Deep Rising (1998) Poster

(1998)

User Reviews

Review this title
292 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
It's officially the best film ever made.
Neonsamurai5 November 2002
Deep Rising is one of the best films ever made, if not the best! That's right, I'm making a bold statement but it's true. Clearly many of you here will disagree, but when you've seen the evidence that I put forward I don't think you'll be able to argue:

1) The Godfather: The Godfather was less believable than Deep Rising and also lacked such things as multi barrelled assault rifles, jet skis and huge torpedoes. Deep rising however, did not.

2) Raging Bull: No half-digested/half alive bodies, no engine room full of bloody bones or cool looking harpoon guns. Deep Rising had all these things.

3) Citizen Kane: A worthy try, but in the end Orson Welles decision to omit massive underwater squid monsters, left this film floundering. Deep Rising came up trumps in this department.

4) Casablanca: Fails to deliver on every account. Most notably, no one gets pulled down a toilet. Again, Deep Rising excels.

The sad thing is that if the Colour Purple had included a raid on a sinking cruise liner, infested with sub aqua monsters as part of the film, then it too would have climbed to the top of my favourite movie list. But as with most films the director took the easy way out and chose to ignore this very overlooked area of filmmaking.

In my aquatic monster/cruise liner catastrophe marking system, Deep Rising gets a colossal 4 shrimps. But the rather lacking Godfather, gets only 3 angelfish and a haddock.
303 out of 382 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Stephen Sommers' best film.
LennyRenquist10 April 2005
It's just a tad better than the first Mummy, and it wees on Van Helsing like an incontinent dog.

When I first saw this movie, I had no idea what to expect. I was at the cinema one night, I'd just come out of a movie--can't remember which--and I saw the poster. The tagline, "Full Scream Ahead", seemed corny enough that it might be good. Then I noticed Famke Janssen was in it. Bonus. And it seemed like a good late-night B movie, to follow the one I'd just seen. I was there with a mate of mine, who was kind of indifferent. I twisted his arm, and he agreed.

Two hours later, I walked out, grinning like an idiot. It's silly, cliché-heavy, and utterly predictable. This movie rocks.

See, Sommers, and all the actors, KNOW that it's silly, cliché-heavy and predictable. In fact, THAT'S THE IDEA. It's also full of spot-on one-liners and gags, and the horror bits seem more intended to "gross-out" than to actually scare (the bit where a half-digested member of Hanover's team bursts out of one of the monsters--still alive, despite half his head being missing--is not for the weak of stomach). Most thrillers and horror movies set out to keep you "on the edge of your seat", but with this one I was too busy falling out of it with laughter.

Treat is...well...a TREAT as Finnegan, the rugged, all-American adventurer type. For a while I was disappointed that Bruce Campbell wasn't cast in the role, as it would have suited him perfectly. But I've since decided that Treat does a bang-up job, and deserves full praise. If he did more movies like this, I might become a fan.

Kevin J. O'Connor is hilarious as the sidekick grease-monkey (and performs all the better for not having to put on a stupid accent). He gets most of the best lines. Famke is great as always. Sexy, funny, and capable in the action scenes. Anthony Heald, as the villain, is hammy and over the top (in a good way) and Wes is...well, Wes. All the goons are fine, particularly Jason Flemyng and the late Trevor Goddard. It's nice to see a good mix of nationalities in there, and the playful in-fighting amongst them is a nice touch. Their assault rifles are cool, too. Funny though, I never noticed anyone reloading...

The special effects are just bad enough to work in this context, without appearing TOO lame. A few years before this movie was made, they'd have actually been considered brilliant. But Sommers realises that sometimes it's best not to actually SHOW the monsters. They swim along under the knee-deep water, the walls of the corridors buckle and threaten to collapse, gratings fly out of the floor directly behind the running characters...very effective.

The climax is about as far-fetched as it's possible to get. But it's done so well that, like all this movie's flaws, it doesn't matter.

If you're easily scared, this'll do the job. If you like tongue-in-cheek, B-grade action flicks, this is one to see. If you like movies that force you to think, make you change your outlook on life, and move you to tears...yeah, you should REALLY watch this. TO SEE WHAT YOU'RE MISSING OUT ON!
114 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cheesy, but likable, popcorn flick...
JWM-210 January 2006
Deep Rising is a guilty pleasure of mine. It's one of those films I rented on a whim and and simply fell in love with.

Is it a great film? No.

Does it have a great script? Not really, and it's downright silly in parts.

Does it have great acting? Eh, there's been better...

But the effects are good, the characters are likable, the creature is neat, and somehow it all comes comes together to make an enjoyable B schlock horror/comedy that, in my case anyway, leaves me with a big smile on my face.

Oh and as an added bonus, Famke Janssen is simply lovely in this film. Rent it on a rainy day and you won't be disappointed.
99 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun! (...and nothing more)
historical_account1 June 2003
If you are looking for meaning, creativity, originality, or some sort of cosmic significance, look elsewhere.

This is a fun movie for that brainless Saturday evening in which you just want to relax. A fast paced ride with lots of guns, explosions, bright-red fake blood, and a big monster.

This film is for those who wish only to be entertained. Perfect after a long hard week and you need to relax.

Recommended.

7/10
88 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
B-movie Delight
David Elroy17 March 2003
There are times when nothing satisfies like a good ol' B-movie action-adventure, not meant to be deep or serious, just good excitement and fun. Yet truly excellent B-movies are not easily come by. This director's own "Scorpion King", in fact, is a textbook example of how the formula can fail: too Hollywoodized, too predictable, too tame, and not funny enough. But before he Hollywoodized himself in Mummyland, this director (and writer!) gave us the masterful "Deep Rising." B-movie fans know who they are and what they want, and they will not be disappointed here. I rank "Deep Rising" up there with the best of John Carpenter and Sam Raimi. 9/10
51 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pure entertainment for the monster fan
ichobodcrane19 January 2004
I rented this recently and loved every bit of it from it's tongue in cheek extra clichéd action types to it's fabulously over the top gore. You can see here, exactly where Stephen Sommers is coming from and where he will go. The Mummy had exactly the same style and sense of humour. Treat Williams is fantastic in this. This is one under rated actor. Why is he not in more great flicks? His comedy is superb and he looks the action hero. Remember Things to do in Denver. Anyone who likes a good old monster movie should sit back and pamper themselves with this cracking good yarn.
45 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I care about your gun.
George_Bailey6 March 2000
Unlike a lot of monster and sci-fi movies we see these days, where apologizes are constantly made and everything is politically-correct, Deep Rising is an unapolagetic rollar-coaster which only asks us to suspend our higher thinking for an hour and a half. Intelligent by no means, Stephen Sommers' movie however definately succeeds in it's intention, which is to be a straight fun adventure.

Like the rest of the movie, we've seen the plot a dozen times before in different or similar forms. A square-jawed man of the sea and his wise-cracking sidekick give a group of mercenaries a ride in their PT boat to an undisclosed location somewhere out over the murky ocean. Little does the boatman know that the soldiers-for-hire are planning to knock off a massive luxury cruise liner with an assortment of assault rifles and deadly torpedo warheads. When they reach the ship though, they find it derelict, and encounter a nightmarish tentacle beast.

This movie is stupid as hell, but it knows it, and just wants to take us along on its stupid ride. As mentioned before, the movie makes no apologizes. We don't get any little kids who know more than the adults running around and saving the day; instead we get piles of horrid, blood-covered skeletons and disgustingly neat scenes of half-dead victims being regurgitated by our monster villain. Speaking of the monster, its a fairly decent CGI creation, which is surprising considering how little effort can be put into putting CG creatures onto the screen in movies with anything less of a budget than Jurassic Park or The Phantom Menace.

The flick is plenty fun, but where it truly lacks is the character development area. In Deep Rising, and most movies like it, a fair amount of the characters are regulated to quick two or three word descriptions which dictate everything that they do. There's "The Womanizer", "The Coward", "The Guy Who's Scared", etc. And man, if a guys got an Austrailian or English accent..forget about it, that's his whole character right there. The two most interesting characters are Treat Williams, a third rate Bruce Willis-Mel Gibson, who nevertheless puts a likeable effort into the main hero, and the mind-numbingly beautiful Famke Jannkson as a thief the crew finds alive aboard the cruise liner.

Deep Rising is a movie that knows what it wants to do, and does it well, adding some originality and excitement to a genre overflowing with badly-executed ideas and ameatuerish directing.

I give Deep Rising a 6 out of 10, and I'd reccomend it to any fan of grade-B horror movies or anyone who enjoyed the 1999 remake of The Mummy.
53 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Underrated best monster horror scary action movie flick ever made!
ivo-cobra814 December 2015
Deep Rising (1998) for me is one of the best underrated monster horror movie from the 90's!! I love this movie to death every time I see it, it takes my breath away and I wish there would be a sequel and explained what happened to characters. It is definitely one of the most underrated action horror flicks. It is one of my favorite best film from the Director Stephen Sommers before he made The Mummy. This film and The Mummy and The Mummy Returns are the only movies from Stephen Sommers that I love, the rest of his movies I don't watch! quality keeps you on the edge of your chair good scene for a film. It doesn't pretend to be anything other than what it is -- your standard creature action film.

This is a really fun no brainer of a movie. It doesn't have a great story line, but the action and creature are great! So if you just want to watch a fun gory movie where there are good guys, bad guys, the pretty woman thrown in and a monster. This is perfect! This is the movie for people that just wanna watch a movie. Deep Rising is what you classify as great monster movie, with a story that's all too clear and characters that'll make you wonder what'd happen if they were in Aliens. The jokes don't stop, the action doesn't stop, and the editors did a great job on the cutting room floor. No fat, all meat... Or drink as it goes in this one. This film is genius. Great cast, Great story, Great SFX, Big budget. Laughs, Thrills….This movie has it all, yet no one has heard of it! If you like a fun, corny adventure movie….look no further! Treat Williams, Famke Janssen and Wes Studi are just great chemistry. I've probably watched this movie 10+ times over the years….like your best pair of slippers!

Buckle up for edge-of-your seat excitement with the explosive hit Deep Rising, an unstoppable high seas action thriller that moves at full scream ahead! When a band of ruthless hijackers invade the world's most luxurious cruise ship, they're shocked to discover the passengers have mysteriously vanished! But that doesn't mean they are alone! Something terrifying is lurking just out of sight: a deadly force from the unexplored depths of the ocean that begins to snatch the horrified intruders one by one! Treat Willliams (The Devil's Own) and sexy Famke Janssen (Goldeneye, Rounders) lead a group of survivors who must overcome incredible odds in their breathtaking battle to escape the doomed ship alive! That is the basic plot about a cruise ship who gets hijacked by a sea monster who eats and drinks people and spits out the bones. A team of mercenaries are the only survivors on this ship and they have to fight for their own survival.

It's Die Hard meets Alien meets Titanic!!!! I love this film to death it has my favorite actress in it Famke Janssen from GoldenEye (1995) my favorite James Bond 007 movie! Why would anyone thought that this movie suck? I don't get it! I didn't saw this movie about 10.years ago until just 2.days back and honestly this movie took my breath away. I never saw any monster movie eating people like that ever. Deep Rising was Stephen Sommers movie which he directed. And I thought the movie was one of the best action paced horror movie. I was surprised to see Famke Janssen in this movie she stared in James Bond 007 GoldenEye one of my best Bond movies as the main villain opposite of Sean Bean. First I thought the awesome women in this flick was Izabella Scorupco because she looked a like Izabella Scorupco from GoldenEye. But I was surprised to see Famke Janssen in this awesome flick from Stephen Sommers.

This is the second time Trevor Goddard played an Australian, the last time I saw him played an Australian was in Baywatch Season 3 In Episode Fatal Exchange in 1993. I seriously miss this actor and it is a terrible and sad, that this awesome actor is no longer with us anymore. May he rest in peace (1962 - 2003). This movie failed in the Box office but it was still a fun ride. I think this is Treat Williams's favorite film he ever made! I love it to death! For me this movie is a 10 not a 6 or 7 a perfect 10. This movie does not deserve to be bashed or hated I always love it. great film! as far as the "action-scify-horror" genre this one's up there with the best, and there's only 5 or 6 proper ones out there, so that says a lot!. the more I watch it the more I like it. Shame they stopped doing films like these (with a proper budget I mean). I'm disappointed it never had a sequel though.

Deep Rising is a 1998 American action horror film directed by Stephen Sommers and starring Treat Williams, Famke Janssen and Anthony Heald. It was distributed by Hollywood Pictures and Cinergi Pictures and released on January 30, 1998.

10/10 Grade: Bad Ass Seal Of Approval Studio: Calimari Productions, Cinergi Pictures Entertainment, Hollywood Pictures Starring: Treat Williams. Famke Janssen, Kevin J. O'Connor, Anthony Heald, Wes Studi, Derrick O'Connor, Cliff Curtis, Una Damon, Djimon Hounsou, Jason Flemyng, Clifton Powell, Trevor Goddard Director: Stephen Sommers Producers: John Baldecchi, Mario Iscovich, Laurence Mark Screenplay: Stephen Sommers, Robert mark Kamen Rated: R Running Time: 1 Hr. 46 Mins. Budget: $45.000.000 Box Office: $11,203,026
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
That Thing From the Deep
Bogmeister15 August 2005
This is one fun, intense monster movie. They blew it with the title (what the hell does Deep Rising actually mean? - Things From the Deep would have at least meant what it was), but the execution was admirable. This came out the same time as "Phantoms," which depicted a lot of people disappearing on land; in this one, a lot of 'em disappear at sea, on The Argonautica, the latest fancy cruise ship. As in Phantoms, the monster is tough to kill and human beings are easy prey. Like Phantoms, this was ignored at the box office, unlike the director's later hits, "The Mummy" movies. But it has the same level of entertainment. The band of mercs, along with a few other reluctant tag-alongs, make for a darkly funny ensemble as they make their way through the new ship of horrors. O'Connor provides a lot of the humor with wry line delivery, but lead actor Williams is also amusing. As the corrupt ship owner, Heald also steals a scene or two, and turns out to be the only one knowledgeable (for some odd reason) on these monsters infesting the ship. The creature or creatures really are horrible to see in their work - there's some gross mass death scene stuff going on, at odds with the humor; it's almost as if the characters need that humor to keep from going crazy, though some of them do anyway. Janssen, as the main femme fatale among the macho men, does some of her best work here. There's a good, chilling atmosphere in the constant rain and the dark, in the middle of the ocean somewhere. There are no real slow spots and many viewers will probably want to check this out again someday soon. You can do much worse than kick back with this pic on a dark night.
32 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Now What?
uds322 March 2002
Warning: Spoilers
Such a comfortable old friend this movie - love it! Entertainment with a capital E! Stephen Sommers was hired to direct a "B" grade monster movie with limited funds, limited actors and limited fx and to keep it entertaining! Well, I'm here to tell you he most certainly succeeded. In the grand scale of things this flick was never going to matter, make much money or pull too many votes at the Academy Awards but I tell you what, its as honest as the day is long! Unpretentious, undemanding but heaps of fun as Treat Williams squares off against a pathetically organised gang of boat-nappers, hired by the owner to sink his own cruise ship purely for the Insurance payout!

Gorgeous Famke Janssen with whom I have wanted to have children since GOLDENEYE, plays the femme fatale in slinky red...Sorry, I'm going to have to pause here mid-review for a few minutes while I have a cold shower! She, Finnegan and his best friend Joey (O'Connor) must neutralise not only the terrorists but the somewhat awesome sea creature that has disposed of most everybody in gruesome fashion on board the ARGONAUTICA.

What makes this film so watchable, quite apart from Ms Janssen's cleavage, is the repartee, terrific characterisations and remarkably good CGI effects on show. This is not a film to critically analyse simply to enjoy...and if you can't do that, you have serious issues to deal with!

A total "B" grader that makes no attempt to disguise its pedigree. I consider it to be a winner on all levels. Great ending too! Devotees of course will fully understand the meaning of my two-word summary!
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Full Scream Ahead..? Better than your average slick..!
smiley-3222 October 2005
I bought this DVD last week. I've watched it for the first time with some friends. I must admit, that must be some movie.. Here, director Stephen Sommers try to prove that if Aliens scared you.. Then this one will do worse.. Well, it did at times.. The whole plot sounds simple to me.. with these bunch of thieves coming on board this cruise liner, the Argonautica.. Only to find that the passengers have vanished. It's not 'til they realise that they up against something more deadly and it came from the bottom of the ocean.. We're not talking giant squids here.. Something more sinister..

Treat Williams played well as Finnegan. Famke Janssen, Wes Studi and the rest of the cast kept their end of the bargain with their performance. A really good film, full of one liners.. A few jokes.. This, that and the other..

7 out of 10!
27 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is a GOOD movie. It does not deserve a 5.4
Duk2 September 2005
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.

Treat Williams and Kevin J. O'Connor in particular are very good.

It's a low budget genre flick, but acting is excellent across the board. O'Connor is great comic relief. The monster is clichéd, but cool. Quality and care went into this movie across the board.

I definitely recommend this movie without reservation.

I've seen it several times on cable as well as originally on DVD, and my opinion of it has held up.

Wes Studi (never bad in anything), Djimon Hounsou, and Anthony Heald (the psychologist from Silence of the Lambs) as bad guys and Anthony Heald are very competent as well.

I just can't understand how this movie got only a 5.4 from users.
61 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
monster action movie
SnoopyStyle8 February 2016
Mercenaries led by Hanover (Wes Studi) hire John Finnegan (Treat Williams)'s boat whose motto is "When the cash is there, we do not care." Finnegan finds out that they're carrying torpedoes and they are tracking a luxury liner. The cruise ship Argonautica is on her maiden voyage which is owned by Simon Canton (Anthony Heald). Trillian (Famke Janssen) is a thief looking to make a score. The ship is attacked by some unknown force from below. By the time Hanover and his men board the ship, it seems to be empty with blood everywhere.

It's a monster movie. The problem is that I don't care about most of these characters so I couldn't care less when one of them bites it. It's got some monster fun and shoot them up fun. It's a slick bigger budget action monster B-movie. However, it all feels a little pointless.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A cheesy cruise
Sketch-317 December 1998
Warning: Spoilers
"Deep Rising" is Anaconda, Alien, and Die Hard all rolled into one. It´s a cheesy, B-grade horror flick, but it manages to entertain. The plot follows a team of cannon fodder, er, excuse me, mercenaries that are on their way to a Titanic-like cruise ship called the Argonautica in order to steal and blow it up. Led by Han Solo, er, excuse me, Capt. John Finnegan (Treat Williams), this international and expendable motley crew run afoul of the ship´s captain and creator, and a VERY SEXY pickpocket (Famke Janssen). But they weren´t counting on a very ugly monster with snake tentacles that sucks humans dry. Everyone on the ship is happily wasted. (Thankfully, we´re spared this massacre, except for a girl getting sucked down a toilet). The group arrives and a fight to the death begins... yay. We know everyone will die. But the survivors do, too, at the end (you don´t see it). This movie is extremely gory and very cheesy... but it was fun. And a movie is supposed to entertain above everything else, right?
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Deeply Risible
extravaluejotter28 December 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Never has a movie tag-line been more appropriate. "This ain't no pleasure cruise" sums "Deep Rising" up pretty well.

Despite a dependable cast of character actors, "Deep Rising" never manages to drag itself out of the water. It's either a wet version of "Aliens" or a horror version of "The Poseidon Adventure". Borrowing heavily from not just one but two well-known films is a terrible idea.

Writer/director Stephen Sommers deserves to be set adrift in a leaky life-raft for throwing up this daft action adventure. The Hollywood Suits also deserve lead buoyancy aids for giving him the money to make this lame nonsense. When Harrison Ford sensibly turned down the lead role, the studio should have torpedoed this listing junk and sent it to the bottom of the deep blue sea.

Avoid this sucking patch of quicksand and watch "The Abyss" again instead. You won't be half as bored and disappointed.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ummm...what?? :=8/
MooCowMo3 September 1999
Deep Rising is an over-long, boring, stupid bucket of chum, sort of a cross between Anaconda and Jaws, and it's just plain stupid. Basically, Treat Williams leads a campy gang of no-goodniks through international waters to rob an ocean-liner (!!), and meets the multi-tentacled thing of doom, which is unstoppable and everywhere at once. The CGI effects are cheesy - just what the hell is that squid-thing supposed to be, anycow?? The action scenes are dull and cowtrived, many things go boom for no real reason, and Treat Williams gives his best 3rd rate Bruce WIllis imitation, to no avail. Famke Jassen is lovely to look at, but wasted, and the ending is massively groan-inducing. Proceed at yer own risk. MooCow says Deep Rising is a deep cowflop. :=8P
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the Best B movies of the 90s
shaquandalewis23 October 2018
Deep Rising is a good film. It is an example of a well made B movie. A group of mercenaries hijack a cruise ship that happens to host a giant sea creature- You can't make this up and it works. This is a cheesy blast and both Treat Wiliams and Famke Jannsen are good and one wonders why they never achieved more stardom. The direction is sublime and the pacing is excellent. The effects would have been a hindrance if the film tried to be a more serious straightforward drama but because it is so tongue in cheek they work in favor. This is a must watch.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated action-horror flick from the late 90s.
b_kite2 October 2018
This is one that the Turner Networks used to play non stop back in the early to mid 2000's and I used to catch it all the time. I decided to give it another viewing on the 20th anniversary of its release and see just how good it holds up. And "Deep Rising" is still a hell of a fun big action horror flick that still managed to entertain me throughout just like it did back in the day. The cast is great and while the movies sets are still fantastic the CGI used on the creature does look dated, including several other scenes here and there. There's also some corny dialogue and Treat Williams one liners aren't as great as the film wants them to be. While it pretty much was a critical and commercial failure back in 98, I believe it extremely underrated and horror fans should defiantly give this one a shot.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A great B movie from the late 90s.
mariahopkins-1894619 August 2018
Deep Rising is a good film. It is an example of a well made B movie. A group of mercenaries hijack a cruise ship that happens to host a giant sea creature- You can't make this up and it works. This is a cheesy blast and both Treat Wiliams and Famke Jannsen are good and one wonders why they never achieved more stardom. The direction is sublime and the pacing is excellent. The effects would have been a hindrance if the film tried to be a more serious straightforward drama but because it is so tongue in cheek they work in favor. This is a must watch.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
B-movie rates an A minus
Fluke_Skywalker2 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Plot; The captain and crew of a boat for hire and a group of mercenaries find themselves locked in a battle for survival against tentacled monsters aboard a doomed luxury liner.

The ironic thing about B-movies not aspiring to be more than that is that as a result they often end up being more than that. Deep Rising is one such movie. Directed by Stephen Sommers (who would perfect that craft with his next movie, The Mummy) it plays like an amalgam of The Poseidon Adventure and Aliens. Never pausing long enough for its seams to show, the quips and clips are each emptied and reloaded with an almost gleeful vigor by its top notch cast. Headlined by the immensely underrated and underappreciated Treat Williams, they know exactly what kind of movie they're in, and the movie is all the better for it.

Deep Rising ain't high art, but it is good fun, and there's nothing wrong with that.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Something of a B-movie gem
Leofwine_draca12 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
DEEP RISING is a generic, clichéd, roller-coaster ride of a monster, mish-mashing such films as DIE HARD, SPEED 2, and of course (for this genre) the inevitable ALIENS. It's got a wafer-thin plot, and the characters are given little to do except interact with the special effects of the monsters. When the monsters aren't around, the film gets pretty boring. But despite all of this, I still found DEEP RISING to be a greatly entertaining film. While it's a little sad to see the apparent dumbing-down of cinema values, the fact remains that big tentacled monster creatures will generate audiences, so that's why films like this come out every couple of years or so. They don't break any new ground, they're not even original, but they're fun. Popcorn movies, if you like.

I like the straightforwardness of the film in that you know what you're going to get in terms of special effects. That's right, a big CGI tentacled, scaly, slimy monster. There are no shocks there. But what is shocking is that the effects are actually good. That's right, they're good. Most of the effects in recent films look far too fluid and unrealistic because of their computer origins, but DEEP RISING mainly bypasses these flaws (hopefully a sign of things to come) and gives us something special.

While the scenes of tentacles chasing down corridors do look pretty fake, I would say 60% of the special effects on offer are realistic (if you're a generous viewer like me). The highlight of the film is an encounter with the big brain creature, a huge octopus-like thing with white eyes and lots and lots of teeth. Very exciting and nice to look at. However, there are lots of other good effects scenes, from tentacles crushing helpless victims to a surprisingly gory moment when a half-digested man pleads for help.

The rest of the film is taken up with people shooting, things exploding and survivors running around flooded corridors. It doesn't take much to please me, so I was happy. The acting is all pretty much average, from Treat Williams as the unlikely hero to Famke Janssen as the heroine, and it's definitely nothing to write home about. It's not really the acting that's important, though, it's the monster and for a change it's excellent. If you're looking for good, light-hearted scenes of excitement, horror, and action, then you can't go wrong with DEEP RISING.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Low grade B level movie
Wizard-822 January 2015
Although "Deep Rising" was a big budget movie made by a major Hollywood studio, there were times (make that MANY times) I thought I was watching a slightly glossier B movie made for the SyFy network. Some parts of the movie do look slick and expensive, but many times the movie has a cramped cardboard feel. This includes the monster of the movie, which is rendered by CGI effects that look somewhat cut-rate. (I must add that the effects of the ship at sea also look pretty bad.) But a better look to the movie wouldn't solve all its problems; the movie takes quite a while to get going, for one thing. Also, the movie's characters are pretty familiar stereotypes, which may be why most of the cast doesn't give very enthusiastic performances. However, Kevin J. O'Connor does get his comic relief character to give some badly needed spark to the movie. Is there anything else of merit? Well, some of the gore effects are quite pleasing. And I will admit I was never BORED by the movie, though as I said, the movie does take a while to start taking off. But at the same time, I was telling myself that I could be watching a much better movie. I would only recommend this movie on an especially slow night when you can't find anything better to watch.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
High retardation for the MTV generation.
fedor820 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
That this is the n-th rip-off of "Alien" didn't bother me. What DID bother me, however, was the laughable attempt to make every main ("good") character into a one-man or one-woman comedy stand-up act, making them crack jokes and vomit one-liners ALL the time, regardless of the seriousness, morbidity, or utter dangerousness of the situations they found themselves in. It got to the point where everyone would be cracking jokes only seconds after someone just had all their blood sucked out or a leg flew from somewhere. The fact that the jokes are incredibly lame is hardly a surprise. There is practically no tension here because at no time can this film be taken seriously - whatsoever.

What's with these terrorists? Do we really need them? They just HAPPEN to hijack an ocean-liner at the very day when its travelers were on the monster's menu. The terrorists look like a gathering of Calvin Klein's latest male models displaying the latest collection of "Summer terrorist wear".

The fine tradition started by "Independence Day", of incredibly dumb sci-fi spectacles, is continued here with gusto. The 90s will undoubtedly go down in film history as the decade with the most mindless films ever made. (Well, let's also not forget some of the 50s musicals.)
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This ain't no pleasure cruise! NO KIDDING!!!
philip_vanderveken10 December 2004
I don't think there are many movies with a tag line that tells the truth more than this one. I hope for the makers that it's not what they really wanted to say with it, but indeed, watching this movie isn't a pleasure cruise!!! At least not for the people like me, who like to see at least SOME quality. However the real fans of B-rated action / horror movies will love this one.

This movie is one of the many when it comes to "cheap" monster movies. OK, they really did their best to make the sea monster look scary and I admit that it looks quite nice, but as I already mentioned in other reviews: A movie needs more than just special effects! Where is the good story? Why do the actors behave like amateurs? Why all the gadgets? So many questions, so little answers...

Personally I didn't like the movie all that much. It was extremely predictable, boring, uninspired, cheap, ... and certainly not worth a second watch. I give it a 3/10 for the special effects.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Oh dear...
NoCode6 July 1999
I saw this recently on VHS, and even that was a waste of money. This was undoubtedly one of the worst films I have in a very long time. I was not aware it was supposed to be a B grade film - perhaps if I was aware it was supposed to be crap, I may not have had such an overwhelming physical reaction to it.

The acting was poor, the monster was... well, unconvincing much of the time, the script had few moments that weren't pathetically lame. It was just bad.

There were only two redeeming features that I could see: 1. Famke Janssen looked damn good 2. The monster ate many of the whining characters I quickly tired of, much to my enjoyment.

Aside from that, it was mediocre rubbish I would not watch again, unless it was for the repeated pleasure of watching all the lame actors in it getting mercilessly slaughtered.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed