Taking Care of Business (1990) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
25 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
What a great comedy, a classic!
BatmanTheGreat7 August 2001
I fell in love with this movie the first time I saw it, although the script is not brilliant the cast made a great effort and made it very convincing, James Belushi plays nice guy convict Jimmy Dworfski as he plans to escape prison for the weekend to see the Chicago Cubs in the World Series, getting his fellow in-mates to cover it up. While out he finds business executive Spencer Barnes (Charles Grodin) filofax and takes over his life. Belushi & Grodin are great together in this feel good comedy, as a lover of Baseball I was drawn to this even more, but if you're not you'll still find it just as enjoyable. This is the best James Belushi film I've seen!
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the illest
suprflycat1 July 2003
this is probably one of my favorite movies ever made, (sentimentaly anyways). james belushi is a perfect fish in this flick. the baseball undertones are great, not to mention walters daughter, jewel, who is just a 4 alarm fire. belushi and charles grodin have an undeniable chemistry together. is it a little chessy? yeah. was it the early 90's? hell yeah. is it a great little flick? betchorass it is.
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun flick for veg'ing guys
=G=13 April 2003
"Taking Care of Business" is a sort of "Trading Places" knock-off with Belushi playing an irrepressible and always upbeat con who escapes from prison to attend the World Series and stumbles into the identity of a lost workaholic exec (Grodin) after finding his Filofax personal organizer. A rather ordinary but lively B-movie romp, "TCoB" makes a fun watch for guys in need of a little decompression after a hard day's work. (C+)
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
`Taking Care The Absolutely Funny !!!'
salciuco@inwind.it26 April 2003
Funny, funny, funny and funny! This is the only word to define this lively comedy starring to James Belushi and Charles Grodin and directed by a master as Arthur Hiller. The pasted 80's were the best years for the American comedy, started to the later John Belushi till to the Chevy Chase's `Flecht' came to the Bill Murray and Dan Aykroyd `Ghostbusters' the entertainment industry had generated a great lot to funny comedy, that it's true many funny movie are do still now, but the elegance and intelligence in the old movies are insuperable and unequalled. `Taking Care A Business is a comedy that it's do in the early 90's but it include all the 80's funny spirit thanks to a fast script and a professional directed to Arthur Hiller, but also thanks to the two leading players Belushi and Grodin two great comedians and also two great actors(You can see them in many drama movie). Belushi is surprising in his naturalness and expressiveness, he succeeded to give at his character a reality dimension where it's very believed his carefreeness and his `live a day at the time'. Grodin is very funny and professional in the measured and unlucky business man. The story is easy and simple in fact it's based to the classical Hollywood theme `the guy changed'. A rich business man Spencer Burns, lost his precious note-book where there all his life during a business travel, and this note-book is found to a likely jail man Jimmy Dworsky (Belushi) that he's escaped for see the baseball macht of his favourite league. Naturally the lucky fugitive take the place to the Spencer. You can not consider this movie as a great movie or a social flick with many reflection, but you must see the movie only for that's it's, a long and crackling unity to funny and laugher. And if I see under this aspect I give to the movie a good 8 to rate.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
can you say underrated??
mcfly-317 August 2002
An extremely well-paced and funny mistaken identity movie that got no credit. Belushi pulls off perfectly the exhuberant, boy-like fugitive who breaks out of prison for a couple days so he can see the World Series (wouldn't you)? The tickets he won on a radio show are to be picked up at LAX, where a bigger pick up awaits. While dodging a set of cops he spots Grodin's day planner atop a phone booth with the note of a reward to anyone who returns it. So he heads to Malibu looking for Grodin who has found himself in the slums of LA trying to get people to believe who he is. He's come to town to close a big advertising deal but loses his beloved orgonizer ("My life was in there!"). In the process he's mistreated by gang members, can't get anyone to believe him, has to resort to help from DeSolvo's mind-numbing nitwit, and ends up walking Pacific Coast Highway in the rain. Meanwhile Belushi takes it upon himself to enter Grodin's boss's Malibu mansion and even assume his job which includes a tennis date and dinner with a witchy female executive. Belushi even scores with the boss's daughter, leading to one of the film's funniest lines: "I slept with Walter's daughter?! How was I??" "You were great!" "I knew I could be great in bed!" It all culminates in an extended finale that goes from the World Series to prison. A lot of people point out the film's inplausibility, but as I always say, don't all films have a level of that? Just ignore it and enjoy the laughs. Though the film does feature the nicest set of prison inmates in history, maybe a little too far-fetched. And when Belushi gives a stolen car to his date, he's obviously unaware that cops are probably on the lookout for it (and he's supposed to be a car thief). He and Grodin also get along too well, but again, movie magic. All told this is a lot of fun and oddly enough was very reminiscent of Belushi's other work from 1990, "Mr. Destiny" (guy's life is altered with riches and adventure).

And a little sidenote about all the dumb brother comparisons by critics: Belushi is his own performer, judge his ability on that alone and stop comparing him to his sibling, please. At the point of this movie John had been dead nearly ten years and James had made his mark in great offerings like "About Last Night", "Red Heat" and "K-9". Be it comedy or drama, he can hold his own and needn't be put up against his brother's incomplete career.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Light hearted humour & fun for Trekkies too
mjp.carino-229 July 2001
Brilliant movie -especially good as a pick-me-up when you're feeling down. In the 'old days' this film was known as Filofax. Comes highly recommended and in my opinion is one of Belushi's best films. If you're a die hard Star Trek fan, then look out for some of the faces that appear these days in <Star Trek Voyager> and <Star Trek The Next Generation>. I've spotted three, though there could be more -BTW, one of them is really difficult to recognize, despite being one of the main characters -to help you -it's one of the women... ENJO
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Belushi's Best
ric_me_ric22 April 2004
this is one of my favourite film, if not my favourite film of all time. i thought it was absolutely great and i can watch it and watch it again without getting bored of it! its funny, got a good plot and is a really enjoyable film. the film hasnt really made it big anywhere (as you can tell from the amount of votes on this website) but i would advise it to anyone because the film is great. i think belushi plays his part brilliantly and he is a great actor in film like k9 and k911, many more also!

the film is fun and there is no doubt that i would give this film 10/10 and i cannot fault the film!- please watch if you have not seen it- you will not be let down.

One of my personal favourites!
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Silly and implausible, but incredibly fast-paced and often very funny!
mattymatt4ever12 September 2001
When I first watched this movie, I laughed and laughed and laughed! I was dying! Yes, it's a silly comedy that mostly depends on slapstick, but it works. The plot becomes more implausible by the minute, but with a film as fast-paced and funny as this, you tend to overlook all those flaws. Unless...it's your second viewing.

Some comedies are incredibly funny on the first viewing, and are almost as--if not just as--funny on all the following viewings. You even start to laugh at jokes you didn't get the first time around. And there are comedies that are incredibly funny on the first viewing, but the laughs decrease on all the following viewings. Unfortunately, "Taking Care of Business" is an example of the latter. And as the laughs decrease, I felt more obligated to observe the plot. Though it succeeds in delivering big-time laughs, "TCOB" is a shallow farce that doesn't know when to quit.

James Belushi is the main saving grace. Comic talent and energy obviously runs in the family (his brother, the late John Belushi) and he's doing a terrific job at carrying on the Belushi name. His starring roles in little-known films haven't given him the opportunity to show off his knack for comedy, but every once in a while he steals the show, one of which was his supporting role in the underrated romantic comedy "Return to Me." Jim's an underrated talent, who has an amazing comic energy--without being obnoxious--and I hope to see him in more and more comedies. Charles Grodin is amusingly deadpan. Then again, portraying his stuck-up character wasn't much of a stretch. But towards the film's conclusion, he shows off his more outrageous side and he's quite good. That blonde chick who plays Belushi's love interest is an absolute knockout! I didn't get her name, but I hope to see her more often.

Despite its flaws, I can't completely downgrade a film that made me laugh hysterically the first time. Sure, you won't like it as much the second time, but who said you have to watch it a second time? Just watch it once and indulge! Plus, it has that great title song!

My score: 7 (out of 10)
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The lot of a younger brother.
Bing-1817 May 1999
This is a nice, light comedy that floats along to the end so fast that you do not even notice it.

Grodin turns in another winning performance as the up-tight advertising executive that has his life taken over by an escaped convict, Belushi, who only escaped to watch the big baseball match which he has won tickets for, when he finds his Filofax at the airport.

What follows is some wonderful scenes as Belushi lives it up in the lap of luxury and does Grodin's job for him as he tries desperately to catch up with him.

Belushi is best as he tries to break back into jail so he can be legally released less than twelve hours later. Throughout this movie Belushi proves what a star he could have if he had arrived on the scene independent of everyone else, and without being over-shadowed by his self-destructive big brother.

Nevertheless, a very basic, but still highly enjoyable comedy.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
hilarious
mattkratz17 June 2001
This movie was one of the funniest James Belushi films. He is ideal as a convict who wins tickets to the Cubs' World Series game, has to break out of jail to attend, get his fellow inmates to cover for him, and break back in before the warden knows what has happened. In between, he finds uptight executive Charles Grodin's little black book and assumes Grodin's life, turning it upside down and being a better "him" while he poses as Grodin.

Belushi and Grodin are magnificent in the leads, and the film is overall very funny. See it if you get the chance; you will not regret it! I happened to love it myself.

*** out of ****
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cubs Win!
pzivojinovic20 May 2016
"Taking Care of Business" is a fairly routine fish-out-of-water comedy, but it does feature some good performances (by Charles Grodin, doing that uptight Charles Grodin thing) and Belushi (doing his streetwise, wiseacre Jim Belushi thing), as well as some nice turns by supporting players Veronica Hamel, Anne DeSalvo, Hector Elizondo and the rather fetching--Loryn Locklin. But the film does belong to Belushi. He carries his good-natured car thief role off with aplomb.

James Belushi and Charles Gordin delivers excellent comic performances. Sharply written by Jill Mazursky & Jeffery Abrams. Directed by Arthur Miller (Outrageous Foutune). Watch for actor: Ken Foree (George A. Romero's Dawn of the Dead) as a convict and Look also for Actors: John De Lancie & Gates McFadden from Star Trek: The Next Generation. An fast paced entertaining comedy. If you're looking for a good laugh, Belushi hits the mark in this movie!

Overall rating: 8 out of 10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Everybody would like to have Jim Belushi as a friend or brother.
critic2-227 May 1999
Everybody would like to have Jim Belushi as a friend or brother. He truly seems to have fun in everything he does, it shows in this movie. I won't tell you the story but it is almost like some of the screwball comedies of the 1930's. The entire cast does a excellent job. Loryn Locklin as Jewel is a pleasure for anyone to see at the pool. And who has not seen an old classmate like Debbie, played to the hilt by Anne DeSalvo was really funny and sad at the same time.

Rent it you will enjoy yourself.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Classic underrated 90s comedy.
oneguyrambling27 December 2010
Taking Care of Business is less a "Ha-Ha" funny comedy than a likable guy running around getting into mischief at the expense of an uptight business guy. What is more of a shock is that James Belushi is the likable guy, and that aside from the "I can't believe you tried that" mini ponytail that he sports for the film you really hope he gets away with things such as escaping from prison. Now thanks to According to Jim I actually hope Belushi doesn't get away with things and is thrown to prison.

Belushi is Jimmy Dworski, an inmate at a small time prison who is due for release any day. When he wins tickets to see his beloved baseball team in the World Series he begs the warden to let him out a day early. No dice. (I agree too, a sentence is a sentence. You do the crime…) So with the ease bestowed upon movie characters within hours Dworski is out while his fellow inmates cover up for him by staging a strike and holding "Jimmy" hostage.

Charles Grodin is Spencer Barnes, an uptight advertising exec working and slaving under a demanding boss hoping for the ever elusive promotion. Much to his wife's chagrin he is sent to LA to win a big account with a Japanese firm. Spencer's life is dictated by a folder that he carries with him at all times with schedules, phone numbers and vital info in it… nowadays we call it a Blackberry but this was 1989.

Guess what he loses? And guess what Jimmy picks up? So 1 lost folder becomes one guy's mistaken identity and one guy's misfortune. Spencer is mugged, dumped by his wife, fired and thrown in jail all in the same day, each time falling back in desperation on the same shrill voiced woman that he met on his flight.

Meanwhile Jimmy lives in a massive house, is wined and dined, plays tennis, drives fast cars, and bangs the hotttttttttt daughter of Spencer's boss, all the while going by that same moniker. Of course Jimmy becomes a successful ad-exec in about 10 minutes, impresses everyone with his "maverick" style and no-one realizes the mistaken identity, but these are the sacrifices you make to enjoy films like this.

When Spencer and Jimmy finally meet they each learn something about themselves, awwwww, and Jimmy must break back into jail unnoticed so that he can be released and they can both continue their friendship. It must be said that it seems the businessman learns more than the convict, I'm not sure what type of message this sends to the kids… As I mentioned there aren't much in the way of big gags in this film, but it generally keeps a smirk on your face and is a quite enjoyable 90 odd minutes. Perfect for killing a couple hours on the weekend with offending the missus with a violent film or a horror, whilst avoiding the inevitable rom-com suggestions that arise at such times.

Final Rating – 7 / 10. Probably hard to even track down nowadays, but a harmless film and worth watching if only to remind you there was a time when Belushi was less annoying.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Will the real Spencer Barnes please stand up.
Hey_Sweden5 January 2019
Jim Belushi is fun in one of his most engaging roles: Jimmy Dworski, a car thief and die-hard Chicago Cubs fan who escapes from prison in order to attend a pivotal World Series game. Along the way, he happens upon the forgotten Filofax organizer belonging to uptight, ambitious Malibu executive Spencer Barnes (Charles Grodin). The whole weekend ahead of him, Jimmy first figures to return the organizer (a combination wallet and daily planner) to Spencer and collect the reward advertised inside. Instead, he ends up pretending to *be* Spencer for the weekend, leading to the expected wacky mishaps as unwary people expecting a different sort of behaviour from this Spencer character get something else entirely.

Although quite predictable, formulaic, and overlong (the script is by Jill Mazursky (daughter of Paul M.) and J.J. Abrams (his earliest screenwriting credit)), "Taking Care of Business" is indeed a cute comedy that travels far on Belushis' easygoing charm and the perfectly cast Grodin. Spencer will have a long road towards meeting this temporary nemesis, enduring some hardships, while Jimmy will enjoy this brief opportunity to live in the lap of utter luxury. (That Malibu mansion is a wonder to behold.) Entertaining side characters also help a lot: Anne De Salvo as a persistent, annoying, but endearing old school chum of Spencers', Mako as a tough Japanese businessman, Stephen Elliott as Spencers' ailing boss, Hector Elizondo as the weaselly prison warden, Veronica Hamel as Spencers' fed-up wife, the enticing Loryn Locklin as the boss' daughter, Ken Foree as a convict, and 'Star Trek' universe actors Gates McFadden and John de Lancie, as employees in Makos' company.

The picture is silly, and reasonably amusing, and may not exactly be very believable, but it serves as a good diversion for people who aren't demanding something of substance. One does feel good for the unlikely lead duo when all is said and done.

Naturally, the title invites the expected use of the classic Bachman-Turner-Overdrive hit tune.

Seven out of 10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A toast on that the Cubs may win the World Series... , and big tits.
lastliberal13 December 2008
No football this weekend, so what are you going to do? I didn't feel like driving an hour to see a flick on the big screen, so I scoped out this little comedy. I am certainly glad i did because it had the right combination of stars to make it really funny.

James Belushi was perfect as the con out of water looking to see the Cubs in the World series. he looks like a con and really carried the film as someone who was just stumbling through impersonation another.

That other was Charles Grodin, the perfect person to play a tight-assed executive who was more in need of a blow-job than anyone I know.

Add a wacky Anne De Salvo, Hector Elizondo as a perfect warden, and Mako, and you have the makings of a good movie. A quick peek at Loryn Locklin, and I do mean quick despite the movie;'s "R" rating, and it's all good.

It all worked out great in the end as you would expect.

Check it out.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Underrated & continuously funny. See it. Enjoy it! Not for the humorless workaholic?
akg96-18 March 2006
Be ready to laugh! Very well done by everyone in front of the camera & behind it. Interesting social implications & it a comedy. Grodin & Belushi are casted perfectly & are a great counterpoint to each other. Unfortunately comedies don't get their deserved respect. The snobby professional critics are too wrapped up to even pay much attention to such a movie, but I found it worthy & will talk it up as a fun-packed delight. Is that so bad? Certainly not! It was fun to see so many actors & actresses that I recognized & appreciate. Movie-making is an act of suspended belief, so any film does not need to be totally believable or factual. But any story needs to be entertaining, & in this the film delivers.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Grodin saves the show
Squonk16 June 1999
In "Taking Care of Business," James Belushi escapes from prison to see the Cubs in the World Series. He finds the datebook of overworked Charles Grodin and assumes Grodin's identity. The film is somewhat enjoyable, yet through it all I couldn't quite shake the feeling that I've seen all this before. There's not much that's original here. Grodin, saves the film. As always, he's a treat to watch. A big downside to the movie is that it has about 2 endings too many. But, it's not a complete loss, director Arthur Hiller has certainly done worse...he's also done much better.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's silly, it's fun and it makes you feel good
Carson_Wells24 November 2018
Taking Care of Business is a movie that was never meant to win any Oscars. It's a silly comedy that pretty much does what silly comedies are supposed to do. If you love the '80s (this movie was filmed '89) and miss the simplicity of that era, then you'll probably enjoy Taking Care of Business. Yes, there's cheesy dialogue and overacting and all that good stuff. The bottom line is that the jokes work. Not to mention that both Belushi and Grodin are perfect in their roles. Grodin does what is expected of him and Belushi plays the type of happy go lucky character he should've always played. This is a great movie for those who want a short and well deserved break from the digital age.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Jail Again
Adam-Sternglass16 January 2018
Of course, Jim Belushi is committing a major felony, while he was still supposed to be in jail. I couldn't laugh. I kept thinking of someone getting my cell and wallet, then robbing me before I knew it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Jim Belushi's Best....
jenreneejb12 January 2017
What a fun movie! I've seen it over and over again never gets boring. So funny I laughed and laughed. Jim Belushi is just great. Its his best movie by far. Love the baseball theme. Such a fun entertaining movie. I like Charles Godin in this too. Him and Jim's chemistry is very good. Jim's love interest is a beauty too. They are good together on screen. I like the story line with the prison and the poor to rich theme. Just a great fun movie. I'll watch again and again. I always loved both the Belushi brothers. Jim is a great handsome fun actor. I like the title of the movie and always loved that song. Taking care of business I give it 6 stars out of 10.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Filofax Yuppie Swapathon.
Spikeopath17 January 2010
Jimmy Dworski {James Belushi} has two days to go before his release from prison {he's a car thief you see}. Upon hearing a contest on the radio to win two tickets to see the Chicago Cubs in the World Series, he promptly phones in a wins the tickets. But after unsuccessfully haggling with the vengeful warden {Hector Elizondo} for early release, Jimmy breaks out of the big house and stumbles upon the treasured Filofax of advertisement executive Spencer Barnes {Charles Grodin}. As Spencer stumbles around a broken man without his Filofax, Jimmy starts to live the high life as Spencer Barnes.

Well it's not really an out and out buddy movie till the last quarter, something that some writers have failed to mention. The preceding three quarters of the film follows the two role switch protagonists as they go about their merry/miserable ways respectively. Sounds like Trading Places eh? Well yes, that's because it is really. Here in lies the problem with Taking Care Of Business {AKA Filofax}, it's been done far better before and director Arthur Hiller and writers Jill Mazursky/J.J. Abrams either hadn't the nous, or the need, to at least instill some much needed deviation from the formula of such movies. So in the pantheon of role swap comedies, Taking Care Of Business is pretty much little league. So with that in mind it's something of an unexpected surprise to find it's actually very likable, thanks to the spirited turns offered up by Belushi & Grodin.

Belushi here was on the back of buddy buddy comedies Red Heat & K-9, which, like or loath them? Garnered a cult fan base and showed Belushi to have an appealing comedic charm that people could warm too. Grodin had done the quite excellent Midnight Run with Robert DeNiro three years earlier, so both men were in familiar territory and both deliver entertaining contrasts of character. Belushi does his street wise child in a mans body act whilst Grodin lays on the softly spoken, anal whiner for maximum impact. The result of which just about stops the uninspired script from sinking the movie. Anne De Salvo, Loryn Locklin, Stephen Elliott, Veronica Hamel & Mako are in support, with Locklin not only providing a truly sexy moment, but also playing off Belushi's ebullience rather well.

With some nice gags, genuinely funny scenes, and its two enjoyable leads, Taking Care Of Business is just about worth giving your time to. But any expectation of a new and interesting slant on the Prince And The Pauper theme will only end up in crushing disappointment. 6/10
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Mr. Destiny
MovieAddict201626 April 2003
Taking Care of Business: 2/5 Stars

A buddy movie is only as good as its buddies -- Gibson and Glover, Hoffman and Cruise, Milo and Otis, Hanks and Hooch. But there is one more element a buddy movie needs: A script. "Taking Care of Business" apparently forgot about the script and went straight on to its business.

Jim Belushi and Charles Grodin are the film's main stars. They've both been in buddy films before. Belushi was in "K-9," and Grodin was in "Midnight Run" with Robert De Niro, the better of the two (by far). So it's more than generous to say they have had experience with these kinds of films. So why, oh, why didn't they realize what they were getting into when they signed onto this film?

Belushi is the messy one, a Chicago Cubs fan who escapes from his minimum-security prison to cheer his team on at the World Series. Grodin is the neat one, a Filofax-fixated adman who loses his precious date book on the way to shmooze a client in Los Angeles. You'll never guess who finds and attempts to return the daily planner to the Malibu address inside.

Belushi is a kind, sweet, gentle man, who just happens to be an excellent car thief. He drives over to Grodin's home in LA-style environments, to find no one home. But along the way he is mistaken for Grodin himself, and is given the good-life. Meanwhile, the real Grodin has been beaten up on his way to Malibu, drugged out and unconscious. But Belushi doesn't care, because he doesn't know Grodin, and why should he care if he has single-handedly taken his every identity? Directed by Arthur Hiller, "Taking Care of Business" is a "Trading Places"-story with new faces and a lesser script. It's not an awful film, it's not even a bad film, but it's not particularly original, entertaining nor exciting. Charles Grodin, who I have always enjoyed on-screen, really ruined his own career. I really like the guy, but when he had fame, he went for the cheap films. I know he said he never really liked acting a whole lot, but still...you'd think that he would at least try to go for something good now and then.

"Taking Care of Business" isn't bad. But it's not nearly as good as it should have been. The script was forgotten and the actors came up with material gags along the way. Proof of this is how no one realized the audience could never care for these apparently brick-like, shallow, one-dimensional figures. Jim Belushi is supposed to be a sweet guy, but he's a car thief and God-knows what else. Things like this make the audience confused: Are we supposed to be caring for these characters as events in their lives roll out on screen in humorous ways, are we supposed to identify with them, or are they there simply as excuses for cheap gags? Personally, I could go another lifetime without trying to find out.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Decent Comedy Worth Viewing for Belushi
Michael_Elliott31 August 2011
Taking Care of Business (1990)

** 1/2 (out of 4)

A better than you'd expect comedy about mistaken identity as criminal Jimmy Dworski (James Belushi) escapes from prison so that he can catch a World Series game and once on the outside he finds the filofax of a rich man (Charles Grodin) and takes his identity. Soon Jimmy is trying to live the lifestyle of a rich guy while the real one gets into one mess after another when no one believes who he really is. TAKING CARE OF BUSINESS certainly isn't a film you're going to label a masterpiece but if you're a fan of the two stars then they bring enough energy to their performances to make the film worth seeing. I remember watching this in the theater at the age of ten so revisiting it all these years later really didn't have me enjoying it as much as I did back in the day but I still found it to be fairly entertaining. I think the main draw of the film is the performance by Belushi who was born to play this type of fast-talking criminal who isn't shy about speaking his mind and insulting anyone who gets into his way. Belushi was pitch-perfect in the part and it really gave him a chance to break out from his brother's shadow and for the most part the actor took advantage of it. There are some very funny moments where he goes up against some high-end rich folks and the actors comic timing couldn't have been better. Grodin doesn't get as much to do and that's a shame because he too is perfect at playing these pampered type of characters. One wishes the screenplay had done a little more with him but the actor still makes the most out of it. Hector Elizondo has a couple good moments as the warden, Anne DeSalvo plays an annoying "friend" to Grodin and Loryn Locklin is quite attracted as Belushi's love interest. Fans of the original DAWN OF THE DEAD will enjoy seeing Ken Foree playing one of the criminals. I think the film does have a few problems and one is certainly the screenplay that really doesn't offer us anything we haven't already seen. This movie was obviously influenced by TRADING PLACES but one wishes this film would have pushed the boundaries a tad bit more. Another problem is that this thing almost clocks in at 110-minutes, which is way too long as things start to run out of gas around the 90-minute mark. With that said, fans of Belushi and Grodin will still want to check this out.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Plenty to make you laugh
Livewire24226 October 2010
Some of the humour is a little lowbrow, but there's just so many quality gags in this movie, you can't help but laugh. I can watch this movie over and over, and never get tired of it. I think the one thing that keeps bringing me back is the amazingly talented cast they put together for this movie. Forgetting Jim Belushi, you've got Charles Grodin, Mako, Star Trek cast members Gates McFadden and John DeLancie, Thom Sharp, and Hector Elizondo. Oh, did I mention Loryn Locklin in a bikini? Man oh man.

I've been so thoroughly entertained by this movie through so many watchings for so many years, I can't in good conscience score it any less than a 10.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Underrated and loads o' laughs
lllama17 March 2008
I was surprised to see such a low IMDb voter rating for this movie. Silly movies don't get much credit, but this one deserves a lot for making you laugh over and over again at some of the most ridiculous stuff, especially the antics of Jim Belushi, who was a scream in this. (I also think Jim Belushi is underrated, and many of his movies are great, though people seem to miss out on that fact.) Sure, it wasn't perfect, so I didn't give it a 10, but it was still something I can watch over and over again, and in my house, we all laugh repeatedly. Whoops! I can't forget Charles Grodin, who played his usual funny deadpan goof ball role.

I love artsy, intellectual movies, tense, smart thrillers, and well-made, beautiful, meaningful films, but a good dose of silliness that I can watch over and over again, is just wonderful.

Laughter is the best medicine, and this movie is cheaper than drugs and alcohol, and it makes you feel better fast.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed