Fried Green Tomatoes (1991) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
182 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Storytelling at Its Best
chron25 March 2001
I enjoyed this movie immensely. This is one of the best examples of storytelling that I have seen. The structure of the movie - alternating between the past and present, with multiple intertwining plots - keeps the viewer hooked on how the story will unfold. It unfolds gracefully and is enjoyable throughout.

The acting is exceptional. Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary Louise Parker carry the bulk of the acting load. They are fantastic. The relationship between these very different young women is complex and satisfying.

Since the movie is about women and the female roles are so strong, this movie has been dubbed a "chick flick", but that pejorative is unfair. This is good film making and those who like plot-driven cinema will enjoy this immensely. This one is in my DVD collection.
120 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Beautiful Film
johnpearce4828 October 2004
This is truly a beautiful film.

Well written and superbly acted it tugs at the heartstrings harder than almost any other movie. The way it sets up an obvious story line and then like a gentle roller-coaster suddenly takes you in another direction is unequalled in this type of film.

There are so many points of genuine sadness and whenever you think you have guessed the story you suddenly turn to find an outcome more surprising than you thought.

Major characters die, major characters do not "fall in love" and major characters are not allowed to cop-out; it is as a film should be.

Remarkable well written, produced with care and acted with understatement and love - it is a beautiful film.

Watch it.
117 out of 141 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Excellent Story Within A Story
azifucare9 July 2004
I must admit. When I first heard of this movie many years ago, the title didn't sound that appealing and the few scenes that I saw didn't look very interesting. But what can I say? I was little then and didn't know what I was missing. My mother kept telling me how good of a movie this was, but I was just too stubborn and didn't pay attention. It was only a few months ago that I decided to watch it when it appeared on TV and boy was I surprised!!

This movie is beyond anything that I have ever viewed in my entire life. Usually, this sort of movie isn't the kind that I look at, but I fell in love with the story and the characters, as well as the wonderful actresses (Kathy Bates, Jessica Tandy, Mary Stuart Masterson, and Mary-Louise Parker) who did an outstanding job portraying their characters in a unique and unforgettable way.

Since I don't want to spoil anything for those who haven't seen it, let me just say that it's an astounding tale of a special friendship that goes way beyond what we would call a "regular" one. It will make you thankful for the friends you have and even give women a sense to stand up for their own rights. All in all, I give this movie a 10 out of 10. If you haven't seen it, what are you doing reading this?! Go out and rent it!
109 out of 134 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Story Stays With You Long After the Movie Ends
Ouarda3 July 2003
This is one of my top five films of all time. I was somewhat skeptical the first time I saw it because I adored the book and I knew there were some changes, but I found the essence of Fannie Flagg's fabulous novel in tact. This is a story that burrows into your heart and mind and stays there. It is absolutely magical storytelling with a stellar cast and beautifully written characters that never fade from memory.

A time and place in America, filled with the best and the worst of our life and history, is impeccably captured. The flashbacks take us to the time of an Alabama whistle stop town that was a bustling hub when the railroad was the center of all movement. This was the era of hobos and simple pleasures. The scenes from the past become more powerful by the juxtaposition to modern times, where the story begins and returns at intervals.

Kathy Bates plays Evelyn Couch, an unhappy middle-aged housewife who stumbles on Ninny Threadgoode (the superb Jessica Tandy) one day by accident at the nursing home where she is visiting one of her husband's relatives. The two have an instant chemistry and a deep friendship begins. Ninny proceeds to tell Evelyn the story of Idgie and Ruth, two young women who shared an amazing friendship and love 50 years earlier.

This movie has to be experienced, as mere descriptions might sound like another southern-flavored movie about women or a weepy nostalgic tale. It is much more than that, and more than the most glowing review can ever convey. If you are reading this and haven't seen it, please make a point to. The actors are nothing short of magical. All four actresses (Jessica Tandy, Kathy Bates, Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary-Louise Parker) are at the top of their craft.

I will borrow a line from Ninny Threadgoode to describe how I always feel after seeing this film. "I may be sitting here in this nursing home but in my mind I'm over at the Whistle Stop Cafe having a plate of Fried Green Tomatoes".

I may be sitting here finishing this comment but in my mind I'm at the Whistle Stop Cafe. That's how powerful this story is for me.
67 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Consummate story-telling, served well by superlative performances
vijayr22 February 1999
Fannie Flagg's novel of immense complexity (huge cast and innumerable separate stories) could have been impossible to film. However, it is made possible, in large part, by the performances of Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary Louise Parker in what should have been billed as the lead roles. They play the two southern women who's joint story this movie revolves around. Jessica Tandy's role is to relate the story to a lost and longing Kathy Bates (in modern times). Director Jon Avnet ties the two together nicely at times, awkwardly at times, but always (except the end) without doing damage to either. He (and the production crew) bring to life a 'peaceful' southern town very nicely.

The two Marys manage to convey the fullness of a complex relationship with apparent ease. There on-screen chemistry is nothing short of dazzling, and one is left wondering when and how these two actresses carved out such detailed characters without giving voice to their motivations and feelings. While it is rare that dialogue directly addresses the heart and nature of their relationship, what that is becomes clear quickly and transcends the plot of the story to become the real unifying element in this movie. That neither was recognized (in the conventional way) for their performances is unfortunate (which is an understatement).
75 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sweet, Bittersweet, and Intense
aharmas18 July 2005
This is a film you are bound to fall in love with. All of its characters feel real, intense, reaching out to touch with their passion and the film's nostalgic feel.

It contains some of my favorite performances of all time: Masterson, Parker, Tandy, and Bates give their very best, bringing two life fictional women who feel real, strong, and powerful. The film is very emotional, never maudlin, never disrespecting any of its components or the audience. It allows us to feel we are part of a world that might not exist anymore. What I like most about the film is how it embraces a passion for living.

There is much to be admired about the technical aspects of the film as well. It travels back and forth in time, with a structure that is hard to describe but a joy to watch as it shows how the main relationships were born, developed, and eventually were transformed into something more spiritual. The music is haunting and quite suitable to the delicate relationships, and the photography makes everyone and everything lovely, dreamlike at times.

The film will live on and will eventually be regarded as a classic. It deserves it so.
51 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Ultimate
chickskickass17 May 2004
This is such an awesome movie. I remember watching it as a girl, and when I found it in a clearance bin a few months ago, I jumped on it. I watched it then, and now, having watched it again... Mary Stuart Masterson is AMAZING. Tears fall unwittingly down my cheeks during her performance. I was also enchanted by Mary-Louise Parker, and I always always LOVE Kathy Bates. Jessica Tandy is also her usual fit self, and Cecily Tyson was great ("Shoo! I ain't scared of you!") and I could go on for ages about all of them.

I will admit that this is the Ultimate Chick Flick. That title, however, does not detract from its overall quality. The men are more than just caricatures, and the nostalgia and love of the book made its way into the movie. I have to commend Avnet for his efforts.

And now that I am out of intelligent things to say, THIS MOVIE ROCKS MY SOCKS! It's re-watchability and great everything make this the movie (along with Love and Basketball and my Buffy DVDs) that I take with me to college and suggest we watch at every opportunity.
64 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
As good as it gets.
screenman18 March 2006
This movie might easily pass you by. It's quirky, long-winded title suggests something arty or perhaps comical in a needlessly pretentious way. Well; it is arty, and it is often funny, but there isn't a particle of pretentiousness. I got to see it only because my newspaper included it as a free DVD in the weekend issue. But for that, I might still be in ignorance now.

It seems incredible that something so wonderful can be had for nothing.

Kathy Bates plays the role of a mature but still comparatively young woman who has a marriage going nowhere. Her husband has reached the point where he just doesn't seem to care any more. Actually, it's not that he doesn't care; he just hasn't noticed how bad things have got. Like so many couples, they have just let themselves slip into a rut.

However; she has noticed, and means to do something about it. When hints, make-overs and candlelit dinners prove inadequate, she finds unexpected inspiration in a feisty old woman called Ninny Threadgoode.

This woman - played by Jessica Tandy - dilates upon her past, and in particular, a friendship between two young women called Idgie and Ruth (Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary Louise Parker). The movie then shifts between the present-day circumstances of an increasingly emancipated wife, and the flashback reminiscences of her inspiration.

Some have rather misguidedly referred to this movie as a 'chick-flick' as if it were dedicated to a female audience or in some way espoused the cause of feminism. Such opinions do a disservice. To see it in this light, because the principal parts are female, is like dismissing 'The Shawshank Redemption' as a male 'buddy' movie. Both are about two people who's enduring friendship unites them against adversity. Lesbian love is barely hinted at.

Director, Jon Aunet has created a spellbinding work. It has a wonderful, lyrical fidelity, like a Renoir painting, whereby the few moments of comedy appear as small, flagrant brush-strokes in an otherwise pastel completeness. There are moments of heartbreaking and tender subtlety when Thomas Newman's music score expresses human feeling more fluently than the spoken word.

Sound-engineers seldom receive the recognition they deserve. All too easily we take the ambiance of the moment completely for granted. Viewers should pay particular attention to the authenticity of this movie, and marvel. The dreary interior of an unhappy home or the mildness of a sunlit summer-evening carry such authentic presence that one can almost feel the chill of anger, the sweetness of the season.

Some have found fault with this movie somewhere. I confess to being too lachrymose to see anything other than the director's intentions. Excellent script, flawless acting, impeccably chosen music and ambiance to reach out and touch.

This is a truly redeeming experience. Amongst the spoil-heaps of formulaic Hollywood wretchedness, gems like this help remind us that humanity is still worth caring about.

The detail of life is what really gives us meaning.
32 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Comfort food in the form of a film
davispittman15 March 2017
Fried green tomatoes serves up a serving of feel good entertainment, heartfelt moments, female empowerment, and important messages. This film tells the powerful story of Kathy Bates and Jessica Tandy in 1991. Kathy's character meets Tandy's character in a rest home while Kathy's husband is visiting his sick aunt. They quickly form a very special friendship and Jessica begins to tell Kathy stories about two women from years ago. Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary Louise Parker come in then, idgie and Ruth. Kathy starts to get inspired by the stories of idgie and Ruth and she starts to change her life for the better, getting into shape, improving her dull marriage with her husband, and becoming less scared to be herself and speak her mind. The stories told about idgie and Ruth involve going through tragedy, becoming lifelong friends and being there for each other. The performances in this sweet southern film are outstanding! Tandy and Bates are riveting and a joy to watch. Masterson and Parker have incredible on screen friend chemistry and their acting is nothing short of amazing, it's raw and real, you believe every thing they do and say. Cicely Tyson is good here too, a very brave and fearless character. The movie offers up great performances from the entire cast, very well written dialogue, heartwarming stories and a great score. The ending makes me cry happy tears every freaking time! 10/10.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A warm, well acted film with sexual overtones
tanya_lamb5 July 2002
While I love this film, and have seen it a dozen times at least, the maturing of my mind since the first time I saw it as a teen in 1991, have made me take a second look at this stunningly acted film about love, friendship, devotion and racial issues in a multiple decade look at women's roles in society.

Anyone who went to college where I did would see that Idgy from her childhood is the sterotypical Lesbian. She does not like to wear dresses and prefers a man's dress even as a youngster. As she ages, and as Ruth befriends her, she is tantalized by a kiss Ruth gives her on the cheek at the swimming hole and so devastated by Ruth's wedding that she does not even attend but instead drives hours to Valdosta, Georgia to look on hurtfully from the woods at Ruth carried in her new home in her wedding dress.

As the film progresses and Ruth is rescued from her abusive relationship the two start a cafe called Whistle Stop Cafe in Whistle Stop, Alabama. If one watches carefully they'll see that the two live together in a house near the cafe. In one poignant moment, the two women are talking over coffee late at night in the cafe when Ruth says that she feels bad that Idgy may feel she needs to stay and care for Ruth and Buddy Threadgoode Jr. (Buddy is Ruth's son but has Idgy's last name?!) Ruth says that if it weren't for she and Buddy, Idgy may "settle down" Idgy dramatically replies "I am as settled as I am ever going to be" and "I don't want you to move out" The clincher was the image they showed shortly after that scene of Ruth in a feminine dress and Idgy in shorts and a shirt and tie, holding each other and smiling. Idgy never married or dated and Ruth never remarried.

Everyone must come to their own conclusion but mine is two women in the 1930's who enjoy a healthy, loving lesbian relationship with the disguise of business partners in a time and place when different anything race, religion or creed, was just not tolerated or accepted.
61 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What An Authentic Flavor This Film Has
Lechuguilla29 April 2005
The twenty year friendship between two young women in the early twentieth century American South is the focus of this 1991 film from director Jon Avnet. Told in flashbacks, the story adopts a modern POV, with social empowerment being the theme. As such, the story is both unusual and unexpected, given its historical time frame. Viewers will be disappointed if they expect a more traditional Southern story ... about some dark, sinister secret emotionally repressed, and set among the lazy willows and old Magnolia trees.

Empowerment can be a wonderful thing. But, if it is taken to extremes, as it is in two subplots, one involving Frank Bennett, and the other involving Evelyn Couch, then it can be a cause for concern. And that's my main problem with this film. The subplots tend to lack credibility, although they do not detract from the overall character study of Idgie and Ruth.

What was most impressive to me was the film's atmospheric "flavor". Production design, set decoration, and costumes all sparkle with such vitality and detail, that you really feel like you're back in the rural South of the 1920's.

Most modern films pander to youth. To its everlasting credit, "Fried Green Tomatoes" features the wisdom of an elderly character, played by Jessica Tandy, in a nursing home. An added bonus of the film is Kathy Bates, whose acting is always first-rate.
37 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Old Friend of a Movie
gradyharp3 November 2006
There are films that linger in memory for the warmth they exude and the impression they leave. So it is with the now 15 year old film FRIED GREEN TOMATOES based on the novel 'Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe' by Fannie Flagg and arranged for the screen by that author. This is a film that explores racism, feminism, respect for the elderly, women's rights, and so very much more in a manner that is infectious to watch repeatedly and defies forgetting.

Told on two levels, the film is narrated by the elderly Ninny Threadgoode (a luminous Jessica Tandy) who idles away her hours in her nursing home with stories about her childhood she shares with the sad, obese, emotionally fragile Evelyn (Kathy Bates) whose life of misery is slowly corrected by Ninny's tales of how two women in the past overcame impossible odds. The story she tells dates back to Alabama in the 1930s when a young upstart Idgie Threadgoode (Mary Stuart Masterson) is calmed by a frightened but solid Ruth Jamison (Mary-Louise Parker) and how their partnering results in a series of events that involve murder, racism, and some very strange events.

The cast is superb, the script is delicious (!), and Jon Avnet directs with aplomb not only the fresh talent mentioned above, but also such fine actors as Cicely Tyson, Chris O'Donnell, Stan Shaw, Lois Smith and a large cast of supporting actors. The re-creation of the Old South is palpably well focused as is the hilarious and touching stance from the contemporary standpoint of the nursing home and house of the chameleon Evelyn. It is a choice bit of film-making and one that deserves a place in every film lover's library. Grady Harp
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This film is what movies should be about...!
vonschweissguth2 September 2011
I have viewed this marvelous film at least 2 dozen times. As with all great movies, you will always catch something "new" with each watching.

If you want to be charmed, enchanted, moved, and find yourself wishing.... This is a film you will cherish.

I won't belabor more than others have written so well. It is a film that resides in my permanent library on my top shelf. When I watch it again, I find myself wishing that I knew the characters personally and somehow find that I do.

This film is one of the only that I esteem. It adds to your life. It hugs the heart and enriches who you are.

I want to thank all the marvelous actors. If they ever wondered why they chose their profession, this film is why.

200 years from now it will be loved and valued. The test of time is guaranteed with Fried Green Tomatoes!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A point of view from Europe
skriptaparis2 October 2004
Warning: Spoilers
All the emotions are in this movie, brought up by a magnificent cast, a strong and a subtle story, a brilliant editing, perfectly balanced between past/present, funny/sad scenes, and a beautiful photography highlighted by a superb and appropriate music.

Those who despised FGT with their unkind and unfair comments are probably the ones who make a success of action-special FX galore-poor script blockbusters that invade us worldwide. American movies can be also different (open your mind please!). You have the right not to like it, but be respectful to the talent of both the director and the actors/actresses, it is mostly excessive to use words such "trash" or "worst movie ever".

Though a little less strong than "The color purple" (one of my favorite in the genre) on the racism issue and less cliché than "Beaches" (another of my top 10 movies)on the friendship subject, FGT is a gem of a movie to make you that there are more important things than money, as long you have friends, love, and confidence in you.

**spoiler*** Why bother about the end? Make your own opinion with your imagination (I prefer to think Ninny WAS Idgie; look at her malicious smile just before Evelyne asks "Idgie? (Ninny's nodding)Idgie's alive?). And please give up with discussing on the friendship type between the 2 girls, can't you imagine just love without sex for a minute? (and I AM French!!)
24 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brings you in and for a moment you are no longer you.
bisquitlips-8925816 June 2017
So few movies have the ability to work the human magic that this film does. From the beginning you cringe, celebrate, heal, mourn, and realistically become a part of the lives of these people (I won't say characters, but people as they become people and no longer actors / characters). Hating and loving the people, there is no way to watch Fried Green Tomatoes and not have it impact you. That is unless your heart is scarred and become calloused to the point where you don't let anything in anymore.

The ins and outs, ups and downs... and oh yes.. the BBQ! It shape shifts you and draws you in. And for a moment of your life you are no longer you, but one of them. Just watch it. And if you would like to escape for 2 hours this is how you do it.

So Hollywood! Why won't you, can't you, make movies like this anymore? Its budget was 11 million and it grossed 13 times that much. I am sure it's not the money that stops you. I am not sure you have the talent to make a movie with the magic and the power of FGT.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An authentic classic
robert-temple-122 October 2012
I have just seen this wonderful film for the third time, after many years, and it is such a classic, and has not lost any of its interest or appeal. Indeed, it is more relevant now than it ever was, considering that it is about the plight of women and how they cope with their various life situations. It is based on a novel, and has a screenplay by, Fannie Flagg. It is set in Alabama where she comes from, and the story presumably has some basis in truth. Not many people know that Fannie Flagg used to be a brilliant comedienne. I knew her in the mid 1960s when she was a stand-up comic, and she was hilarious. She used to perform at a marvellous comedy cabaret night club in Manhattan, now long gone, which had two floors. The upstairs was called Upstairs at the Downstairs, and the downstairs was called Downstairs at the Upstairs. It was at 37 West 56th Street and was run by an amusing and eccentric woman whose name I have forgotten, alas. Fannie played there at the same time as Madeline ('Maddy') Kahn, who was also wildly funny. Fannie told me she had wanted to perform under her own real name of Patricia Neal, but was told by her agent or manager, I believe, that she could not do that because there was a famous film actress of that name already, so she invented the name Fannie Flagg for herself. It was only years later that she wrote this marvellous heart-felt novel, which was rejected by many publishers, but which finally came out and then resulted in this film. And it is this which really made Fannie Flag famous. The film was shot in Georgia, which is next door to Alabama. But the story is mostly set in Alabama in a little town called Whistle Stop. That name arose because it was a settlement situated beside the railroad. Many small Southern towns fell into desuetude (i.e. withered away) when the railroads started collapsing, after the construction of the interstate highway system, which shifted so much travel and freight transport onto roads and destroyed the rail industry, from the 1950s onwards. In this film which takes place at two different times, during the pre-War period which constitutes the earlier story, the two young women, Idgie and Ruth, open a railside café called The Whistle Stop Café. In those years, it thrived and became the heart of the town, where everyone went to eat real home cooking, which included the favourite local delicacy, fried green tomatoes, which were sliced and fried in batter in what in the South is called a skillet, which is an old 17th century English word for a frying pan, the word surviving only in the American South and nowhere else. (I still fry my eggs and bacon in an old iron family skillet which was cast in the family forge at Taunton, Massachusetts, in the 17th or 18th century. We have been using that skillet for many generations. Just imagine how many bacon fat molecules survive in the crystalline interstices of the cast iron after those centuries of use every morning. The outside of the skillet looks like something dug up by an archaeologist, but the inside is shiny and ready for anything. But this question arises: can bacon fat go rancid after a century or two? It does seem to improve the flavour anyway. However, I am ashamed to say that I have never fried any green tomatoes, which is doubtless a great personal failing of mine. The skillet has thus been deprived of what Ruth and Idgie would perhaps consider to be its main function, to deal with those green tomatoes.) Idgie, who is a hopeless cook, cannot prepare them, so Ruth has to do it. Throughout the film people keep tasting them to see if they are up to standard. The modern story of the film consists of tales told by an old lady in a retirement home to a much younger woman, and the effect this has on transforming her life. That younger woman is played by Kathy Bates, whose performance is breathtaking in its sensitivity and brilliance. But then, Kathy Bates has always been one of everybody's favourite and most endearing actresses, and we all know what a genius she is. The old woman is played equally brilliantly by the famous Jessica Tandy, veteran of a lifetime of superlative achievements in both stage and screen. Before TV wiped all the brains of the public as clean as a virgin hard disc, people used to tell stories, and there was such a thing as verbal communication. (And people didn't even have to use their thumbs to communicate, like today's simian-thumbed and simian-brained text messagers.) This film is all about the power of stories to stir the imagination and transform lives. Even as late as the 1960s, some old women still survived in the South who could tell stories for hours on end. They are all gone now, and it is like what happened after the time of Homer, when the last of the bards died. The best rendering in fiction of the 'power of stories' is probably the novella by Mircea Eliade entitled THE OLD MAN AND THE BUREAUCRATS. (Eliade wrote the story of Coppola's film YOUTH WITHOUT YOUTH, 2007, though that film was very disappointing and a poor adaptation.) The stories told by Jessica Tandy are about Idgie and Ruth. In those lengthy flashback sequences, the two young women are brilliantly portrayed by the two Mary's, Mary Stuart Masterson, and Mary-Louise Parker. Certainly this is one of the greatest 'sisterhood' films ever made. Their story is full of love, pain, pathos, loss, tragedy, and joy. Not unlike life. If you can see this without shedding a tear, then there is no hope for you. Good old Fannie, may she long keep flying her Flagg.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Love-it-or-hate-it
HotToastyRag18 December 2018
There are two types of people in this world: those who love Fried Green Tomatoes and those who hate it. There really is no middle ground when this movie is concerned. In fact, you can probably use this as a qualification while picking potential friends!

Kathy Bates is in a stale marriage and feels lost and alone. She meets Jessica Tandy, who tells her a story-shown to film audiences through flashbacks with Mary Stuart Masterson, Mary-Louise Parker, and Chris O'Donnell-about a "fictional" young woman who grew up during the Great Depression in the South. It's supposed to be a huge surprise that Jessica's story is actually her own, but it's so painfully obvious from the moment she opens her mouth that anyone who doesn't figure it out probably won't figure out that I've just spoiled the surprise. Through listening to Jessica-and continually being too stupid to figure out it's a true story-Kathy gets inspired to learn to love herself and live a more fulfilling life. There are some who will find her journey touching and exciting, and there are some who will think it's trite, predictable, and unrealistic.

If you like female bonding, commiserating over "typical" bad husbands, and the idea that an interaction with a stranger can inspire you to change your life, you'll probably sign up for Team-Tomatoes. If you don't chuckle over watered-down, soccer-Mom jokes and think female exploratory classes where the members are required to get to know themselves by looking at their private parts in mirrors are absurd, you probably won't sign up for Team-Tomatoes. Go ahead and form your own anti-team, and let me know what you name it so I can join up.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very good and enjoyable drama!
movies2u8 June 2001
Fried Green Tomatoes has a good story that hooks you on from beginning to end. This movie is funny, but very dramatic sometimes. The film has a good cast: Kathy Bates, Jessica Tandy, Mary-Stuart Materson. This movie delivers a fresh ,sometimes funny, and dramatic story. This film is very good, and I enjoyed it. I liked it's sense of humor, but it is kind of sad at times in the movie. The directing is well done, and the story is very good. (the story came from the book by Fannie Flagg) This movie is recommended! It is very good. I give it a 9 out of 10.
17 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Great Movie
judywbates5 February 2006
I loved this movie, and it prompted me to visit Juliette, GA, the actual town used as the set for the filming. It's still there today, almost exactly as seen in the movie, and the Whistle Stop Cafe there has fried green tomatoes that far outshine the ones in Irondale, AL's Whistle Stop Cafe. Tours of the town take you to the spot where Frank's truck was pulled from the Ocmulgee River, to visit the grave of Buddy's arm, and to the infamous barbecue pit out back of the cafe. If you love the movie, you'll want to see the town. Each October, there's a Green Tomato Festival, and you can absolutely sense the presence of Idgie and Ruth, and Big George and his mama as you sit in the cafe and feel the rumble of the passing trains on the tracks just outside the windows. I would highly recommend you watch the film, go visit the town, then go home and watch it again to see how many places you can recognize. THere's a website for the town, www.juliettega.com.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love this movie
carflo22 October 2003
Fried Green Tomatoes is a movie with 2 stories: Idgie and Ruth, and Evelyn and Ninnie. It is about friendship and love and how friendship and love can sustain women through hard times and crises. Idgie gives Ruth strength and Ruth gives Idgie redemption. Without Idgie's strength, Ruth would have buried and broken by her violent husband. Without Ruth's love, Idgie's wildness would have destroyed her in the end. They became more than the sum of their parts. Ninnie's early life had been so full of love, from Idgie & Ruth, from her husband and son, that it still illuminates her present life, even though she old and in a nursing home. Ninnie gave some of that love and strength to Evelyn and helped Evelyn survive her journey to self enlightenment. I love this movie. I made me laugh (Evenlyn's husband asking her how she could accidentally hit another car a dozen times) and it made me cry. It is a wonderful tribute to the sustenance that can be derived from true friendship.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A very well-written, well-filmed, stupid story
Doctor_Phil24 January 2017
By most standards, FGT is an excellent film. Ninny, Idgie, and Evelyn are all interesting and endearing characters. The acting is excellent; every aspect of the production is above-average. The story is an efficient tearjerker.

Dwight MacDonald wrote a pompous essay called "Masscult and midcult" in which he claimed mass culture was the watering-down of art until it was innocuous and inoffensive enough to be acceptable to stupid people. I detest that sort of snobbery, so it pains me to admit that FGT is a perfect example of it.

Reviews of FGT say that it "examines" issues of racial and gender prejudice. An examination, however, would look at why people do what they do. It would reveal things. There would be some element of surprise.

FGT is rather a predictable series of tropes that continually congratulates us for our own liberal social prejudices: "White men are bad; women, blacks, and extremely poor people are good. Society is bad; rebellion against it is good."

So, if you want a movie that is to drama as Flash Gordon is to science fiction--a series of tropes for emotional manipulation and self- congratulation--go ahead and watch it; you'll probably enjoy it. But don't pretend that it's art.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You'll Totally Love This Movie!
TowandasRevenge5 April 2007
Fried Green Tomatoes is one of my ALL TIME favorite movies. I am a huge fan of Kathy Bates, Mary Stuart Masterson, and Mary Louise Parker. They do SO well in the movie, and Jessica Tandy and Cicely Tyson, among others, also make the film a classic! It makes you want to live in Whistle Stop and check out the menu at the Whistle Stop Cafe! I have the book AND the movie, and I have watched it over and over and over. No matter how many times I watch it, I still feel just as nostalgic and I get caught up in "life in Whistle Stop" with Idgie and Ruth. Kathy Bates does a great job playing Evelyn Couch, and no one could do better with Idgie's character than Mary Stuart Masterson. The town of Whistle Stop is so believable that you almost want to see if you can really find it on a map! Fannie Flagg does a superb job with this one, and the film is most enjoyable. Some people may call this a "chick flick," but I bet just as many men enjoy this movie just like I do. If you haven't ever watched it before, you won't want to miss this classic! It is SUPERB!
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The treasure of being a woman
Chaves777723 November 2006
Sometimes sad and sometimes amusing, "Fried green tomatoes" is the story of the woman's value. A imaginative and touching film about much things... things about life.

The movie talks about of several women that in spite of a hard and sad life caused by the indifference of people who perhaps never had such a big heart as them, they survive thanks to the love and the understanding.

Besides the beautiful plot, the performances of Kathy Bates, Jessica Tandy, Mary Louise Parker and Mary Stuart Masterson are more than special, are unique, exquisite and of course touching.

"Fried Green Tomatoes" is a little of all. So, don't wait just tears, don't wait just laughs, don't wait just an overflow of feelings. This is not only a drama movie. This movie is more than that.

* Excuse me for mistakes in words.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Touching if flawed tale of Southern women's friendships
roghache7 May 2006
This is definitely an engaging, amusing, and moving film...a tribute to the power of friendship, viewed through two sets of relationships between women. One is the friendship that develops between a middle aged woman and an elderly lady in a nursing home. The other is the strong bond between two younger women from a bygone era. I appreciated the Southern setting, with its verandahed home, al fresco wedding reception, and so forth. However, I do have a few complaints to be discussed later.

The film relates a story within a story, both set in Alabama. It begins with an unhappily married, insecure, overweight middle aged woman, Evelyn Couch, who is generally trodden upon by others and deals with her problems by eating compulsively. While visiting her husband's aunt in a facility for seniors, she befriends an octogenarian resident named Ninny Threadgoode. Over the course of several months, Ninny gradually relates a tale which causes an amazing transformation in Evelyn. This 'inner story' involves two young women from the 1930's, Idgie Threadgoode and Ruth Jamison, who become friends after a dramatic event in Idgie's childhood involving her brother, Buddy, Ruth's beau. The sharing of this experience leads to a warm friendship between the pair. Idgie later rescues Ruth from an abusive relationship with her despicable husband, Frank, and the women set up & operate a diner called the Whistle Stop Cafe, whose specialty is fried green tomatoes.

The actresses are brilliant in their roles. The incredible Jessica Tandy plays Ninny, with Kathy Bates in the role of the unhappy housewife, Evelyn. Marie-Louise Parker is totally endearing as Ruth, the sweet, strait laced, and gentle victim of spousal abuse. Mary Stuart Masterson perfectly captures the wild, feisty, poker playing, no nonsense Idgie. My compliments also to Chris O'Donnell (Buddy), Stan Shaw (Big George), and Cecily Tyson (his mother, Sipsey). The wonderful child actress who portrays the tomboyish younger Idgie bears an uncanny resemblance to the adult version.

Both friendship stories are well captured. Evelyn's newfound older friend, Ninny, has in a relatively short period of time a profound effect on Evelyn's life, causing her to improve her diet & exercise habits and become more assertive in her relationships. Consequently this elicits a tremendous sense of gratitude, such that her loyalty to Ninny might be viewed as surpassing her commitment to her husband (not particularly the best message). As for Idgie and Ruth, they experience a profoundly moving friendship & deep loyalty, sharing laughs (the food fight!) as well as trials and pain. A lesbian relationship is not specified, but I personally detected sexual undertones in Idgie's attitude. Their relationship is ambiguous and it would have been a more effective tribute to the power of friendship if the platonic nature had been made crystal clear. Much as I like Jessica Tandy, I found Evelyn's tale all a wee bit foolish & stereotypical and would just have soon had only ONE story, the 1930's characters.

From my own (female) perspective, my complaints lie mainly with its feminist philosophies. Why must movies about strong relationships between women invariably have the male roles either oppressive monsters or absolute jerks? Here Frank is a horrendous wife beater and Evelyn's husband, Ed, the stereotypical unappreciative, uncaring idiot obsessed with TV sports and beer. I have a bit of news for screenwriters...women happily married to reasonable husbands can have strong friendships, too. Also, it's the classic scenario of portraying the housewife (Evelyn) as unfulfilled without a job outside the home. The parking lot scene is amusing but frankly, I found her Women's Awareness Group utterly ridiculous and an insult to the intelligence of all women. Aside from the feminist issues, the film also gives (predictably) a rather negative portrayal of the Reverend. In any case, this movie should be required viewing for spousal abusers!

Others have compared it to Steel Magnolias, which also revolves around friendships between Southern women. Fried Green Tomatoes explores these relationships in greater depth (especially the one between Ruth & Idgie) but personally, I preferred Steel Magnolias, which focuses on the mother-daughter bond. However, Fried Green Tomatoes is definitely a captivating tale with some unforgettable and heart wrenching moments as well as amusing scenarios, including certain aspects of the ending, which I won't divulge but are something of a hoot!
11 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Intelligent, heart-warming, poignant, uplifting and gratifying...
TheLittleSongbird30 May 2010
I am running out of words to describe how good Fried Green Tomatoes was. It may be two or three minutes too long, but other than that, there is very little wrong with this film. The film is amazing to look at, with gorgeous scenery and cinematography, and the score was beautiful. Fried Green Tomatoes also has an intelligent and heart-warming story, strong direction and some charming, funny and touching dialogue as well. The ending was suitably uplifting, but I admit I did shed a tear, mostly because I was so impressed by how beautiful the film was.

Also superb is the acting. Jessica Tandy is absolutely brilliant in this film, and quite rightly received an Oscar nomination. She plays an old-timer in the American South, who tells stories of the bigotry she encountered during her youth in the 1930s. Kathy Bates is a sheer delight as Evelyn, a modern-day housewife who visits Tandy in the nursing home and finds inspiration in memories from her past. Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary-Louise Parker are terrific as well as Ingrid and Ruth.

Overall, Fried Green Tomatoes is a lovely little film, wonderfully acted and just very relaxing to watch. 9/10 Bethany Cox
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed