Pump Up the Volume (1990) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
127 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Slaters teen master class . . .
2cents7 May 2003
I loved this film

When I was 17 I first saw the second half of this movie on TV, the next day I scoured my local video shops to buy the film so that I could watch the first half.

I know that sounds a little sad but I really felt that at the time this film was spot on. Parents do seem to hate you, it is incredibly hard to talk to a girl that you want to ask out and school is the last place you ever want to be. This film had the emotions just about right.

I now see its faults but I still feel that it is an excellent movie to its targeted age group, everyone who ever wanted to "rise up in the cafeteria and stab them (teachers) with your plastic fork".

I could fill this review with quotes, the speech on why teen suicide is a bad idea is up there with the "Am I funny?" scene in goodfella's.

Christian Slater is excellent, apparently it's his favourite movie and you can see that he enjoyed making it. He does dark-teen like no one else, this is Nicholson at 16! In my humble opinion this film is at the top of the teen-flick chart alongside Heathers.

Samantha Mathis makes an intriguing leading lady, she really gets her character spot on. Miss Mathis also provides one of the best sexual tension scenes ever in this genre. (it's all in the music)

A young Seth Green also makes an appearance that I am sure he would rather forget, his acting is fine it's how he looks thats the problem !!

This film is dark, funny and brutaly honest. If you are under 20 and still hate the world this will kill a couple of those boring 'too old to play to young to drink' hours.

Highly recommended.
69 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
movie magic
billybrown4130 November 2002
When "Pump Up The Volume" came out in 1990, I wanted to BE Christian Slater. Now that it's already been twelve years since it was released, I still can't believe how well it's held up. Aside from a couple of things that make it dated (I'm referring mainly to the opening credit sequence and the way some of the characters dress...mulletts WERE acceptable back then), the message remains the same and I think that's what has made this movie stand the test of time. Along with "Heathers", this is some of Christian Slater's best work ever. His performance alone is enough to reccommend this one, but that combined with the message, make it a cult classic. They don't make movies like this anymore.
37 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I don't hate the world anymore, but I still love this film...
Bifrostedflake17 July 2008
I first saw this film around 1996, when I was 13 and just going into that 'I hate the world and everything about it' phase that most teenagers go through. I fell in love with it there and then and over the years I've owned 5 separate copies.

Not just because of the unbelievably brilliant soundtrack, not just because of the real and relate-able characters, not just because of the engaging and original plot, but because I still feel now, what I first felt when I saw the film. Sometimes everyone feels that they're alone and it takes another voice, one coming from a someone you might not even ever have met reminding you that everyone feels that crushing loneliness and only you can change that.

Even now that I'm nearing my mid-twenties and every time I watch this film I want to 'Rise up in the cafeteria' and 'stab my teachers with a plastic fork.' Being a teenager sucks, its probably the most free time of your life, but everything from parents, to homework, to hormones prevents most from truly enjoying the experience.

I want every teenager to watch this film, I want every person who looks back on their teen years with regret to watch this film, I want every person who's forgotten what its like to be a teenager to watch this film. I think there's room in just about everyone's heart for it.
31 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Every teenager should see this film
Idocamstuf29 August 2003
What a film!!, this is a film that very accurately represents how it feels to be unpopular, or the new kid in high school. Slater gained much respect from me for his terrific performance is Hard Harry, a new kid at a school where the staff don't seem to care about the students, Harry runs a pirate radio station as an anonymous student at the high school, and shares his feelings about the school, he gains a large following of students who feel the same way he does, but then trouble starts. This is a truly great film, with great performances, this is probably the "Rebel Without A Cause", for our generation. ***1/2 out of ****.
40 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a teen flick should be.
MEHHS6 October 2004
I'm 28 now, but this film is still very important to me. PUTV is the best teen drama out there (though there aren't many to compete with it), it really grasps how so alone some teenagers can feel and how rejectedby the system they so often are. The film has dated some what, but if there ever was an early warning sign of the problems that face American schools today (columbine esque) this is it. You can only push teenagers so far before they lose the plot, end up killing themselves or other people, PUTV is about those feelings. Slater is the bomb in this film, he is truly awesome and Mathis plays a great sidekick. The fact she shows a bit of flesh makes the movie highly genuine, yes girls do get naked with boys whilst at high school. PUTV does now suffer with its meaning to the modern era, but modern kids still do get dejected and rejected and this film is a great message in saying.... You Are Not Alone! 10/10 Then.... 8/10 Now.
19 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Teen rebellion + freedom of speech + talented young stars = all-time cult classic for me!
saarvardi9 March 2006
Pump up the Volume (1990) is perhaps one of the most inspiring films that ever found their way to the celluloid forum. Upon viewing the film for the first time as a ten-years-old kid back when it was released in cinemas, I remember feeling profoundly moved by the main lead and the events his character sets in motion. This genuine masterpiece doesn't only teach us about leadership and the ability of one individual to make a difference in the world; it is also a triumph of the human spirit in general and of the youth over decadent grown-up ideas specifically.

The story presents us Mark Hunter (a then young and extremely talented Christian Slater), a teenage high school student that moves with his parents from the big city to the suburbs, when his father gets a new job as an educational consultant for a middle-America region. The days are the early nineties, when internet was probably considered radical science fiction at best, and Mark finds himself all of a sudden pretty lonely in the new school. Luckily, his parents buy him a ham radio in order to keep connected with his friends back east, and Mark finds a unique way of passing time by transmitting his thoughts about the suburbs and the lousy life of 1990 teenagers, using his ham radio as a local broadcast device. Upon gaining fame and listeners, Hunter adopts a pseudonym, one "Happy Harry Hard On" which brings messages of freedom of speech and thought to his fellow classmates at school. When stumbling upon information concerning illegal steps his school has taken regarding problematic students, things start to get out of control. As Mark, he tries to keep a low profile and doesn't blend in with the ongoing events, but as Harry he feels he must take a stand and speak up his thoughts and ideas. But can a voice be heard without its owner taking responsibility to its actions?

The notions and ideas which arise upon viewing Pump up the Volume are intriguing and fresh until this very day, 16 years after its initial release. For the younger ones, it teaches how to stand up for what you believe in and try to right society's wrongs. For grown-ups, it serves an interesting conflict about the bounders of democracy and the part the media plays in each and every one of our lives. Look out for Samantha Mathis's powerful role as Nora DeNiro, Hunter's female admirer, and one of the only people around him that know he's behind the controversial broadcasts. Also look out for a very very young Seth Green (Austin Powers, Without a Paddle) as one of the students that helps spread Harry's tapes across the school.

On a personal note, I have to say that I hold credit to this movie for a lot of who I am in my grown-up life. The film taught me I could use my words to make a difference, and for the past ten years I've been doing just that as a journalist and newspaper editor here in central Israel. For that I will always be thankful to the makers of Pump up the Volume, and I suspect it'll stay my all-time favorite for years and years to come! Naturally, I rank this one a must-see film, with a 10 out of 10 rating.
23 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
great portrayal of postmodern angst & media issues
FilmLabRat13 July 2003
This movie really captured not only the disillusionment and pain of adolescence but also the general malaise of our postmodern society. Also brought out the tension between media "for the people" and free speech vs. media polluting the people and issues of censorship. While the film clearly made the latter out to be the "bad guy," a mature person might look beyond the pointed message and see the important issues on both sides --> Does media come from culture and speak truth, having the responsibility to honestly represent "reality," or does media influence culture and thus should it responsibly rise above mediocrity, challenging people to something higher in life? Tough issues in media studies. How to bring the two concerns together is the challenge, in a completely corporate-driven media culture that really stands for neither.

ummmm.... Christian Slater was also great in the lead performance.
25 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Free speech, teen angst, small town, fun music (Spoiler)
daveclarkvibe12 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The story of a big city kid who relocates to a small town with his parents. He has really cool toys that allow him to broadcast his thoughts, and soon some folks start listening and responding to his outrageous music and rants. HHH is the DJ of a movement of teens who echo their version of the Network anthem "I'm Mad as Hell, and I'm not going to take this anymore!" When some folks cross the border of what is socially acceptable in expressing their frustration and anger, the community seeks to shut him down. Also a comedic, dark, romantic film. Christian Slater gives one of the best performances of his career, and the music is worth checking out - and I credit it for turning an entire generation onto Leonard Cohen and bringing a few bands from the fringe into the mainstream.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the sixties meets the 90s
oyvay21 October 2006
I've seen Pump a few times but recently got the DVD and showed it to an 18 year old last night...the film has great resonances for me of the 60s generation and it still has power for the youth of today...amazingly, since they mainly seem motivated by IT, gadgets and money.

All the performances were first rate and this film also introduces Leonard Cohen to a new generation. I'm sure schools today are worse then Hubert Humphrey high portrayed in the film...this was before Columbine...but you can see the fertile ground for the violence to follow.

This is one of my all time favorite 'teen flicks' and I recommend it to all who want to see social and political relevance in movies.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
one of the best teen movies of the 90's!
jaws!16 July 1999
pump up the volume is one of the best teen movies of the 90's! it's smart,and very thought-provoking. this is the second most thought-provoking teen movie of all time. second only to the breakfast club. pump up the volume is in the top 3 of the best teen movies of the 90's! it's also very entertaining,and sometimes funny. but a lot of the movie is serious. slater has never been better.

it's a very good movie. i give pump up the volume ***1/2

out of ****
23 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Truth Is a Virus
ashmanbrian2 July 2014
Wow is all i can say to this movie - this will most likely be the only review I will ever write, after being a long time user of IMDb.

This movie is my favorite for the basic fact that I saw it when I was a teenager, being 17 years old it spoke to me - In a little less dramatic way than that of the movie.

The attitude of defining normal, in a society where conforming is forced. He becomes the voice he was himself searching for, touching the hearts and minds of his peers. And in doing so he goes from a quite, shy, confused out of place teenager to a strong bold lay it all on the line young adult.

Slater has a reserved place in my retro nostalgic memories and I salute him and Mathis for the performance that will forever remind me how awesome young love was and the hope I have that all will experience it in whatever form at at whatever age. And forever reminding me that everyone has a voice, but take care - you are responsible for what you say, because you cant take it back once the words have left your lips.

Peace.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pre-Podcasted Pump
thesar-211 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Some "kids" my age were defined by certain movies, namely John Hughes classics, though you probably can't get a lot of guys to admit that. The sadly underperforming Pump Up the Volume was mine.

It was back in 1989 when I started taking movies more seriously, seeing them more and noticing that they'll eventually consume me. A year later, I saw my first Christian Slater movie (though, almost immediately following, I watched – and not for him – Young Guns II) as well as a "star" I would fall in love with for thereafter: Samantha Mathis, coincidentally, her first movie.

I remember loving the movie, the idea, the setting – finally a teen movie that was set in my current location, Arizona, the mood, the dialogue, the music and definitely the message. What also impressed me was the nonchalant take they had on homosexuality and how the main hero, Hard Harry (Slater) was so accepting of it. (Side Note: I hadn't come out yet by this point, but this certainly helped verses all the negativity surrounding the "gay lifestyle" I heard around me.)

And as independent as this was, it was certainly far before it's time. Christian Slater really plays Mark, but, in what also appealed to me, by night his "Clark Kent" image of Mark was transformed into the "Superman" Hard Harry on a radio program on an unused frequency. What he was doing would be considered a podcast nowadays, only he went the long, and probably only, way around it.

Literally, he didn't think anyone was listening. So this lonely kid, Mark, who was moved by his parents to a small Arizona town, babbles on the air about how bad the high school he was attending as well as the small town. Although, it sounds like he's complaining, he's actually hitting on some direct topics the parents and school board are either ignoring or were ignorant of.

Well, the kids are listening, one by one, growing by the night. Namely, Nora (Mathis), the obvious "Lois Lane" of the trio of characters (if you count Clark and Supe as two), who's trying to find the identity of the voice she hears and absolutely agrees with. Oh, and is it obvious she's also in love with Hard Harry?

A tragedy, one you might not expect with the direction the movie was headed, occurs and now Hard Harry's a target for parents, police, the FCC and of course the school board for what he's saying might actually be true.

They all want him shut down. Naturally, all the kids want him to continue – he's their voice, each and every one of them. Only, Clark, er, Mark's conflicted and the much more shy version of Hard Harry. Leave it to Lois, er, Nora, to save the day once again by giving the real hero a backbone.

I rated this with the highest rating I give: 10/10 stars. I do this for nostalgia purposes, obviously, but re-watching this movie now, after not seeing it for probably 15+ years, it really holds up today. Sure, the one message (revealed in the end) of why the school board is wronging the students is somewhat weak, the dozens of others thoroughly outweigh that revolution. Also, as mentioned, I did love (literally, I fell hard for) Mathis; she did a fantastic first job and bold – see: well, her. Further, Slater equally did a excellent job. And the soundtrack remains as one of my all time favorites. I have probably listened to Everybody Knows by Concrete Blonde 660 times since this came out.

This was the un-Hollywood independent film I will cherish for all time. It wasn't splashy, it was intentionally small, it was tight and it was right. All that I wrote above about my first impressions back in 1990 hold up and I stand by them. Watch this movie and know what it was TRULY like being a teen in the early nineties.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great Christian Slater film.
jeffman520015 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Pump Up the Volume really deals with the issues of being a teenager, I think this movie is as great as The Breakfast Club.

The movie starts out with Mark Hunter (Christian Slater) a.k.a. Hard Harry running a pirate radio show, he is listened to by the students of Hubert Humphery High School and by a teacher, Ms Emerson (Ellen Green of Talk Radio and Glory Glory). The school is being runned by a corrupt principal Loretta Creswood (Annie Ross of Superman III) who weeds out kids who she thinks are losers. Harry becomes a reluctant hero to all the students in the school, he has some raunchy moments on his radio show but he reaches in the humanity of all who listen. A girl in his class,Nora Diniro(Samantha Mathis)learns who Hard Harry is, but won't tell anyone. Mark is so unhappy with moving out to Arizona, His father, Brian Hunter (Scott Paulin)who runs the school district and mother, Marla Hunter (Mimi Kennedy of Dahrma and Greg) try to help him but only push him away, Mark has some inner demons he has a hard time dealing with, one of his callers, Malcolm Kaiser wants to commit suicide and Harry does little to talk him out of it. Harry feels bad that he doesn't do anything to help him, he says somethings about being a teenager and also suicide, he made some real good points their. Harry falls for Nora, he opens up to her. Later on, the FCC are called in to find Hard Harry. Miss Creswood is later exposed and is suspended by Brian Hunter after finding out about her shady ways, thanks to Ms. Emerson. Harry tells his listeners to not to give up and live, he is nabbed and taken away.

I feel that this movie really touched on some issues on being a teen and being to speak your thoughts. The cast really did a wonderful job, the supporting cast, Andy Romano (Admiral Bates of Under Siege 1 and 2) as Mr. Murdock, Cheryl Pollack as Paige Woodward, James Hampton (Teen Wolf 1 and 2 and Sling Blade) as Arthur Watts of the FCC. I give this movie 2 thumbs up and 10/10 stars.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
late night favorite
clearlydistant10 July 2003
I love this movie. I think its alot better than many movies of its time. I thought Christian Slater was perfectly cast in the role. I love his voice and I loved the character. It upsets me when people compare movies such as this to another movie. There are many movies that are quite simply copies of eachother. I have not seen the movie "Network" as mentioned in another comment so I cannot discuss that one. The idea of comparing this film to "Heathers" though seems a bit preposterous to me. I'm a huge fan of both films and fail to see the huge connection. Suicide occurs in many films, but it doesn't necessarily mean that the are all just copying eachother. Truly original films are difficult to find. and I found this to be one. feel free to prove me wrong. I enjoyed the film thoroughly and I awaken people to its glory as often as possible.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
this is how the 90s felt
edinamonsoonphx25 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Interesting to watch this movie 24 years after it was released. It really 'spoke' to me when I was a teenager. What I found interesting watching it as an adult was how much I agreed with Mark (Christian Slater) about how strange it is to live in Arizona. He keeps telling his parents: 'People are weird here, I can't talk to anyone, they don't understand me.' I'm sure it was only a way to make him seem at odds with his classmates. But so peculiar that I feel the same way as an adult living in Arizona and coming from the mid-west. People in Arizona are strange, and very different...definitely not easy to get along with. Nobody gets me here...this was an unexpected feeling as I watched this again and was able to connect to the main character on a different level than as a teenager.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The real deal
stevenposey3 September 2005
Dr. Jolly from Kansas State University completely missed the point. This movie did NOT try to recreate the 80's teen movie.

Get your facts straight, Jolly. This is almost exactly what pirate radio was like in the late 80s/early 90s. I KNOW. I was a DJ during that time. And you have no idea what schools tried to get away with back then. Ask anyone who was in high school in the 1984-1990 time frame. This movie was dead-on with the kind of crap that was going on.

Don't try to impress us with the "I'm an actual disc jockey" crap. If you don't know your own history, then don't try to comment on something you obviously know nothing about. Not only was it "remotely possible," pirate radio was very real (although not always on the short-wave bands, as another review mentioned). If you never heard it, then you have no basis for an opinion on it. If you could jump into the Wayback Machine and travel back to the 1984-1990 time frame, you'd be able to listen to the AM and FM pirate stations of the time. Maybe then you'd understand what it was like growing up then.

To all you punks who weren't alive when this movie came out -- you have no freaking clue what angst means. Slater personifies it. End of story. Until you "get it," you'll never understand this movie.
18 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great chemistry between Slater and Mathis
chih_wei15 February 2001
This is a good movie let down by uneven direction and 1-dimensional characters (besides the 2 leads). I would probably love this movie a lot, had I seen it when it came out in 1990. Now, the teenage angst (Slater's rants) thing is getting tiresome and whiny to me. Nevertheless, I want to point out how wonderful the scenes between Slater and Mathis are, in particular the scene where they kind of tangoed around each other and the scene where they had their first kiss. These scenes are full of playfulness, seduction, anticipation and uneasy charms. I hope there are more good movie roles to come for both of them.

Lastly, I think the DVD release could really use some special features, like audio commentary by the director, Slater and Mathis. Since this is Slater's personal favorite, it'd be great to hear his perspective.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A pure distillation of teen angst
cherold27 February 2017
In a suffocating upper middle class suburb, an angry teen's pirate radio station offers a clarion call to his peers: Everything is terrible, and we should do ... something!

The movie doesn't really explain too clearly what's terrible, beyond parents and a bit of corruption introduced late in the movie just to prove the DJ is right, but that doesn't matter, because angsty teens don't need proof that parents suck and the school is a mind-killing fascist state.

You could dismiss this as a movie about privileged white teens throwing a tantrum, but the movie is so compelling that you probably won't. With Christian Slater perfect as an angry DJ by night and a shy kid by day, the movie runs on passion and a great soundtrack (with songs ranging from Everybody Knows to Dad I'm in Jail), and you totally believe every unlikely second, as kids consistently outwit remarkably stupid and cartoonish adults and start a movement to ...

It's unclear what the agenda is, beyond free speech and being true to yourself, but it doesn't really matter. Even if it's unclear what the revolution is, this movie makes you want to sign up.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
an all-time favorite
dhyan26 March 2000
This movie is my therapist: whenever things couldn't seem worse, I pop it into the VCR, and feel a million times better for it. Last I knew, I understood that this was Christian Slater's favorite of his movies. It > angst, certainly, but with a kind of catharsis. Is it a great movie? H*ll no! But is it fun? Completely. And if you're a free speech nut like I am, you'll love it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
it's a great day for free speech
lee_eisenberg2 June 2006
Christian Slater, in the days before his roles got repetitive, got this cool role as a high school student running a renegade radio station. Obviously, the movie deals with many things - namely free speech - but it's mainly great to see someone pushing the limits, especially in an era of media concentration.

Anyway, "Pump Up the Volume" is a movie that you're sure to like. The only other recognizable cast member was Samantha Mathis, with whom Slater co-starred a few years later in "Broken Arrow". But no matter. THIS is what free speech is all about.

I would have to agree that everything in America is completely f---ed up.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Late great for this Why-Bother Generation...a decade late
FindingNeverland12 October 2004
If I could have been there to see this movie in theaters-I would have been. Being that I was only 2 years old, it really wouldn't of had much effect on me, like Cinderella did at the time. Little did I know that from my ages of wanting to be a Disney Princess, in the make believe world of the happiest place on Earth, that I would view this film and be hit hard by the Hard Man himself, flying me into a f-you state of mind that would change my life forever. Even more than the hopes of meeting Prince Charming and wearing glass slippers. It wasn't until about two years ago that I watched this film for the first time. My stepmother, a true member of the why bother generation of the 80s decided that now that I was entering High School, it was time for me to watch the movies that really counted way back when. So, she got started, the 80s became my Bible-thank god for that. Being a freshman, I started to assume the roll as a blah blah life sucks kid- because thats what you do. I sat back in complete silence and watched this film, stupified, touched, p***ed, sympathetic, humored and everything else relevant to the teenage world in this movie. Suddenly, the high school world I had tarted to see became a hell of a lot more clear, and a hell of a lot more worthy to fight.

After the movie was done, I got dressed into a rebelling outfit, cranked up my stepmoms pixies album, and ran around the house screaming. I was injected with this raging excitement that I could be a Harry and Talk Hard. Steal the Air. I can't truly explain what it was, but in one word-liberation. PUTV became my life. I asked everyone, have you seen it? Barely anyone remembered-I was amazed. Of course, every single one of my friends HAD to see it-they year 2002 and I am having a PUTV party. No, seriously I did. We discussed it in our movie club. I talked to all of my teachers to see if they remembered. Hell, they were lucky I was too occupied to go to the Principal and demand that he suggest it for the learning criteria. I wrote a piece with Harry flowing through me, which has stirred trouble and gotten somewhere every where I take it. And everywhere I go, Hary comes with me and infests a few more kids. What else more is there to say? This incredibly compelling film gives you a straight shot of Adrennaline as the mindset of the world where nobody cares, nobody listens, and every word from you is a rebellion bitch and complain-the world of a high school student. Being one, I give this film 10 fingers up, with 8 of em down and gues which two up. Really-if you have grown up to be one of them-check this out-and remember what its like. "I'm all over the place! I am inside each and every one of you!"
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A good movie goes over the top one too many times
stills-614 October 1999
I liked this movie, in general. I liked the edginess of the direction and the performances. Mathis is great, she outshines Slater in every scene they have together, though he's good also. Much of the problem comes from the screenplay, which exaggerates every situation to ridiculous proportions. It doesn't have the cheekiness or audacity of "Heathers" to which this movie is often compared.

Despite this, situations often go over the top, like the overreaction of the FCC police ("pirate" radio is legal within a specified broadcast radius) and the laughably tyrannical school administration. Where this movie gets most of its power is with the painful portrayal of teen angst, more realistically played here than in many other places. Wanting to communicate and "connect" with other people is a common theme, but it's done extremely well here.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
great movie and music.
mortimor_3053826 February 2006
This movie and the music was a great help in getting me thru my early teenage years. I recommend it to anyone but especially for youths at the age of 13 to 17. Slater was excellent and this was one of the best performances of his life. If their were only more movies that could touch young people as this one touched me. Parents maybe this movie will remind you to listen to your children and pay attention more of what's going on with them. Being a teenager is very hard and nothing will change that no matter where you come from. If you have teenage children this is also a great gift idea. I think I still have my VHS of this and do get the opportunity to watch it. I do however still listen to the music.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It's been a long time that a movie can drive me to sit down and write something out
eric115 April 2001
The best movie I have seen in last year.It's been a longer time that a movie can drive me to sit down and write something out to share my feelings with everybody. Christian Slater as a teenager who moved from New York to a small town, he got problem to talk to people he wanted talk to. So he ran a private radio station with the name happy harry hard on. His show became pop among the students in his high school because he spoke up the pain and suffer to be a teen, the rage and untrust against the adults, and the very truth no one want talk about:we are not made perfect, living a perfect life is boring.Day by day, the teachers and Miss principle got more angry about the Harry guy, while Harry and his listeners went farer. I'm not a teen anymore, and I feel so regret that I haven't seen this film before. And it still reminded me of that old me, the kid who was so sensitive about everything in that world. However, this is not a perfect movie, the supporting actors, some big scenes and the principal role are bad, but who cares? Nothing is perfect, perfect is the most stupid word in the world.This movie is still a powerful with all the truth it talked about.I added it to my all time favorite collection with Fly Away Home,John Woo's The Killer ,Casablanca,Earning,Blue,Michael Collins,Age of Innocence and A French Woman. SO BE IT.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just as powerful today as it was thirty years ago.
acedj25 March 2020
Christian Slater plays Mark Hunter, a disaffected teen that secretly runs a pirate radio station, which in the early nineties was a big deal. He does this for mostly therapeutic reasons, but soon gains a rabid fan base among his fellow high school students. Soon he begins to realize that his words are having an impact and when one student calls in for help and finding none takes their own life, things become very real for Mark. Nora Diniro, played by the underrated Samantha Mathis, figures out Mark is the voice behind the radio persona, and helps Mark as he tries to elude the FCC and get a final message out.

This movie came out my senior year in high school, and I connected with it. A lot of the themes this film touched upon were very close to me, so it has long been a favorite of mine. For any teen going through the growing pains associated with that age, I urge them to watch this movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed