Dhund (1973) Poster

(1973)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Great suspense thriller
shovon-12 January 2003
A good/intelligent suspense thriller. As someone rightly put it: :grippingly successful attempt at suspense, a genre rarely attempted by Hindi cinema. The movie was made in 1972 and we have gone through 30 odd years and yet no one has come out to make something like Dhund in Bollywood. Amazing, 30 years Bollywood and still no intelligent suspense thrillers. The ending could have done with a little better fine-tuning and --SPOILERS-- except for the fact how easily the murderer walks inside the house via the "open at night main-door" {most people I know, sleep at night with their doors locked :-) } , the movie was watertight and gripping. Equally good performances by Zeenat and Sanjay.

A must see for every Hitchcock fans.

shovon-1
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The mist of mystery
Dhundh is an Indianized celluloid adaptation of Agatha Christie's play - The Unexpected Guest. This B.R. Chopra directed movie is still considered one of the best murder mysteries made in Bollywood which keeps the viewer hooked right from the very first scene to the climax.

Dhundh (mist) starts with a traveller whose car has had a breakdown in the misty weather in the night and he wants to make a telephone call from a house lying on his way. While entering the house, he finds a shot dead person lying on a chair with a lady sitting beside him having a gun in her hand. The lady who is the wife of the deceased man, tells him that she has killed her husband and asks him to call the police so that she could be arrested. Upon listening to her sad story containing the oppression and cruelty effected to her by the dead man, i.e., her husband, the traveller offers to help her by cooking a story to be served to the police to save her from the law. It turns out to be a case of love triangle because the woman, now a widow, has been in love of another man. However the more the police investigates the case, the more intricate the mystery of this murder appears to them. The truth comes out in the court-room in the climax only.

The narrative captures the minds of the spectators right from the very first frame after the credits which run alongwith the classic Ghazal of Mahendra Kapoor - Sansar Ki Har Shay Ka Itna Hi Fasaana Hai and thereafter barring some songs (which could have been avoided), the narrative moves swiftly towards the desired end, i.e., the revelation of the mystery of the murder. The story goes into flash back from time to time and the performance of Danny Denjongpa as the cruel husband makes a great impact. In a whodunit involving limited characters, a viewer can always guess for the murderer by logical elimination but for that also time is required by him to think over the scenario. The flawless direction of B.R. Chopra does not give the viewer that time only and that's the success of this whodunit.

Dhundh (1973) was the movie which established Danny Denjongpa firmly in Bollywood in the real sense. He had done some movies earlier but it's Dhundh which made him popular. His throwing saucer at the face of the camera makes a great impact in two-dimensional cinema itself. I sometimes ponder, had this movie been made in 3 D format, this scene would have proved awesome for the viewers. Other than Danny, Zeenat Aman as the leading lady, Sanjay Khan as her lover and Naveen Nischal as the traveller helping Zeenat Aman have done justice to their respective roles. The complete supporting cast has also done well.

B.R. Films' patent music director, Ravi has composed music according to his repute only, using his favourite singer Mahendra Kapoor for the male voice. Sansar Ki Har Shay Ka Itna Hi Fasaana Hai is a classic Ghazal. Uljhan Suljhe Na Rasta Soojhe Na (Asha) is also very very melodious, meaningful and impressive. A dance number - Jo Yahaan Tha Woh Wahaan Kyun Kar Hua upon which Padma Khanna and Jayshree Talpade perform (voices being of the Mangeshkar sisters - Asha and Usha) is also quite entertaining to watch. One more duet (by Manna Dey and Asha) - Jubna Se Chunariya Khisak Gayi Re is also in the movie. Though these songs seem to be a bit situational with the meaningful lyrics penned for them (by Saahir Ludhiyanvi), one or two songs could have been removed to trim the movie.

Technically the movie is up to the mark. Though, as I have already asserted, it would have been better to shorten the movie a bit in order to make it compact and more impressive like the original story of the mystery-queen, Agatha Christie; the editing is not that bad. Background score is good. Cinematographer has ably captured the beauty of the mountains and the hilly region shown in the movie. Production value aspect has also been given proper attention according to the standards of the prestigious banner which has made it.

On the flip side, there are regular Bollywoodish pot-holes and inconsistencies in the narrative. It's an old fashioned mystery. But the pluses are enough to outnumber the minuses.The storyteller has not allowed the grip of the narrative on the spectators to be loosened anywhere. True to its title, the mist / fog of mystery pervades the maximum part of the movie, to be cleared and make the solution visible in the climax only.

I wholeheartedly recommend this classic mystery to the audience of whodunits.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Agatha Christie Indianized!
khayaal_e_yaar17 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This chiller of a film was released in 1973 and I got a chance to watch it recently. I really feel annoyed to think that I got late by decades to watch it. The film is based on Agatha Christie's play 'The Unexpected Guest'. No wonder B.R. Chopra remained inspired by western storytellers throughout his life as he himself majored in English from Pakistan. This film has gained a devoted cult-following in years and is now remembered for its heavy and sloppy atmosphere, some great performances, great musical composition, and an unexpected ending. Well its not just the suspense that's important here. The film has a dark exploitation undertone that pops-up from time to time whenever Danny and Zeenat are on screen!

On a dark, foggy winter night a man named Chandrashekhar (Navin Nischol) crashes his car and reaches for help at a grand mansion. He finds a woman named Rani (Zeenat Aman) holding a revolver. Rani confesses that she killed her husband Thakur Ranjit Singh (Danny) few minutes ago. Chandrashekhar decides to help the damsel, who is in distress, and desperately needs help. Chandrashekhar combs the room for fingerprints and cleans them all. He then devises a plan with Rani to guise Ranjit's murder as a robbery committed by an unknown robber. The police officer Inspector Joshi (Madan Puri) is suspicious of their story and is all set to unveil the mystery behind this so-called robbery. His investigation leads him to Ranjit's lecherous servant Banke Lal (Deven Verma) and Ranjit's friend Advocate Suresh Saxena (Sanjay Khan), but he doesn't have anything against them. We also see the wise old man of Bollywood Ashok Kumar as public prosecutor Mehta, who is seeking a benign reason behind the murder.

As I said, the film has a great storyline and an impressive courtroom argument. This is surely many cuts above regular murder mysteries that oozed out during the early 70s and were heavily inspired by the western slashers and thrillers. I wouldn't call this an indigenous creation, although this has been fully conceived as per the Indian norms. Except that it's based on a borrowed tale, the film revives Christie's play with its murky and hazy atmosphere, plausible performances and bouncy background score. Ravi's music is soothing as always and will live in the memory for the rest of your life. This B.R. Chopra classic is no less than 'Mahabharat' in its own way!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Another highly watchable suspense thriller by B.R. Chopra
Peter_Young22 August 2011
Having seen several of B.R. Chopra's movies, I can see he was very interested in making movies of this sort. Dhund is another murder mystery cum courtroom drama made by him, and he does it well. There's nothing particularly surprising about the way it is made, and while watching I actually waited for some unexpected twists which would turn the film upside down. Having said that, this is definitely not a bad thing because overall Dhund is interesting and very well scripted. At times I was very impressed by how taut it was, and even though it is well contrived, it does not look like that at all and is thoroughly intriguing. The movie is by no means flawless, but why should one care about that as long as it provides entertainment and is interesting to watch? During the courtroom scenes, which were presented with a great share of humour, I tried to figure if they were intended to be comic or dramatic, but they still were effective. The film stars several famous actors, and all of them do well. Those who impressed me the most are Madan Puri, Sanjay Khan, and Navin Nischol, who turned in greatly restrained performances. Zeenat Aman is a good choice for this part, and although it's not demanding, she is amazingly beautiful and attractive. Danny Denzongpa was a bit annoying and over-the-top but then he was supposed to be a hot-tempered type and it's okay, although I felt it could have been a bit reduced. Ashok Kumar is wonderful in a special appearance as the sharp lawyer, and Deven Varma also gives a noteworthy comic performance as the servant of the house. The film's music was not very necessary for the film, although the songs came in appropriate portions. I wish Chopra had stuck to what he did in Kanoon, which is known to be the first songless Hindi film. Anyway, I enjoyed watching Dhund, and I definitely recommend it for lovers of Hindi films.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A best best Bollywood thriller I had seen in my life
santoshini90829 September 2009
Dhund(1973)is the best best Bollywood thriller I had seen in my life.The opening scenes has created a great interest for viewers to watch this best thriller.A best best Bollywood thriller with less songs and excellent cinematography.The movie has interesting twists that nobody can guess till the end of this best Bollywood thriller.An interesting thing about this thriller is that it runs only for two hours.Another interesting aspect about this thriller is the twists that take place suddenly at the end of the movie.The movie also has a team of best technicians.Of course everybody likes to watch this best best thriller again and again.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
one of the best mystery thrillers
drrohitkht8 May 2019
In bollywood mystry thrillers are quite rare and considering a thriller made in bacchhans era 70 s is by no means an ordinary feat. danny is quite extraordinary in his 5 min role, u feel like getting up and slapping him and feel quite satisfied that he dies, thats acting ...sanjay khan , navin nischol and ashok kumar are fabulous but zeenat aman was poor in acting, could have been better. all the loopholes in the story are plugged n last few min in such a way that each and every scene and character is justified in what he/she does. a must watch
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Classic Story! Loved it!
shivasaxena-770516 February 2019
I gave it 8 stars directly for its storyline and stars performance!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
How Come You Missed This Movie !!!!
hguy15 October 2018
I have seen so many suspense thrillers. But, god-promise, I was shocked by the climax of the movie. It was most unexpected.

The highlight of the movie was Danny Denzongpa, in a two-scene role. Nonetheless, he managed to steal the thunder. The scene where he throws a saucer at the audience literally made me duck. And it made Danny a star.

The movie ended with the request - Do Not Reveal The Ending. I too will end on that note.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Super Night Thriller in the 70's
wasif-1073729 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
One of the best suspense thriller movie in the 70's.As someone rightly put it grippingly successful attempt at suspense, a genre rarely attempted by Hindi cinema. The movie was made in 1972 and we have gone through 30 odd years and yet no one has come out to make something like Dhund in Bollywood. Amazing, 30 years Bollywood and still no intelligent suspense thrillers. The ending could have done with a little better fine-tuning and --SPOILERS-- except for the fact how easily the murderer walks inside the house via the "open at night main-door" {most people I know, sleep at night with their doors locked :-) the movie was watertight and gripping. Equally good performances by Zeenat and Sanjay Khan.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Suspense
rkstylo19 November 2017
This movie has great performances by Zeenat Aman, Danny and Sanjay Khan. The movie doesn't look like a suspense thriller but wait till the end when you know it is a suspense. Watch this movie to see how being at the wrong place at the wrong time can be a blessing in disguise and trouble, both at the same time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the best suspense thrillers in Bollywood
rahulrkale13 July 2013
A gripping plot especially for a old movie, the plot leverages on the characteristics of Danny's role in order to justify the reasons behind his killing. Danny's acting is stupendous and over-whelming, so as to generate enough hatred by the audience for his role and at the same time develop awe for his acting. The dialogues spoken by Danny are so powerful that literally create a shaken and threatening feeling. The cool as cucumber and always helpful and cordial Navin Nischal cushions the plot very well. Deven Verma's very little cameo also adds a tinge of humour to the overall serious movie. The episode of killing is described very intriguingly with crafty usage of collectivism of the environmental noises, shooting noise and the regular habit of Danny to shoot at birds. The movie mentions of suspicions of killing towards many salient roles, by convincingly justifying the supposed reasons behind the killing by every suspect. The highlighting theme was the constant anger and wrath of the daunting Danny, which is nicely spread throughout the movie, with his physical disabilities in no way alleviating his nature even slightly.

The title song is wonderful and helps in building up on the suspense plot, but my special appreciation for the synergy between how the movie starts and how the movie ends. And special mention of the fact that the movie's plot is highly intelligent, which forms the foundation for this to be a good movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It is a MASTERPIECE.......
leonambik2 December 2012
""DHUND"" is a MASTERPIECE......!!!!!

STORY- A stranger enters a house after meeting an accident late night, where he sees a dead body and a woman who claims to be the murderer! The stranger helps him to get out of this crime! But when police start investigating things take a different turn and everyone becomes suspect with several unsolved loose ends! AT THE END YOU WILL WITNESS A HARD HITTING SURPRISE WHICH IS SURE TO GIVE YOU GOOSE-BUMPS!!!!

Released in 1973; Starring Navin Nischal, Sanjay khan, Danny Dengzoppa and Zeenat Aman! This is one of the most gripping and beautiful murder mystery made ever!!!!

This movie was based on Crime Queen "Agatha Christie's" famous play "THE UNEXPECTED GUEST"! It has a very strong storyline of "Who done it?" genre and you will be glued to the screen till the end to find out the Killer!!!

Directed by B. R. CHOPRA and packed with finest performances, this movie is a real Gem! EVERYTHING WILL HAPPEN IN FRONT OF YOU AND YOU WILL BE STILL CLUELESS!!!!

THE END WHERE EVERY INCIDENT FITS BEAUTIFULLY TO MAKE A COMPLETE PICTURE OF EVENT IS JUST AWESOME!!!!

It's melodious too and one of it's song "Sansar Ki har shay ka....." is famous even today!!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR Suspense AND MURDER MYSTERY MOVIE FANS! DON'T DARE TO MISS IT!!!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good old times suspense thriller
sankhan9922 September 2012
I have watched this movie today after reading lot of recommendations on internet. Overall it is good movie. Cast, script, acting and direction is good. Specially liked Sanjay Khan's and Zeenat Aman's acting. Sanjay Khan is looking really handsome in this film. I loved his dressing.

This is good movie to watch for those who are new to suspense/thriller genre. The movie has twist and turns like all suspense/thrillers but pace is not fast and too much flashbacks. If you watched lot of suspense thrillers then this is not for you. This is only for beginers as I mentioned above. My recommendations are Khamosh, Johnny Gaddar even gumnam is still enjoyable.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Truly classic film
drqayum20 November 2006
Excellent script, great screenplay.super acting & to top it all lilting music by the great music director Ravi. Uljhan ...... Na is a masterpiece by the one & only lyricist cum poet par excellence Sahir. The rendition by Asha of this song adds to its glory. The way the song is picturized is flawless.Sanjay Khan, Zeenat Aman & Danny have acted as if the roles were written for them. They have poured their hearts into their roles.Direction by Mr B R Chopra makes it edge-of-the-seat excitement. Dhund made its mark as a real 'different'film & catapulted Mr Chopra into the hall of fame of Hindi cinema. The film is memorable in all aspects.All in all, Dhund had all the ingredients perfectly blended for a fulfilling entertainer.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed