Billy Madison (1995) Poster

(1995)

User Reviews

Review this title
221 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Stop looking at me, Swan!
mattymatt4ever22 May 2001
What can I possibly say? This is no "Citizen Kane," but this is one of the movies that sticks out in my mind the most. It's a twisted, crude, tasteless comedy but never ceases to bring out extreme laughter, even after I've seen it approximately 200 times--give or take. I just cannot get tired of this movie! There are things in this movie that cannot be understood, like every Sandler flick. What the hell was the deal with the penguin? However, it's a memorable moment. There are so many memorable quotes from the film. It's one of those movies I can quote line per line off the top of my head.

Here's a share of my favorite quotes:

(singing) "Suntan lotion is good for me. You protect me. Tee-hee-hee."

"O'Doyle rules!"

"It's too damn hot for a penguin to be just walkin' around. I gotta send him back to the South Pole."

"You're giving the company to Eric? He is a bad, bad man."

Adam Sandler has that brand of comic genius in which you don't know what you're laughing at, but it's damn funny! You can't help it! I can't rant and rave about anything artistically brilliant about "Billy Madison." Yet it's one of my favorite movies of all time.

It's funny, it's original, it's Sandler! Nuff said.

My score: 8 (out of 10)
64 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"I'm one of the GOOD guys, Penguin!"
La Gremlin5 March 2002
This is one of those lucky cases where the opening sequence of a movie gives you an excellent idea of what you are in for.

If you do not enjoy Billy's sunblock song, or the bit with the penguin, then you must turn off the movie and stop being such a nag about it.

But for those of us who happen to enjoy movies that are silly and stupid, this is one of the best ones out there.
50 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I Laughed my balls off!!
Quinoa198430 April 2000
Billy Madison in a landslide is Adam Sandler's best film. I never laughed so hard. Maybe the humor is a little stupid, but that is because before seeing this movie, you have to make sure your brain is not in Fellini mode and in Sandler mode.

Story revolves around Billy Madison, who must go back to school (he is 27) and graduate High School so he can take over his father's hotel ring. His whole odyssey is utterly hilarious from start to finish. Especially because he has cameos and stars like Norm MacDonald, Steve Buscemi, and Chris Farley as a Penguin lover (that penguin hadn't made me laugh that hard since the pee scene in Naked Gun). Great fun (one of the best of 1995). A++
54 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Such a funny movie, it never gets old
FrankBooth_DeLarge30 January 2005
If you want to see a movie that is fun, puts you in a good mood, and never gets old, then see Billy Madison. All of you Sandler haters will think this is stupid, but everyone who likes Adam Sandler, or doesn't mind humor that is kind of stupid will love Billy Madison.

This is one of Adam Sandler's first movies, and it's one of his best also. This is a movie that I've seen so many times, but I still enjoy it every time. This is good to watch when you're in a bad mood, or if you're stressed out, because it will perk you up quicker than any coffee you can name. Other movies that put you in a good mood are Happy Gilmore, Beavis and Butthead Do America, South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut, and Tommy Boy.

Overall, Billy Madison has a somewhat stupid sense of humor, but it does make you laugh, and it's such an entertaining movie. If you haven't seen this yet, see it now and see what all the laughing is about.
45 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So stupid, but so damned funny!
SourGreenapple427 October 2007
The great thing about "Billy Madison" is you're not suppose to take it nor judge it too seriously. They knew while making it that it wouldn't be an Oscar winner, nor would it be the next "Citizen Kane", nor is it suppose to be some intriguing and involved plot, but it in return has rightfully earned itself a major cult classic status among youth and film lovers since it's release. It has also become one of the most quoted and memorable films over the past 12 years.

It's about a 27-year-old man who makes a bet with his dad that if he repeats and passes grades 1-12 (Where is K?), he will take over for his dad's hotel company, instead of his dad's obnoxious and sociopathic friend Erik (played to perfection by Bradley Whitford; despite Billy not having any experience in the field at all...). The film from there follows him in each grade.

Does that sound like much of a plot? No. It is inept, idiotic, unrealistic and bizarre, but it is one of the funniest movies ever made. It has endless amounts of memorable gags that will make you laugh over and over again, it has the type of sense of humor that makes you laugh because it is so damned strange and nonsensical. Most of its gags rely on a hybrid of black humor and slapstick that produces hysterical results.

I feel like I'm 10 years old quoting the movie to all of my friends, but it's the type of movie that will make you do that. If you are in the mood for a very good and thought provoking movie, this isn't your movie, but if you are in the mood to laugh your ass off and not pay attention to how good it actually is... here is your movie.

But that aside, "Billy Madison" isn't just awful like many other goofball comedies of the 90's and 00's, it is very entertaining and memorable... because it just manages to really make you laugh. And it's not dumb characters making stupid mistakes (like Black Sheep for example), just very weird characters making "What the hell was that?!" situations.
18 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not ashamed to say this was really funny
rams_lakers29 September 2004
Looking at some of the reviews here reinforces the fact that there are certain people that like different types of humor. If stupid humor makes you laugh, this is your comedy. If you like stale British cerebral humor, maybe you should stay far away from this. I'm sure we all have our favorite and unfavorite comedians. I happen to like Sandler because he is immaturely funny. I think Dave Chapelle's show is pretty damn funny too. I never thought Sam Kinison was funny (the screaming is annoying) nor do I care for Chris Tucker.

I saw Billy Madison at the theater, a friend and myself and the 8 other guys randomly scattered around the seating area found this to be pretty damn hilarious. I laughed at about 8 different scenes and that is a lot for me for any one movie. I still laugh at a few of the scenes when I see repeats and yes I have it on video.

Those of you who dislike this movie are more than likely too old and stuck on your Bob Hope type era comedians and refuse to admit any others. Sandler isn't the greatest comedian who ever lived but his shtick was fresh and original when this movie came out. I have a video of him back when he did stand up and the guy is brilliant.

Again, people who get easily annoyed and upset with the stupid type humor steer clear of this movie and save yourself the aggravation that these sad negative reviewers subjected themselves to.
21 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
For Moron Eyes Only
dunmore_ego21 July 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Billy Madison is the type of mungo movie that leaves one speechless on how it could have ever been made. The answer, of course, is because that champion of dullards was involved - Adam Sandler, playing the eponymous Billy Madison with every ounce of talent the Christian god forgot to give him. A fine businessman he is; a writer and comedian he's not.

In order to inherit his father's hotel empire, twenty-something idiot-boy, Billy Madison must promise his father (Darren McGavin) that he'll repeat grades 1 through 12 in six months and graduate, or the empire will fall to a business acquaintance (Bradley Whitford).

We discover Billy can't even spell "rock." How then are we expected to believe this imbecile who fills his days with "daiquiris, stroke mags and Nintendo" can accomplish his task in six months? About now the speechlessness starts. This is not an underprivileged person deprived of getting the breaks and so therefore failing at life - Billy is an enabled douchebag whose father paid off teachers to pass him and who refused to educate himself, until his inheritance was at stake, at which point he suddenly wants to turn over a new leaf only to inherit the riches.

This is not a nice man. He is neither hero nor anti-hero. He is a waste of space. And the directionless movie can't even make up its mind on how to portray him, because even though it disparages higher learning at every turn, the disparagement is in direct opposition to the plot of the movie itself, where Billy needs to graduate, i.e. display that he has learned, in order to claim his inheritance.

And the smokin' blond first grade teacher (Bridgette Wilson) – instead of considering him the illiterate moron he is for trying to pass first grade – falls for him. Well, we all know she's attracted to a multi-billionaire's son for his personality, right?

Directed nominally by Tamra Davis, from an unfunny script by Tim Herlihy and Sandler (Herlihy would go on to write all Sandler's "comedies" until 2002), Billy moves up through the grades via a montage, not actually doing tests or learning anything, but through attending camp, playing basketball, writing derogatory notes about the ugliness of his fourth grade teacher and having lice exams.

Is it even worthwhile wasting my server space on this review, or you frying your braincells reading it, or Adam Sandler pretending to act in it?

The answer is no.

(Movie Maniacs, visit: poffysmoviemania.com)
39 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One Of Adam Sandler's Best
vince2000020001 October 2007
As a comedian, Adam Sandler does great on all of his comedy films but this one will always stand as one of his best most funniest films. The plot is very ridiculous, but in a way that makes it truly hilarious. Billy Madison must go back to school in order to prove that he is responsible and mature enough to take over his fathers hotel business. The fact that Billy is totally incapable of running a hotel, and can be a total idiot at times makes the whole idea of it so funny. All of the other characters are funny in their own unique ways. This movie will always have a special shine as one of the funniest movies of the 90's and one of Sandler's best in his career.
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
6.4 overall rating is a travesty.
agentzero-626-22602728 March 2019
One of the greatest "stupid" comedies of the 90s. If you were a teen when it was released you've probably quoted this movie at least 1000 times. Enough said. And writing this review was tough for me, so back off!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Awful
straits_dylan_clapton23 October 2004
I'm quite surprised at the number of people who found this movie funny, but I suppose we all have different tastes.

Sandler's whiney voice and stupid faces are annoying, unoriginal, and done better by many others (e.g JL Lewis). His character is unlikeable, the plot is boring, and I just cant believe that this script was ever written.

I can identify the jokes but fail to understand why they are funny (like the clown with blood out of his mouth).

I enjoy most comedies but not this one. I would like to note that I am a teenager (not old like someone said most people who dislike this movie would be) and I found Happy Gilmore to be an OK film.
19 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Mostly irritating with barely a laugh being registered (MINOR SPOILERS)
jimbo-53-18651128 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Billy Madison (Adam Sandler) is the selfish obnoxious heir to a multi-million pound hotel chain that was set up by Billy's late mother and his father Brian Madison (Darren McGavin). Billy's father is set to retire soon and opts to leave one of his employees Eric Gordon (Bradley Whitford) in charge of his business upon his retirement. Billy objects to this believing that he should be placed in charge of his father's business. Brian doesn't believe that Billy is responsible enough or smart enough to run the business but agrees to give him full control of the business if he can pass grades 1-12 in 24 weeks. Eric wants the business for himself and will stop at nothing to ensure that Billy fails this challenge.

Even if you're prepared to ignore the obvious flaws in the plot (a father handing his business over to his selfish and obnoxious son who has no business acumen and has had no prior involvement in running the company merely on the strength of him graduating from school. A teacher falling for a man-child re-running grades 1-12 who is even more immature than the kids who he attends school with) then the film still isn't very good. For the most part it relies on Sandler being in OTT mode and doing his utmost to make his character as irritating as possible. This is great from an 'acting' perspective, but ultimately makes him difficult to endure across the running time.

The idea of Sandler graduating 12 years worth of school in a matter of weeks certainly isn't a bad one and perhaps would have worked better if more thought would have been put into the concept. I personally felt that it would have been funnier if the film would have shown more examples of Billy failing and struggling his way through school - I found it perplexing that Billy was portrayed as being rather simple-minded from the outset, but yet the film also represented him as a bit of a smart-ass at times which was puzzling. He seems to get through each school year far too easily and there also seemed to be a big continuity gap as well (at one point he seems to jump about 4 school years in one go!!!!) I also wasn't impressed by the fact that Sandler kept the majority of the focus on him (he has a whole host of children as supporting actors, but gives them absolutely nothing to do). It perhaps would have been better if he'd given a couple of the youngsters more defining roles so that he would have had people that he could have bounced off and built up something more in the way of a rapport with some of the youngsters. It seems rather arrogant and unfair for Sandler to give the rest of the cast so little to do (he clearly thought at this point in his career that he was strong enough to carry this sort of project on his own, but he simply can't and it really shows here).

The film also substitutes intelligence and insight in favour of Sandler's overacting to the ninth in a performance that was more irritating than funny. He has a lisp in this film (like his character had in The Waterboy) but in Billy Madison it seems to come and go at will.

Naturally with this type of plot there has to be a bad guy and the bad guy here is Eric who stops at nothing to prevent Billy from prevailing at the challenge that he's been set by his father and naturally sets about trying to scupper Billy's chances of succeeding. In this instance it is the head teacher that is used as a plot device as Eric digs some dirt on him (although the reveal here is imaginative it is utterly ludicrous and not even remotely believable). There are also things in here that feel a bit random - such as an impromptu sing-song which felt more at home in a musical and a final act that again was more stupid than funny.

The only scene I actually liked was the 'peeing in the pants scene' and that was because that scene actually contained something in the way of pathos and actually had something to say (it's a pity there were not more examples of this in the rest of the film). I also thought Bradley Whitford put in a solid performance as Eric and most of the time I found him fun to watch. However, these are the only real positives I could find in this film.

I'm not someone who is normally an 'Adam Sandler' hater (heck I'm one of the few people who defended the first 2 Grown Ups films), but Billy Madison is really lame and relies far too much on Sandler mugging and being OTT which unfortunately isn't enough to carry the film or make it worth watching.
13 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's hard to imagine a worse movie
glazed_doughnut12 December 2005
Let me say before anything else that I like Adam Sandler and I like goofy comedies. There is however a difference between a goofy comedy and 90 minutes of letting the kids run loose. This movie is so bad on every level, the script, the lame humour, the bad acting and horrible cinematography that it is hard to fathom how anyone over the age of 10 walked away from the final cut thinking they had accomplished something. Clearly based on some of the other reviews this movie more than found an audience, so anything I might say will only appeal to certain movie goers.

Lesson 1 in any movie is that the viewer has to identify with at least some of the characters, most importantly the lead character. Unfortunately, there is nothing interesting, redeeming or funny about the character of Billy Madison so there was no desire to watch him succeed. Unlike the Happy Gilmore character, Billy Madison is nothing more than a driveling idiot from the start of the movie to the end.

I had avoided watching this movie for years because I figured it would be rather bad, but I figured that my kids, after watching and liking Happy Gilmore, would get a kick out of it. After 30 minutes, my 6 year old leaned over and said "I think this must be his first movie". 'Nuff said.
17 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Despite a totally stupid plot idea, it's watchable...
MartinHafer1 March 2009
I have heard of many stupid premises before, but this must rank somewhere towards the top in ridiculousness. Think about it....a guy is a rich schmuck and school dropout, so to teach him some lesson(?) he's sent back to grade school to complete his education even though he's now pushing 30!! Now having him go to high school might have worked, but anyone believing that a guy is now enrolling in kindergarten and moving through school is really, really gullible. This idea makes no sense and it's rather stupid.

Well, despite a totally lame story idea, Adam Sandler manages to occasionally do something with the slender material he's been given (of course, since he co-wrote this, he has no one to blame but himself for the premise). A few times, there are a few small laughs or poignant moments where it's apparent that the shallow Billy is now learning to finally care about others more than himself, such as with the pants scene. Now even though all this is very contrived and formulaic, there's enough to like to make this a time-passer. So if you are stuck and your kids get to pick a movie for family night, you could do a lot worse than this silly flick (they COULD suggest you watch LITTLE NICKY!!!).
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
worthless
Michael Bennett Cohn10 March 2000
This is the first time I've posted a review for a movie that I didn't watch all the way through. But the first half of it was so bad, I couldn't bring myself to go any further. The jokes are not funny. The plot is stupid, and not in a funny way. Adam Sandler is not funny. His stupid voice inflections are not funny. Bad, bad, bad.
22 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So Bad I Am Still Contemplating Suicide, Five Years Later
sleeper-1018 December 2000
I'm not going to mince words. This movie made me put a gun in my mouth. (No bullets around, luckily.) Adam Sandler is an utterly worthless human being...his body of films have done more damage to the collective level of human intelligence than all the books burned by every fascist regime of the twentieth century. I hate him. Hate hate hate him.

I did not enjoy this movie.

Could someone, somewhere, please explain why they think Sandler is funny? Please? I am totally mystified. It isn't that I am some ivory tower snob, I actually found TOMMY BOY somewhat watchable and even chuckled once or twice at DIRTY WORK (well...maybe once...). But Sandler is just atrociously unfunny in everything he does. I laughed once during this whole movie. _Once_. The scene where he pulls up to school and Billy Squier is on his stereo. That's it. One three-second chuckle does not even begin to atone for the concentrated, merciless stupidity of the rest of this movie.

If you said this movie was hilarious, I probably think you are an idiot.
20 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Total rubbish. Just excruciating. You actually LIKE this??
b3n9ray10 April 2004
This was on TV last night, and I watched it on the strength of the reviews here at imdb.com. I am AMAZED that so many people liked this pustulent, fetid, rancid discharge of a film. Its lack of comedy is only equalled by its immaturity and pointlessness. There is no acting, no humour, and a plot so thin I can only wonder how it survives holding the weight of its own rancid patheticness. I was literally slack jawed with shock at how bad this film is. I was frustrated with sorrow for the people who actually liked this - one reviewer says that he / she was laughing out loud. At what? How films like this ever get released? How Adam Sandler still has a career after this moronic turd of a film? Just awful. Dont say I did not warn you. By the way, this is only the 2nd review I have written on imdb.com. Generally I feel little need to, as previous posters sum up (generally) the pros and cons of a film very well, but I feel in this case, the public should be warned. I cannot BELIEVE there are so many good reviews for this film, and the truth needs to be told. I am actually offended that this rubbish got greenlighted, made and released, where actual (would be) decent films never see production.

Shocking.
11 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Puerile and base in the Sandler tradition, but without the redeeming humour...
Howlin Wolf23 April 2003
Expecting too much sophistication from your bogstandard Adam Sandler comedy is kinda missing the point, right? In fact, the whole basis for characters and movies like "Happy Gilmore" is that the titular person is hopelessly unsuited to the civilised world.

So you turn that idea around, and create a character whose immaturity is suited perfectly to his everyday environment(s). It's only a slight alteration, so one would think it shouldn't make too much difference to how amusing the movie is. Wrong. As Happy, Adam Sandler had a few reasonably 'straight men' to play off. Here, virtually ALL the characters are just as stupid as Billy himself is. Plus, Mr. Gilmore had the ability to be winsome, Billy Madison is a one-dimensional oaf.

So, everybody is witless, which explains the quality of the humour that is produced. It's all an obsession with bodily functions and making a mess. OK, that's what grade school IS, but recalling it like that won't make the movie any funnier. Intellectually, you still need to BELONG there to appreciate the boorishness that's on offer here.

This was Sandler's first star vehicle, and he DID get better. It's a testament to the charm he possesses that I was able to keep watching inside two minutes. After my viewing of "Billy Madison", I can understand better the level of vilification that Adam Sandler attracts from some quarters...
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Darren McGavin may have left us, but this movie never will.
lee_eisenberg28 February 2006
The 10/10 rating of course only applies if you like goof-ball lowly humor; if you don't, then avoid this movie like you would the Ebola virus. As the title character, Adam Sandler does what you might expect. Also starring are Darren McGavin (RIP), Bridgette Wilson, Bradley Whitford, Josh Mostel, Steve Buscemi, and Chris Farley. All in all, "Billy Madison" is stupid and funny at the same time, just like "A Night at the Roxbury" and "Dude, Where's My Car?".

And one more thing. Darren McGavin, wherever you are, I'll not only remember you for "The Night Stalker", "A Christmas Story", and your "X Files" appearances, but also for this one
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad it hurt
george-rolph26 September 2007
This was so insultingly dumb I switched off the DVD before the credits finished rolling. Sandler has made a fortune out of playing dummies. The problem is that his roles give people around the world the feeling that all Americans are this dumb. (You overseas policy does not help much either) This makes people shudder to think that guys like this have their fingers on the bomb trigger. Let's face it folks, you voted for Bush! OK Seriously... Hollywood does no favours to the people of the USA by releasing this sort of garbage. They seem to have three pet favs at the moment: Sick violence. Sick horror and stupid. On the fringes there are movies playing up to females hate men stereotypes that give feminists wet dreams and gung ho crap about America winning every war since 1914 despite losing over 40 of them. Oh I nearly forgot, the American war on fathers seems to be plodding along in Hollywood too. (Seems you are winning that one so hip...hip!) Why you guys don't speak out loudly until they stop this crap really worries the rest of the world. I guess, if you can eat popcorn in it then it must be good ...right? This movie is screamingly, insultingly, crazily stupid. It is actually beyond stupid....it goes way past moron and down into 6 year old mentally backward by 5 years country. Now, I want you to know that this is someone who also sat through the Police Academy movies. I squirmed in those but this is gut wrenchingly bad. Do you want to know the worst of it? Every time you people pay your dollars over the counter to watch Sandler it encourages him to make more! Think about it...PLEASE!!! Don't pay to watch this stuff. It rots your mind faster than crack. Unless that is, you don't mind being thought of as America the dumb by everyone else on the planet.
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Are we supposed to like stupid because it was intended to be so?
helpless_dancer27 April 2000
A few laughs, but for the most part this film is for those with a vacuum where their brains should reside. Which, I suppose, includes me, because I sat through the whole thing. This stupid, boring mess reminded me of Jerry Lewis without the intelligence. Sandler has talent but for some reason didn't display any of it in this production.
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The worst movie ever made!!!
vikif15 March 2014
DO NOT WATCH THIS! EVER! There was only one funny line in this movie, although not remotely fresh or innovative, and it perfectly describes the whole experience: "Mr. Madison, what you've just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul." Please save yourself this hour and a half and don't watch it. It's just plain bad, and not because it's just another Adam Sandler movie. His other movies are Oscar worthy compared to this thing.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Aaarrrggghhh!!!!!!!
alangalpert12 May 2010
This movie is so bad that everyone connected with it should be criminally prosecuted, or simply shot...after they have been drawn and quartered, tarred and feathered. I used to think that "Nothing But Trouble" was the worst movie ever made, but compared to this stinker, that is a masterpiece. Mind you, I don't dislike low-brow humor, per se - I loved "Kingpin" and liked "Dumb and Dumber". But there isn't an iota of humor or creativity in this abomination.

Maybe it was intended as a movie for kids. If that is the case, there might be some justification for it. I'm sure most five-to-ten-year-olds would find it amusing.

"Billy Madison" should have a reverse MPAA rating: No one OVER the age of 10 (or with an IQ over 80) should be allowed to watch it. The only reason I gave it one star is that no stars isn't an option.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed