Amanda & the Alien (TV Movie 1995) Poster

(1995 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
If you don't expect much you'll have a good time
wdbrown24 December 2006
Very witty in places and, yes, the soundtrack is good, but get with it folks. Did anyone expect great art with a title like "Amanda and the Alien"? There are some very nice moments, like Alex Meneses in the shower, or her character trying to figure out how to dress.

And to clarify for one poster, it's paprika that is the spice of choice, not pepper. That's what makes it funny.

Lighten up. This is mindless entertainment and your less than 2 hours can be spent in far worse ways, like talking to your kids, or paying attention to your spouse, who probably doesn't look anything like Alex Meneses or Nicole Eggert. And, in case you are wondering, like this movie, my comments are done with tongue firmly implanted in my cheek. It makes it difficult to talk, but it is funny.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
B-movie styled sci-fi...
Cephyran6 September 2003
Despite being a made for TV movie, this one has minor merit. There's a sci-fi element reminiscent of the old B-movies that gives it character. Even with the goofy, almost comedic foundation, there's still plenty of room for elaboration. As far as viewability goes, I believe most will want to watch it simply for the sensuality between Amanda and this alien, once its taken a suitable human form.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious!
smrtgrrl25 February 1999
The last guy totally missed the point. This movie is a COMEDY, buddy, as in ha-ha, good time had by all. I loved watching Nicole Eggert doing her sarcastic California girl thang--and that Star Trek guy actually is a bit of a looker--who knew?

You need to actually possess a sense of humor to enjoy this movie--but if you have one, check this one out 'cause it's fun :)
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Cult film, similar to Eddie and the Cruisers.
wrossdavis14 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Cult films should have their own rating schemes. This film is in the same genre as "Eddie and the Cruisers," "Pulp Fiction," "Sin City," "The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (books and movie) and "Risky Business". The folks who rated it low just don't get it. The tongue-in-cheek humor is highly intellectual and I'd bet that only people with an IQ above 125 who grew up in the 60's really get it. For those who don't, can you say "No imagination?" How about "Narrow minded?" There is paradox after paradox. An alien who falls in love with an earthling (How about the parallel with "Starman?"), absorbing people becoming an acceptable action. References to other Science Fiction movies and TV shows are all over the place. As already noted, the parallel with "Starman," or Amanda's stating "The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the one," noting that she heard it on Star Trek and then Michael Dorn's (Star Trek TNG) querying "Star Trek?" If you liked the other films (or books) I have mentioned, you will like this one.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good Cast, Great Soundtrack
kensmark7 August 2002
"Starman" meets "Mork and Mindy" with a side of "The Hidden" and a hint of "Femalien".

I saw this film on a whim, simply because I saw a short list of who was in it and was puzzled at the combination of actors. Not the greatest movie in the world, but certainly not the worst. This film has a very fine cast, mostly in its supporting ranks, but an oddly amateurish feel, as if it were made on a whim over the course of about ten days. The camerawork and editing are sometimes quite poor, but at other times perfectly competent, and the same goes for the dialogue, script, and direction.

However, the film is redeemed by its sense of humor. About a third of the attempts at humor fall down badly, but about another third come across very well. I didn't laugh much while watching it but I did keep smiling and nodding my head. Given the story and situations presented, there are jokes that beg to be made, and the characters often make them. I had to wonder how many of them were improvised, but it really doesn't matter.

Nicole Eggert isn't at her best here, but she does fine and looks cute. It's a damned shame what Hollywood has done to her over the years, though. She's still very attractive, but if they'd just let her eyebrows grow back and stop putting so much makeup on her, she'd be deeply adorable again. The plucked-and-painted look just makes her tend to look generic. Nicole, you're a lovely girl; stop letting them second-guess your face.

Michael Dorn is priceless as a quirky federal agent, and Stacy Keach, David Millbern, and the often-overlooked John Diehl are good in supporting roles. The actors who take principle turns playing the wooden alien are, well, a little wooden, but it's not clear how much of this is poor acting and how much is just an attempt to stay in character.

The most startlingly good thing about this movie, though, is its standout soundtrack. The soundtrack -- sadly not detailed at IMDB as of this writing -- is excellent all around, but, even more impressively, it features three impressive songs by Over the Rhine, a distinctive and sadly underknown group. Whenever the background music gave way to a song, I was impressed by the choice someone had made.

I doubt the soundtrack is available anywhere, which is a real shame. Interestingly, "Amanda and the Alien" is based on a Robert Silverberg short story. You wouldn't guess it from the film itself, but there it is.

Overall, this is a very watchable movie. You might not think so at first, but if you make it through the somewhat slow first fifteen minutes or so, there's a good chance you'll be hooked and amused.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lowbrow but engaging late-night entertainment
aromatic-222 February 2002
Nicole Eggert is always believable in her role, and she makes us have fun watching this imaginative, if silly, low-budget quasi-erotic comedy. Michael Dorn alone is worth the 90-minute investment. Lots of inside jokes and goofy and quirky situations to make the time pass quickly. In short, Amanda and the Alien has no artistic merit whatsoever, but as a humorous time-passer, I give it an A.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I agree
shankar15 March 1999
I agree. The movie is a silly/stupid comedy, not to be taken seriously. That whole nonsense about pepper! I mean come on! How can anyone actually expect this to be good? Also what makes this movie worth a viewing is Nicole Eggert. Geez, is she stunning, or what? Out of everything I've seen her in (Baywatch to Charles In Charge to that Corey Haim flick), this is her at her most gorgeous. Watch this movie expecting a few laughs and for Nicole Eggert to be hot and NOTHING MORE.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Very Strange Sci-Fi Sex Comedy
Theo Robertson15 August 2004
ALIEN LOVE ( As this movie is known in Britain ) is a very strange movie . I don`t mean that it`s an esoteric art house movie in the style of Peter Greenaway or Derek Jarman , I mean it`s a TVM with swearing , sex , some really good T&A , a bad script and a very retro feel . You can just imagine someone like John Hughes directing this ten years earlier , though of course he would have cut out the T&A

Going back to the bad script , one of the problems is that few of the characters have any type of motivation especially Amanda . Why does she pick up Connie at the bar ? Just so she could meet an alien ? Do you see what I mean about retro ? ET , SHORT CIRCUIT and a whole lot of other movies from the mid 1980s had this type of plot with most of them being more defined and convincing than the one seen here . The storyline continues to follow an ill defined , unconvincing and illogical path

That said I did find ALIEN LOVE watchable and not only down to the T&A on display . As a a sci-fi sex comedy it`s much better than FLESH GORDON and EARTH GIRLS ARE EASY
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
SMRTGRRL has the idea!!!
dreadful-221 November 1999
Once again, Nicole and her unique blend of SATIRE, DRAMA and SEX is put to GREAT use in a perfect vehicle, Amanda & the Aliens!!! (can you spell Marlena D. or Garbo???). Watch it again, from the viewpoint of *satirical comedy*, and then judge the film. It's just Great!!! ONLY Nic could pull it of, and she DOES!

BTW, for those who enjoy this RARE and unique genre, and want to experience another shining example of it, watch "THE DEMOLITIONIST". GREAT!!! (actually, all her films are wonderful small pieces.)

BTW - BTW - if you watched CHARLES in CHARGE, it's amazing to see the beginnings of Nicole's abilities and talents. The seeds of her sardonic sense of humor are clear.

PS - Keep it up Nicole, you are the best all-round actress we have!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Quirky, Sexy, Funny
inkblot116 January 2005
Amanda, gifted artist and fashion trend setter, discovers her boyfriend has been unfaithful. Meanwhile, an alien is on the loose in LA, one who can take over the body of a human being in seconds. Naturally, Amanda and the alien meet at a nightclub, with Amanda spotting the being's weird behavior. Inviting the alien to her house, Amanda starts to give her tips on how to act more like a human. The doorbell rings. Amanda's old boyfriend has shown up. What mayhem will occur? This movie is a quirky and humorous look at the world of aliens. It does, however, contain some fairly explicit sexual scenes, making it inappropriate for all audiences. Amanda is adorable and her zany costumes delight, too. Law enforcement officials pursuing the alien give wonderful tongue-in-cheek performances as well. Recommended as a surefire party movie for a college dormitory or a boomers gathering on New Year's Eve. This film entertains, without any emotional baggage at film's end.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Sex comedy version of The Hidden
Leofwine_draca28 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
AMANDA & THE ALIEN is an odd little sci-fi comedy that has way more sex and nudity than you'd expect from your average '90s television movie. From the cheesy cover I expected it to be one of those endless kid's sci-fi films that they made during that decade, but instead it turns out to be something very different.

This is a sex comedy version of THE HIDDEN, with an alien landing on Earth that has the ability to swap human hosts every few days to survive. The main character, as played by BAYWATCH actress Nicole Eggert, must learn to understand the alien at the same time she discovers herself falling in love with it. Bedroom scenes seemingly take up at last half of the running time, while the main thrust of the plot so to speak never seems to progress beyond the most basic levels.

For a comedy I didn't laugh once, although it has to be said that the unusual premise just about works, it's just the dated execution that lets this down. A few familiar faces round out the cast, including Michael Dorn (always tough to recognise outside of his Klingon make-up) and a typically hard-ass Stacy Keach.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Just watch it for the bongos
lastliberal19 September 2007
I guess there are some out there that remember Nicole Eggert from her little girl days on such TV shows as T.J. Hooker, Charles in Charge, and Who's the Boss? You perverts, you! Maybe you remember her from Baywatch when she grew up and got breast implants. No matter, you will certainly forget her in this supposed comedy about man-eating aliens.

There are so many things that do not make sense and are never explained. How did she recognize the alien? Why was the alien hot for paprika and cinnamon? Why didn't the alien eat her? You get the picture.

Before the alien eats her boyfriend and assumes his identity, you get to see her in the body of Alex Meneses. This Mexican/Ukranian beauty is the only reason to watch this trash. Stay for the shower scene and the boyfriend, and go on about your business.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A tad on the rubbish side
raypdaley18226 May 2006
Nicole Eggert was listed as the star of this, despite Micheal Dorn & Stacey Keach being much bigger stars than her.

Basically this is a bit of a spin on the "Alien lands on Earth" film. Eggert plays the girl who feels sorry for an Alien being chased by the military and takes in the runaway creature in her very sexy disguise. A bit of nudity and partial nudity, a pointless sex scene all feature along the way.

The film stumbles through a few obvious set-pieces and running jokes about being shown photographs. I quite liked the Star Trek jokes when Micheal Dorn had been taken over and he got a really cool death scene.

It was fairly obvious that Stacey Keach was going to be taken over and the film had quite a weak ending, it would have been nice to show exactly what kind of talent the Alien passed to Eggert.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible
loddar24 December 2003
Now what's wrong with the actors that took part in that crap? Michael Dorn should stick to the Star Treck merchandise. John Diehl, does anyone remember him in Miami Vice? Liked him there... Well, whatever - what can one expect from a movie with one of the lifeguards from baywatch in the lead? Nothing, and that's what we get. None of the characters is even likable, the special effects are hilarious (but not funny). The story is a (very bad) joke. There is no logic whatsoever for what's happening. I got the feeling that the film makers were trying some kind of "Attack of the killer tomatoes" kind of thing. Especially in the scene where all the important people were discussing national security in some kind of a closet...

If you happen to see it on TV, switch channels - your TV set will be ever thankful.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Surely you have better things to do with your time?
BillK14 January 1999
I've long heard that to get their start in 'legitimate' films, many behind-the-camera types work on porno films.

The people who produced and directed this monstrosity stayed too long.

Poorly paced, staged and written, it uses a lot of perfectly good talent (Diehl, Dorn, Eggert) badly.

Much sexual activity is teasingly implied here by the brassiere-popping host to the alien creature, but it never crosses the line...

You'll still want to shower afterwards, though.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
bad, bad
schofy24 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
The one thing that occurred to me after watching this drivel, was i would never get the time I used to watch this, back again. If you want to see Stacey keach and Michael dorn try and earn what must have been then, the down payments on a holiday home then stay tuned. Wooden acting, poor special effects, the only comedic highlight was whilst our alien hero was in female form and this is over as soon as she has done her obligatory b-movie nude sex scene within 30 mins into the movie. The opportunity to have made what could have been a decent movie disappears the moment Nicole Eggbert clocks the alien in a bar within 30 seconds, whilst the Police, Military and Joe public don't cotton on that the woman drinking coffee, dosn't use the cup handle and wears four jumpers at once. She must obviously be from another planet. Just where I wish I was when this movie was on.
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed