Tenchi Muyô! (TV Series 1992– ) Poster

(1992– )


Add to FAQ
Showing all 2 items
Jump to:


  • Tenchi Muyo started back in 1992, with an OVA (Original Video Animation, aka OAV) series.

    Tenchi Muyo! Ryo-Ohki! Tenchi Muyô! (1992) - This IMDB entry includes OVA 1, OVA 2, OVA 3, and all specials, I believe.

    As of this writing, the individual U.S. OVA DVDs (4 volumes) and the OVA Box set (all from Pioneer/Geneon Entertainment) are Out of Print. These discs included OVA 1, the first special, and OVA 2 as one continuous series.

    The first OVA had 6 episodes:

    01 - Ryoko Resurrected

    02 - Here Comes Ayeka!

    03 - Hello Ryo-Ohki!

    04 - Mihoshi Falls to the Land of Stars

    05 - Kagato Attacks!

    06 - We Need Tenchi

    Then came a Special that bridged the gap between the first and second OVA:

    07 - The Night Before the Carnival

    Next, there was a second OVA, considered to be a continuation of the first OVA:

    08 - Hello Baby

    09 - Sasami & Tsunami

    10 - I Love Tenchi

    11 - The Advent of the Goddess

    12 - Zero Ryoko

    13 - Here Comes Jurai

    Finally, there were four more specials/OVAs during this time, and a bit after. The U.S. DVD from Pioneer is called Tenchi Muyo - Mihoshi Special/Magical Girl Pretty Sammy, and includes all 4 of these specials. This is also OOP at this time. These specials aren't listed separately in IMDB.

    • Galaxy Police Mihoshi's Space Adventure ( Mihoshi Special ) - This introduced Pretty Sammy.

    • Pretty Sammy, The Magical Girl

    • Revenge of the Imperial Electronic Brain (aka Pretty Sammy 2)

    • Super Kiss (AKA Pretty Sammy 3)

    In 2003, there was finally a follow-up to the original OVAs, with episodes 14-19, plus a special episode 20. The IMDB link for this is the same as the original series, but these DVDs are put out by Funimation, and are readily available. Some of these Tenchi Muyo! Ryo Ohki! DVDs from Funimation are called The Complete Series, but they still only contain episodes 14-20.

    14 - Visitor from Afar

    15 - Fiancée

    16 - Strategy

    17 - Here Comes Misao on The Chobimaru!

    18 - Operation: Love-Dovey

    19 - Z

    Special Episode:

    20 - Final Confrontations

    Tenchi Universe Tenchi Muyô! (1992)

    In 1995, a TV series was introduced, with 26 episodes. There were 8 individual volumes, a complete box set, and a repackaged "Complete Collection", all from Pioneer/Geneon Entertainment. These are all OOP at this time.

    Character design on the 4 specials and on Tenchi Universe was fairly close to the original OVA series, although the specials and the Tenchi Universe each had a different continuity.

    Tenchi the Movie: Tenchi Muyo in Love Tenchi Muyô! In Love (1996)

    Tenchi Muyo: Midsummer's Eve aka Tenchi the Movie 2: The Daughter of Darkness Tenchi Muyô! Manatsu no Eve (1997)

    Tenchi the Movie 3: Tenchi Forever aka Tenchi Muyo in Love 2: Distant Memories Tenchi Muyô! In Love 2: Haruka naru omoi (1999)

    There have been three movies, based loosely on the original OVAs and Tenchi Universe The first and third follow the Tenchi Universe series, while the second more closely follows the original OVAs. Again, these discs are all from Pioneer/Geneon Entertainment, and are Out of Print.

    Magical Project 'S' Mahô shôjo Pretty Sammy (1996)

    There was a Sasami/Pretty Sammy TV spin-off in 1996. This had its own continuity, and wasn't connected to any of the previous series or the Pretty Sammy OVAs. There were 26 episodes. These DVDs were also from Pioneer/Geneon Entertainment, and are Out of Print.

    Tenchi in Tokyo Tenchi Muyô! (1992)

    In 1997, they re-imagined the series again, and had Tenchi go off to Tokyo for school. This series has its own continuity. Because Geneon Entertainment (formerly Pioneer) closed down, the bulk of the various Tenchi shows are Out of Print, including this one.

    Tenchi Muyo! GXP: Galaxy Police Transporter Tenchi Muyô! GXP (2002)

    2002 saw a new spin-off with 26 episodes. This follows the original OVA in continuity, with a friend of Tenchi's joining the GXP. This is available from Funimation, and is currently in print.

    Sasami: Magical Girl's Club Sasami mahô shôjo kurabu (2006)

    There is yet another Sasami spin-off that came out in 2006. There are 26 episodes in this, and the DVDs are available from Funimation. This doesn't follow any of the prior shows in continuity, and the character designs are quite a bit different.

    Dual! Parallel Trouble Adventure Dual! Paralle lunlun monogatari (1999)

    Finally, there is a series by the Tenchi creators, that has a bit of crossover with the various Tenchi series. This is a 13 episode series, plus 1 OVA. The DVDs for this are from Pioneer, and are all OOP. The creators have said that this is an alternate universe to the Tenchi series. Edit

  • In Singapore the pool party scene of Episode 4 was cut out completely due to too much nudity. Edit



See also

Awards | User Reviews | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews

Recently Viewed