Record of the Lodoss War (TV Series 1990– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
"I don't understand you humans at all... I guess that's what makes you so fascinating."
JohnnyJohnHildegaard21 April 2000
Record of Lodoss War is one of the greatest anime series of all-time (Well the OAV version). The presentation was done so well and the work has been put into it was outstanding. The characters were absolutely the best part of the entire series. Each of their emotions were done elaborately and thoughtfully while not straying far from the story. Who also can forget the awesome character designs of people. Such people as Deedlit, the high elf or Ashram, the Dark Knight. The only thing that's bad is it's only 13 episodes, and you wonder what will happen after the last one. As far as I'm also concerned the dub is just as good as the sub too. Nonetheless it's a great anime to buy on DVD, and while you're at it get the new TV series on it on video.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the most underrated animes ever made
Rectangular_businessman14 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
"Record of Lodoss War" is one of the most underrated anime series ever made.

It has all the good qualities that any animated series could have, such as a incredible story, great characters, beautiful designs, an excellent animation and a magnificent music.

It has all the epic feeling from the books of Tolkien, but at the same time, has the great fun that video-games such as "Final Fantasy" and "Dragon Quest" have. In fact, this is one of the most enjoyable and satisfying animated series that I've ever watched.

"Record of Lodoss War" is a magnificent animation that deserves way more recognition. I'm not very much into anime (At least, not into modern anime) but "Record of Lodoss War" always will have a special place in my memory as one of the greatest fantasy stories ever made.

10/10 (And I would give it eleven stars if I could)
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A sprawling fantasy epic...
madhater_da_killa30 March 2004
Though the sword play isn't on par with Ninja Scroll, and the monsters can look a little bit more than goofy sometimes Record of Lodoss War is thoroughly entertaining as an epic. On the same level as The Odyssey, for the Japanese, Record of Lodoss War provides everything that you could really want from a Manga classic. They've got dragons, dwarves, goblins, kobalts, and berserkers too!(OH MY!) The art in this fantasy classic is gorgeous, it is most definitely a manga, and the eyes can become a little bit distracting to anyone who is into anime rather than the Manga look. This definitely has a kind of Akira feel to the artwork; slipping between playfully sketched lines and defined, dark inked artwork. The characters are somewhat two-dimensional, fitting into stereotypes all to common to older anime's and manga, yet are somehow very engaging. Parn the young hero around whom the entire epic is set is equipped with the biggest shiniest eyes in the whole series so inevitably he will ride into save the day at the end....

Record of Lodoss War scrolls the tale of our young hero, Parn, and his partner a priest of Valis. They are quickly joined by Ghim and Slain; Ghim being the tough as nails dwarf who despises elves, and Slain the quiet and contemplative sorcerer. Deedlit, a high elf - a princess actually - also joins Parn on his quest, after a group of Goblins slaughter Parn's hometown. The adventurers set out to discover what is making all of the creatures in Lodoss so aggressive and uneasy. They are quickly embroiled in a gigantic web of events quite comparable to LOTR in more ways than one, and find themselves imbued the task of saving Lodoss!

Any one who even like kid cartoons should see this, if you can stand any type of anime or manga give this a look the next time your out looking for an oldy-but-a-goody. The violence isn't graphic at all, there is only one scene of any type of nudity (A single nipple in the final episode for one frame) and it is long enough to grasp your attention... or is it? If you shy away from longer anime's or movies for that matter because there isn't enough action to sustain you, look elsewhere. This is a very character driven story and thusly a lot of conversation and slow moving, sometimes seemingly jumpy, plot progress. Overall an awesome set and becoming quite affordable too collectors, LONG LIVE LODOSS!!!!!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The "Lord of the Rings" of Anime
DarthBill17 August 2004
Lodoss, a land of long ago, is torn apart by war, chaos, mayhem, and all other forms of death and pestilence. In comes Parn, a would be knight determined to prove his valor and restore honor to the family name, and his companions: the elf babe Deedlit (voiced in the English dub by Lisa Ortiz, who later went on to voice Lina Inverse in the "Slayers" anime), cranky dwarf Ghim, King Kashu, berserker Orson, and other assorted heroes and villains who are out to survive the war.

As others have undoubtedly said, this is a sprawling epic that holds no punches in trying to suck you in and make you feel like you're a part of this world and everything going on in it. The popularity and skill of this thing is reminiscent of "Lord of the Rings". Parn himself is a bit too dense at times (he never seems to figure out that you can't attack a sorcerer or sorceress head on) but he's okay. Deedlit is both funny and cool though her full potential is never tapped. It's fun nevertheless to watch her lust for Parn while he doesn't seem to notice, at least not for a while.

One of the most potent characters though is Ashram, an honorable soldier who fights on the wrong side of the war. See it just for him, if you like.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
an rpg-style anime of great proportions
GreyFox3723 February 2001
this whole box was the very first anime i ever purchased. after watching the first three episodes on sci-fi, i needed more. vegas gave it to me and this is one of the best fantasy anime i've ever seen! the story downright rules, the characters are plentiful and well thought out, and the animation is top notch! my favorite episodes are "The Grey Witch," "The War of Heroes," (i love it when they show the shot of Ashram holding the demon sword), and "Requiem for Warriors." The ending is great, as well (i think Parn is a god at the end, you decide as well). if you're into action, adventure, romance, and magic, get all 13 of these!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Fun Time.
PoppaFred9 January 2018
Pros -Beautiful animation -Cool fantasy setting -Interesting, somewhat cliché, story -Fun characters/Epic villains

Cons -Repeated animation -Chopped fight scenes -Shallow characters -Anime yelling
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Anime, Touching Story
capthavoc1235 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I found this anime to be very enjoyable. It starts out pretty cheesy, you know, basic anime "overacting" and whatnot, but quickly evolves into an excellent fantasy story. The animation, while primitive by today's standards, is truly fantastic. The music is wonderful and the voice actors (both English and Japanese) are very good.

I loved how they played out the love story between Parn and Deedlit. Call me a hopeless romantic, but it's rare to see true love portrayed in such a believable way in any form of media. The scene in which Parn races to Deedlit's rescue after she is captured by Wagnard is breathtaking, and it just may move some people to tears. The fight between King Fahn and King Beld was also very exciting, and the ending of that one startled the hell out of me. All in all, a solid anime and one that'll be around for a long time. If I could rate it more accurately, I'd give it an 8.7.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Absolutely entertaining fantasy adventure tale, Anime-style!
JTurner8227 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Okay, I'm gonna start off with a personal note: RECORD OF LODOSS WAR is probably one of my all-time favorite series ever. At the time that I was just getting warmed up to Anime (thanks to witnessing Miyazaki's wonderful artistry), I happened upon this title in my local videostore. Instantly, I fell in love with this thirteen-part direct-to-video series -- being a fan of the SNES game FINAL FANTASY III and J.R.R. Tolkien in general, watching RECORD OF LODOSS WAR was like a dream come true. It's a hybrid of these two great works filled with just about everything any fan could ask for -- dragons, elves, dark gods, a band of unlikely yet loyal heroes, villains you'll love to hate, action, suspense, romance, a small touch of humor, and engaging from start to finish.

The story is hardly original, but it's done very well for this kind of show. In fact, the one minor flaw of this series is the way the plot "jumps around" from one event to the next. However, it's the characters which make RECORD OF LODOSS WAR so much fun, and much of the best scenes belong to Parn and Deedlit; especially the dance sequence. Ghim and Deed also get to bicker about each other's differences while Parn, on a quest to clear his disgraced father's name, finds a father figure in Kashue. Ashram has a Dark Elf named Pirotess (the opposite of Deedlit) who'll do anything to prove her loyalty to him... including sacrificing herself, Karla is shifty and cunning, while Wagnard is just plain evil -- an over-the-top, maniacal monster equivalent of Kefka from FF III who cackles fiendishly as he puts his dark plans into action. The chemistry between this cast of characters is so well done and the show is so engrossing that it's easy to forgive its occasional shortcomings, notably the jumpy plotting and the animation, which, although gorgeously drawn, uses a low cel count which results with some stiff movements. It may take a while for one to warm up to the music, but by the end, it really grows on you. For fantasy buffs, RECORD OF LODOSS WAR is simply great fun.

Central Park Media made a DVD release of this title a few years ago, but have since re-released it in a more beefed up package, with some new bonus features to speak of, including the behind-the-scenes featurette we saw on the VHS tapes as well as a Promotional video (dubbed in English), which sounds, I'm sad to say, awful. There's even some DVD-ROM features (identical to those on the CHRONICLES set), including the dub script and credits for both casts. As far as I'm concerned, the visual transfer is very well done, but then I've never seen the old release so I can't compare it with that. (I was told, though, that CPM used a new Digital Video Remastering process to clean up the visuals for this release.) For purists, the Japanese language track is on here with clear, easy to read subtitles, and an optional English dub. Considering that it was recorded at a time when dubs had a very bad reputation, this English production is surprisingly good. It got somewhat mixed reviews; some say it's fake and/or mediocre while others find it annoying, but here's a better review from one of its many enthusiastic fans (that's me!). No, it's not perfect, and some lines do come off as a bit awkward, but a lot of the voice-overs are really good. In particular, Billy Regan (Parn), Lisa Ortiz (Deedlit), Al Muscari (Slayn), Jacques Le Can (Woodchuck), Simone Grant (Karla & Leylia), John Knox (Ashram), Jayce Reeves (deliciously malevolent as Wagnard), and Alexander J. Rose (Wort and the Narrator), are among my favorites. Plus, the dialog is close to the subtitled script and packed with some memorable one-liners (Parn: "Quick, Deed, what's this dragon's weak spot?" Deedlit: "I'm not a dragon expert! How should I know?!") and great chemistry between the actors. I especially loved the interactions between Parn and Deedlit, the banter between Ghim and Deed, and a lot of other things. Which is why it saddens me that some would find all of this "inferior" to the Japanese language track. I listened to parts of the Japanese language track, too, and while I did find it to be of top-quality, I find that the dub still holds its own position decently. Of course, it may be in danger of being overshadowed by some of the better dub productions of today, but for a dub made in 1996, its a rather decent, if unspectacular listen. I'm still fond of it, as a matter of fact, even after hearing some better ones.

Whatever language you choose to watch it in, you'll still be experiencing one of the greatest fantasy series of all time. Highly recommended.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A good anime.
Fangor1 October 2003
A good anime. Basicaly a standard Dungeons and Dragons setting. the characters are very steriotypical, but it all comes together in an enjoyable way. This film is for Fantasy fans, others will probably not enjoy it as much. The story has some interesting twists. Its not that original, but it is a perfecly good fantasy series, which is very, very rare indeed. just dont take it too seriousley. Average 7.2(10)
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A true justice to the ever-shadowed genre of Fantasy
extremezero20 March 2002
It seems that numerous attempts to create a quality Fantasy based movie have fallen greatly: Dungeons and Dragons, animated Hobbit, Beastmaster, and various more depending on your personal opinions. This movie contains: dragons, dwarves, elves, magic, knights, orcs, beasts, lovely music and an actually well composed and highly addictive plot line. For everyone who has once fallen to the pain of loving Final Fantasy, Everquest, any good fantasy novel (Goodkind, Martin, Jordan, etc ...) this movie will answer much of your big screen requests by including a lot of the fun elements of those great worlds into an enjoyable six hour rush of amazement. Definately worth looking into!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Charming to the last!
FlorisV2 March 2018
Escapism at it's best, this is by far my favorite anime. It is different than others I've enjoyed because it's a little less serious or pretentious and a bit simpler but still somehow more touching because of it's unrelenting charm. The characters are irresistible, most notably the cute and often giggling High Elf Deedlit, as beautiful as she's skilled in mastering the elemental forces of nature. She is attracted to the young wannabe knight Parn who often crosses the line between bravery and foolishness and is rather oblivious to Deed's affections, which is good for some comic relief. Parn and Deedlit are what make the show, but the supporting characters are wonderful as well. Such as the Dwarf Ghim, in name not very different from Lord Of The Rings's Gimli, but he actually has a more interesting backstory. Woodchuck is your typical thieving scoundrel, Slayn a mysterious and wise wizard that is way cooler than Gandalf ever could be. Etoh is a noble cleric, a typical healer and a fine character as well but he doesn't get enough to do. A minor gripe because clearly the characters form a solid foundation and are what make a Lodoss great series.

The story was based on game sessions of the famous board game, Dungeons & Dragons. Don't worry, because writer Ryo Mizuno must have been a great Dungeon Master, the plot is thoroughly enjoyable and has anything you could want in a classical fantasy story: magic, a witch, Orcs, ancient Dragons, a Dark and a High Elf, you name it. The only character I missed in the party was an archer. There's a good balance between action and dialog.

The story can be confusing at times, out of order chronologically or raise the wrong expectations, because certain plot points get brushed over too quickly or just plain skipped. But mostly I would just feel for these characters, with their adventures and their flaws and I often couldn't wait to see what would happen next. Ultimately it's a story about the balance between light and darkness, the battle between good and evil, but this simplicity didn't bother me at all, it's just part of it's old fashioned charm.

The music is what truly makes the show magical: the soundtrack is sublime. It's mostly a wonderful classical score but at the beginning and end of each show there is some J-Pop which will grow on you as well.

The anime is beautifully drawn. Clearly there are the typical tricks to reduce animation work and the show could have been superior with a bigger budget. But with what little they had, they did extremely well. The colors and facial expressions are always spot on and the world of Lodoss and it's inhabitants is a joy to watch.

The English dub is very good. Personally I always prefer English dubs over the Japanese ones because I just can't stand it if the male and female voices are about 4 octaves apart from each other. But this anime is particularly known to have an above average English dub with pretty good voice work. It's worth it for Deedlit's giggling alone!

Occasionally a little bloody, this may not be suitable for all kids. But Lodoss is timeless fun, incredibly charming and a classic to watch again and again from time to time. I'd be hungry for many, many more episodes but unfortunately they don't make them like this anymore...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wonderful!
The_Missus19 October 2002
Probably my fave anime series of all time (can you guess from my user name? :D) it's a classic fantasy series (13 episodes).

The story follows Parn, a young man desperate to be a brave Knight like his father, he leaves his home town to seek work in one of the great armies of Lodoss to fight the evil forces of the Marmo. Along the way he teams up with a Dwarf called Ghimm in search for a missing Priestess's daughter, a mage named Slayne, his old friend Atoh, not a Priest of Marfa, a thief named Woodchuck and a beautiful High Elf called Deedlit. We see them fight the forces of evil and eventually triumph for the side of good like in all fantasies :D It's got great animation and a wonderful story, for any anime or fantasy fan it's a must see.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just one of the best Animes i've seen
WeeD_MaN9 August 2003
This is one of the best animes i've ever seen! (maybe it's the best...)

i watched it yesterday night on VOX (German Tvchannel). All 13 Parts

its a very impressive Anime not only because of the excellent paintings! More because of the story!!!

The story is very complicated. and i think its not a typical anime there's not even one kiss in all the 13 parts!! and no erotic scenes. first i was surprised of it...

But...

everybody must have seen it!

so... check it out as fast as you can!!! :)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantasy
sanguanus20 September 2000
I love D&D, EQ, and a lot of other fantasy fiction novels & games. If you want to get that feeling (the feeling of a magical medieval realm, complete with Dwarves, Elves, Dragons, Castles & Kings) then this is definitely the best film IN THE WORLD for you to see. What would you rather watch; Wicket? :p
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Only fifth tape
insanityclaus15 August 2000
Also known as Record of Lodoss war in the states, Lodoss to Senki(V) is the fifth tape in a six tape series. The box set runs about six hours, yet is worth the watch. One of the better fantasy based Japanese Animes out there.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
beautiful
kjubei19 February 2000
arts in its best form like a beautiful well put together fairy tale it has all the elements of it princess,elves,knights,wizards like old skool boys during my age dungeons & dragons fans will love this and to my knowledge further episodes will be made
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very Unique Anime Series
JG200122 January 2000
Record of Lodoss War is unique in the fact that the series uses many elements of Western culture fantasy. The series contains knights, mages, dwarves and elves. The plot may seem like typical Dungeons and Dragons fair, but after a few episodes, the story picks up and becomes more than what you would find in a normal D&D campaign. While the animation is admittedly stiff in places, the story is very well done and the OAV series was popular enough warrant the making of a full television series.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent D&D based anime
Ares-215 January 1999
This series is great. I highly recommend any anime fans to at least rent it (if you don't own a dvd player yet) and to buy the dvd boxed set if you do. The music is terrific, and the plotline is well developed. Unlike most anime I found the English voice talent to be done as well as the Japanese, and you get both on the DVD.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed