Sleepless in Seattle (1993) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
234 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
It succeeds at what it sets out to do
Rebochan23 June 2001
I won't lie to you-this movie is a CHICK FLICK! Though I never saw it with a guy, it is definitely a chick flick. That said, it's a high-end chick flick, which probably a few guys might enjoy, unless they happen to be the exploding helicopter type^^; This movie feels more like a modern day adaptation of the classic romance "An Affair To Remember," and it keeps referencing it too (In fact, the Cary Grant classic is very integral to the plot). Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan have great chemistry together, and they both do what they're good at-Tom Hanks portraying the Everyman, and Meg Ryan being cute and innocent. I have to disagree with an earlier comment that this film is unfair to guys-the way the characters are portrayed, I'd have to say that in the reverse situation, I'd still feel the same way. Meg Ryan does not have the "evil woman" syndrome that popped up in later 90's chick flicks (The most notorious of which was "My Best Friend's Wedding"). She is very believable and actually does care about the feelings of her fiance. What I particularly liked is that the fiance was not portrayed as someone who Meg would do well to leave. Most movies fall into this trap-Someone is about to marry someone who is horrible and find that someone else is better, the viewer supposedly not feeling bad because the fiance was a jerk anyway. Tom Hanks really shines here as someone who has lost the most important person in his life and is trying to rebuild again. He always has a knack for easily slipping into the roles he's given and making them really convincing. He does not fail here-you feel for him especially during the sequences where he starts remembering his late wife. The movie's plot starts to stretch plausibility at the end, but not to the point where it destroys the entire film. The ending scene in particular is handled very carefully. You could have had a big, romantic, tear-jerking moment. Instead, the movie takes a more simplistic approach, and it succeeds-it feels much more natural than the alternative. Overall, if you're in for a feel good romance, you should see this. If you happen to be female, this is DEFINITELY worth watching.
84 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What if...
Peach-222 June 1999
The movies are full of alternate universes and maybes that make them a great escape. Sleepless In Seattle is a great romantic comedy. Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan star in a movie where they are hardly onscreen together and yet we feel both of their characters infatuation. It's an amazing job that director Nora Ephron does in making us care about the relationship between these two characters when their not hardly together onscreen. The movie also has great performances, from the leads and from supporting players Rosie O'Donnell and Rob Reiner, as well as a very goofy but sweet turn from Bill Pullman. This movie will make you feel good.
33 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Let's Talk About Love
jhclues10 November 2001
Regardless of how cyberspace has seemingly diminished it's size, the world is still an awfully big place, and it's impossible for any one person to occupy more than a minuscule portion of it at any given time. So it's imperative that individuals find that special niche for themselves, that little piece of the world that becomes their own, where they can live and love and engage in the pursuit of happiness. And once that `perfect' world is created, it's devastating when something upsets the balance, as in the case of this film, the death of a spouse. When the love of a lifetime is abruptly taken away, how does one recover? Can one recover? How do you go on when your heart has been removed? All valid questions that are explored and addressed in Nora Ephron's touching and romantic `Sleepless In Seattle,' starring Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks. The film begins on a somber note, with the funeral of Maggie Baldwin (Carey Lowell), respectively the wife and mother of Sam Baldwin (Hanks) and his son, Jonah (Ross Malinger). Maggie was the love of Sam's life, and inconsolable after her passing, he decides the best thing for himself and his son is to move to another city and try for a fresh start. So they head west as far as possible, to Seattle, where Sam remains unable to emerge from the funk of his loss. Christmas and New Year's is especially tough on Sam and Jonah, and around this time Jonah happens to tune into a late night talk show featuring Dr. Marcia Fieldstone (Caroline Aaron), whose job is to help her listeners with their problems. Jonah calls her and tells their story, then takes the phone to his dad in the next room, and in deference to his son, Sam consents to talk about his situation on National radio. In the Baltimore area, writer Annie Reed (Ryan) is listening, and touched by the sincerity in Sam's voice, she cajoles an assignment that subsequently takes her to Seattle, where she attempts to hook up with Sam, a man she knows only as a needful, disembodied voice from the radio.

So begins a romantic odyssey that probably could only happen in the movies, but it makes no difference because in Ephron's capable hands, this story works, and it works beautifully. There's a line in the movie, in fact, that kind of sums it all up: Becky (played by Rosie O'Donnell) says something to the effect to Annie that, `You don't want love, you want `movie' love. And maybe that's why this movie is so endearing and enduring; it's about the kind of love you find in a perfect world, the kind of love everybody wants and needs (though few will admit it, even to themselves) but rarely finds, and Ephron knows exactly how to make it connect with her audience. It has to do with understanding basic human needs and knowing how to translate it all into a cinematic art form that will effectively reach those who see it. And Nora Ephron does it as well-- or possibly better-- than any director before or since, and as she proved later with `You've Got Mail,' this film was no fluke; she knows her stuff, and she knows how to deliver it. It's intentionally and shamelessly sentimental, but rather than maudlin, Ephron hits just the right emotional tone, and it's perfect, from the romance to the humor she injects at just the right moment to offset the drama, to the music-- using just the right song at just the right time-- that does so much to enhance the story.

Having a great cast, of course, certainly helped her in her endeavor, beginning with Tom Hanks who, with his portrayal of Sam, demonstrates once again what a consummate actor he is. Few actors can step into any given genre of film and create a character that is so complete and believable every time out the way Hanks can. Some of his characters may share some traits and have similarities, but he manages to make each one unique, which is quite a feat. When you can watch Hanks and forget that you're watching `Hanks,' you know he's accomplished something. As an actor he is remarkably giving, and so undaunted when it comes to using and exposing what he has inside. And his ability to circumvent any natural inhibitions makes him great at what he does, and it's what makes a character like Sam so memorable.

Meg Ryan, as well, is an accomplished actor who can play drama as well as comedy (check out her performance in `When A Man Loves A Woman'), but she really sparkles in romantic comedies like this one, and she is absolutely perfect for the role of Annie (just as she was for her role in `You've Got Mail'). She makes Annie a very real person, and through her we can empathize with Sam's situation, as she enables and allows the audience to experience what she is feeling right along with her. Ryan, through her character, makes that emotional involvement possible, and it's one of the strengths of the film. And like Hanks with Sam, Ryan makes Annie a character you're going to remember.

The exemplary supporting cast includes Bill Pullman (Walter), Rita Wilson (Suzy), Victor Gerber (Greg), Tom Riis Farrell (Rob), David Hyde Pierce (Dennis), Dana Ivey (Claire), Gaby Hoffman (Jessica) and Rob Reiner (Jay). Essentially a poignant and heart-felt treatise by Nora Ephron on life and love, `Sleepless In Seattle' is a film that offers a multitude of rewards if you are simply willing to reach out and open yourself up to it. All you have to do is let it in. Do it, and you'll be glad you did, guaranteed. It's the magic of the movies. I rate this one 10/10.
60 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sleepless in Seattle
Coxer9917 August 1999
Warning: Spoilers
Another lovely film from Nora Ephron in the tradition of "Love Affair" and "An Affair to Remember," with Hanks and Ryan, charming as ever, playing two people who fall in love, even though they don't meet until the final scene of the film. And what a wonderful scene it is! Romantic fantasy, yes...but an excellent film regardless.
39 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
For romantics only--I'm giving it a 10!
preppy-32 January 2004
Annie Reed (Meg Ryan) hears, on a late night talk show, about a young boy Jonah Baldwin (Ross Malinger) and his dad Sam (Tom Hanks) missing their dead mother/spouse. Immediately Annie feels a connection with Sam thinking he might be her soul mate. Problem is she's engaged to Walter (Bill Pullman). Should she track down Sam and see...or stay with sweet, dependable, dull, safe Walter? What do you think?

The plot is ridiculous but damned if it doesn't work! The film is chock full of sweet, romantic songs and images. It all leads up to an admittedly howler of an ending on top of the Empire State Building--it was so over the top that, while they were shooting it, director Nora Ephron was muttering under her breath "Can we get away with this?"! Well...they did! I've got to admit I actually was getting a little misty-eyed at that point. You really don't realize how silly the movie is while watching it. The actors and the sweet, romantic tone of the film really pull you in.

Hanks and Ryan were perfectly cast as the leads. They're both very good actors and excellent comedians. Unfortunately, this movie was such a huge hit that Ryan was type cast as a sweet, romantic woman. She's only now getting rid of that image. Pullman is bad in his role but it is NOT his fault. He doesn't have anything to work with--his character isn't even given a last name! He's just there as a plot contrivance. Rosie O'Donnell, however, provides excellent support as Ryans' boss. Also Rob Reiner, Rita Wilson (Hanks' real life wife) and Victor Garber shine in small roles. Also Malinger is very good as Hanks' son. The only thing that bothered me was the constant references to the old Hollywood weepie "An Affair to Remember". I HATE that film! If you hate romantic comedies avoid this at all costs. But if you're a romantic, like me, you'll love it! A definite 10!

Two great bits (among many):

An exchange between Hanks and a date on Hanks' son (who's being obnoxious): "He's only 8." "He's very good at it."

And a hysterical discussion between Hanks, Wilson and Garber about "Affair..." and "The Dirty Dozen"!
54 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How is this romantic ?
kalin1235115 February 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I see a lot of comments about romance... so a woman falls in love with someone she heard on the radio saying he missed his dead wife and decides to stalk him. And he sees her and she finds her pretty. That's love.

I mean don't get me wrong, I liked how the movie started, but Annie doesn't prove herself in any way. she has a fiancée that loves her and who has some unconvincing quirks that make him the one that must be dumped. i mean the guy does nothing wrong. Annie gets the idea that the guy isn't good for her indirectly from her mother... and what does she do ? She decides to break up and go meet a guy on a roof. and the fiancée accepts like a good little puppet, because if there were any heartbreak from his part, the movie would have went down the tube. the movie is hanging on only a thread of optimism.

Of course, us, the viewers know that Sam isn't a bad guy and that he deserves a decent relationship. Sam is sane, tries a normal way to see if he can have a relationship. I like him. But if you cut out all of his scenes Annie just seems kinda nuts. You can't see her relationship falling apart. She just falls for Sam. And that stupid movie every woman in the movie is crying about... so what ? Because somehow they finally met in a similar manner makes it lovely ? Not really, no.

A movie for romantics? Sure. Just to remember that your girlfriend who seems very much in love with you will dump your carefree, no complicated past, caring, compassionate self for a guy with emotional baggage, with a kid, who she only met. But he has a nicer name than you.

The acting didn't impress me. I actually had hopes for this movie. Shame. It gets a one because if it's a romantic movie it's crap.
62 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I enjoyed it for its characters and performances, and was thankful for what wasn't there.
caa82118 August 2006
This is a movie with characters and performances which are appealing, and it is an old-fashioned, feel-good love story. The film also has a bit of sadness in its early part, thankfully not overdone. The five lead characters and the performances by their actors (Hanks, Ryan, Malinger, Pullman and O'Donnell) are all engaging.

The primary members of the support cast are also excellent (David Pierce, Annie's brother; Garber and Wilson as Sam's brother-in-law and sister; Reiner as his colleague/friend; young Gaby Hoffman; and Barbara Garrick as Sam's brief girlfriend).

The story, juxtaposed with the classic Grant/Kerr predecessor, could have provided an excessive gimmick, but here it worked well. And I was grateful for some things I didn't find in this flick. Although I watched the program like everyone else, I found Rob Reiner's character, acting and presence in "All in the Family" to be obnoxious and annoying, ALL THE TIME, and watched the program in spite of his presence. And I have found Rosie O'Donnell's presence to be the epitomé of ANNOYING in every respect, every time I've observed her, previously. But in this film, I enjoyed both of their performances completely. Children in movies can also be an irritating presence, but Malinger and Hoffman were delightful as son Jonah, and his little neighbor/friend. Barbara Garrick, with a supporting role here (as in "The Firm") is an appealing actress, for whom one would wish more prominent roles.

Tom Hanks is one of the foremost actors of our time, but even he can go a smidgen too far in a characterization (I thought he did so in both "Forrest Gump" and "Philadelphia"). But he certainly didn't here. Watch, enjoy, and feel good.
29 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If I want reality in New York, I can alway go hail a cab. If I want romance in New York...
petersjv-131 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I've read through a bunch of the reviews, about the existence/non-existence of the Hanks (Sam Baldwin)-Ryan (Annie Reed) chemistry; about the unfairness to Annie's fiancée, Walter (Pullman), the son who is bratty to his father's dates, etc., etc. In the end, it's Pullman's character that makes the point--life is to too short and important to "settle" for someone.

It seems to me that the real story is that of Jonah (Ross Malinger), the boy who lost his mom, who hopes against all hope for a future of more than himself and his dad. Ja, ja, Annie is the confused single making it all the way to Seattle (I've been to Seattle myself looking for love, alas--actually, fortunately--unsuccessfully), but it's Jonah who gets on the plane to New York, providing the final catalyst for the inevitable meeting. And, of course, we're tortured as Annie gets out of the UP elevator just as Sam and Jonah get on the DOWN elevator (yes, hearing all those CHICK FLICK groans). Of course, Jonah's backpack is left behind (collective sigh of relief!)...

... and so Howard, the teddy bear, completes the foursome. And who can resist Jimmy Durante closing the film singing "Make Someone Happy"?

Then there are the naysayers. So sad for those whose own experience of love cannot overpower their hankering for "reality."
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
if a movie touches you
juerghofer26 December 2005
like this one, a 10 is all you can do. Tom is great, Meg the woman plays the woman's role like nobody else could have.....If I get tears in a movie, the movie is a m o v i e ........touching. Thank you folks who did it, the folks who wrote this wonderful story. Am I sentimental? Yess. And it feels good. Each turn of the story makes you wish, hope, and finally no violence in a movie. What a relief. If you watch this movie around x-mas, you probable get more sentimental than in a hot summer night, I don't no. It took me 12 years to get to see this movie. Heard so much and everything I heard was an understatement. Thank you Tom and Meg and specially Ross, love you.
42 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I don't know why...
clearsky11125 June 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I don't know why I like this movie so much. There's no one thing that I can point to, but it's one of the few movies I can watch over and over again. Maybe it's the subdued performances of two very likable actors. Maybe it's because it's a combination of determinism (they're meant to be together) and free-will (he/she flies all over). Maybe it's the soundtrack -- And dialogue gems like these:

Jessica: I am telling them you're twelve so you can fly unaccompanied and the stewardess won't carry you around and stuff like that. Jonah Baldwin: Are you crazy! Who'd believe I'm twelve? Jessica: If it's in the computer, they believe anything.

But again, there are other movies with stronger acting (As Good As It Gets), better plot (too many to name), but some weird combo of above average qualities make this movie a 10. So here I am, on a rainy Sunday afternoon, watching it again, 13 years after the movie was made :).
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Is that even possible? To fall in love with just a voice and a story, never seeing nor knowing who it is?
troy-manatunga22 January 2012
A love story between two ends of a continent and a story that is unique during its time, a story of love and chance that would make the female romantics stomachs turn. Certain movies will indeed last a life time. Some maybe as powerful as FORREST GUMP, some can bring to life a tragedy that came upon the unsinkable vessel THE TITANIC, some movies can be considered as the next step in cinematography as THE GLADIATOR and then there are those few whose names remain but the story is forgotten with time such as SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE. However every-time you do push that DVD in your player, it is certain that it will move you and reach out to you just as much as it did the very first time.

Tom Hanks who stole your heart away as Forrest and who showed true grit in taking on the solo role of Chuck in CAST AWAY is always remembered fondly by his fans for those magical characters he played. Meg Ryan the Venus of the 90s was probably in every romcom that made a mark back then. SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE, YOU'VE GOT MAIL, CITY OF ANGELS & WHEN MAN LOVES a WOMAN is titles that cannot be forgotten if you are indeed a fan of the genre. Ryan and Hanks in one of the very earliest of their performances together scores a near perfect score with SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE.

It is said that there is no greater gift than the gift of love. Indeed it's true. We all have an emotional connection in our lives to someone that is entirely unexplainable. It's a connection on a platonic level unlike the attraction of lust. This value of love has been misread entirely in Hollywood of today and movies with such innocent intentions are quite rare. SIS by director Norah Ephron holds onto the idea of platonic love. It in-fact personifies the mere idea of such platonic connections between two people. Norah Ephron who has a knack for movies of this category certainly takes her work to heart. It is indeed evident primarily with her preference on always casting Meg Ryan. Next it's the very seasonal touch (most movies are set during the holiday season) she adds onto them and then the medium she uses to bring her lovers together. Two individuals who have never seen nor heard of each other falls in love over a radio show and in another instance rivals in business who falls in love in a chat room. With due credit to the writers who conjured the scripts; BRAVO!

Sam Baldwin (Tom Hanks) and his 8 year old son Jonah Baldwin (Ross Malinger) are hit by surprise when their wife/mother Maggie is suddenly passes away. Devastated by the loss of his wife Sam and son Jonah leaves Chicago and moves all the way to Seattle with the hopes of moving on and beginning a new life. 18 months down the line Sam is still mourning the loss of Maggie and is unable to function an inch beyond her memories. Young Jonah who is smart for his age understands his fathers' grief and wishes only to see him happy. On Christmas eve Jonah calls in on a radio talk show and explains to the host his fathers' situation and subsequently Sam ends up on the phone pouring his heart out over the air of his love for Maggie. Sam is heard all over country to those who are tuned in, Including Annie (Meg Ryan) who is driving over to her fiancés parents' home for Christmas Eve dinner. Annie who unconsciously forms a liking towards Sam over the days lose focus on Walter (Bill Pullman); her fiancé and is totally hung up on a stranger she has never met nor seen all her life. Is that even possible? To fall in love with just a voice and a story, never seeing nor knowing who it is?

Title: SLEEPLESS IN SEATTLE Directed by: Norah Ephron Starring: Tom Hanks, Meg Ryan, Bill Pullman and Ross Maligner Rated: PG for some language Rating: 7.5/10 105 Minutes
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's time for something different...something like this
RachelLone13 March 2004
After his wife's funeral, Sam (Tom Hanks), an architect, moves from Chicago to Seattle with his son, Johna (Ross Malinger) so he can stay away from all those things that remind him of his beloved wife, which he just can't bear any longer.

In Baltimore, Annie (Meg Ryan), a newspaper journalist, is engaged to Walter (Bill Pullman) and is looking forward to getting married. But when Annie's mother talks about the 'magic' that she instantly feels when Annie's father holds her hand, Annie cannot comprehend the meaning. One evening, Annie hears Johna on a national radio show, saying his dad is lonely and sad, still cannot forget his late wife and Johna thinks his dad needs a new wife to make him happy. Thousands of women across the country write to Sam, among them is Annie. Her letter in the rubbish bin is sent out by her good friend Becky (Rosie O'Donnell).

So Annie travels all the way to Seattle in hope to meet Sam, but it doesn't work out fine. However, when Johna reads the letter from Annie, he knows she's the right one and he replies on his father's behalf for meeting each other on the roof of the Empire State Building...

This is a refreshing, quite light-hearted story. It's slow but I'm sure many people would like it. It's funny that, when Sam first sees Annie, he somehow feels that he has met her before...rather funny, isn't it? Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan are great on the screen together and the flick is perfect for relaxing. With a delightful soundtrack.
25 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A few flaws, but strong overall
wolfie-816 June 1999
Tom Hanks is his usual steady, likable self in "Sleepless in Seattle," a steady, likable movie that also benefits from one of Meg Ryan's more restrained (i.e. less obviously, annoyingly cute) performances.

It's their talent that helped me overlook some of the film's more noticeable flaws, particularly its treatment of the eventually-to-be-rejected Other Man and Other Woman. Both Hanks' and Ryan's "unsuitable" partners appear to be perfectly nice people, yet the movie casually dismisses them over one little flaw apiece--the woman laughs like a hyena and the man has terrible allergies. Both characters behave very well, considering the way they're treated by others. Hanks' girlfriend in particular desires a medal for putting up with his brat of a son, who is rude to her at every opportunity.

I also had difficulty warming to Hanks' son, although he is certainly preferable to the young girl who keeps expressing everything in initials.

On the bright side, there are many engaging supporting characters, including Rob Reiner as a fellow architect. Also of note are the rich homeowner, the dotty babysitter and Rosie O'Donnell as Ryan's editor and friend. Thankfully, few to none of their scenes involve the annoying children.

Many of the jokes are funny, the best coming when Hanks and a friend ridicule the weepy reaction of many women to "chick flicks" by sobbing as they recount the plot of "The Dirty Dozen."
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Men Are from Seattle. Women Are from Baltimore.
ElMaruecan8231 May 2018
"Sleepless in Seattle", sleeper hit of 1993, was written and directed by the late Norah Ephron, Best Original Screenplay nominee for this film and for "When Harry Met Sally..." and director of 1998's "You've Got M@il". The three movies, all starring Meg Ryan, and Tom Hanks for the last two, form an unofficial trilogy that explores an idea romances only tend to overfly: "what does it mean to be meant for each other?".

And each film had an interesting angle. "When Harry Met Sally..." was about the evolution of relationships, a man and a woman who couldn't really stand each other until they realize that it was more about "understanding". Maturity, coupled with a few failures, highlighted their convergences so they became friends. It all came down to one question "is friendship an end or a step?". "You've Got M@il" updated the story for the AOL and Internet age, it was about two person who were in "Harry vs. Sally" mode for the most part but discovered they had far more in common when they were two computer screens apart.

In these two movies, there was a key element: the two protagonists knew each other, so in both cases, you couldn't possibly fall in love with a total stranger. But isn't that notion of stranger or acquaintance overrated? Surely, the rom-com witty sociologist couldn't leave the fairy tale alone and ignore the possibility of two people falling in love without knowing each other, or without sharing more than two minutes of screen-time. I think this is a reason enough to love the film, if it doesn't reinvent the wheel and has it share of forgivable contrivances, let's give the credit to Ephron to have made a romance whose concept is beautifully rendered in the poster where the two protagonists stare at each other while obviously being many time zones apart.

"Sleepless in Seattle" has a shamelessly romantic premise but it knows how to insert it into the realities of life. The first minutes are sad and emotional and shows a man devastated by the loss of his wife and wisely telling his young boy Jonah (Ross Malinger) that it's no use asking why these things happen (or was it a voice-over?). The man is Sam Baldwin and he's played by Tom Hanks in one of his last long curly-haired "comedic" roles. After the film, he'd cut them short for "Philadelphia" and the rest of the decade and become Hollywood's darling. I just miss pre-millennial comedic Hanks although comedic isn't necessary indicative of his role. So Sam understand that staying in Chicago is a no-option as it will constantly remind him of his wife so he moves to Seattle, and the opening credits start.

Meanwhile we meet Annie, an optimistic woman engaged with Walter, the nicest man ever but who seems to suffer from every kind of allergy, the man is played by Bill Pullman, and I'm glad that for the most ungrateful role as the disposable fiancé, they picked someone who could have been believable in Hanks' shoes. Ryan is just adorable as the idealistic girl floating on a cloud until a fateful night where she listens to a radio program named "Sleepless in Seattle" and where Jonah talks about his father's difficulties to mourn his mother, later Sam takes the phone and opens his hearts to millions of listeners, especially female, creating the first and unique cinematic collective case of "love at first hearing".

Annie doesn't exactly love Sam but she just can't resist contemplating the possibility that he might be the one, there's something just too formal with Walter and she's scared at the prospect of spending her whole life with "what if" questions. Sometimes, love doesn't come from the person than the idea of this person and how it would hold up. I guess the most interesting part from the film is that Sam wasn't stuck in his "lonely widower" position and decided to take the reins of his life and date women, and even more surprisingly, there was some genuine chemistry with Victoria (Barbara Garrick) but it seems like her hyena-like laughing was the equivalent of David's allergy, the obligatory mood killer.

I'm not sure I liked the way Jonah behaved, too precociously at times to be believable but those where the 90's. And you've got to appreciate the way the film allows these contrivances to happen but without undermining our own feelings about Sam and Annie being meant for each other. There's a moment where Annie is shown peeling an apple in one long spiral and later, the pay-off comes when Sam tells Jonah that it's details like this that made his mother so unique to him. The film also takes the right distance from its own concept by allowing Sam and Annie to "meet" at two separate instances. Naturally, the romance does an excellent job at creating the perfect missed opportunities, we know the game, we've been there, and it's part of the deal.

And at that point of the review, my only regret is that I didn't see "An Affair to Remember", I would have loved to juxtapose the two movies. But I love how the film is used as a running gag showing that there are a few irremediable differences between men and women (something that wouldn't pass today given the current gender ramifications, characters would ask "what's a man?", "what's a woman?") and I love how the film is used as leitmotif, just as other impossible love stories like "Casablanca" in "When Harry Met Sally..;" and "Pride and Prejudice" in "You've Got M@il".

And it's interesting you know because Ephron separates between love as-in-the-movies and love as-in-her-movies, but at the end, they just work the same, maybe the underlying message is "yes, real life can work like in the movies".
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Haven't laughed out loudly since a long time!
Goku8911 July 2015
This movie was a pleasant surprise. I was expecting it to be good since people talk about it all the time but what I didn't know how funny it was! Haven't actually laughed out loud at a movie since a very long time.

Some of the scenes were so simple but hilarious.

Meg and Tom's chemistry was incredible.

The story was different, heartfelt, and beautiful. It made me cry multiple times!!

I would highly recommend everyone to watch this.

Also I think this 6.8 is way too low. It should be more!

They don't make movies like this anymore which is such a shame.

Must watch, timeless movie!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No, just , no.
thunderclancat12 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This wretched film is about Annie Reed (Meg Ryan) a Baltimore journalist who falls in love with Sam(Tom Hanks) when, at his son Jonah's(Ross Malinger)insistence he talks about his marriage to his late wife Maggie on a radio call-in talk show. Apparently she's one of many women who fell in love with Sam based on this lone qualification. Annie already had a fiancée Walter(Bill Pullman) who seems like a really nice guy. Unfortunately for Walter, he doesn't meet Annie's dream romance so he has to go. The meeting is spurred on by the adolescent Jonah, who travels cross-country with his father in pursuit. Of course Sam and Annie fall in love and of course they live happily after after.

Here are my problems with the film. First of all, Annie decides to dump a perfectly nice man based on a a stranger's telephone call. That is weird and disturbing. Of course, Sam here is a perfectly nice guy, but he could just as easily been the next Jeffery Dahmer. Next is her treatment of Walter who seems devoted to her, in response to his devotion she breaks up with him, on Valentine's Day of all days, to hook up with a guy she's never met or indeed seen. There is the behavior of the son Jonah who is able to get cross-country tickets without his father's permission and have his dad meet up with Annie. It is presumed that Sam and Annie will live happily ever after, but if Annie can dump a longtime beau like Walter over a phone call on a radio show, than who knows how long her relationship with Sam will last.
23 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
a fake love story
abe-2720 October 2002
Every character in this self-proclaimed love story is so fake that I do not think any non-adolescent over 14 would believe it. I have always felt both Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan are over-rated actors and this movie is a living proof of that. Throughout the movie, I felt sorry for Bill Pullman who seemed to have taken his role somewhat seriously.

The idea that two very good-looking adults falling in love according to a plot from an older movie is absurd. What is more ridiculous is that the wisdom emanates from an 8 year old who can recite long sentences without rehearsal! If that's not enough, working people with middle class life styles, seem to be doing nothing but to worry about their love life at work. I am so glad I saw this movie on TV so I would not have to go and ask for my money back.
21 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stupid In Seattle
ccthemovieman-126 May 2007
I wonder if anyone else got tired of watching young kids portrayed on screen as smarter than adults? Frankly, I got sick of it watching thousands of movies in the '90s. This movie had a prime example of that idiotic thinking. Note: an obnoxious young kid who talks and acts like he knows more than his father is NOT cute. It's stupid; it's annoying and it's wrong and it's another anti-family message that Hollywood loved to promote during this era. The message: don't respect your parents. You know more than them. Stephen Spielberg was a big proponent of this kind of thinking in many of his early films.

Combine that with the always-annoying Meg Ryan, who has yet to make a good movie, and you have an extremely overrated film in "Sleepless In Seattle. I was not shocked to find out Nora Ephron was a big contributor to this movie, directing it and helping to write the screenplay. This is the same ultra-liberal/secular writer who followed up this film with garbage like "Mixed Nuts," "Michael" and "You've Got Mail."

The characters in this film, beginning with Ryan's "Annie Reed," are simply too unrealistic. Also, it's not recommended you fall in love with someone just by hearing their voice. It might help to get to know the person, in person, for quite some time before making a commitment. No wonder people in Hollywood over the ages can't get marriage right!

Overall, a truly sappy movie filled with stupid messages and ridiculously overrated. It's junk.
42 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the Worst Movies of All Time
annak5711 June 2007
One of my favorite movies is When Harry Met Sally so I thought that this one would be pretty cute too. Hell to the no!! If I could have given this negative stars I would have given it millions of them. This movie is in the top five worst I have ever seen in my entire life. I don't remember the last time I sat and started hating a movie less than ten minutes in and continued to let the loathing exponentially increase with every clichéd line and awful representation of women. Sleepless in Seattle sets the female gender back decades. Women randomly cry at the slightest stupid thing, send letters to some guy they've only heard on the radio one time because they're so desperate, and chase after impossible love because they're trying to recreate some unrealistic fantasy spawned by seeing far too many movies. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy corny, romantic movies, but Meg Ryan's character takes it to the extreme. EXTREMELY AWFUL!!! This movie is an embarrassment and an affront to women everywhere. All copies on earth should be burned and the ashes hurled into space towards the smoldering sun along with Nora Ephron for creating this disgusting garbage.
40 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best romantic comedies ever to come along
clydestuff29 July 2003
Early Plot points of the movie

A lot of people who have viewed Sleepless In Seattle, see it as nothing more than a chick flick, a date movie, or just a plain old predictable romantic comedy. It is so much more than that. It is a superbly acted, wonderfully written, flawlessly directed tribute to all romantic films. Nora Ephron, put it this way when she said, "This is not a film about romance, this is a film about romance in the movies", and during Sleepless we are given many references to An Affair to Remember to illustrate just that.

The film opens in Chicago with Sam Baldwin (Tom Hanks) and his son Jonah, at the funeral of Sam's wife Maggie. We do not see them close up, but we get a voice over by Sam, trying to explain to Jonah why these things happen. The film then cuts directly to Sam, who is an architect, at work, being given a card for a support group by a co-worker. Sam, removes several similar cards from his pocket, and as he throws them to the table reading them, we sense his frustration that although people are trying to be helpful, there is no way they can possibly understand what his life is now like without Maggie. It is here that he decides to take Jonah away from Chicago and move to Seattle. If these opening scenes had been played with too much pathos, then the whole concept of the film could have been lost. Tom Hanks, does these scenes with perfection, setting just the right tone to enable us to understand his loss but not become so lost in it that the whole film sinks.

We then move forward a year to Christmas Eve. Annie Reed (Meg Ryan) is going with her fiance Walter (Bill Pullman) to her parent's home to announce their engagement. Though it appears to be the perfect relationship, there are little signs given throughout these opening moments that lets the audience know what Annie doesn't. Perhaps this isn't such a perfect match, and Annie has convinced herself that it is. Later, Annie is driving her car alone, down the highway to join Walter in Baltimore. It is here that she tunes her radio to one of those programs where people call in to get advice, in this case a Dr. Marcia. Coincidentally, (where would most films be without that word!), Jonah has called Dr. Marcia to ask advice about Sam, as it seems Jonah senses that Sam's depressed and is unable to sleep. Dr. Marcia convinces Jonah to put Sam on the phone. It is in this sequence, that Meg Ryan shines. Acting and reacting to something you hear on the radio is one thing, but as Annie, Meg Ryan is required to do it for a good length of time. When she is listening to Sam's voice, telling why he loved his wife so much, we believe her reaction, and we understand it. These scenes were perhaps the most crucial part of the film. If we don't believe Annie at this point, then we won't believe any of the actions that she takes afterward. From this point on, we are left to wonder if these two people who seem to be made for each other will ever meet. Of course, you probably know that going in, but this film gets us there with a keen sense of humor, terrific characters, and a story not only about fate, but whether falling in love with someone you never met is possible.

Rosie O'Donnell is perfectly cast as Meg's friend Becky, and delivers her lines in such a matter-of-fact tone that lines like "A movie! That's your problem! You don't want to be in love. You want to be in love in a movie" prove to be even funnier. Bill Pullman, as Walter, is required to overplay his part, so that we know he isn't the right match for Annie. He does it well, just enough to let us in on the mismatch, but not annoying to the point where we dislike him. He is a good guy, and as Annie says to him later, "deserves better than me". Ross Malinger as Jonah also does well, never being overly sweet, or too obnoxious. He makes us believe in his relationship with Sam, and that he really wants his father to be happy again. Gaby Hoffman, as Jonah's friend Jessica, is priceless in her few scenes with him. Rob Reiner as Jay, giving advice to Sam on dating in the eighties, has one of his best supporting roles ever. His scenes alone are worth taking time to watch Sleepless.

Nora Ephron deserves high praise for having given us this romantic-comedy gem. It has all the ingredients one could ask for from beginning to end. As Sam and Annie might say, "It has magic".
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Unfair towards guys.
Foopy-28 December 2000
Warning: Spoilers
Ok, I think I figured out why this movie irked me. It's not because it's romantic--Casablanca's one of my favorite films, and so are a slew of other romance movies. It's not because it's cheesy, since I like a lot of those movies too. And it's not because it has a boring plot, because it's really not boring at all.

It's because this movie is utterly unfair towards guys. There's two major reasons for this: firstly, Bill Pullman's character is inhuman. Secondly, if the genders of the two main characters were switched (i.e., if Meg Ryan played Tom Hanks' role and vice versa), Tom Hanks (the character played by Ryan) would be perceived as a total jerk. I can't really explain these two things without mentioning spoilers, so if you haven't seen the movie, you should probably skip the rest of this commentary.

As for Pullman's character: yes, if I had a fiancee in the same situation as Meg Ryan and she wanted to dump me for someone more suitable for her, I'd say "ok." But that's not to say I'd be extremely depressed and p***ed off at how much work I put into this relationship just to have "mr. perfect" walk by and lose everything. I would also be at least a little bit disappointed that my fiancee didn't care enough about my own feelings to stay with me. Pullman's character is expecting to have kids with this woman, and he seems perfectly fine--no, downright enthusiastic--with letting her go marry someone else. I don't know any guy who would be nearly as consenting about this whole thing as Pullman's character. Additionaly, this all seems to imply (for me at least) that a heterosexual relationship has nothing to do with the guy's happiness and everything to do with the girl's: that the man is the provider of services, and the woman is the customer who has every right to leave if she's dissatisfied.

How is this the case? Well, imagine switching the genders of the two main characters. Say it was Tom Hanks who was already with a woman he was going to marry, but decided to leave her (or ask her if he could leave her) when he heard this woman (Meg Ryan) on a radio talk show who sounded absolutely perfect for him. Wouldn't Hanks be perceived as a total jerk who dumped his fiancee for someone else? Wouldn't he be seen as an insensitive person who cared more about his own feelings and happiness than his fiancee's? In the actual movie, however, it's Meg Ryan who dumps her fiancee, and since she acts cute and innocent when she does it, she's not perceived as a jerk.

So, basically, that's my chief complaint about this film. Other than that, it's very funny, and I like the acting. Another thing I didn't like about it, though, is that it's the kind of movie where you're made to only care about the two main characters and nobody else.

But ultimately I think that my main complaint about this movie is really a complaint about American dating culture. It was really hard for me to figure out why I didn't like this movie, and I think that this movie really reveals how disadvantaged the stereotype of men is in dating culture. That's not to say that women aren't disadvantaged--the whole feminist movement is the embodiment of this fact--but all I'm trying to say is that men are also disadvantaged in different ways, and in my opinion dating culture needs to change for the equality of both sexes.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"oldie but goody"
coolkunalb15 December 2017
3 December 2017 Writing a review for a movie which was released even before I was born is really funny.

Too bad I hadn't seen it until today... Rom-com is a genre which I rarely engage in

I think the last time I saw a Rom-com was "No String Attached" (2011)

What can I say I really liked this film.It is a simple sweet story. Sam(Tom Hanks), has lost his wife and lives with his 8 yr old son and has recently moved to Seattle, WA. Even after a year and a half he still finds himself missing his wife and pining for love. Then one incident happens which changes everything.

Surely one of the best Romantic movies I have seen so far, having usually seen the Tom Hanks in his Dan Brown films, it was weird for me watching him so young. Meg Ryan plays her part to perfection.

The film is studded with amazing singles from the 80's. I loved the "Make someone happy" by Jimmy Durante.

Go watch it you won't regret it!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"oldie but goody"
kunalb-052633 December 2017
Writing a review for a movie which was released even before I was born is really funny.

Too bad I hadn't seen it until today... Rom-com is a genre which I rarely engage in

I think the last time I saw a Rom-com was "No String Attached" (2011)

What can I say I really liked this film.It is a simple sweet story. Sam(Tom Hanks), has lost his wife and lives with his 8 yr old son and has recently moved to Seattle, WA. Even after a year and a half he still finds himself missing his wife and pining for love. Then one incident happens which changes everything.

Surely one of the best Romantic movies I have seen so far, having usually seen the Tom Hanks in his Dan Brown films, it was weird for me watching him so young. Meg Ryan plays her part to perfection.

The film is studded with amazing singles from the 80's. I loved the "Make someone happy" by Jimmy Durante.

Go watch it you won't regret it!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great drama-romance
MihaiSorinToma21 October 2017
A lonely father and his young son suffer greatly after his beloved wife dies, thus leaving a huge hole in their lives. Obviously, the one who is the most affected is the little one and as his father doesn't give any sign of trying to restart his life with another woman, he calls the local radio to ask for advice. His father also gets involved and ends up telling the entire public the story of his life. From there, their lives take an unexpected turn, the mailbox being flooded every day with mails from various women impressed by their story. All pretenders seem the same but the son spots something different and is determined to make his father meet that woman before he gets deeper in his new relation.

It's a sad story but with well inserted comedy elements which manages to impress you with every single thing it does, with its great story, actors and subtle comedy but it quickly gets predictable while the ending doesn't do the love story much justice. It leaves you a bit disappointed, finishing so abruptly and not providing many details regarding what will happen next. Overall it's a great watch, especially with the loved ones, which had everything to be brilliant but its finale didn't receive as much attention as the rest of the movie.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
For all the people who fall in love with a person, instead of their looks
harshsaini-6449616 March 2017
I personally fell in love with her eyes and God Tom Hanks looked handsome when he had hair, and the story is of the simpler time, I think for today's generation it will serve as a reminder that life doesn't have to be fast-paced. Enjoy the moment, instead of being anxious about the next one.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed