Mickey Blue Eyes (1999) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
120 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Loads of laughs
Gubby-Allen20 February 2002
This was great. People exaggerate the amount of roles where Hugh Grant plays the loveable Englishman. There's only been 3 to my knowledge. I don't really care anyway, as he is brilliant in that role. DeNiro, John Wayne, Morgan Freeman etc generally play the same role in their films and it doesn't put the viewer off.

This wasn't up to Four Weddings or Notting Hill standard. The story line let it down, but only slightly. You need to be of a certain intelligence level to find the satire & dry wit of these films, funny. Give me that anyday to the sex & masturbation gags in most films or the childish braindead crap from Adam Sandler or Jim Carrey that that mistakenly falls into the genre of 'humour.'

It's such an easy film to watch and enjoy. There's more humour at the beginning than the end of Mickey Blue Eyes, but it has at least half a dozen laugh out loud scenes and is worthy of a mark far superior than 5.8/10.

Highly recommendable, a very high ...

8/10
50 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
surprisingly good
rupie28 September 2001
Just happened to rent this one on a whim, mainly due to the cast - Hugh Grant and James Caan - and was surprised to find a much better than average comedy. When the world of a sophisticated English-born art auctioneer in a Tony Manhattan auction house collides with the world of the New York mob, one expects a universe of comic opportunities, and the movie pays off in spades. James Caan is becoming one of those rare actors who is as adept at comedy as at heavier roles. The script is intelligently funny, and the movie is loaded with riotously incongruous situations. The scene where Caan attempts to teach the debonair Hugh Grant how to say "fuggedaboutit" in a hood's accent is alone worth the price of the movie. An overlooked delight.
29 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good movie, rating seems a bit low to me.
TxMike11 October 2002
This is a comedy all the way, and one of the funnier "gangster" comedies I've seen, in tone reminds me a lot of "Analyze This." Hugh Grant is the boyfriend and Jeanne Tripplehorn is his girl, but she refuses when he proposes because her father is a mobster (James Caan, in a perfect role) and she knows they would suck in her innocent auctioneer. The writing is refreshingly good and Grant's delivery makes it go. Here I disagree strongly with critic Ebert who thinks Grant was not right for the role.

My favorite scene, I laughed so hard I had to back it up and watch again, Grant has to pretend in a restaurant that he is "Mickey Blue Eyes" from a Kansas City gang, and his poor imitation of NYC gangster talk is hilarious. This film has no lasting value but is very entertaining, enough so that I think it deserves an "8". I saw it on DVD, nothing remarkable about the presentation, but nothing wrong either.
28 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A bit cheesy, but really, really, really funny.
EHolliday14 September 1999
The whole idea of the movie is pretty creative, but near the end of the movie, the story got a little predictable (that's all I'll say about the plot... so no I'm not spoiling anything.)

However, I laughed to the point I was literally in pain. A lot of pain. Especially during "the restaurant scene". Even after the movie I was still giddy, and I started laughing hysterically in the parking lot of the movie theater. An aftershock I guess?

If you're looking for a good laugh you should go see it. If you're looking for a strong plot, save your time and money.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not bad.
Rhino Rover23 August 1999
The previews that I saw for this movie promised it to be a very funny movie...and for the most part it was but it could have been better.

The movie is about a conservative British fellow (Hugh Grant) that runs an auction house in New York. He decides to propose to his girlfriend (Jeanne Tripplehorn) but she has reservations about marriage as her father has connections to the mafia. In her opinion, this marriage will not work as Grant's character will invariably be sucked into the organized crime life. He assures her that he won't and they decide to go ahead with the marriage. As you guessed it, Grant does become entangled and what ensues is a humorous "fish-out-of-water" comedy as Grant tries to get himself out of a mess.

For the most part, the characters were well played. Hugh Grant does a good job, albiet familiar to other characters that he's played recently (and probably not too unlike his real self) but it was nonetheless well played. Most of the humor revolves around his character and his ability to deliver the lines and timing is very well done. The same cannot be said for Jeanne Tripplehorn's character. She seemed to overact some scenes and others it seemed that she wasn't quite sure how to portray the character. At times, it almost made me feel uncomfortable trying to watch her find her role. James Caan did a very good job of playing the father and in some cases, he stole some scenes. The rest of the actors played their roles fairly well although many of these actors have been typecast as the mafia type character.

Although the movie was fairly amusing, there were places that it seemed to drag a little bit. A sign of a good movie for me is how much my mind wanders and this did happen in some places. In my opinion it could have been even funnier but in general it was pretty good. Overall, I found it to be entertaining and genuinely funny...7/10.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not The Greatest, But Amusingly Funny
lasherxl20 October 2000
So perhaps this isn't the best romantic comedy out there, but it certainly did have a few interesting twists, and some generally funny moments to it. Hugh Grant was the bumbling and charming Brit he always is, Jimmy Caan was great as the mob member daddy to Jeanne Tripplehorn. It's a fun film to watch and I think most people will enjoy it.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Unflattering caricature
Minofed25 December 2000
It took only a few movies for Hugh Grant to become a caricature of himself. He first gained notice as the hopeless romantic in "Four Weddings and a Funeral." Audiences fell in love with his good looks, deadpan delivery and ability to convey hurt. He was even better in "Notting Hill," and added just the right note of foppishness. But in "Mickey Blue Eyes"-perhaps because he is miscast-all of these once-endearing traits now seem annoying. The floppish hair once endearing in Notting Hill now seems to be a distraction. His repeated use of the word "right," just right in Notting Hill, seems annoying here. Perhaps the problem is that the previous two films were fresh and well written. "Mickey Blue Eyes" is neither. Perhaps it's time for Grant's character to move in a new direction and to once again display the talent he showed in "Remains of the Day."

"Mickey Blue Eyes'" plot about an auctioneer about to become engaged to what turns out to be a Mafia princess is okay. And the idea of using an auction to launder money is fresh. But the second half of the film goes down hill quickly. And the supposed tragic ending is too obviously a ruse.

The only two saving graces in the movie are James Caan and Scott Thompson. It's been fascinating to watch Caan move from pretty boy ("Lady in a Cage" and "El Dorado") to real life and screen tough guy ("The Godfather") and now to comedian. Watch Caan's eyes-they seem to be in conflict with the rest of his body, letting us know that he knows a lot more than he's letting on.

Thompson, of the "Kids in the Hall" troupe, shines here as an FBI agent. He steals every scene he's in.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Grant & Caan Lift Lighthearted Mob Spoof
ccthemovieman-118 April 2006
This was an entertaining comedy, similar to several other films I've seen in which an innocent-appearing nice guy gets caught up in the middle of a mob family. (i.e. Matthew Broderick in "The Freshman.")

In this film, it's Hugh Grant who winds up in mobster James Caan's clan. The latter isn't known for his comedy but he's good at it. Sometimes just the facial expressions on Caan's face brought out big laughs with me.

Joe Viterelli is perfect for any Mafia-type story, as is Burt Young. It was a little strange, though, to see Young look like such a shriveled up old man. Jeanne Tripplehorn provides the romantic interest in here.

My only complaints were too much usage of God's name in vain, especially for a comedy, and the typical on again-off again marriage plans you've seen so many times in movies for many decades. Overall, however, a good lighthearted comedy that should please a lot of people.
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Can True Love Ever Run Smooth with Mobsters for Inlaws?
wcourter31 January 2000
Key Words: Cute / Funny / Stumbles & Mumbles / Nice Ending

This often-told tale of accidently getting involved with the Mob ("Family") is well done here with lots of humor. Hugh stumbles and mumbles as he tries to walk the thin line of getting wed to his sweetheart without getting sucked in by the Mob that her father works for. There are some really well crafted humorous scenes, and the ending is more complex and surprising that I had expected. The Italian music that runs through the flic will have you humming along after the credits roll. I thoroughly enjoyed this light bit of fluff...........
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Funniest Scene in all of film
barrass8 January 2013
Within this film, there is a restaurant scene, which in my opinion is without doubt one of the funniest scenes of cinema. I have never before laughed out loud so much at a seventy/eighty second stretch of film. Although this one scene steals the film for me every time I watch it, the entire film is filled with gags that really appeal. I have to confess that the plot is entirely clichéd and pointless, but I find that it is a spiritual successor to the black, white and golden age of comedy epitomised by Laurel and Hardy et al. in terms of the facial comedy especially, with James Caan and Hugh Grant excelling in their close up work. If you are looking at this review as an indicator of whether you should watch this film or not, I urge you to ignore the measly mark of 5.7 and take a punt on it. It obviously doesn't appeal to everyone, but if it does appeal to you, you will absolutely love it.....
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A mob spoof with a few really funny moments and good story, but goes downhill near the end
Electrified_Voltage18 November 2008
In 1999, although I didn't actually see this mob spoof, I heard the line, "fuggedaboudit," was told where that line came from, and saw the trailer for the movie. I didn't actually see "Mickey Blue Eyes" until 2006, and by then, I knew it wasn't the most highly acclaimed comedy of all time, so I wasn't expecting to be blown away. However, I was hoping for at least a moderately funny spoof movie, and from what I remember, that was what I got. About 2 ½ years later, I've seen it a second time, and while I was still entertained by a good chunk of the film, it may not have been quite the same as before.

Michael Felgate is an art auctioneer from England who currently resides in New York, and is dating a teacher named Gina Vitale. He wants to marry her, but doesn't know about her family! She has relatives, including her father, Frank Vitale, who are members of the Mafia, and this is why she turns down Michael's proposal, as she is afraid that if they marry, he will be lured into the world of organized crime! Michael promises not to let that happen, but this is easier said than done! After they are engaged, Michael finds himself involved in a money laundering, and finds himself questioned by suspicious FBI agents, but he must play along with this scheme in order to survive! It gets worse when Gina accidentally kills the son of a mob boss, and Michael decides to take the blame!

The first scene in the film that stands out as really funny to me is the one where the owner of a Chinese restaurant stands at the table where Michael and Gina are sitting, and makes sure Gina eats her fortune cookie. For quite a while, the film goes fairly steadily, sometimes mildly amusing, and sometimes more than that. Another major comic highlight I can't forget is Michael having to pose as a gangster known as "Kansas City Little Big Mickey Blue Eyes" and having to try and speak with a New York Italian accent! The humour is not enough to carry the film, but there is also suspense, which definitely helps. For probably most of the film, it looked like my second viewing would be like my first, but I found that it started to lose its charm towards the end, I'm not sure why, but I was not left fully satisfied. Anyway, I would say this movie certainly doesn't fail miserably as a comedy, but as such, it certainly could have been funnier, though the story and suspense often makes up for that. There are much worse comedies out there, but I can see why "Mickey Blue Eyes" isn't as popular as "Analyze This", a mob spoof which came out the same year.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Light humorous escapism
Buff200121 August 1999
Better than average comedy/farce with a lot of good laughs, many at the expense of the overworn Italian Mafia stereotype. James Caan plays the spoof as well as he did the original (look for a brief reprise of his "Kiss Me Goodbye" role); Hugh Grant comes across better than usual; and Jeanne Tripplehorn is well cast as are all the other supporting Mafia types you have seen in the more dramatic Mafia films.

A good two hours of laughs and escapism.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly Funny and Intelligent
mspam28 January 2002
I was surprised at how funny, intelligent, and non-predictable this movie was. I'm male, and not a big Hugh Grant fan, but I enjoyed it very much. It's not a chick-flick.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A wonderfully funny movie!
moviefan100-114 March 2004
This is a great movie to watch and relax.

Hugh Grant falls in love with the daughter of a mob-boss, and is unwillingly drawn into their way of live.

The movie is very funny and delivers a couple of extremely entertaining scenes. The actors (Hugh Grant, James Gaan and the usual 'mob gang') are great.

Jane Tripplehorn is probably the weekest link in the movie.

This is one of the funniest movies Hugh Grant has been in and beats the usual boring romantic comedy, e.g. "Notting Hill" and "Two Week's Notice".
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What a piece of crap
michaelmuller8 May 2001
This movie was a joke. And I don't mean it was funny. Yes, I did laugh a few times, but when you have such bad continuity, and bad acting, and bad jokes, and bad plot lines, and bad... I can't say enough. How I suffered through this piece of tripe, CONTRIVED tripe on top of it.

Wow, I couldn't believe how "The Mafia" was so unbelievably and horribly stereotyped, and how the FBI guys were portrayed as morons in the beginning and then as cunning at the end, all just made me wince. And to mix surprise gun violence at the end of such a "mix-up" light hearted movie, where the wise guys are all bufoons throughout, just didn't make sense.

I love mafia flicks, and I love silly movies. This movie just stank.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Much better than I expected!
unamachita26 August 1999
I thought this was going to be mildly amusing and fairly cheesy, but went to see it anyway because Hugh Grant is funny and James Caan is always good. I was surprised at how often I laughed out loud. Also, the way Grant's character reacts to finding out his fiancee's father is a mobster is fairly realistic, I think. Maybe not Oscar material, but certainly a good couple hours' entertainment.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Englishman among the Mafiosi
theowinthrop8 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Hugh Grant is in someways a modern version of a comic actor who I have had problems with in viewing: Charles Butterworth. Butterworth would hem and haw, afraid of making some social faux pas while pursuing whatever business occupied his activities on screen. This diffidence while mildly amusing could get tedious after awhile. Similarly Grant will hesitate, and stammer a bit. But his English manners, and his good looks make his hesitancy far more easy to accept than Butterworth's. Certainly his good looks have made him an easy leading man type (whereas Butterworth always played in supporting roles).

MICKEY BLUE EYES gives Grant far more to be nervous and hesitant about. He plays Michael Feldgate, a highly successful auctioneer at a leading house in Manhattan (his boss is Philip Cromwell (James Fox)). Michael has been romancing a schoolteacher named Gina Vitale (Jeanne Tripplehorn), and has finally decided to propose to her. Besides causing an unintentional series of uproars in a Chinese restaurant, he is surprised to find Gina less than enthusiastic. After he meets her father Frank Vitale (James Caan) he follows Gina home and learns the reason for Gina's lack of enthusiasm (though not lack of love). Frank is a member of a Mafia family headed by Vito Graziosi (Burt Young), and Gina was always afraid that if Michael and she married he'd be trapped into the Mafia way of life sooner or later.

Uneasily Gina agrees to the wedding, with Michael insisting that with her assistance he can avoid any real problems from Graziosi and his gang. But soon the subtlety of the mobsters proves too much for Michael (with or without Gina's help). Graziosi realizes that auctioning art can be useful as a way of laundering dirty mob money (he can have debts paid by having various debtors settle what they owe by buying items the mob puts up at auction). And Michael soon finds he is auctioning art by Graziosi's violent mental case son Johnny (John Ventimiglia) that are setting records - records the F.B.I. are showing great interest in. While worrying about this, Michael is also under pressure of trying to present a good, respectable front for a potentially lucrative client. Somehow the mobsters and the F.B.I. just don't seem to help create this image.

Michael finds that everything Gina suggests, or her father Frank tries to help with fails, and soon the Englishman finds he is in the middle of an unwanted killing - one that can set off a mob war. He also finds that he has to parade around town with his erst-while father-in-law as an out-of-town underworld torpedo named "Mickey Blue Eyes" (actually, "Young Mickey Blue Eyes" from Kansas City, as opposed to "Old Mickey Blue Eyes" his dead dad, and the original "Mickey Blue Eyes" from Chicago!). This includes burying a corpse in an overused waste land, and ordering steak in a restaurant where "Mickey" is barely understood talking a version of underworld English, and upsetting customers by his anti-English remarks and his constantly dropping his gun.

The cast is wonderful, led by a continually drained Grant who can't find any way out of the deeper and deeper hole he is in, Caan who has found that he has a comfortable niche in the mob - but has somehow lost his daughter's trust, Tripplehorn who finds that she is bloodily closer to the mob than she ever expected or wanted to be, Young who is properly sinister but ruthlessly smart, and Fox who constantly trying to put the best face on the worst situations (like talking to his potential client about respectability, opening a door, and finding Grant shaking his behind in front of his fiancé!). Even that late budding comic "goon" actor Joe Viterelli (who played "Jelly" in the ANALYZE THIS and ANALYZE THAT films) has a nice moment where he watches a television commercial about a very strong adhesive tape that can even bind people's hands - and makes a note for future reference when he needs to bind some person's hands! Until the last comic twists of the plot, the film entertains, and is certainly worth a "10" out of "10" on the scale here.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If you have seen Notting Hill save your time and money
teabone22 August 1999
Check your brain at the door when you see this film. It is extremely disjointed and throws logic to the wind in a way that only gets worse with time. Special mention should be given to: James Caan's makeup artist-- can't you do a better job of hiding his face lift scars and Jean Tripplehorn's baggy eyelids? The costume designer didn't help matters much with her choice of sleeveless dresses for Ms. Tripplehorn who is rather old to be believable as a single girl. Remember folks, she has been around since Sharon Stone's last hit - Basic Instinct!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Mickey Blue Eyes? Fuhgeddaboutit
paul-nemecek1 July 2018
This past summer was a record year for box office grosses in the film industry. Between the thoroughly predictable success of Star Wars: Phantom Menace and the completely unpredictable success of Blair Witch Project it's been a good summer for moviemakers. The two films mentioned above probably owe more to their marketing departments than their creative genius, but there were others that were charming (Notting Hill) and/or innovative (The Sixth Sense). Alas, as we reach the end of the summer season, we are left to sift through the wretched refuse that remains. This brings us face to face with Mickey Blue Eyes.

Hugh Grant plays the title character, more commonly known as Michael Felgate. Michael is in love with Gina Vitale (Jeanne Tripplehorn). Early in the film, he takes her out to dinner where he pops the question--in one of the few truly funny scenes in the movie. He knows she loves him, but she refuses to marry him, and he cannot understand why. He discovers why when he finally meets the family who are really, truly "family". Gina is sure that if they are married, her extended mafioso family will get its hooks into the man she loves and destroy him forever. He convinces her that true love will conquer all, and they decide to marry and beat the odds.

Predictably, all is not smooth sailing. Before Michael knows it, and without his consent, he finds himself obligated to the mob. Thoreau once said "possessions are more easily acquired than got rid of". This apparently also applies to mob ties--although mob members appear to be fairly easily dispatched. The movie rather quickly degenerates into a series of sight gags, and a few almost funny scenes when Hugh Grant has to try to speak like one of the boys.

Part of the problem here is the genre itself. The mafia/gangster film reached its apex with Coppola's Godfather films in the seventies. The best sign that a particular genre is wearing thin is when most of the films being made are parodies of the genre. Analyze This was much more engaging and original. Watching DeNiro parody the characters that made him a star was fun. Watching Hugh Grant here was just plain painful. James Caan--who was in the Godfather films--plays Gina's mobster father in a role that is flat and lifeless.

There are inspired moments here, but they are few and far between. If you're a Hugh Grant fan, see him at his charming best in Notting Hill or rent The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill and Came Down a Mountain. If you must have a mafia parody, rent Analyze This or check out Steve Martin in My Blue Heaven. If it's move theater popcorn you long for, check out Sixth Sense, one of the more suspenseful and innovative films of the summer. But Mickey Blue Eyes? Fuhgeddaboutit!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Limited comedy minor laughs
SnoopyStyle27 July 2014
Michael Felgate (Hugh Grant) is a funny art auctioneer managing an auction house. He proposes to girlfriend Gina Vitale (Jeanne Tripplehorn) but she rejects him at first to keep him out of her mob family and her gangster father Frank Vitale (James Caan). They agree to get married while keeping out of the family business. However that's harder to maintain when mob boss Vito Graziosi (Burt Young) wants his son Johnny (John Ventimiglia)'s garish painting to be auctioned off by Michael for $50k. Then the FBI comes knocking on his door claiming its possible money laundering.

It starts off really funny at the Chinese restaurant. It has a great promising premise but the comedy fades. It has Hugh Grant's flailing away without a proper partner to play off of. There is a funny bit where Hugh struggles with the mobster accent. Forgedaboud it! That was hilarious. The movie needs more moments like that.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mickey Blue Eyes
jboothmillard11 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I had heard about this film quite a few times, I knew the two leading male stars in it, and I knew it was something do with with a man trying to marry a gangster's daughter, so I decided to give it a go and see what I would think. Basically in New York, English art house auctioneer Michael Felgate (Hugh Grant) proposes to his girlfriend Gina Vitale (Basic Instinct's Jeanne Tripplehorn), but she shockingly turns him down, she explains it is because her father Frank Vitale (James Caan) as well as as her cousins and uncles are a crime family of gangsters heavily involved in Mafia activity. She doesn't want him getting sucked into this world, but he assures her this wouldn't happen, but he unknowingly does become part of a money laundering scheme, before they are even officially engaged, the FBI have him in their sights, and soon enough he is being forced into helping the mob with more laundering scams that he is made aware of, once under the given nickname "Mickey Blue Eyes". When one the laundering schemes goes wrong Gina's cousin Johnny Graziosi (John Ventimiglia) assaults Michael, Gina gets mad, grabs his gun and fires a warning shot into the ceiling, but is ricochets and Johnny is accidentally killed, Johnny's father Vito Graziosi (Rocky's Burt Young) threatens to Frank that he will kill Gina unless Michael is killed during the wedding speeches. Frank cannot hurt his daughter, so he confesses to Michael what Vito has ordered, and they turn out the FBI for protection, the authorities make a setup that will see Michael apparently get assassinated in a fake attack at the wedding reception, he is also given a wire to try and record Vito confessing to his activities and crimes in the mob. The plan fails and Vito catches onto the setup, Vinnie D'Agostino (Analyze This's Joe Viterelli) is ordered to kill him, but he accidentally shoots Gina, Vito is arrested while Michael and Frank are in the ambulance mourning over Gina's death, but it was also fake, Vinnie and Gina were part of the FBI's backup plan, and she wanted to teach her groom and father a lesson, in the end Michael and her make up, and Frank is happy for the Englishman to be part of his regular family. Also starring Charlie and the Chocolate Factory's James Fox as Philip Cromwell, Gerry Becker as FBI Agent Bob Connell, Maddie Corman as Carol the Photographer, Tony Darrow as Angelo, Paul Lazar as Ritchie Vitale and GoodFellas' Vincent Pastore as Al. Grant does his silly English twit act we have come to expect fine, Caan could have perhaps acted a bit more like the real don of the family but is okay, supporting actors all do their parts alright as well, the film though is a little predictable and perhaps dull, it made me laugh in the right places, like the scene where Grant is trying to get mob lingo and certain scenes in the auction house, but otherwise it's not hilariously funny, so all in all it was a see just once comedy. Okay!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Mildly entertaining comedy. 7/10.
Fudge-34 September 1999
A good idea was rather wasted. A daft, upper crust Englishman has to pretend to be a mobster; "Mickey Blue Eyes". Unfortunately there are only a scene and a half where he has to pull off this roll. I hate it when the script is under developed especially where all the characters and the plot had been set up so carefully and so well. The comedy is well delivered and it is fun. It could have been better though, shame.

Thoughts provoked by this film:

Another part found for Hugh Grant that does not stretch his acting skill. He does play 'daft English' very well though.

I wonder if the 'real' mobsters mind Hollywood ridiculing their profession.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hugh Grant Wants to Marry the Mob
tfrizzell24 November 2000
New York art-dealer Hugh Grant falls in love with Jeanne Tripplehorn, but there is a small problem. Her father (James Caan) is a mafia syndicate. Now Grant is being "asked" by the mafia to sell terrible pieces of artwork which were painted by no-talent "associates". However, nothing goes quite as planned and an accidental murder takes place. What follows are some great gags and some interesting situations. All in all "Mickey Blue Eyes" is a fair film that is definitely funny for the most part, but it never does really accomplish anything special in the end. 2.5 out of 5 stars.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Funny Mobster Spoof
mjw230525 January 2007
Michael Felgate (Hugh Grant) is a dapper art auctioneer, who's eager to marry Gina (Jeanne Tripplehorn) a school teacher he has been dating for three months, but first he wants to meet her parents. Frank (James Caan) Gina's father is a gangster, and now he wants to use Michael's auction house to deal in dubious artwork, and Michael has to try and blend in as a gangster himself, so he becomes the hilarious Mickey blue eyes.

Surprisingly Hugh Grant captures this comedy character really well, spouting off stereotypical mafia talk in his own special way. Caan and Tripplehorn are both pretty good too, but it's Grant that seals the show.

Generally funny throughout and with the odd really hilarious scene here and there, Mickey Blue Eyes goes way beyond my expectations, and becomes an entertaining comedy that's fun to enjoy.

7/10
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Charming and funny
TheOtherFool12 September 2002
Normally I hate romantic comedies, but this one was quite enjoyable. Grant was actually really funny in the restaurant scene, and it's always a joy to watch Caan and Viterelli play. Not a shockingly wonderful film, but I had enough laughs in the end. 7/10.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed