King of the Hill (TV Series 1997–2010) Poster

(1997–2010)

User Reviews

Review this title
146 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
An excellent change from everything else
kapilkulkarni8118 August 2005
Although we don't get this show in India, I managed to get a couple of episodes from the net. Let me tell you, this is a fine show. It deals with an upright, honest and sometimes down-on-his-luck propane salesman from Texas, Hank Hill and his quirky family and friends. But what makes this show different is that it does not have a frantic pace at which things take place. Although, I thoroughly enjoy 'The Simpsons' and 'Family Guy', yet these shows have everything happening at a breakneck speed; the gags, the animation, etc. King of the Hill somehow has a certain calmness to it. It deals with real people (5 fingers, not 4) and fairly real situations. It always puts a smile on my face and it's nice to hear Hank's pearls of wisdom. It was a pleasant surprise coming from the creators of Beavis and Butthead. I definitely recommend this show. Two thumbs up.
144 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A remarkable creation
budikavlan15 July 2002
After "Beavis & Butthead" (which I loved), I was really surprised what an affectionate portrait Mike Judge put together. I know well how ripe Texas rednecks are for satire (being a native Texan), though the target is SO easy, it would get a bit tiresome to watch it week after week for years. Hank Hill turned out to be a realistic redneck: worshipful of tradition, fearful of variety and progress, but not really quite as conservative as he thinks he is. My parents are very much like that, too. As I've watched the series, I've been tickled by different characters at different times: first Bobby (almost zen in his bizarre but internally consistent individuality), then Hank's buddies (where the sillier satire comes in), then Hank himself (eternally thwarted by life, but always strong and loving in the end). Lately, Peggy's outrageous ego has me laughing the most. Since this is more like a regular sitcom than "The Simpsons" is, I doubt it will hold up as long, but for now I love it. "King of the Hill" may be the most realistic portrait of Texans ever seen on TV. In response to previous complaints: 1. While Texas does have many citizens who are members of ethnic minorities, the area of the state in which the show is set (NW Texas--best reckoning has Arlen based on Abilene or San Angelo) has very few of them. 2. If one finds the show boring, one need only change the channel.
94 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the most intelligent shows on TV
NoRealityShows4Me11 April 2005
I just love this show! It took me a while to figure it out, but now I'm addicted to it.

The characters are brilliant and a lot of the jokes are unexpectedly hilarious. This is one of the few shows that can take me by surprise with it's genius humor. Most of the characters are funny, but Peggy cracks me up with almost everything she says. She has an unshakable self-confidence and she'll sacrifice anybody (including her son) to win her silly little battles.

My favorite episode is the one in which the Hills go to Japan. Classic!

I hope "King of the Hill" sticks around for a long time.
84 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's alright to be a redneck
DarthBill9 April 2004
Hank Hill, the hero of "King of the Hill", is the last of a dying breed in many ways. He's reasonably honest, reasonably moral, he works hard, he believes in American craftsmanship, and he loves his dysfunctional family. And he's a conservative. He's a bit repressed emotionally though; annoying him or getting him mad is easy, but expressing those tender emotions like love is hard for him, due mostly to his upbringing by his dysfunctional and tyrannical dad Cotton, an obnoxious old man who lost his shins in WWII and somehow had his feet sewn into his knees. Hank's conservative point of view doesn't always make him easily sympathetic in some cases though.

Hank's wife, Peggy, is a warm, loving and caring person at heart, but she's also a megalomaniac. Peggy is an over confident and under educated substitute Spanish teacher, quite rare in this day and age of "Women power". Peggy always strives to do her best, which isn't bad in and of itself, but her pride tends to exude control over her decisions which leads to Peggy making a fool of herself.

Hank's son Bobby is a dense, effeminate couch potato who's watched too much TV. Full of under developed desires and longings, Bobby is easily impressionable and easily gets caught up in fads when they shove their message in his face hard enough. As Hank puts it, "That boy ain't right." His initial goal is to be a stand up comic, but he later decides to be a magician. His friends are Connie (later a girlfriend) and Joseph.

Hank also has a live in niece, Luanne. She was raised to be trailer trash by her dysfunctional parents (her dad is Peggy's brother) and initially longs to be a Hollywood hair stylist. Like Bobby, Luanne can be easily caught up in fads.

Hanks friends are Dale, Bill and Boomhauer. Boomhauer is a motor mouth Lothario whom no one can really understand. Bill is a faded high school football star turned army barber who's wife has left him and appears to have a thing for Peggy. Dale is an exterminator and conspiracy theorist who's so wrapped up in his conspiracy theories that he would never suspect that his newscaster wife Nancy is having an affair with her Indian therapist John Redcorn and/or that his son Joseph is actually the son of John Redcorn and Nancy. The only other person who doesn't seem to notice this is Joseph himself. Hank's neighbor is an Asian man named Kahn (Connie's dad), the classic feuding neighbor scenario.

Despite the many frustrations Hank endures and the compromises he has to make, he trudges on, clinging to his ideals and doing the best he can.

Part of why this is still better than the Simpsons is that unlike the Simpsons, this show doesn't rely on anyone character to supply all the laughs and it doesn't rely on larger than life animated sight gags for all the laughs either. Hank is also probably the only TV Dad to have the dignity of being right anymore. And unlike Homer, even when Hank's efforts get ridiculous they're never as outlandish and moronic as the former's.
108 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Getting Life Lessons Across Via the Animated Route.
tfrizzell21 June 2005
Very excellent prime-time animated series from the highly creative and brilliant mind of Mike Judge ("Beavis and Butt-Head" fame). "King of the Hill" deals with a small town Texas family and their wild misadventures. Shades of "The Flintstones" and "The Simpsons" here as the show has vivid characters galore. Propane salesman Hank Hill and substitute Spanish teacher wife Peggy rear awkward adolescent son Bobby in the fictional town of Arlen. Hank has a wild World War II hero for a dad (Cotton), a niece who lives with him and his family (Luanne), a far from perfect boss (Buck Strickland), a slew of childhood friends (conspiracy theorist/bug exterminator Dale, lonely divorcée/Army barber Bill and often verbally incoherent swinging bachelor Boomhauer) and even Laotian neighbors. These vivid characters create a wholesome landscape of small-town Texas community life that accurately shows how lives intertwine and interweave. The situations in the series are hilarious and yet many times life-affirming as the show's brain trust do their best to have messages that center around family, friends and personal sacrifice. The running gags (Dale's wife having a torrid affair with a Native American new age healer who actually conceived her only son while her husband has no earthly clue) and the constant humanity and vulnerability of the featured characters make "King of the Hill" a real sight to behold. The art and science of television production combine to make a truly outstanding and intelligent sitcom for most all age groups. 5 stars out of 5.
50 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Better than most non-animated shows
Tikiman19 April 1999
Now that Mike Judge has made a fortune off Beavis and Butthead, he gets to do what he wants - thankfully his creativity extends far beyond the crude (though very funny) humor of his previous series. KOTH has its share of humor, but I think it shines because of the perceptiveness it displays about life. The series is full of very touching moments between Hank and his son Bobby, which rang very true with me, since I am an only child (Hank has a narrow urethra, so Bobby is his only offspring). All in all, this is a great show to watch, and I hope it stays on the air for a long time.
40 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A great show
deatman916 November 2012
I really liked this show and I was heart broken when they cancelled it to make room for family guy even though I really like family guy. A lot of people don't like this show and I guess I can see why. It has a very dry humor to it which I persoanlly find very funny. Its not like your typical animated show like simpsons or family guy where crazy stuff is always happening. No its more like a live action show very realistic and it just shows people living their lives.

This show is about a propane salesman named Hank Hill who lives in the fictional town of Arlen Texas. He lives next door to his three best friends as they take on the tasks of live together from raising their kids to drinking beers in the alley.

I know the premise sounds kind of slow and dry and don't get me wrong it is but its still very enjoyable. This show only has two kind of viewers people who really like it or people that absolutely hate it there is no ladder. I say take a gamble on this one though folks watch a couple episodes see what you think because it really is good.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The most underrated show of all time
GorillaWarfare2 August 2011
King of the Hill is unquestionably different from its rivals in many ways: calmer, more subtle and simple. However, what defines KotH more than anything else is its timelessness: other shows seem to benefit off referencing the news and pop culture (South Park and Family Guy primarily). KotH on the other hand, builds its plot inwards around its own characters and locations. It could be shown to anyone in the next 40 years and they would understand it as much as today. Instead of simply racing towards offending the biggest celebrity or corporation, it keeps conservative and to itself. As well as this, the characters are memorable and brilliantly crafted: Hank, an every day man who sometimes makes stupid decisions. Dale Gribble, an anti-government obsessive. Jeff Boomhauer, the most 'modern' of the 4, but who cant seem to talk properly. And finally Bill Dauterive, a slobby but likable bachelor. The one reason I gave this 8/10 is because sometimes the show doesn't always seem to 'get going' and draw you in to the plot, however this is rare and not something that should put you off the show. To conclude, King of the Hill is a show which never got the attention it deserved, and a great alternative for anyone bored of modern ultra-paced cartoons.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great show.
chthon220 May 2003
King of the Hill is about Hank Hill, a proud propane salesman in Texas. When he isn't at work, he spends time with his family and three friends. The entire cast is great, and the writing is top notch. The show is funny without going over the top. In fact, this is probably quite a realistic portrayal of life in Texas. One worth watching.
60 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the best shows on TV.
bat-521 December 1999
King of the Hill is probably one of the best shows that you're not watching. A very droll sense of humor abounds in this show about a propane salesman and his family. Along with extolling the virtues of propane and propane accessories, Hank reveres everything and anything Texan: steak, the Cowboys, Tom Landrey. Hank navigates life with the help of his Boggle playing wife Peggy, who is a substitute Spanish teacher. And then there's Bobby Hill, Hank's only son because of a narrow ureathra. The supporting players add color to this mix. You have paranoid, whacko Dale, lonesome Bill and Boomhauer. Then there's Hank's niece LuAnn, his neighbor Khan, and his father, Cotton. Throw them all together and you have a show that is worth watching. One could argue that this show could be done as live action, I think it benefits from being animated. Dream sequences are easier to pull off, and some of the more oddball things that Dale and Cotton Hill do could only be done on an animated show. Smartly written and full of humor.
49 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Subtle, Well-Written Satire
glachtrup14 January 2006
I became addicted to KOTH at age eight. I was sitting on my dad's lap, drinking grapefruit juice and club soda and trying to shake off my migraine. Finally, after a lot of moaning on my part, Dad agreed to stop watching "Law & Order". He put in a tape of eight KOTHs and said that we could watch this instead.

I'm thirteen now, and I'm still hooked. The characters are memorable and extremely realistic. Being born and bred in the most ultra-prepster, WASP-ish town possible (with, ironically, liberal, agnostic parents) really made me appreciate Peggy and Bobby, because I interact with them daily, as well as Dale, Bill, and Hank (although I have a huge soft spot for Kahn, Minh, and Connie, as well as Kahn's mother. I have a friend how is the very epitome of Connie and with a Dad whose bigoted, holier-then-thou obnoxiousness makes Kahn look like Saint Pete.) The writing is more subtle then "The Simpsons", which was my earlier love and which now takes the back seat. Everything in this show could really happen, and often does. Even the bit-out-there affair of Nancy and John Redcorn isn't that far-fetched (with a husband as wacked an unsexy as Dale, what blonde D-cupped weather girl wouldn't go for a tall-dark-'n'-handsome Native American with sculpted biceps, perfect hair, and a New age healing center who gives massages for a living? Hmmm?) Some people may argue that this show is racist, bigoted, cynical, and Conservative. I was raised in a home where debates about original sin were allowed over vegan dinners and a dart board with Bill O'Reilly's image hangs on our dryer. I come from a mixed-race marriage with a bisexual uncle. And yet I can say that this show in fact tackles such important issues with dry wit and style. Those who act as though they are above Hank's mild "discomforts" with, for instance, gays and lesbians, are at least as hypocritical as Kahn. As for the Conservative argument, I think the show makes fun of Republicans as well, if not more, then left-wingers. Who doesn't laugh at Hank's utter devotion to his party? The argument that this show only has Anglo-Saxons in it is the most asinine I have ever heard. Does the beloved "Family Guy" in it's main cast list a Native American, several Hispanics, and an entire Laotian family? Sure, "The Simpsons" has more black people, but virtually no Asians and not a Hispanic in sight. Besides, Arlen is portrayed as remarkably diverse for a small Northern Texas community. Heck, i'm surprised it isn't pure Caucasian.

10/10. Brilliant writing, subtle but liberal amounts of dry humor, and a dose of humorous reality-blended satire. Curl up on a laid-back armchair, turn up the heat, and immerse yourself in "King of the Hill."
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great cartoon for the whole family
movieman_kev30 September 2005
This show chronicles the animated everyday adventures of Hank Hill, his wife Peggy, son Bobby, and niece Luanne. Also featuring Hank's friends, the sad Bill, the paranoid Dale, and the plain indecipherable Boomhauer, as well as Hank's father and foreign neighbors every now and then. The antithesis of all the "popular" cartoons of the day (the Simpsons, Family guy, etcetera), and all the better for it. This cartoon is well-voiced, heartfelt, and is great family fare. Oh yeah, and it's frequently hilarious as well. Some blast this show for being a tad more conservative then other's of it's ilk. I say so what? It's refreshing to have one counter-point in a whole sea of one viewpoint.And with the show ending it's 9 year run this season, it still hasn't outstayed it's welcome like some others *cough* Simpsons *cough* And I for one will miss spending time Sunday nights with the Hill family (on the times it WASN'T preempted by Football, of course)

My Grade: A

Season 1 DVD Extras: Introductions by Hank Hill (on Disk1), Bobby on 2, and Dale on the third; Commentar on the Pilot and "Hank's Unmentionable Problem" by Co-creator Greg Daniels, "Order of the Straight Arrow" & "the Company Man" by Director Klay Hall, "Westie Side Story" & "King of the Ant Hill" with ' Dale Gribble' and 'Bill Dauterive' , "Shins of the Father" & "Plastic White Female" with 'Peggy' and 'Bobby'; a 24 minute Making of; 55 Deleted scenes & Animatics; Do's & Don'ts of animation; Meet the Hills (info & sketches); Barenakid Ladies Music Video; & 13 promos

2 Easter Eggs: On the first disk, go to 'Special Features', then to 'Commentaries' and highlight the lawn-tractor for "Mowing Lesson with Charlie" a short on lawnmower safety; On the third disk, in the main menu click on the map for Hank Hill thanking the people who worked on Season 1
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just another great animated show on FOX
dee.reid5 October 2010
Mike Judge's "King of the Hill" was his next great success following "Beavis and Butthead" on MTV. "King of the Hill" follows Arlen, Texas, native and conservative family man Hank Hill, and his family and their circle of weird but likable friends. The show is also a satire of Texas life, and the sometimes absurd and eccentric attitudes of people who live there.

I remember when this show first premiered 13 years ago in 1997 and I thinking that this is the next great show FOX had to offer after "The Simpsons." I always looked forward to watching "King of the Hill" after "The Simpsons" every Sunday night before bedtime (I was still in elementary school around the time this show first premiered on television).

Mike Judge cannot fail in providing a show with a lot of great laughs and out-sized and unusual characters. That has always been one of his strengths as a show producer. After hearing that this show would be canceled earlier this year, I was quite disappointed. I'm not sure why this move was made (it could have had something to do with the tragic death of actress Brittany Murphy in December of last year), but I guess it just makes more room for Judge to lend his creative juices to another great animated satire.

10/10
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funny without pushing things too far
TheBlueHairedLawyer27 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Most adult cartoons on TV these days are crude, offensive and repetitive (coughFamilyGuycough). Lately the two most popular cartoons for adults on TV are South Park and Family Guy. Since I'm a climate change heretic I found a few scenes in South Park to be funny as it makes fun of environmental extremism, but for the most part South Park is just rude, badly animated and probably upsetting to a lot of people. As for Family Guy, it's funny to the "lowest common denominator", the morons of the world who find child molestation, racism, incest and mentally disabled people to be funny. That's why I cancelled my satellite TV service. Reality shows, tasteless animated programming, and just plain stupid sitcoms have filled nearly every space of television and is making today's generation (which believe it or not I'm a part of), into idiots.

King of the Hill was one of the few animated shows out there that was funny without going too far. It had some occasional crude humor but more often than not its humor was based on the scenarios of the show's situations, the facial reactions of the characters and the main characters' personalities. King of the Hill never really makes fun of any race, sexual orientation or disability, and on the brief occasion that a character does this, it is stated aloud that to make fun of these things is wrong.

The characters aren't the generic obese, idiotic couch potatoes with three kids the way most characters in cartoons today are. Instead, the main characters are Hank (a prudish, old-fashioned rednecky propane salesman trying to deal with the changes brought about in the 21st century), Peggy Hill (Hank's annoying, nerdy and narcissistic wife) and Hank's son, Bobby (unlike Hank, who is into sports, country music and his considered manly activities, Bobby is overweight, still sleeps with stuffed animals, dresses up in women's clothing to practice comedy routines and is often very lazy). The secondary characters include Dale (a basement-dwelling exterminator who buys into conspiracy theories), Bill (an obese army barber who is often depressed and lonely), Boomhauer (an eligible bachelor and in the last season implied to be a Texas Ranger), Kahn (a usually crabby guy but can often be nice depending on the episode), Luanne (Hank and Peggy's niece who often falls for controlling or perverted men and came from a trailer trash neighborhood), Mihn (Kahn's wife), Cotton (Hank's loud-mouthed, war-obsessed father), Nancy (Dale's wife and a weathergirl for the town news station), Joseph (Bobby's pervy best friend), John Redcorn (Nancy's secret affair and Joseph's real father)... okay, I could go on and on, but the point is, there is a really crazy cast of characters on this show, all likable in their own way.

KOTH points out all the problems of the "modern world", a few examples being violence among teens, computers always being upgraded, unhelpful doctors and psychiatrists, chain stores (Megalo-Mart is a parody of Wal-Mart), forced environmentalism, cellular phones and childhood obesity, among many others. The show points these things out in a comical way, without upsetting anyone or using crude humor or offensive slurs. As the show progresses, Hank has moments where he learns to find the good in all people and where he is shown to be a pretty nice guy overall (for example he saves a former prostitute from being taken back to the streets by her Willy Wonka-like pimp). Hank also works at a propane dealership with a number of hilarious characters.

The soundtrack was rednecky but catchy all the same and the voice acting was amazing. Hank's catchphrase is screaming "BWAHHHH!!!" whenever he gets mad, but it isn't in every episode, and it's a little different each time. He often makes various funny facial expressions when he does this.

I don't mean to sound like I'm ranting, but this show was excellent! Sadly it was cancelled and pathetic shows like Family Guy, American Dad and Bob's Burgers quickly filled its space. It's really unfortunate, because KOTH was hilarious but still had good values for the most part. Maybe someday when people aren't so easily amused by sex jokes, racial slurs and fart noises every five seconds, they'll come to their senses and make shows more similar to this one. Reruns of KOTH are apparently frequent on television still, so if you haven't seen it, be sure to check which channels the reruns are on.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"An all Texas SuperBowl...Thy will be done"
gascichx531 July 2009
King of the Hill is, in my opinion, the funniest cartoon ever created. It's absolutely hilarious. And one of the most subtle programs I've ever seen. There aren't any "jokes" in this show.

King of the Hill finds humor in the mundane, normal, everyday situations that all of us go through, that every person can relate to. What makes it funny, is the characters. Every character is unique and distinct and insanely hilarious.

A lot of people don't "get" the show, and I'm guessing its because they don't "get" the characters. Not necessarily "get"...but to find the show funny, you have to know the characters, inside and out. The ordinary situations that the plots are built around are made funny because of the characters personalities.

It's been compared to the Simpsons, because they have similar premises, but this show is nothing like the Simpsons, when all is said and done. It's much more subtle (not saying the Simpsons isn't great or isn't funny) and, to me, much more relate-able.

This show isn't for everybody, but anybody who is interested in getting to know a lovely cast of characters, and is prepared to laugh at them, I completely recommend.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You only wish Hank Hill lived next door
piperian3966 August 2008
I must say that this show has to be my favorite cartoon on TV right now. In an era of Family Guy and South Park it is hard to imagine that a cartoon with a slow paced off beat sense of humor could survive, but it has lasted for 13 seasons. Even after these 13 seasons the show hasn't lost that spark that makes it so great (Something the Simpsons has failed at). What this show is successful at is making well developed characters the audience can get attached too.

Unlike on other cartoons the characters stay the same from episode too episode. They have developed over the seasons but have basically remained the same.

This show also has what could possibly be FOX's first cartoon dad who isn't an over weight self centered idiot. Hank Hill is a good hearted old fashioned traditional values man. He has his ideals but when someone messes up he will lend a helping hand. He's the guy who'll tell you to turn down your loud music, but if your stereo explodes and lights your house on fire he'll be in there pulling you away from the flames. Hank is the last of a dying breed of good old fashioned Americans.

Some may find the humor too slow paced, but for those who have patience and an off beat sense of humor this is your show.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For an animated comedy with a reality-style format, this show makes sense!
MarcusBritish17 December 2017
Just finishing the "King of the Hill" series which produced 259 episodes over 13 seasons from 1997-2010. I only saw a few episodes when it began and never really took to it, but watching it now, older and wiser to the various conservative and liberal attitudes expressed in America, this Texas-based comedy, which lacks the comic stylings of "The Simpsons" or the crassness of "South Park", doesn't aim to express social commentary in every episode yet remains a fairly realistic take on life. A very small cast of central characters plus intelligent subtle comedy makes this series a pleasure to watch, barely a bad episode and many good ones!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of My Favorites
king_jamz4 September 2013
I have loved King of the Hill since it first came out in the late 90's. I remember watching this show when I was a kid. That was back when it was still being aired on the FOX channel and not Adult Swim. And now all these years later you can bet at 8 o' clock every night I navigate my way over to Adult Swim and watch the two episodes they show. (It's 8 my time because I'm in the Central Time Zone for those wondering). I also respect the show, because it does not rely on vulgar humor like most other cartoon-comedy shows. King of the Hill is actually one of the very few cartoon-comedy shows that I feel comfortable to watch with the kids. Sure, the show does say the words "*ss", "b*tch", and "d*mn" a couple of times, but the kids are mature enough to handle it and know not to repeat those words in front of their elders. Overall, the show does maintain a family-oriented atmosphere.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A show that creates and expands its own plausible world.
athomed16 December 2009
This review is 13 seasons in the making. For 12 years, I was a faithful viewer of King of the Hill. It started out as a wonderful addition to a great Sunday evening lineup on Fox, it ended as the saving grace to a boring and vulgar Sunday evening lineup. This show was forgotten by Fox for five years, they cut its marketing down to nothing and then wondered why it didn't deliver the numbers they wanted.

Hank Hill, a responsible husband, son, and father lives his life in a rapidly changing world. He's comforted by his small Texas town, "Arlen", and the friends he's made there, although sometimes, they offer more headache than anything else! The satire was biting right to the end. This show successfully balanced many different ideas without crushing them and did so without beating up on one of the other. Hank Hill is a Reagan conservative, or even a LBJ democrat, his aging dog is aptly named Ladybird.

Hank's ideas are often challenged by a growing wave of Liberal viewpoints around Arlen, and simply put, the show never makes fun of any ideology, it makes fun of the behavior intertwined with it, and shows that both ideologies have their problems and their good points. Conservatism is never made fun of and liberalism is never made fun of, except by the main characters.

The show follows the daily life of the Hill family and their neighborhood. Peggy is his loving wife with an inflated ego, Bobby is Hank's son, Hank worries that "that boy ain't right" because he's a little different and dreams of being a professional comedian, Hank would prefer he be High School football quarterback and then work at Strickland Propane with Hank. The ensemble cast is great and all of them are funny.

This show has everything going for it, well thought out plots, great voice acting, and pleasing animation.

This is a 10/10 excellent show. Give it a try if you haven't already.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not Another Family Sit-Com
jpgriff9 April 2009
It took me a while to warm up to even start to watch this show. In the previews? I was aghast. That white t-shirt? The jeans? The horn-rim glasses? The Wolverine work-boots? The ever-present can of beer? The accent? The attitude? THAT'S MY DAD ca 1977! I don't want to watch a show that makes fun of my late Dad! Fortunately, I got over my "Hits Too Close To Home" jitters and gave this show a shot... Maybe because I, myself am now a 40-something Southerner in (Shiver) jeans, work boots, t-shirt, and ubiquitous can of beer.

Hank Hill is not your typical family sit-com Dad... Where Dad has been portrayed since the '80's as a likable but clueless, powerless, and disconnected dope. Hank is actually thoughtful, loving, relatively articulate, and USUALLY right in his good-ol'-fashioned common sense. He's not a clowning buffoon like Cliff Huxtable, and he is not blinded by Jason Seaver's weird theoretical constructs, and he shares none of Dan Conner's frustrated bitterness.

His wife, Peggy is not the super-career-woman-Mom, either. She does not have a glamorous career as a Lawyer nor a Journalist, and she doesn't always have the quick, venal, cutting comebacks... Actually? Peggy is a little slow on the uptake, though her inflated opinion of herself drives her to strive ever higher. She actually reminds me very much of some of my social-climbing Aunts.

Their son, Bobby, is The Weird Kid at his Jr High School and a constant disappointment. Fat, slow, and not good at anything involving physical prowess? Bobby takes more after his Mom with his dedication to pop-culture, fads, and so-called artistic endevours like being in school plays. Bobby's ambition is to be a stand-up comic, but unfortunately? His Idea of "funny" is the likes of Carrot Top, Yakov Smirnoff, and Gallagher.

It's very much a character driven show... And you come to actually like and care for and about most of these cartoon characters moreso than a lot of live-action sit-coms... "Sienfeld" comes to mind. I couldn't stand a single character on that over-lived pile of junk.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
LuAnn Platter, Get it??
ReenieS6 October 2008
I LUV King of the Hill, and I agree with the statement, "In Texas, It's a Documentary!".

In all my dumbness, I must admit it took me almost two (2) years before I got the "LuAnn Platter" reference. AND I even eat at Luly's, er, I mean LUBY's! (Still don't get it? the LuAnn Platter is the senior citizen's discounted plate-- although it is not necessarily called that anymore)

Mike Judge is a native Texan and a genius at transcribing the everyday Texas life. It is to true-to-life, it is frightening. I know each and every one of these characters and could point them out in one of the small Texas towns that I have lived in. The weirdest addition to KOTH is LuAnn's new husband, Lucky. He still seems a bit out of place. And what has happened to little Hank, Jr. since Cotton died?
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What can you say , wonderful!
craigsuperkev19 August 2018
This show is the greatest, it deals with all matters of life so wonderfully so funny, so sad,so crazy, all being deliverd by an animated cartoon well done Mike judge and thank you for you're great mind.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great show that doesn't push agendas!!
justinhinson15 August 2018
This show is a masterpiece. Great storyline and funny throughout. This show has teen\adult humor. Great fun with a couple of rednecks. And most importantly a show that doesn't push any agendas, a great show for any race, religion, politics etc.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
KOTH goes for something a little more ambitious.
nathanhmcdonald17 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
King of the Hill is an animated sitcom based in the fictional town of Arlen Texas, closely named after ''Arlington Texas'', the name Arlen could be derivative as I can see how some people here in Texas might pronounce Arlington as Arlinton hence Arlen. I don't know, that's just speculation on my behalf. But anyway back on track...

This sitcom is about the Hill family which is initially Hank The patriotic conservative father figure, Peggy the overconfident substitute Spanish teacher, Bobby the under achiever overweight son of Hank and Peggy and to a lesser extent Luanne Platter the doting cute yet ignorant niece of Peggy Hill.

Unlike Family Guy or the Simpsons ''both of which I'm a fan of'' King of the Hill follows a different tune than those two. King of the hill or KOTH as I'll call it from now on, puts the hill family in real world situations with real world issues and it doesn't always go for the laugh factor, which has led to some criticism on the shows behalf as many people think if they are watching a cartoon and not laughing then they are watching a bad cartoon, which is not true. For example, I remember one episode which the whole premise of it was Hank fighting against a new law that only allowed people to have ''low flow'' toilets in their house. The whole episode is about Hank fighting this new law and eventually winning in the end. But as boring as that might sound Mike Judge somehow makes it interesting.

After season 6 Mike Judge's involvement in the series started to wean out some...This led to less interesting stories, ''Though I personally still enjoyed the show. After seasons 6 though many episodes sort of became the same thing, which was...Hank and/or Hanks friends/family get into some trouble and Hank has to set things right. Overall the episodes seemed less creative though still entertaining for the most part.

I was sad when this show was canceled for crap like The Cleveland Show.

8/10 overall score.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious Redneck comedy
adamkeane-946-73033316 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
King of The Hill is by far one of the best comedies I have every watched. I'll start by saying that it is not like family guy or American dad, where the humour revolves over funny sounds and idiotic story lines, If you were to compare King of The Hill you would be more likely to compare it to the likes of The Simpsons, only It has managed to stay fresh. The story is about Hank Hill, a passionate Texan Propane Salesman, His wife Peggy a part time teacher, and there son Bobby, other characters include Dale Gribble , a conspiracy theorist exterminator, army barber Bill Dauterive, and lady's man Jeff Boomhauer. If you haven't already watched this show then do yourself a favour and give it a go.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed