"Screen Two" Persuasion (TV Episode 1995) Poster

(TV Series)

(1995)

User Reviews

Review this title
91 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Best Jane Austen adaptation of late!
stevie8418 July 2000
This has got to be the most watchable Jane Austen adaptation since the recent influx. Amanda Root and Ciaran Hinds are simply the best at conveying unrequited love. One is not blindsided by the big names and distracting beauty of those that have filled the roles of more recent Austen films, and that's how it should be. The performances by Sophie Thompson (Emma's sister), Phoebe Nicholls (remember "Brideshead Revisited"?), and Corin Redgrave is enough to make this movie recommendable, but the 2 main characters are absolutely superb and sympathetic without being sappy or gratuitous. The other supporting cast is phenomenal; what one expects from a nice little English film. Cinematography and soundtrack are fitting as well. Highly recommended!
69 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Charming but Unnoticed
Pickwick1221 November 2003
For some reason, people seem to leave "Persuasion" out when they are naming Jane Austen adaptations. I find that lamentable, since it is such a wonderful film. It is exceedingly British, which means that Americans might find it a little hard to understand, but personally I think it is superb.

All the acting is stellar; I can't really identify a bad performance. Ciaran Hines especially shines as the warm but reserved Captain Wentworth.

Of all the Jane Austen adaptations (except "Pride and Prejudice") I believe "Persuasion" is the truest to the time period. The characters act within the conventions of regency England and seem to be comfortable doing so.

I would recommend this movie to any Jane Austen lover or a person who enjoys period films or classic literature. A person who does not fall into those categories might enjoy it as well, but is likely to find it slow and difficult to understand.
64 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful!
pekinman4 December 2004
I loved this film by Roger Michell. Adaptations of great literary classics are fraught with dangerous shoals which have all been blithely avoided in this superb adaption of Jane Austen's masterpiece about love.

There isn't a false move in the entire enterprise. The casting is perfect and the performances flawless.

Special kudos to Amanda Root's brilliant, subtle performance as the heroine Anne Elliot. Ciaran Hinds, as Captain Wentworth, is virile, handsome and highly attractive as the lonely sea-farer come to land after years of fighting in the Napolianic wars.

Not only is this a ripping love story it is imbued with great humor and pathos as well.

There is nothing "high-fallutin'" about it either. Not for one instant does the nasty face of preciosity enter in. The film speaks TO the viewer not at him from a high place.

There are some brilliant vignettes, notably in the person of Cinnamon Faye as the honorable Miss Carteret. She doesn't have a single word to utter but in her facial mannerisms conveys a hilarious portrayal of the empty-headed daughter of the nasty Viscountess Dalrymple. Only in the very last scene does Ms Faye utter and that is simply to emit the silliest sneeze I've ever heard. One of the brilliant and rare moments of exquisite comedy to be seen in a film.

Other standouts in the cast are John Woodvine and Fiona Shaw as the Admiral and his devoted wife. Sophie Thompson turns in a wonderful performance as the ever-whining, obnoxious younger sister, Mary, who, along with the elder Elliot daughter, Elizabeth, burden the long-suffering Anne with their uselessness. Phoebe Nicholls, of Brideshead Revisted fame (she was Sebastian Flyte's youngest sister Cordelia) contributes yet another wonderful performance in her career, as the ill-tempered Elizabeth, ultimately conveying the tragedy of the burgeoning spinster in the last scene.

Even if great literary classics aren't your "bag" don't miss this minor masterpiece if you happen to love great film-making.
72 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautifully observed portrayal of Jane Austen's mature tale of devotion
Filmtribute14 February 2002
Following in the BBC's fine tradition of producing outstanding costume dramas through the 1970's and 1980's, including versions of Jane Austen's novels, this Bafta award-winning co-production, with WGBH and Sony amongst others, of `Persuasion' (her final complete work published mid rewrite in 1818, the year after her death), was made in 1995 with a stellar cast of British stage actors, many from the Royal Shakespeare Company with numerous TV credits.

The film's events converge on the time Napoleon has been banished to Elba and the Battle of Waterloo of 1815 is still a year away. Among the servicemen returning home is Captain Frederick Wentworth (Ciaran Hinds) who has been at sea for eight years since Anne Elliot's (Amanda Root) rejection of his marriage proposal. The Captain is now a man of prosperity and social rank while his former nineteen-year-old love interest has matured into a ‘faded and thin' old maid of twenty-seven in service to her family. Anne has lived to regret her mistake in being persuaded by her friend and patroness, Lady Russell (Susan Fleetwood, `Heat and Dust', who sadly died the year `Persuasion' was released), to refuse Wentworth as a man of unsuitable temperament. Whilst his affection would now seem to be directed towards her brother-in-law's sister, Louisa Musgrove (Emma Roberts), Anne's only romantic hope lies in the dubious and underhand attentions of her cousin William Elliot (an obsequious Samuel West, who was memorably the ill-fated Leonard Bast in `Howards End'). However, the accident on the Cobb at Lyme Regis requires Anne's sensible advice on how to handle the crisis and eventually leads to a second chance for her. Incidentally the Cobb was to play another starring role in John Fowles' `The French Lieutenant's Woman', with Karel Reisz' 1981 dramatic movie version embellishing it with a strikingly cloaked Meryl Streep braving the elements, ensuring that it will remain a tourist attraction in perpetuity.

Ostensibly with concern over the intellectual inequality of Captain Benwick's sudden attachment to Louisa after the accident, Captain Wentworth makes the impassioned declaration to Anne regarding his friend's broken hearted loss of his fiancee: `A man does not recover from such a devotion to such a woman, he ought not, he does not', but is patently reflecting on his own lasting strong feelings for Anne. Surely it is wiser to recognise when adoration for one person is no longer appropriate and a chance may lie with someone else. The supposed difference between the sexes regarding fidelity is discussed with Jane Austen adding the comment to her argument that the authors who view women as more fickle, have all been men. This last remark in the film is rather improbably but modernly given to Anne, who also makes the bold claim for her sex that it is capable of `loving longest when all hope is gone.' It is not a question of gender but of genetic makeup and whether you are truly monogamous, as Western religions and society would decree us to be, or true to yourself.

Although comfortable, life must have been dreadfully dull at times for the women in this world who could not relieve their tedium as their menfolk would by going off to war. This observation is endorsed by the couple of scenes depicting a concert and an evening of card playing, tinged with amber candle light infusing gentle nostalgic warmth to the proceedings which is at odds with the atmosphere of bored ritualistic entertainment. The different levels of lighting are used to subtle effect here and contrast with the cold glare of Ang Lee's brilliantly lit interiors in his working of Austen's first novel `Sense and Sensibility', also produced in the same year.

Amanda Root (`Mortimer's Law', and as Fanny Price, another of Austen's independent women, in `Mansfield Park' for BBC Radio 4) is brilliant as the quiet understated heroine with luminosity to her face that beautifully transcribes the full gamut of emotions she experiences from servitude to the blossoming of love. Her co-star, Ciaran Hinds (`The Cook, The Thief, His Wife & Her Lover') is equally gifted of expression, with a barely repressed anger and resentment towards Anne, under the guise of curt civility that eventually he is forced to recognise masks his continuing passion for her. Interestingly over the next two years both leads went onto appear in different versions of Jane Eyre, with Amanda Root well cast as the kindly schoolteacher Miss Temple in Franco Zeffirelli's 1996 version and Ciaran Hinds as a suitably anguished Mr Rochester in Robert Young's 1997 TV adaptation.

Jane Austen's fable may be recognised as the classic fairy tale of Cinderella, of a good hearted and dutiful daughter put upon by her foolish and snobbish father and cruel sisters, but who is eventually saved by her true prince. With great effect, the author adds to the romance her wit and sense of humour to explore the characteristics of the genteel world she lived in with all its human frailties. Nick Dear's screenplay, together with Roger Michell's necessarily less frantic direction than in `Notting Hill', adroitly captures the essence of Austen's narrative to provide one of the finest visual interpretations of her work. Strong supporting performances are also given by the ensemble of Corin Redgrave (`Enigma') as the supercilious father; Sophie Thompson (`Emma') and Phoebe Nicholls (`The Elephant Man') as the far from ugly sisters of hypochondriac Mary and haughty Elizabeth; and Fiona Shaw (`Jane Eyre') and John Woodvine (`Wuthering Heights') as the companionable Crofts.

Obviously complying with its `Beautiful People' culture the original cover of the American video version replaced the demure leads with two glamorous models, as a spokeswoman for Columbia Tristar in California has said, `I guess to make it a little more seductive to us over here'. Nonetheless, it is pleasing to read that this film was well received in the States especially as it remained true to its British identity, and therefore set an exemplary standard in not pandering to an anticipated overseas market by using well-known international stars.
72 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautiful adaptation, terrific casting.
wisewebwoman7 December 2004
And the celebration of the ordinary and the idea that true love will out itself whatever the obstacles put in its way.

The casting was inspired and utterly believable in this wondrous adaptation. I never tire of Ciaran Hinds, there seems to be so many layers in what he brings to his far too infrequent roles in films. I believe he is mainly a stage actor.

The story bears truth to Jane Austen's original work, and I am a long time fan of Austen.

Amanda is not glamorous in her role of Anne Elliot. But her truth and honour stand steady in the ebb and flow of the values, minor complaints and minutiae of her family life. It is clear from the beginning that she is the one with all the missing qualities in the others.

Fiona Shaw also captivates in the role of Mrs. Croft who strikes out in a completely different kind of lifestyle for the era, sailing the seven seas with her husband and sharing his adventures.

8 out 10. Well done to all concerned.
34 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Extraordinary
suessis31 August 1999
I enjoy Jane Austin best of all when it is free of the Hollywood temptation to populate her cast with handsome men and beautiful woman. Anne Elliot is attractive not because she is some buxom blonde, but because her character is intelligent, quiet, and generously caring.

The photography in this film is extraordinary as are all the performances. Colin Redgrave is fabulous as Anne's father, a sniveling social climber, and Samuel West as the seedy relative who tries to get back in the families good graces to make sure that his fortunes are preserved. The actresses playing Anne's two sisters also do a praise worthy job.

I recommend this film highly even if you aren't an Austin fan.
47 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Two lovers rediscover each other after 8 years apart.
katoolish24 August 2004
This is Jane Austen's most adult work, and therefore most subtle. The movie adaptation is faithful to her story, taking it's time to develop the characters, and it is beautifully acted and staged. The strange changes to the Mr. Eliot story from book to screen make no sense whatsoever but are hardly a detriment to the story as a whole. This is one of my favorite Austen books and Austen adaptation. The casting is perfect; particularly fine are Ciaran Hinds as Wentworth, Amanda Root as Ann, Sophie Thompson as Mary and Corin Redgrave as Sir Eliot, but truly, the entire cast is flawless. I consider this a must-see movie for anyone who loves Jane Austen, or intelligent screenplays.
37 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful and understated
stills-63 September 2000
This is a very well put together, and yet very fragile movie that shows its budget constraints all too well. Beautifully acted and written, the direction unfortunately reveals the boxy nature of a TV screen. But despite the lack of impressive cinematography, the scenes are set up extremely well. The use of staging and visual metaphor are jaw-droppingly fantastic. Austen's relatively simple potboiler has been turned into a work of visual art that reveals the director's love for the material.

The music is done perfectly - it doesn't overpower or ever impose interpretation, instead it is just enough to maintain focus on the story. And I love the understated nature of the characters. It is easy to spot the hypocrites, but you can see why they are the way they are. It would be very easy to make Mr. Eliot into a simpering, unctious idiot - instead, he is played as a gentleman. It makes Anne a better character, and it makes the movie a better experience.
34 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A particular favorite
notmicro24 September 2000
The recently released DVD provides a wonderful opportunity to revisit this exquisitely done Austen. Her usual themes of elligible young women and men, their social positions, and their incomes, are very much in evidence; however here there is something a bit quieter and more deeply felt, as two special people get a second chance at happiness. The direction is remarkably fine-tuned, and the production makes a welcome attempt to portray a more realistic glimpse of the life of various classes during the period than is usual. The flamboyant period costumes are particularly amusing, and the sight of the naval men striding along jettys in uniform with their very striking hats is one that has always stuck in my mind.
28 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent adaptation of Jane Austen's novel
lexie-bl9 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I found this to be an excellent adaptation of Jane Austen's powerful novel. The direction was 'spot on' in interpretation of 19th century England and I found the scenery and props to be very realistic and not at all polished or gilded. The cinematography was very personal with lots of close ups and movement with character, although I did find that the lighting at times was quite dark - not enough candle light used; creating very realistic, but somewhat difficult to see, scenes at times. Amanda Root's portrayal of Anne Elliot was divine. She managed to portray the heroine exactly as I pictured her from reading the novel itself. Her understanding of the complexities of the character and how her past choices in life had created such a sad and lonely figure were very believable. She began the movie in a trance, doing her families bidding like the amiable servant they made her out to be, while in the end she comes into her own and is able to resist any further persuasion by her 'friend' Lady Russell. Ciaran Hinds was superb as Captain Wentworth, and to date I think this is his best role played. He is distant and yet subtly caring and put enough aloofness in his manner toward Anne that at times his callousness was almost uncomfortable to watch. This adaptation of Austen is definitely one of the best produced anywhere.
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Subtle and beautiful
DisHammerhand21 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This is as near perfect a film as I have ever seen. The acting is natural yet conveys the characters' inner states perfectly. I especially enjoyed Ciaran Hinds' portrayal. He is the dashing and likable Wentworth carrying concealed anger at his treatment eight years ago. He never openly expresses that anger except once to Lady Russell, yet you can see it in his eyes. A masterful actor.

I also especially enjoyed Corin Redgrave's portrayal of the supercilious and shallow Sir Walter.

I enjoyed the look the 'available light' cinematography gives the film. Once again it was very natural.

The choice of actors made the characters look real and believable. and the choice of soundtrack was subtle and period appropriate.

This film is superbly produced and directed, yet does not look like Hollywood. It is a truly refreshing change. This is one I will watch again and again.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Root Shines In Normal Jane Austen-Fare
ccthemovieman-12 July 2006
Being a Jane Austen novel (this edition brought to the screen courtesy the BBC), you know it's primarily a chick flick, a romance novel with old English spoken, very nicely photographed with nice period sets and scenery and some interesting women to view.

This seems to be the case in most of the films, a la the famous combination of Merchant-Ivory. While this isn't that duo, it's still a decent version of this famous story.

What's different about this is the leading actress: Amanda Root, who plays "Anne Elliot." In America, this is not a lady whom we are familiar with, so she was a new "face" for me, as well. I liked her. I've heard criticism of her looks. You don't have to be glamorous to be accepted as a fine female actor. She was excellent in her role and just the looks on her face, particularly the sad looks, spoke more "volumes" than any dialog could manage.
31 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
love jane austen
ritestuf30 September 2005
I have been in love with this movie ever since the first time I saw it. Now I watch it whenever it's on. Ciaran Hinds is thoroughly likable, albeit a bit stiff, as the captain, and Amanda Root is subtle and sympathetic. Phoebe Nicholls may be the meanest sister since Cinderella's and she seems to do it effortlessly. That chameleon of an actress, Sohie Thompson, is at her whiny and annoying best. One of the things I enjoy most is the subtle changes in Roots character. You must watch as she goes from plain to pretty before your eyes, without ever a hint of acting. This movie is all about subtly and closeups, and facial expressions are the key to many an unspoken word. Even those with small roles last indelibly.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Georgian, not Victorian England
rcpropes23 April 2005
It is annoying to read the comment describing this movie as Victorian since Austen died before Queen Victoria was born. It is remarkable that all her novels describe rural English life almost untouched by the violence of the Napoleonic Wars raging on the continent during her lifetime. This one at least alludes to the careers of British naval officers. It also calls attention to the "great age for poetry" in which the characters lived. This is one of a small handful of truly beautiful love stories on film which end happily; An Affair to Remember and A Room With a View are two others in my canon. Every actor/actress in this movie should have been nominated for an Oscar, a perfect ensemble cast, typical of the best subtle British cinematic style.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A visual delight from beginning to end
lissamik26 March 1999
I love this movie. I love the cinematography, the acting, the story..Persuasion is a visual delight from beginning to end with fantastic characters, wonderful direction (finally a director who knows when silence and significant glances are worth morth than pages of useless dialogue)...

The greatest thing about this movie is that it gets better every time you see it. Amanda Root's soulful eyes become even more affecting, Ciarin whatshisname becomes more handsome and likeable, and the annoying hypochondriac sister becomes more hilarious (if that's possible, which in this movie, it is!).

I know this review is very vague. Suffice it to say, I've seen this movie a dozen times and I can't wait to see it a dozen more times.

Definitely my favorite Jane Austen movie.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best of the Best!
webmaster_ana-14 November 2005
This is an EXCELLENT MOVIE! And it is an excellent adaptation of Austen's novel. All characters are very good indeed! Specially Ciarán Hinds. I don't know why Hinds don't get much first roles, because he is an excellent actor! The way he represents Capt. Wentworth here is superb, and he did capture the character's essence. Wentworth changes along the movie, he starts to think about what happened in the past, and what kind of choice he will do.

Maybe it is too exaggerate to say that Hinds is the perfect Wentworth, he is exactly the way one imagines it when one reads the book: He is intelligent, a bit rough but with a tender heart, tall, robust.

Anyway, anyone who love Austen's "Persuasion" should know that there's a very good movie out there that they should watch... this one.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best adaptations ever made.
ferenc_molnar11 October 2005
The essence of the novel is condensed but not compromised. The faces chosen to portray the characters are disarmingly human. The connections between the characters are focused and believable. The interiors that the characters live in and the clothes they wear seem lived in and commonplace rather than a production designer's fantasy. The same can be said for the telling of the story. It is still about romantic love but it has an edge of the battlefield about it. The soulfulness that lies under the surface in Austen's novels is brought to the forefront. In it's own way, this is a very radical film... radical in its simplicity and in the care taken to make Austen's world come alive on it's own terms.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Magnificent adaptation
jotix10010 October 2005
Jane Austen's novels lend themselves to cinematic adaptations. This production, directed by Roger Michell, and with a screen treatment by Nick Dear, comes close to be what Ms. Austen wanted us to see, if she had any saying in the matter. The film is blessed with great talented English actors who feel quite at home interpreting for us the rich text of the novel.

Amanda Root, is perfect as Anne Elliot, the down to earth woman at the center of the story. Ciaran Hands is a virile presence that plays well in the story. Their romance is seen coming all through the proceedings and their love seems to be real.

Corin Redgrave is perfect as Sri Walter Elliot, the fatuous man who was impressed with money and power. Susan Fleetwood has some excellent moments as the kind Lady Russell. Fiona Shaw is perfect as Mrs. Croft and Samuel West excels at his portrayal of the impoverished Elliot cousin.

Ultimately, the production has a great view because it was filmed in the area that is described in the book. The beautiful city of Bath is seen in glorious exteriors.

Recommended to all Jane Austen's fans because the beautiful job Roger Michell did in bringing the novel to the screen.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Total Immersion
guyb26 April 1999
This movie really clicked for me. Felt like falling into a great novel that you can't put down. Well organized so you could follow all the characters, the dialog and the subtle nuances of the time.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The most natural of Austen adaptations
susan-carpenter-198220 August 2004
When I was a girl, "Pride and Prejudice" was my favorite Austen novel. Now that I'm grown, "Persuasion" is my favorite. And this movie just knocked my socks off.

The acting is superb all the way around. Amanda Root (Anne) and Ciaran Hinds (Wentworth) are terrific. My favorite supporting players must be John Woodvine (Adm. Croft) and Fiona Shaw (Mrs. Croft).

I particularly enjoy the natural lighting used in the film. The movie lacks the fairy-tale air that many Austen adaptations carry -- it seems more immediate, more real.

I also enjoyed the music -- not the usual English parlor period tunes, but those suited to the energies of the film.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful
marspeach2 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
The 1995 Persuasion movie is not only my favorite adaptation of that particular book, it's one of my top five Jane Austen adaptations. And one of my favorite period movies. And just one of my favorite movies! It's just that good. The cast is excellent. I love the look and feel of realism it has too, similar to the 2005 Pride and Prejudice and Bright Star movies- realistic lighting, no makeup, messy hair, etc.

Every adaptation has its flaws, and I guess I should just get them out of the way beforehand. This film contains one big historical error! The sailors often go about in their naval uniforms. While this looks really nice on screen, it is actually not accurate. As we know from Mansfield Park, these uniforms could only be seen while the officers were on duty. Probably most casual viewers wouldn't know this and it's cool to see them though. Another issue that doesn't really bother me in particular is the somewhat lacking exposition. I feel a little bit, that this movie was written with book fans in mind. If you weren't already familiar with the story, you might find it a bit confusing, especially in the beginning, what was going on between Anne and Wentworth. As I said, I had no problem following anything but since I had already read the book that doesn't really mean much.

The casting is admittedly not perfect. Many of the actors are a bit too old, but nothing jarring like in 1971. Their brilliant performances more than made up for this- with one big exception- Phoebe Nicholls as Elizabeth Elliot was way over the top.

Both the canceled and actual ending of the book were used. Some liked the addition, but I could take it or leave it, personally. Some of the other changes from the book may have worked as just a movie, but were lacking for me as an adaptation. Actually, I can say that about pretty much everything- there's nearly nothing in this movie that I don't like as just a movie.

Before I say again how much I love this movie (I ended up rewatching it 3 times!), I remembered another scene that bothered me. Anne is taken to Upper Cross in a farmer's cart instead of Lady Russell's carriage. Really? That was stretching it quite a bit. I know Sir Walter doesn't pay much attention to her, but he would never allow his daughter to be seen traveling in that way! And Lady Russell would never have allowed it! She couldn't spare her carriage to go 3 miles away?? All in all, admittedly, this movie is not perfect. But it's still a darn good movie and it's the closest to perfection any of the adaptations of Persuasion have gotten so far.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
More than a good adaptation
alserrano30 March 2007
After reading the book - an excellent book which only lasts two days in your hands - and re-watching the movie, I've realized how extremely good it is. It not only takes all the atmosphere of the novel: it adds some pieces, some characters, moves phrases from one character to another to add more layers, and fills the story gaps with simple details. This way the Crofts seem even most adorable than in the book, Mary is even softened - Persuasion is, without a doubt, the Jane Austen story where she's more bitter about the society, manners and such - and Anne becomes a lively character, one woman you really care about and you learn to fall in love with. Persuasion is not just another chick movie about love and people with flamboyant words and clothes: it's a multi-character story, one piece of cinema that takes care of every fictional people that wanders in every shot, one film that makes you feel happy or makes you cry without using easy tricks, one film that manages to be aesthetically beautiful without being cheesy, and one script that takes everything from the book and manages to make the story richer with wise additions. It's incredible, and not only, I insist, a BBC adaptation of a classic book: it's the best piece of cinema Roger Mitchell has ever made, a delight of passions pitifully hidden and wonderfully shown. Masterpiece.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the very best Jane Austen adaptations
mark2-126 August 2005
There is little to say except that it is one of the very best Jane Austen adaptations and a must for anyone interested in the genre.

Well acted and well made.

An excellent ensemble.

What is fascinating is being able to see how very many of the story elements in Emma, Mansfield Park, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibilty re-occur here as well and perhaps even more clearly.

My only regret is that it is not longer. I was enjoying this world and it ended all too soon. But, on the other hand it told the story well and there was really no need to go into more detail.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An excellent Jane Austen adaptation
andrewbanks16 April 2010
This is one of my favourite Jane Austen dramatisations. I really like it for three reasons: 1) Amanda Root is outstandingly good as Anne Elliot. She really captures the character to perfection, and it is a hard part to act, too, since in many scenes, especially in the first half, she is simply listening to other people, and all of her emotions are conveyed by means of facial expressions and body language.

2) The musical score. So many Jane Austen adaptations use an orchestral score. This one sticks to simple piano accompaniment and it works very well indeed.

3) The supporting cast. A lot of the supporting characters really come to life, thanks to excellent ensemble playing from the likes of Susan Fleetwood as Lady Russell, Robert Glenister as Captain Harville, Fiona Shaw as Mrs Croft and Simon Russell Beale as Charles Musgrove.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lovely film
trish-6414 December 2006
Gosh, how I love this film. I just watched it for something like the 15th time in seven years. Someone mentioned it's like a good book that you can't put down, and indeed it is. It seems to conjure up the quietude of this past era, with its natural-light photography, realistically dirty and worn costumes and small-scale domestic interiors - note the scene when the family are taking tea in front of the fireplace.

All the performances are lovely, especially the heart-breaking Amanda Root and Ciaran Hinds, whose repressed hurt and anger are simmering beneath the surface as Captain Wentworth. Great piece of work, which I watch whenever I'm down, or tired or can't sleep.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed