, leaving Praetorius dead and Crawford half-crazy...well, more than half.

Now somewhat recovered, he's been reluctantly persuaded by the comely and extremely persuasive Dr. Katherine McMichaels, (Barbara Crampton, Combs' RE-ANIMATOR co-star and the recipient of the world's strangest "head-job.") Katherine is convinced of the importance of Praetorius' work and insists that it shouldn't go unfinished.

The police are not entirely stupid, however and though they reluctantly allow Crawford to be "supervised" by Katherine, they still insist on them having some "backup", in the form of amiable-but-imposing linebacker-grade off-duty cop Buford "Bubba" Brownlee (Ken "DAWN OF THE DEAD" Foree), who has never heard of such strange stuff in his life, but it is an opportunity to make some extra dough. Little does he know HOW strange things are about to get...

As in almost all Lovecraft stories, things go to Hell in a big way. Praetorius isn't as "gone" as our three protagonists believed he was, and the 'resonator' that he created is a compelling and insidious presence with a life of its own that nearly destroys them all.

Heavily Freudian symbolism abounds here (which Lovecraft might've appreciated) and Gordon walks that fine line between camp and creepiness, never letting the special effects overwhelm the story, though when he turns effects wizards John Carl Buechler and Mark Shostrom loose, prepare to see some freaky things that most movies never thought of! (It's a wonder what these guys were capable of on a limited budget and no CGI.)

The Unrated Director's Cut of FROM BEYOND is FINALLY available. If you haven't seen this yet, you should order a copy of it...like YESTERDAY. Me? Mine's already on the way...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great 80's Sci-Fi that really deserves a DVD release!
ElvesBrew18 October 2004
I have already commented on this film before. Shoot I even wrote a whole new review ten minutes ago but the darn web site deleted it while I was in the middle of writing it!

Any way, those of us that have seen this film know how cool and great it is but for the rest of the world to get their chance to see it this film really deserves to be released to DVD.

What is the hold up? Why hasn't this movie already been released as a DVD? Come on Vestron, you have a real gem of a movie here that would have to make you more money on DVD than it does just sitting there in the can.

So come on guys, release this film. Kick it out with some advertising and I'll bet it does just as well as a lot of low budget new releases.

ElvesBrew

Will Carroll
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dr. Crawford Tillinghast will become a being that has never existed before now.
andrew_hawkins3 February 2009
This movie, adapted from a dark and mystery filled tale by H. P. Lovecraft, is a supernatural thriller with more chops than many of the horror movies of the 80's. While the film is dated at times by costumes and technology, the intensity of the story and the characters involved surpasses even today's popular standards. Jeffrey Combs portrays a doctor's assistant who has witnessed a horror so terrifying that he questions his own sanity. A machine that stimulates second sight or "the sixth sense" is tested in an attic laboratory with nightmarish results. What follows is an investigation involving Combs' Crawford Tillinghast, a psychiatrist, a detective and the horror FROM BEYOND. Questions surface that will frighten and shock the average audience. What really happened to Dr. Edward Pretorius? What is the Resonator and what are its effects on the human brain? What is It?

This is a very fun film for open minded fans of the horror genre. I enjoyed the cast's performances on screen. The story is full of horror, sex, and gore. Since the film is from the mid 80's the effects pale to current standards but, the message and intent of the movie are clear and each scene delivers its own charm. Some parts are shocking and others are laughable. This movie has ups and downs and is a fantastic roller coaster ride for the senses.

This movie is highly recommended for fans of H. P. Lovecraft, Stuart Gordon, Sam Raimi, John Carpenter and admirers of Jeffrey Combs, Barbara Crampton, and Ken Foree.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed