My Best Friend Is a Vampire (1987) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
The Vampire Hunting Business Bites!
vertigo_147 March 2004
My Best Friend is a Vampire follows a long line of fun films about supernatural occurences disrupting an already awkward period of teenage development just as it did in My Mom's a Werewolf (teenager's mother turns into a werewolf), My Boyfriend's Back (girlfriend's dead boyfriend rises from the grave), and I Was a Teenaged Zombie (teenager's friends turns zombie to fight zombie drug dealer), and the list goes on.

This was surprisingly a very entertaining film about a young boy who, upon almost losing his virginity to a strange older woman is a strange old house, is given the bite that turns him into a vampire. Now a professor and his idiot assistant, vampire hunters, want to kill the vampire that is on the loose. The only problem is, they've mistaken his friend as their undead target.

The funniest parts of the movie involve a lot of great slapstick humor between Ralph, the vampire's best friend, and the vampire hunters who seem to follow him at every turn, although he can't figure out why. Even more amusing is the vampire teenager learning to cope with being a vampire thanks to the help of an older man, an English vampire mentor. With the help of dark glasses and a large stock of pigs blood, maybe life as a teenaged vampire won't be all that bad. It just makes shaving a little hard when you can't get your reflection in the bathroom mirror. And even more amusing than that is the misconception that the vampire's parents have about him. I would've guessed that they would have thought their little Johnny was on dope, but their mistake is actually much funnier.

Plus, you have a pretty good soundtrack to boot with the dominating song being Timbuk 3's "The Future's So Bright."

If this is your forte of films, the 80s horror/comedies, you should likely enjoy this one. It doesn't bite!
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A cute, campy, fun movie to watch if you are into vampires
Smells_Like_Cheese28 July 2002
Warning: Spoilers
Ah, our precious 80's, a time of great music, interesting taste in fashion, action movies and goofy teen horror films. During this time we had films like: Teen Wolf, Once Bitten, Teen Witch, movies that involved our classic horror stories with the world of a teenager. What would happen if a teenager was a werewolf, zombie, or even a vampire. So I was watching TV and came across My Best Friend is a Vampire, don't know why, just figured I would check it out, actually I seemed to like it. So I went out and bought it and watched the unedited version of course and still actually found myself having fun watching this movie. While it's not exactly the most original idea and there are some really silly moments, I think My Best Friend is a Vampire is a small little gem.

Jeremy Capello is a typical American teenager fighting with the usual problem of getting himself a girlfriend. Although he has someone interested in him, he has his eyes on his classmate Darla Blake, but she in turn is unnerved by his constant staring at her. Recently, Jeremy has been having some weird nightmares about a strange woman trying to seduce him, and later he actually encounters that woman named Nora, who makes an obvious invitation to him, while delivering groceries. His skirt-chasing friend Ralph convinces him to take up the opportunity for a first erotic experience. But the encounter goes badly: first the woman bites him in the neck, then two strangers burst into the house, forcing Jeremy to run for his life. Next morning, Jeremy looks pale and does not feel well. Also, over the day he notices a strange man observing him. This man pops into his bedroom the very next night, introduces himself as Modoc and carefully attempts to relate to Jeremy that he is now a vampire. Jeremy of course is at first skeptical, to say the least, but a sudden aversion to garlic, an increasing sensitivity to sunlight and a craving for blood slowly convince him otherwise. His new vampire "life-style" hampers his attempts to start a relationship with Darla, who has finally become interested in him; otherwise Jeremy begins to adapt to the minor impacts the change has brought to his life.

I think the reason I loved this film was because of it's camp value and the actors that seemed to enjoy making this movie. I nearly died laughing when the vampire slayers that are supposed to be after Jeremy think that his best friend, who's mortal, is the vampire they want to slay. They finally capture him and are just so over the top with it, all the times they think he's a vampire, he just thinks that they're perverts. I also loved how Jeremy's parents are trying to figure out what's wrong with their son, they come to the conclusion that he is gay. Plus you gotta love how it's awkward enough being a teenager, imagine going through your teen years as a vampire. I'd recommend My Best Friend is a Vampire, it's nothing too special, but it's a funny little movie that was over looked at a time of teen witches and werewolves.

8/10
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This comedy has bite
Tenchi6458919 September 2006
For some strange reason, I've always liked a good vampire flick... especially when there's some humor thrown in.

This movie satisfied that need perfectly, although I shave a few points off because there's a better one of these 80's horror-comedies out there. (Once Bitten) At first this movie was hard for me to start. I kept wondering if this would turn out to be any good... especially considering the opening with the whole castration thing.

I learned to just move through the movie and give it a chance.

Granted that the other posters are correct; there are a few similarities between this movie and Once Bitten, (A teen slowly turning into one of the undead, teen's friend taking aforementioned teen out to get laid, etc.) but so what? Simalarities to Once Bitten aside, this movie is an alright watch.

8/10
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
School, girls, parents and… fangs?!.
lost-in-limbo15 January 2007
Jeremy Capello is a teenager who has dreams about the gawky Darla Blake. A girl who doesn't think that highly of him, but there's also a beautiful Barbie-like cheerleader named Candy who's actually keen on him. So his best friend Ralph suggests that he should seek out someone unknown for a one-night stand to get this get his mind thinking straight. While, doing his job he encounters the mysterious Nora, who invites him over for the night. So Jeremy with little help from Ralph meets her, only to be bitten by her and a crazed loon (possibly the husband) break in. The day after Jeremy goes through some minor changes and finds out that Nora's place has been burnt down. Through the course he learns that these are vampire hunters after them, but they seem to think that Ralph is the vampire.

The mid-to-late 80s was a time for vampire films (and even teenage monster themes too). This pleasant little romp is the standard mould of these monster comedies (maybe one of the lesser ones), but surprisingly it makes for a decently breezy time-waster if you're looking for a little 1980s nostalgia in your viewing. It has some generally amusing moments, especially from Rene Auberjonois' sneaky vampire mentor role as Modoc and you can see David Warner is having a ball in his ripe crack-ball role of Prof. Leopold McCarthy, vampire hunter.

Most of the performances are reasonably charming. Robert Sean Leonard ("Dead Poet's Society" and who would probably be best known for the recent TV series "House") is delightfully good as Jeremy and Evan Mirand turns in a joyful performance as the loutish Ralph. A fetching Cheryl Pollack is fair as the geeky Darla. Fannie Flagg and Kenneth Kimmins trump in with marvellously tuneful performances as Jeremy's overly worried parents. Paul Wilson makes solid of Prof. Leonard's bumbling assistant Grimsdyke. Let me not forget the minor role of the seductively alluring Cecilia Peck (Gregory Pecks' daughter) as Nora. Oh and look out for a slender Kathy Bates. The variable cast had a witty script to play along with and most of it was quite satisfying when it came to the punch.

Director Jimmy Huston does a competent job without doing anything overtly special, but he gets a lot spirit and odd developments running through some humorous situations. It can get corny in parts and extremely sappy when it comes to its closing moral. A trailblazing 80s pop soundtrack (notably Blondie and Oingo Boingo) features strongly in the film's make-up with the utterly hip and catchy title tune, "The future's so bright (I've got to wear shades)" by the TIMBUK 3. The stereotypically lucid premise (which shares similarities with the Jim Carrey vampire flick, "Once Bitten") is routine and derivative, but still it has some nice touches and diverting trivia on the vampire mythology. None of this should sideswipe your entertainment of it, unless you're looking for something with more aggression amongst its bite. I guess you'll know if you're going to like it after the first 15 minutes.

It might be far from revolutionary (just look at the title and you should know what to expect), but there's just something endearing about this campy lightweight piece.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This wraps up 80's teen movies up
orisons122 April 2004
I couldn't believe the rating this movie got here so I had to write, this was a movie that opitimised every aspect of the eighties (including really bad dress sense)from the troubled/angst teenager, to the mad thinks he's doing-good scientist and put it all togother in a fun relaxing and romantic teenage movie(no shlock horror typical of the era). I honestly think that anyone sits down and watches this movie for what it was and is "a rom/com" they will enjoy, even now when it looks a bit dated.......Honestly go rent buy scrape this movie up or out of the cupboard and put your feet up grab some popcorn or beer or possibly pigs bloods (sorry couldn't help a reference to the movie) and enjoy.................
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The teen romantic vampire movie craze of the 80's peaked with this one.
Aaron13752 June 2009
Granted I only know of one other movie that fits into this genre and that is the Jim Carrey movie "Once Bitten". This one though is better than that one as it is just a bit funnier and has a better and more likable plot to it. This one has a teen going to the house of a girl for what he thinks is going to be a one night stand kind of thing, as it turns out though the person he is seeing is a vampire and he is soon infected and must now feast on blood. Thankfully, it does not have to be human blood as a rather friendly vampire teaches him the ways of living a rather nice existence as a vampire without having to drink the blood of humans. Unfortuanately, a sort of Van Helsing type hunter of vampires who saw him and his friend at the girl's house where he was bitten, however, he thinks it is the guy's friend and not him that has been bitten and turned into a vampire. The guy also is having girl trouble as he even tries to use vampire hypnotism to get the girl he likes. All this makes for an very funny comedy that really is rather lighthearted. So while not perfect, it makes for a fun film to watch.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Delightful Teen Comedy
claudio_carvalho11 March 2006
In Houston, the teenager Jeremy Capello (Robert Sean Leonard) is a normal middle-class boy, who lives with his beloved parents and has Ralph as his best friend. He has a crush on Darla Blake (Cheryl Pollak), but he is shy and does not date her. He works making deliveries for a supermarket and is seduced by his sexy client Nora (Cecilia Peck). While having his first intercourse with her, Jeremy is transformed in a vampire. His friend Ralph is mistakenly chased by two weird vampire hunters, Prof. Leopold McCarthy (David Warner) and his assistant Grimsdyke (Paul Wilson), that believe he is a creature of the night. Meanwhile, Jeremy learns how to use his new powers with Modoc (Rene Auberjonois), and falls definitively in love for Darla.

"My Best Friend Is a Vampire" is a delightful teen comedy. Having a funny story with many jokes and a beautiful cast, this movie makes the viewer feels lighter and happier, being and excellent entertainment. The amazing beauty of Cheryl Pollak, and the chemistry with Robert Sean Leonard, is another attraction. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Meu Adorável Vampiro" ("My Adorable Vampire")
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Campy fun at its best!!!!
schapers14551 July 2006
There are two kinds of films that I like. One, films that are good (The Godfather,The Empire Strikes Back, Traffic) and Two, films that are campy but entertaining (My Best Friend Is A Vampire, Evil Dead 2, Beyond The Valley Of The Dolls). This film, if you've seen five minutes of it, belongs to the second category. Granted, there's plenty of mediocre fare I like too (Kiss of Death, G.I. Jane, The Day After Tomorrow), but there's hardly anything more fun than a crazy movie that doesn't take itself too seriously like this and Better Off Dead.

This is one of the most entertaining things I have ever seen despite it having every cliché and '80s trend (music, fashion)in the book. When I babysat my little brother and sister during the summer of '00, we watched our recording of this from Comedy Central just about every day. We tried doing it with other good movies such as Ferris Bueller's Day Off and Dead Poet's Society, but it just didn't work the same because this movie maybe has the best replay value outside of Star Wars and The Godfather that I've ever seen. Despite its campiness, it is entertaining throughout and never lags. The only downside is the bad acting of RSL's girlfriend and best friend in the movie. Everyone else from the surprisingly star studded cast (Kathey Bates, David Warner, Rene Auborjonis) is top notch. This is a guilty pleasure at its absolute best! If you take this movie with a grain of salt, you WILL enjoy it!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nothing special but not bad either.
Hey_Sweden6 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Jeremy Capello (Robert Sean Leonard) has more problems than the Typical Teenager. After being seduced by mystery lady Nora (Cecilia Peck), he finds out that she's a vampire, and now he's one too. A wise old blood sucker named Modoc (Rene Auberjonois) appears to help him make the adjustment to his new life, while a stubborn vampire hunter, McCarthy (David Warner) and his bumbling assistant (Paul Willson) repeatedly pop up, determined to kill Jeremy's friend Ralph (Evan Mirand), whom they've assumed to be the newly minted night crawler. "My Best Friend is a Vampire" is absolutely no great shakes, with no real comedy fireworks, but it's still quite likable and fairly entertaining, with some funny moments. Among them is seeing Jeremy getting used to his new attributes - the craving for raw meat, keeping his fridge well stocked with pig's blood, realizing he no longer casts a reflection in mirrors, and all while attempting to get a relationship with Darla Blake (Cheryl Pollak) going. It's also a gas to watch the amusing Warner, eight years after playing a hunter / killer of vampire bats in "Nightwing", and Willson, whom you may recognize as one of the barflies on 'Cheers', fumble their way through their mission. The supporting cast is quite strong in general, with the always solid Auberjonois a joy to watch; Fannie Flagg and Kenneth Kimmins are the perplexed parents, Kathy Bates has a small role as Darla's mother, and Amelia Kinkade a.k.a. Angela from "Night of the Demons" makes a brief appearance as a brunette dancer in the punk bar. A lively pop / rock soundtrack adds to the enjoyment, as do some decent vehicle chases. It's also nice to see a vampire comedy where the hunter is actually the antagonist and the creatures of the night are the good guys; this leads to a nicely ironic resolution. While there's nothing here that's that memorable, it's all pleasant enough and easy to take. Leonard and Pollak are appealing in the leads. Directed by Jimmy Huston, who'd also done the 1981 slasher film "Final Exam". Six out of 10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gay element tastefully included...
Aetherguard18 November 2003
I like the inclusive subtlety in regards to the parents acceptance of the idea that there son is gay. Not to say he is, you will have to see the movie to find out for sure. For the late 80's, their ability to include this element using a positive note for a change is refreshing and unexpected. Thumbs up to Jimmy Huston for a job well done. As well as the writers, too.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I love this movie!
Mordsith_T9 May 2006
Yes, it is campy. But it is supposed to be a comedy. The movie is very entertaining and fun to watch. Reminds you of high school. Especially if you went to high school during the eighties. The jokes are cute. The scenes are embarrassing to the characters. Reminisent of high school angst. Which makes it good entertainment.

The story can be a good metaphor for other things if you really think about it.

My 12 year old daughter likes the movie too. So it can cross generation gaps easily. It is a movie that anyone can let their child under the age of 12 watch. Just get some popcorn and enjoy it.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun 80's vampires
BandSAboutMovies19 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Jeremy Capello (Robert Sean Leonard, Dead Poets Society) is a teenager in Houston who may have the attention of the school's hottest girl, Candy, but he really has a strange crush on band geek Darla. Dude, I get it. I would feel the same way. But he also has a vampire woman named Nora (Cecilia Peck, the daughter of Gregory) who keeps infiltrating his dreams. What is a boy to do?

It turns out that Nora is real and one fateful night, spurred on by the advice of his friend Ralph, he ends up in her bed. She bites him just as vampire hunters Professor Leopold McCarthy (David Warner!) and his assistant Grimsdyke (Paul Willson, one of the Bobs from Office Space) burst in and chase him off. I wonder if the assistant is named for Peter Cushing's character in Tales from the Crypt?

Soon, Jeremy is a full-fledged vampire, complete with an undead guidance counselor named Modoc (René Auberjonois). He still tries to win over Darla, but between his new condition and constantly being chased by those two vampire hunters, that won't be all that easy.

I learned from this movie that Whole Foods was big in Houston all the way back in 1987 and also had a section where vampires could buy canned pigs blood, which also comes in a light version, as well as bottled like wine.

Also, Jeremy's parents instantly jump to the worry that he's gay and not a vampire. They're played by Kenneth Kimmins and Fannie Flagg. Kimmins has been on Arrested Development and Curb Your Enthusiasm, but Kimmins career has really soared after being in this movie, as she wrote the book Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, which of course became a blockbuster film. Another actor that went on to bigger things after this film is Kathy Bates, who shows up in a bit role as Darla's mom.

This isn't the best vampire film you've ever seen, but it moves quickly and has some laughs. If you'd like to see a vampire try and eat pizza with garlic on it, it's the movie for you.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
good 1980s comedy/horror movie
monkey-man14 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Before i watched this movie on a really old video tape i thought that this movie would be a bit crap and this movie was made in 1988 so i thought that it would be so cheesy but then i watched it and it turned out to be quiet good and not that cheesy.This movie is not that funny but i laughed a few times when i watched this movie.The plot for this movie is a simple plot about how a teenage boy got bitten bye a woman vampire and he starts to turn into a vampire meanwhile 2 vampire hunters think his friend is a vampire so they are trying to kill him and i like the plot for this movie.

Over all if u are a teenager i think u will like this movie and my rating for this movie is six out of 10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good Movie
harrytrue3 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
"My Best Friend is a Vampire" is a good movie. A different spin on vampires than say "Buffy"-which I also like.

I says vampires get a bad press, compounder by the fact that there are some vampires who behave bad. The tamale vampire who bites Jeremy, changing him into a vampire can be called a bad vampire.

The parallels with gay people are obvious. Just like there are bad vampires, there are bad gay people. Jeremys' parents, quite reasonably, think he is gay. They do not turn on him. They may not be that pleased about it, but they accept what they see as their son being. They are more than pleased when Jeremy introduces his new girlfriend. Maybe they think he tried one path, now is trying another, but it's quite clear he is their son, no matter what.

One thing. I'm certain they are convinced Jeremy is having sex with Modoc. I think most parents would, even if they accept that their child is gay, have problems with him or her getting on with an older adult.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very funny !
mura6514 November 2003
It's a very funny parody of vampire movies. The best things are David Warner as the mad vampire killer and René Auberjonois as Robert Sean Leonard's undead guide. Most of Warner and his assistant Paul Willson's scenes are priceless. Kathy Bates has a little role as Kathy D. Bates. Vote: 7/10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The soundtrack is great and the actors are A++++
tessarmt23 October 2003
This movie was filmed in Houston,Texas and no there are no cowboys in this movie. It is one of Robert Sean L. first films...and he is really good as a fresh new actor on the scene. His friend is also a riot in this movie. This is an HBO movie release and even in the 80's they know how to provide good quality entertainment !!! This is a must see for an 80's fans because it sets the time period with a great soundtrack.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very overlooked, but awesome vampire comedy from the 80's
dworldeater26 August 2017
My Best Friend Is A Vampire is a teen vampire comedy in the same vein as Once Bitten. I am a fan of both movies, but I prefer My Best Friend Is A Vampire to Once Bitten. Robert Sean Leonard is our likable lead Jeremy Cappello and when he is'nt attending class or at work, he is hanging out with his crazy buddy Ralph(Evan Mirand). However, a sordid little encounter with a hot, mysterious lady named Nora turns our average teenager Jeremy into a vampire. Enter Modoc(Rene Auberjonis) to show Jeremy the ropes of adjusting to his new life as a vampire and to warn him about obsessed Professor McCarthy(David Warner), a Van Helsing type of character, of which with his inept and goofy sidekick is determined to eradicate all vampires from the face of the Earth. Like all teenagers in 80's comedies, Jeremy is having girl troubles as well. His pursuit of Darla Blake(Cheryl Pollak) is off to a rough start as Darla, while she likes Jeremy she thinks he is a weirdo. While My Best Friend Is A Vampire is a much lower budgeted production than Once Bitten, it has a lot of original ideas and is really funny. This film is VERY, very 80's and a whole lot of campy fun. This leading role may not have made Robert Sean Leonard a breakout star, but he was likable enough and he and the rest of the supporting cast did an excellent job. I would not regard this as the best horror/comedy or the best 80'S movie, but if you are are fan of vampire movies and/or the cinema of the 1980's, My Best Friend Is A Vampire is a cool little film for you to check out.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
very entertaining
bananaslug3 September 2003
I watched this movie last night on HBO family and thought it was a really good movie. I love campy vampire flicks and ill just add this to the long list of vampire movies that i would watch again and again.

(80's flicks are the best ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
how far would you go for a high school friend?
kayebtoyz22 September 2002
this review has nothing to do with the acting abilities, direction, costumes, or anything technical...it's all about the feelings and what it meant to me "way back then".... almost 10 years after high school i still remember this movie..... i caught this movie on one on AMC (i can't believe i'm that old)... but it was on cable TV when i was in high school and i thought it was a creative spin on the B-vamp movies, and it cracked me up. So one day when one of the cheerleaders and a guy who would become the VP for student council at the local college (i went there, too) were discussing 90201 i asked if they had seen this movie the night before.... at first they thought that i was making it up (i guess that it was my reputation for being stoned and/or making bad jokes). but for a long time whenever the previous night's television scheduled programs were discussed one of them always turned to me and said something like, "we're not going to have any of the vampire s*** today...."...to their defense, they thought that i was making up this movie, they weren't being mean....especially after one of them actually saw the movie and i pulled the ethnic card on us all (we are all from different racial backgrounds and i asked what they would do if their best friend was different, and by the way, weren't these parents cool? so they thought that he was gay, they still went up against the cops for him) i know that this reekes of total cheese, but then again, didn't high school? anyway, i've seen so many vampire movies and i had read all of the anne rice books (hell, i saw this before interview with the vampire came out as a movie....) but this was still a different view on an old story...

i cracked my ass up!! after all these years it still brings up some things that i didn't think about then, such as....how my parents would react if they didn't think that i was "normal".... and that the reactions of the parents in this movie reminded me of the dad in "better off dead"......and i wonder if those people from high school say this and thought about me... After all, isn't that some of what movies are about? where you were when you saw....oh... well... that may be music, my bad....but connie and angel, i thought about you when i saw this movie again tonight... to everyone else, this movie is worth watching if you like B-movies, vampire movies, and comedies.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I thought it was great!
aquakingman2 October 2007
This movie has to be in the to ten classic examples of a great 80s scary/corny/funny/stylish movie it screams the 80s. The acting wasn't bad could of been better but it all worked out. Fun twist to vampires by being able to go out during the day and not having vampires evil people. The cars are awesome looking too I have not seen a VW Rabbit convertible in a long time nor a good looking BMW that they wrecked halfway during the movie which looked better than my first car. I thought it was interesting that it was filmed in Houston and not in LA like most films are. In conclusion I gave this film a 8/10 because it was limitedly released on DVD and very hard to find.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Coming of age tale for vampires.
bat-lev629 December 1998
What do you do to have sex when you are a teen-ager. This movie shows what might happen if you aren't careful. Not AIDS worse, Vampirism. This movie is full of humor, and fun.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Maybe you can only sink your teeth into this once, but it's still OK.
lee_eisenberg26 June 2006
Oh not another vampire comedy! Actually, this one isn't half bad. Robert Sean Leonard plays a Houston high school student who one night has a fling with a sexy babe. The only thing is, this sexy babe just happens to be a creature of the night, and she turns him into one. At first, he refuses to accept his new status as a vampire, but a kindly old man (Rene Auberjonois) helps him. But there remains the question of how to deal with two vampire hunters.

"My Best Friend Is a Vampire" isn't really anything special, but it's good for a few laughs. And the idea of a vampire in Houston...well, we know that there are certain vampiric people from there!
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A teenager discovers that he is a vampire, H e becomes the target of a fanatical vampire-hunter, and finds a helpful fellow vampire.
philpaine11 January 2006
I saw this recently on a faded old VHS tape, and remembered it dimly. Looking at it now, it seems charming.

When it was first released, it was recognized by pretty much everyone as a spoof of coming out as a gay teenager. To hammer the point home, the mother is seen reading a paperback copy of "1 Teenager In 10", the most popular coming out book of the time. David Warner hams it up as the persecuting vampire hunter [= gay-hating evangelist], who is of course a self-loathing closet case. The list of sight gags and in-jokes that were included to make sure nobody missed the point would be too long to go into. The producers were having some good-natured fun, and hoping, no doubt, to lighten-up as well as to enlighten.

But I have no clue how a teenage audience would look at this film, nowadays. In some places, where there is education and culture, the terrifying ordeals that gay teens had to go through are a thing of the past. But I'm sure there are plenty of dark, nasty corners of our continent where it's just as bad as it always was.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed